(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - wow, luckily u discovered that ur CL was overfeeding. I think mine might be as well - like last nite, she fed Kieran 130ml of EBM....and then still says he is hungry!

crayonshinchan - think most CL are the same, as long as baby cries = must be hungry! My CL also always says "ker lian ker lian" him, even if its like just an hour after his last feed, like I am depriving my baby of milk!

Kym Teo (pebblez) - yes, the breast friend is useful, isn’t it? Leaves your hand free and baby doesn’t get all hot and sticky from being carried to BF.

alabone (alabone) - nope. No cream for the wound yet, cos its still plastered up. Maybe next Tues when she changes my plaster one last time?

yan (bbfam) - u better make an appnt with your gyne to check your wound cos discharge is not normal. Mine has healed already, just a dark line now.

Qiuling (chewy_ring)- congrats on your baby
!!

green_baby (green_baby) - me - am doing my massage tomorrow morning (2 weeks after C-sec)

Flos (flos) - hah, yah, I know what you mean. I am quite a neat freak, so the CL irritates me sometimes, though I try to just let things be since its only one month. Like our kitchen didn’t use to have lizards the last 2+ years we lived here, and now we have one! Or she lets the blood from meat drip out of their packaging in the freezer and some of my ice ended up bloodied! Or she absentmindedly leaves the lights on or the tap running after her washing and we have to check up after her... I think my utilities bill will shoot thru the roof this month!

So yah, in a way, I cant wait for my CL to leave - she also tends to carry baby whenever he cries and I think he is getting quite clingy to him - not sure if that is possible at 2 weeks of age? When she leaves, I would have to suffer a couple of days during the transition period!

Next time round, hubby and I think we will do without a CL and just cater food.</font>

Flos (flos) - on the tongue ligament thing, i think she means that the portion joining the underside of the tongue. My hubby's cousin had that and his parents brought him to snip a portion of it when he was a couple of years old cos he had trouble pronouncing his words.

But how can your CL just look and anyhow make such a conclusion and scare you!! ..even if its a problem, it wouldn't be obvious only baby starts talking and that is for the PD to determine!

Hi mummies, the blood seeping out is lesser by alot already so din call the gynae. will do tml if its not stopping.

koras, i press lightly on my tummy somewhere above the c-sect cut and also feel some numbness but not really hard enough to feel pain.

Qiuling, hope everything's well for you! Take care!

Flos, i also have rashes in the insides of my thighs and its ITCHY!!! same as you, i also unpacked my stuff on the first day of discharge and tidy up the house, which cause some pain at c-sect wound, swollen legs and a shouting/scolding from hubby. lol! btw, my mum told me that black fungus is v good for confinement!

Today's a really bad day for me. already planned for hubby to bring baby, me and my mum out shopping for awhile in orchard but till now visitors are still coming over to my house one by one!!! wonder what time then we can get to go out of the house! i'm really craving to get out of the house terribly! urgh!!!!! super pek chek now!

Qiuling
Congrats and hope the hematoma issue is quickly resolved...

CL
I totally empathise about the needing help but not enjoying having someone else look after baby etc. My CL isn't bd actually, her cooking is good and she has my best interest at heart I think. but I somehow keep telling myself she is partly responsible for my inability to nurse more...yet partly I am also too tired etc to nurse totally (or to a greater extent)...

I also feel less bonded to the girls...my hb says perhaps it is because we have not gone thru trial by fire yet like with Adan where we had to do everything ourselves. Now, I even have time to go online, when I would not have, in Adan's time, except at 3am when I was pumping! I hope I start bonding more and start feeling less upset with myself and looking for people to blame for my state: hosp not bringing babies to me more often, me giving in to giving formula etc....don't want to get depressed!

Isabelle
Forgot to ans your qn on the oil. I use the lemongrass oil for the massage.

NOTE: the story i posted earlier about the baby being overfed is NOT about my CL but another mummy's experience from the Aug thread!

