(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava and mummies ,

Not sure whether TMC still has it. We requested samples from them the last time and it came in a small tiny 90ml airtight glass bottle. Just have to fit the teat and can drink. Ready-mixed and very handy. But very short expiry (not like 2 years, more like 1 week).

shazz,
pelvic pain is unbearable for me too..cant get up from bed without pillow between legs now..i will also work from home more often next week..
spotted more SM underneath the belly button though i diligently apply cream and oil since day 1...guess it is genetic..

alabone,
i intend to bf for 6 mths too..most of my colleagues bf for 8-12 months..i am v encouraged by them but if really no milk or not successful, will go for FM. All the talks of birth and bf makes me quite stressed out...

Taka baby Fair
Aiyo... i really feel like going esp its so near to my place. But I am suppose to be on bedrest. Scully i see my boss there then jialat.. cos he also got a 2 yr old. Chances of bumping in also quite high leh... keke
Anyway i ordered quite alot of stuffs from Cheong Choon, 99% done with shopping le. I leave some things un-bought so that pp can buy for me, else angpow also can! hehe

Flos
Alamak i thought is national day rally... chey
Good that u can rest at home n indulge in the olympics soon...

Shazz
I also wake up several times to go toilet. BUT now, i dun even bother to look at the time le... so tired and head straight off to bed aft visiting toilet... haha... I really hope i got the determination and energy to look aft bb when she arrives... Pray Pray Pray

Alabone
congrats on yr win... you won something useful!!

I am going for appt later... Praying hard that baby wont disappoint me with her weight. Hope to see good improvement. At least a 2kg will put my heart at ease... I am 33wks 1day today!

dmbb

hmm,the lady told me that huggies increase their pricing liao lei..i oso nv buy..last time they used to sell @13.80 but at taka fair its $14.70...i remember at the last motherhood exhibition,they got special offer @ $12+

shazz: I also wake up 2-3 times per night to pee, or to puke!!! lol...

u bought another steriliser?!!! WOW! Incorrigibal Shopping Queen lah u...I was more interested in the 1-3 Aug NATAS Travel Fair that I couldn't make it.

I'm just super overspilled with all the bb clothes, bibs, mittens and booties that my DH brought back from Shanghai! I will hv a great time washing and drying them after I start my ML...help!

Mrs Yap: Yes! I love watching Gymnastics, synchronised water ballet, swimming and volleyball.

Ava: You too? I've one more Kenko credit to be used up next week and that's it! After that, I will embark on an old photos organisation project. I've many old photos/negatives stashed in a corner at my place; guess I'll work on them whilst I'm watching to pop at home.

Ah, I forgot about the Baby Wipes!

I read the Jul/Aug thread and realise many new moms didn't get to use the breast pumps they lug to the hospital. I dun think I'll lug it there lah...Just put it aside at home, and if required, my DH can go home to retrieve it lor...

Hi Mrs yap,

I hope I will utilize the breastpump well ... I intend to bf for six months... Yes, this is my first child at the age of 34.... So I am very ignorant about child care...
By the way, I want to buy nipple shields as backup... But the last time icheck, they come in different size... Can i ask ...what size to gauge to buy ?
I wake up every nite to pee as well... But having been going for foot reflex and prenatal massage...so my sleep is deep even though disrupted at times

I can't wait for the National Day message as well !
hI Shazz,
The Advert IQ deal is good ! I bought mine during the taka sale in GSS ....

Hi jaymickey,

Is about $60 + gst for an hour session of pure foot reflexology.

I went there twice in this week ... ghee hee... Going for foot reflex at foot works on Saturday... I am addicted to foot reflex

Jojo.. thanks.. i feel like going to.. but they are all in town.. and i am working far Eastern side.. travel all the way down.. damn tiring..

Hi Jaymickey,

Have you collected the photo from maryann yet ? we both have our session on 26th July right ? Till date, Ihave not hear from them yet leh...

