(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sri Leo
Even at 1cm now, u never know how long/short it will take to go to full dilation...but good that u r in hosp already so they will monitor you closely. All the best!

<font color="0077aa">Goldfish: I just got it at my hardware shop downstairs, cost $20 for my Ameda breastpump.

Singapore got Silver!! Was so exciting! But China is so strong!

Sri Leo: Glad that the doctor is monitoring you in hospital. Update us!

Any news on National rally?</font>

Bigtoes
Saw ur pix. Wow.. ur bb tummy looks 'huge' in comparison to mine!!!

Ava
Is ur medela pump model PIS Advanced? I was told by the DIY fella that the US original plug is abit complicated and was advised to ensure all the voltage requirements are met to prevent any damage to the equipment. He made it sound like majiam beri 'scary-case' liddat

Bt urs haf tested and proven ok liao rite?

Storeberry
Nothing abt rally cos postponed to 2mr at 8pm. Haiz.. wat a wait!

Isabelle
I'm a die hard fan of California babies, my girl is soaked in CB head to toe. Haha... I also like the calendula.

You have a doula this time too? Ginny? I attended the hypnobirthing for my first pregnancy.

Ava
Dr Paul is very pro-natural and drug free, yah. I think he's very confident cos most gynae may have said yes the moment you mention elective C-sect, makes their life easier. He did not suggest induction when my girl was not out at 41 weeks and she 'showed up' right after that visit

sunnysunny

everytime i went got the 'itchiness' to scan lei even though i told myself cannot...scan for awhile $30++ liao lei..nothing much..haiz..but 2morow i will scan i tink coz these few days bb not much movement..minimal..hope nothings wrong...i oso doing strep B this time round..for my #1 i nv do b4..since dr paul say do,then do lor..hehe..hope its negative...btw,dun tink my itchness is due to stretching...shd be PUPP i tink..coz quite bad lah...

bigtoes

i oso got a call from friso n they said will send me a sample..for my #1 also the same...i shd be using friso as FM also...

Goldfish,

I have the US version PIS Advanced too. It has been used over 2 yrs by myself and a friend. My friend even sent it to the SG distributor for checks and it's still in working order. Bought my AC converter (~$30) from First Few Years in Paragon. It will definitely work because they have customers (US expats) who specifically asked for the US model so it can be used back home. The salesgirl did say I can just go to any DIY shop to ask for the converter (it's a converter, not just an adaptor).

storeberry,
PM only spoke about fertility and marriage issues in Spore..no mention of any specific bb bonus package
maybe details will come later...

I am excited and proud of Spore's silver medal win..when Spore flag was raised at the victory ceremony...i was touched..

xuanting,
i fear about the same issue as you too - introducing my bb to furkid. She has always been a possessive pup..not sure how she will react when i bring bb home. I have let her sniff ard bb's nursery alot these days..sometimes also let her sleep underneath bb's cot bed..hope that helps..

Sunnysunny
*hi five* for my first born, I wasn't induced after 40 weeks either and my FB son was born just around 41 weeks.

Angeline
My tummy is super itchy too now...also worried it's PUPPP, altho not spots, but the stretch mark type. I think I read somewhere that that's the other kind of PUPPP...gonna research that now, then check with doc this wed.

Goldfish
Yes, mine is the PIS Advanced. As Lok said, it is a converter, as the current needs to be stepped down in SG, not just an adaptor

xuanting, so your newborn baby and your dog will be together in your house? I have a dog in my parents' place which my MIL knows about. Until now, she keeps telling me and my hubby, NOT to let our baby near the dog cos of infections, will cause asthma problems, etc until she is much much older. Whenever she tells me about it, I will just turn a deaf ear to her, and she knows it, so she turns to telling my HB, and reminding him at every opportunity. I'm so afraid that my HB will not allow me to bring my baby to visit my parents at least once a week until like she is 6 months old or something and he will insist that they can only come to our place instead. I really hate all those old aunties who know nothing but think they know a lot. I know my MIL has been hearing from her friends that we should not let the baby near a dog. So what are your views? Do you think it is not ok to let a dog near a baby?

