(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi janf, Adele looks so adorable! So cute and so alert just 10 minutes after she is born! Yeah, I also dunno if he realised I am doing confinement. And I get so fed up when he makes all these noises, this is so dirty, that is so dirty, so I also have no choice but to step in to clean the place. And he keeps saying that I keep defending my mother! But sometimes, I have no choice but to speak up for my mom, right? She is working so hard to keep the place clean already. If I'm already working so hard during confinement, I can't imagine how life will be after confinement. Haiz.... At least now during confinement, my mom is around to help me take care of baby when she wakes up at night. But once she leaves, I will be alone to take care of her during the night.

Hi Flos, Bigtoes, how long did it take for you to be able to express out up to 80ml of breastmilk? I'm worried that my crying bouts will affect my milk flow, but I keep telling myself that my baby has enough to drink. So far, I have been adament against supplementing FM to my BM. But I look forward to the day when I can pump out so much milk too.

yun
u shd resize yr photo first... can use microsoft office picture manager.. hope it helps

Janf
yr baby girl is so pretty and fair... congrats .

hippie
wat time was yr delivery? realised that SF loh is also yr gynae and u delivered on 4th sept. I was admitted on 4th sept too and dr loh was probably attending to u before he came over close to midnight to perform c-sec for me... keke

Dolly
congrats on yr baby... she has the same birthday as me... 13th sept

So envy mummies with good milk supply
i swallowed 10 pills of fenugreek today!!
Hope supply will be more
I got only less than 40ml from 4 expressions today... so shagged

Jay and Xuanting..

Tell me about it!! I also got my stretchmarks only towards the last week of my pregnancy...... now my tummy looks like raw elephant skin.. so depressing =(

Mummymummy feeling:

Me too.. i don't have that mummy feeling yet, still feel like having a baby is just another event =(((

Dear Janf,

You daughter is soooo cute!! smiling that she's finally able to see you~~ and thanks for the contact for the massage lady =)))

yo mummies
hihi..yeah not going to give birth yet. water level dipped but gynae said not too low to be induced and she is not that worried coz 38weeks liaoz...but sian have to go back to do scan again this week...never been to gynae so frequently even for my firstborn...siannnnnzzzzzzz....

worse that the ctg shows absolutely no signs of anything yet. no mild contractions even. so no action....

am so bored but all the while dun wanna be caught unprepared too. now also dunno what to prepare oredi...

xuanting
can try house of catering. no msg added.

shaving bbs hair.
dun think there is a right or wrong to it? just trim a bit if bb has loads i guess. think it is supposed to help bb';s hair grow thicker according to grandmas...but i dun like guys with thick coarse hair so i didnt shave my first born. so he's hair is still fine like pork floss...kekeke...

wingkei: my PD says milk ss is all in the mind. u need to stay positive and determined to get your ss I suppose?

I just expressed another 70ml 10min ago for my son's nite feed. Today's my first day using the Medela pump (cos I bled last nite) to express my milk, so I'm more certain of my milk volume now...

11am - 60ml
1.45pm - 70ml
5.30pm - 60ml
10.30pm - 70ml
TOTAL for today = 260ml

In between these BM feeds today, my CL also fed my boy with Enfalac A+. I'll try to latch him again tomorrow as my bleeding has stopped and blood completely expelled after my jamu masseuse massaged my milk ducts just now.

I still believe red date/longan drink + papaya fish soup will help to increase your ss. I haven't bought my fenugreek pills yet.

Yun/Janf: your bbs are really adorable!

Has cloud given birth yet?

Regarding unfinished EBM.

My boy couldn't finish about 5-10ml of my EBM this evening and rejected it/fell asleep...Then I saw my CL pouring it away into the sink! She claims it's already been contaminated so no point keeping it/storing it back to the fridge/freezer. Is she right?

