(2008/09) Sep 2008

qiuling: 2 injections? Mine only has 1 injection and 1 oral intake for rotavirus. What is missing here?!!! Id beter call my PD on Monday.

this weight thingy is quite odd. I think it's gotta do with the bone mass? Maybe your Zenneth's bone mass is heavier than your fren's bb?

sasa de mouse: u need a high speed shutter to capture those charming smiles...

alabone: my sympathies!!! the good samaritans are not around I guess:p no one likes to give up their place in the lift for a bulky stroller. Singaporeans...haizzzz

autum/storeberry: my maid will seek my permission if she wants to enter my bedroom. But sometimes, I just close one eye cos I've nothing valuable in the drawers for her to steal. I've locked up the cash and other valuables elsewhere...

The only thing I do worry is that she would try on my comestics and use my shaver to shave herself when she is washing my bathroom.

storeberry/jojobar: on leg warmers...I think I've figured out how they work now
Thks! I'll order some too!!

<font color="0000ff">Mandy
hehe.. so qiao ah!!! wah... u sure live near ur boss too :p

oh, i nvr knew jurong west till i shifted here half a yr ago. somehow always think tat it's the other end of SG(which is the case) and it's so super ulu, but seems like so many of us are staying here...

Flos
oh yah manz.. i think so. Realli need alot of patience and lotsa my camera batt to capture those clear sparkling smiles.

Maids
sighz... MIL's maid has a few habits which I kinda hate. been telling her a few times and hinting to her already, but she juz doesn't seem to get it.
1) My boy's name is Max n at times she ends up calling him 'Mac Max' or so i think. definitely not 'Max Max'. So much so, a few times, I heard it as 'Mad Max'. OMG!!!! Fuming...
2) She likes to pinch him on his legs. I know she meant it as a play. u noe like how much we wanna pinch some babies cheeks when we see it so chubby. But i juz hate it... dun think she did it tat hard, coz my boy doesn't seem to be bothered by it.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Goldfish
So sorry to hear about ur little one. don't worry k.. little baby will be fine. All will turn out well</font>

abalone,
sorry to hear about your fall at the mrt station. actually u can try asking people for help.. most Singaporeans are actually shy or we all tend to have a "don't bother people" attitude both ways.. ie. we don't want to bother people n we don't want people to bother us.. but if u ask for help, most of us are willing and gladly will help. So I learnt not to be shy and just ask.. sure will have people who will help.. if u ask and the person still walk away.. then glare at them! haha.. :p

re: milk intake
my girl taking 110ml and last her about 4hours. or rather i m trying to make it last her 4hours. sometimes around 3.5hrs she will cry so we feed. Each day she has 6-7 feeds. Last time with my FB, also the same thing.

Sasa,
if u don't like what the maid is doing, please tell her directly. don't hint. it will be much clearer to her and less frustration for u. After u tell her directly, she would have no reason to repeat the mistake cos u have clearly indicated her NOT to do. Of course, she may forget.. then each time u remind her and tell her directly again. if she still doesn't get it, tell her to WRITE down.. yes, make it very serious.. in a calm manner, not say scolding her or what.. then she will understand that u are serious about not wanting her to say/do those things again.

HORRIBLE TEENS ON BUS: Oh! On Fri I went out w my baby. I was carrying him in the sarong sling when I boarded the bus. It was crowded with poly students. NONE of the students seated in the "priority seats" bothered to give up their seats to me or the other lady carrying her 7-mth old baby. A kind gentleman asked the boys if they would give their seats up for me. Instead of looking embarassed and giving up their seats, they staredBLANKLY at him and looked at each other trying to decide WHO should stand up!!! I was so cheesed off that I scolded them. I raised my voice and said, "What's wrong with you boys? If you can't read, then surely you can understand the pictures. (pointing to the notice and illustrations pasted behind them). " They still continued staring at me as if i was a lunatic. I repeated myself again and ended with "You are all such a disgrace!!!" THen they immediately stood up and scrambled away. At the next stop, 4 other poly students were alighting and they gave me and the other mum a funny look as if we had done something wrong!! What's going to happen to SG in the future with youths like these? Hopeless. I pray that our bbs will grow up to be civic-minded and with social graces!

