(2008/09) Sep 2008

wah lao wei... Kym ur FIL ah.. aiyah, i'm speechless..sometimes i don understand wat old people are thinking!

Males very fast menopause? I read some news, tis old man pregnant his wife.. tt old man is ard 70-75!! hahahahaha

morning mummies ,
Flos ,
middle ranking school and P trying to up the standard these few years ..

Aloysious ,
the pictures are so nice ... u do studio shots or outdoor shots .. think we can organised a mass gathering and a corner for your business .. keke .. u have to do some goodwill and take more shots for bb .. keke

Yan ,
my son also sometimes does that .... mouth small ..

gtg ,, bb screaming nw

hi autumn,
thanks for your advice. think we are still not used to handling it alone at night...will have to take it as it comes.

congrats sri_leo.

i read that many of your bb has been sucking their mittens. how abt sucking on the arm? can leg warmers be used as she has been sucking happily and leaving lots of 'bruises'.

my bb has been cup, spoon, bottle, breast fed since day1 and there has been no problem till recently. she will refuse the bottle and cry till i offer her my breast. have checked that the milk will flow out auto from the teat when holding the bottle upside down, so does not seem to be the size of the teat. Anyone has the same problem or any advices?

<font color="0077aa">Twendy: Come &amp; join us! I am going alone with bb as well! I suddenl;y remember I have got to attend a fren's ROM in the morning &amp; I almost forgot!

Baby carrier: Sorry if this has been asked, anyone has the combi Ninna nanna baby carrier, how is it compare to Baby Bjorn &amp; Ergo? Cos I think its cheaper than the two...

Sasa: So have you gotten your bb bjorn from US alr? How is it?

Mei: I use it to wash my face! Haha, don't waste mah, its so precious to me.. Keke.. I leave it for a while &amp; still wash off with water else it has a sticky feeling! I also let my hubs wash his hair with it! Heard it can promote hair growth! haha!</font>

teacher mummies, now block leave is a default arrangement. it is not a MUST but subjected to principal's agreement if it is to be taken flexibily. that was what i meant. kyrie you're so fortunate your P is so very nice. :D i'm making an appeal now, just hope that I can break up my leave instead.

you mummies out there are all so happening, so many gatherings. but i stay too far le, and got no car. traveling is a hassle. in fact i only brought baby out once to a nearby shopping centre. don't dare venture so far! haha. enjoy yourselves!

the leggings i saw in other posts are so cute! where else can get ah?

sometimes my baby regurgitate, sometimes not. but he does that even if he burps. hmm. he's drinking 140 mL now, how much are your babies drinking?

<font color="0077aa">qqq: For BM bags, if you want to consider cheaper option, can buy playtex, its alot cheaper than those zip lock kind but you gotta buy those reuseable clips to clip the BM bags. I am using this &amp; Lasinoh as well. Bottles use too much space &amp; I don't have enough space for my BM liao.

Where are you staying first time mom?</font>

hi mummies... we visited the PD last sat and she said dd still cannot lift head momentarily when on tummy and tends to turn her head to right side... any mummies experienced this??? any idea how to correct this???

Rabbit
Thks dear!

mei
hehe..ya..the thought of using ebm to wash face is kinda weird..but how does it feel? do u think ur skin is better after the wash?

yan
haha..funny face indeed! all those with the same duckie romper should gather and we can take a mass photo..haha..would be interesting and cute.

qiuling

well, i prefer to do more shots with natural lighting..like in your home when there is nice sunlight or outdoors where everyone would feel comfortable. ahaha..i wouldn't mind having a mass gathering and then see what we can come up with..i can also share some tips to taking nicer baby photos.
actually mummies who are interested in a photoshoot, do feel free to PM me.

rabbit
i noticed that my girl has started to suck her mittens or just regularly sticking out her tongue to try to lick them. heh. sometimes when wifey or mil carries her she will try to lick/suck their necks..what you ladies have been calling.."trying to give lovebites". ha.

storeberry
wah u do facial with it ah. i dun think i wanna use it to wash my hair..unless it can get rid of white hairs. haha.

Twendy, yah join us~ I'm also going alone with baby. actually i first time meeting w mummies here. haha~ looking forward+excited+worried+shy all at the same time!

yan
i also 1st time meeting with most of the mummies who are going. :p so same same lah.

dracwy
haha..so cute..do you always pinch his cheeks? :p

dracwy, kieran can train lifting his head for so long when he enjoys tummy time. my dd hates it when i put her on her tummy! keep shaking her head, wiping her face on the bed and going 'eh eh eh'. dunno if its the timing of her tummy time not rite or wadever the reason. she can only do tummy time on our body but not flat surface.