I feel the pinch when she discards my precious EBM just like that...

hi flos,
yeah your CL is right. if baby cannot finish the ebm, then you really cannot keep it. the only way is to force it down bb's throat if you don't want it to go to waste??

i was in the exact same predicament you were. my hb didn't finish feeding nat with my ebm and when i saw him throw it down the sink, i cried you know? i mean, i had mastitis and had only that 40-50ml then... so any bit was precious lor...

my friend's hb was even worse. she had all her ebm frozen in the fridge and her muddle headed hb didn't close the freezer properly and all the milk went bad... and she had a whole freezer full of ebm that she pumped to store for when she returned to work... i'd be soooooooooo hopping mad if i were her.

janf,
your adele is soooooo pretty! and she does look so alert and cheerful. that was only ten mins after birth? wow! she's already such a charmer!

xuanting,
congrats! you finally move to your newly renovated place..

someone ask for my massage lady contact, here goes - Auntie Julie 96448409, she is quite good in my opinion..i could see my tummy went down and water retention go away.

Xuanting, which tingkat did l'lCY recommend?? I am oso looking for lunch tingkat for my 2nd month after the CL is gone.

BREASTMILK
- If the EBM is to be consumed within 24hrs, issit ok to put in the chilled compartment?
- Do u all taste ur EBM? Mine tasted abit like red dates longan water? Wonder will the taste be different after i stopped drinking red date longan?

PUMPED MILK cum feeding
-Anyone out there do totally pumped out milk instead of latching? Do u all find it tiring to pump out milk and have to attend to bb nite feeding at nite as well? I wonder how do i cope in the future once the CL leaves. For now, it is the CL tat is looking after the nite feeding and for me, i am just waking up every 3hrs or 4hrs or so to pump out my milk. And each session last ard 30mins. If next time i have to feed the bb at nite, wow.. i wonder do i get any chance to sleep at all manz
:S

Goldfish
how r u?

i'm taking ML from 22 Sept.. gynae said likely next end wk will be due... am on antibotics cos' having infection (GBS) & will be on drip during labour...
last check up, bb weight didn't gain much only 9g.. :-(

hi shazz, my induce drug took quite a while to take effect, how abt urs?

Hi Mrs yap

my boy popped out @ 0033 hrs on 4 Sep, so for abt 20 mins after tat till 12.50, Dr Loh was stitching me up...

urs is 5 sep midnight or 4 sep midnight?

here's my boy pic (fresh out of the oven)
:

1717613.jpg

morning mummies!!

xuanting
twice a week to scan water level. sian very sian....i mean i dun mind if everything is fast fast, chop chop, but the ctg takes FOREVER!!!!i hate to do CTG...

goldfish, xuanting
i rec House of Catering. There is no msg and less salt though sometimes i find their food salty. guess it depends on individual. their soup is quite ok for catering service i must say. but then it gets boring after a while eating catered food. coz even if the menu is varied, you kinda get the same type of flavour coz the cook is the same...eh, if you know what i mean...

maybe what you can do is to change catering services every month or so?kekeke...then can try new type of food every month...

lilfc
you havent delivered too?

Janf & Hippie.. ur bb so cute....

BlackberryB, i oso went for check up on sat... gynae oso says bb not growing much already.. my cevix oso not open yet... and he suggest mi to induce on thursday leh..... ...

thanks, bacon&eggs. i'm now all packed and sitting around waiting for the movers to come move the stuff. later this afternoon can do my bb laundry at home liao. been telling bb to kuai kuai and wait till mommy moves home and she's really doing just that.

there are only a handful of us waiting to deliver le i guess. some of the mommies in the list seem to have stopped visiting the forum for a long time. maybe they'll return after they've settled into a routine with their bbs.

l'l cy, when i used to have monthly visits to the doc, i wished it was weekly instead. now that it's weekly, i'm beginning to find it a bit sian also cos can't really see bb properly (cannot make out what is what) plus i'm starting to dread waddling around in this clumsy state. your twice a week visits are v frequent indeed...

jo, thursday is only 2 more days! have you decided if you'll induce?

yes xuanting.. i have decided to induce on thursday... so i will b admitting myself on thursday (18.09) 12am...

so scare of the painz......these few nights can't Zzzz well

koras
the fenugreek bottle states 2 per day... but the sales at GNC says can eat more than tat. I checked online and 2 per day or even 4 per day cannot make a significant difference in milk supply. So i increase to 10 pills. I hv also check that Fenugreek like Folic acid will not cause overdosage. So i eat quite alot...
Amazingly, today morning i expressed 30ml in 45 mins... whereas yday was onli 40ml in 4 expressions... Big improvement...

