(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sunrays
OMG! U are the first to POP in this thread!!! Do us proud ok!!?
All the best to a smooth delivery!! Keep us posted leh!
How are u feeling now actually? Nervous or not???

Springz
I haben plan for my ML… I told boss I shall work till e day I deliver cos if I nua at home and if anything happen, I can only rely on my bear bear nia.
At least in office, still got colleague who can help me :p

I too haven't plan for my ML, cos I am the only admin staff in my office, new girl haven't come yet, I decide to work all the way, cos my office is much nearer to KKH than my house, if i had chose tmc, it will be even near cos my office is in balestier.

sunrays, sasa,
hv a smooth delivery!!

Went for my 37th week 4 days gynae checkup yesterday. gynae said baby is half engaged already

dun be sad and upset by the article in Today paper on "Come next year..."

I have emailed the paper and also the journalist and this is the reply from them:

"Hello,

"come next year" refers to the fact that the measures are expected to effect next year. DPM Wong will announce the full package and the details this week. I hope that clears it up?

Yanqin"

So cheer up wait for the details of the press conference by DPM Wong today.

cloud/qiuling: i've also been on ML since yesterday...Been waking up really late and napping a lot. In fact, I just woke up from my nap!

Yesterday, I went for my facial (after 2 mths!). Didn't really enjoy it cos the beautician cautiously skipped a lot of massage steps for fear of inducing early labour! Wasted my $80.

sasa de mouse: Wow, U popped today?!!! Congrats!! At what time?

sunrays: good to hear that you'll be popping really soon

And followed by Bigtoes next week right? Ive kinda lost track...

Wong Kan Seng's speech is on 19 Aug right? Who says it's 20 Aug?

Mrs Yap: yah, I am also asking my DH whether the 6-day CCL applies to pp who pop before the mysterious effective date...

The 4mth ML is too generous. I am thinking if this is going to deter employers from hiring moms...

Just curious, those who kenna tested Strep B "positive": Is it cos u all hv been having regular sex during your pregnancy?

Mei: did u use that little EGG WASHING MACHINE u bought for your bb clothes? My DH wants to buy a separate washer for bb's clothes, but I told him not to waste $. He finds it a hassle to rinse the drum before washing bb's clothes each time...

IRONING BB's CLOHES: Do u mommies iron bb's rompers after washing them?

The weather has been quite wet these 2 days. My bb's clothes doesn't seem to be 100% dry, even though I tumble-dried them for 10 min (in case they shrink). Maybe I should just iron them lah...

SarahMay: when is your hb coming back to Singapore? Hv u bought your Ikea cot yet?

Isabelle/Jaymickey: I thot both of u are in your 38w+ already? U shd be popping soon too!!!! How exciting!!!

MOONCAKES: Just to digress...can we take cognac/champagne mooncakes? My parents bought me a box from Raffles Hotel. How?

Bigtoes: When u were there for your fibroid surgery, did u recall if TMC provided adaptors for patients? Why if my phone charger cannot be plugged in the powerpoint in the ward?

<font color="119911">Hmm..quite disappointing...so no goodies for us at all...guess it makes sense since they want to encourage couples to try for kids, dont really care about those that are expecting already!

Sunrays - jiayou! Hope your delivery is quick &amp; smooth!

We should update this list from Shazz, so we know who is popping next:
#1 - Jen-Kate 19/08
#2 - sunray 20/08
#3 - skinny_pig and Bigtoes on 30/08
#4 - ?????</font>

Flos (flos) - nope, don't think there would provide adaptors. Anyways, its just a regular power socket - why do u need an adaptor?

Am wondering if their wireless in the room would allow for multiple logins actually. e.g. if hubby and i are both online at the sametime...or if we have to pay twice.

Wow...u oso power leh...
read other months thread and some said that its its going to take effect next year...then might as well dun announce it too soon if not we still have time to voice out...n put up appeal...:>>Hehehe

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) : you're right! will get to see how accurate the 3D scan is. After seeing the 3D pictures, now when my gynae scan and show me the 2D ones, I'm like not excited anymore! haha, last week she printed out the side profile of Eamon, the eye socket area looks so big but it does look like the 3D ones. Very soon, we'll seeing our babies in flesh! how exciting!

