(2008/09) Sep 2008

flos,
Pasir Panjang hawker is still open. the famous satay is still there! We went to holland v last nite to eat ice-kachang..pretty generous with fillings..3 attap chees in a bowl..

Not thoughtful..just clueless how to stick those wallpaper..can be pretty "sticky"..hee..but the expert did it really fast..

isabelle,
sakuraya good? where is it located? Am thinking satay tonite..maybe vivo..so many things to eat..so little time..hee

isabelle: do u think it's safe to eat sashimi now at week 38+? I've not touched raw sushi since testing positive in Jan...I will certainly go whack heaps of sashimi as soon as I pop!!! Ohhhh, the deprivation...is just...unbearable...

actually, unbeknownst to my DH and inlaws all these months, I've eaten imported deli/cured meats from Spain and Italy on a 'need-to' basis...of course, I bought premium cuts from The Marketplace to minimise chances of contamination...I'm just a sucker for Tapas.

shazz: spree just days before u pop? u sure u got time to collate? which brand r u using now? I'm soooo confused. u bought sebamed, lactacyd, mustela, cetaphil or california baby?!! hehehe!

bacon&egg
Hey, I'm also going to ask my gynae to induce me, can't stand the waiting game!

Flos
Yup.. cloud & mei are from KKH & we're seeing the same gynae.. if I'm not wrong, our EDD is just one day apart.

Shazz
Yes, please..

California Baby's Calendula Cream Spree - only for mummies in this thread!

http://www.newlondonpharmacy.com/california-baby/calendulacream.htm
Cap at 32 tubs
shipping within US is $16
Exchange rate: tentatively at 1.43, will charge according to actual credit card rate
Collection: self-collect at Toa Payoh or mailing after confinement period is over in early Oct 2008
Calendula Cream at US$8
1. shazz - 6 tubs
2. Mei - 4 tubs

Flos: california baby calendula cream is great as a protective layer for diaper area, more of prevention. Desitin is stronger, I'll use it more as a treatment cream. ;) SebaMed Baby i got the bubble bath, for shower. i didn't get the other brands you stated.

I am finally back from appt... waited so long due to 2 unexpected deliveries... phew

Gynae prescribed some cream and medicine for the piles... he said mine is a mild case n dun need operation la... hopefully aft medication it will shrink n go away... he also comment that the GP must be crazy to suggest surgery.. hehe

Alabone: Usually if the piles is external and u cant seems to push the pile back, its considered 4th degree... U sure yours is the size of a cauliflower? must be kidding la... its huge man!! mine is abt the size of a small pea and i cant take it... pain like anything!

Wow.. only less than 1.5 day never follow already so much to follow.. lol

Well, Just went for my Wk 38 check up.. about 15 days more to go to my EDD.. So excited to see so many mummies pop.. lol

BB Cayden is now weighting at 3.2kg already.. wow.. I put on 1 kg for the 1 wk.. but b4 tat the last 2 wk never put on at all.. now for this last 1 wk, i've put on so much.. so scary.. lol
oppss.. no more waffles ice-cream and strawberry milkshake for me anymore..

Hi Eve,
Your bb Kieren is so cute.. very adorable looking.. take care.. and dun worry so much about the Breast milk.. relax and think of providing for ur bb.. and the flow will come one..

My EDD is 5th Sept. Till now still no contractions...and only 0.5cm dilated.Hopefully bb will give me some indications soon...if by next monday still no reaction...will have to induce if not bb will be too big by then...:>

dolly: u r on facebook? what's your email?

skinny pig: agree with dolly! your kayne really reminds of the Olympian HUNK MICHAEL PHELPS! V-shaped torso, smooth complexion and long body! aunty flos drools...hiak hiak!

Momoko: me going tomorrow for my checkup. wonder if I'll kenna poked and pried open? yikes!

shazz: oic, as long as u can cope with the orders

I'm stifled at home now...gonna go out to walk walk...adios...

Momoko: same here, been indulging in waffles, ice cream and crepes! yummy! but I gotta watch it now, cos baby also about same weight as Cayden

Mei,
I am also gg for induction on thurs, EDD is sunday. Gynea says no big diff with a couple of days...I would be Week 39, 4 days by thurs. I see that most mommies pop before Week 39.

