(2008/09) Sep 2008

Guess What!! My confinement lady who quit on me...called me today!! But my batt died on me..didnt get to know what she wants from me...hopefully not back to get her things (if she left any behind!!)

<font color="0077aa">Lanolin: My MIL insisted on me getting a pacifier for my boy after one mth when she comes over to take care of Zane &amp; my 10mth old nephew. She claims that it will stop their crying &amp; therefore easier for her to take care. I am really not for pacifier but if no choice then gotta buy...

Flos: You really getting a maid? Filipino? My SIL just asked me have I consider getting extra help for my MIL as she will be taking care of Zane &amp; my other nephew. I really don't want a stranger staying @ my place &amp; with problems that are unforseen! But she told me that she is suspecting that my MIL gastric problems are due to stress &amp; thinking too much &amp; not physical. So they are afraid that she might not be able to handle the stress of two babies. All the while I thought her condition was more physical...

After what she said, I am very worried &amp; thinking of alternatives now... Who is sending their babies to infant care / baby sitter / nanny? How much will it be?</font>

C-section scar
Mine i a little hard to the touch on the edges; at first, my massage lady massaged it v gently to make it less hard and it seems to hve worked.

Moms who had more than 1 c-section
Does recovery get easier with each delivery? What about the scar? Does it get harder with each delivery?

Lanolin
Pacifiers: don't generally like them, and neither did Adan. he spat out every brand of pacifier we tried on him till we gave up trying. The gals cries are not as loud as Adan's (altho their attemp at topping the charts last night almost qualified) so not trying pacifiers.

kyrie,
i apply Ruyi oil on Kaiden after bath on his tummy and feets..but i dont apply direct, i will drop a few drops on my palm, rub them till warm and place my palm on his tummy and feets..just to give it some warmth..think it helps him feel better..

storeberry / Ava - I don't think any one of us are fans of pacifiers but sometimes just to have some peace in the house, it seems to do the trick. I might be getting the Nuk ones.

Ava - interesting that Adan didn't like pacifiers. I didn't know that was possible. HA HA HA.... My boy can also scream (and then go into this low throaty wail) when he is hungry (or so I think).

Storeberry - sorry I don't know any baby sitters. I am also starting to think how to manage when I go back to work. I got a maid coz someone has to do the housework (both grandmas are busy and can only spare a little time)....we went through a couple of leads to find a helper that has been recommended by someone we know so at least the risk is a little lower.

<font color="0077aa">Thanks Lanolin for your reply! So once you get back to work after 4mths, you will leave your bb with the maid? I am really not at peace employing a maid.. Hiaz...

I will be prob going to work after 2mths. But I don't see why I am extending my maternity so that my MIL can care for my nephew, so in this case there is no need for her to come &amp; help since I will be taking care of my son myself?? Aiyoo.. I am contradicting!

Pacificer: Maybe I will get the nuk ones to pacify my MIL! Haha!</font>

oh no, shazz.. i hope u're out of the initial shock liao.. I can imagine ur fear now. My hb was involved in a small accident and I was oredi scared out of my wits as the passenger. *pat pat*

bigtoes.. happy belated birthday.. I can imagine u being very happy last nite smiling from ear to ear.. hahaha..

Breastfeeding
Wondering if anyone is having the same prob as me.
My left nipple's milk flow seems to be too fast for my boy. Sometimes I find him trying to swallow all the milk as fast as he can and he seems to be breathless! If i try to pull out my nipple to let him slow down, i'll waste a lot of milk. Wondering what I should do.

And also, he seems to gag whenever I try to let him latch onto my left nipple. It cant be my nipple is too big lor! Arrgh!

I just flared up at my new CL again! Yes, she eats my cod fish, asks to use my IDD, requests to sit with me, and now I just discovered she soaks my oil/sweat-stained JAMU BANGADE ([ve worn it for over 12 hours!) inside my bb's bathtub!!!!!!!!!!!

I yelled the F-word at her cos I was soooooo angry that she is soooooooo %$#^%$*^%*&amp; STUPID! I've been asking the previosu CL to handwash my oil-stained bandages and tumble drying them, but I wondr why this CL is sooooo stupid today to soak it in KODOMO (KODOMO is super soapy some more!) and what? then pour it away and squeeze Latacyd later into the bathtub to bathe my son? No wonder got pimples on the neck lah!

