(2008/09) Sep 2008

I love the dessert at MOF, especially the Macha Imo.

West Gathering

Date: 22 Nov 08 (Sat)
Time: 2pm
Place: MOF Lot 1 Outlet
Attendance:
1) BaconEgg & BB
2) bbfam & BB
3) Jessi & BB

Hi Abalone:
that means we are quite near, think 1 bus stop away. Mine is opposite the north oak condo (if i got the name correct. always mixed up with woodsvale condo).

Mandy: hey ya we live quite near each other. i'm staying beside pioneer mall.

xuanting: MOF is Ministry Of Food, http://www.ministryoffood.com.sg/

flos: my Pupsik pillow was flipped by my girl too. i placed the pillow on her legs after her feed cos don't want to place it on her tummy. who knows she kicked it up and the pillow "fly" to cover half her face. luckily i saw it and quickly remove the pillow from her face.

<font color="0077aa">Bacon&amp;egg, yah what's MOF? Blur... Keke.. Am interested!

West Gathering

Attendance:
1) BaconEgg &amp; BB
2) bbfam &amp; BB
3) Jessi &amp; BB
4) Storeberry &amp; bb

Flos: Zane has been biting his mittens since last week. Today he keep staring at his hands.. Haha!

Velle: Thanks for the thread! Aiyoo.. I just ordered the same leg warmers for 2 $10.. This is much cheaper!</font>

Bigtoe,

I remember you recommend your tingkat in this thread...cannot seem to find it..can you post the link here again ?

I am looking at tingkat option when i return back to work.

woodlandmummy,
yes. very near. northoaks is the white condo ya? i'm nearer to the mrt station.

bigtoe,
if anyone can't make it for the party, can you slot in my name??

POO:
cadence did a major poo yesterday night and this evening. it even leaked out of her diapers and stained my clothes coz i was carrying her! is it normal?? she's not like having LS right?? coz my other two kids never never poo till leaked out sooooooooooo much before.

DIAPER CHANGING:
do you all wake up religiously to change every three hours?? these days, i bf cadence while lying down to sleep so i dont get out of bed.

thanks, mandy/jessi. i'm really suaku!

diaper change
i change after every feed (6–8 pcs). my baby has this tendency to poop mid-feed or a while after she finishes. i try to wait at least 10–15 min before changing her so i can catch all the poop and she can go back to sleep in a clean diaper. but there have been instances where she pees/poops mid-change, or poop right after changing so i end up changing again. wonder if their pee/poop frequency will reduce as they grow?

hair dropping
when do babies' hair (and ours) start falling? i'm so not looking forward to this but i want to be prepared...

Hi Xuanting:
For my FB, my hair started to drop after the confinement

This time round even earlier, during initial preg stage. Now not experiencing any hair drop...(touch wood)

But i guess it all depends on individual ba...

soooo sad that i'm missing out all the fun of the gatherings! hope there will be a CNY one in 2009! then i will definitely join.

alabone: so fortunate that cadence takes to BF on the side. mine only works for certain feeds. cos i realise that if i do it all the time, he either chokes and then sleep is ruined for him (and me) or i forget when his feeds are.

OCTOTUNES: jojo where did you get that lamaze toy? i found the puppytunes one from the same range. was the last piece and i got it but realised now that one of the legs is defective. so have to return and they have NO stock anywhere in their toys' r' us shops in sg. really sad cos i LOVE it and it can capture the attention of my bb. I want the octotunes one cos it has the complete octave.

Flos: Mine has been chewing his mittens and drooling and all that you're describng since he was wk 5+. RUbbing eyes shd mean he's tired?

Drawcy: i found the beanie bag over my boy's face once! and i realised i had made the mistake of putting it across his tummy AND hands. Aiyo!

storeberry: which BP thread did you visit? i really want to get leg warmers for my boy! i only wished i discovered such a thing earlier. now i'm leaving in 3 days and the weather is getting colder. temp falling alraedy. will be 17 degrees when i touch down!!! help!