When is your induction scheduled?

ehh... flos, why the rest of the mummies need to be prick open one ah.. kekeke...
I also started my ML this wk already,...

shazz
argh! online shopping
i can't resist... pls include me.

Cap at 32 tubs
Exchange rate: tentatively at 1.43, will charge according to actual credit card rate
Collection: self-collect at Toa Payoh or mailing after confinement period is over in early Oct 2008
Calendula Cream at US$8
1. shazz - 6 tubs
2. Mei - 4 tubs
3. dseptkon- 4 tubs

I am Jan 08 Mummy and would like to let go 5 bottle of DOM (1 litre) at $35 each.

pm me if u are keen. Thanks for reading.

Cap at 32 tubs
Calendula Cream at US$8
1. shazz - 6 tubs
2. Mei - 4 tubs
3. dseptkon- 4 tubs
4. isa_belle - 3 tubs

Thx Shazz!

hee, me too! been eating sashimi and hald boiled eggs since 2nd trimester! ;)

dolly: you're so cute! want to matchmake vivienne so early ah! hee, yah my hubby is bak bak type, i like, so nice to squeeze! hehe

goldfish: im on ML since 1st sep le. EDD is 4 sep. i buay tahan working in office carrying the heavy tummy around, haha. Actually i wan to tk ML since last week but somehow kena postponed to 1st sep.

nvr mind lah, now can rest, everyday i'm so happy...now only waiting for contraction to come.

lok, crayon: from yday till today, no pain no nothing... i really scared may need to induce by next week le.

from sunday till today, the oni pain i had is backache... sunday's backache was bad that i'm just pissed by watever my hubby said, haha. i threw temper at him lor.

Congrats to all the mummies who have popped. The babies are all so cute... so much hair. My FB does not have a lot of hair, so envy... envy.

L'LCY
My hubby the same, making noise about all the toys and craft stuff I bought for my girl to keep her occupy after delivered. I stash them in my spare room so he didn't really know what's in store but every time I lugged a bag back from shopping. He will go 'Toys or books?' When I told him about the present from brother, he had the same reaction like your hubby. Faint! Anyway, everything is for his princess.

Strep B
I'm Strep B +ve. The antibotics does not take 4 hours to take effecct. It takes effect almost immediately as they put you on the drip. The 4 hours window is to prevent the bacteria from cultivating. The anticbotic drip is 'mobile', you can still walk around with the needle attached to your hand. And after you delivered, the doctor will take a swap from the baby and do a test to check for strep b infection. That's what I understand from my gynae.

Isabelle,
thanks for the link, notice they have a branch at anchorpoint too..near to my office..maybe i will go tonite.

I just drank a decaf latte...1 choc chip cookie and 1 chix pau...feeling v guilty...hmm..

Sunny,

Me too. Have been buying gifts/books for my FB. But I get more mileage cos 2 boys. Can recycle later for didi.

Oh man! I love TAMPINES! I went out for dim sum today and I saw ALL The FAMOUS mooncake stalls at Tampines Mall!!! I got to try The Champagne Truffle, Black Durian and Custard ones that you all have been talking about.

Isabelle: The Black Durian is FABULOUS!!!! I am so going to buy a box of them! Do you know it has health benefits? The black skin is made from charcoal! Good for absorbging toxins in our tummies. Hehe.

L’l CY: Oops sorry missed ur earlier q. Hhubby coming back only next wed, 10 Sept.

Goldfish: Eewww ewwww ewww!!! Gross! I would feel so violated! The blood may be result of your gyane’s ‘violation’ yday. Call to check?

Crayonshin: Hahaha. Yeah! How come they don’t include a class as part of prenatal lessons for husbands for them to learn how to be SUPPORTIVE and SENSITIVE!

Mickey: Well, true true...cos if not this little one might also ask , ‘How come Jie Jie got photos when she was in your tummy but not me?”

Shazz: I love those black durian mooncakes!!! Now got offer too! Aiyo...I am buying them trow. Heheheh. Wow! Eamon sure can grow! 400g per week. BIG BIG boy! Yeah, you better not indulge already. For me, I think i just buy and store one in freezer cos can keep for one month. Then after this Fri’s check-up, if bb is NOT tt big and gynae doesn’t warn me abt wait, I shall whack!