Hi wingkei
I dont have a dog but my mum's family has had dogs for decades, either outside or inside the house, and there have been 2 generations of babies (my generation and now my cousins' kids etc) -actually can consider it 3 generations as some of my cousins are like 12-15 years older than me - growing up in that house with no allergies or any infections. My dog lover friend also says exposure at young age prevents allergies later on, but she was also trying to get me to adopt one at the time

try researching online, and if you find positive responsses, print out results and show your hb/MIL. My main concern would be friendliness of the dog to babies (tendency to attack/be a bit rough) rather than the cleanliness issue, as I think most of us would ensure the dogs/pets are clean before letting them near our babies anyway...

hi hi morning ladies.. how was ur wkend?
I'm on 2 days medical leave ;-)
Shiok!

Went for my 37th wk scan on Sat.
Did the CTG and detected mild contractions.
Gynae checked and mentioned that my cervix has softened and opened but not dilated.
She said MIGHT deliver anytime this week.

Super stressed me and hb out! haaha..
and we finally bucked up and got all that we'd been procrastinating done yesterday!

But as of now, i do not feel any contractions leh. Will it really be that soon? She even asked me to coax and talk to baby and aim for 20082008 hahaha...

oh ya, and gynae mentioned that my amniotic fluid is hovering at the borderline! And I totally forgot to ask her what shd i be watching out for! Cos the next appt is 1wk away..Anyone has any idea?

wingkei, we have a 13yrs old family dog at my parents' place. And my 4 nephews and nieces (from 1yr old to 3.5ys old) all grew up there. Together with the dog.
They play with the dog, disturb the dog, sayang the dog and at times even share (!!!!) their food with the dog.

As with kids, they have their usual colds and coughs which is definitely not due to the dog's fur and watnots.

Ava and crayonshinchan, I also agree that children should be exposed to dogs at a young age, somehow feel that it will strangthen their immune system. And also, they will learn to like and treasure living things, not 'torture' them as some children can do. However, I don't know how to convince my HB/MIL of that. Haiz...

alabone (alabone)
its not really that painful, but as far as i know if your gynae is skillful in the stitching it shouldnt be too painful. My gynae ia quite well known for his stitching skill though...

wingkei.. ahah.. errmm.. treasure ah.. I don think the kids have learnt to treasure our empress dowager at home.
Kids being kids, they treat her more like a toy!Have to keep reminding them to treat her with TLC else will pain pain.. hahaa..

But one thing's for sure, its really good to expose them to animals when they are younger so that they don get squeamish whenever they see cats/dogs etc. Even I was afraid of cats,dogs,hamsters (basically anything furry) until I had my dog 13yrs ago.

hi hi crayonshin

how does contractions feel like? i have been having menses cramp like pains these couple of days and the occasional sharp pain and it keeps me up the last few nights. izit contractions? my gynae also mentioned my cervix very soft and should deliver within the week or so. so excited.

What is strep B tests? infection at v? What are the signs to look out for?
How much do they charge for the tests?Does it take very long to know the results?"

Oh, and I'm thinking of asking my gynae infront of my HB whether it's fine to allow my baby near the dog? But I'm not really sure what her answer will be. What do you all think? Cos at least if I have a positive answer from her, then I will have something to back me up and my HB can't say anything much either.

preggie, I have no idea how contractions feel like leh! haaa.. I guess its like menses cramps and some tightening? And frens always tells me, "aiya, u'll know when it comes lar"... oh well.. haha.. so far i dont know yet..

I think i'll wait til i feel the same kind of pain getting more intense within a shorter time frame then decide if its contractions.

hi snowwhite / ava

strep b test is actually a vaginal scrap test to check for infections etc which may be harmful if you are going thru natural birth. Normally done at the 36th week onwards. Similar to papsmear. If positive then gynae will prescribe antiboitics to combat the infection to prevent harm to baby. i paid $70 for the test and results out within 5 - 7 days. Gynae explained the results at my last weekly visit

I did the strep B tests 2wks back and if i rem what my gynae said, she said that its to test for vaginal infection (but not the usual yeast infection). Cos if +ve, when baby passes thru the birth canal, they will get infected with menigitis (or something) etc. There's no medicine to take if +ve. They'll put u on some antibiotic drip during delivery.

