(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">Kym - Scarlett is so pretty
Especially like the last photo with the winnie the pooh pillow!! She looks so tiny in it.

Shazz - hmm...i think i better not take any china herbs for now...my tummy is still flabby lah, didn't pass much gas from the jamu wrapping somemore.

Meanwhile - Am going out for dinner in abit. Its my Bday today, and don't want to be eating confinement food at home...so going to walk out to a cafe nearby for some western stuff! Yummy!!

happy bday bigtoes! many happy returns...

shazz,
dont sim tia...as long as you are not hurt..am sure the car will look as good as before after repair..

happy birthday limay - am glad you are going out for a meal!

dmbb - my baby also pooed only once in 2 days but he pooed a lot. CL says it is fine, so does another friend of mine who has a 8 month old. So as long as there is poo at least once in 2 days and a good amount and colour is right.

Mandy - my boy (almost 4 weeks old) is like a bottomless pit. He can suck for more than 1 hour altogether on both breasts and still demands for more. My boobs feel so soft already plus nipples are sore so no choice, supplement with FM and he could take 60ml. I really wonder if I am producing enough milk!!!

Bacon&amp;egg - do u latch him on between ur pumps? If you do, then I think u are yielding very good supply leh!!! I pump once or twice a day and get about 80 - 100ml ALTOGETHER but I latch him on at least 6 times a day. But sometimes after drinking for what seems like forever, he is still asking for more. Sigh.

Ava - Summer is so sweet!!!!

Flos - U are v good leh. I still haven't gotten the hang of soothing Declan. CL is still the best leh.

sasa - how are u doing????

<font color="0077aa">Springz: Yah man! I also pray that I would have sufficent milk ss!! Praise GOD! I drank water cos sometimes the red date tea too hot to be consume! And also I sneak abit of cold drinks in the night when CL is sleeping! Keke..

Zane has heat rash on his face &amp; head, think its the daily sunning &amp; weather as well. Hope it will subsides soon!

Kym, bb scarlett looks lovely~!

Mrs Yap: Now my hubby's sms is always how is bb, is bb good? No mention of me either.. Haiz.. Kerke...

Ava: Summer looks different now!! Love your oriental blanket!

Bacon&amp;egg: You are doing really well!! Jia you!! I think I will feel lost when my CL leaves this week! Yah man, when we are up in the wee hours, we can know that there are other mummies doing the same thing!

I think Zane is a dirty baby just like mummy! Cos he doesn't cry when he poos! Just continue sleeping!

Thanks ladies on the sterilising issue! Think I will sterilising &amp; keep in the lock &amp; lock box.</font>

Hi Flos, I did not engage CL to cook for me...is done by my maid cos she knows how to cook...she oso cook for my for my first boy + MIL din come up so often...perhaps her leg pain else my hubby got 'warned' her not to come and bother my in case i develop depression...First boy developed slight depression mainly caused by her...hence no older ppl to nag or stop me from blowing the fan...

Day time my fan is on turning mode...night time, the fan is not turning. Day time if my MIL come, i will put on my sweater &amp; long pants...after she left i will change into my short and remove my sweater...cannot tahan...sweat like hell and so itchy...

Isabelle
Mas was OK during the massage but ddnt want to take risks after the session cos she had a giddy spell. I guess it's hard on her cos she has been slogging along with only 2 hrs sleep at night cooking for the "break fast" for the past two-three weeks. Doctor actually gave her 3 days MC but she insisted on starting work again as she got bored sitting at home. She should be OK tomorrow once she has rested today.

Shazz
When did this happen? I've been told u need to get back and drive after an accident to regain your confidence. Hope u can do that and glad u are OK.

Bigtoes
Happy b'day again!

Springz
No not using classic Pooh. Tho i love that...

shazz,
abt your cold sore, like crayonshin said, can apply your bm. it works miracles!

so sorry to hear abt the car accident you got into. but glad you're fine. hope your phobia goes away soon. i'm sure your lack of good judgement was only because you were tired out and all. don't be too hard on yourself.

bigtoes,
happy birthday!!!! so you're a virgoan too!! have a nice dinner!

of smelly armpits:
i've been meaning to ask this embarrassing qn for the longest time! why do the armpits seem to smell sooo bad??? i don't remember having such smelly armpits before!!! gross!!!

ava,
summer looks so much chubbier now!!! like storeberry, i like her blankie!

kym,
scarlett is sooo pretty! very photogenic baby.

i've just noticed today that cadence's eyelashes have grown out! and they curl upwards. yeah good! next time she won't need to use eyelash curler!!

Ava (avalyn): it happened last friday when I drove myself to see the gynae for follow-up checkup. yeah, hope my confidence will be back soon ... probably have to drive with hubby beside me, even though I totally hate it when he's beside me when I drive, gets on my nerves! haha

thanks alabone and storeberry! yeah, will try BM on the sores after I've pumped later!