Flos...
I so envy of yr milk supply... somemore u only gave birth not too long ago... So much i think yr hubby can get a share... lol

Hippie
Yr boy on 4sept midnight 0033hrs ah? Mine is on 5sept 0001hrs... So there is a lapse in betw.. keke... Hows yr wound? I think dr Loh's stitching is v good... mine is almost an invisible line now... He can be a good tailor too... haha

Koras, massaging ur boobs during pumping can bring out more milk, hence ur boobs could be lighter. And as for the 24hr hotline, so far they've been answering my queries on breastfeeding and once abt blood in my boy's pee leh. But sometimes gotta wait a bit cos they are the registration staff and will be bz if there are pple registering.

I m also not as good as pacifying baby. CL is better. When she takes over, he stops crying immd! ma de! CL says cos I got milk smell! hahaa.. and got milk smell but no milk so baby angry.

Sarahmay, I think she just wants to be on the safe side. I was asked to be admitted around midnite.. To get one nite's free stay!!! Then first pill was inserted at abt 2am after all the admission and all.

HB and I also want to bathe baby and change his clothes and all but CL says wait a few more days. hee. cos she's worried about baby being too young and fragile for us. And she told us stories of how some mummies simply refusing to lift a finger to touch,sayang,pacify baby during the whole month of confinement. Only breastfeed.

Cloud, jia you!!!By tmr morning, u'll be holding ur precious ;-)

janf, she's soooo pretty with tat rosy lips!! Doesnt look like 10mins old nia!

Wingkei, I am really interested to meet ur hb and give him a few tight slaps to wake him up. As it is, my hb has been very accomodating and understanding towards me but i'm still having bouts of crying fits. I cant imagine how u're feeling.

hippie, SO CHUBBY ur boy!! "pinchable" cheeks.

Xuanting,l'lcy, momoko dont think so much. Enjoy the undisrupted slp first ;-) .ahaha

Mrs Yap, dont think so much abt the breastmilk. Hang on and dont give up.
I was very demoralized in the beginning as well. The first 7days, I could only manage to pump out 30ml per pump.. went on to 50ml then 60ml and now I fully latch on during the day and pump only in the middle of the night, i can manage 100-140ml. So, dont give up. Listen to the experienced mummies - drink more water and rest well. The more u think, the more u'll affect milk flow! Today is my 9th day pumping and it really feels like forever liao.. haa

mrs yap- that good. then i going to increase my dosage then. hope can help in increasing my milk flow. yesterday after 6 hrs, my boots get a bit heavy so as my mum was helping me to burp my little boy, i tried to pump out. wao can reach 100ml in 30 min. i think i can only pump well at night

mrs yap: My CL says mine is still not alot, compared to other clients she's served before.

I just direct fed about 40ml to my bb and pumped out about 60ml this morning after enduring engorgement the whole nite.

My hubby was so amused by the pumps last nite! LOL.

Goldfish: I tried all three methods: 1) direct latching for bonding purpose & to contract my uterus; 2)express wth pump (can know whether I've completely cleared the milk ducts); nite feeding with Formula milk (now drinking 90ml already).

I guess all of us have to take over the nite feedings once CL leaves. YOu can ask your maid, DH or old folks to help u, if possible. My DH will not feed the bb at nite, becos he needs to work in the day and will start to travel frequently very soon.

I've no maid and I do not live with old folks. That means, I hv to do the night feeds. I'm trying to find an ideal milk amount that can 'knock' bb out for longer hours of sleep. Now at 6 days old, 90ml can make him sleep non stop for 4 hours.

JAMU: I've stopped the jamu sessions for this week as my mom told me it's too early for me to bind my tummy. She said it might distort/squash my expanded uterus and disalign my tubes, causing infertility next time!! Sounds really scary...

alabone: ok, I'll discard leftover EBM then. such a waste...

