(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jas
Yr BFeeding story is exactly like mine... I feel sad not able to give bb breastmilk too...
But I have been consoling myself with this... at least my baby is getting a few oz of bmilk everyday... but My mum didnt breastfeed me and my sister at all... we didnt even get to taste breastmilk... me and my sis also seldom fall sick... we are healthy adults too
VERY INTELLIGENT somemore... woahaha.... hope u dun feel so bad... I already "kan kai le"

Jas, don feel sad also. I am also one the lazy mum, I didn't pump regularly, and didn't latch my ger on. so my supply is always around 50 to 80ml, so i tot maybe i should plump with interval longer hr, then maybe i will have more milk. but i was wrong, the supply become low and low, finally one day i plump, no more milk. sigh, i felt sad too, but my hb consoled me saying at least we did try to feed her, better than nothing.

shazz
ouch! did u try wearing a breast shell so your nipple doesnt touch the breast pad/bra? it helped me thru my "ragged nipple days"...

BTW, anyone got a spare breast milk bag and will be in raffles place area today? I decided to bring my single electric instead of my PIS and forgot to pack an extra bottle for my afternoon pump!! :S PM me if u have...if not I may just "ren" till I get home at 7pm...:p

<font color="0000ff">All the baby pics so lovely
gosh, i juz love all the smiley faces

Shazz
i think it really did hurt. I squirmed when I read ur post. hope it's feeling better today. yeah.. like what ava mentioned, mayb put on a breast pad so ur nipples wont brush against ur breast pad / bra.

From ytd onwards, i've been pumping every 12 hrly coz really intending to stop already. Can only achieve 80ml after 12 hrs, so pathetic so i will slowly drag the interval time and den stop.

been thinking since i've already given max my best for 3 mths, it's abt time le

so many cute babies photos! NICE!

Jas,
pls don't be too hard on yourself, be positive and do something. ie. go call a lactation consultant if u want to resume BF. once u call, u will feel better as u are taking action and doing something.

I just want to say I feel being BF or on FM doesn't make a baby fall sick less/more. That's my personal experience with my first born. I went on PBF right from the start and then stopped totally after 3 weeks. Thereafter I sent my FB to infant care when he was 2months-plus. He seldom fall sick. I have a friend who TBF her son, and the boy is taken care of at home and yet he falls sick very frequently.. and quite serious kind (must go hospital etc)..

Of course as a mother, we all want the best for our child.. but sometimes we will never know what is the 'best'. There are too many factors in life.. Being on BM is deemed the best, but after going thru so much stress (at that time of my FB).. i think my decision to stop (just after 3weeks) was a right one. I felt so much happier as a person and as a mother and I could love and play with my son so much better.. nurturing a child is not just thru feeding but also thru other ways of loving, caring, playing etc..

For my baby girl now, I stopped BF after 2weeks. Ya, even worse than when I had my FB.. my girl is on total FM now. I can only hope and pray that she too will not fall sick easily.. but this is really not within my control.

Jas, just do what u feel is right and good. Since u already have idea of resuming BF, then give it a shot.. else u will always wonder next time if you should have resume or not. Jia You!

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) – wow, $10 for the santa romper? That is a good deal.
I got mine for $52!

dollyNEYUKO (dollyneyuko) – ur gal is very pretty!
Not much hair on top – same as Kieran!

breadmum (breadmum) – heh, that’s nice to hear. Anyway, doesn’t take much effort to set up an Xmas tree – maybe 2 hours max.

shazz (shazzerlyn) – mega OUCH! Take care and hope you heal well soon dear.

Jas (mobilesuitegal) – start with more latch ons, and lesser FM, and slowly build up ur BM supply again? Like you said, supply will catch up with demand, so the more you nurse, the more your body should produce. Meanwhile, drink more water, soups, barley, take fenugreek etc., and express for feeding sessions that you missed.