Flos, no need to bring breast pump to hospital cos breast milk won't kick in until the 3rd day, and by then we would all be home. In any case, even for the rare few whose breast milk starts right after birth, can ask for a breast pump from the nurse (the hospital grade ones are waaay better than our own).

Jo Jo (jojobar): breast shield for Medela comes in sizes. Can open up the box and get one that matches your nipple size. ;)

Flos: I had to get another set of steriliser for my MIL's place cos she'll be taking care of my bb when I get back to work. I dun want her to boil and spoil the BHA bottles or my Medela bottles!

breastpump: I was told to start pumping even if there's only colustrum at the hospital, cos baby wont be with us thru out the day and I want to start pumping at regular intervals to signal to my body that it's time to produce the milk!

thks baby sage.. i hope my bb is fine..

Bacon&egg: me too! today morning i put the mirror under my belly n i saw red SM!! I woke up usually 3am nt cz wanna pee.. but HUNGRY!! hehehe.. dunno y nw i feel so much hunger in me.. hmmm..

I exp pelvic pain too.. hv to put two pillows between my legs.. if nt i'll feel smth hard in tt area.. guess the bb head..

regarding bfg
============
eh it shouldnt bring you to a point of depression, but other things in your post natal state will. so maybe when you are really stressed, cut down on other things too. eg, bb nappy can be changed by others, bathing done by others, just concentrate on resting and bfg. i find that works. that's why confinement lady comes in useful..

one common misconpcetion is that bbs tend to sleep thru the night longer with fm. that is totally untrue. fm is more difficult to digest cos it is not meant for calfs. the sugar level and substance will make the bb feel fuller (just like what a huge supper does to your system), but does a huge supper makes you feel better and sleep longer? hardly!

my boy slept through the night at 2 mths, totally bf. so many mummies whos kids are on fm dont even sleep through now at 2 years old. it is the routine created that helps bb to sleep better not the things you feed him/her...

another problem you have to contend with when feeding fm is this. you feed fm, you have to feed water. water is singapore contains high amount of flouride which is proven to be carcinogenic taken in long run (dun believe ask your dentist). very recent report in evening news advice parents NOT to feed bbs water (boiled or what) till 6mths coz the mineral contents cannot be removed even with boiling and cannot be removed from the kidneys..

o yes, the reason why you have to feed bb water is simple. fm is cow's formula. the bb kidney is still immature until 6mths and cannot process the minerals/fats effectively. most substance are in excess so the kidneys need extra help to 'wash' away the minerals..that's why you have to feed water or at least dilute the fm with more water at times....

think all our discussion on bloody milk and blocked ducts are scaring some new mummies. bfg is simple and really not such an ordeal. lazy mummies best friend is still bfg. if you are too tired at night, what better thing to do than to latch your bb one then go back to sleep... i dun even get outta bed. my two cents worth is if you dont set out to do something right at the beginning, you will simply give in at certain point.

oops, didnt know this is such a long post...soli...

<font color="119911">Lok (lok) - what is the HA formula milk? I bought a tin of similac for NB a couple of months back incase i needed to supplement with FM, but no idea what is has. Have to go home and check.

l'l CY (lilboymum) - hey, thanks for your advise on BF vs FM. I am planning to BF for at least 4 months (maternity period) but will see how it goes when i return to work in Jan and pass baby to my MIL. And yes - have to remind her not to feed him plain water.

Mommies on ML already - enjoy the rest of your weeks off
I am working till the day before my C-section, still have so much work to clear! Thank goodness i am not feeling the aches &amp; pains from being preggers (yet), and still very mobile.</font>

Shazz, Mei
Thanks! Do you ladies like the pictures? I have my first bloom shots taken by a friend who have a home studio, all black and white. I saw Maryann portfolio, nice work.

Bfg
Don't worry so much about it, help is always available. You can read up at kellymom.com, drjacknewman.com (there are videoclips).

L'l CY
Wow... you advocate of bf. Can give the mummies here support.