I was soooooo furious that I use the shower to spray it clean and kept shouting at her for making this grave mistake!!!!

I am expecting her to throw in the towel anytime. So be it. Kampung practices...these pp should just stay in the kampung and use the same shit bucket and bathe their bbs, not to come here to earn SGD and enjoy Alaskan codfish!

I wonder if the Filipino maid is worse that a SG PR.

Storeberry - u are very funny! Yes, indeed, the pacifiers might be for your MIL instead of ur baby.

What do you intend to do with the extra 2 months of maternity if u go back to work? My situation is little similar...both grandmas are busy with nephews from each side. My mom probably can start helping me from next year onwards when both my nephews are in full-day school (2 and 4) ... but only maybe 3 days. The other 2 days, I'm figuring out. My MIL is not easy to manage though she does have our interests at heart (my husband totally agrees and thinks it is better for his mom to just visit) so I'd rather ask my sister's MIL to help as she's easier going. AM broaching that very carefully. It's a bit convoluted.

I won't leave my baby with my helper in the house alone. she's just there to manage what the grandmas can't do (like bathing coz grandmas have no strength) but always with supervision.

Flos - with filipino maids, it can be as bad coz they really come from a different world and have absolutely different standards from you so u need to be very very specific about every step that they take to accomplish one task. Can vomit blood at the beginning but if the maid is willing to learn, can be a blessing at the end. My sister trained her maid very well and now she's a pro.

*pat pat*.

Maybe u have to be more specific with CLs?

koras - my massage lady washed her hands off all the oil before she massaged my breasts but if u have oil on urs, better really clean it well before letting the baby latch! maybe use warm wet towel to wipe a few times?

Flos, desitin too strong ah? I dono leh.. CL applies everytime she changes diapers. Is that supposed to be the routine?

bacon&amp;egg, 10mins yields 50-90ml is not bad wat..In the daytime, my 15mins yields abt 110-120ml and in the middle of the nite, i can manage up to 180ml.

Mrs yap *hugs* there's always FM ;-) Dont stress urself now and somemore ur hb is not with u now also.

My armpits seemed to have lightened a little (well could be my imagination!) but my linea nigra and stretchmarks have turned DARKER.. I really hate looking at my tummy now..

Flos, my CL usually eats after us. Hb and I usually catch up on our day quickly during dinner so that she'll not go hungry. heee. but then she prefers watching the 7pm drama to eating.. And she doesnt eat wat she cooks for us even though I told her its ok since she doesnt eat much. But she declined..I guess she's also sick of eating confinement food.. haa..

lanolin, i'll try to refrain from using pacifier if i can. But once Reyes starts to suck his thumb, i'll intro pacifier to him! Pacifier shd be easier to wean off as compared to thumb.

storeberry, my MIL owas tells us, if u cant be at peace/dont trust having a maid, its best not to hire one. Cos u'll end up getting super stressed. BUT if u have someone with the maid like ur MIL, then she can help ur MIL out with the chores.

lanolin: I expect her to hv some commonsense. How can u wash adult's laundry (and it's not just any dirty linen, it's the JAMU bandage) using bb's bathtub? It's unacceptable... u shd be a pro confinement nanny after doing it for 8 yrs right?

bacon&amp;eggs: Mine also SMS me last nite: "r u ok?" I ignored her SMS...She went to shop last weekend lah...cos my mom tried calling her referee (my sis's ex- CL) and she said she just arrived in SG at some MRT and wasn't available to help me out. That was then we realise that the two SILs hv made appt to meet at some MRT ( also heard my CL talking to someone, "Oi, u reach the MRT station liao, is it? OKOK, I coming soon, u wait first hor".

storeberry: u r so mild-tempered, i'm sure you will hv no problem with any maid!!! hehehe!

Infantcare is over $1K I believe.

Aiyo Flos, cool down..
And prob u might want to know that with maids, be it indon, pino,myanmar etc, u need to really spell out the DOs and DONTs.. even after spelling these out, there'll still bound to be mistakes. Different cultures different practices plus some of them have nv done housework or used electrical appliances before. My bro's ex maid used to wash vegetables in the pail which we soak clothes in and wipe the toilet bowl and dining table with the same towel! U go figure.. haaa..

koras, i used warm towel to wipe and wipe and wipe then use nipple wipes to clean.. and then try to smell to ensure that there's no oil smell.. haa..