About my CL, she's great with my boy, cleans my house well and cooks very well. Only problem with her is her mouth lah! Flos, like your CL, she likes to make small talks and asks about my private life too. But I'm wary about telling her too much, cos she got a bad habit of blabbling about her ex-clients! What has it got to me if XXX from XXX got abundant milk supply and her breasts are as huge as papayas! She watched me pump when I was watching tv in the living room, so now when I'm doing that, I'll use my nursing cover, hope she gets the message loud and clear! There were times when I know she's bored, got nothing to do, wanna make small talk, I had to tell her, I had to settle some work stuff, talk to her later. And she just watched me work, typing away.

Other than that, my CL is great. Hope my boy don't get too attached to her.

Flos: I'm also like you! My CL only came on 2nd day after I got discharged. I did everything on my own, with hubby's help to sterilize the bottles etc. Even now, I refused to let the CL make my breakfast, I prefer to toast my own bread the way I like it, the exact amount of water for my cup of Milo, etc. Plus that way, I'll have control over my choice of breakfast. ;) I also keep washing my hands with cold tap water and sometimes rinsing my pump etc before leaving for her to wash and sterilize. Sometimes she will nag, but once I flared up at her to stop nagging, I know what she gonna say liao, and then she stopped nagging! phew! but I felt kinda bad after that.

Hi wingkei,
I think I got the postnatal blues too with the same reasons.I can cry nonstop for half an hour leh.
My mum is here to do confinement for me.. and she is doing great.. she take care of my boy all the times even at night times.. so that I can rest more..I am really appreciate it.
and my stupid arrogant hubby keeps complaining to me that my mum misplace baby bottle, didn wash plates,etc
I feel bad to mum .. really "xiang jian rong yi xiang chu nan".

until two days ago ,Iam really angry and shout back to him(almost slap him)..and didn talk to him for 2 days already. he keeps apologize but I just ignore..I can say that Iam not a good person to be bullied.
I also forbid him to carry my boy... this is his punishment.

flos
congrats! what a drama birth story

alabone/sunrays
the description of the feeding and pooping and waking thing is exactly what Jonathan has been doing for the last 2 weeks then 2 days ago, he decided to "cooperate" and sleep for 3 hours after each feed and i became engorged!! ended up fever and had to get antibiotics from my gynae yesterday... and my boobs are like so full they hurt, terok man. am using the cabbage leaves now and just saw my reflection in the mirror, i look really wierd!) not becos of the cabbage but because the boobs are way too big for my body, i look like can topple over any minute haha

yan (bbfam) - u shouldnt wait. shld called up your gynae to complain about it.

now i even go toilet when want to do business i dun even dare force it out.

aircon,
mommies, thanks for the reassurance..least i dont feel so guilty sleeping in aircon room now
My massage lady also told me that its ok to sleep in aircon room

BF,
my massage lady told me to shower after i remove the binder after each session, she says it will increase milk flow. I did and could pump out 110ml in 30mins! I also managed to poo more..tummy already shrunk to 3-4 mths pregger size...i feel my arms are getting leaner..definitely losing weight but not sure how much cos i dont have a scale at home..

CL,
Shazz, my CL also likes to make small talks..1st two days, i was ok, after a while, i find it quite irritating...been keeping a distance from her now...

Not sure abt you mommies, i feel that my CL always want my boy to herself..or is it just my post natal blues acting...i find that quite irritating...sometimes i just want to spend time alone with my boy, she would come into the room..always want to carry him..even though he is sleeping soundly! ggrr...

mommies: I've just been mummified by my jamu masseuse...am finding it hard to type on my sofa. wondering how to BF and pee and disinfect my wound later...sigh...

My sceptical CL told me many of her clients got their tummies flattened at day 7 of the session but a week later, the bulge came back, so she told me not to be too optimistic about the traditional treatment. She advised that I get a corset of sorts instead to wear later.

Bigtoes: Mine, on the other hand, is a neat freak!!! She helps me tidy up my messy flat and places every single item neatly back to their cabinets. I even got her to unpack all my hampers and pressies received at the hospital and at home. She is not forgetful and is not unhygienic either. Just that this morning, I flared up at her for using my Royal Copenhagen saucers to marinate the fish! I demanded that her use the Ikea ones instead before she starts abusing my Hermes saucers! *FAINT*

Shazz: I also made my own sandwich and hot chocholate this morning as she watched on...You have no idea how "violated" I felt when she simply carried the baby into my masterbedroom this morning at 6am (an hour after my son was bottlefed) and passed him into my arms, WITH MY HUBBY SLEEPING NEXT TO ME IN HIS BOXER SHORTS STILL!