Like your CL, my CL also commented that my milk is too "thin" and Kieran was not full. My CL liked to supplement with one FM feed during the night when she was here, and I didn’t want to argue, so just let her be. But now that I am taking care of Kieran myself, he hasn’t had any FM since the CL left, and I intend to do TBF at least until I resume working in mid-Jan. He is a big drinker and I sometimes worry that my MS cannot catch up as well, but so far, so good.

Meanwhile, we bought a new rocker-swing from Fisher Price for Kieran! Collecting it tomorrow, I hope he likes it as much as his Spider chair rocker! So far, the 2 items we have from Fisher Price (the spider rocker and Rainforest Mat) have been value for money – he sleeps on the rocker during the day, and stops crying once we put him on the Rainforest Mat. He is also reaching out to touch and hit the hanging objects on the mat!

Milk_Family (milk_family) – I read that we need to feed 15-20 min on the 1st breast before switching so that baby gets the fatty hind milk – was also wondering if we need to express that long in order to pump out the hind milk, but I don’t think that is the case.

Just check your chilled express milk in the fridge – does it have 3 layers? For my case – I take on average 5 minutes to pump about 150ml after a 3 hour interval, and in a 150ml medela bottle – about 10-20ml would look like rice water (foremilk), about 120ml would be creamy (that should be the hind milk I guess), and the remaining 20ml at the top would be purely whitish very creamy fats.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Wow, really pei fu you! Don't be upset if you stop BF-ing yah? Of course we mummies want the best for our babies but it doesn't mean that by not BF-ing we are not a good mum.

Mei: Thats a gd shot of Devon laughing away!

Breadmum: You bb looks so adorable!

Recently Zane has been giggling &amp; squealing in delight when we talk to him. So happy when I see that!</font>

Hi Storeberry,

I have that book too! What to expect in the 1st year.. can u tell me which page talks abt the bb development? In reply to my earlier question. Thanks.

Xuanting,
When we werent parents yet, we placed Moo at a home boarding service (now the lady become our fren liao). I prefer home boarding to those pet hotel boarding. Home boarding - they provide walks, fun time and they limited the no. of pets they take in (max 6-7). For this coming trip, i intend to leave Moo with my mom.

Bigtoes,
Mine santa romper not fanciful/costume-like...just a normal romper (red &amp; green trim) with festive wordings..maybe i dress Kaiden in it and take a shot later

Thanks Bigtoes

I only notice 2 layers after I pump. Hmmm....... I will go and check what many layers are there in my chilled express milk now.

Gathering - have been receiving PMs on whether it is still going on.. answer is YES!

Those who have indicated interest can confirm by 22 Nov, this Sat please? (Sorry - Can also please also help change the 'bb' to your babies name and confirm if maid/ hb coming?)

Lastly gathering is open to all others who wish to join in!

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Near old airport rd, 3 bus stops from Sun Tec City
Food - Catered Halal High-Tea finger food

1. Momoko + bb - Confirmed
2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + bb
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + bb
7. Jojobar + bb
8. Storeberry + bb
9. Breadmum + Hb + Ethan - Confirmed
10. Mandy + Hb + bb
11. Jaymickey + Hb + bb - Confirmed
12. Sunrays + bb
13. sunnysunny + bb
14. StefSeanSharbabes + bb
15. preggie + Hb + bb
16. crayon + reyes
17. Lilboymum + CH + CY + maid
18. Angeline + Carine
19. Mrs Yap + bb - Confirmed
20. Vellevelle + bb

For those confirmed coming, can just PM me so I can receive your email address? I will send you the address and attach a map (with driving directions and bus numbers)...

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)

2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + bb
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + bb
7. Jojobar + bb
8. Storeberry + bb
10. Mandy + Hb + bb
12. Sunrays + Charlotte - Confirmed
13. sunnysunny + bb
15. preggie + Hb + bb
16. crayon + reyes
17. Lilboymum + CH + CY + maid
18. Angeline + Carine
20. Vellevelle + bb

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)

2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + bb
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + bb
7. Jojobar + bb
8. Storeberry + bb
10. Mandy + Hb + bb
12. Sunrays + bb
13. sunnysunny + bb
15. preggie + Hb + bb
16. crayon + reyes
17. Lilboymum + Ch'i Hui - confirmed
18. Angeline + Carine
20. Vellevelle + bb

Limay
sorry about this, i have to bail out on the christmas gathering. coz ch's baby dedication changed to the 13th due to some ...argghh...reasons...

so take us out...thankie!!

mummies enjoy yourself at the gathering..shall sorely miss it

Wow I love all the laughing pictures of the babies here! Make me very happy even though they are not mine, haha.

