(2008/09) Sep 2008

thanks, shazz. nurses shd also be ok i think, as long as they are trained!

sarahmay, aren't the jabs supposed to contain the same standard vaccines?

preggie, it's today, isn't it? update us when u can.

sarahmay: Don't think so. Mercury is a poison. How can the vaccines contain poison?

BB Jabs: Other than the compulsory jabs, there are the optional ones such as rotavirus, pneumococal and chicken pox jabs..

shazz:
wow.. u even gotten the prices for the jabs... done ur research so well.. lol..

re: working hrs
at least urs is self employed mah.. u earn wat u get... for me, $$ go to the bank, i get pittance at the end of the day. so in the end, not realy worth the effort i put in... wanna relax also cannot.. does not help when boss is a workholic/nt married/no kids n same age. :p at the end of it, really not worth it. to them,it is only abt numbers.

i kan jiong for u also... haha.. mb u r right lor, GOD has his plan for u.. anyway it is always the case of huang shang bu ji, tai jian ji.. maybe when the time comes, u will really be kan jiong. :p

yan:
lol.. yeah lor. my hb changes hp like nobody business. can change ev week if there are new models. now waiting for his Iphone. to him, it is worth it. then i wanna get new laptop, he told mi to choose a model. i ask him for budget, he never say anything. when i choose liao, he ask mi, u need so good de meh?

tai tai life
lol. this is overrated la. stay at home = tai tai.. lol.. it is actually quite insecure de ley coz u got no income, so must put urself n dignity down coz $$$ come from hb. but when i think that i earn such a pittance after slogging so hard i v sian oso.

ger ger:
i feel ger ger is better.. lol.. more tie xin? summore can dress them up. can help with housework.. kekeke.. boys will end up as someone else's hb... :p like my mil liddat.. 2 sons no gers. she v jealous when hb is nice to me. haha

just back from my 38 weeks check up le . yest baby din move scared me whole nite din really sleep. doc say tml induce me to give birth le

<font color="0077aa">Went to see gynae in the morning cos of yday scare. Dr told me water level abit low &amp; bb still in breech position and he suggested doing the c-sec early cos its not safe for bb to have movements &amp; not move sometimes... And I am in my 39weeks, so he asked me to go for c-sec tonight or tomorrow morning!! Aiyoo.. give me such short time! After discussing with hubby, decided to go tomorrow morning c-sec at 7am. So scared, unprepared &amp; excited lo... Really mixed feelings man!

Limay: Send you a PM, you doing c-sec on sat right? Maybe I can pop by your ward to see you. I am at TMC also.

Glad that Alabone &amp; bb Cadence is fine!! Praise GOD!

Shazz, bacon&amp;egg &amp; Mei: No Sept bb for me le... Sob sob... But Aug is good also lah, Shall not think so much!

Koras, where are you delivering? Mine is TMC.</font>

SarahMay (sarahmay) - argh, so late? Mine is at 9am cos they need to send the blood to the lab for testing tomorrow before my C-sec on Sat. But depends on how tired/bored I get, might still be out at 3pm. Will PM you my mobile

storeberry - wow, so sudden news! Hope u are mentally prepared
Yes, lets catch up in TMC - maybe on Sunday?

sarahmay:
jabs containing mercury? i doubt they can even be used in the 1st place right?

blackberry:
u must check if ur GP has those jabs. not all stock them.

jab package:
other than so called required jabs (they are required by law n hv to show immunisation records on healthbooklet @ pri school admission), i think they also include some of the optional ones. also they check for other stuff like the bb eyes and other stuff.. not v sure. must check with hb. :p i m v gong at this

wow Koras &amp; Storeberry, take care! your turn to hold your baby soon!!! everything prepared for ur baby's arrival???

storeberry (storeberry) - same lo at tmc... tml 9am going tmc induce.. then wait c wat time my baby want to come out le. doc say he might be moody inside that y he did not move much.. so pray safe tml induce le

numbness around belly button
anyone feeling this too? i've been having this since a few days ago. it's prob just the nerves stretching but feels really weird, like touching someone else's stomach like that.

storeberry
wow, so fast..must be v exciting for u n yr hubby tonite..have a smooth delivery..

Shazz,
Lets join hands and shoot for sept bb!!
3 more days to go...been telling junior to get engaged but come out to see his daddy and mommy in sept :D

thanks sarahmay..

Xuanting: Me too!! I asked that question last night only! I feel numbness when I sayang my tummy, esp the area close to the belly button. I dunno why cos I didn't experience this for my last pregnancy.

xuanting:
me too...
belly button oso feels v "raw" at other others..

BH vs Contractions
anyone knows wat is the diff other than real contractions will not disappear?
i v confused between the 2.
the last 2 nites, i feel like bb is is like burrowing into my pelvis, stretching her way out.. then sng sng pain @ V area for 10-20 sec, then stop, then bb stretching n burrowing again.. this continues for ard 15min.. then stop.. then next 2-3hrs come again... driving mi and hb crazy.