Alabone/Storeberry
That floral thing is the Pupsik beansprout husk pillow I bought. I got the red chinoiserie cover and the blue one too, one for each of the gals. Just tried using it today as they are bigger now, previously the cushion would have covered too much of their bodies.

Poo-ing
Anyone else washes their babies' bums in water after they poo (after wiping with wetwipes)? My CL does that, altho we didnt with Adan (I still feel boys are easier to keep clean...)

ava,
great taste! it's so 'hua yang nian hua'.

errr, i think i'm super lazy leh. i just clean with wet wipes... super scared of cleaning cadence coz on several occasions, i kena her poo already...

shazz,
same!!!! if i drive, i'd hate to have my hb beside me too. in any case, i don't think he will ever ever let me drive his mistress...

Bigtoes
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! U lucky lady, gg out for a good meal!
Been thinking of gg out with hubby for sushi the whole week! Hope i manage to do that sometime this week, to fulfill my salmon sashimi craving!

Shazz
gosh, that was stressful! But Thank God YOU r ok!

ava
me. I clean with wet cotton pads after removing the poo bits with wet wipes. Somehow I feel that it's cleaner cos the cotton pads get a bit yellowish but i dun see anything on the wet wipes when i do the same thing only with wet wipes.

Springz
heehee. So r u playing with Wii Fit now? I've given up on the SLR and suing the normal camera for dummies like me. But the thing is, baby keeps sleeping so i have no chance to take pics!

isabelle,
same here. i use the normal digital camera to take pics of cadence but mostly, she's asleep. and there are only so many sleeping pics i'd like to take...

happy birthday bigtoes

ava- i use wet cotton and wet wipesto clean his poo. but sometime after clean change pampers, he pee but lucky for me i havent kana. heard my mum say once after cleaning his poo, then my mum bend down to get pampers, his poo fly onto my mum dress lolz.

Happy b-day bigtoes!! Hope you have a wonderful dinner!

Isabelle - haha no it is still in the box!

Mandy - sorry I'm not sure.. mummies with the Avent IQ warmer.. can help on whether the warmer can thaw frozen milk pl?

Ava - yup my CL uses cotton balls with cool boiled water mixed with some boiled water to clean baby's backside after wet wipes...

Shazz - most impt thing is that you are safe and unhurt!

Alabone, thanks for the tip. Will defrost my frozen EBM with warm water instead.

Goldfish, yah my boy hardly burps too. So I'm really afraid of putting him down (flat) after his feed in case he regurgitates. Hence I have resorted to holding him 'upright' in a sitting position for awhile before putting him down. Even when he DOES burp, I'm not quite sure whether it's a burp liao. Hahah

Regarding spots on neck and chin.. have seen the PD today and he said that it's most prob heat rash. It's the same as what some of you are facing here. Pimple like spots. He gave me a cream to apply on the rash.

Jaundice..
My boy took another jaundice test today cos PD said he still looked yellow. He's Day13 today. Initially we suspected breastmilk jaundice and should tt be the case, PD said I should stop breastfeeding for a day or two to let the jaundice level come down. Thank god his jaundice level didn't increase. But neither did it go down. So i'm continuing with breastmilk.

Oh yah, I find that my milk supply really kicked in after I started my postnatal massage. She helps massage my breasts and milk starts leaking straight away.

hi mandy,
if you want to get the avent iq warmer, it thaws in three different modes: milk from freezer, milk from fridge and milk from room temp. so yes, it warms up milk taken out from freezer.

kyrie,
you're welcome!

alabone,
oh gosh! I've been looking at Avent Express warmer that look like this

1735111.jpg

i thought there's only one kind of warmer.dunno whether this warmer has the 3 methods of thawing as what you mention... sigh

mandy,
that's not the iq warmer. i think only the iq warmer has the three different modes. not sure if this one can thaw from freezer. i think maybe can??

WoodlandsMummy: my CL said it has no effects on the breastmilk wor. She made my mum buy like 2 whole boxes and I just finished them. CL melts the pill with red date tea so it's not so hard to swallow. can try that.

thanks mummies for the encouragement. yupe, am thankful I'm not hurt ... and it's just a freak accident between the narrow carpark exit wall and my poor car!

isabelle: me too, I learnt from my CL that baby wipes doesn't take it all off and it can be a little too harsh on the little one's skin. I also do the final cleaning with cotton pad dipped in cool boiled water. It is still yellowish even though the bum looks clean already.

anyone here had taken the wretched Foreign Domestic Worker employer test on SP website before?? i got hung halfway studying the slides!!! urggghhh...