TIGHTS: can boys wear neutral print tights??? the desperate me is wondering..

alabone, i think its very normal. at least for mine, i had gotten her 'atomic bomb' 3 times already and wearing PAMPERS somemore! and once was even at Lot 1, the poo almost drip onto the floor! i had to use my hands to hold the poo and my mum quickly wrapped my whole hand and baby backside with a blanket, but still spilled all over my hands and blouse! luckily it was when we're boarding a taxi.

my mum on the other hand, just hit by her 'atomic bomb' only when changing halfway. usually poo alot then my mum tot finish already, but then suddenly the poo just shoot out onto her clothes! and once out of the mat and dirtied the bedsheets!

Alabone &amp; Yan: Yah, my bb also bomb a few times &amp; it flew out onto his pants or rompers! He usually "kei" &amp; then "bomb" out! Haha!

This morning ad a scare cos left breast were abit engroged @2am, was tired so decided to wait till 5am then see if the lump is still there. 5am wake up after bb fed, the lump still there! Decided to massage my breast very hard &amp; it felt so painful! Did hot compress but only pump out little. The lump went down but still there &amp; felt abit painful. So scare that it is block ducts so decide to wait till morning then call parentcraft &amp; ask for advice. 8am bb wait up &amp; latch him on my left breast &amp; thank GOD after feeding the lump was gone! Scared the hell out of me!

Hi SarahMay,

The Octupus toy ? I got it from a shop at Holland Village shopping centre. I cannot remember the shop name but it is at level 2. The toys (Lamaze and vtech) are pretty reasonable (cheaper than mother care lah)

As for the leg warmers, if you need it urgently.. go to Mother &amp; Work @ Tanglin Mall 3rd floor. They do have some limited stock there... I bought my first pair there for marcellus to try as well.

flos
actually i got from this lady Ima (nick i think) always. she used to do sprees but now have regular contacts liaoz...

my most recent calendular purchase each tub cost 13 bucks only. received them last week...

she usually updates her email contacts on the sprees she gonna conduct...

http://www.thepinkcream.biz/

alabone
eh wont cadence pee big time wo a change for 12 hours????!!!!!

bm poo all the same one lah, explosive and leaky...

Hi Bigtoes,

Sound like the xmas party will be one big gathering for us... in fact the more the merry !

Are there anywhere else at your condo to do the party like function room or poolside ? So that more mummy can join us ?

Like the gift exchange idea as well ! Thanks for organizing it....

lanolin
Yes, Flos has described what a diaper clutch is.. am I influencing you to buy more stuff?

Flos
The pupsik beansprout pillow is very long &amp; I always fold it in half to make the husks fall evenly on both ends &amp; then I'll spread some to the middle &amp; make sure I tuck the pillow UNDER Devon's armpits. The pupsik one is very long so both ends will weigh down, it'll be hard for baby to fling it.

Devon has been off mittens &amp; he's starting to explore what he can do with his fingers, today I saw him clasping his hands. I only put on mittens for him at bedtime.

storeberry
I kena the 'lump' in the breast before, it should be due to blocked ducts. The lump is hard &amp; painful. I massaged the lump &amp; enlisted the help of baby, latch him on whenever I could &amp; at night when he was not up for his feed, I woke up every hour to pump. Luckily, the lump disappeared the next day.

Hi Mei,

The diaper clutch from Pupsik Studio is very useful... That is one of the baby purchase that i use all the time...
Highly recommended by me .... ")

Hi Hi, my 1st post for the day! Shauna was awake since 11am! Lanolin - haha think Shauna is catching up with dec! For me i only carry her till she is like half asleep then put her down..

Ava - yes! I remember your hb mentioned Summer.. no la Shauna is usually grouchy faced.. hee.. saw your facebook pics of the gals.. very lovely!!

Tks Jas for your suggestion.. yup carried her upright before and she likes it only when ppl are around (ms Kay Poh).. strangely these days she likes the cradle-hold.. think babies are temperamental.. for a while she hated cradle-hold! well.. we mummies just have to keep trying all sorts!
Oh, for Shauna recently even lying on tummy on my lap and over my shoulder also won't stop her crying.. all these used to put her to zzzz...