Thanks mummies! Think I am not mentally prepared yet!! Aiyoo.. going to office now to clear some of my stuffs... My bb's name not confirm yet! Must discuss with hubby tonight.

mickey/taslyn, really weird right... suddenly the stomach feels so alien to our own touch.

bh vs contractions
i think bh will go away when u change positions but real contractions won't.

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
I brought 1 pack nia leh.. but remember i mentioned my lochia not alot.. n besides, TMC provided 2 washable undies.. so mine was enuff wor. i didnt realli stain alot

Yan
I'm feeding my boy Nan HA.

koras, heard ppl saying before before admission hor, drink 1 chicken essence. then got strength to push. hehe! just a suggestion. dunno how true lar. also got ppl say drink 2 bottle bird's nest before admission, then baby come out v nice! ^^

thanks sasa for the info. will look at enfalac, similac and nan ha. ^^

Mickey: apparently mercury can be found in vaccines as a preservative. Previously there seems to be vaccines containing it as preservative. That is why my friend told me to double check to be sure cos when she was taking her kids for jabs, she realised that polyclinic ones had mercury-based preservative. Of cos that is like 2 yrs ago. While there are concerns that the mercury-based preservatives can cause harmful side effects, it seems too that there is research to show tt it isn't a prob.

Some articles i found:
http://www.newscientist.com/channel/health/mg19726424.100-mercury-compound-makes-for-safer-jabs.html

http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/20080131/mercury_vaccines_080131?s_name=&amp;no_ads=

http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/445538

Xuanting, Taslyn: It's weird. Feels like it's not my tummy cos I had no feeling.. *yeeks* I hope this is not a sign of going into labour.. :p

Sarahmay: If there's mercury, how will we know?

Sasa: Thanks for info! SO lucky tt ur lochia is minimal!

Yan: Yeah! My friend also said to drink chicken essence before going to hospital. I packed one bottle in my hospital bag already. Hehe.

Storeberry: Dun worry abt the name yet. You still have time unless u want to rush to complete the BC at the hospital. Maybe when you hold him finally, the right name will hit you both! Don't be anxious...rber...He is in control. All will be amazingly well!

Koras: All the best too!

Xuanting: I dun get numbness at the belly button. But sometimes I do feel like my belly is going to burst!!!

Taslyn: See my previous post. Well it's not mercury per se but mercury-based preservative compound.

mickey: yup it sure feels weird... my tummy is no longer mine.. it is taken over by my girl.. i oso worry that i m going into labor though it is not time yet...

sarahmay:
hmmm.. will bear that in mind. thanks for the reminder.

storeberry:
dun worry abt the name. still hv time to think. mb when u see ur bb, the right name just pops up.

xuanting:
tats the prob lor.. i think wat i am experiencing is BH but even when i change position, the pain oso there... but suddenly after 15 min, it goes away. tat y v stressed. even hb held my tummy n told my ger not to play games with me n just give me a clear signal.

Think this q was discussed before but I missed all the posts....So what is the diff bet OCBC and Std Chart Bank for Baby Bonus Savings? Which is better?

sarahmay:
yesh the bb bonus can be used to pay for the jabs. but u must make sure that the bb bonus account has credited.

i think both banks offer similar perks just that when they launch initially there were perks like freebies given out. choose a bank which u think is more convenient for u.

The first cash payment will be credited into your nominated bank account within the 3 weeks if your child is eligible for Baby Bonus.
but for our children, how the amt is paid out is not sure yet since the details wil only be worked n in placed after jan 2009.currently it is $750 for the 1st payout.

What is a Baby Bonus Card?
If your child has a CDA, the bank will issue you, the trustee, a Baby Bonus Card. You can use this card to make NETS payments to Approved Institutions from your child's CDA for all your children.

The front of the card is printed with:
- "Baby Bonus";
- the child's name and birth certificate number;and
- the bank's logo.

The back of the card is printed with:
- the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports' (MCYS') logo; and
- "Accepted at MCYS Approved Institutions only" or "This card is accepted at MCYS Approved Institutions only".

NETS' logo may appear on the front or the back of the card. Please click here to see the Baby Bonus Card designs.

for more info:
can read from http://www.babybonus.gov.sg/bbss/html/faq.html

Sarahmay/Koras - i also packed the chicken essence. but dunno dare to drink or not. will try cos i have never drank chicken essence before! hehe!

bb jabs
thanks for the info, sarahmay.

taslyn, u mean the pain holds for 15mins? i think bh don't last that long... when will you see your doc again? if you get it again, i'd advise you to call your doc.

sri, dunno... bh also a form of contraction leh. just not labour contraction. better to ask doc.