Dseptkon: Thanks for info. I dun have piles now...and hope i won’t get. Aiyo...tender bits in the sitz bath. Makes it sound as if we have thingies sticking and dangling down from our butts. Hehe.

Sasa: Try the ultimate tactic then! Break down and WAIL!!!!!! Over phone with MIL, in front of hubby, when mum and MIL are around....You know, act and cry!!!! No need to really be depressed to put up a GOOD act. If cannot, rub a bit of chilli padi on finger and touch eye. Sure tear!!!!

Bacon & Egg: Guacamole is heavenly right?!!! Oh man. Forgot to buy just now. Sians. Now raining so too troublesome to go out. But I’m sacred bb doesn’t put on weight then I end up having MORE flab to shed.

Flos: St Hilda’s. And then I spent MOST of my teen years around Katong cos my church was there. So I’ve seen the evolution of food through the decades. Hehe. I can tell you what shops used to occupy which units. Hehe.

Alabone: Cauliflower-like piles?! Hahah You are so farnee!

Momoko: Don’t worry. I also put on a lot of weight recently. Hehe. Feel like i am getting hungry with each passing day and craving for MORE junk food now.

Sunnysunny: Thanks for info on the IV drip fro GBS. Phew! Makes me feel less stressed shd I have short labour!

PASIR PANJANG HAWKER: Oh man!!!! There is this corner shop that sells AMAZING seafood zhe char (not sure of spelling). Their cockles with their special chilli sauce topped w peanuts are damn power!!! Their cockles are SUPER sized, sweet and fresh. Oh oh ...i want!!! Their BBQ stingray also super!

Bacon & egg: No la...where got satisfy all my cravings? Hehe. I went for "free" dessert. The black durian is the HOme Fav's one that Shazz and Isabelle have been talking about!

Shazz, thanks for the link! It is very useful! Bt ouch.. I am not prepared for motherhood as yet!!! I just called nurse and she told me it is normal… bt once my bleeding becomes red and very frequent, I nid to admit myself liao

Sasa de mouse, ouch.. seems like u are going through a hard time wif ur maid and in-laws… if u are unhappy, please use here as a ventilation vent leh.. dun bottle it up though it seems that telling ur hubby or MIL abt it does not work at all!

Bacon&Egg, WOW.. u sounds beri excited rite?? Kekke.. I hope I can have a fraction of ur excitement. Now as I am typing, I oledi feel slight menses cramp and I find it so UNBEARABLE liao leh.. I used to pop pills whenever I got menses and now I am stuck wif this pain!!!

Flos, ur hubby oso haf this birthday song syndrome as well? LOL.

Sarah, when is ur due-date? Ur hubby coming back only next Wednesday? Wow.. u must have a beri hi-EQ to survive w/o him all this while leh.. but oh well.. looking at the past posts, there are some hubbies out there quite irky oso lo :p

Mei, doc allow u to induce?

today i nvr went for my checkup.. so tired...been feeling so stress lately.. no mood la... i left 10 more days to go..so i juz wait for any signs..

<font color="0077aa">Hi mummies, thanks for the warm welcome!! Keke... I really thank GOD for my milk supply, I think even the nurse was commenting that it is quite alot..

Flos: Not a gynae but the epidurist (Is it the right name?) In my bill, he is a doctor also..

Alabone, Mei &amp; shazz: Must latch, latch &amp; latch! Cos I started on TBF on the 1st day &amp; there is only colostrum, its tiring to latch every 3-4hrs, especially in the night. The milk supply kicked in on the 3rd day not 1st day (Sun night). I pump about 60ml every 3 hours. Now I am not pumping cos my fren told me to feed on demand so if pump out later not enough for bb.

BB is hungry like every 1-2hours &amp; sometimes he feeds like 5-10mins then doze off, tried to rouse him by burping but no avail... Yday didn't managed to sleep at all, steal a few winks in the afternoon. Not easy but I am still enjoying it now.

Alabone: My c-sec wound is ok, I didn't take pain killers initially, only when its painful in the 3rd day. Now don't really feel the pain but some itch..

Yan: Dr Adrian W c-sec is good, he is very reassuring also. I think its an experience but not pain, just uncomfortable.

