(2008/09) Sep 2008

I know the thread will definitely be discussing this..

Re 4mths ML: I hear it's given to mums whose babies are born on or after 1 Jan 09 only..

Did the 2004 baby bonus take effect immediately? I think first time mums here must be anxious if we are considered inside the package!!?

We are just the group right at the brim~~~ so exciting

Goldfish: This is what I heard. May have some truth since the 4th mth is going to be paid by the govt, this means they need to put in place the system first. That's prob why it can't be effective immediately..

Goldfish: Of course I hope it'll take effect immediately..

Mickey
I thot the additional 4 weeks can be taken during 1st year of birth?

How abt paternity leave?
I thot is 1 week paid leave for infants up to 2 years.. if its unpaid, might as well dun give.

Mrs Yap: Think out of 16weeks, the last 8weeks will be flexible - can take anytime during the 12 mths from birth. Still, there will be an "effective" date which this benefit kicks in.

<font color="0077aa">Definitely hoping it to take effect immediately!! When is Wong Kan Seng's speech? Aiyoo.. keep us in suspense!

Thanks Goldfish &amp; Alabone~! Will continue to trust in the LORD!</font>

I think #3 is unpaid infant care leave per year to be taken by either parent for child up to 2YO. PM said it's for "inoculation" etc. purpose.

I agree with Mrs Yap. My DH also said might as well dun give cos it's UNPAID.

We're disappointed that paternity leave is not increased.

Childcare leave up to 6 days for either parents is quite good.

Also, there'll be more IVF subsidy, tax incentives, first-time parents bonus, telecommuting to be encouraged, etc.

Well, no point speculating. Impt is: EFFECTIVE DATE??

Mickey is right. The 4th month ML, like the current 3rd mth, is flexible; to be taken anytime within the year, based on your agreement with your employer.

Both months will be paid by MCYS.

Wong KS' speech will be this weekend, if I didn't hear PM wrongly...

went to see gynae today... baby is 2.8kg at 36weeks.
already fixed c-sec date on 2sep 2008. but if baby want to out earlier, I will try natural delivery.(hopefully not)

I also havent find chinese name for my boy.. any mummies here know good fengshui master for naming baby ?

Ava
I found out that I'm strep B positive when I had an yeast infection. I did not do the test the last round, this time it's just lucky that I found out early. And I guess it maybe due to the infection. They just take a swap and cultured it, results will be known in 5 days.

I think strep B test in compulsory in the west. A girl friend of mine did not know she was step B positive and the bacteria was passed to her baby during delivery. Couple of days later, he developed breathing difficulties and they rushed him to A&amp;E, only after series of test did doctors discovered the cause. He has to be jabbed daily with antibotics for a while to clear the bacteria.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/groupbstrep/

Isabelle
No, I don't have a doula for both times. I only attended the course. Did you go for it?
Who's your gynae?

Dogs &amp; Babies
I let my dog play with my girl under close supervision when she knows how to walk so that she can defend herself. I think dogs have this instinct that there is a new family member and will grow to love and protect the baby, so long as you don't show favoritism when both are present.

4th mth maternity leave:
i can't keep my baby inside until jan!!! it must be implemented with immediate effect!!! and yes. it is one week unpaid leave taken by either parent. what's the point...

and i was disappointed they didn't increase the number of paternity leave.

In 2004 when the govt announce 8 wks to 12 wks Maternity Leave they implement this. Hopefully it will take effect in Aug for this yr too.

Who are eligible
Your employee’s child is:
1. A Singapore citizen at the time of birth.
2. Born on or after 1 Aug 04 or whose Estimated Date of Delivery is on or after 1 Aug 04.
4. Born on or after 1 Oct 04 (mandatory)

Hmm.... Non mandatory for clause 1 &amp; 2? Must be based on Employers' consent izit? Anyone know anything abt this?

alabone,

PATERNITY LEAVE: yep, so much for talking abt himself (fathers) helping to fold/change nappies, etc. the burden/responsibility still falls on the shoulders of women, as evident in the 16 weeks ML!

what's the point of citng Nordic countries as e.g? Those countries give long paternity leave...

the unpaid infant care leave is really useless, might as well take own annual leave or CCL? Fancy getting your one day wages deducted for taking your kid to the PD for vaccination? chey...

