(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos (flos): babies poo as and when they feel like it. what the CL is trying to do is to associate them with poo-ing and the sound "nnggg nnngg"! I was laughing about it and skeptical it'll work but it did!

crayonshinchan: I can't whistle too! So I got CL to change to "shhhh shhhh" but he didn't associate it with pee-ing like the whistle! haha

Flos
I wash my hair everyday.. cannot tahan not washing.

Can surf lah.. just that cannot type.. but if I'm only pumping one side, then no problem at all.

Yup.. the MaxiCosi Cabriofix.. baby's all nice & snug in it.

1739538.jpg

I only swaddle baby from armpit down.. & yes, you can put him in a sleep sack too if you have one.

Hi all, I've been so busy and tired that I haven't been catching up on all posts. Is anyone still updating the chart? Here's my details:
Popped on: 14 Sept
Baby's name: Kydric Lee
Head: 33
Length: 51
Weight: 3.395
Natural without epi

I'm on total breastfeeding.. was really tough initially while waiting for milk flow and it only came like the 5th day!!! No supplement at all...
I called the breastfeeding hotline once, and they told me to latch on, on demand, and not to express till after 1 month. They also mentioned that when you latch on, baby is actually drinking more, rather than when you express to a bottle. Not sure how true that is.. cos when I express, I can only manage about 50ml. So, I've been latching on, and sometimes the feed time is less than 1.5hours apart.. So it's like latch for 15-30mins, then rest for 1 hour, latch again cos baby's hungry... Want to know why are mummies expressing instead of latching? Is it cos night feed are fed by others? Wouldn't you be engorged if you dont latch baby on at night?

Flos, I did not swaddle my baby as well, cos he likes to stretch a lot...

<font color="aa00aa">Storeberry
If we do have a gathering soon, i'll bring dessert again!!

Shazz
Craving for cakes alrdy? dun worry, very soon we can go u-knw-whr to have your favourite 'exotique'.. tis time with char &amp; eamon!!

Flos
Issac's manyue outfit is the perfect reason to go out shopping!

Ava
U shld get dresses for the twins..I think it's super adorable to doll them up in little dresses.. but like i mentioned, abit tough to get NB size DRESSES.. after i spent a bomb on tat RL dress, i realised tat Chateau De Sable have very very cute infant dresses..u shld chk them out!!

Meie
I think Devon can't wait to sit in his stroller and go kai-kai too! We brought Charlotte to Great World City last sun..she is super comfy in her pram too..and her expression..haha,very funny!! Cos she looked really suaku..wide-eyed wonder look ..absorbing all the lights and sounds..we were really amused by her!!

crayonshinchan
for ang ku kueh/glutinous rice, u can chk out Molly's http://www.mollys.com.sg/
I ordered the ang ku kueh frm them, I ordered the peanut one, it is good!! Glutinous rice i didn't try so cannot advise. But if u go to their shop, u'll be amazed by the variety of stuff they have. We bot some nonya kueh kueh &amp; served on the buffet tbl too..cheap and yummy!! The ang ku kueh 10pcs for $3.80 only..</font>

Mei: devon looks all set to go shopping! kekeke

Bigtoes: yeah, I read that it's best to pull it out once they falls asleep. Sometimes Eamon will spit it out himself, but sometimes I'll pull it out. But I have to be careful not to pull it out when he's half asleep cos he'll start crying! haha ... Get the Avent orthodontic pacifiers, should not interfere with their teeth structure.

Gathering: yeah, late Oct is good idea! Hopefully I'm not swamped by the moving of office by then.

sunrays: yes! looking forward to "prison break"! hehe ... can indulge in "exotique"! yum!

Pooing and peeing motivational sounds
You mean u gals never heard of the nnnggggg and shhhhhii sounds till your CL tried it? Hmmm. it's always been done with all the babies in my extended family...so I've grown up with those sounds LOL!

Mei
Staring at nipples while pumping...LOL yes that's me too alright! Then I'll stop halfway and measure to see how much I';ve produced then start again...like some science experiment in physics lab!