Flos: By right, you shd discard the EBM. But if you find it wasteful, you can keep it in the fridge in the same bottle (do not mix with other EBM in the fridge) and give him at the next feed after warming it. But if he still can't finish, then got to discard. So for eg, if you have 20ml leftover and baby's normal feed is 50ml, keep the 20ml leftover in a separate bottle in the fridge. At the same feed, warm this 20ml up, give it to him first, then with another bottle, top up with another 30ml. Is this clear?

I was asking my other mum friends in the 07 thread and this is the answer I got. I asked my maid and she gave me the same reply. I honestly have forgotten how we did it last time round! Kekeke..

Flos, alabone I also feel damn sayang when reyes doesnt finish his ebm. Even during latch on, when he falls aslp and doesnt swallow, milk will also flow out! The other day, I pumped out milk and spilt some as well. These are all precious milk lor...

Mixing ebm
Say if I have abt 20ml of ebm in the fridge and the next day I have another 50ml. Can I mix them together then warm up and give as one feed to baby?

<font color="119911">Jaymickey (jaymickey) - how come your CL left so abruptly?
So are u getting a replacement for the remainder of your 1st month?

Stretch marks - so weird that mommies are getting this after delivery. Mine came at about 33-34 weeks, so have a couple of lines on both sides now. The SM cream (Clarins one) is useless, don’t know why I bothered.
Once I gain back a decent figure, have an excuse to go out and get 1-piece swimsuits (no more bikinis for a while).

Meanwhile, my massage lady said that I need only 5 sessions (Mon-Fri this week) cos my tummy "not too bad".

Ava (avalyn) - how is your hubby during the nite? Alex is kinda cranky when he gets woken up during the nite, but yes, I have made it clear that we have to share the night shift so he might as well get used to it, cos there is no way I am going to handle all the feeds when I go back to work!

wingkei (wingkei), yun (cutieyunyun) and other mommies with MIL and hubby issues - just hang in there okie. Everything is new to us, and more frustrating as we are learning on the job. Should get better over the months as we get more comfy and confident with handling the baby.

janf (janf) - Adele is SO PRETTY!
Just nice that you captured her smiling somemore (babies don’t know how to consciously smile till 2-3 months I think).

yun (cutieyunyun) - ur boy is also so cute!!

wingkei (wingkei) - on how long to express out milk, it really depends on whether I missed a session or not. Like earlier, I had my malay massage, so missed one feed. Pumped out 140ml in 5 minutes (using the Medela mini electric) after that cos my breasts were abit engorged. I don’t use my pump for more than 10 minutes per session cos the flow slows down by then.

I am not partial to just total BM, so my CL would feed EBM or supplement with FM whenever I am not available to latch on Kieran directly.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl)- are u sure you can take 10 fenugreek capsules a day? I limit mine to 2 per day, not even sure if it makes any difference, or if its more psychological?

Flos (flos) - yes, u are suppose to discard unused EBM that has been warmed up. Better to ask ur CL to warm up a smaller portion at a time (30-50ml?) and then she can top up with more if your son is still hungry.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - EBM can be kept in the fridge (no need chiller, just normal section, but deeper inside) for 48 hours after expressing. Any longer, and you would have to freeze it. I tested abit of my EBM (like a drop) and it tastes like low fat milk I think, not longan red dates though I drink that every day as well.

When my CL leaves, the plan is to feed Kieran directly one last time at around 9-10pm, then feed on demand (latch on 1st time), EBM fed by hubby 2nd time. If he wakes up again after that, then I would do another direct latch on, cos my boobs get engorged quite fast.

hippie (hippie) - congrats on your boy! Chubby cheeks even at birth..hehe

crayonshinchan, how come there's blood in your boy's pee? what did the nurses say?

jo, i think they do. i'm also going to start doing them too.

ebm
anyone tasted their own breastmilk or given it to dh/other members of the family?

hihi...

need help..my left breasts got abit of engorged..now very painful &amp; tender &amp; i was running a high fever of nearly 40degree yesterday...been trying to clear my breasts but still cant..fever still hovering at 38..any mummies had these b4? any1 tried the cold cabbage? does it really take away the pain &amp; tts it? i feel sooooo terrible now..