Mrs Yap: When did PM announce the 12 wks ML? May Day 2004? Budget Day 2004? Or National Day 2004? I wasn't in Singapore that year, so kindly fill me in
tks!

Flos
Ya.. the unpaid infant care "benefit" is really quite BO LIAO... equivalent to nothing. My hb was saying he can take up to 1 mth unpaid if he wants to... no pt telling yr boss u are taking these leaves becos of the infant lor.

Opps... i dunno which day he announce leh... I assume its National Day 2004.

Mrs Yap, Hopefully employer will recognise this 16weeks from Aug.Heard that this scheme is still subjected to employer approval...

There's a few numbers to call to check?Anyone who can speak can ask when will it take effect?

Hi mummies!!
sorry to interupt..
I have a Quinny Zapp for sale.Still under warranty from Robinsons My daughter refuse to sit in it, have to buy another stroller for her. it comes with matching infant seat as well.
(Bright Pink for both )
email me if u r keen.

;-) for those who watched the rally, din u realise that after he announced the unpaid leave thingy, there was an awkward silence and pause for a couple of seconds before someone clapped?

I think pple there were puzzled as well
I for one, was thinking if i'd heard wrongly. unpaid?

I expected more esp the paternity leave. But then again, we shdnt be grumbling much cos 16wks is still better than 12wks.. haaa.. Of cse who will reject more leave rite?
Since he allows more freedom of speech now, lets gather all mtb to stage a rally to increase paternity leave.. haha...

So exciting, tmr bigtoes and sunrays will be delivering rite? Then followed by kym right?

My gynae bluff me leh.. she said i might deliver this wk but so far i've got no feelings yet! NVM, enjoying my 2days stay at home!

Exactly, so weird, I thought I heard wrongly &amp; I asked my hubby &amp; he also heard unpaid. Really no point what..

Flos
Yeah, when he was talking about the father changing nappies &amp; stuff, I thought he was going to mention the paternity leave issue, but sadly.. no!

crayon
Bigtoes is having her C-section next week. As for sunrays, she says most likely tomorrow but have not heard any update from her yet.

Meie, oops.. i tot i remembered bigtoes mentioning 20/08 and kym 21/08.

my hb also sat up when he started talking abt changing diapers and all. I think hb was kind of disappointed that "he" was not included in the package! haha..

Unpaid Leave: I think it'll benefit those who have used up their AL or have very little AL to begin with. In this case, if the baby is sick, they will then have to take unpaid leave, and if govt implements this, then there is no way the employer can turn down the leave. I guess so bhah..

For those in the teaching service, what do u think of this clause?

*At the family level, parents (whether father or mother) can now take paid leave of up to six days - up from two - to care for children under seven years old. *

Actually, from wat i remembered, this shd be no questions asked kind of leave. Just apply and go. But my sch P will ask why? why? why? and she has rejected some of my colleagues. So nobody bothers about this at all.

<font color="119911">Morning mommies - went to gyne yest for my 36w5d appnt - baby Kieran is now a sizeable 2.811kg!

crayonshinchan - nope - i am delivering on the 30th
Next Sat! Dreamt that i delivered yesterday (18th) last nite thou....

4th month of maternity leave &amp; extended childcare leave to 6 days - wonder when that would take effect? Hopefully would be applicable for babies born in Aug!!!</font>

hi all mummies,

i'm still lurking around this thread.
feeling so tired everyday, also no mood to work in office. so envy those who already on maternity leave. still got 1 month to go before mine starts.

baby bonus and maternity leave
really hope we'll be eligible for these new benefits. thought that they will increase paternity leave but don't have. i also find the unpaid infant care leave quite redundant. but like mickey said, it could be for protecting those people whose employer very ngiao with letting their employees who want to go on unpaid leave for their children.

<font color="119911">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - on milk powder, i have a can of Similac and one of Frisio for 0-6 months (900gm) for standby.