Anyway, I really have to watch my temper cos I'm carrying the baby now ...must think of his safety. THe other day, stupid drivers nearly knocked me and baby down cos they INSISTED on driving on instead of giving me way...and i was already half-way across the road...which btw was not along the major or minor roads.but just outside the car park.

flos: where are you ordering your leg warmers from?

Alabone: My symapthies too. Next time just have to open our mouths and ask them i guess since they don't have initiative.

Sarahmay ,
That is a bad experience .. hmm .. i had never encounter such beheaviours in youth before .. maybe becos i drive .. but my school boys / girls are mostly very kind .. in fact .. even if i am teaching , they would request me to sit down or take a chair for me to sit down during lessons .. hmm .. that is worth something to ponder about in education .. civic mindedness .. keke ..

Flos ,
the extra jab is the puemoccocal .. some bb took only after the 6 mth .. Me K.S mummy ... took the 4 jabs for zac when he is 2, 4, 6 mths and one year old .. so repeating it for Zenneth ..
Prevention is alwaYS BETTER THAN CURE .. cos my last forum june 07 mummy did not take the jab and her FB hospitalised for 5 days and the bill size and the heart pain is difinetely greater than 4 jabs ... so last time since zac is having jab , i might as well jab him more to give him extra protection ...

<font color="0077aa">Thanks Autum &amp; Sasa! Yah, sometimes I get blur pix as well! My camera has this function to take a few pix together so can captured the right ones! I love his laugh!

Kymkym: I am getting a Indo maid cos my MIL can speak to her in Malay as she don't know English. Can I know the reason you are changing your maid?

Went to Bt Timah shopping centre to find the maid agency, there are dozens &amp; dozens of agencies there till me &amp; BIL blur. And the 1st one - Nation, we alr spent like close to one hour there. And we only managed to go to 3 agencies. But all agencies tell us we need to wait for 4-6 weeks for the maid, which means I have to delay going to work! But thank GOD FIl said that he will stay abit longer in S'pore to help out when I need to go office but I know I can't work full force cos he has no energy nor patience to watch over my nephew..

Alabone: Ugly S'poreans! Tsk tsk.. But I have met ugly foreigners as well! When I was heavily pregnant that time &amp; was carrying alot of things then my file dropped &amp; all the papers flew out, these two chinese foreigner just stepped over my papers &amp; continue on. Was so pissed with them!

Milk intake:
I tried to up my boy milk intake but end up he also cannot finish so I am still giving him 90ml EBM. He is 10weeks now.</font>

<font color="ff6000"> alabone and SarahMay: i blame the lack of etiquette and manners on family upbringing. nowadays parents totally spoil the kids, treat them like little princes and princesses, and when these "royal blood" grow up, they become super self-centred and don't think about others. i always remind myself not to spoil my children, and to discipline them when necessary, and to teach them from young what is right from wrong.

i share my dad's secrets to raising wonderful kids - (i) spare the rod and spoil the child; (ii) 养不教父之过 (dads, take note); (iii) 慈母多败儿 (mums, take note).

<font color="0077aa">Yah man, totally agree with dracwy. But I think discipline should come in when they are older cos now they also don't understand...

Autum: Your gal like to pose!! So cute &amp; girly!</font>

Hi Alabone,

I shared your sentiment a lot. That is why i do not dare to go to child UNfriendly place alone with baby (where there are lots of steps kind).... I dont want to be in a sitation where i need to rely on pp to help me.
There are so many times, when the lift door shut on me cos pp in the lift saw the pram coming in.... refuse to hold, esp in paragon.
So far, i think the most child friendly mall in Tanglin Mall for me.
Hiaz... I actually wonder alot hor... why these pp take lift/elevator when the escalator is so much faster and convience...Give the evelatorto us mummy with pram or physically challenged pp on wheelchair lah...

Thank s for all ur concern. It is a very emotionally draining period as i tried to ‘pyscho’ myself out of ‘depression’. I am tested positive for this virus as well, which means most likely i might have passed the virus to baby during pregnancy. There is little or no symptom of getting infected with this virus unfortunately for me. As such, it came as a big blow to me

I am now waiting to meet up with the infection specialist in KK to further discuss abt the bb case. But from what i read from the medical articles in the internet, it is not very optimistic.