<font color="0077aa">Crayon: My left breast flow is also faster &amp; sometimes my bb gets choke &amp; cough!

Agreed that MIL can Jaga the maid but still not used to having one at my house. And not forgetting gotta bring her to see doctor when she is sick, but toiletries for her, extra food for one more person..etc..

Lanolin: I am self-employed so I gets only 2mths from govt, so if I need to extend, it will be my "ba sa", no pay from company...

Yah, our situation is similar, really headache now. My mom can't help cos she is working &amp; also taking care my other nephew... I was depending on my MIL till I know about the stress condition a few days ago. My BIL also don't want to employ a maid &amp; my hubby haven't got time to discuss with his brother on this issue, now really "walk one step &amp; see how.."

Flos: I apply desitin on my bb &amp; after one poo, seem like the desitin also disappear leh..

Oh dear, your this CL also CMI. Think you are better off without one yah?</font>

crayonshinchan: perhaps you can try another position to latch on reyes. perhaps your milk letdown is too forceful for him to handle. the last resort is to pump out and feed via a bottle cos the holes in the teats is smaller.

Flos: poor thing, your new CL sounds like she got not much common sense! try briefing her on what you want her to use for what purpose, that's what I did. Which pail, tub is for what purpose, food, clothes etc.

lanolin: my boy started taking to the pacifier shortly after the CL got here cos he was crying too much! it did help to pacify him and he can suck so happily on it! Problem is when it drops out of his mouth, he cries! haha ... I bought him an orthodontic Pigeon pacifier but he likes the Advent pacificer that came free with the Advent IQ steriliser set! But they sell it in the stores as well.
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=148075&amp;catid=48847&amp;brand=8560&amp;trx=PLST-0-BRAND&amp;trxp1=48847&amp;trxp2=148075&amp;trxp3=1&amp;trxp4=0&amp;btrx=BUY-PLST-0-BRAND&amp;cmbProdBrandFilter=8560

storeberry (storeberry): for us self-employed, do you know if we can claim the first 2 mths or the last 2 mths? Cos I read that we take 4 mths, they only pay us the last 2 mths right? Because of that I'm not taking long leave, just 6 weeks cos my office is moving and I need to go back and clear my stuff.

crayon: I've forgiven her lah...just had lunch with her. She has washed up the bathtub already...

I know they can't tell the diff between the cloths. I almost fainted when the first CL used my sink sponge to wash my plates! I hv two sponges of diff colours, but I guess I was tooo tired and weak on my first two days to remember telling them which is which.

Anw, I'm left with two more weeks of confinement (though she is booked for 4 weeks for easy payment purpose) so I shall endure. Once I dun need CL to cook confinement food for me, I can flex my muscles a bit.

Koras: I use the bb's Latacyd to soak my towel, wipe and wipe breasts and armpits. I only use NUK nipple wipes AFTER each feed, cos it helps to cool my nipples down.

storeberry: which desitin did u buy? The creamy or original one?

PACIFIERS: my boy also likes pacifiers. But I'm not giving him any.

Hi flos,
yah I know. That's why the PD prescribed some pill thing to insert into his bottoms should he not poop again.

Read some of the horror stories that some of you posted about your CLs. Gosh. I'm so thankful my MIL is doing it for me and she's giving me lots of leeway. Still I can't help but miss my own parents and keep wanting to go back home to them.

Koras,
Yup mine says can wash off with soap and water. Wiping it only may leave some residue I think. Or the smell could be very strong.

bacon&amp;egg,
that means whether or not the baby has wind, it's good to apply?

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: I don't think it matter cos we just need to submit our income tax assessment then they will pay the average monthly income to us...

Flos: I bought both desitin, now using the creamy one.</font>

storeberry, then wat do u do when zane chokes? Do u pat him on the back first then put him back to latch?

And yup.. there are many considerations when having a maid.. esp having ur privacy invaded..even my hb who's had a maid since he was 13 or so, still finds it uncomfy with a stranger around the house. And plus with them around, we'll have to be "properly attired" hahah..

