(2008/09) Sep 2008

Congrats to all mummies who have popped!
I have also just given birth on 2nd Sept.

Here is my birth story (Natural w/o epi):
2nd Sept: Went to Gynae at 2pm due to intense pain at the back the night b4. Back pain is a kind of contraction and it showed that i'm 2cm dilated. Gynae insisted that i should admit tonight. HB in shocked as he's totally unprepared. Rushed home to last min preparation.

2nd Sept: 11pm - Checked in to TMC. Changed and do CTG for baby's heartbeat and contraction. Put on drip and Gynae came in at 1am+ to burst waterbag. At first, din know what Gynae was doing, thought he was doing VE, but he kept digging & digging, then felt water gushed out. After that, then realised he was trying to burst waterbag.

4am+ : Pain was intolerable and have to ask for laughing gas. Gas only made me very high, but doesn't really ease the pain.

5am: Asked for injection on the thigh. Pain was reduced to about 40%. About 10 mins later, got the urge to pass motion. Kept telling HB that i need to pass motion. Soon after, gynae came in and start asking me to push. Gynae, 2 mid-wife and HB kept shouting "Push!" but hardly got the strength to do it. Breathing technique was also wrong and have to keep doing it.

5.27am: Baby Kaijing was out with the help of vacumm. Baby's weight: 3.225kg Head: 34cm Length: 50cm

Baby is currently in hospital for Jaundice. Will update more after he discharge today. Will be bringing him home for phototherapy instead as i missed him too much. Kept crying when i know he cannot be discharge together with me.

Congrats to those who have popped!

Just wondering whether you can share how much you had to pay for your hospital bill. it'll be great if you can let me know if you had natural delivery with or without epi etc..I'll be delivering at TMC and opting for 1 bedder..

thanks so much

congrats to isabelle, Ade and milky!

i will do all the updating for the table tonight.

isabelle, are u referring to seeing me at tmc yesterday? hehe.. i was there and was in a dark blue polka dots dress.

storeberry, i think i saw u yesterday at tmc too. while i was waiting outside my gynae's clinic, saw u with your hubby carrying Zane walking past.

Congratulation to all the mummies!!
Crayonshinchan, Jaymickey.. Your bb is so pretty I must say.. lol, Ade, Isabelle and who else ah.. lol.. so many to greet everyday..

Storeberry,
The pump chargeable one ha.. didn't know.. I'm still waiting for my pump to arrive.. still not reach my forwarder in states.. so got to wait.. at least another wk.. hopefully dun pop so soon.. if not, no pump to use now..

dollyNEYUKO (dollyneyuko) - hehe my boi got double eye lid like his dad.
storeberry (storeberry) - cox whenever i turn him to the other one he doesnt want to latch on.. so i trying to latch on one side then the next feed then the other

hi isabelle, milky, ade,
congratsssss! waiting to hear about your birth story and see bb's pics.

I'm leaving for hospital in a while to BRING CADENCE HOME!!!! i'm sooooooo excited!!! a bit like waiting to get a fantastic present!!! now i won't have to shuttle to hospital everyday and maybe i won't have to keep pumping milk. at least can latch on. thanks again for those who were concerned!

eve,
how was feeding with bb yesterday? all went well? update us too ok? i hope he can be home with you soon too.

mei
ok. let me know whether devon likes the mattress. we have resorted to letting jonathan sleep on his bouncer at night haha. i told my DH that we have this $500 white elephant sitting in the room now liao but he and the CL are optimistic that eventually jonathan will want to sleep in the cot. haha.

storeberry/ bigtoes
like i was asking, think that the cot or mattress may be the reason that jonathan woke hourly to feed in the week after we got home from hospital. he has been doing ok in his bouncer for the last 2 nights (ie waking for 3 hourly feeds instead of hourly or every 15 min...*faintz*) so will monitor the situation. such a strange little bb

flos
ya lor. thought spent all that money will be a gauranteed good sleep for bb. who know the litte uncle doesnt like it??!

stretch marks
mummies who have already delivered and have stretch marks. are the stretch marks still there? i have mild stretch marks on my tummy and dh kept consoling me that after i give birth the stretch marks will disappear.