And worse still, she sat on the edge of our matrimonial bed and watched me BF! I wanted to kick her off my masterbed but didn't know how to turn her away as bb was really having a diff time latching onto my right breast!

Initially, I was rather shy to bear my buxom in front of a stranger, but after a couple of times of "stripping" and "unstripping" each time bb needs my boobies, I got immnue and told myself, "HECK, I ain't gonna see u again...at least she could guide me and help me adjust bb's mouth to make it parallel to my boobs..."

Big toes: Actually, my PD didn't even tell me anything about the tongue ligament thingie. My younger bro got his cut when he was maybe 2 yrs old? HE wasn't wailing as loud and tongue seemed to be restraining his speech, so my mom took him to see a PD and got it snipped. It's a quick and cheap surgercal process, she comforted me over the phone this afternoon.

If it needs to be snipped in order for him to articulate his vowels and consonants better, why not? I do find his cries a little "Well-mannered", like "kitty-purrs", somewhat restrained. I hope it's not again a figment of my imagination...

Ah, I hear his kitty and shy cries again. Must be time for feedding again...I am so stiff and stinks of the herbs! I hope he doesn't reject me...wish me luck!

storeberry
My boy's the same as yours, demanding milk nearly every 1.5 hours.. my poor breasts! Lol...

Flos
I'm also the same as you.. cannot keep still... I'm still magic-cleaning my floor, washing stuff &amp; tidying up the room.. hehe.

Regarding the ginger thing causing jaundice.. when I sent my son for follow up for jaundice, the doctor told me to lay off ginger too, so I guess it could be true.

Bigtoes
I love the BrestFriend too, really really useful, leaves my hands free so I can read my book while feeding him.

Aircon
I hide in my aircon room 24/7 too, except to leave the room for my meals &amp; during my massage.

Here's a picture of my char kway teow that I had for breakfast this morning.

1713658.jpg

flos,

yes yes, i hv given birth. 1 day after u cos the labour wards were overflowing on 10 Sep. Gynae says no point to wait needlessly, so postpone 1 day later. Check out the updated table.

CL:
I actually quite like my CL. She's very modern and seek my consensus before proceeding. Will not impose her views on me.

Jonas is very easy to handle for now (just feed and he sleeps). My bigger "headache" is Joshua who is very clingy and wants me all the time. Can't even go toilet in peace. *faintz* Experienced mummies, any tips?

Flos (flos): even my massage lady tells me that the inches lost is not permanent if I don't maintain it well. She got me to buy a binder from OSIM to wear for maintainence after I stop my 10 sessions. At least she's honest with me so that I have realistic expectations.

Gosh, your CL really not "automatic"! Dare to go into your room just like dat and sit down on your bed without invitation! Mine won't dare step into my bedroom unless I ask her to take something or throw the rubbish. ;) Guess we have to give and take and close one eye, cos we still need their expertise.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): I know what you mean! Initially, I felt that my son is not close to me at all cos I dun latch him on as often and he sleeps with the CL and she attends to all his needs. And she don't let me carry him too, cos she wants me to rest rest rest and not to carry heavy things .... yes my boy is heavy lor. Complaint to hubby and even he said yes, I shouldn't carry him but take this opportunity to rest now. He spoke to the CL and discovered that I should rest for 2-3 weeks and towards 3rd and 4th week, I should be more hands-on and let baby get used to my handling. So take heart, just rest as much as we can now while the CL is here!

Anyone who's completed their massage routines and can recommend anyone good? I had a c section 2 weeks back and i am moving into week 3 from tomorrow :p

sorry for always barging in to ask qns..
is it possible to get colic from latching on? i thought it is less likely to get bloated compared to bottle feeding...

ever since i started breastfeeding my girl, she hasn't been pooing regularly and her stomach looks bloated.. so my mum put the ru yi oil for her to get rid of the wind... quite worried and wondering if i should jus switch to total formula.. any advice?

thanks in advance

Flos, Crayon, Xuanting: Nope! I haven't popped yet!!! Booohoooo hooo! Hope it is trow!

