(2008/09) Sep 2008

shazz,
u r one lucky customer who hired a good CL. I still believe in CL the next time i give birth..but will probably go thru agency..in case they quit on me..i can get a replacement.

Flos,
I am learning to make do with whatever help (from my hubby)..v sleep deprived..but guess i have to go thru it..its just sooner or later..for me, it just fast forward 2 weeks..hope my back and health wont suffer cos of these 2 weeks..still brewing soups for myself..of cos no more big meals...just simple rice, eggs and ricewine at times..yesterday it was soft boiled egg with a slice of bread...

Angeline: When I take more, say 2 after each meal, my breasts gets engorged and blocked, so I stick to only one. Cos my breasts got a tendency to get blocked! But once I unblock them, I can get up to the 200ml per session. So I suppose it works!

Gathering:

Count me in!!
Baby's Name: Scarlett
Mummy's Name: Kymberley Teo

Anyone's got craving for nice japanese food?
I got a nice place to recommend for our gathering ~~~ :

Tatsu Sushi Japanese Restaurant @ The Chinese Swimming Club (Amber Road, ard Marine Parade)

Perhaps we could book half of the restaurant, and as the chef's/ vice restaurant owner's my friend, i could get him to draw up a nice menu for us!

bacon&egg (baconegg): i think it's better to find one via word of mouth recommendation. Get the contacts from mummies who are satisfied with their CL here after their confinement ends, think will be better than agencies.

shazz

hmm..good that it works for u...i dun dare to get my hopes raise so fast..tt means if i take i have to be very diligen in pumping out etc...say 2-3hrly..so as to avoid blockage...

shazz / flos ,

Hmm , think mine will be one and half month .. cos for my first bb , i took at first month .. called the modified 6 in 1 ... instead of the 6 in 1 .. so one extra jab ..so this time I will try to go only at 1.5 months to save one jab pain .. keke .
fenugreek , me taking 2 pills per day ..

shazz: "she wanted to bathe my baby in Guinness Stout and we objected." huh? this is quite novel

I also appreciate my new CL for cleaning my windows, ironing my DH's shirts, cooking great confinement meals for me, washing my toilet, bathing my son 2X/day, and willing to say sorry when I tick her off. I'm a fussy boss, I think, more so during my confinement period and when DH is not around to bear the brunt of it.

Ava: I just googled for the system: http://library.ust.hk/guides/opac/conversion-tables.html

It's a pity that the Canto pronunciation of my son's name is not nice...Else, we'd prefer to use Canto.

Wade-giles is like Mao Zedong (Pinyin) = Mao Tse-tung (Wade-giles)

Li Xianlong (Pingyin) = Lee Hsien Loong (wade-giles)

FLos

ur CL is good..mine didnt do much extra like housework...coz when i use her for my FB,i hired her from tmc confinement nanny service..they got a contract tt says they wun do any other extra housework...they will only do their basic duties of taking care of the mummy n baby n cooking only...

Flos (flos): tell me about it! apparently, this is a rather widely practised by the older generation! they believe that if you bathe baby in Guinness Stout diluted with water, they will have good skin and helps in lowering jaundice level. But we figured, the poor baby's skin might get burnt in the process since you can cook a raw egg by cracking it into a glass of stout!

crayonshinchan,
the exact address for alexandra village's ang ku kueh is: Poh Cheu - #01-230 Block 127, Bukit Merah Lane 1, Singapore 150127, tel 6276-2287

Shazz, my CL suddenly became a bit emo 2days ago.. she said to baby "auntie got gan qing with you oredi then must leave liao".. wah lao.. i hear oredi my tears oso want to drop.. I think ur CL and my CL are abt the same..
I find mine quite funny when she knows i'm going to breastfeed in the living room, she'll go hide in her room and come out after i finish.. At least she doesnt invade my privacy...

Wow.. saw some beautiful pix of man-yue wor!
For those who have done their man-yue, do u all allow ur friends and relatives to carry the bb?

My CL told me if many pple carry the bb, the bb have a high tendency to be cranky at nite wor! And if preggy happen to touch or carry the bb, that's it manz! The bb sure cry like mad a nite!

ANyone can prove the theory rite/wrong?

My CL is also leaving next week after the man-yue. I cannot imagine how frantic i will be if the bb becomes cranky when she is nt ard manz!