Goldfish: u r right. I just learnt from the online e-learning classes that it's illegal to loan your maid to another household to do chores.

happy bday bogtoes!

woodlands mommy: i only bought one box to try, cos they said if i'm always thirsty, it must be the case wind has gotten into my body...weird logic.

shazz: r u ok? u left your house during your confinement to do what?

springz: yes, i think for iq warmer (not the pic above) there is a SNOWFLAKE icon which is for defrosting EBM. But so far i hvn't used that mode yet cos I dun hv that much milk to freeze yet.

Lanolin: I'm still learning and understudying my maid. Dun count on anyone. It's impt that your bb is attached to you so that if your maid or CL bails out, you can still tame your bb on your own.

I am no expert yet!! Only attended the FREE classes on my Day Two at TMC. Didn't u attend the bathing and BF-ing classes at Level 4?

Ava: the nurses had told us to use wet cotton balls, rather than those wet wipes to clean poo. You can squeeze the warm water to 'flush' down the faeces. Wipes on the other hand can cause abrasion. She said the best wipes is Johnson&amp;Johnsons, which feels almost very soft.

Bacon&amp;eggs: I'm glad u r enjoying your family life without your CL!! heheh! I still need my CL cos I want to eat well...No compromise on makan for me cos I"m a foodie. My DH is not exactly a newage kinda dad. He has no paitence...I really need a maid.

Springz: Funny leh...I hv been having little lochia discharge even after my massage session...

Angeline: I'm glad your PD says it's normal to get those heat rashes. I was worried sick when I saw the bumps on his neck this morning.

Springz/Kym/Ava: your princesses are really sweet!!!

LINEA NIGRA: when is the line going to disappear? My armpits are still black black!
SOB...

Flos: I left the house on fri to see gynae. Rem I told you I also seeing gynae that day and got my mum to come and "jaga" my CL &amp; baby? Hubby was stuck in a church retreat, so I had to drive myself to the hospital.

isabelle

hmm, tink i wun let her zz in aircon room so fast..will wait till baby is afew months old.coz my aircon is very cold..no matter how i adjust the temp, in the middle of the night it gets v cold.my fever gone after taking the antibiotics but my supply drop alot man...imagine 3hrly can only pump ard 100ml from both sides.

Sorry to disturb..
hi mummies.. i from feb mtb 08. got 1 bottle of fenugreek bought in may from lucky vitamins.(mother love). to let go cause stopped BF already. Bought at $27, willing to let go at $20.. will throw in abt 1/3 opened bottle pm me if interested. expiry date 01/11

alabone &amp; Flos,
my armpits still black black and smelly...no matter how i scrub or wash..i wonder how long it will take for them to lighten? Experienced moms?

Breast Milk,
lanolin, I dont latch on often, maybe just once a day..so is the supply still considered ok?

Original Destitin cream
I find it hard to wipe off using bb wipes..it leaves tints of it on the bb's bottom..any mommy experiencing it too? Must we use cotton wool with water to wipe off?

I give up on my breast milk supply le.
The malay massage lady says there is no engorgement, no block ducts... I JUST SIMPLY belongs to those with low milk supply..
SO.. the Medela PIS advance shoulder pack my Hubby bought from US is not useful for me.
Infact I have been using hand expression only and not even manual pump is useful for me!!

I bought the Spore power supply for $85 yday so tat there is no need to use an adapter. Gonna sell away my brand new PIS for $450 at a loss. Anyone interested can PM me

1736047.jpg

1736048.jpg

Hi Shazz, is it take 1 box per day? My hubby bought 1 whole box with 10 small boxes inside...do we need to take so many boxes?

I also clean the baby bum with wet tissues folow by cleaning with cotton pad dipped with water. This way we can ensure not a trace of 'shit' is left behind else their bum will get red easily and is painful for the bb...

Massage:
Check with mummies who already started their massage. Do you mummies bath the day before massage? I will be starting my massage tomolo...wondering if i shld bath today...scare so long no bath, then tomolo the massage aunty will massage out lots of 'ji gong xian dan'!!! then will be veri paisey 1 lei...

hi dmbb,
my boy didn't pooped for 24hrs the day before too. During his follow up with PD, he gave a pill to be inserted into baby's bottom should he still not poo within the day. Anyway, thank god he did yesterday and alot too. He's on solely BM.

Have u mummies applied yu yi oil on ur baby yet? is it solely meant for application when bb has wind in tummy?

woodlandsMummy: I have no idea how many pills are inside the 10 small boxes within the big box. But my CL gives me a bowl to take in the morning and after dinner.

**red spots &amp; pimple on bb forehead**

those mummies who hv sent ur child to see doc ytd, so wat did doc said? any medications given?

armpits n linea nigra
mine r still dark too on day 25...i didnt hv dark armpits with FB...so dunno when they'll fade either....sigh

flos
somehow still prefer pigeon wipes...i shall just use a basin of water like my cl does after she leaves for final poo rinse i guess,...cos i dun like using cotton balls either

hey ladies, just checking.
when is baby's full month / confinement end?
is it 28 days or one month. planning to bring bb to see new paedae this week
i cant wait!