Flos
Your CLs are all MAD WOMEN...LOL poor thing. yes keep your baby stuff locked up! Man...!

I also half swaddle in the day..sometimes at night too cos they like waving their arms about.

sunrays
I'm thinking of getting Chateau De Sable outfit for Devon for his manyue party too but I surfed their website.. smallest size is only for 3 months leh.

I also intend to bring Devon to GWC.. the place is pretty near my house &amp; it's not too crowded &amp; they are many nice restaurants &amp; cafes there.. I need my Iced Cafe Latte!!

shazz
Yup.. think Devon is like his mummy, cannot stay home type.. lol.

Ava
I do the exact same thing as you lor.. but I stopped.. too much pressure on myself lah.

Racheal Lim,
me too, each time i pump out only 50-60ml when I din latch on. Is it true latch on baby can drink more milk?

Flos,
your milk flow so good!how to pump more if no milk out?

<font color="aa00aa">Meie
GWC is baby friendly place..ya, many eateries there..I miss kenny rogers...last time i had it was when the 3 of us went!! so long ago!!
The RL dress i bot was also for 3mths..most of the outfits are labelled 3mths but have to chk the cutting lor. I'm pretty sure Chateau's sizes are small cos I hav a romper tat is 3-6mths, but Char can wear now liao.</font>

alabone: I also use the same method to weigh Eamon! Last week he was 4.1kg, today he's 4.7kg! Wow ... dunno how accurate hehe

mei: we're planning to bring Eamon to vivocity next fri after his first vaccination, we'll go Marche to satisfy my cravings for German sausages and rosti!

Ava and Meie.. hahaha.. I do that all the time oso.. pump, then stare at the flow, then stop halfway, place on the table(more accurate then placing on hand.. haaa), measure, sigh, then continue to pump again... and I tot I'm weird....

Bigtoes and Meie, why must we swaddle the legs? Am I missing out on something? I'm not swaddling Reyes anymore cos he's breaking out in heat rash and plus he can free himself when we swaddle
him..

Do all of you talk to baby during breastfeeding? Sometimes its total silence when I breastfeed.Sometimes i'll play classical music from youtube.. I've run out of things to talk to him liao! haha..

Twendy, which part of alexandra village?
Sunrays, I'll check out molly's in a while..

Blackberry,
when i called the breastfeeding hotline, that's what they told me. But
i'm not sure if it's true cos we can't measure when we latch on....

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Didn't know that it is so complicated to claim, I thot just submit income tax assessment then ok le...

crayon: Miss out your post, Yes, usually when Zane chokes I will pat him then re-latch him again.

Alabone: Glad that Cadence is gaining weight!! I was so happy to know that Zane is 4kg now!

Yday wore the MIM sling to PD clinic &amp; have a hard time trying to get bb out. Think I need more practice.</font>

Sunrays ,
Nice cake.... and ya u really spurge on that dress ....

Isabelle ,
Thanx for the info abour CL leave ... think will check with office in a while .

Blackberry ,
dun worry too much about juandice .. the photo light treatment will lower the level .

Flos ,
Think u better guard your bb stuff ... haha ... later loss few pieces of things ... haha ... my last CL also during full month party spent time crushing the used coke tins and say she bring to msia to sell .. hubby so pissed off she doing that in front of all guest told me to tell her later i give 10 extra dollars for her tins and that she stop doing that.. wonder your CL will do that a not ... haha ..

Bigtoes ,
what kind of prudential policies are value for money ? i thnk I am checking with my agent from preudential too... no more AIA ..

Shazz ,
hos come first vaccine so early ? u taking the 5 in 1 ? I am planning the 6 in 1 .. so that the first one is at 1.5 mths .. and one less injection in total .

I am onZ for gathering .. count me in ...

<font color="0077aa">Ava, Mei &amp; crayon: Yes, I stare at my nipples too, to see the spraying of milk!! And also how fast the milk fills the bottle! Haha!!

Rachel: I am latching baby at night as well if not still gotta express to keep supply going. I actually express in the 1st mth..