Flos - yr post abt 'after merlion era' cracked me up!

gatherings - I'm so itchy to meet up, even considering the Lot 1 one! The 29th Nov one seems so far away! okies.. blackberry got it! Updated list:

November Gathering:
Date - 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Springz's place near old airport rd
Food - Catered High-Tea finger food

1. Momoko + bb
2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + bb
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + bb
7. Jojobar + bb
8. Storeberry + bb
9. Dmbb + Hb + bb
10. Breadmum + Hb + bb
11. Mandy + bb
12. Jaymickey + Hb + bb
13. Sunrays + bb
14. sunnysunny + bb
15. StefSeanSharbabes + bb
16. preggie + hb + bb
17. crayon + reyes
18. Lilboymum + CH + CY + maid
19. Angeline + Carine
20. Mrs Yap + bb
21. Vellevelle + BB

alabone

sometimes carine will do a big poo after not pooing/little bit poo for a few days..tt will be when i got higher chances of gena stain...haha..

diaper-changing

i dun change after every feed now,depends on the amt of pee..as carine dun always poo as often as last time...

xuanting

during my FB,i drop around 4th months onwards for very long time..till about a year? was so depressed coz when i touch my hair,can notice abt half gone in thickness...so dreading towards it..

yan

my hubby told me got once he was changing diaper when carine let off wind...he say can feel v strong breeze man...haha

Jojo
Yes, I just received my loots from Pupsik today. I was so bored at home so the horrid me got 3 pillowcases, 1 diaper clutch &amp; 2 poss bloss nappy wallets.

Mei: you're a huge Pupsik fan!

Flos: my boy woke me up from my sleep a few times cos he flung the DIY husk pillow onto his face too! Mine is DIY and light enough not to smoulder him, the cotton is light enough to breathe thru, so I heaved a sigh of relief. I still wake up in the middle of the night to check on him though, like drawcy, just to be on the safe side. The good thing is that my boy knows how to cry when there are things on his face! Once, he struggled so hard that the muslin cloth that we use to swaddle him, rode up to his face!

We just moved the boy and his cot back into his own room since he can sleep thru the night now. Using the baby monitor to monitor his loud and genuine cries, then will attend to him. I must say the Philips baby monitor is fantastic! So crystal clear with no interference at all!

thank you for your input. i suppose it is a normal thing for their poo to be leaky then. i've also the same experience as yan. whenever i change cadence, halfway through, she'll poo somemore and it'll fly and squirt and get onto my shirt and her bed. very annoying indeed. so anytime i can, i outsource changing her diapers to her dad/maid/mum. coz i believe i'm quite jinxed with regards to this.

l'lcy^^l'lch,
no lah will change lah. won't let any kids go through a 12 hour diaper without change. but i've let her go on for like 6 hours straight and boy! is the diaper heavy.

MENSES:
i think my menses has come. i seriously thought if i'm bfg, it shouldn't come back so soon. am disappointed. however, do menses change in consistency? my just feels like it's fresh blood coz it's so thin, unless what it used to be...

dropping hair:
it will drop alright. the third month... no matter how prepared i am, i'll never be prepared enough coz the hair dropping is soooooooo BAD...

alabone

haha..tt time during FB,my hair drop so much man..i soo worried..went to do all sorts of treatment like the kimage hairloss type,scalp etc..haiz...not much use 1...everyday see my pillow so much hair drop so heartache..

menses

hmm..i oso thought my lochia had ended but hor these few days got slight brownish staining lei..dun koe y..haiz..wonder when can i go for my pap smear...

Hi Bigtoes,
Can i join in the X'mas gathering ?

SarahMay,
Avent ISIS IQ Uno Pump-U can customise the pump power to your requirement. Did u do so ? I q like this pump.

Eve,
I tink my son shld be the smallest on this thread. He's now 4.3kg at almost 8 weeks (will b 8wks this Sat) as his birth wt is only 2.45kg.
I'm just hoping he will gain more fast.

How much milk are ur bb drinking now ? The PD told me i shld feed him 120ml now.

millie

mine drinking 14oml 3hrly...roughly lah...

lanolin

hows things between u n the CL? so far ok?

Hi Kym - Lil' Scarlett has grown!! I see another leg warmers fan!

Hi Millie - I think Karen posted before her PD's advice.. use baby's weight multiply by 150 and divide by number of feeds. The result will be the amount to give per feed...

Shazz - Do you have a maid/ helper? Am wondering whether to put the baby monitor with me or helper.. btw, so far my pupsilk bean spout pillow is used to weigh down blankies I put over Shauna.. it is pretty heavy but long.. so I spread it out. Tummy area very little sprouts but both sides of her body heavy with sprouts (hope u know what I mean...)