The telecast of NDP message will be on Channel 5 tonight at 7.45pm. If they say extended maternity leave will be effective only from 1 October 2008... then will kwa kwa kwa for us Sep mummies

Hi BabySage,

Today the NDP message will not have much content lah.. The policy changes usually will annoucned in the NDP at cultural center one week after national day...

The last time, they announce all the baby bonus related was effective on August leh ..... I hope it will be the same this time ....

agree with l'l CY (lilboymum)

bfg is really the lazy mum's fren once you get the hang of it.
the key is to get enough rest and drink drink drink. of course the waking nd feeding on dd may be extremely tiring at first but soon as a routine establishes, u'll find that it is one of the best bits bout motherhood
am looking forward to bfg again.

jaymickey: I signed up their 12X package, so each 30min session costs $29!!! I din think it was cheap cos I used to pay only RMB30 for a 60 min session in China...

Jgwee: Nope, just like the excitement of a vball game

shazz: and now she has a third brand--Avent bottles--to sterilise!!! HAHAH!!! I wonder if I need to buy two sets as well cos I will leave my infant with my MIL too.

Jojobar: Tonight's just a message. Rally is the super longwinded one I think. I also didn't realise that until Jaymickey pointed out

Mei: Oh yah, how was your Bloom shots? You signed up the package at the Motherhood Fair right? See see leh!!! kekeke!

Hi I'I CY and Dseptkon,

Really glad to hear some encouraging message from you ladies on BF... I am quite worry as I did not attend any parentcraft class. Everyone is telling me that BF is hard and it is painful...

I will try and hopefull be successful..thank you for sharing your experience !

Jojo
i didnt do any classes before as well, but managed to bf for 7 months with minimal supplementing, while working full time. It's do-able. just read up or get help when u need to. I called TMC for their home visit once, for example.

Hi Ava,
Thank you for your encouragement! I hope I can do it as well... Guess I might need to engage a LC consultant for home visit if need to be... I have not much friends who went thru childbirth...so i am quite nervous about the BF and the delivery...

Hey Ava, may i ask a personal question..are you staying in one of the masionatte in Potong Pasir ? The reason I ask is becos i remember the sept to be mummy have one of the gathering in a mummy home in potong pasir... I vaguely remember is you ?
Actually I am also staying in one of the masionatte in potong pasir as well....

Flos (flos): I got 3 different brands of bottles all along! haha ... Pigeon, Medela (PIS breast pump) and Advent (got the manual Advent pump)! I didn't buy alot, mainly comes with the sets of steriliser or breast pumps that I got, except for the few Pigeon BHA bottles that I got. I think with bottles and teats, it's more of a trial and error thingy. So i only got 1 pair of Nuk silicon teats and 1 pair of Medela silicon teats. The Advent bottles comes newborn flow teats. Will buy more once baby shows me which he prefers ;)

sunnysunny (sunnysunny): my hubby took the bloom shots for me, cos when I wanted to book with studioloft, her schedule is very packed and can't fit the days where my hubby and I are free.

Jojo, neither have i heard from her.. maybe she will call next week bah cos she said she needed around 2 weeks to touch up and develop the pics..

Flos.. yah. massage is so much cheaper in china and bkk..

what is PUPPPP? My thighs and calves are itching today too...dun frighten me...

shazz: I only hv Medela and Avent storage bottles. I did buy some Avent teats. I didn get Medela teats though.

SarahMay: were u the one who mentioned '13 Tai Bao' several months ago? My officer cleaner told me to take this to give bb a nice complexion. I wonder if u got these pills in the end?

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: I also wake up at 2am &amp; 5plus in the morning as well!! Aiyooo... Nobody will stone you lah.. Keke... Its actually up to individual.

Alabone: Glad that you won something useful!!

Shopping seem so far way....

Huggies diapers: You can find the thread in Motherhood that someone is selling Huggles diapers for $13 for all sizes &amp; free delivery for min orders. I cannot remeber where is the thread now, must go &amp; find..</font>

Bigtoes,

You will see the word "HA" on the tin if it is a HA formula. In the past, only NAN and Enfalac have it. I don't think Similac has it (btw, be warned that Similac FM has lots of bubbles so don't shake or stir too violently!!)