Sarah, the bb is now at home, and we are supposed to go for weekly blood test but we decided to opt out of it. We just have to monitor closely his daily progress and make sure he feed and poo well etc etc.

Stef, for my bb, the symptons are just some reddish spots that we found on his face one day. We are wondering whether issit heat rashes or milk rashes etc and decided to bring him to PD to confirm. And she suggest us to bring to KK to do a blood test and from there, bb was admitted for 2 days as his platelet level is super low (16 vs normal rate of 100 and above). From there, several blood samples was drawn and send for lab test and he did an ultrasound on the brain as well. But actually, CMV is a clinically silent disease. It is ‘good’ that we discovered that he is infected with CMV virus now and be prepared of the tough road ahead...

From this incident, i am treasuring every single moment with the bb... and is very very patient towards the bb now..

SarahMay, the pimple like thing with pus on your bb's bottom.. could it be his BCG jab? My bb has it too and the PD already told us about it when he had his jab in the hospital. It's on his left bottom.

Goldfish, *hugs* do take care and stay strong. It's a blessing that you found out early.

Alabone, wah what an experience. I wouldn't know what I'll do if I were you. Hee but i'll definitely be cursing under my breath!

goldfish - sorry to hear that... stay strong and take care of urself.. ur lil baby needs you the most now.. stay positive ya.

kyrielison: but his bcg jab was like 7wks ago...now then appear? anyway better be safe than sorry. shall go trow to the PD to check it out. did you bb have a red pimply thing at the BCG spot? mine's on the left of bum but toward the side not really on the bottom. what did the PD advise you to do?

drawcy: yes, we have to remind ourselves not to spoil our kids! parenting is tough. but i believe that if parents are civic minded, the kids will be too. so i guess for these youths, their parents prob do the same inconsiderate things. disgusting. i'm sure kieran won't be spoilt cos u and bigtoes aren't.

goldfish: yes, thank GOd you discovered early. Stay strong! And you have made a v impt point abt not taking our bbs for granted. After reading what you are going thru, i am reminded to cherish every moment w mine and to be patient.

SarahMay, yup the PD said that it'll appear about a month after the jab. Says some mothers have actually mistaken it for a pimple and even SQUEEZED it. So told me to take note of it. Yah it's not directly at the bottom but on the left. He told me to just be aware of it and not squeeze it.

Hi Springz / Storeberry::
My maid will leave the clothes on my bed after she had fold or iron.

I told my maid from day 1 that I will not lock my bedroom when I went back to work cos I choose to believe her but if I discover anything missing, she will be the 1st person I will suspect as she is the only at home. Quite a few times, my hubby forgotten to take out his money from his jean pocket before throwing into the laundry basket. She will pass the money to my hubby regardless of the amount.

Hi Goldfish:
Sorry to hear about your bb condition...hope he will be alright. Jia you and take care of your health.

Goldfish,
Be strong. Will pray for u and your baby. Please take care.

Storeberry,
i suggest u don't go to Nation. I went there too and was so shocked at their fees n proposed maid salary. I think their fees is $600+ n salary is $400 for Indo.. and this is for fresh, without experience maid. There are other good agencies around, not so expensive. I feel that maids without experience can be quite problematic simply because they do not know what is expected of them as a maid (of course there are always good ones)..

hi,sasa

din know u stay there..hmm.. maybe can meet up on weekend when i visit my mum cos they staying at westwood..
I am going back next thursday, wan to meet, say at gek poh? prob 5plus in the evening? cooler..

Mandy, interested?

PM me..

SarahMay
I swaddle bb real tight so when he cant move, he will feel safe. stroking the bb's temple is somethin I learnt fr my mum. when bb is very tired and tensed, he refused to close his eyes so my mum will stroke bb's temple downwards to the nose so bb automatically closes his eyes.

Koras
Baby crying
I used to be like superwoman and dash to bb once he cry. Now, I talk to him first calming him down for a while then slowly make milk. But if it is more than 6 hrs without milk, he is not open for negotiation.