Shazz, I tried to lean back further so the milk doesnt flow straight into his mouth but then the milk will flow onto my boobies.. bah! so ma fan.. haa

Flos, u cool down damn fast and flare up equally fast ah.. so fast can eat lunch tog liao. heee...

crayonshinchan: at least you have a good problem! mine flows so slowly thats why I take so long to pump one!

storeberry: i see, but i tried their calculator, seems like if we take 4 mths, only pay us 2 mths. If we take 2 mths, they don't pay us. So I was thinking, may not be worth it for us to take the leave, cos my opportunity cost is higher the longer I don't work.

<font color="ff0000">Question - Mommies, want to check:

When do you switch breast when u latch baby on? I was just reading the Gina Ford book, and she said to switch after about 25min cos the fore &amp; hind milk would have been consumed by then....and to squeeze the nipple btwn the thumb and finger to check if the breast is empty...then to nurse from the other breast for about 5-15min.

I just fed Kieran for about 35min on the left side - but checked and there is still milk. So do i let him continue on the same breast or switch anyway?

Also, how do you know which is fore &amp; hind milk? Fore = diluted watery color, and hind = white color?

She mentioned that changing breast too quickly would lead to 2 servings of fore milk &amp; baby gets hungry within 2 hours. And if they feed again, would end up with colic! I think I might have been feeding more foremilk cos I usually switch within 15 min

crayon: Well, she apologised over and over again, so I cannot be so petty right? Just hope the washing detergent and jamu herbal oils does not stick onto the bb bathtub lor...tsk tsk...

I also had a live in maid before marriage, but my mom was then the sole supervisor, so I need not stress over people matters.

Yes, properly attired! Everytime my PT maid is due to arrive, I must rush to grab my bra and change out of my scanty lingerie.

I leave my money lying around, and valuables in unlocked drawers, when I go on a holiday for weeks. The PT maid would enter my apartment with his/her own keys to clean my place in my absence.

GOSH, my CL is cleaning my windows now!!

Flos,

Calm down calm down. Your qn on linea nigra: it will take months to go away. In my case, it never really went away even after 17 mths and then I became pregnant with Jonas...

Confinement Lady:
I am actually very happy with my confinement lady, so will recommend her to the mummies if u need 1 the next time.

Storeberry,

Infantcare charges vary from place to place, depending on curriculum, brandname, teacher-bb ratio etc. So my advice to you is to go check out the place yourself. $ is not the sole factor to consider. My son's infantcare charges $1350 before govt subsidy. After $600 sub, it will be $750. I have a maid at home but both my kids will still attend CC/IFC.

Pacifier:
Will depend on your bb too. My FB simply refuse to take any pacifier and instead relied on his 2 fingers to soothe himself. Finally managed to wean him off at 2 years old. There is a "Nail Bite Lotion" which is available from pharmacies. It's super bitter and should turn your bb/todd off their thumb/fingers.

Bigtoes: In my first week of confinement, I BF 15min left, burp, 15min right, burp, 15min left, burp, 15min right, burp Then my bb got a bit seasick and puked out some milk due to the swopping of sides. So I changed to 30min right, burp, 30min left, burp That's one hour of latch.

Sometimes, after he finishes drinking, I'd let him suckle my nipple like a pacifier cos I like to carry him in my arms and watch him snooze!! hehehe

Lok: mood swings...this morning my Jamu masseuse came late again. My entire routine has been upset by her...sigh...

wow, $1350 is quite steep. Which brand is that?

I agree with u. Pacifiers will cause the teeth to become crooked in future, no?

Thanks everyone for your comments re pacifier...I guess we might try it since he can get fussy without it and I really can't have him hanging on to my breasts for 2 hours. OUCH

Flos - at least she apologised so good that u calmed down.
I hope nothing else crops up. I think some CLs will not help with any housework so ur CL is quite good that way no?

storeberry- it's not easy to broach these things even with siblings coz everyone seem to be fighting for grandparent's time. I might actually have a find a part time nanny if my sis's MIL cannot help. hmm....