That's if i rem correctly!
I think this doesnt affect those going for C section

crayon

haha okok same for me . i keep thinking is this it .... and then the pain goes away. the pain always comes at night and after meals. farnie. maybe the food is pushing baby down .
but its exciting coz hub and i keep telling ourselves this could be the night .....

sri - take care... do update us... have a safe, smooth delivery in case bb really does come in earlier...

wingkei:
hmmm... i have 2 puppies (coming to 10 mths n 6mths) at home currently.... i currently stay with PILs.. but shifting out once 7th mth is over (thank god)... and ur hb's wait and see attitude is abit like mine (he only ordered bb's cot last week.. lol)
dogs n babies are always a taboo to the older folks... they think that dog's fur can cause asthma where in actual fact they dun! it is cat's fur...
it is said n proven that children exposed to animals will hv stronger immunity and live longer.. we hv problems communicating to PIL abt the dogs being ard.. n they oso v bu shuang abt having the dogs ard but i dun give 2 hoots to them and hb is supportive of me having the dogs (i told him that they can calm me down else i will go crazy staying with the nonsense i hv to put up with pil)
the thing is, we hv to monitor the dog's movements ard the baby coz the dogs can get jealous and there are reports of doggies (larger breeds eg husky, GR) mauling the newborn/children to death...
try to google some reports to show ur hb...
i know a lady who has 4 dogs (maltese and yorkie) and 4 children (ages ranging 1-10yo) living happliy with her kids being very healthy, no asthma or watsoever...and the kids all grew up with the dogs ard from their mummy being preggy n all til now..
what is the breed of the dog u have and the temperment of the dog is impt... n always make sure there is someone ard to supervise when doggie is near bb...

I am at week 37 this week. Went to see gynae last week but i was not told to do this test.Only told to do swap test??next coming monday.week 38 leow...dunno will be too late or not...:>

hee.. preggie, i guess that's how first time parents will feel. "so is this it?" "is this the real thing?" LOL.. so funny and exciting!

ya wingkei, agree with taslyn. Dogs can be pretty jealous creatures! MINE is.. but we cant really help it. She was the NO 1 in everyone's hearts for like 10yrs and suddenly from the 1st place, she dropped to the 2nd, 3rd and 4th! When mine comes out, she'll be 5th in position..
She barks a lot when we carry/play with the kids. She yearns to be "sayang-ed" and have her belly rubbed! I'll usually try to teach the older kids to do that to her.

Ava, I'm 37wks and 2days!! 19days to go!!!! yeah!

Morn!

Yesterday I also had bad stomach pain at around 3am.. felt like those diarrohea type of pain &amp; I sat at the toilet bowl but nothing came out.. the pain went off &amp; came back in 30 mins but disappeared after that. I'm wondering if it's contractions.

crayon
Yalor.. really clueless.. can't differentiate the type of pain.. but we're on 'alert' mode now. I was rolling around my bed in pain! Well, I just wanna tahan until I'm full term... today I'm 36W3D

Ava
I went for the Kenko massage on sat.. &amp; after the guy massaged my hands, wrists &amp; fingers.. I could clench my fist! Until today my left hand is ok, but right hand still a bit stiff, the right hand is the jialat one.

meie
it's prob BH

sunnysunny
yep, she's Ginny and am getting her this time too. U had her too as doula?

How old is ur girl? Mine's 26 mths now. But had to induce her at 39 weeks plus cos my amniotic fluid dropped to all time low and my gynae gave me ultimatum after waiting for almost 2 weeks... He was like "you HAVE TO induce, either today or tmr" So i knew no rrom to bargain...

hey ava

i am at 37 weeks today!
the anticipation is killing me. for once i look forward to having pains haha my hub says im mad!