Maid
Its really heng suay one lor. The bio-data not accurate. My maid says she used to take care of bb but she cant burp bb or make bb sleep. At first, I tot of sending her back but I find that she really luv my baby, I let her stay and learn slowly. Guess most imptly is she wont bully bb behind my back, other household chores, I can close one eye.

Whoa so many posts to catch up on!!!

I read about hair dropping - sounds horrifying!! Any way to prevent it?

Poo Poo - Sunrays! I can identify with the ugly scene u described. Shauna doesn't cry if she has poo-ed.. last night after my 2am pump I checked her and yup sides and back leaked, romper soiled, some stuck to skin even! super gross...

So nice to see baby pics! Yun - yr baby has a very 'manly face'
Mandy - nice smiley eyes!, Flos - as mentioned in Facebook, Issac is v cute! Storeberry - whoa yr prince will melt hearts with that smile.. I can also identify with the 'double eye lid missing' thingy.. oh u asked abt maids entering yr room (sorry can't help coz mine has not come yet!!) Autum - sweet princess u have, v girl girl face

Alabone - you confirmed my horrors! Now I dread bringing the stroller out myself even more! They must think u are super mummy or something.

Same goes for the teens that Sarahmay described.. good that you ticked them off!

Gggg - haha as Lanolin said Shauna is expert in sleeping.. car/ pram rides, window shopping with sling or carried in arms, patting on bed, soft music, lying on tummy etc will all put Shauna to sleep in minutes.. my difficulty is waking her up!

Kym - yup for young kids, Filipinos may be a better choice coz of language. But then again my fren's indo helper picked up English v fast. I've heard that Indos are 'simpler', er less scheming, cunning but also er not so bright.. I mean these are gross generalisations.. Filipinos on the other hand know their rights and may complain to embassy...

Goldfish - stay strong!

Woodlands mummy - tks for sharing on whether you let helper enter yr room.. I also think will observe a while 1st, even though I'm 'inheriting' mine from a cousin who is migrating...

Understand that most mummies live in the north.. but if you don't mind coming down, would be more than happy to let more mummies gather together. My flat is an old type, can accommodate about 30 - 40 pax. So far mummies who are coming are:

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Near old airport rd, 3 bus stops from Sun Tec City
Food - Catered High-Tea finger food

1. Momoko + bb
2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + bb
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + bb
7. Jojobar + bb
8. Storeberry + bb
9. Breadmum + Hb + bb
10. Mandy + bb
11. Jaymickey + Hb + bb
12. Sunrays + bb
13. sunnysunny + bb
14. StefSeanSharbabes + bb
15. preggie + hb + bb
16. crayon + reyes
17. Lilboymum + CH + CY + maid
18. Angeline + Carine
19. Mrs Yap + bb
20. Vellevelle + BB

(stefseansharbabes - tks! took out DDmb's name...)

Goldfish,
Sad to hear abt ur bb's case. Do stay strong for ur bb !

Abalone,
I brought bb to PD on his stump issue cos it's still very wet. She said my bb's wt gain is doing great.

<font color="0077aa">Autum: Nation agency's fee @ Bt Timah is $488 &amp; maid salary is $340/mth. Don't know why there is a difference.. But my BIL like this maid who have worked in M'sia for 4years for one family, her salary is higher bout $360 but we are afraid that since she is so experienced, she will not take instructions so easily &amp; might do funny things. We might want get a maid that has work as a housemaid in Indonesia. (Is this type consider no experience or have experience?)

Springz: You are in FB as well? I want to see Shuana pix! I am in Flos's network, find me! Keke</font>

Goldfish
Sorry to hear about your bb condition...Stay strong for your bb.

Storeberry
u reminded me of continuous photo shoot, I'll check if my camera has it..

BTW, someone was asking about babylegs yah?? I tried it on Janelle today.. LOVES it alot.. the color especially.. attractive and beautiful..