Skinny pig: bb Kyane skin is so good!! Champion!

Limay showed me bb Kieran's photos, agreed his cheeks is very rosy!

Shazz: last spree before you pop? Shopping queen leh!I just bought one tub of the cream last week...

And congrats to mummies who are popping soon!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Congrats to Jaymickey on you Priness Janelle!</font>

My Prince:

1684241.jpg

He look real fierce when he open his eyes...

Storeberry
Congrats on yr prince
Finally got to see the little boy who made his mummy scared to death with spotting in the first trim... Time really flies... You are mummy now.
Take care... Counting down to my turn

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - am finally back at home, after 4 days, 3 nites at TMC! The internet connection is down for the whole building (renovation works going on), so was not able to login till now.

Meanwhile, congrats to the other mommies that have popped since!!!

Baby Kieran was born on 30/08/08, at 2.23pm, by elective C-section, via epidural.

Okie, here is my (very long) birth story:
10.30am - Was told to come early to settle paperwork &amp; wait…..the single room was not ready yet, so they upgraded us to the deluxe room for a bit. Spent 2 hours just sitting around and rather hungry since I was not permitted to eat or even have a drop to drink since 6am. You have to remove all make up, earrings, contact lenses, hairclips and rubberbands, finger and toenail polish for the surgery. Spectacles are permitted but I would suggest you not wear them in, cos its less scary when everything looks blur!

12.45pm - Changed to the hospital gown and wheeled down to the operating theatre corridor…..'parked' along side a couple of other people scheduled for surgery….more waiting….by 1.30pm - heard some nurses chatting someone with twin daughters and a 1st born who is a 4 year old boy. Realized that Ava has popped earlier than me!!

1.35pm - Finally my turn and I am wheeled outside operating theatre 1.
The anesthetists came by and asked me why I opted for local, rather than the more comfortable general anesthesia. Asked if I knew the risks of LA, and proceeded to inform me anyway (stuff like risk of spinal headache, spinal paralysis at the point where they inject the epidural, having to be mentally prepared to be awake through out the surgery and to stay very still, how the tugging and pulling would be uncomfortable, etc etc…

And how if the only reason I opted for LA was so that my hubby would be able to be in the room (yes, it was), it was abit foolish cos he would only be in the theatre for 10-15 minutes, and I had to stay in for some time later to deliver the placenta, etc etc….At that point, I am thinking if I should chicken out and go for GA instead….but then, knowing that my hubby would be worried and wondering how come he was not called into the theatre, decided to be brave and go along with the LA.

1.40pm - So I went in, was transferred to the operating table, and since I was donating Kieran's cord blood to SCBB, they had to take 3 large test tubes of blood from my hand before beginning my procedure. This took forever, cos apparently my veins were too small and I "needed to do more manual work" to make them more defined….the needle prick for the blood collection was THE MOST PAINFUL part of my whole procedure. Most probably not a good idea on the hindsight cos I am already anemic and risked loosing more blood than the average person from the surgery.

2.00pm - They finally managed to collect the blood and could proceed to my C-sec proper. Was asked to curl up like a ball as they administered the spinal epidural. Felt like a red ant bite, with a lot of patting on my backbone. 1/2 the pain of the needle prick to my hand.

2.10pm - The blue partition cloth was set up so I am blocked from viewing the surgery. I was totally numb from waist down and gyne started operating on me. Could hear clanking of the operating instruments and some pressure at the opening, but no pain. Glad that the epi is doing its job. Reminded them to let my hubby in….by then he has been waiting anxiously for 1+ hours.

2.15pm - Alex comes in and sat beside my head area. There is more tugging and pulling and pressing on my belly to ease the baby out. Alex tries to peep abit during the operation, and got childed by BOTH my gyne and anethesist for looking instead of "giving your wife moral support"! (After that, he said I looked quite pale and he felt 'bad' for subjecting me though this :p

2.23pm - Baby Kieran's head pops out and I hear his first cries!
Got emotional and I started crying as well! They wrapped him up with a cream cloth and pass him on to the pediatrician who does a thorough check up of the limbs and everything else, wraps him up and pass him back to me. Alex takes a photo of me crying, carrying the baby, then gets someone to take 1 of the three of us.