I also wan to put some laughing shots of ryan. He so enjoy himself looking at the mirror of his play gym.

1897264.jpg

1897265.jpg

aiyoh..right list right list..

me put myself as confirmed on her list, then put myself out of limay;'s list...kekekek

ahhh..so will see you on the 29th huh??!!! wow...after so long!!!

storeberry
char is doing the same too...give 100ml and cannot finish, will leave 10ml. Seem like all the babies pattern abt the same...

mei
devon same as char...always laughing and smiling! Even with a fever aft her vaccination, she was still smiling away..smtimes when she is hungry for milk, she'll cry then when i talk to her, she'll cry/smile/coo all at the same time!!! Very funny seeing her do that cos she can't decide to cry/smile/coo at tat moment,hee!!

1897353.jpg
<font color="aa00aa">chk out the lion head hairstyle..even with this much hair, we get the boy or girl? question too!!</font>
1897354.jpg
<font color="aa00aa">cheering me up after i complained it's too boring to stay home</font>
1897355.jpg
<font color="aa00aa">i wish her hair could be like this all the time!!</font>

Gathering - Pl confirm by 22 Nov, this Sat!! Can also help change the 'bb' to your babies name and confirm if maid/ hb coming?) Just add on in the list below ya... will order the food after confirmation..

Lastly gathering is open to all others who wish to join in!

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)

2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + Scarlett
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + Gabby
7. Jojobar + marcellus
8. Storeberry + zane
10. Mandy + Hb + Ryan - Confirmed
11. Jaymickey + Hb + Janelle - Confirmed
12. Sunrays + Charlotte - Confirmed
13. sunnysunny + Raphael
14. StefSeanSharbabes + Shermaine
15. preggie + Hb + bb
16. crayon + reyes
18. Angeline + Carine
19. Mrs Yap + Rachelle - Confirmed
20. Vellevelle + bb

For those confirmed coming, can PM me so I can receive your email address? I will send you the address and attach a map (with driving directions and bus numbers)... Oh, if you have educational DVDs, flashcards etc can bring along, we can all compare then don't have to keep buying to try out..

Sunrays - I love the little apron!!!! makes lil Char even more kawaii..

Mandy - Little Ryan is another happy smiley baby! Looking at himself heh.. prob wondering who is that handsome boy boy??

Yan - I think Isabelle posted the link for the BP before but closed leow I think. We got it from this website www.princessbowbow.com Jaymickey recc another link local one and cheaper.. sorry can't remember! But I warn you hor, once you start, cannot stop!!! So many pretty ones to choose from!

silly question
does anyone's bb NOT sleep in aircon during the day? jon has been mainly AWAKE these last 3 days sleeping only like 15 min each time in the day cos i am not in the aircon. now i put him in aircon room and he is asleep in 5 minutes...aiyoh.

Mummies, all your bbs are so lovely!

Jas/Mrs Yap/shazz,
Just do your best. Bfg is just a part of the lifelong motherhood journey.