Colors look like is for xmas..
1865356.jpg

alabone
hope u are not too traumatised after the fall! agree that it is incredibly frustrating when ppl can obviously SEE that u need help and no one offers. i fell and landed kneeling at the wheelock place burger king when i was 8 months preggers with FB and everyone just STARED until the fat pregnant woman hoisted herself up and hobbled off.

my hubby is going to states for a month without us cos we decided that the logistics were too much and FB won't let DH alone if we are there so he can't focus on his work. we'll prolly go on holiday another time
but already FB is exhibiting "missing daddy" symptoms and DH doesnt even leave until later tonight ..?!

sarahmay
i thought jonathan's BCG was a pimple too.

Just got home from Marina Square with baby...wah, my boy really likes to poop outdoors. He did it again after we fed him at Marina. Noticed his poo was greenish and watery after his 6-in-1 jabs.

MAID &amp; escalators: Finally, we managed to coax her to ride on the escalator with the stroller, after my hubs demo on one flight for her. He also stood in front of the stroller to give her a peace of mind when she 'disembarked' from the top of the escalator...Coordination. Overcoming of Fear. Isn't what that is all about?

storeberry: I thot you shd understand Malay, since your hubs is working in JB most of the time? You can then get an Indon, then u dun hv to worry abt belanja-ing her outside. I need to 'feed' one more mouth everytime I go gai gai at the shopping malls!

I am also doing it like Woodlands Mommy. I ask her to leave the folded clothes on my bed. My DH doesn't like her to open our drawers and wardrobe everyday. Dun want her to fantasize too much abt Beauty &amp; Fashion.

My laundry lady in China became so familiar with my wardrobe that she always made comments like, "哇,又买新衣服啊? 这裙好漂亮哦! 是进口货吗?" So irritating...Anyway, I finally did give away my clothes to her before I migrated back here.

Lately, my maid has been spending a longer time in the bathroom to dress up b4 going out to the malls with us! She took even more minutes than Ma'am and Sir to get ready, even though she has no makeup to use.

Then when I asked her to go downstairs to buy my kopi, she gotta spend like 10min to change into her tee and jeans. I told her "NO NEED TO WEAR LIKE U R GOING DOWNTOWN, just go down in this (your home t-shirt and 3/4 capris)"!! Ytd, we wondered why she was in the bathroom for so long and yet not making any noises inside. So we knocked on the door and shouted for her to come out. Guess what? She told me she was plucking her armpit hairs! I asked her what she used to pluck her armpit hair. She replied her hairclip! (不干活,竟然躲在里面拔毛?) Vanity is kicking in...that's why I'm hiding away all my fashion magazines!!!

I got a newbie from Philippines who've never worked in SG/HK before. Her ENG is also not very fluent, but comprehensible. She is easy to mould' cos she has no preconception abt singapore nor her rights/job duties.

Springz: r u M.L? Thanks for your compliments. Your Shauna is a darling too

Qiuling: Was the extra jab recommended by the PD? I've no idea what was in that 6-in-1 jab really! The TMC PD has their own protocol; I'll just hv to trust them...

SarahMay: u r really my heroine! Take public bus with the sling? I can never cope with the bb in my sling...on the bus...Which school was that? tsk tsk!

I'm still enquiring abt Babylegs from a few local distributors. My DH is not convinced by me that leg warmers are essential for bb who r learning to crawl! He said they are too expensive!

I do however think u need them becos the climate in South China justifies for extra coverage! In SG, by 9-12mths, boys can wear mini polo-tees plus mini-shorts/bermudas with socks and shoes to go to the aircon malls liao. No need the Little Drummer Boy look all the time...

BUT, that said, I'd still get some against my DH's will...ALL BECOS I'm going out every weekend to the malls.

<font color="0077aa">Flos: I don't understand Malay at all! Haha.. Why I should not worry about belanja-ing her? If I bring her out still gotta buy food for her right?

Infant car seat: I can fit my car seat! Jia lat! No manual at all! And when hubby try to fix, it don't look stable...</font>

Goldfish: *hugs* take good care of yourself!

SarahMay: It sounds like BCG! I was told in advance not to squeeze it too, it'll appear a few weeks after their jab since birth. During my boy's vaccination check, I even got the PD to check if it's healing well, cos my boy's poo is massive explosive type and always kena his BCG! During diaper change, I always make sure his BCG is healing well, cos I dun want a keloid to develop on his butt! So, don't think you need to go to PD just to see the BCG lah! If you're still worried, then call your gynae to ask!