Bigtoes
You are right, must get hubby involved in the night feeds as well, or else we'll be so tired when we get back to work.

Our plan is rather similar to yours.. I'll do the direct latch-on feed at around 12am, wake up again at 3am for another direct latch-on, then my hubby will do the 5 to 6 am feed before he leaves for work at 7am.

Thanks to all mummies for the compliment.I love my boy's eyes too.

Bigtoes..thanks for the encouragement.. Iam taking very easy liao as I bo chap him. Just afraid my mum will mind his behaviour.

My boy had stomachache last 2 nights, my mum said maybe becoz of he drank my express milk from the fridge..even through she has warmed it up. any mummies got problem with it ?

<font color="0000ff">Flos
wah.. looks like u enjoying motherhood eh.. good good
hehe.. i can agree with u on the ouch level for each VE wor.. n LC Cheng wasn't that gentle too... :p

lanolin
thanks for remembering me. Am still struggling with my milk SS wor.. can now onli pump 70ml, tho sometimes I can manage 80ml. got 90ml 1 nite when I stretched my pumping interval till 5+ hrs later, coz was bz handling my boy n other stuff... sighz...

ManYue Celebrations
gosh.. my boy's 1st mth cel are finally over and I must say it was chaotic, haha. coz ssooo many ppl. n guess wat, i forgot to give out the cakes till much later and many guests have left. now i'm left with so many boxes.. sighz...

Freedom
I can't wait for Fri to come den I'm officially off my confinement month. aarrrggghhh.... can't wait to start downing myself with plain water again!! i desperately need to drink plain water and bathe with plain water.

EBM
oohh... I discard unfinished EBM too.. coz left outside for too long le. tho i feel the tinge of heartache (I take 1 hr to pump each session leh), but no choice.

Weaning of nite feeds
Experienced mummies care to shed light on this issue? how can I wean my boy off nite feeds?? at the moment, his last feed of the nite is abt 11+.. den wakes up at 3+ for the next feed and it can last him till 7+ the followin morning. he's drinking 90ml FM at the moment, so wondering if I can increase the amount he's drinking so he can slp thru the nite (haha, lazy mummy dreaming). I dun feed him in the nite tho but I've to wake up to pump and seems like i'm the one waking up more often den my maid who's waking up to feed my boy!!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Janf: adele looks so kawaii!!!

Yday my bb was cranky &amp; kept on crying, when I pass to my CL he stop. Then my MIL say something very irritating, she say something like: BB don't like mummy to carry?? Then she continue saying to CL: He like your smell lah.. I super pissed lo, wau lau, very tactless leh!

I think till I became very upset &amp; cried in my room. My Dh who just came back came &amp; comfort me so I felt better. Wau lau, really cannot stand her. I cannot imagine further conflicts with her &amp; I think she is oblivious to what she said is very insppropriate. She is nice but....

With regards to EBM: I store my EBM in milk bags &amp; CL was kan cheong to feed bb on Mon &amp; she didn't secure the clips preperly &amp; my precious milk was wasted! Darn!</font>

Bigtoes
Now, my hubby is sleeping in another room, my CL and I are in the room with the babes. When CL leaves, hb and I will split the night duties unless he has a long week of shoots ahead, cos for my work at least it's office bound, but his work is more time consuming and he's on his feet a lot for shoots.

As I'm not gonna be latching both babies on at night we will split the EBM/FM night feeds...play by ear
hb quite zi dong lah so not too worried. With Adan, I latched during the night; no EBM/FM.

Sasa
I'm gonna be trying the Gina Ford routines after CL leaves to get babies to sleep thru the night earlier. Her original routine is for single babies, but I'm trying the routine for twins. It's not for everyone tho...

In any case, Max will start sleeping thru the night eventually...probably better not over feed him to get him to sleep, instead, make sure he is more awake in the day (limit his sleep in daytime) so his sleep lasts for longer during the night.

sasa,

Same comments as Ava. Don't think we did anything magical with Joshua. He started showing signs of being able to sleep through when he's abt 3 mths old (10+pm to abt 6am) and just learnt to sleep through eventually.