Xuanting: Yes, i know what you mean. Kinda feeling very envious of all the mummies who are talking abt BFing etc already. How come ur doc wants to induce you by wk 39? I'll be wk 40 on Wed.

Qiuling: I hope your next check-up will give you the all clear!

Rustic Nirvana: I called them to check about the qualifications of their masseurs. Was shocked to find out that they only seem to have their own in-house accreditation, but not professional training accreditated by external professional body. For me, the price you pay , you should be entitled to professionally trained and accredited staff. There is a thread somewhere on this forum about them. I think we're better off looking for other sources. Jaymickey says hers is rather good. I found one who is doing for my friend now and she is cheap! $280 for 7 days, 1 hour per day. Includes binding.

Jaymickey: How is Manja?

Hiyall

Today i went out to run some errands and took a train. And gas wat? A chap mistook me as preggie and volunteered his seat for me??!!! OH GOSH!!! I was so flabbergasted leh!!! But i declined his offer loh. N i feel so sad that i look preggy loh. ARGH!!!! I am waiting for my tues gynea visit to give me the CLEAR OFF to exercise manz!!!

Oh, btw, i have discovered a way to 'express' more milk from pumping leh! I tried to SQUEEZE my breast while pumping and more milk came out wor! So u gals can try this 'SQUEEZING' method!

shazz,
what your hubby told you is exactly what my hubby said to me..but still i complain abt the CL to him just to let out..

Told the CL to use more anti rash cream..she would always rub the cream on her hands before applying...i wonder how much cream is left for the bb's backside when she does that!! ggrr...

Also told her to wash her hands after cleaning bb's backside with wipes before applying cream and ruyi oil..she replies..nvm..its ok lah...double ggrr...

She also likes to discipline my dog..my furkid would bark and growl at her whenever she steps into bb's room or carry bb...i think my furkid is protective of bb and see CL as a intruder...i am secretly happy abt it..hee! Told my mom aloud in front of the CL that I dont like others to discipline my dog except my hubby and myself...hope she gets the hint.

Meanwhile, she is still doing quite a good job, thinking how much ang pao to give her when she goes off..actually come to think of it, quite poor thing to go into a foreign place, having to stay with the family for 1 month and to put up with whatever rules, regulations that family has esp a hormonal raging new mom!

<font color="0077aa">Flos: Not my CL, its the CL Shazz was talking about... I also don't know about my milk ss, guess I had strong intention to total BF in the begining &amp; I had the nurse bring Zane every 3-4hours to latch on. Now I am frezzing my excess &amp; also some fresh BM in the chilled compartment for night feeds but I will wake up &amp; pump as well.

Limay, Meie &amp; Kyn: You all have made me so "gian" for my brest fren pillow! My bb also perspire after one feed, expecially the hot weather now!</font>

I AM VERY VERY ANGRY NOW! I feel like chasing my CL out of the house this very moment. She has been a pest since yesterday and i have already tried my best to keep quiet before i flare back at her.

Yesterday, my DH told her that i dun want to eat rice so had Mee Suan instead. When she brought me the food, she nags at the same time saying that i tried to lose weight! I didn't even mentioned a single word on that and she goes on and on until i dun even want to look at her. Almost wanted to throw the utensils and walked away from the food.

Then just now at 7ish, weather was windy, she brought Janelle out of the house, my MIL told her off, she not happy, and came to complaint to me. Then my MIL told me, she tried to chase my 1 year old niece and maid away when she was doing her things.. Janelle had her milk at 7.30pm and till 9pm, she havent sleep yet, so i carried her to my room and when i was abt to put her to sleep, this stupid CL walked into my room and started talking again.. woke Janelle up.. i kept quiet.. so i told her, later when she sleeps liao, then i bring her back. Then when i made her sleep again after latching her on. This stupid woman walked into my room and start nagging at me saying if she is hungry, give her milk blah blah blah.. i already avoid talking to her, looking at her she still never ends.. then in the end, just carried my baby away!!!