Flos: u cracked me up again with your chinese remarks about your maid plucking armpit hair instead of doing her chores! LOL

storeberry: what is the brand of your car seat? perhaps someone with the same car seat can help.

I got the Ergo baby carrier and infant insert from the Metro 20% sale! Used it with baby today and he wailed so loudly when we first put him in it! But after a while, he stopped and started to fall asleep! It's really comfortable for baby and person carrying him! The padding on the carrier is so shiok! Like carrying Eaglecreek haversack for backpacking trip! The hip belt also help to distribute weight evenly on the body.
Very happy with it!

Ahh.. so long never pop in.. I think I've already miss the X'mas gathering at Bigtoes place...
Sop sop... no place for me?? ANy mummy kind enough to organise another one?? well.. not too sure if I can go too.. coz I'll be back to work by end of the month i guess.. or earliest will be mid of nov.. Think half hearted on the timing to go back to work..

Springz,
So we will be going ur place and catering food rite?? light snack lah.. kekeke.. Maybe we will celebrate early for X'mas at ur place.. hahaha

Goldfish,
Take care.. read about ur bb.. u need alot of help and concern.. do let us know how we can help k.. if need to share... all mummies here will be here to support u!! hugzzz... God Bless!!

so nice to see so many cute pix of your little ones. they all look so big. my girl has not hit 5kg yet, now that she's 11 wks old. i think my girl is 1 of the few oldest babies here, cos she born in aug.

jaymickey, the cherries leggings looks really nice on yr girl. i'll go get the cherries too.

i'm a great fan of babylegs, now own 3 pairs. planning to get more. any1 here interested, cos i'm getting from a fren who's getting it at a better price. and if we do a bulk purchase, price will be even more attractive. u can PM or email me at [email protected] if you keen, cos i dun think i can conduct a BP in this thread.

hello everyone,

wah..yet again im lost in all the threads.
Looks like a few outings are coming up which is good. Always nice to meet up and say hello and share tips.

Here are some pix of our baby shot yesterday.

1865669.jpg

1865670.jpg

1865671.jpg

flos, sarahmay, dracwy, dseptkon, kyrieleison, jojo, autumn, storeberry,
thank you for the sympathies. but it certainly was not the first time it happened to me. the other time the same thing happened, i was with jared and he was also in the stroller. i was trying to get to plaza sing from the mrt station. same thing. no slope. only stairs. pple stared while i struggled with the stroller and that time, i was heavily pregnant with natalie.

dracwy,
thanks for sharing your pointers. all of which i agree except the first one. not that i dont punish my kids physically - i smack them on the palm when they push me to my limits - but i just cant bring myself to use the cane on them. i've mentioned many times to jared i'd buy but just could never bring myself to do it. you know what i mean? 打在儿身,痛在娘心...

sarahmay,
you are my 偶像!!!! teenagers and youngsters these days are just too caught up in individualism! so self centred. after your scolding still dun know they ought to give up their seats! no help for them liao.

you're right too abt teaching civic-mindedness. tt's y at every opportunity now, i remind jared not to litter, bring back food plates and trays after food.

kyrieleison,
you're right i cursed under my breath. one day those pple will be parents too. let's see how they deal with the same situation.

storeberry,
wah! they champion lor. dont help you nevermind. they even step on your papers??? did you scold them?

flos,
your maid certainly didnt look like such a vainpot. and how in the world does one use hairclip to pluck armpit hair????? no wonder she took ages!!

dseptkon,
i see. your boy sure is close to his dad ya??

goldfish,
will pray for your bb. *hugz*

Regarding Philipino maids.
if anyone is interested i know of htis maid agency which is highly recommenede. more expensive than other agencies. but they provide very good after service. maids when on day off goes back to agency when they are engage in courses and activities conducted by agency. monthly counselling by agency too.

they'd rather not have the maids go to plaza sing and have the maids under their care...

most phlip maids will request for day offs so if you are interested can PM me for the contact...

i didnt get from this agency coz i dun wan a filip maid...