Taslyn (nana_moby)- yes, the hosp charges for everything. Same with TMC. I had my fibroid removed at TMC last year, &amp; was telling mommies here earlier that they took photos of the fibriod for me (4R) and charged $20 per photo!!

Oh, so Wong Kan Seng has a press conference today? Don't have to wait till this weekend then. Quite weird that they extended the ML to 16 weeks, but nothing on paternity leave. Would just discourge employers from hiring married women....but at least there is childcare leave of 6 days up to 7 years old.</font>

I sidetrack abit hoh
Btw, any one out there heard abt RICE WINE – MI JIU?
Actually can we consumed RICE WINE if we are doing breastfeeding? As in cook food with rice wine liddat??
I just ordered 10 bottles according to CL requirements and was like OPPS.. scully cos I breastfeed so cannot use leh!!

I just went for my 39 week check up yest.
Baby's head still half engaged and my EDD is this sat.
Dr said by next sat 30/08 @ 41 week still no signs of labour, he's going to induce me

So exciting! Can;t wait to know when they will implenet the leave. Mebbe I can have a third kid! Hee hee. But I dun expect to enjoy the 4 mths leave leh... Think It's too late for us...

storeberry
oh dear. Mebbe u can try going down on all fours (like doggy) to encourage baby to turn. This position gives baby more space to turn.
Or try talking to ur baby more and bond more with him
At the worst, change to a gynae who is comfortable doing breech deliveries? But this seems a rather drastic step to take unless u really really want natural birth...
God Bless

sunnysunny
yep attended the course. The doula package comes with the course. Did it work for u? Cos my fren went but she was too lazy to practise and in the end she couldn't relax and and ended up with forceps and epidural...

Chatted with Sunrays yesterday..she's inducing tonight for her 20082008 delivery
so exciting!!!

wingkei
apricot poodle sounds damn cute
my mom has a white poodle. quite good with my son, altho she doesnt see him often as my parents stay in JB. never barks at him (she is not barky in general but always barks at strangers walking past our door) and let's him tease her quite a bit, even tho she's quite the manja kind and we thot she'd be jealous
In fact she goes up to the door to greet us when she smells us coming up th staircase outside my parents' apartment

OMG… quite a handful of u are going to deliver soon.. bigtoes lah.. sunrays TOMORROW and skinnypig!
Gosh.. it is getting very real liao leh.. as in we are ALL delivering soon!

JIA-YOU first to SUNRAYS who are delivering tomorrow!!!

IMPLEMENTATION DATE
I will find the govt petty if they announce implementation date to be next year or wat lo.. it shld be with immediate effect lo I feel.
Since they are pumping in $700million, what difference does it makes to implement now and not later lo.
It will just make pple like us ‘neither here or there’ feel unbalanced lo

Sigh just sms-ed my hubby that 2 from this thread wrote that implementation date is 1 Jan 09 for 4th month ML.. his reply was "that's what I heard as well!!!"
groan.. so sorry, forgot to share with you all that he heard from friends about the 4th month ML last wed...

me now on mc wif flu. Thursday going for 36wk checkup! At 34 wks, baby was 2.3kg (grew from the 1.6kg at 32 wks!)

Anyway I also can't comprehend why there was so much talk about fatherhood and studying European policies - onli raise our hopes!!!

New ML effective date
Well, objectively speaking, since the measures are to encourgae women to have more kids, it doesnt make sense to incentivise people like us who are already pregnant and about to pop...but maybe i'm just a sourpuss cos i dont get extra benefits anyway being a PR

Ava, your poodle sounds cute too.
Well, mine would be more afraid of kids than the other way round. She's rather timid and we hardly let her out of the house so where are the bacteria that will supposedly be on her that will spread to my baby? That is why I am always against the older generation talking and sharing too much 'useful information'. It wil only cause more harm. My MIL even hinted to me that her friend gave up her dog when her daughter got pregnant. She certainly can't expect my family to give up the dog cos of my baby, and moreover, it's more of my family's dog than mine, the most is I will see her once a week. So I really don't see any issue there.