Hi Sri,
yes PD gave me this cream to apply on the neck area. It's called Hydroderm. Once to two times a day.

Koras,
thanks. cos yesterday was asking PD about it but he says only alittle. Think my PD is quite 'westernized' and doesn't seem to trust anything that's to do with confinement etc. Even said that yu yi oil is made in china and we really don't know what's 'hidden' that goes into the content. Shall apply it for him tomm cos he had his bath today already.

Woodlandsmummy,
Actually I have been bathing everyday, including washing my hair since I came back from the hospital. I'm supposed to bathe before the massage but for the last few sessions, I have been naughty and bathing only AFTER the massage. Can't stand the oil smell and worried that baby would be 'turned off' by it too. So i bathe immediately after that. My massage lady says she uses oil for rheumatism so can wash off straight after the massage. So I simply assume I can bathe too lor. Hee. I remove the binder and all too.

WoodlandsMummy: same, mine also melts one small box of Su He Wan pill into a bowl and let me take in the morning to pass wind. I also take Brands in the morning.

Yes, bathe/wipe with warm towel prior to your massage session always, be it jamu or Chinese tuina. Your pores will be opened after the massage.

CL using your phone: My CL is one kind of woman. Keep borrowing my phone to call her relatives in Toa Payoh, JB, Yishun, etc. My hb already topped up her SIM card and lo and behold, she didn't bring her charger to SG! wasted $35 to top up for this woman!

And I wonder if any of your CL requests to sit at the table to eat with you? Mine wants to sit with me to eat cos she is concerned that we chichat and linger too long until she is famished! Really uncomfy eating with a nanny. Somemore she picks at my food too!

My mom bought me expensive apples and cod fish, she claimed the cod fish that was bought last week has turned yellowish and therefore askd for persmission to cook it for herself. Her reason being I must eat FRESH fish, not those not fresh ones. Bunch of exploiters...My folks told me to 'ren' cos my DH is not in town.

I dun take it after dinner cos I need to consume black chicken (or other tonic) soup at 10pm for supper.

Mrs Yap: how long hv u persisted? Did u take enough fluids?

kyrie: Hey, it's not v normal for bb not to poop if u BF solely. BF is already more watery than FM, which is more heaty (I heard). So perhaps it's your confinement diet that is too heaty, too much alcohol?

bacon&amp;eggs: OK, I'll buy a body scrub to get rid of the blackness.

My CL commented that Desitin CREAMY is hard to wipe off too. Anyway, I'm only using Desitin after his morning and evening baths. She uses Drapolene after other nappy changing times.

shazz: glad to hear that you are ok after that minor accident!!!

OK, I need to go online and take that stupid Maid test again.

Mrs Yap - Am interested. Sent u PM already.

Bacon&amp;eggs - I think that's fine. So as long as ur baby is gaining weight yah?

Flos - I've told myself to be more handson from month 2 onwards (ie next wee) and need to learn to do everything! :D

My hubby did the wretched test. IT also hung on him once I think! Where are you getting ur maid from? Do you know an agency?

Ava - I also use cottonballs and water to wipe. Pigeon wipes r for at night or when we are out...

To all - What are your thoughts re pacifiers??? I actually think the long feeding times (1.5 hours) are due partly to Declan pacifying on my breasts...

<font color="0077aa">Mandy: Think can thaw frozen milk but if you want to thaw frozen BM faster, usually what other mummies do is to bring the FBM down to the chilled compartment one day before to thaw, then heat up using the warmer when needed. The Avent IQ is definitely more ex but the Avent express warmer works fine for me.

I haven't bought the hosp &amp; surgical plan yet cos bb haven't one mth old.

woodlandsMummy: Think take one small box a day? I always forget to take!

linea nigra: Mine still dark &amp; seem to have extended!</font>

Flos - is this the second confinement nanny that u got? Mine eats AFTER I have had dinner and is quite thrifty and doesn't eat much. She eats at the dining table but only after we're done. Hmm... I think u should ren for at least one more week? The cod fish thingy is very suspicious though.

Can u deduct the SGD 35 from her final pay since all the phone credit does go to her and we are not obliged to provide telephone facilities for them what...?

Mandy - I'm meeting my agent tomorrow night ... will let u know what products I'm looking at.

Preggie - I think the ang mo way of counting is 1 month la but the chinese traditional way is 28 days. I'm having his man yue smack on his ang mo 1 month birthday so a bit late according to the chinese....

To all - how much is ur baby drinking? Is 90ml at 1 month considered ok or little or too much? It's so hard to gauge!