Angeline
Can pm me ur CL's contact? Does ur CL mind the Commonwealth area? My fren looking for nanny. Thx

sunrays
me bake cake for first mth? Dunno got energy or not... Was toying with the idea of baking cupcakes but i'll see how...

koras
think BM watery or not depends on what one eats. For #1, when i was down with gastric flu and ate little, BM supply dropped ALOT and become super watery... And like FLos mentioned, i think my BM is yellowish whote cos I take lots of sih and DHA pills (when i remember to, that is)

crayon
I'm sec school tr. Think for us in sec sch, our hols only really begin when ur pri sch term ends? If not, I still gotta work half day, something like dat.

Alabone
office sent me this yr's form and i called up to clarify but i have yet to submit. For now, office advised me to take leave for this yr first, then later on apply again for the extra 8 weeks leave for jan/feb.

MOLLY KUEH
is cheap and good. My family has been buying fr them since I was a kid!

isabelle

my CL do babysitting job is more of those short term basis type..not those long term..eg: like do 1 or 2 mths type..etc..& the rates quite ex in my opinion..not those $550++ a mth type..her rates like $100/day? etc...

Flos
Thanks for the link. Unfortunately one of the names doesnt sound so nice in Wade-Giles... "Rui" becomes "jui"... eee.

I bought a baby photoframe with 12 oval small frames to feature the bb growing stage for the next 12 months lo.

And now, i am puzzled how do i shrink my digital image to fit into the small oval frame? Any expert out there to shed some tips on how to do it huh?? I called those photo developing shops and was told they cannot resize into such a small size lo. Aiyoh...

Bathing Baby
Heard of the guinness stout thing too.. apparently I had such a bath when I was a baby too.

Anyway, yesterday I went to Eu Yan Sang & bought some Jin Si Yan, my CL asked me to buy, she boiled it & bathed baby with it. Apparently it expels toxics & clears baby's skin of those pimples & blemishes.

angeline
oic. Okie, thx for the quick response!

any one knows of babysitter/nanny in the redhill/commonwealth area?
Thx

So glad I had massage earlier. So shiok. Knees and thighs were aching like crazy after standing for more than half an hour in my high heels on sat during my best fren's wedding!

isabelle
Adan's former nanny is in Holland V...still a bit far from your place...and she looks after a few kids at a time...which didn't work out too badly actually...adan's social skills were quite developed for his age due to contact with older kids at an early stage...but not everyone is comfortable with that...

Gathering:

I can offer my messy apt (near Bishan Park) if u all don't mind. As for date, if we want to accomodate all the mummies' confinement, guess it will be late Oct or early Nov. My preference is Weekday though. Can?

1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok

flos,

So u are going to give a Taiwanese variant of the name despite your hubby being Cantonese is it? Don't feel bad, i haven't registered Jonas either. Going down to TMC tomorrow (last day of my 14-day dateline).

Btw, my daddy called yesterday just when u asked. He's contemplating coming back, so coincidental hor!

shazz/angeline
my CL left today she was not bad either. she made confinement really enjoyable for me and baby. but i think some things like the constant small talk and telling about her relatives and everyone(and their babies) that she has done confinement for was beginning to jar by the 2nd week. She also drove my MIL who stays with us nuts by drinking the tonics/soups that she made for me and she would cook food that she felt like eating. On the other hand, she was very pro-active about cooking for the entire family as well:p i've actually recommended her to bbmouse so we shall see if she does as well for her. i rate her as 7/10.

Lok,
Yes, will be spelling it like those Taiwanese names.

Bishan is a good location. How can we all make it for weekday? It has to be during everyone's confinement period right? When is SarahMay leaving for Macau?

Ava: ok, I booked Tan for 17 Oct for the one-on-one meeting. He is fully booked for Sept.

Mei: what is "Jin Si Yan"? My CL told me green bean soup and some liquid can help to remove the pimples and rashes on my boy's neck too.

Bigtoes: u mentioned u got the Baby Bonus? Is it cos u registered your bb's birth very early? I hvn't received my $4000 yet. How about the CDA?

MANYUE: when must I order from the bakery shop and caterer? I'm two weeks from the manyue?

My manyue seems to clash with my bb's first-mth visit to the PD (11 Oct 08 - SATURDAY). Anyone with that problem? Jab bb with 6-in-1 and then celebrate manyue? wouldnT bb be cranky during his party?