Limay - I usually let him drink until he lets go of the breast himself....it can take up to 45 mins. I also don't know if my method is right......

sunnysunny,

thx for info. Have engaged them already. ANd nope, they dun give complimentary red eggs. Only comes in the menu if i order the first mth menu! Hope the fusion buffet I've ordered will be good!

flos,

Dun be too upset. It will only make u more miserable.

J is attending Babies Resort at AMK Ave 1. They are an independent operator (not like the franchises e.g. Cherie Hearts, MMI etc). The 2 owners have their own kids/babies there, so I take comfort that they will strive to provide the best (for their own kids sake). I'm quite happy with their program (except wishing that they would have speech &amp; drama as well).

But now, I have to think of which kindy to put J in as Babies Resort doesn't have much experience running kindergarten programs. Maybe Lorna Whiston which will be near my new work location..

havent managed to come in cos CL leaving tomorrow so practicing taking baby's duties already
a little off topic but urgent, cos i took care of FB yesterday and the baby and realised that FB need more things to occupy his time.

Anyone sending their FB to music classes/art classes and such? can recommend? my 4 year old is exhibiting symptoms of boredom at home and is becoming addicted to the PS3.i need to get him out to enrichment classes on weekdays i think. he already attends half day school in the mornings...

<font color="119911">Oh, thanks for the Bday wishes mommies
I have actually been sneaking out quite abit - went out on 2 consecutive days on Sun &amp; Monday! Most times, I just tell my CL that I am going for my gyne appnt so she doesn’t nag.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - so sorry to hear about your car accident. Most impt is that you are okie.

alabone (alabone) - Cadence has nice pretty lashes now?
My CL just mentioned that Kieran has no eyelashes (he has lah, but very short - like hubby's). Also told me to shave his head and eyebrows for 1st month! Hah, right.

Meanwhile, Kieran has quite light brown hair and almost blond eyebrows…hehe, maybe its cos I colored my hair a couple of times when I was preggers in the 2-3rd trimester…!

Flos (flos) - still have my linea nigra. Suppose to fade away in a couple of months apparently.

Btw, ur new CL also one kind one. did u freak her out when you scolded her? Sometimes the CL can be quite blur lah - my CL wanted to use my non-stick Teflon baking tray to contain raw fish once, and wanted to cook soup in my corningware directly at the stove! Thank goodness I was in the kitchen then, so she asked me before using them!

For us, we asked our CL to dine with us, but she herself said no need, so she eats after we are done. She does help herself to stuff in the fridge thou - and consumes them very fast! Stuff like 3-in-1 milo, bread, kaya, peanut butter etc…I have to keep checking and replenishing. She finishes a whole bottle of kaya in a week!

Ava (avalyn) - C-sec recovery: I think I can consider that I had 2 C-secs? The 1st one was the fibroid removal (same bikini cut). Recovery was the same, not any more painful. Not sure if the scar would heal any better than the 1st time thou, since the poor skin has been cut twice at the same spot already. My gyne didn’t even prescribe any cream for me.

Btw, when our confinements are all over - lets organize a gathering of mommies + babies. Maybe sometime in late Oct? or one gathering earlier for mommies who delivered earlier, and another gathering that includes all mommies who delivered by end Sept? I guess it would have to be at someone's house, given all the prams and crying babies. Would be fun catching up with everyone and their babies!

HI Lok, not sure is it the same brand that i wanted to use initially to wean off my elder son from pacifier...but after tasting it myself, i dun have the heart to give it to him cos is really super bitter even my maid also said dont give. But not to worry mummies, it will come to a time when your bb dun the pacifier himself/herself.

For my boy, when he was 2 yrs old, i threw away the spoilt pacifier infront of him but within 1 week i gave in and gave him back the pacifier cos he refuse to sleep no matter how tired his was...heart pain and MIL kept 'scolding' me behind my back (infront of my maid) said i crazy woman and actually broadcast to everyone who called her or she called(when she was at my house then).

However, sometimes later, he threw away the pacifier himself before he went to school and told my maid that spider had taken his pacifier. For the 1st few days, he did ask for his pacifier so we remind him that he threw away himself rite? After that, he din ask for it anymore.

lanolin and flos -thanks for your reply. Think i am the one who has no patience to let him suckle for 1 hour at leisure! Imagine 1 hour of BFing, then 1+ hour of break, followed by another hour of BFing!