Btw Shazz, is yr baby room far from yr room? I'm so used to Shauna sleeping beside me that I'm reluctant to put her in her room.. but once helper comes, I think I'll let Shauna be independent..

On helpers - do u all let them enter your rooms and put clothes into yr wardrobe or do you do it yourself? just curious..

Springz,
Based on the PD's calculation, my bb shld drink oni 72ml every 3hrs. However, i tink this is not enuff for him as he can finish 90-120ml.

Yun,
Wow ur son is 6.2kg liao !!! So envy, my son is still so tiny.

SarahMay,
I rem in ur previous posting, u seem concerned abt the length of Elisha. Actually i feel tat boys who are not that tall when young may not necessarily be short when they reach adulthood. My bros shoot up from 151cm to 180cm from Sec 1 to Sec 3.
My son is oso not that tall (55cm at 8 weeks).

Yun: hi hi! you are staying near blk 9XX there?
miine is the blk 6XX there, and i just went to JPT this afternn to drink coffee bean with my fren, so shiok!

sasa (sasa_xie)
Ya, I was advised by the dentist to extract his 2 lower front teeths when he was born. However, those are his primary teeths which will only be replaced by his adult teeths so I cant bear to extract them. Its firmly attached to his gum but a bit yellowish. Now I just use a cloth to wipe it but tempted to brush his teeths :B

Bigtoes
Gift exchange
If all the other mommies agree, we will bring one gift per household.

BB still not sleeping at 3am in the morning! My baby likes to be awake in the nite and sleeps a lot in the morning nowadays... Argh

Something funny happened to me today. I forgot to bring my breast pump back from my mum's place &amp; today Devon decided to sleep through. He slept at 10pm &amp; still sleeping now. I woke up at 4am with rock hard breasts &amp; could not sleep. No pump so I decided to try to hand express. Managed to express out 125ml from my right boob in 20mins. Not easy as the left boob was leaking as I was squeezing the right one, had to clean the floor after that. Ok, back to bed now.

Hi Mei,
there was one time my both sides engorged like mad and i decide to hand express b4 using the pump.
What i did is i used 2 baby food container and put on a chair. and i bent over the containers n express. they did spray into the containers and out of sudden i felt like a cow expressing milk in the middle of nite...
will nvr forget tis scene... wahaha

Mandy
Haha, actually I was lying in bed trying to decide what to do for 20 minutes, wake baby up for feed (a big no-no as he finally slept thru so long), try to sleep through &amp; wait for baby to wake up for next feed (I was scared of engorgement), get hubby to suck (haha, supid idea) or hand express (not sure how to do so)? In the end decided to try hand expressing.

Hey, I was wondering how to hand express both boobs at the same time lor! Ok, will try your method if I ever forget my pump again. Lol.

Flos - Declan is also rubbing his eyes rather often (esp when I'm BFing him - to the point where I "kiap" his hands so prevent his hands from reaching his eyes) and he sucks his mittens rather often....at first I thought he could be that he is hungry but it doesn't seem right as he rejects the additional milk I try to feed him. Not sure why.

Meie - yes yes yes!!!!!!!!!! Now that I don't go out as often, I've discovered the beauty of online shopping. I am quite sure I don't need these extra accessories though! hahaha...

Btw, the most I've ever gotten out of 1 boob is 100ml. Hand expressing 125 ml is amazing!

Missing the Club 21 Bazaar!!!
Did any one manage to go?

Springz - I usually let my helper go to my room and put my clothes coz I do not have much valuables at home. If you tend to leave your jewellery etc around, I'd suggest not. And tell her she can only clean the room after asking for permission.

Angeline - It's working out pretty well!! She has slightly different style from my CL but I think she has her strong points. She's good at engaging Declan with flash cards and exercise so he is well stimulated during the day! She's also very thorough when she cleans him which I like!

Hair drop - does this happen to everyone?!?!?! When does it occur?

l'lcy^^l'lch
My sis who has 2 boys told me the same thing - that boys are "engineered" for action and therefore will mostly (not all of course) be more active than girls.

Ava - we have to carry him at night, esp during the 7 - 8 pm period when he is trying to sleep. AFter that, for his night feeds, he usually falls asleep midway so no need to carry / rock him to sleep. But for naps, he needs to be held for quite a while too!!!