CL doing household chores: Dun be mistaken that it's part of her job duties. I need to pay her extra $200 on top of $1900 for that, ok! One night, she told my DH and I over dinner that if we top up $200, she could do A-Z...we smiled politely and kept quietly. The next day, was alarmed to see that she'd started cleaning this and that! So my DH told me to pass her more than 10 business shirts to iron today, whcih she did. LOL.

CL's relatives calling your house phone: Is this only my nanny? Her son, her daughter # 1, 2 ,3 are all calling my house phone to check if their mom is doing ok in SG. My DH already topped up $35 on her SIM card but she still doesn't use her own mobile to chat with them. Do I hv a right to be angry? I told her son off today that the freqeunt ringing will wake my bb up. I wonder if these nannies are here on a holiday or to work...

INTERGRITY...been wondering what the world has become...everyone's telling lies and cooking up stories...or maybe it's just my hormones? Just now, the maid agency told me the maid I picked has been tested positive for pregnancy, meaning I need to reselect. It's just too coincidental...suspicious.

Then, the jamu lady was reluctant to tell me her shop's address and claimed she forgot to bring her receipt after today's 7th session. My package includes 8 session, of which the last session is to be done at her shop at Bt Timah SC Level 2. Anyway, she knows 90% I won't travel to Bt Timah for that last session, so effectively, she is paid $450/7 sessions. Wonder if they will honor my 8th session without a receipt from them...Black black market out there

Ava
u think u could email/pm me adan's former nanny's contact if not convenient to post here? It's my fren who's looking for nanny and she lives in commonwealth, not far from HV so she might not mind. Thx a lot!!!

lok
I'm bringing my girl to PD at TMC tmr morn and to reg her BC too! (She's still a bit yellow so supposed to follow-up though I think she shld be fine, but just to play safe...)

Finally selected my girl's chinese name: Ying-En

Flos: My caterer told me one week in advance

<font color="119911">GATHERING:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
4. Kieran + Li May (Bigtoes)

Venue: Tentatively Lok's apartment (Bishan)
Date: late Oct when?
Am okie with both weekday/ends thou wkend preferred cos then hubby can my our driver

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - why not consider tingkat (tiffin) food instead of cooking your own stuff?
Then maybe just add a couple of confinement dishes urself. I have already ordered tingkat food for weekday lunches the next couple of months that i am on maternity.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - now that u mentioned it, i have one of those photo frames with 12 oval slot as well (cover of a photo album). Someone gave it to us during baby's delivery, and i don't even remember where i kept it! Just shrink to fit using photoshop?

Flos - yes, 1st installment for baby bonus the bank account already. Think it was $750, with a total of 4 installments of different amounts. We applied on the spot at TMC since quite free at the hospital. CDA - can't even open account with StdChart or OCBC yet - have to wait till the govt enforce the change and the banks allow for parents to apply for 1st child.

MANYUE: most places would be okie if you order 1 week in advance.</font>

Flos, my CL uses her own phone to make phone calls..Her children do call her quite frequently but as long as she doesnt throw the baby one side and chat, me and hb just close one eye..

But I do notice one thing.. CLs love to talk abt their family back in msia...and they take every opportunity to talk..LOL and my CL is a TV addict. Sometimes if I miss some parts, I'll ask her what happened..haha.. If my mum gets to know abt it, my ears are gonna burn with her naggings...

Reyes' first month check is 2days after his manyue..

Flos, u need to register the birth then go to ICA to apply for the baby bonus then u'll get the first installment of 600bucks after abt 3wks..

I shd be ok for gathering.. provided I'm confident enough to bring baby out on my own..hee

GATHERING:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon

crayon: the first instalment is $750.

i dun mind her chatting on the phone, but her relatives keep calling my HOUSE phone from morning till late nite! tsk tsk...

OK then, I'll see if I could do the manyue on a Sunday.

isabelle,

Jonas' PD is at Bishan. Will go down to TMC to register his name in the afternoon.

flos,

Ur confinement really quite drama. Can't wait for it to be over right? U don't need to do the jab on the exact day. I think +/- 3 days is no problem.

GATHERING:

The reason why i prefer weekday is so that my FB will not be monkeying around and terrorizing the babies since he will be in CC. Also weekends will be grandparents'day. Let's take a poll: for mummies who are only taking 8 weeks of ML, when is your last day of ML?

Rachel: yes, but not leak much. I didn't collect it.

Ava/Shazz: 1 session only pump out 40ml today, worse than yesterday. I took the fenugreek but it seem not work on me

How you know the blockage?