Sarahmay, Manja is good in my context.. She manages to increase my milk supply and "suck" out the wind in my womb.. (like some magic power but she keep assuring me is not black magic)

haiz..
think by the time i deliver most of you would be celebrating bb's first month liaoz.

why do i always get month end bbs???????

Bigtoes, ya lor! Everytime my CL will go "aiyo ji ke lian lor, bu gou neh neh" .. I will roll eyes at my hb! haa...

but other than that, I find her quite good and not intrusive. When she sees me breastfeeding in the living room, she'll siam into her room and wait for me to finish then she'll come out. And the best thing is, with regards to feeding/ things to do with baby, she doesnt make her own decisions. She'll ask me first. And this is wat i like. But both hb and I can get a little jealous when she can soothe him but not us! bah!

Jaymickey, is this CL the new one? Why like so ba dao one?

Sarahmay I tot dr sim wanted to induce u as well??

Alabone!!! No wonder lar! After I had dang gui thingy, i had an increase in lochia!

btw, any of ur CLs has cooked this martell chicken thingy? Can we take that and breastfeed? The alcohol is supposed to evaporate or something rite?

FLos, ur CL really did that? She entered ur room without knocking and all and even sat there watching? Wah piangs! Haven they been told off before by previous mummies they'd worked for?

Qiuling, congrats and do rest well..

L'l CY: Don't be sad cos for sure I won't be celebrating Elisha's man yue when you pop! hehe.

Alabone: Yes, we went to pick the photos the very next day he was back. Was sure glad to have him pick cos he did it so quickly. Ended up picking 20 shots. Doing extra album. Hehe. Will show u if get a chance to meet cos I'm sure not posting those pics online. Some a bit R-rated. hehe. Don't worry. You still can do photos after u regain your figure!

Jaymickey: She sounds very good. HOw long are her sessions? That timeyou said 1.5hours. What about the subsequent sessions?

INDUCTION: If no sign of baby coming before EDD on 17, will depend on how the CTG is on Wed. Then doc will see if she will rec induction. I hope NOT to have induction. I dunno if I can tell if I'm having contractions. Is it possible to have contractions and NOT feel them?

Shazz: How did you know it was time to go to hospital since you didn't feel the contractions?

Flos: Sounds like you are really loving motherhood. That is great! So Isaac will be his name? Great choice!

Crayonshin: NO la...she only offered it as alternative cos she knew tt hubby wld be only in town for 2 wks. But on Fri, i said we wld wait and see. If by EDD on 17th, no sign, I may choose to induce. But i really dun want. Hehe. Tho she kept saying on fri tt bb is BIG for me and that I'm small. Sigh. The martell chicken is very yummy! After cooking, got no alcohol. Just the taste!

Jaymicky: Dun be angry okay? Not healthy for u and baby. Can get your MIL or someone to talk to her?

bacon&amp;egg - i hv jealousy blues as well.. i feel my MIL oways wana carry my bb even when im bonding wif her.. this morn i wana learn frm CL how to feed bb frm bottle, my MIL quick to say she wana feed.. haiz.. my blues set in again but i juz kept quiet n sat beside MIL while she feeds bb..

talking abt exposing boobs.. my MIL, CL, mum all see me in full glory for the past wk liao! oso duno how to tell MIL tat i mind.. anw........

kym - my malay massage lady, Asih 83224863, is coming by at 2pm to do my 1st massage for me.. will update if shes good anot ya..

I'm back from my PD's clinic. All's well, just kenna 'conned' to do the Metabolism prick test that cost me $120+. Also got the Ridwind to drip into bb's FM and the cord powder (wonder why they dun just give it to us upon discharge leh?).

My son has no jaundice, thank God! Also, the tongue ligament thingy that my CL scared me about is really no cause for concern...My PD said the tongue tip will continue to grow longer and if the ligament is still found to be restraining its extension, he will snip it lah...

Yeah! My son has put on 1 kilo after 5 days
And I've lost 7 kgs in 5 days too!!!