Our sep mummies are doing great! Sasa should be the first to pop, she's already past 37 weeks I think, so is sunrays.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): is your baby engaged already? if so, you can be next to get induced cos of your GD.

Just had meeting with my boss, asking me to submit leave form even though I'm planning to work till I pop. But like he said, better to submit an unofficial letter first, since anything can happen.

Flos
It's not really nec to wash the drum before you wash baby's clothes. We didn't last time rounf. Also we didnt iron cos we had no help and getting the clothes clean was all that was important...

shazz,
gynea said junior's head is down but not engaged yet..he is gg to induce 5 sept if no contractions or whatever so happens within these 2 weeks. I heard induction is v painful..so am praying for natural contraction. But hope to deliver 1 sept onwards cos i like sept bb
How abt u? engaged?

I already submitted my ML form stating 5 sept as EDD.

flos,
bb rompers, i dont iron them, just fold them after they are dry..

mooncakes, i love them! but dont think i will take those alcohol types..just to play safe

ava/bacon&amp;eggs: but it was raining the day before and yesterday, so the rompers feel a bit damp and 'chilled'...

I quite regret buying those 14 rompers from Mothercare. The cotton, albeit good quality, is kinda thick...Bb will feel hot, won't he? Those from Kiddy Palace are better cos they are thinner.

Hey, those without maids or inlaws/parents help, who's cooking for u and DH? I'm soooo tired going out to buy makan. Should I order tingkat instead?

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): Eamon's head was down for past 3 mths but not engaged as at last week. But my tummy seems to have gone down slightly, so hopefully he's half engaged by next mon when I see my gynae. Induction, pain is relative for different people. Some react real quickly to the pill, while some take a longer time and higher dosage. My hubby is hoping baby will be out on 1 sep.
I dun mind him bring out anytime from tomorrow onwards cos he'll officially be full term tomorrow.
My tummy is so huge now, people are asking if I'm having twins! I've gained 17kg so far.

Flos: I had to skip my favourite champagne truffles from Raffles hotel this year due to the pregnancy.

crayonshinchan, i'm really happy that i'm on leave now, can bum at home watching my HK dramas. I feel a bit bad that my colleagues have to cover my duties but no choice..

Flos (flos) - yes, better to bring your own adaptor.
On wifi - there is no free wireless @sg in the room, so we can't use the IDA logins. Have to pay per use based on 24 hour blocks (like hotel rooms).

Flos
Tingkat is a good idea!!! otherwise you'll end up semi-starving yourself like I did...which is NOT fun. You wanna meet tomorrow for brunch? still looking for kaki leh after gynae visit for robinsons shopping and before salon visit

shazz, me too stomach so big that i have ppl asking me if I'm having twins.hehehe...
Currently at week 37.Counting down too...

Anybody experience the leg(below tighs) getting tensed up?Like something pulling?Hopefully is not contractions hehehe...

Flos,

Your insider info very accurate leh. 4 mths ML!!
So the WKS press conference today or tomorrow? My hubby was so disappointed that paternity leave was not extended.

Tingkat --- I ordered that after delivering J#1. Got so sian of it after a while. Thereafter, my MIL helped to look after J#1 cos of my tendonitis problem. So I finally get to eat home-cooked food again!!

SnowWhite80 (snowwhite80) : i find that when I straighten my legs when I'm lying in bed, I tend to get cramps! So these days, I keep my legs bent! haha

Flos, haa.. are u referring to now? I dont know why i am soooo super domesticated! I still cook for hb and myself every night and every other day, I'll be baking away.

Like wat lok says, tingkat can get boring after a while even though their menu is always changing. I was sick of it after 2wks! Dont know why, but they always seem to taste the same and oily oso!

Shazz/snow white, me too! Everyone asks the same thing. "are u sure u are not carrying twins?"

Cloud, i know wat u mean. These 2 days i'm on sick leave too! And I'm enjoying it lor! Maybe I shd just apply to start ML starting next wk!

Leg cramps
You can get this just sitting down too, cos circulation is affected when you sit for long time and also cos of the extra weight of baby.