Hi all, have not been logging in since give birth to Shane. Congrats to all mommies who had popped. All the bb posted here are so cute &amp; adorable.

Shane's Information
Delivered via Epi C-Sec on 5 Sept 08 at TMC
Head Cir: 34cm
Length: 51cm

Weight
Had shed off my pregancy weight (11kg)but the tummy is still big...hopefully will be able to shrink after i start my massage.

Massage
Is thinking to start either next week or after next week...last week went back to gynae for review &amp; was advise to start massage after another 1 or 2 weeks...

Breast Milk
Same as my elder one, my little one also dont know how to latch on me...so got to express out the milk. Today is day 12 and the most i got was 90ml per session of 45min.

sasa...regarding weaning nite feeds.
some mothers might disagree with me. but i dun think FM is the route to weaning from night feeds.

think more importantly the routine established during the day help a child sleep through at night.

i follow ideas from this books selectively "On becoming babywise". very controversial book, but my sis and i followed the method (some) in this book and all our kids sleep through latest 3rd month.

hi all, now warded in kkh, inducing started at 7am this morning, so far only having mild contractions. Really praying hard that cervix is opening. If labour doesn't start by 5pm, need 2 hv another pill inserted into my cervix. Wish me luck!

xuanting, apparently, its normal.. something called crystallized pee. I took a pic of it to show the PD when we went for follow up and he said its normal. And it only happened once.

and my hb tasted a few drops and he said it tastes sweet.

hb and I r slping separately during confinement but due to me being emo recently, he's been slping with me for the past 2nites. And when CL brings baby to me to feed/when I wake up to pump, he'll wake up, open his eyes, give a grunt, turn away and continue to snore!!! haa.. this is the beginning of his training..

<font color="119911">WoodlandsMummy - congrats on your baby Shane. Wow, you shed all your pregnancy weight already? I am down about 10kg, 2kg more to go, but i think my tummy is shinking! Sometimes, when i BF i can also feel the womb contracting (or maybe its just wishful thinking?)

Ava - hubby's main issue is baby waking up at night...though I don't think its that bad already for a new born (usually 11+pm, 3+am, 6+am).
l'l CY (lilboymum) &amp; Ava - is the Gina Ford book available in Spore book shops? Which one are you ladies refering to (Contented Little Baby or the Complete Sleeping Guide book?) If it works, i want to get hold of a copy as well

hippie: I have no idea when to start counting how long my labour lasted, I just calculate it as 8 hours from induction till I delivered.
But I was already 3-4cm dilated and baby engaged before I was induced.

Goldfish: we're in the same shoes! I usually pump out my milk and latch baby about once a day. CL is usually the one who feed baby. But I'm not producing enough milk to TBF my boy now so he got 1-2 feeds that is supplemented with FM. The last feed for my boy is around 1230am and the next is 330-4am followed by 630-7am. So I'll be the one who wakes up for his feeds when CL is gone since hubby needs to focus on work. Hubby intended to let me sleep earlier so he will take the feed at 1230am and I take the 330 and 630 one. That's the plan for now.

Ava: I went thru Gina Ford's routine and am keen to try it out. But it seems pretty impossible for me to start now with the CL around cos she got her own routine for baby. Will see how after she leaves.

FM and EBM: I agree with I'CY that FM does not necessarily last longer than EBM. My boy can sleep thru 4 hours when he's fed 60/70ml of EBM and the same amount FM can sometimes only last him for 2.5 hours or less.

Hi I would like to post my BB's pic but it says file size too big, how to upload like tat? My computer program dun seem to be able to reduce size leh.

Bigtoes
Contented Little Baby is the one. You may have to modify the routines a bit, but they serve as a good guide for some sanity i guess.

My babies' waking times are similar to Kieran's, except they sometimes space out their feedings too far apart then there's an hour in between babies' feeds! Gets more complicated with two, man!!

Shazz
Yeah, easier when you control your own timing...otherwise hard to explain why u need to do this and that, when and how...I couldnt do the Gina Ford wholesale with Adan cos he was looked after by a babysitter after 3 months and i could not control his day time routine, only when he was back with us at night.