I'll continue with my mummification this week cos I notice it does expel my lochia out in buckets! My tummy also appears to be smaller this morning, even though I only wore it for 9 hours (from 3pm-12mn)...The herbs she applied on my tummy caused me to "de-wind"/fart uncontrollably ytd!!! LOL

SarahMay: why aren't u doing your manyue? Yes, Isaac is the name
Same as your bro, and same as son of Abraham!! ahaha

MEDELA PUMP: WOOOO! I finally used my Mini Electric Plus today!!! Got 60ml from both boobs only, but of course prior to that, I'd already been leaking buckets onto my breast pads (at the clinic) and Avent collecion shells (at home). Maybe I can safely estimate I got 80ml today?

Hey, papaya fish soup and red date/longan drinks really help! My PD told me to drink papaya fish soup 3X a day prior to my regular meals. He is also okayed my decision to mix FM and BM since I told him I bled last nite and my bb regurgitated my blood onto his vest and bed last nite!!

I've been drinking nothing but red dates/longan drinks throughout the day and milo for breakfast and supper only. I only take water with my painkillers.

crayon: I was told not to take the martell chicken thingy yet. My CL will cook it for me after day 10 thereabouts...Oi, dang gui is a no-no I thought at te early stage???!!! U will bleed like mad!!!! Take black fungus to flush out the lochia I was took.

Yep, she likes to walk freely into my masterbedroom and bathroom. MY DH told me not to be so petty. Sigh....I've since passed all my valuables to my mom on Sun for her safeguarding.

flos- mine after gst cost $203 .
last night when my boy was on FM,i try to pump, after an hr manage to get 80ml from both side
mine Mum boil chicken with dom asking me to drink. taste horrible, still keep nagging say people drink dom very fast but mine so slow. don't want to drink to keep the womb warm

Flos
tts exactly how my hb felt abt tt metabolic test thingy! n we hd to pay x2 plus the sunbeds so our first pd bill was $1200!!!!

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - i just had my 1st malay jamu massage session! Have to wear the binder till tonight, or overnite till I shower tomorrow, if possible. Feels like I am wearing a corset!! I hope its worth it!

Anyway, am suppose to have about 5 sessions on a daily basis, and then the lady said it should be enough to make a difference already

Bigtoes: You're the one I was hoping to catch online.
Wanna ask if your epi c-section experience was scary or not? I did a GA previously and will most prob go for a epi one this time round. Is it frightening to hear the clanging sound? Can you smell the bood?
You actually recover in amazingly quick time! I remember I could still feel pain when I did my massage last time after 2 weeks.

Bigtoes
You're lucky then! 5 sessions was enuf for me last time with natural but not with my jelly belly, "twinskin" AND my PUPPP scars which make things even worse! I really look like I have chao tar roast skin!

mickey
I had epi c sect too. Not that frightening lah. as long as u know what to expect. the OT looks a little intimidating, but once the screen goes up, and the epi is in full effect u dont feel anything but some tugging...even then I didnt feel too much cos I knew to expect it and concentrated on looking at my hb instead.
It helped... I didnt smell any blood either.

dseptkon
Looked at your FB page...looks like we have quite a few common friends from very different places...small world

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - yes, on your comments on bonding with the baby (babies in your case) and the CL getting in the way, I totally agree. Mine is quite "possessive" of the baby and runs to him everytime he cries…I think she is spoiling him by picking him up rather then let him self sooth, but what the heck, its only 1 month. She doesn’t even let my hubby bottle feed him EBM and rather do it herself! So yah, the next time, we are thinking of doing without a CL.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - looks like ur CL is also the same, always wanting to hog the baby!

shazz (shazzerlyn)- haha, ur CL is so chatty!! Argh…

Seems like a lot of us are having some issues with our CL - thank goodness its just for 1 month.

yun (cutieyunyun)- u are really lucky to have such a wonderful mom to help with the confinement. Meanwhile, take it easy on ur hubby okie!

dseptkon (dseptkon)- yah, have to be careful about avoiding engorgement. If I miss one feed, like when Kieran sleeps through for too long during the night, or if the CL gives him EBM, I would take express the milk to make sure that the engorgement doesn’t get too bad. Meanwhile, take it easy on the cabbage leaves also, as these can stop the milk flow permanently if used too much.

Flos (flos) - close ur bedroom door when you sleep! We have a baby monitor, so we close the room door during the night and whenever I BF. Our CL knows to knock and wait for us to open the door when baby needs to be fed at night.