Prenatal massage is the only thing that has kept my leg cramps away so far. the first time i was massaged I felt this lumpy feeling in my legs being smoothed out and have not had cramps since. i have prenatal massage once a week now to keep cramps away and to just have some relaxing "me time"

shazz, crayon and snowwhite
You should ask them to look at my belly pics before they ask if u are carrying twins! Just print out a pic and carry in your pocket! Joking lah...!

crayonshinchan: I added you on LJ! ;) but I hardly post. found your addy thru someone's link, hope you dun mind. hee, i love the way you write! so funny!

Ava (avalyn): I think my tummy is 3/4 of yours! but I'm having a singleton! lol

Yeah, I'm getting off work and heading to kenko for massage!

I have a set of 2 months old breast pump to let go. The set consists of
1. 1 set amenda lactaline personal breastpump ($388)
2. 1 pair of supershields
3. 1 set of orginal handfree strip
(item 2 and 3 total $70)
4. A pair of additional valve for the pump ($16)
5. 1 breastfeeding pillow ($69)
6. first few year milk storage bag
I am selling this whole bundle at a price of $390
Interested party, please pm me.....Thanks!

shazz,
i am hoping for 1 sept too
your pelvic bone still hurting? mine is unbearable..even walking is tough now..i have gained 14kgs so far..

flos,
can cook some simple food at home like mee sua, sandwiches or just soup..i work from home and would usually cook for myself..u can get tired of tingkat meals after a while. I tried that before last time..gave up after 2 mths..

bigtoes,
will we have time to surf the net in the hospital? i am bringing camera and videocam not my laptop..

Ava, haa.. I tot I look normal wat. (i'm not saying ur not!!hee) But just don understand why pple kept saying I'm very big! Even my MIL.

shazz, sure not a prob. Sometimes my frens will say its a reading pleasure cos I'll usually have heaps of funny stuff to write abt my hb. (but that was in another blog when i was more "hardworking" then.. aha)

Phew! I just finished packing my hospital bag...left my bb's rompers which are still bring dried on the rack...lousy weather.

shazz: Actually, I'm almost going to order those from St Regis, but I'm not sure if I hv the stomach to stomach them
I popped one rum chocolate my dad got me from Hokkaido!! Oops...is baby intoxiated?

Ava: TMR? Nah...I dun think I can drag myself out of the bed now, dear!!! Why will u be at Raffles City? Thot Dr Paul's at TMC? Which salon r u visiting?

cloud: u watching DVDs? I'm watching Olympics...

Lok: Hmmm, come to think of it, it can be rather boring after a while. When we were young, my mom used to order tingkat cos she was working. We got sick after eating tingkat for a year!!! Worse, when we wanted to go out to eat fastfood or western meals, we had to store the tingkat food for the following day

I won't say I've 'insider' info, but I do know people in the Nat'l Population Secretariat, MOM, and the Public Service Division Personnel Policy dept. (PS: I dun work for any of these!)

Not sure if it's Jan09 or Sep09.

crayon: u r still cooking? Your fingers are still flexible to cut the food? I just did my laundry and I'm cramping down there now! Need to sit down to rest...

Crayon: why r u on sick leave? u hvn't entered your 36th week meh?

In the end, did u buy a cot? Or will u be letting your bb sleep on the platform bed?

Inducing natural birth

These few days have been thinking of when my Rachael is coming out from mummy's tummy! Like most of the mummies here, I am also badly affected by the pain at my pelvic muscle area..the pain is really killing me! I was wondering if I can request from my gynae to induce the baby by this weekend, since I am already in my 37th week now. Has anyone tried asking their gyane for such advices? I can't wait to see my BB...have been on ML since Monday, but staying at home is really boring even if there is a lot of entertainment ard..the excitement is making me so enxious!

IKEA baby cot

Has anyone bought the IKEA baby cot? Initially, my HB and I only bought the playpen to suffice as a cot too, but I was thinking of buying a proper cot for her. HB wants to save $$ and we also heard from frens saying that they spent $$ on cot, but the baby does not sleep in the cot after a few months. Also, the cots selling at the dept stores are quite expensive, so considering the IKEA one..mummies, any take on that??

mobilesuitegal (mobilesuitegal) - the ikea cot is not standard sized (abit smaller than usual) - so the only place where u can get bedsheets that fit would be back in ikea. Actually, pricing wise is not that much of a difference? You can get $200+ cots at places like Kiddy Palace as well.