<font color="0000ff">Goldfish
*hugz*... u muz be strong for ur boy k

LC
oops.. can't wor.. i'm back at work
oh btw.. what a small world. ur mum stays in Westwood...</font>

Goldfish *hugs* Stay strong

Alabone.. poor thing..how's ur ankle now? Singaporeans really CMI! They will only use eye power. And I can understand how difficult it is to pull the pram up the steps while walking backwards. Last night I was super stressed when pushing the pram up and down the escalator..hee.. luckily baby was being carried by hb..
Flos, I need training like ur maid!! ahahahaa..

Aloysius, hahaa. I love the wordings on the romper for the last pic.. any parties yet?

Sarahmay, I salute u. I still belong to majority of Singaporeans who will just curse under their breaths instead of speaking up..

jaymickey, janelle so pretty.. haa.. u love dressing her up, dont u? sob sob.. my poor boy is forever in boring onesies...

autumn, ur girl has very delicate features and she looks sweet ;-)

Hello Mommies,
How was your weekend? Rainy one for me..been raining non-stop..with thunders and lightings!

"Westerner Gathering"
Date: 22 Nov 08 (Sat)
Time: 2pm
Place: MOF Lot 1 Outlet
Attendance:
1) BaconEgg &amp; BB
2) bbfam &amp; BB
3) Jessi &amp; BB
4) Storeberry &amp; bb
5) LC &amp; bb

Blackberry, we are confirmed for 22 Nov 08. Joining us?

Springz, join us lah, we can park next to each other and exchange tips on how to open our strollers! hee..

Xuanting &amp; Storeberry
MOF = Ministry of Food. Jessi/Mandy have posted a link to the website. Supposed to be a very "IN" Jap dessert house...I love their Macha IMO too!! Yum!

Flos,
Leg warmer - Kaiden wears them with his rompers, i usually mix the colors of warmer with romper..u can also wear it with a demin jumper or just any 3/4 pants

Jojo/Bigtoes,
Catering - I am ordering from First Catering (recommended by Bigtoes). So far so good...quite yummy in taste and presentation.

Bigtoes,
Xmas Gathering - We are confirmed - Me, Kaiden and Hubby! Any amount to the gift exchange? I am ok with your suggested Menu A..looks good

Shazz,
Philips BB Monitor good? Which model did u purchase? How much? Thinking of getting one cos Kaiden is back sleeping in his cot...guess i have to save the travel cot for his grandmas' house or as a playcot when he is older..

Mei,
Hand pumping - I tried that too! Quite efficient..surprise me! Kaiden would latch on one breast and I hand pump the other breast into a bottle..easier than using a pump (all the washing, assembling etc)

Goldfish,
What happened to her bb? I missed her posting..

SarahMay,
Public Buses - For first time in years, i boarded a bus and had an interesting experience! Didnt know they are so automated..but social grace on a bus is still v bad...no one wants to move behind for more passengers to board esp those young lovebirds..clinging onto the bar and have eyes for each other only! I told them off too!! hee...told them to move backward so that others can board the bus..my hubby says i must be more careful cos youngsters these days beat up ppl if they not siong!!

<font color="119911">Morning mommies - nice rainy day today

KymKym T (pebblez) – hehe, yes, Kieran sleeps in the Fisher price spider rocker every day! I took out the overhead bar with the spiders though, cos he is getting big &amp; keeps knocking onto the dangling spiders when we take him in and out of the rocker.

alabone (alabone) – that is horrible! So people were just looking whilst you carried stroller + Natalie UP the stairs???
The social graces of Singaporeans are really lacking! I lived in Sydney for a couple of years and people in buses wouldn't hesitate to help mommies to carry their babies in strollers up and down buses! Heck, sometimes I buy too many groceries at one go, and strangers even offer to help carry them across the road from the supermarket to my apartment. Guess like other mommies mentioned, have to open our mouths and ask for help here in Singapore.

Flos - for the pneumococcal jab, the PD said to only take it at month 7th, unless your baby is going to infantcare.
Btw, your maid is getting vain!