Anyway, I intend to try the Gina Ford method once my CL leaves - and her mthd prescribes specific timing for BFing rather then let the baby decide....wonder if it would even work!

<font color="0000ff">lanolin
wah.. i miss u leh.. where u disappear to?? hehe.. was asking abt u tat day. i'm doing fine. still expressing. now can get abt 80-90ml le. muz persevere
how abt u???

i'm actually wondering when can we start introducing pacifiers if really no choice

storeberry
haha.. max is a dirty boy too.. doesn't bother him if he's wet or dirty wif poo.. some more when he poos is alot lor..

Mrs Yap
sorry to hear abt ur ss... i belong to this grp of low ss too... but wat to do?? the medication ur gynae gave didnt help??? i wonder how long i can 'tong' until</font>

bigtoes,

Yah, a gathering would be great fun. Still remembered my 1st gathering with the Jul'06 mummies --- all the babies wailing away and mummies busy bfg or warming EBM! The initial gatherings take up less "space" as the bbs are not mobile/can't flip yet. Wait till they start running and hence will need all the space we can find!

Thanks for the comforting words!

lok: Is your daddy in town to visit you? My Dutch relatives are currently in town to visit me. Got me some nice but not practical pressies from Holland

I wonder if it's advisable to send infants to IFC? When your kids are in school, what does your maid do in her free time?

I wonder if I should park my bb at my inlaws' place. Will my son be wasting his infanthood away?

lanolin: u hired a LC some weeks ago right? What advice did she give u then? 45min on one breast until bb lets go automatically ok, no?

WoodlandsMummy,

I didn't taste it myself but J's teachers tried it! She said it's very bitter. Nonetheless, it worked and he's now completely weaned off. Initially, he did have some problem sleeping but soon decided talking/singing himself to sleep.

I wanted him to kick the habit b4 bb arives or else it will be double trouble (didi imitate kor kor) *faintz*.

flos,

Nope, daddy is still in Germany. And i'm sure he will buy chocolates for J if he does come back. But now with the tainted milk scandal, i'm a bit scared.

Why do u question whether it's advisable to send infants to IFC? My maid cleans my apt/handwash the clothes and also cooks dinner. She's having a relatively easy time though. Now with Jonas, she will have to help with night duties.

<font color="0000ff">Hosp Insurance
I've bot mine le.. when Max turned 15 days old

Lanolin
my boy is 1mth4d.. he started drinking 120ml since sunday
was previously drinking 90ml</font>

lok: it's cos infantcare centres are for FTWM without maids and inlaws' help, I understand...that means, the maid is left at home all by herself to do the chores while your infant is at IFC?

They also got me some dutch chocolates, but I hv no craving for chocolates now.

sasa: which insurance firm? AIA?

ava: cute pic u hv there...

think i'll hv a donut before bb wakes up for his next feed....

my tummy skin like blackened.. so ugly la... hee... i still put on SM cream in the day.. at nite i put whitening lotion.. hahaha..

Bigtoes
colour of foremilk: something like the water after we wash rice.
colour of hindmilk: like diluted condensed milk (by the end, the colour is not transclucent/thin anymore but thick and yellowish white)

This is what i observe abt my milk. Any mummies wld like to confirm this???

INSURANCE
WHich insurance r u mummies getting for baby? My entire fmaily is with AIA but now I'm not sure if i shld still be getting AIA for gabby!

GATHERING
SOunds fun!!! COunt me in!!!

PACIFIERS/FINGERS
I offered pacifier to Isabelle cos I figured that I cld control the cleanliness of the pacifier but not her fingers. And I thot it might be easier to wean off pacifier cos I cld take it away but I can't take her fingers away!
But I think the ease of weaning (whether finger or pacifier) depends on the child's temperament too.
Am hoping not to use any pacifiers this time round!

Lok
just noticed the nail bite lotion u mentioned. My maid told me that she applied bittergourd juice to her breasts when she weaned her daughter off BF at 3 yrs.
I wanted to try to put the juice on Isabelle's pacifier (at a freaking 18 mths!) but before I cld do so, my mum applied tomato ketchup to the pacifier and she din dare to use it. She thot there were worms on it. So they threw it away together. After that whenever she asked we wld remind her that she threw it away herself. And that was that.