Kieran looks very clean for a newborn (very little vernix or blood stain). The pediatrician, Kieran and Alex leaves to weigh baby and clean him up….Gyne proceeds to clean more stuff from my insides, I hear more clanking of operating instruments…..and finally, by about 3pm, she is done! It wasn’t that bad and I guess I am pretty lucky that I only had slight shivers from the side effect of the epi, and no itch, nausea of whatever else that might come with it.

Wheeled out to the recovery area (lined up with other post-operation patients) and left there to recover for a bit. Got abit impatient lying there and bugged the nurse to wheel me back into my room. Think I got back in at about 3.30pm, to the relieve of hubby.

The rest of the day was just spent lying around, connected to a tube for glucose and painkillers and to the catheter. They brought baby Kieran in by evening to breastfeed, and by the next morning (Sunday), I was off painkillers. I felt pretty okie, but the catheter didn’t come out till Monday morning cos my gyne didn’t come by to check anymore on Sunday. Once catheter was out, I bathed and went to visit Ava and Pebblez at their rooms. Went for the refresher course on bathing and breastfeeding, and also got the birth registration and baby bonus stuff done at the registration counter.

Other than breastfeeding Kieran every 3 hours (or trying to, cos sometimes he is more interested in sleeping), was pretty bored at TMC cos their internet connection was totally down. Even wireless@sg at Delifrance wasn't working. Didn’t get much sleep as well cos the nurses were coming in ever so often. Finally checked on Tuesday by noon.

Anyway, mommies who have opted for epi C-sec, don’t be too worried ya…
the procedure is no where as bad as you think it would be.
On a scale of 1 to 10, I would put GA at 2/10 (for my fibroid), epi C-sec on LA at 3/10 (more discomfort cos you are awake throughout the procedure and feel the tugging and pushing), and the needle prink for my SCBB donation at 6/10. Don’t need much painkillers (was off on day 3) and no problems getting out of bed after the tubes come off. The gyne cleans off most of the lochia as well, so bleeding is like a normal menstrual cycle and just a couple of days. The wound is okie, but just sore when you laugh/cough or sneeze.

Photos of baby Kieran (from operating theatre onwards) and his 1st day are in my facebook account, and at http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos/album/136

He looks a lot like his daddy (especially the mouth), and also has his messy eyebrows and nose. The only feature he inherited from me was his chin. And yes, his blood type is also the same as mine.</font>

hi all! thx for the congratulations etc. here's my birth srory:

plug came out on 29th night ard 9pm. told my hb and he said : wat's that? with a v scared look in his eyes...took a shower n headed to labour ward after callin to see if I should and they said better go in since twin pregnancy.

Reached TMC at about 10.15 and did CTG and VE. Contractions had started and VE showed 2 cm dilation so was prepped for admission and put in labour ward. remembering that Sunrays had been asked by her doc to admit after 11pm to make it the next day rather than pay for an extra few hours as an additioanal day, we were admitted at 11pm.

Labour pains started picking up. Asked for epi at 1am since I was gonna get epi anyway so might as well be earlier than later. Watched American Election updates on tele and sucked honey sticks.

Labour continues to the next day. water bag was burst at about 9am and given something to boost contractions...BUT something wasn't right. Even with strong contractions 1-2 mins apart, babies were not coming down.

Waited till about 12pm. Hubby came in to tell me Adan has HFMD!!!! He was whisked away to my parents' place in JB to keep him out of contact with the babies and me.

Doc came in to check and looked disappointed that there was little progress, except some dilation to about 6cm. He said something wasn't right so better to have C-section.

Was wheeled into OT at 1pm and babies came out at 1.26 and 1.28pm. Doc realised then that due to the weight of the babies (and my guess: due perhaps my lying position during labour) the uterus had twisted to one side so babies were not able to go down to birth canal, so it's a good thing we didnt wait any longer as it would have been a waste of time and effort.

Babies are:
Summer Leong
2.68kg
48cm long
head circ: 31cm

Anais Leong
2.75kg
49cm long
head circ: 32cm

I'll post some pics here later as dealing with BF for two babies is NO JOKE! They're strong suckers and my nipples are suffering for it
had to give some glucose water just now to stop their crying and to give me a break!!