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)

2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + bb
4. Lok + Maid + Joshua + Jonas - confirmed
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + bb
7. Jojobar + bb
8. Storeberry + bb
10. Mandy + Hb + bb
12. Sunrays + bb
13. sunnysunny + bb
15. preggie + Hb + bb
16. crayon + reyes
18. Angeline + Carine
20. Vellevelle + bb

lilboymum,
U not bringing CY to Springz's gathering? Bring lah, at least Josh will then have a friend to play with.

storeberry,
I didn't deliberately decide on Indo transfer maid. Wanted a new filipino. Selected 2 from biodata, wanted to ask a few more qns but unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) couldn't locate the 2 maids. Then the maid agency called me abt this maid (highly recommended). The reason she was transferred out --- caught on camera talking to the neighbour's maid for 3 hrs. She obviously didn't know that SG is so hi-tech. We did a F2F interview with her. First impression is good and she of cos repented. To us, whether taking either transfer or new maid will still be a bet. And we wanted one rather urgently cos we have 2 kids and my hubs works very late. She's now with us for 3 days and definitely out-performed the last one. Whether she continues like this remains to be seen...

dseptkon,
kaiden sleeps in non-aircond room in the day and sometimes at nite. Unless its too warm or too noisy, i will turn on aircon for him in the day. In the nite, depends on the weather too..

<font color="0000ff">dseptkon
hhmm... Max sleeps in aircon room at nite. but not during the day

think it sorta lets him differentiate between day n nite</font>

Lok
bringing cy along means bringing hb or maid along...then hb very shy. feels uneased when attending meetings with all women...so i suggested to him an outing with cy and him on that day and he said ok...

well, if i bring my maid along, you'll see the worst of cy coz he doesnt like the maid..dun ask me why. he'd rather play on his own than have the maid near him...so..

haha..will ask him see if he dares to chance this gathering or no...

thanks everyone. so now i know that not sleeping in aircon in the day is something that a lot of other bbs do.

its now 20 minutes in aircon and he is AWAKE again... sigh. i'm wondering why he is doing this all of sudden. he used to take perfectly good 1- 1.5 hr naps but since last friday, this waking up after 15-20 minutes has been a pattern... the babywise book talked about the 45 minute "intruder" that might appear butthis is the 15 minute intruder!!! Mr Jon is now in his 12th week...anyone with ideas as to why this is happening?!

do u have the problem of diff. BM amount for the right &amp; left boobs?

My left side can only squeeze abt 50ml whereas the right side can have 100ml.. its such a huge diff..

Anyway to up the amount for the lower supply side? I have tried latch on..

lilboymum,
Your hubs won't be alone. There are a few daddies going for the gathering too.

Any other mummies bringing your FB as well?

<font color="0000ff">Mandy
Ryan is so cute!!! he really likes his play gym. Max doesn't like his, haha. think coz it doesn't move at all. He has juz learnt to like the toys on the rocker. He makes them move by kicking his legs so the chair will rock den the toys will sway with it, hehe

Sunrays
OMG!!!!!! Char has grown so much, hehe. I love that headful of hair tho
so lovable her smiles</font>

<font color="119911">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) – okie, noted that you cant make it for the Xmas gathering. Btw, what do you mean by baby dedication?

dseptkon (dseptkon) – Kieran doesn’t sleep with the aircon most days (whether at nite or day). My MIL doesn’t use the aircon, so we don’t want him getting used to it, cos we will be sending him there during the day when I return to work.

qqq (missheng) – me! My leftside usually has about 20-30ml more milk than the right, and usually gets engorged quicker as well. I try to latch Kieran on on the right first, but hasn’t made much of a difference.

Autum, Bigtoes, Jasmine, Mrs Yap, 08_first_time_mom, Shazz, Jaymickey, Bacon&amp;Egg,, Storeberry, Flos

Thanks mummies for all your encouragement. I felt the strong desire to try one last time before I totally give it up for her. It’s true, like what you all said, BF is just a part of motherhood. I feel so encouraged to give it a last shot. Thanks for all the kind advice you all have given me, it just livens my day up
Feel so touched that mummies here are so helpful…Really treasure this bond between us all!

Jas: I'm not too sure about the hind milk thing. but i was told that if i pump I should pump 5 min on each breast, alternating between the two for half an hour... don't be too stressed. cheer up! autum is very right, nurturing the child is as important. seriously, it was a really terrible time when I insisted on total BM but I'm much happier now supplementing with FM. My sister &amp; I were FM fed babies and we grew up fine also. Don't worry too much. As long as we have tried our best, we should not be guilty about it. Baby needs a happy mother.

sunray: your baby is so adorable and chubby and look at that hair! so thick! I wish my boy has thick thick hair too! is she breastfed or using formula milk? wah, my boy is so small... wish he grows up faster.