<font color="ff6000"> Sri Leo: he's 2 and half months old.

Aloysius: hehe...thanks. i occasionally pinch his cheeks lah. most of the times his toes, cos they're super fat and round and cute.

yan: initially kieran also couldn't do much, but bigtoes and i tried to make him do tummy time a few minutes each day, since he was about one month old. now he enjoys it, and smiles often. u should try to make your kid do it too. it helps to strengthen the neck muscles.</font>

dracwy, i wanted to let her try more often. but hubby saw me doing it once and scolded me cos he saw his dd feeling so uncomfortable on her tummy. last night i even showed my mum kieran's clip on him lifting his head and holding it for some time, actually wanted to convince her to let her train bb during the day when she is taking care of her. but also my mum rejected with the excuse of later bb sprain her neck etc! -_-! haiz!!!

Bigtoes
Anymore slots for the X'mas party? I signed up, #17 on your list but I checked back and was left out.

Sri Leo
Congrats on your new job!

drawcy
haha..okie..ive not been noticing my bb toes recently cos most of the time have booties on..must go home see if they are pinchable or not. haha.

sri leo
congrats on your job!

dracwy
kieran is sooo cute! can send for bb contests already!

storeberry
me me! i bought the ninna nana( not sure how to spell it even) for FB and i use it for #2. its ok but i don't use it for long, just short trips to supermarket etc where i need both hands and cant bring stroller. think support is not as good as ergo. now i am very gian to get another carrier cos babycentre is having its sales.

qiuling
sad to know that the teaching force is going to lose another dedicated teacher

Yan
It is recommended for babies to be placed on their tummies often, so as to encourage them to learn how to crawl. I have been also putting Rachael on her tummy, and her neck is pretty strong. She loves tummy time too, like Dracwy and Bigtoe's Kieran.

Limay - i'm sorry I'm so late. Hubs is trying to remember what we had on that weekend and we indeed have a party we've committed ourselves to. Sorry to miss it but have a blast!

qqq - I really like the nursing bras I got from Mothercare. I bought some from Momsinmind but they didn't fit me well.

Kymkym - my dad can also be difficult, esp with the maid so I totally understsand what you mean. I don't know why but my mom and sis thinks it is menopause for the men and I think I would probably agree. Good luck with your new maid!

<font color="0000ff">Springz
I was so tired, haha. but come to think of it. i've been sleeping thru movies that I have watched these few yrs.. hhmm... wonder what's wrong.

Anyway, I didn't really like the show. prob coz I didnt understand what was going on. N definitely, I missed Pierce Brosnan. So much more handsome n young lah

Oh ya... n we really did miss baby, esp hb who didn't see him for 2 whole days
We suddenly felt like something was missing and for once, my hb missed his cries. gosh!!!

Storeberry
No wor.. haven gotten my bjorn carrier yet. haha. still waiting for my couz to be back from his honeymoon. But den.. i got a 2nd hand mothercare 3 way carrier as well. used it once le.. so far so good hehe

qqq
I used storage bags for my EBM too, but for me, coz I have low SS, storage bags are not that cost worthy and i switched to using glass bottles, at least can reuse. As wat storeberry suggested, get those cheaper bags, so at least u dun spend so much. I got those Blue Egg Milk Bags. good n cheap. I still have a few boxes, so if u wan, let me know k

tummytime

haha..tink mine still dun like tummytime..will 'eh eh eh' n her head will move from side to side instead of lifting up...

today didnt manage to bring baby go PD coz rain heavily..the nurse says tbf bb can dun poo more than 1 week...subject to a few conditions..anyway,me make appt to go down tomorow liao..coz dun feel good to see her tummy so big n bloated n poo inside..

<font color="ff6000"> yan: my mum also thinks it's weird to subject the baby to such "torment". but like Jas said, it's actually a form of exercise for the baby. as long as u dont make her do it right after a meal, i think it's perfectly fine. of cos must also make sure it's being done on a well-padded area.</font>

Hi, Angeline

Me starts to drop hair liao
and I am starting work this wednesday.. sobz sobz.. yesterday night already can feel the "separation anxiety" cos this morning sent baby to In laws place..and I have baby all on my mind when I left.. worried this and that.. think will aggravate my hair dropping..

Hi, Lilyboymum

Thanks for your advice on baby watching tv. I wiill avoid letting baby to watch TV at the moment and will need to remind and remind and remind my in laws not to let him watch TV cos it is not educational programes but those what taiwanese drama..

Angeline, mine is also same lor. like wiping her face on the bed. in the end pop out more pimples! lol~

dracwy, yah i must tell my mum to let her start 'training' le. but baby is like her 'baobei', her top priority. haha!