sleepless night
mummies who have not delivered, can you sleep well at night? I have not been sleeping well since sunday night. Don't know is it im too anxious about baby going to be born soon.

jasmine,
i cant sleep well too, will wake up every 2hrly every nite... so tired. but i do feel sharp pain at the V as my bb is almost engaged as told by my gynae.

alabone!

you must be so excited. i cannot imagine a day apart from my bb now. you must be in tears thinking about his home coming. you'll be busier now tho ... hehe but im sure you'll revel in it.

jasmine

i still have the stretch marks now *sob* i tawt i was spared from it but it came out during the last 2 weeks og pregnancy. hopefully it will go off too ... and my tum tum its depressing .... like hanging out hopefully the masseur i hired can get rid of it in double time

hi everyone!

went to see my gynae today again.. was having some slight contractions every 10 mins now. But cervix not open yet, but starting to soften now.

we have kinda decided to induce and deliver this sunday - 7 Sept. will be admitting to hospital tomorrow midnight.

blackberryb: hey, i just realised we are seeing the same doctor..

Hi jasmine & Aloevera...

Mi oso can't slp well... in fact 2 days back i kana fever & my body is aching....

other than waking up to pee, my bb oso moves alot.. until i can't Zzzz...

Was reali tired at work....

Tmr i'm gng for appt & CTG test...

Jasmine
i have the same problem too. cant sleep at night, i think partly cause i'm too anxious like you too. keep thinking of how my labour will be like. my edd is end of this month.

So many popping! Congrats to all! And to alabone who can finally bring Cadence home.

Just came back from gynae. J is ~ 3.2kg at 37wk. Likely to be induced next week (earliest is Wednesday). I put on 1.2kg in 1 week, thanks to all the sumptuous farewell lunches this week. Now, I have to get all my things ready!

aloevera (loever)
I also wake up every 2hrs to go toilet. I kept turning and tossing on bed. On and off i also feel pain at v area, yesterday went for checkup doc say cervic still not open yet and my edd is next thurs. Guess baby is comfortably in my tummy.

preggie (preggieblues)
I have been diligently putting on creams. I got the stretch marks i think 1 month ago when it started to itch but is like mosquito bite den it became stretch marks le. damn depressing...! cos my mum do not have it... haiss!

Jo (jgwee)
My baby hardly move at night only on tues i have cramps the whole day and she is active at night. Luckily im on ML le, if not i will be restless at work.

angelineyeo (myindeliblememory)
Mine is next week. The moment i close my eyes, i can see myself delivering my baby. Im so afraid that i cant stand the contraction, the sewing, the piles and not sure how to push her out. My dh, MIL, mum and friends ask me to avoid taking epidural.. Hoping i can withstand the pains..

<font color="0000ff">Congrats to all mummies who have seen their popcorns

Jia you to those still waiting to munch
ur turn will come pretty soon. gosh.. we are only in day 5 of sept and so many of us have popped le...

Contractions &amp; Sewing
hhhmm... my advice is.. ask for epidural if u cannot take it le. to me, i think it is the most wonderful pain relief invented, haha, so much so tat i didnt feel it when gynae was stitching mi up.</font>

Congrats to all mommies who have popped

Angeline: I dunno if my CL is just lazy to boil the water too often or she's strict. anyway I've told her I plan to bathe every 3 days cos my hair feels sooooo dirty n my body feels so sticky by the 3rd day.

alabone: Feel so happy for u tat Cadence can be home wz u liao. I can fully understand how u feel when baby is still in NICU n cant go home. Kieren has just started feeding this morning... My fil helped to delivered my EBM (very little only) to TMC yday n PD said they'll start on 10ml 1st. Hopefully everything is fine n I'm waiting for PD to update me again this evening.

Feeling hot: I've been sweating loads everyday just like when I was pregnant. CL said its due to the food I'm taking. Confinement food contains alot of sesame oil, alcohol, etc so tats y we'll still continue to sweat so much.