They look a lot like I did as a baby, altho my hb swears they have his eyebrows and nose

<font color="0077aa">Ava: Both summer &amp; Anais looks so chubby &amp; cute!! Summer is smiling away!! Kekek... It was great that your gynae decided on e-c-sec! Even BF for one bb is tough, I can't imagine on twins! :p</font>

I just got home after my "jalan jalan" this afternoon.

GORGEOUS! Ava your twin dotters!!! *ENVY*

Thanks to Bigtoes, Ava and storeberry for your very detailed and moving birth stories. I hope I can be as alert as u all to recount all the details when it's my turn next week!! U all are really brave! APPLAUSE!! I think I will surely cry when they throw the bb onto my chest!

SarahMay: Tampines MAll has a mooncake festival too? Black charcoal snowskin...hmmm, unique.

isabelle/shazz: If I hv a craving for sashimi, I'd go to a sushi bar before I pop! ha...

HAIRCUT: anyone went for a pre-delivery haircut? I might go cut my hair tomorrow.

dolly: thks for the link

Goldfish: yah lor! Also like to sing to the baby!!

Sri-Leo: U skipped your weekly appt today? Is it allowed? Did u tell your gynae?

Mei: how was your checkup today. When r u going to be induced?

Flos: nt sure.. 1st time i skipped it... hehehe.. nvr tell gynae.. but i tink its allowed since i'm a subsidy patient.. i left 10 more days b4 my EDD..so i tink shld be ok... juz need to wait any signs of labour.. my stomach nw feeling abit cramp...

ava.. your twins are so cute!

flos, i'm due on sept 11 and i believe that meie is due on sept 12..

went for checkup today, no contractions and cervix is closed. had my first VE and it was a very painful experience, took about 3 hours for the soreness to go away. gynae says that if baby doesn't come out by next week, may have to consider inducing..

Ava: your girls are so gorgeous with the rosy cheeks! yes, they definitely inherited your good looks! poor Adan, he must be suffering now. Wonder where he caught the HFMD virus!

storeberry: your baby so handsome, he got such nice eyes!

bigtoes: thanks for sharing such a detailed birth story, I think you helped to make everyone more comfortable with epi c-sec.
Sri_Leo: You MIA, I thought u popped liao! haha

Updates on Mei: She has been admitted and being induced now as I'm typing cos her BP is on the higher side, will keep you gals posted once baby Devon is out!

Cap at 32 tubs
Calendula Cream at US$8
1. shazz - 6 tubs
2. Mei - 4 tubs
3. dseptkon- 4 tubs
4. isa_belle - 3 tubs
5. sunrays - 4 tubs

Spree will close upon hitting 32 tubs or latest by 14 Sep. Will collect money only when spree close.

Meie
What time will u be checking into KKH on 12 Sept?
I am scheduled for Csec on 12sept 930am...
We can visit each other if u really pop on 12 sept

MrsYap: she's inducing cos her BP is on high side and concerned cos the umbilical cord was seen around baby's neck.

Flos: better get whatever cravings for food settled before we pop cos we need to watch our diet more when we're breastfeeding, if not it'll affect baby more. When they're in our womb, it's not as bad cos they're on mute mode! But once they're out, if we have too much caffeine, they'll get cranky and we'll have long sleepless nights! haha

shazz: yah, if it's around the neck, it'll hv to be c-section liao.

I think it's ok to eat sushi after my confinement, eh? I'm very hungry now. Gonna look for food...

alamak, let me clarify that the cord is NOT around her baby's neck!! Just that they saw it some time back during the 3D scan and got concerned. But so far baby's movement and all is ok. It's just for peace of mind to take baby out and also because of her high BP.

I hope I'm not painting a different picture from the actual situation.

I BLUR by your post liao..."concerned cos the umbilical cord was seen <font color="ff0000">around baby's neck</font>."

So it's NOT around the baby's neck lah!

oic... mei in labour ward oredi ah... wah.. hope she's ok

Mrs Yap, if i deliver exactly on my EDD 12 sept..den we can visit each other... hahaha...

Cloud, ur gynae said tt?? maybe i shld juz went for my checkup today.. aiyah.. nvm.. can ask for a change of appt rite? i yearning to hear my doc comments..who noes she share the same sentiments as ur gynae..