QUESTION AGAIN

(A) How do I store and bring the sterlised pump parts to work?

(B) How do i wash and store in after each pump at work?

(C) Do I need to dry the parts before each pump? So far, after sterilising, I dun wipe dry or air dry it. when i wan to pump i just take out from the pigeon steamer and shake dry a bit and then to use..

LC..
o with ILs are...then very tender subject here...kekeke...they will surely complain mind you...

tummy time
okok..i was a big one for tummy time and all. until my ch loves it so much she just flops there and smiles to herself,t hen subsequently falls asleep!!!!!! so much for tummy time.

Lilboymum

Same here, Raphael loves tummy time too. He sleeps on his tummy most of the time, I only put him on his back when we sleep at night. He don't fall asleep, will be crawling around till he got stuck at the corner or bored then call for attention

LC

dun worry..ur bb is in safe hands..better than some stranger nanny rite? i will worry if my mil look after bb coz she will indulge them like how my elder gal is spoilt by them..when in their presence,my FB dun even listen to me nor them..coz climb up their head liao..now keep telling me/other ppl how naughty she is etc...i was silently tinking haiz 'they find problem themselve 1 when beginning we told them cannot spoil them'...

yan

mine will start sucking the bedsheet/etc instead of lifting..haha

<font color="ff0000">Xmas Gathering:
sunnysunny (sunnysunny) - sorry for missing you out earlier - too many postings to catch up! Are you coming with baby + hubby?

lanolin (lanolin) &amp; cloud (lovelycloud) - no worries, have removed both your names from the list.

Momoko (momoko76) – let me know if you can make it.

Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80) – Are you coming to the Xmas gathering as well?

Millie (millie22) – are you still coming for the gathering?

twendy (twendy) – yes, we can still slot you in for the gathering! Just be prepared for a bit of a squeeze though, cos our place is not that big!

The $15 gift is meant for random exchange – can be something for mummy or baby – we leave that up to you!

Once, everyone is confirmed, I will order the catering.

Xmas Tree – Just decorated our Xmas tree this morning – waiting for hubby to come back later to put up the ribbon on the top! This year's theme is Gold, with a dash of Silver! Will take some photos and post up soon!

Mommies looking to get Xmas trim – we went to CK Tang, Metro and Taka atrium yesterday - I reckon Metro has the nicest ones this year. I didn’t check out Robinsons, but they should have pretty trims as well!</font>

<font color="119911">breadmum (breadmum) – aiyoh, hope baby's finger is okie now. Don’t worry, babies are hardier than we think!

KymKym T (pebblez) – yes your FIL seems like he is going thru male menopause....!

Aloysius Lim (aloysiuslim) – your photos are amazing! Dracwy and I are also planning to take some shots of Kieran (like studio photos), but DIY at home – did that for my preggers shot as well!

piggiebearie (eiggipeireab) – Kieran turns his head to the right all the time as well! Not a big deal, but just that one side of the head would be abit flattish. Just have to force him to turn more to the other side (which is quite difficult).

Tummy time – we started Kieran on tummy time early (about one month old for about 5 minutes per day. But don’t have to force it - if the baby looks uncomfy or irritated, then don’t push them and just flip them back ya.

Meanwhile, I did up crowns for my 4 front teeth on Saturday to straighten them. Have nice even looking teeth now!</font>

Bigtoes
Yes! We are coming. 2A+2C.

So much shopping in a day... so Metro has the nicest? Then I'll skip the rest and head for Metro. I saw Taka's little trim shop at the atrium, nothing much. Did you buy a lot? No protest from Drawcy?

wow i've missed 2 pages of posts in 2 days!

Sri leo
congrats on your job!

EBM
I've been reading off and on about not mixing ebm from differnt pumping sessions...but can mix before drinking right??? *blur*

shazz: anyway, it's bridge under water now...my hubs has forgotten abt those leg warmers after I told him I'll give some to his frens' kids this Christmas...

I've a new shopping focus now, which is to wait eagerly for my HK proxy to bring home my other loots from HK

Eamon was fast asleep in his Skate wasn't he? I was too flustered with the hungry Isaac to peer into his stroller ytd, so sorry! Oh I'd wanted to tell u the beanpillow is really nice

Buy office furniture? I dun quite understand
Full me in on this one, you and your hubs are working in the same office, eh?

Bacon&amp;eggs: Actually, I hadn't washed the leg warmers ytd when I put them on Isaac! LOL...

Aloysius: Wondering if u found the AIR comfy? My hubs didn't. He kept having to lean his body fwd subconsciously to ensure ISaac's neck is rested against the AIR neck support piece. It was really awkward for him.