Mummies: All your baby photos are beautiful! Don't you think babies are just soooo cute and innocent? Their smiles really make ur day! My gal just started smiling and laughing only recently, and we find it difficult to snap good photos of her!

1898059.jpg

Here's Rachael doing tummy-time..I simply lurve her hair so much, I can't bear to shave it @ 1st month! Curly like her daddy's .

my ger do something yesterday.
my sis was carry her and try to pat to sleep, out of sudden, she hit my sis' spec, my sis 'ouch' and my ger start laughing w sound and she made funny face to my sis by sticking her tongue out. when we see this, everyone laugh.

Jasmine
Rachael sticks her tongue out very often too
and she is seen salivating a lot now, often with lots of bubbles coming out frm her mouth! Hee..I can picture how ur gal is making the funny face with her tongue sticking out..

storeberry

hmm..maybe the babies are all slowing down now..PD never say oso..he say so long as got drink 100ml at least once everyday can liao..thot mine is rejecting milk due to the wind in her stomach..seems like other oso the same..

<font color="119911">Jas (mobilesuitegal) &amp; other mommies commenting on Santa Kieran - thanks! Actually, he was abit grumpy when we tried the outfit on (its a one piece romper), cos its abit thick for Spore weather! Just wanted to make sure it fitted, but then realised that it is abit small, so I am bringing it to change this weekend.

If you mommies are keen - I got this from Mothercare - there is also a Santarina outfit!
Would be cute if we had a couple of baby Santas/Santarinas at our place for the Xmas Gathering!Can take a group photo of Santa &amp; Santarina babies under the Xmas tree! heehee

Jas (mobilesuitegal)- the girl CNY dresses at that link are so cute!! Everything is cuter for baby girls, so jealous! Btw, for CNY clothes - just bring Rachael to Chinatown closer to CNY? Plenty of CNY clothes there - can bargain and try on for fit. Maybe even get matchy clothes for mommy &amp; daddy - like what Malays usually do for Hari Raya - whole family in matchy clothes!</font>

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - the outfit is a whole piece - everything is connected, u just open the centre zip and pop baby in - so its not real boots!

limay
'pop the baby in' LOL!!

baby dedication..eh like catholic baptism? my denomination does only baby dedication (like how Samuel was dedicated to the Lord by his mother Hannah).was supposed to be on the 6th, but then pastor has been called away and will be only available on 13th..haiz.

Bigtoes
Yup, I agree. Girls' clothes are much easier to get and all of them look so sweet. Even my hubby, who don't use to fancy clothes and fashion that much, loves Rachael to be in rompers. He buys sooo many of them for Rachael! You can "plan" for a baby girl for #2!

Talking about #2, I dreamt that I was once again pregnant! OMG! So fast?? It's like, I even remember my gynae's words in my dreamS! "Must have protection when xxx , cos I have mummies who don't believe me, and got pregnant within 4 months of giving birth!" Hubby got worried at his words..haha..

Sunrays
Char is real beauty! She looks so pretty and lady-like in all her photos, esp the one she is lying on the sofa and smiling demurely! Not like Rachael, when she don't smile, she looks fiercer than my hubby!
We must dress her up in pink b4 she looks really a girl! See below to believe...

1898342.jpg

<font color="ff6000"> Jas: i think Rachael is really cute! i love her big big eyes! i always tell kieran to open his eyes big big, his eyes are so tiny, will disappear whenever he smiles.

Ohhhh, Rachael is soooooooooo cute in this last pic. Her eyes, expression....
I want a girl for my #2 nxt time.
That time i told my hubby maybe we can try for #2 when ryan turn 1 to 1.5yrs old hehe.
Baby girls' temper should be better than boys rite? Hehe.