anyway i have three dogs and they are staying at my mums place. will be putting baby there after confinement. it is totally safe for the baby in terms of health issues or such But as long as the dogs do not become agressive should be okay. Am looking forward to seeing baby and dogs interact. Should be fun. In fact, kids that grow up with dogs are normally more compassionate and loving. i know of many parents who let their kids interact with their pets and they seem healthier than most. Of coz unless the children has asthma then its out of the qtn

mei/crayon:

lol.. seems like alot of us (1st time mtb) are really clueless and dunno how contractions feels... n hb keeps saying that he feels i am gonna give birth soon and keep dreaming that his ger will pop at least 2 weeks earlier than edd...

i'm at 35wks 2d n i keep getting those weird sensations eg hv feeling that i kena diarrhea, giving off gas, n vomitting ev other day.. cramp badly for 10-20 mins then the pain goes off... it is driving me crazy... i really take my hat off to mummies who can still go to work... :p

Meie, i am like you.. until now i still have the urge to poo.. and stomach just don't feel good.. and have been puking.. seems like baby has enough.. everything also dun want now.. i am 38w3days now.. can't wait for gynae to tell me, i am ready for it now.

Taslyn (nana_moby)
U exp pain for 10-20mins? Where exactly and does the pain enough to break you into cold sweat? Not to scare you but i heard contractions shouldnt last that long....

Taslyn, mine is only a mini poodle and a really small one. She would be more afraid of the baby than the other way round. I wouldn't place them together when no one is around to supervise but according to my MIL, they can't even be in the same house, which is what I can't stand and I don't know what to say to convince her otherwise. Haiz.... I tried googling but all I get are how to introduce your dog to your baby and not about the effects of a dog on a newborn baby.

jen kate:
pain prolly is due to tummy cramping, bb kicking/stretching, Ls feeling all rolled into one... dun really know how the contractions feel like...
but for V-area pain, it is only ard 1-5 mins time...

wingkei:
hmm.. mini poodle shld be fine, they dun shed... they are very smart dogs to begin with... my 2 monkeys are mini schnauzers and i do no hv problem with them...

i hv also tested them with other kids, ranging from 1yo n up and they are okay with the crying, whining, screaming.

anyway tell ur mil... even when u bring ur bb for walks in further in prams, there will still be people walking ard.. also when u bring ur bb for jabs (be it @ PD, polyclinic), there are also alot of more potentially viruses around. ask her wat is her main concern for not having the dog ard... then google on it n throw it in her face...

as for the link.. good that they are useful to you.. i m also trying to find more articles on raising a bb with dogs..
i think 2-3 mths back, i was watching Rachel Ray talk show on tv, they also mentioned that having dogs/pets at home helped develop a child's character, teaching them responsibility, compassion as well as prolonging the child's life(thru more builtup immune system), ability to handle stress better...

hi jen kate,
i see. don't know if my gynae is well known for her stitches... just wanna ask you, do you get coughs after your surgery? i always get cough after the surgery coz of the breathing apparatus they stuff down my throat. and this aggravates my pain. coz any coughing/sneezing/laughing after surgery KILLS!!!

ava,
i'm 33weeks today.

RE: Dogs and babies
I've a friend who has three dogs before her first born came. So she spent a lot of time with her dogs and when her bb came, they kinda got a bit jealous. seems like no matter how she tried to get the bb and dogs to get along, they never really did. a couple of weeks ago, one dog bit her todd on his face and he had to go to the hospital. she was so frightened and now, has sent the dogs away...

so i think animals being animals, no matter how mild or not we think them to be, still needs to be under a lot of supervision. so i guess if those elderly are concerned, it is not really without reason.

recently, i've been having this tingling sensation in my breasts... you know, like the milk coming in feeling. those mummies who've given birth before, you have such feelings?? is it normal to feel the milk coming in? i'm worried i'll deliver early now!

<font color="119911">crayonshinchan - i did some swab test as well last week (results will be known today) - i was wondering why it is applicable to me, since baby will be delivered via C &amp; not going thru the passageway, but then i think the test is also to determine the consistency/composition of the cells/v-discharge, to see how ready u are for delivery. From that, they can tell u how close u are to delivering.