Yah, my family also do the nngg nngg &amp; ssh ssh sound, thot it quite common?</font>

Racheal: my boy latch on 30mins in the day time but latch on 1 hour at night time, not sure is it normal or not..

Quiling: finally he can discharge today.Is it I drink the papaya soup increase his jaundice level? Your previous CL so 'terrible' , collected the tins in front of guest! If my hubby also will doing same thing!haha!

Crayon: I don't know what to talk to baby while bfing.I seem like day dream each time!

alabone, I don't think this is only for confinement period. Since the keys are with them, I believe they think they have free access. There was once when we were all in the room and suddenly my MIL appeared, gave me a shock man. Well, imagine how embarrassing it would be should both my PIL and MIL suddenly appear just as I was stripping to feed my baby.

Have not log in for quite sometime.. Too busy with taking care of baby Kayne since delivery and breast-feeding.

I just stopped latching him on cos my hands get tired easily. Will just pump out my milk and feed him with bottle.
But at night I will let him latch on while I sleep whenever he cries for milk, just to pacify him cos his cries can progress to 'screams' if he doesn't get his milk.

Wingkei: understand how u feel..my MIL also have my house key, last time she also anyhow appear in my house, always give me a shock when my hubby not around..I keep complaint to my hubby and he talked to her when coming ring us first.

My MIL also like to see me when I doing breastfeeding. In the hospital I can't say too much because have a lot of guest..at home she also did the same thing after my hubby talked to her..untill I voice out can you all go out and let me bf baby? But she seem like unhappy because I allowed my mum stay with me lor!

Latching..

do you experience leaking from the other breast while your baby latch on to one breast? I collect the milk in the breast shell, and discard the milk after that. Do you actually collect in bottles so to ensure no wastage?

Sunrays, that is a huge lovely cake!

Mei, I also have the same experience. If I stare at my nipples while pumping and keep hoping for the letdown to come, usually I will yield less compared to when I'm watching tv, reading forum posts or even closing my eyes to rest and relax!

Flos, I'm doing exclusive expressing out. Would also like to know if the uterus contract and slimming down benefits also apply? Anyone can advice?

I've only been expressing and the weight seems to drop off. But my massage lady told me that direct latching, the uterus will contract faster as compared to pumping.

COmpleted my confinement last week and celebrated baby full month over the weekend...
TIring and fun day for me and the baby. The baby is quite well behaved (surprising no crying). Guess many peoples were carrying him so he was entertained

1740013.jpg

1740014.jpg

1740015.jpg

The baby favours
1740016.jpg

1740017.jpg

Just to share, i found a french label called Petite Batue which is carry in Club 21 and Taka (flagship store at tanglin mall) have really nice newborn clothing and accessories.
The other label i like is kissy kissy from US which is available from Club21.
Mummy who want to shop for newborn clothes can consider to check it out.

Mei:I didn't wash my hair becos of the jamu bandages and cos of the rain ytd. My hair doesn't feel very oily, luckily

How come the Cabriofix u bought seems to be much larger than the one I hv? Maybe cos mine is navy blue. Hmm...

shazz/nigtoes: this morning, I heard the nnnnggggg ngggggg sound (from the bb monitor in my bb's room)! Guess wat? my CL was trying to make him poop further! HHAHAH! guess it's an old trick used by many huh?

Qiuling/Ava: I had another bad encounter last nite but was too tired to tell u all the story here. My new CL used my precious cordyceps without my permission. In last nite's supper soup, there were a total of 18 stalks of dong chong cao = one bowl of soup. That's just too many liao! Then I checked my balance in the fridge and found that she had used up (without my knowledge, again) approx 50-80 stalks. She'd been wantonly throwing cordy into my black chix soup but she never told me in the past few nites what she used to brew my soup. One wonders what happened to the residue... I've also discovered that she washed a few 'liang' of my cordyceps without drying them completely. It'll cause mould to grow on them if she doesn't not air them before putting them back into the fridge. HEARTACHE, man...

sotreberry/mei/crayon: strangely, i like to stare at the squirting of milk into the storage bottles. Such an encouragement!

sunrays: yeah, good idea. Me feeling cranky cos I've not gone out since last Fri. Waiting for my DH to come back to SG and take me out. I also got one Chateau De Sable gift set from my sister. Hvn't checked the size. I think I've many new clothes for my lil emperor, so there is no excuse to go to the malls to stock up! boohoo...

crayon: yes, sometimes it's just shee silence...mommy and sonny in a world of our own. I only stroke his hair and play with his hands and feet. I only talk when he starts throwing out my nipple and wailing.