On the tongue ligament thing, its not something u should be worrying about until the time comes when he starts talking and you find that it is an issue. Meanwhile, I am sure mommies here wont mind if their babies' cries are "Well-mannered", like "kitty-purrs". Kieran cries like that sometimes - like a little puppy yelping
- but when he gets impatient - like when he needs to be fed, then its no-holds barred, and his whole face turns bright red!

Pumping - mommies who express BM - how long do you pump for? I usually stop after about 5-10 minutes (can get about 80-130ml), cos I find that the flow slows down and I don’t have the patience to continue holding on to the bottles. Not sure what the recommended pumping time per session is?

HOW MUCH TO FEED?
Btw, on the question of how much is enough --- the book by Wong BB states that for babies 2-4 weeks, each feed should be 90-120ml, on the basis of 5-6 feeds a day. That is a total of 450-720ml a day.

mickey (bbmouse) - when are u due? On epi-C, like Ava mentioned, nope - no smell of blood, but then again the OT was so cold, my nose was partially blocked!
Not sure how much I bled, but baby was relatively clean when he emerged.
I had GA previously for my fibroid removal, and comparing the both - going on GA is obviously more pleasant - just an injection into your hand and you don’t remember anything else.

For my LA, there was not much clanging sound, but it felt a lot longer than it really was (and I was clock watching) cos the gyne spends another 30min or so cleaning up after baby emerges and the exciting bits are over. Some people also suffer from a bad case of shivers (side effect of the epi) and post-surgery rashes. On recovery, don’t think there is any difference between the LA and GA.</font>

SarahMay (sarahmay): Did you get to read my birth story? I didn't know when to go to hospital. I went for my usual 39th week checkup that day and decided on the induction on the spot and then everything just happened so fast for me. Yah, I didn't feel any contractions even though the CTG scan did pick up the contractions within 5 and 10 mins apart. See what your gynae says when you go for your 40th week checkup on Wed. She may recommend induction too, just bring along your hospital bag.

Chicken and DOM/Martel: didn't taste that bad to me ... cos all the alcohol is gone after the stewing! hehe ... to be safe, breastfeed or pump out milk before eating or 3 hours after eating.

Bigtoes
next time u'll hv a toddler to deal with as well so a cl might be useful despite the annoyances!
we're glad for the extra help...n as u say, it's a month, so willing to overlook little issues lah

Wah your pumping so effective. i get 50-60ml both combined after 15 mins n continue "dry pumping" for another 10 mins to stimulate more pdtn...

Ohhh another thing...anyone's CL wont let them use the bean spout pillows? My pillows are collecting dust cos she says they're too big and heavy for the babies!

Have not been logging on for verry loooong time due to busy work schedule... Just gave birth on 4 sep &amp; am here to update on my birth stats :

Name of Baby: Travis Elgin Tan
DOB: 4 Sep 08 (0033 hours)
Weight: 4.19 kg
Length: 52 cm
Head circumference: 36 cm
Type of birth: Normal with epidural
Delivered by: DR SF Loh at KKH

congrats hippie! another heavy weight champion! your baby is even heavier than mine!
but their length and head circumference is the same. how long was your labour?

Ava
You mean the pupsik one? Devon's been using it since he was back from hospital &amp; my CL says it's good as it's long enough. Anyway, when we use it, we don't place the pillow directly on baby's chest.. the middle portion is left sparse &amp; the husks pushed to both ends.

wow.. hippie... reali a champion bb... 4.19kg and is natural birth! congrates

Also congrates to all mummies who had pop...

Thurs will b my turn... my gynae ask mi to go for induce.... btw... izzit induce thurs... bb will cum out on the day (thurs)? I was ask to admit to Mt. A on thursday 12am...

hi shazz,

my actual pushing time is very short, only 40 mins. But the time for the induce drug to take effect is quite long... I chose to induce cos its already due.

And further, this is my 2nd child, so tink it is much easier..

congrats Dolly on ur newborn, she looked sweet!

Hi Jo
Didn't expect my bb to be so heavy. LAst scan &amp; check up 2 weeks before my pop, he only weigh 3.4 kg. So the last 2 weeks, he gained quite a bit.