Ade

Congrats..wow,ur labour very short..good good..

shm125

hi,i stay 1 bedder, had emergency c-sect aft 12hrs labour, total cash payment is $3k

alabone

great that Cadence can finally go home...
i oso just fetch Carine back from hospi...

wow, more mommies have popped! congrats! congrats!

dollyneyuko, single eyelids can be pretty too! i think sandy lam is pretty; rain also good looking leh! btw, what happened with the bus accident? sounds scary...

alabone, so glad that cadence is coming home today. you've both done v well thus far. continue to jia you.

eve, hope kieren will be well enough to come home with you soon too. do rest and nourish yourself well so that you can feed him with all that nutritious breastmilk!

sleepless nights
same aches and pains and pee trips keeping me up too. now and then also get woken up by braxton hicks, wondering if this was it. i hope bb stays in till much closer to edd.

<font color="119911">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - congrats on your baby Ethan

Btw, how can u push out piles? These are swollen glands inside and around the anus, caused by expanded blood vessels right…

isabelle (isa_belle)- congrats to you too! So baby finally decided to pop right on the EDD?? Was this totally drug-free and how are u recovering?

Jas (mobilesuitegal) - why don’t u use your electric pump in the living/dining room, and just close up the curtains? Don’t know how long you would have to use the manual pump to express the milk - would think that the hands would get cramp from pressing the pump.

Ade (littlepea)- congrats on baby Kaijing. Hang in there okie, he will be back from hospital before you know it…can take these couple of days to rest up

shm125 (shm125) - I also delivered at TMC at a one-bedder room, but by C-sec. My total additional cost was $1200 (deposit) + $2000. See my earlier comments on detailed cost breakdown. Delivery by natural is abit cheaper, think by about $800? Anyway, they have a price slip that they would explain to you when you make the $1200 deposit.

dollyNEYUKO (dollyneyuko)- u went to do double eyelids?

eve (yurieve18) - its good that Kieren is feeding on his own now; don’t worry too much okie, they put on weight in no time! Am not feeling hot maybe cos my confinement food is basically normal food, but with some sesame oil and ginger.

Meanwhile, my Kieran went for his first check up today with the PD. He has gained 200gm since he was discharged 3 days ago - that’s like 7% of his body weight! Quite scary the amount he is suddenly consuming, but at least i don't have engorgement anymore. On the other hand, I am down 1kg in 3 days, and 7kg since delivery date…hehe...
He also went for the heel prick test ($190) to check for metabolic disorders (recommended by the PD).

Btw, mommies who have delivered - are u planning to stick with the PD at your hospital or get someone closer to home? Am going to look for one near my place - quite troublesome to keep going to TMC for his immunization…</font>

eve

my Cl just came today as my bb was discharge today only..she just boil the herbal water for me.tink i will wash my hair today only..1 week nv wash hair liao..so itchy...last nite i use hot water only to dry clean myself..haiz...

alabone: do u hv a maid or CL to assist the boiling of your herbal bath water? How come your hubby ends up having to do this chore? In the end, your MIL din come to your place anymore to lend u a helping hand?

Lok: you put on 1.2kg? I put on 1.1kg in a week
I forgot to ask my gynae how mch weight my bb has put on, and he had forgotten to measure for me too! Anyway, I'll be able to see bb very soon too...probably next week...I think I ate too much beef steak and Jap bentos. SarahMay said it could be the mooncakes!!! hehehe!

sasa de mouse: Which PD did LC Cheng recommend to you? Do u like this PD?

Dolly: hmm, you sure are very obedient and traditional for a teenage mom!! Good good, your CL and in laws will lurve u for being so cooperative. My SIL was very stubborn; refused to follow all the 'rules': bathe with normal water and shampoo, skipped all the red dates soup, ate normally on certain occasions, and even sneaked out within her first week of confinement to shop.

eve: your confinement food contatins 'alcohol"? R we allowed to take alcoholic food when BF-ing?

dseptkon: I thought spring mattress is always better than foam ones? Where did u place your cot? Could it be too near the door, therefore too noisy; too near the window, therefore too bright and hot; too near the TV next door, therefore got vibrations on the wall?

What is the room temp in the nursery? Do u on the aircon 24/7 or fan? Do u hv a bed canopy or mozzie net?

How about the Mothercare quilt? Did u buy a blanket that has too high TOGs suitable for winter countries only?