Wingkei - it has been proven that early exposure to pets reduce the likelihood of babies developing stuff like asthma. I think there is alot of truth to that, cos kiddies in Msia grow up with alot more pets than those in Spore, and asthma is not at all common in Msia (I lived in KL when i was young and had 2 dogs every since birth). Currently, we have a maltese who lives with my in-laws (we bought him when we were dating, and he didn't move with us to our new place when hubby shifted out) - so our baby will be exposed to him after my maternity as well, cos my MIL will be taking care of the baby.

Jaymickey (jaymickey) - wow - u are 38w3d now? So its like anytime....! My scheduled C is at 38w3d
Baby has been very impatient lately, am hoping he doesn't decide to pop earlier!</font>

wooo, so many posts to catch up on over the weekend.

SHIOK! I'm on ML this week onwards. Just woke up after watching the pingpong match last nite
Tonight, shall tune in to the NDP rally.

I've just called my CL to alert her I'm in my 36th week today. She is aware and will standby.

Also got down to washing all my bb's laundry over the weekend...poured two caps of Kodomo detergent and almost 'choked' up my frontloader with foam! Needed to rinse the whole drum again...Ahhhh, still got a lot of rompers to go and so little space to hang! I've a bigger clothes rack that is still on its way to SG from my Shanghai apartment...

Did u all bring your bedding sets to the professional laundry to dry-clean or just dump into the washer?

Havent packed my hospital bag yet. I suppose I'll just dump my 1 night gown, 1 maternity dress, 2 nursing bras, toiletries bag (same one I use when I travel), one set of bb clothes + receiving blanket (though TMC will also give), maternity pads, disposable undies, phone charger, Marriage cert, spectacles...

My DH says he doesn't need to pack his stuffs wor...Guys are easier, just one underwear and the chargers for all his tech gadgets. He can use the free toiletries provided by TMC lah...hahaha!!

wondering if i shd go for my Brazilian wax ("Strip" considers Brazilian as Sphinx, which = all off), facial and haircut this week?

Feeling soooooo 'nua'. Nice to be at home on a weekday for once...away from the hustle and bustle of CBD...*NICE*

BRAXTON HICKS: lots of that in the last few days. But after clearing my bladder, I usually feel less tight there.

DROOLING IN MY SLEEP: this sounds embarrassing but I've been drooling on my pillows when I sleep!!! To alleviate my heartburn, i lie sideways to clear my air passage. somehow, the gastric 'tidal wave' will force-push my saliva out of my mouth every night, causing me to drool like a baby! grossss....

SWOLLEN FINGERS: I dun feel that my fingers are so numb anymore. They are more flexible this week. I wonder if my barley water helps a little?

Milk - have u mommies been asked by ur gyne to do self breast massage? My gyne told me to from week 36, but I have yet to start doing it. Suppose to stimulate milk production (will have some discharge - not sure if its colostrum - when you press), but have to press quite hard(!) and i don't want to trigger early contractions!

ava: itchy tummy? Hey I showed my gynae my lil red bumps on my legs and arms. he told me to use a moiturising shower gel and apply LOTS of body moisturiser. My DH bought me L'Occitane Almond showel gel on Fri, so now I dun feel itchy anymore.

I've finished my third bottle of Clarins and wont be purchasing a fourth one.

DOGS and BABES: I am afraid of dogs. I hope my son won't ask me to buy him a puppy when he grows up!

bigtoes: yes, my CL just told me to massage my boobs and squeeze my nipples to clear the milk ducts! I'm scared cos I want to prolong my pregnancy until Sept. I'm only week 36 today...

Mei: u drool too?!!! super paisay!!!

I'll call up the beautician to check if she is available to serve me today...

Have a nice lunch, mommies!!

<font color="0077aa">Mummies, went to see gynae this morning, bb is 2.8kg at 37weeks 3 days. But bb still in breech position &amp; was shocked that gynae asked me to pick a date for c-sec alr! Ask gynae about breech delivery &amp; he don't encouraged. told him to give me till next week to decide. I really don't want to go thru c-sec! Was really fearful just now &amp; while talking to hubby, I teared! Pls pray for me! I need lotas faith now!

Mei, crayon, taslyn &amp; preggie: I am also clueless how contractions feels like.. My fren ask me if I have braxon hicks, I told her I don't know wor..</font>