Aloysius Lim (aloysiuslim) – your baby has a cute little frowny look!

alabone (alabone) – I agree with you on not necessarily using the cane on kids as well. My sisters and I weren’t brought up with a cane, and we turned out well, so I don’t see the need for it. However, hubby (dracwy) swears by it. We will most probably come to a compromise with me leaving all the disciplining to him!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Xmas Gathering:

Mommies who signed up – can you pls confirm in the list below that you can make it.
If not, then alabone (alabone) and Millie (millie22) would like to go instead.

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV

Date: Sat, 13th Dec
Time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy &amp; Baby Kieran – CONFIRMED 2 adults
2) Bacon&amp;egg, Baby Kaiden &amp; hubby – CONFIRMED 2 adults
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry &amp; Zane
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) Mei, hubby &amp; Devon
12) sunrays,HB &amp; Charlotte
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael
14) lilboymum + CY + CH + HB and/or maid
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett
17) Evan_gigi, HB/or maid, BB
18) Angeline Goh + BB

I will order food from Kriston - http://www.kriston.com/index.htm (Buffet Menu A - $25/head before 10% discount with min order of 30 pax) by end this week, so need to confirm no of adults to order for.

Gift exchange – so are we going ahead with this? Lets cap the cost to $15 per mommy and just buy something generic (chocolates, scented bubble bath, etc) and do a random draw of names on that day to exchange the gifts? Thoughts?</font>

am back at work today so not much time to post...miss my girls!!!

Bigtoes
Gift exchange sounds good to me!

Caning
We don't use the cane, but don't believe in spoiling / giving our children everything they ask for either. Rudeness is also not tolerated! My parents used the cane as a "threat" (didn't really hit with it I think) with my younger sis...i dont think they used the cane on me, as I dont think they sold canes in NZ when I was growing up!!!

Goldfish
Hope your baby is OK...when will you know from the doctor if there are any adverse effects of the virus?

How's everybody? I sent my filipino maid back last Tues, so now managing with my MIL's help. Have selected an Indonesian transfer maid who will be coming in this Sunday. Hope this one works out better

Goldfish,
Be strong and brave. Baby Ethan will be fine. Keep the spirits up.

Rude Students:
What has this world become??? I actually find that students in uniforms are the worst lot. After my bad experience whilst being pregnant with J, I immediately went to Borders to buy a book abt MANNERS for my FB. Told my hub that it's impt to inculcate good manners in our kids too.

Mummies with Baby Bjorn carriers:
I finally got my 2nd hand synergy but it doesn't come with the enclosed manual. Can someone tell me what is the proper way to adjust for the carrier to make sure it's comfortable and wt. evenly distributed (as in e.g what level the bb should be relative to the chin? How high or low the lumbar support should be? etc)

crayonshinchan - Yeh, i love to dress her up.. before she resist to it... hahaha

Milkmilk - I am interested in getting more BL. Count me in if there is going to be a spree

Bigtoes - I am on the waiting list also.. hee hee..

crayon - haha..yeah..she has a few more which mummy bought which i really like too. hmm..every nite also got party..but usually i give it a miss. haha.

bigtoes - that was the "what are you doing to me today, Daddy" look. was trying to pose her on Sat to shoot. hehe.

Hi, Sasa

Oh ya, forgot you went back to work already.. catch up with you again when I go back to my mum place since so near where you staying.. me staying work soon too.. next wed..
I still have 18 days of leave to clear this year but there is stil lot of backlog to clear.

Hi,Mandy

I replied you. Sasa is working already so she is not coming. do you want to meet up? are you staying near westwood? Or I can bring my boy to meet you?

Hi,Shazz

Thanks for sending my loots via mail. will atm transfer when the postage is out.

Hi, Bacon&amp;Egg

Yesterday was bad for me.. Baby Jayden was crying badly..and he refused to let his daddy carry, cried even louder when he carried him. My hubby also a bit affected that baby dun wan him.. haha.. finally managed to put him to sleep on my tummy..and in the middle of the night, we heard heavy sucking sound.. guess what? he is sucking his thumb heavily. so funny.. having a baby is so taxing but yet his innocent smile and act really melt our hearts..