Perhaps u shd dress him up in lighter cotton vests, instead of those thick long-sleeved rompers + sleep-sack?

Sometimes, it could be your bb's sheer body constitution. My SIL took too much tonics throughout her pregnancy and her bb is very very heaty and sweaty all day and night. THe bb has to wear sleeveless/without sleep-sack at nite and sleep in aircon room with the parents nightly! The cot is also wasted on him!

Hi Gals!

I feel so depressed.. Devon is now in hospital doing phototherapy as he has jaundice.. I miss him so much.

Moreover, my milk supply has not kicked in yet.. I have colustrum but Devon gets impatient after suckling &amp; starts screaming.. yesterday night I had no choice but to supplement with some formula milk as he was crying non-stop for an hour at 4am. I feel so helpless.

Sorry for not updating for so long. But i have been reading the thread though...

I had delivered my son on the 17th Aug 2008 at 936am at Mt E.
My birth story as follow:
16th Aug 6pm to 7pm: feel the tightening of stomach at 4 minute apart.... Wondering is it the labour start but unsure hence ignore the sign..
10pm: Call my gynae for advise as the tightening continue, gynae advise me to go into hospital for a check up
11.00pm: in Mt E, nurse confirm it is labour and my gynae is here to check my dilation and my water broke....
12mid: Have taken epidural and slept thru the nite

8:00am: Gynae is here and assist my delivery with the midwive in Mt E. Started pushing
936am: My prince is born !

All Mummy, rest well .... and we are all embarking on to the new journey !

hey, toking abt the TMC i was reading thru the details of our bill..guess what..wah lao..do VE also got charge lei.. 1x $23...i got VE 5x...faint..shaving $10...

DOUBLE EYELIDS: Actually, I dun mind if bb has double or single eyelids. My DH doesn't hv, but I do, so it's 50-50 chance. If my child wants to cut double-eyelids next time, so be it.

Certain things can be corrected when he/she grows old, e.g. wear braces to fix the jawline/teeth, etc.

Mei

dun worry..Devon will get well soon..Mine was made to stay back for 2 more days oso as her jaundice level was 16.x on my discharge day.yesterday was 11.x n then today drop to 9.4 already so shes back home now...u can take this time to get things ready at home n take a little rest..mine oso haven kick in yet..still very little so bb was always moving her mouth looking for food even after i latch-on..so ended up got to supplement Fm at hospi liao eversince day 1...now can only pray hard that my milk supply will increase since my CL here liao n can cook those fish soup etc for me to drink...

double eyelids
nice meh? ive never thought anything of double eye lids. i have it, so does my hb and my son. but not all double eyelids are equal...some are just plain ugly.you'd rather have single eyelids if that is the case...

sweating
for my fb, i rem i was sweating a lot during confinement. one night i woke up and my hair was soaked!!! and i mean SOAKED!!! like just came outta shower. so you can imagine, pj soaked coz leaking bm like crazy, hair soaked coz sweating like crazy. yucks lah...

hope i wont sweat as much this time round. but hey for those who are bfg, you might perspire more if im not wrong. coz breast glands are modified sweat glands, that is why if you takem ore fenugreeks and the likes, you will sweat more...

mei
dun worry. sometimes they cry not due to hunger, just cant get used to outside world. compared to your womb,t he world outside is harsh and uncomfortable...

<font color="aa00aa">Mei
Of cos u'll miss him but he'll be home really soon!! in the meantime, rest &amp; eat well so that u've energy for him once he is back home again...Charlotte was also like that in the hospital, wailed so loudly, was so impatient..it's normal to be upset. I cried in the hospital when I cldn't latch her on, then got paranoid and worry for her in the nursery cos I knw she must be crying and the nurses wldn't be that attentive..cos so many babies crying at the same time in there.

Then 1st week at home supply not enuff to meet her demand and at night, wah piang-I almost died from her wailing, dun even knw wat she wants, so frustrating! There was once i cried together with her cos I felt so helpless! she is a real difficult, impatient baby but now 2nd week liao things are so different..she is still cranky but at least managable .. it's not easy but u'll get thru it, be patient..once Devon smiles at u, you'll forget the frustration liao,hehe.. CHEER UP YA?</font>

<font color="0077aa">Alabone: Yah man, in the past she seems ok, but yday was very irritated by her.