Millie: Thanks for the reassurance. phew. hehe.

Jojo: Thanks
! you posted abt tanglin MOthers @work. but i've got no time to go shopping already i think. Oh well! shall order online from HK. THey sell those from J shoppers for HKD 38. I guess still ok ba.

Kymkym: Scarlett is soo cute! love the leg warmers.

Storeberry: It's not ready stock is it?

Cordelia: My sympathies cos my 7wk old just started this thing about waking up for milk in wee hours like 2+am and then every hour till like 5+ before falling asleep till 8 am. HOw old is your bb now?

Mei: Is DEvon 8 wks old now? He can sleep so loooong. Envious! And wah! Your milk supply is v good.

Leg Warmers VS TIghts: Can boys wear tights???

millie: Oh yes! the avent can customise...but i still feel the speed a bit slow and pressure not hard enough. i prefer the hand pums i can pump faster and also with manual when i hit a duct i can just hold the pressure and the milk will just flow. but with the iq uno cannot lei...anw i think i just need to get used to it. haven't been pumping since i bot the uno. haha

Mei: wow! hand expree 125ml is fantastic!
Eamon had 80ml milk at 930pm and he didn't wake up till 5am! He's sleeping soundly in his own room as well, much to our relief! We were initially worried he won't be able to sleep by himself cos he's so used to hearing someone's snoring (CL and hubby snores!) since he was born.

Springz (springz): My baby's room is pretty near to my room, but my room is rather long and my bed is at the end of the room, away from the door, so I can't really hear baby's crying when we switch on the air-con. The baby monitor is fantastic cos we can set the sensitivity, so I only get to hear the real cries, not the "ngeh ngeh ngeh".

I don't have a helper or maid. My sweetie mum who pops by twice a week to babysit my boy when I'm at work, helps me with the housework.

Clothes, I'm still doing my own and baby's laundry. So I'm the one who keeps in clothes back in the wardrobe. When my mum helps me with them, she'll fold them according to my hubby's clothes, mine, and place them on the sofa in my room, and I'll put them back.

He fell asleep halfway thru his feed at 5am and only woke up at 8am.

I was out for almost 3 whole days and came home late at night, when my boy is sleeping already. When I look at him, I think he's grown so much in just a day! To me, he looks different when i got home, as compared to when I left the house in the morning! I miss him so much and wish I could watch him grow. Being away from him, makes me feel he's even more precious to me now. Now, absence truly makes the heart grow fonder!

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Not sure whether it is ready stocks, need to ask the organiser.
You take care gal &amp; keep in touch!

Shazz: I am sure I will miss my boy also when I go back to work. Yday went out for a few hours &amp; already missing him! Yah man, I wish I can watch him grow &amp; be with him during this period!

Lanolin &amp; Springz: Am getting a helper, will drop by BT Timah today to the agency. Need advice from you all with maid. Currently I am putting Zane on my bed to sleep in the day but when the helper comes in, I would want her to ask for permission when she is going into my room but with Zane sleeping there, I cannot possibly tell her to ask for permission everytime Zane cry?

Or should I move Zane to another room to sleep on a ti lam / mattress? Will it affect the baby as he is used to sleeping my bed in the day?

Do you all lock your bedroom when you go out? My MIL will be at home but she might be busy with my nephew &amp; will not be able to constantly keep an eye on the maid. And I am not too comfortable if she can freely go in &amp; out of my room.

Mei: It was super scary lo when the lump refuses to go away! Wow, hand express 125ml is very good!

Hi,Bacon&amp;Egg

Count me in for the west gathering:-

West Gathering

Attendance:
1) BaconEgg &amp; BB
2) bbfam &amp; BB
3) Jessi &amp; BB
4) Storeberry &amp; bb
5) LC &amp; bb

ello gals..
was mia for quite some time cos quite affected by the possibility that my bb might haf some adverse effect due to the CMV viral infection... he mite be having hearing and eyesight loss lo.. which is one of the side effects of viral infection..

i am now waiting for the appointment date wif the infection specialist in KK on the 10th of Dec to find out more on his condition.

the wait is beri beri mentally and emotionally exhausting... i am getting quite depressed that my bb mite not be a normal growing bb like the rest....