Flos - u meant to say "Not sure if it's Jan09 or Sep08?" (not Sept09)? If its really Sept 08, then I would push back my elective C to Sept!

haa.. flos, yup i am still cooking and baking.. but one thing's for sure though.. i am very clumsy now.. keep dropping things..

i want to stay as mobile as i can in the hope for an easier delivery! its fantasy on my part lar!

as for MC, i dono leh. gynae gave me 2days to rest and tmr I submit to sch and see what they say lor.

haa.. now i've got 2cots at home. One small one and one big one. Both hand me downs from my sis and bro. Planning to bring the small one over to my in law's plce

Limay,

Thanks for your suggestion! I was flipping thru the IKEA catalogue, so happened to see the cot that they advertised in the book. I went to Kiddy palace to check out before, also at least $200..guess that is the market price for baby's cots. I am also afraid of getting the shaky type, lest it endangers my gal's safety..

mobilesuitegal (mobilesuitegal),
i saw an ikea baby cot selling at $75 at aleaxandra ikea.. i think they having some sale there.. not sure if the ikea at pasir ris having the sale. if u looking for cheap baby cots, then $75 is quite a good deal.

<font color="0077aa">Flos: No need to iron bb's clothes. I have enough ironing for daddy's ones! Oh just saw your post, if damp damp then iron abit? So no confirmation whether its Jan or Sep08??

bacon&amp;egg: I want a sept bb also!
Have to discuss with hubby today on the date first...

mobilesuitegal: Think Ikea cot is not cheap either. I am think either get a playpen or a cot that can be converted to a toddler bed. I have a cot from BIL buit can only last 1 few mths.

Crayon: So you resting these few days? Wow still baking now! I am lazy to even touch the wok! I want to try doing the mashmallow cake, seem quite easy but never get down to doing it!</font>

Flos
Lazybones!!!
Hey, my first preg I stayed in front of TV all day for 3 weeks then had a very difficult labour...you might wanna consider doing some light exercise, maybe in the pool if you ahve one near by as water is more supportive (not swimming if you can't manage that, but just moving around).

Going to Robinsons Centrepoint to use my vouchers, then going to Essensuals at Starhub Centre which is where i used to go for cuts but not a major chop. just tidy up and fringe cut only. Maybe highlights altho I prefer my colourist at Quest, Raffles City ...:p

then going to my podiatrist to get rid of my scaly heels, which I've wanted to do for months now...

tummy size
Think it depends on what you wear lah ladies...shazz, u may be 3/4 my tummy size, but I am 1-2 weeks behind you in terms of dates...imagine if I last till 40 weeks! Wont be able to move!

mobilesuitegal (mobilesuitegal), stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg)

the $75 bb cot pasir ris ikea oso got sell.. i bou 1 ytd.. still got stock... beri beri simple 1 loh... 120cm by 60cm...

BUT the cheaper mattress no more liao leh.. i bou 1 mattress at $90... thick one.... seems not bad....

<font color="0077aa">UPDATE: Sasa has popped!!!!!! At 1532, little Max is healthy at 2.935kg, normal with epi. Congrats Sasa!!!</font>

storeberry,
thanks for updating us!

congrats sasa!!!!

flos,
yeah. get off your bed and MOOOOOVE. my friend just gave birth today at mt a. was induced yesterday and today had contractions, felt need to push and she said within minutes, bb was out liao. and i think it was such an easy delivery for her coz she did pregnancy pilates. exercise really helps in smooth delivery. and hers is a boy at 3.67kg. natural without epi.

<font color="0077aa">Ava: I feel like going to Taka but lazy to go to towm with ERP &amp; parking! And have to go back office to settle some stuffs also... If I "xin xue lai chao" will sms you.. Keke..

Jasmine Yeo: You work at balestier too? Where about?

Alabone: Wow, natural without epi is awesome!</font>

wah.. congrats Sasa...

flos, yupz.. i have a lot of shows to watch, since the badminton is already over don't have much interest in the olympics..

i try to go for a short walk everyday and so some stretching, hoping for an easier delivery..