Hi Flo,

I am not sure the CL is licensed or unlicensed one. But she mentioned in the article that she is charging only 1200 compared to market rate of 1800.

Ava, will keep in mind of the Bliss agency incase i need them for No2.

I am keen to join in the gathering too... Please add me in.

Name: jojobar
Baby: Marcellus

Any good caterer recomended? I was thinking Neo Garden but my friend said the food is nice but the quality is 'super' small portion. She had it on last weekend!

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
7. Sharmaine + stef&amp;seanbabes

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle

Hi all, count me in for the gathering!

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kyrie

Hi all, do you always burp your baby after breastfeeding if he had already fallen asleep on your breast? Will it not wake him up if you try to burp him, and he does not want to sleep thereafter? And it's difficult to make him go to bed again on his own, without having to feed him again (I think he takes my breast as a pacifier!)

Anyone with the same prob?

By the way, my baby is a colicky baby, and his doctor actually prescribe "Dentinox colic drops" for the baby.. very effective...!

<font color="0000ff">Change of Diapers
Can I juz check with u mummies, how many times do u all change ur bb's diapers at nite? assuming its all pee and no poo???</font>

<font color="0077aa">Never heard of the guinness stout bath thingy...

Angeline: PM you liao!

BB is cranky today &amp; keep crying &amp; rejecting my breasts, hiaz.. really don't know what he wants but when my CL carry him, he tend to stop foe a while... Don't know if next time my MIL can handle him or not.

Baby Bonus:
Flos: We will only get the $750 first, and I resgister on 4th Sep, also haven't get my 1st installment yet.

Rachel: I will still burp baby even when he is asleep cos if not he will regurgitate out the milk later. Usually after burping he will still fall alseep..

Hi all, I am also for gathering provided I am confident to bring Zane!

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kyrie
10. Dina + Zane</font>

blackberryB (blackberryb): My right breast is engorged and I have hard lumps but when I pump, nothing comes out. So I know it's blocked! So poor me have to use hot compress, massage and massage and pump!

Flos: your CL is really making herself at home! My CL, like crayonshinchan's one has her own pre-paid SIM card. The other day, when it rang out of value, and my hubby was not coming home cos of a church retreat, I let her used my phone to ask her grand-daughter who's working in SGP to help her top-up her card. My son is so used to my CL's loud voice, he can sleep through even though she's yakking away!In fact, I think he likes it, means there's someone in the room with him! ;)

Mei: wow ... Jin Si Yan to bathe baby! First time I heard that leh!

crayonshinchan: yes our CL pretty much alike. except she enjoys watching me milk myself! haha ... she also got gan qing with my boy. she said she wanna go buy something for him. I said no need lah, don't waste money, appreciate her "xin yi".

Sorry, I spelled my boy's name wrongly! What a grave mistake!!!

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane

Change of diapers... I usually just change it once or max twice in the night. I dont really want to wake him up, cos he does not seems to like diaper changing time..

<font color="0000ff">Rachel Lim
hhmm... I'm suspecting my maid doesn't change my boy's diapers throughout the nite till the v next morning when he has his bath and changes into nappies coz my pack of huggies still left alot leh. but when i ask her, she say change.. sighz...

Cannot trust 3rd parties!!!!!</font>

Just finished my massage..

Sorry Gals... typed wrongly.. my mandarin sucks.. the thing is called 'Jin Yin Hua' to bathe baby, not 'Jin Si Yan'.. Oops. It can also be used to brew with chrysanthemum to drink too.

Our CLs will be attached with our babies one.. imagine spending 24/7 with him/her, watching him/her grow &amp; all their cute antics.

koras
Think it's quite normal.. my boy has not been sleeping in the day at all since late last week.

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei

<font color="0077aa">Koras: MY boy is cranky today keep crying hysterically &amp; sometimes cannot pacify him... Don't know why also, hopefully he will pass this phase soon.</font>

Gathering
I go back to work on Nov 10 so best if it's before that.

If it's OK I will have to bring the whole family as I wont be able to manage twins on my own I think..

Latest GATHERING LIST:
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids

BlackberryB
Fenugreek may take a few days to start working...keep at it..try pumping in front of TV since it works for me

Babies' names
We've chosen Qian(4) Yu(2) "Beautiful Flawless Jade" for Summer and Qian(4) Rui(4) "Beautiful Auspicious Object" for Anais...