Hurray! Candence can be back home!

Don't worry so much about bb weight yah? Can always fatten her when she is back home. My bb boy also one of the smallest, was so worried as well, only 2.575kg, yday went to PD he was about 2.75kg so can slowly build them up.

Melody is very eager to see the world &amp; she finally wriggle her way thru on 5th Sep 0001hrs via Emer c-sec with epi. Weight: 2.55kg, length: 46cm, head circumfrence: 33cm.
Thank GOD that mummy &amp; bb is fine.

Jessi: Pls help to Update Mrs Yap details. Thanks!

Sarah: Yah, you are one strong &amp; brave mummy! Must be so excited to see your hubby again &amp; I pray that bb will arrive at the timing good for both of you! We went down to TMC to register his borth cos was there to see PD so might as well do it together. I don't want to go ICA cos think will be dam* crowded. I actually quite like Jonah but hubby prefer Zane so go with him.

Jas (mobilesuitegal): I am using Ameda dual electric pump, its not noisy at all, I can pump with my bb sleeping in the same room. For manual pump, think Avent is good.

Congrats Ade!! Hope bb Kaijing can be home with you soon!

Jessi: Aiyoo.. Why you never call me? keke... TMC having reno so was abit blur trying to find the PD clinic.

Momoko: Yes, everything in TMC is chargeable! But if you meet a good nurse then maybe she can help you cos that's what happen to me. You also bought your pump from states? Me too! I bought the Ameda one, very good &amp; not noisy!</font>

Mei: Don't despair.. Latch Devon on every 3 hrly day and night to stimulate the milk supply. It will take some a longer time for the supply to kick in. Now that he's not around, pump every 3 hrly to stimulate the supply..
And don't worry so m uch abt little Devon.. They have very strong fighting spirits, and he's in good hands now.. He will be home with you very soon.. Jia you!

flos,

Yah, I piled on 1.2kg in 1 week. Now up 8.3kg from pre-pregnancy weight. Kinda expected cos of all the feasting this week.

Mrs Yap,

Bigtoes,

For J#1, I used to go back to TMC (Dr EK Ong) for immunization but it's too troublesome for routine checks. Unless there are complications for your NB, I don't really see the need to do it.

For J#2, I have chosen a PD that is near my home and also based in TMC. In this way, I can do the immunization on weekends rather than take childcare leave for this purpose.

Jasmine (piggy_jas)
dont worry, just relax. :) i've piles too. and my mum also ask me not to opt for epidural. but i'm going for it as i know i cant take the pain.
try to rest as much now cause your edd is next week. :) i still have 3 more weeks and i cant wait for my turn.

<font color="0077aa">Oh dear, Mei. Devon is a strong boy, juandice will go away soon, take care!

Jojo bar: you are just in time for the new bb bonus!! Congrats!

I am perspiring like mad!! Feel so smelly &amp; hope Zane will still love his smelly mummy! Keke.. Think the confinment food super heaty, I got an ulcer liao.

Flos: The confinment food is cooked with rice wine but when BF-ing is ok cos the alcohol would have evaporated.</font>

Hi mummies / mummies-to-be

I have the following items up for sale...

1) 2 pkts of disposable maternity panties
2) Palmer Stretch mark cream
3) Palmer Nursing cream
4) 3 pcs Pyjamas dress (easy for breastfeeding)

Please email me at [email protected] for details...

Lemon: I very comfortable with her(gynae). I will go down to see her tomorrow. Wow, your wishes come true, baby will born at 7th Sep..have a smooth delivery and updated us your birth story
Jia You!

Bigtoes: Your total paid up $3.2k included your gynae c-section fee? How much your TMC PD charge?

Angeline: wah, VE also charge, fainted!I tot this is the standard procedure..

Storeberry: yes, the confinement food super heaty wan, my friends told me that sweating all the time! regarding the ulcer, use the salt water,may help.

<font color="0077aa">NEWS FALSH!!! Bacon&amp;egg had delivered!!!