Reading all the complaints against the CL really scared me...
Initially i was regretting that my mum was doing the confinement for me. I told myself i would get a CL the next time...

Now based on all the horror expiernece you guys are going thru, i think i must evaluate... By the way did any of you read last nite chinese evening paper ? There is a CL complaining about her employer abusing and throwing her out...

jas 78/shazz: my CL also said direct latch on is more effective in helping mommies to slim down. dunno the rationale...

second time mommies: how did u get rid of the linea negra? body scrub, followed by whitening cream, as my jamu had told me to speed up the fading process?

Jojobar: Petit Bateau has been around Singapore for years. I also received a PB gift set from my mom
Yeah

qiuling: my TMC PD also said 6-in-1 at first mth visit.

<font color="119911">sunrays (sunrays)- am doing our 1st month celebration next Sat, and thanks for your molly recommendation - am topping up some side dishes from them as well (satay, otah, kueh lapis etc). Hope these are yummy as well!

crayonshinchan - yes, i talk to baby (repeat the same thing, like "kieran good boy ah...cannot cry", sing nursery rhymes, or sometimes just watch TV or read a book.

Qiuling (chewy_ring) - the Prudential and AIA policies are quite the same. I asked both agents to explain their policies a couple of months back, and was deciding between the 2 then. Will just get the Prudential agent to come by again.</font>

Jojobar: "There is a CL complaining about her employer abusing and throwing her out..." tell me more! Is it a licensed CL or those non-licensed ones that I"m hiring?

sunrays
Kenny Rogers at GWC was the last meal I had while preggy. We went there for lunch then after that proceeded to the hospital to pop!

shazz
It'll be fun to bring baby out for the 1st time. &amp; we can start to use all our accessories like the changing mats &amp; stuff

Sigh, at least your weight is dropping. Mine has been stagnant leh!

crayon
I swaddle his legs to keep him warm. Don't want to just place the blanket over him in case he kicks it all over the place.

Flos
It's probably the colour I guess.

Jojo
Nice looking cakes!
CL: I think I can safely recommend Bliss agency for their nannies. Mine is working out well...of course nothing is perfect, but it's good enuf for us to want to extend for another 2 weeks.

Latching vs Expresso
I think the oxytocin should be released by the milking, whether thru baby latching or expressing, so the uterus should be contracting either way.

Flos
Your CL really jialat...haiyah. Better lay down your rules before anything else happens.

I think we are finally decided on the babyies' names now...! Finally!

Baby clothes
Am gonna head out to Du Pareil Au Meme at Raffles City to see if anything cute there. My friend sent me some stuff from there from France for Ada 4 years ago and they are the cutest! Will see if the Singapore store has good stuff too.

kyrie,
i do apply ruyi oil once a day..after kaiden's shower to keep him warm...practice left behind by the quitting CL!

Nnnngg, Wee sound,
My ex-CL also made that sound whenever kaiden pee and poo and she tried to toilet train him by carrying him and nngg wee him over the toilet bowl...i told her the sound is ok but a bit too early to train him to use toilet bowl rite??!! Now she has left, i have inherited the nnngg and wee technique...it works!

sunrays,
Yummy looking cake...
How to prevent relatives from wanting to carry and cuddle bb? I can imagine my MIL carrying him and passing him ard like a trophy! I want to prevent THAT!

Gathering,
Bigtoes, great idea! Count me in!

Flos,
Your CL sounds terrible..my ex-cl had a few bad practices as well...she asked for advancement of money before she started her job with us..then 2nd day when she arrives, she asked for another advancement..2 weeks later she asked for another advancement...she went out twice..once to repay her debts and once to stamp her passport and twice she asked my hubby and MIL to buy 4D for her!