Shazz, yes!! Its finally my last week of work! Time to rest and let my nestling instincts take over. U are really one cool mtb. Buay gan jeong one leh..whilst we are all gan jeong for u.

Xuanting, yup.. students still give pressies. Though, techically speaking, we shdnt be receiving them - bribery! ahhaha... But I'll always ask for red pens and correction tape and handmade/written cards. Else, I'll get like 10 pcs of the SAME mug with my name/ ornaments and such. Really cant make full use of them. So next time, all of u know what u shd give to ur kid's teachers hor.. haa

Storeberry!!! SO SOON!! we cant be neighbours liao! haha.. rem many moons ago, i had this dream that u, me and bigtoes were together in the same delivery ward? Anyway, jia you jia you ok!! I'm sure ur gynae knows whats he's doing. Waiting to hear good news from you.

Koras too! Jia you ok!

I'll be having my next checkup on Monday noon time at TMC. Who can I visit? Bigtoes? Kym?

sri:
the dr cannot be wrong.. esp with the CTG.

yan:
i love chicken essence... lol.. it is saltish taste. think of it as concentrated chicken stock.

die lar.. i haben pack any bag yet.. u all seem so prepared.. kekeke

<font color="119911">yan (bbfam) - u have never had chicken essence? wow...i drank that when i was studying (not by choice). Still have some in my cupboard from last year when i was admitted for surgery. This time, i am making sure that people don't give hampers with chicken essence and stuff i never end up using!

crayonshinchan - yes, i will be in TMC on monday. PM me ur mobile so i can pass u mine? I think admissions would be:
Koras + Storeberry = Friday
Me = Sat
Kym = Sun</font>

Bigtoes, i hope i can get it down my throat. i really never tried it before. just cos its black, got an impression that it taste horrid! hehehe!!!!!

wow..alot of mummies are popping now...envy lei..me still playing the waiting game at home..quite boring..now 39weeks liao..when's my turn....

xuanting:
yup.. pain can hold for as long as 15 mins.. my next dr visit is on monday.. the irritating part of it all is coz it happen only at wee hrs of the night. n i feel paiseh to disturb my gynae so late at night. my hb calls the dr so often that my gynae recognises our hp no, even address my hb by name and have dr on hb's MSN le!

crayon:
lol... 10mugs with ur name.. last time i always give 1 box of red pen to teachers. more practical lar.

mummies who are teachers in this thread:
can i write in to complain abt the pesky kids who are always screaming n running ard the common corridor? i really cannot stand my naybors kids as they are always screaming n running ard. they even play basketball when i stay @ 14th floor. n the ball flew down from 14th floor n nearly hit me when i was coming out of a cab. told the kid n parents off but still happening. :p i mean, can send gentle reminder to schools n ask school to tell the kids not to do this?

Bigtoes, not yet, today is 39w6days..

Xuanting, i have the numb numb feeling around my belly button for some time liao.. i think is because of the stretching.. i asked gynae before, he said is okie..

Storeberry &amp; Koras, have a safe &amp; smooth delivery...

Taslyn: Are the kids misbehaving while in their school uniforms? If so, you can write to the schools and c.c. MOE. That way gets the attention of the schools super fast cos MOE will often send email to school principal to pay attention to the matter raised. I know that this works cos I used to kena having to handle this kind of things in sch.

koras &amp; storeberry: noticed you're both having the same gynae! hmmn, I suspect he's making things easy for him by arranging for both of you to deliver on same day! that's just my guess, but I've heard bad things about your gynae from other threads. ;) Pray that both of you will have smooth delivery!

Jaymickey (jaymickey): think Janelle is very happy inside your tummy!

crayonshinchan: hee, perhaps I still keep thinking Sep is still some time away! hha

sarahmay:
yesh they are in school uniforms. will take your advice.. coz i am always so scared of their balls flying ard and them running around while their grandparents/parents bo chup.

Have a smooth delivery all moms over the next few days! So exciting

Yan
You should try a bottle now so u can see if u like the taste, rather than during labour...i mean u dont wanna eat something that tastes horrid to you while u are having contractions right? Me, I love chicken essence!

Bigtoes, storeberry and koras, i've pmed u girls my mobile number.. I'll pop by after my checkup at TMC on monday. Koras, u are at TMC rite? But then again, Koras might be discharged by then. Hopefully storeberry will still see my PM later..

Taslyn, really no joke to open up ur pressies and see the same mugs over and over again.haha.. esp when my name is quite common on those kind of mugs.

Aiya, u write in oso no point. Kids will still be kids. Protective parents will still be protective parents. hhahah.. There's nothing much the school WILL do except to remind pupils to behave when they are in school uniform lor. Out of sch uniform, there's nothing schools can do. Or rather nothing schools will do.

Saraymay, u have to do those shitty job? Yew!

Shazz, errr sept is like 3days away? hahaha