Bigtoes: I beg to differ on X'mas trims! I didn't find anything nice at Metro Compass Point. I love those at Robs instead
Anyway, I bought lots of pretty Ikea X'mas serviettes ytd...they are gorgeous!!!! Go grab some

How much did u pay for your 4 crowns? How does crowning help to straighten one's teeth, may I know?

sasa: u dun like Daniel Craig? He's got a great torso to die for in the last (his first) Bond movie.

REGISTERED MAIL: Am wondering if u ladies find Singpost's outsourced delivery service sucks? I always missed my parcel delivery cos the postman was too impatient and would not wait long enuff before I could answer my door. Ended up having to go to to Singpost to collect the parcels a few times. I really wanna write in to comPRAIN...

LC: put them all in those microwavable ziploc bags from Medela. Each bag can be used 20X.

Tumtum time: Isaac doesn't enjoy his tummy time. Always sucking the mattress and digging his nose into it, like an ostrich!

Flos: Eamon slept all the way till 540pm then he woke up for milk. Thanks for the compliments on the pillow.
Hubby and I work in the insurance industry, I report to him directly at work. In a way, we're self-employed and hence things like office furniture are at our own cost.

Hi Hi all mummies

Storeberry &amp; Springz Thanx for welcoming! (",)

Flos : About your concern on teacher mummy delivered during Jan and children not able to see their teacher for 4 mths. Actually, once we inform the sch about our pregnancy/EDD, the sch will make appropriate arrangement, so no worries.

Quiling: P called me up and talk to me personally. Actually i have already inform the sch that i have the intention to break my ML (AM inform P liao) but sch still wants me to take the 4 mths ML in a block so bobian have to accept liao. Haiz.......... SAD! Holiday gone........

Hi Quiling,

They din email the circular on ML to us but P show to the whole sch during contact time. AM called to inform me about the circular then P talked to me over the phone.

<font color="119911">sunnysunny (sunnysunny) &amp; Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80) – okie, noted!

Aloysius Lim (aloysiuslim) – hah, ask Dracwy, he is the photographer, I am only the stylist!
He was wondering if we should rent the proper photography lighting to take photos for Kieran…

Flos (flos) – I saw the Robisons' trim advert in the papers – yes – pretty! Didn’t have time to go to Robs though. Anyway, the more I see, the more I would end up buying, so better not!

On tooth crowning – the dentist first file your original teeth (i.e. file away the crooked portions), then the crown 'caps' the entire tooth. Had to get 4 injections for 4 teeth! Thank goodness I didn’t opt for whole mouth crowning (that’s what the Hollywood stars do, and what you see on "Extreme Makeover"). Cost for aesthetic crowns is $1000-1300 per tooth at my dentist, excluding charges for making the dental impression/x-rays etc.

sunnysunny (sunnysunny) – you better check out Robs as well! Nope, I didn't buy a lot, just a couple of gold items (I realize that yes, I do have quite abit of stuff from previous years already).</font>

bigtoes
haha..wah..stylist..ya..my wifey is my art director. hehe. i just shoot. :p
oh..no need rent light lah..make use of natural light loh.

Milk _family ,
no choice ba .. think your p is smart .. i went back to school to take the circular to have a look .. cicular came out on 23rd oct and i have already long returned to work on 14th oct ... and haev already break up the ML ... i verbally told head that i will take ML on feb and march already .. so no issues on this .. guess i am the lucky one .. hmm ... or unlucky one to get the grading ... maybe they gave u an " okay" grade .. so never let u break up the leave ??

Flos ,
registered mail can be resend to your house via telephone arrangement .. dun have to go down personally to collect again ... make arrangements for them to send when u are at home loh

<font color="ff6000"> Aloysius: my place very dark, not much light into the house. the lights in the house are filament bulbs, so quite dim. i hate flash, like u, i prefer natural ambience light. but can't slow the shutter speed too much, since the boy keeps moving. if aperture is too wide, the field of depth becomes too narrow. so that's why i'm contemplating to rent the lighting (although i'm still quite adamant about not using artificial lighting). any advice on this?</font>

dolly/qiuling: I didn't know until this morning when I called them to comPRAIN, and was 'redirected' by some computer voice instructions to a redelivery service.

shazz: u will be very senang very soon, if such pattern continues

bigtoes: I just love Robs' X'mas decorations!!!

milk family: oic, wait till my son attends P1... I'm not too worried now:p

aloysius: I recall Jessi gave birth later than most of us, so is your bb's neck strong enuff at this stage to be 'bjorned', like some of the bbs born in Aug?