Mei,
I also stared at my pumping bottles when i pump and the sight could be really depressing..wonder when i can fill half the medela pump bottle in one single pump..

Manyue clothings
Wonder if i should splurge? hmmm...where to get nice NB shoes or socks? Wonder if i should also splurge on myself? hee...planning to cut and color my hair this weekend and next week to pedi/mani and facial before weekend manyue...is it ok to color hair if we bf?

bigtoes: "yes, i talk to baby (repeat the same thing" LOL, I burst out laughing after reading this!

same same
"Good boy, drink mommy's milkmilk..." (rewind)

"OK, now time to burp burp..."
"yeah, it's pom pom time..."
"u poop poop again, notty boy..."

flos,

I don't intend to wear bikinis or bare my midriff anytime soon, so never bothered abt the linea nigra. It will lighten over time. I'm like u, usually just stroke his head or limbs while latching.

isabelle,

GE is the one with worldwide coverage. Put it this way, they were the last to introduce the revamped shield plan+rider, so they covered most of the good points offered by the other insurers when we bought it for J 2 years ago. (Must emphasize the 2 years ago). I will be discussing with my advisor only in Oct what to buy for Jonas.

Ava,

Well done on the improved milk flow! I have started to watch TV and express at the same time too. Takes my mind off the milk and perhaps indirectly reduces the stress over milk supply!
Btw, the nggg and shhh thing is not common with my family. And lazy me still haven't toilet-train J yet though he's already 26 mths --- I can't deal with poo/pee accidents!

LATCHING VS EXPRESSING:

The most efficient pump in the world is your baby. Maybe that's why they drink more. I find that I letdown much quicker when I latch. But for Jonas, i express cos PD wanted me to monitor his intake cos of his jaundice. He's starting to look very yellow again. Guess I'll bring him back for follow-up tomorrow instead of friday.

Another thing is I don't want to latch him after my jamu massage as I'm still oily!

BB MANYUE:

Wow, all the cakes / cupcakes look so gorgeous! We don't do manyue parties, so no fanciful cake or new clothes for Jonas.

<font color="119911">Flos - haha, not like baby understands anyway rite.
I usually go "kieran good boy ahh, don't cry-cry cos mummy dont like"...or "lets burp burp u first"..."mum mum ahhh"..etc....alot of repetition (mum-mum, burp-burp) thou we are told to speak to babies in proper adult sentences. I would also stroke his belly, hair, count his fingers and toes etc when BFing.

GATHERING
Meanwhile on gathering - lets fix:
Date:??
Venue: Who's place?
Attendees: Pls add your's &amp; baby's name.

ava: i tried to use the Canto pronunciation but it sounded really awful. so we're using the Wade-Giles system (Taiwanese way of romanizing Mandarin)... I picked his first recommendation, after much consideration

Going to register on Fri when DH is back. I feel so terrible as a parent...taking care of a bb with no registered name for 2 weeks! Even HR is asking me for his name so they could send me that hamper. My gynae asked me last Fri, and I was like 'er...still not decided yet'

Du Pareil Au Meme has very very nice GIRL's dresses. The boy's styles are less pretty. I'm sure u will love the vibrant colours. Next door Obaibi (by Jacardi Paris) is also one of my fav.

bacon&amp;eggs: u r one luky woman, can make do without a CL. I need her till my manyue...I think she is taking matters into her own hands, cos I hv no old folks at home to jaga her. She is free to use whatever she finds in the fridge, and can tell me what is fresh and what is not. I can't possibly count the no. of paoshen, cordyceps, ginseng stalks I hv cos it'd make me seem so petty...She told me her prevoius clients also used 18-20 stalks for one bowl of soup. I was really sceptical. Does she really know how much 20 stalks of cordyceps cost? She poured all the residue away without letting me see them or eat them every nite, how would i know if she really used 18-20 stalks?

*PINCH*

hahahaa. bigtoes and Flos.. thats why I say I'm running out of things to say to my baby liao.. lol.. i wonder if he's getting tired of hearing the same boring stuff! cos i'm sick of hearing myself on repeat mode..

anyway, wonder how's sarahmay.. anyone heard from her after her delivery?