Hi storeberry, Angeline, Shazz, lucky I did not buy the huggies diapers on impulse, esp after knowing that there're better deals out there

Anyway, the hospital will be giving 1 pack of NB, so maybe I should hold out a little longer to see how big my bb is at birth. I saw the weight for Huggies small is from 3 kg so I may be able to skip the NB size!

bf

I'm a die-hard tbf mummy but i guess it's up to individual mummies to decide on bf or fm or both. Just do watever suits ur lifestyle!

But if u're thinking of doing fm so that u can get more rest, in my case, i got more sleep cos i bf. But my baby sleeps beside me though. She woke up like 3 to 4 times in the night till she was 18 mths old... then i finally weaned her off night feeds in dec sch hols. But cos I bf her, I just turn over and let her drink while i slept. When she got older, she crawled over to help herself so i din have to do anything. I never had to get up, switch on the light and make milk. By then I sure cannot sleep already!

Learn to bf lying down!

MrsLoh
OMG... that was bad.. poor you.

Flos
Your memory's still superb! Yup, Bloom shots taken.. but I don't have the soft copies, need to wait for around 4 weeks for my album to be ready.. will share then... maybe some of us would have popped already.

lil boy mum,

thx for info on water. I din give baby water too till after 6 mths. Only twice. Once cps Thomson nurses 'coerced' me into it. Kept saying bb hasn't peed in almost 24 hrs. Finally i relented but regretted soon after. And another time cos MIL fed her when she hiccupped, and i was too late to stop her!

I din feed water cos I read that bm is the best for bb's gut envt and anything else changes it. But after reading abt ur flouride info, all the more i won't for my second baby!

TBF all the way!!!

isabelle, can i count on you to motivate us to press on for bf? i want to bf for at least 6 months but dunno can make it or not...

btw, none of the sep mummies has popped yet? wah, that's very good cos that means all of us have carried our babies to full term. jia you!

Flos (flos): I got Medela teats after finding out that the breast milk storage bottles can be used as feeding bottle from you and sunrays! haha ... but I realised that I need to get a suitable teat that is the narrow type one to fit it, so I got 1 pair. My pigeon and Advent teats are meant for wide neck bottles, so cant fit.

I think I'll leave all the Pigeon bottles and steriliser at MIL's place. Certain things I haven got extra sets yet. Will see how it goes. But feeding equipment is the most important one I think.

feeding bb water - a strict no-no for the first 6 mths. for my 14-month old girl, both my mom and mil kept pressurizing me to feed my girl water when she was 3 months cos they say FM is 'heaty'. i just told them a straight 'NO' in their face. bb's only food source should be just FM or BM, nothing else.

babysage
i am always ready to motivate anyone to do tbf! It's not easy, but u must be determined! Even through all the downhill times. I even use streilized syringe needle to poke my nipple okay when i had blocked duct, yet i still managed to bf till my girl was 22 mths.
If u want to do tbf, u must convince urself that tbf is best for baby and everthing else is second rate. Dun buy any fm so that ppl cannot force u to give fm cos there's none!
Most effective is also to convince hubby. Then he'll be on the same side as you!

Ava/jojobar: u all want to enrol sons in St Andrews is it?!! hehe

Mei: I rem so well becos u mentioned u went back to Expo twice a day to buy things!!! hahaha!! shopaholic!!

shazz: I wonder if Pigeon teats are ok. So far, I notice my niece feeds very well on Avent, whereas her elder bro didn't take well to them...I'll try out Avent first
My room is in a mess!!! Bagfuls of bb loots!!! I hv lost count of the no. of mittens and bibs I bought...

where's sunrays btw? she's disappeared for quite long...

FM: I'd try Enfalac I guess, cos I drink Enfamama. Mead Johnson fan