Bb Kaiden is born! Praise the LORD! Weighing 3.625 at 8am today, 5 Sep 2008. Both bb &amp; mummy are resting at NUH ward 96, Kent ridge link room 11.

Think I missed out Mrs Yap's name on previous postings.

Mrs Yap: Melody is very eager to see the world &amp; she finally wriggle her way thru on 5th Sep 0001hrs via Emer c-sec with epi. Weight: 2.55kg, length: 46cm, head circumfrence: 33cm.
Thank GOD that mummy &amp; bb is fine.

Jessi, pls help to update Mrs Yap &amp; Bacon&amp;egg's details. Thanks dear!

Thanks blackberry!

My CL so far have been very good, she does the cleaning &amp; mopping of floors as well. And sometimes when my hubby is home early, she will cook his share also. Today when she see me going to iron my hubby's clothes, she offer to help as well. Also told her to sleep in the afternoon or watch TV if nothing to do. She is quite a fast worker &amp; have done majority of the stuffs in the morning. Really glad that this last min CL is good!</font>

blackberryB:
yap, am eager to experience labour..haha, this is my first baby. will share with all! all the best to your checkup tml!

angelineyeo (myindeliblememory)
Trying to relax now. haha.. hoping she will come out on the 9th so she can have the same bdae as her daddy.

ladies ...
my bb's PD mentioned briefly that it is preferable to eat ginger and wine stuff ( confinement food) 3 hours before breastfeeding. This is a general rule for all other 'bad food' for bb. Coz my bb just recoevered from jaundice, i am not eating ginger and wine stuff already. Just to be sure

hey Mei,

i understand exactly how you feel. my bb also just got discharged yesterday. We admitted him on the 6th day due to high level jaundice. BUt i was determined to be on TBF so i stayed at the hosp with him. If you have a lactation consultant at the hosp you can check with them regarding bb's milk demands. my milk only kicked on the 4th day so dun worry, the bb will get enough after the milk kicks in. Its a natural process so dun get stressed ok?

Mei:

Yeah, listen to experienced moms here. Go pump some milk while Devon is in the hospital these few days. I'm sure he is a strong boy and is eager to see mom and dad too!

Lilboymom: very curious about your statement "but hey for those who are bfg, you might perspire more if im not wrong. coz breast glands are modified sweat glands"... Does it mean the bb will suckle your sweat that comes out from the breast glands too?

Congrats to Bacon&amp;eggs and Mrs Yap!!!

preggie: u mean ginger and wine will cause bb to get jaundice?

Lok: how come u get "Farewell lunches" in the past one week? u r only going on Maternty Leave, rite? So 隆重?!heheh

storeberry: how mcuh did u pay your CL? She even does housework for u? Very good! I wish mine would cos I hv no FT maid...

Storeberry, actually I heard ICA is not crowded I heard. Just a bit leh chey to go to Lavender to register only

Blackberry: I believe Bigtoes' TMC bill is much higher. Almost $9K all in all.

Angeline: shaving also chargeable? FAINT! Anyway, my waxing costs more than $10! haha

sunrays: good to hear that you're back. Do u hv a CL to assist you? Frankly, I dunno if I can tahan the wailing and bawling. I'm a light sleeper and hate to sit next to wailing bb on aircrafts. I pray I won't develop postnatal blues, man!

<font color="aa00aa">Flos

Nope, i didnt engage CL but my mum took leave to cook for me, actually she is not helping much..she juz went to Macau for a 3-day short trip!! I've a maid but she is not confident handling NB so she does more of household chores..And my mum is super modern mum, in fact i knw more pregnancy &amp; bb stuff than her!! She is cooking normal home-cooked stuff so I am not exactly on a confinement diet. Actually thruout the pregnancy I didnt even take any tonic at all..tsk tsk, maybe my health will suffer when i grow old!! I bathe and wash my hair as per normal but of cos my MIL dunno, she'll flip if she knew!
As for wailing babies, i think u'll be able to tahan if IT'S YOUR OWN!! If u have CL, then i guess it's much easier...i alrdy developed severe backache during the 1st week &amp; was really a walking zombie!</font>