CL: After having CL here for 3 weeks, I'm actually growing used to her and love her as my own family member. I think no one is perfect, and I'm not the perfect boss either. But based on performance, I would give my CL an 8/10. She takes really good care of my baby and me. Helps me save money when it comes to food portion, baby's diapers, pro-breastfeeding, makes sure my son dun waste my breastmilk, does housework, ironing etc without me asking her to do so! I'm a fussy eater, but her cooking is so good that I finish up whatever she cooks! Most improtantly, I'm feeling stronger now, must be all the "bu" stuff she has been giving me. What I also appreciate about my CL is that she doesn't impose her beliefs on us if we're not up to it. Eg, she wanted to bathe my baby in Guinness Stout and we objected. She's ok that we're not proceeding with it even after she explained the rationale.

Cons: her long winded stories of her ex-clients, I've by now know where they stay and what they did! CL also has a bad habit of asking me how much this cost, where to buy etc. Abit irritating at times!

Would I hire a CL again? Yes I would! Will get back this auntie if she's still healthy and strong enough to work by the time I have more children! =)

blackberryB/ ava

no lei..its not between latching..tts y i say very pathetic man..after very latch my bb like not enuff n needs to top up with ebm in the end..dun koe how long i can tong oso.for my FB,i tink my freezer already starts storing already...tts y i pretty upset esp when i bought a medela swing intending for long term bf..

RE : CL

haiz..CL leaving soon man next week..now counting down liao to my beginning of tiredness..now with CL,i still can throw bb to her whenever she dun want to zzz..next time its my turn to handle her alone..mentally feel so tired whenever i tink of tt man..tts y i told my hb,tink the longer i wait to have #2, the less chances i will want to have it...coz 1 wouldnt want to begin all over again..he was there telling me no more #3 liao..he scare n tired liao..hehe

<font color="0077aa">Crayon: Sarah is busy with motherhood, guess she will come in when she is more free..

I also say the same thing to my bb especially when he fusses around. But usually I just day dream.. Keke...

Shazz: I am also pleased with my CL, her cooking is good! And cos she is young, she does things quite fast, definitely will hire her again when 2nd one is out!

Angeline: Yah man, I also cannot imagine if CL is gone! If bb cries &amp; don't want to sleep, I am the one to take care, cannot throw to her anymore.. Sob sob..</font>

Flos
My babies havent been registered either...and it's coming to their manyue already! Almost...!

Can I find that Wade-Giles system on the net? I'll google it...Otherwise, I'm just using the hanyupinyin with the dialect surname like we did with adan's.

Yay....glad to know I can go Du Pareil... for nice girl clothes

shazz

can give me your CL contacts? asking for a fren of mine...my current CL already said she wun do anymore confinement job,mostly she takes babysitter job...

Angeline
My ss is same if not worse than yours...I have nothing to pump after latching. my 60-100ml per pump is 3 hours from last latch/express...so same as urs, except i have two mouths to feed..SIGH. I also bot PIS for long term bf, but I guess I will continue to pump for as long as possible in the first year. even 50-50 EBM and FM are better than nothing...

Angeline Goh (angeg): you're not alone! my MS has also been hovering around 90-110ml per pump session the last few days. Used to be able to get 190 for some sessions, wonder if it's due to the fever and cold sores, that's why I'm producing lesser milk these days.

PM you CL's contact

storeberry

yalor..these few days bb dun want to zz lei day n night..wah lao..put on bed wakes up man...i was tinking if my turn alone,i sure die couple with my elder ger sure go crazy...can give me your CL contact as well?

RE : CL

Any1 who tinks her CL is good can give me the contact? thanks....

ava/ shazz

was tinking of taking fenugreek or ask dr for the 'medicine' that the mummies here says it work?

Angeline: I'm already taking fenugreek! but taking only 1 or 2 a day as I'm afraid of blocked ducts and engorgement! so I'm taking my time. ;)

shazz

got any improvement? i hate to take pills man..esp those from gnc coz they r usually very big size...