(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahmay
eh yes of course, but to ovulate without having menses quite rare. i was talking about catching the first egg thingy. means, you ovulate then the first egg immediately gets fertilised. so wont even have menses after preg/delivery/bfg before you are pregnant again.

hows elisha doing?? you ok so far staying at home?

Good to hear that Sunrays and Qiuling are both doing fine

SarahMay: r u ok too? r u planning for your #2 now?

Isabelle: Good to see you today!!! I found the thread already. Did u order in the end?

koras: i see. when is your original EDD? did your gynae said why he suspect baby will be out anytime? Is the timing from week 38-40? If it's so, then it's normal.
dun worry, just get everything ready.

Ladies..
I had my 33wks appt last fri and bb is 1.816kg now... 200g in a week. I am continuing my durian feast.

BTW... my doc says he will schedule a date for me to go for C-section with Epidural! All along I tot i will be going for GA therefore this epidural c-section is really a new thingy for me. On 1 hand i am afraid of going thru the procedure fully conscious... yet on the other hand I really wish to see baby once out of my tummy. Hubby can also witness and take photos. Dilemna... Oh ya i am also afraid of the injection at the spine for epi... Anyone gone thru it can give me advise?? EPI injection pain or not?? My doc says not necessary for GA cos the whole process is v fast...

sarahmay, the prenatal class nurse said it's possible to ovulate without menstruating; hence if u aren't planning for another bb so soon, you should use some form of contraceptive when u resume sexual intimacy after delivery.

saw your fb status update. did u eventually sneak out?

MrsYap: yeah, Melody is growing well! 200g per week is the norm for growth in the last mth. Have read in July and Aug threads that some mummies went thru C-sec with epi, and most of them said no regrets for doing so, in fact, they highly recommend it! Reason being they can see baby asap and hear first cry etc. I read that there are more side effects for GA as well. A friend of mine had a close shave! She went thru GA c-sec and she took longer than usual to wake up, and that scared her gynae and hubby so much that they had to "lure" her out of her sleep by making her baby cry, so she got a reason to wake up!

I think your gynae should have recommended the best option for your case.

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: your DH not in town? Take care! My DH went to KL over the weekend, will be back tmr.

I am seeing my gynae tmr morning! Excited to know bb's growth!

Mrs Yap: No idea about GA &amp; epi... Sorry, can't help much..</font>

storeberry (storeberry): DH just left for Paris for company's incentive trip, will be back on Sat. Very short trip, cos I told him no extension! haha ... but kinda enjoy the space and time to myself, something which will be rare to come by next time!

I'll be seeing my gynae on thur. looking forward to seeing baby's growth too. But i know he's not engaged yet cos his movements are the same as the last time I visited gynae, only moving his cute little butt on the left side most of the time. He hardly even kick, cos I know his feet is at the bottom right of my tummy. Last time I saw him, his feet was so near to his face! Cos he's curled over into an inverted U shape, like a prawn!

mrs yap
not sure about c section with epi. but i took epi during natural delivery and it was ok. the epi was super fast. done in less than 3min....but also dep on the skill of the anaesthetist lah.

melody's weight is around the same as my lil girl. that isnt too bad, around 20th-30th percentile...

Taslyn, ya..its very bad... but after apply tiger balm, i feel so much better.. pillow doesnt work on me... ya.. i keep tahan n tahan..but sometimes it juz unbearable..

dseptkon, ur gt constipation? i gt diarhoea seh.. hehehe...

Koras, we exp the same symptoms..i wonder will i deliver much more earlier b4 my EDD (12 sept).. when is ur exact EDD?

Qiuling
Hope all is well and no false alarms till edd! take care.!

Mrs Yap
Phew...good that weight is piling on
I don't remember the epi injection being painful...it's done quite quickly and within a few mins you wont be feeling any pain, anywhere...

Shazz
ya... i try my best to be brave enuff to witness the whole process wide awake. You must take care too since yr dh will be away for this week ya.

l'l CY
ya i am quite happy that she has grown abt 200g in 1 week. Previously was 300g in 3 weeks... so pathetic.

Xuanting
Doc schedule the c-section date to be on 12 sept (wk 38). I ask if it could be on 13 sept cos its also my bday. But he says.. 13 sept is a Sat... Fri will be better for him
Anyway hubby is happy that bb no need to share a bday with me... :p

Ava
ya i hope it is not painful. My threshold for this kind of poking pain is v low. I think i can endure being beaten up more than being pierced. hehe

<font color="119911">Morning mommies. Not working today cos of the replacement holiday for National Day

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - mine will also be C with epidural. Think its not common to administer GA for scheduled C cos of the risk of higher complications. Anyway, like u said, its all over v quickly - the surgery itself to deliver is like 15min, and then after that the gyne cleans up and stitches back the wound. Should be over in 45min max. My threshold of pain from needles is also very low
, but since the mommies here said the epi is okie, should be a problem

Anyway, I am delivering on 30th Aug - almost 2 weeks before you - will bring my laptop to TMC, and update everyone of my adventures!

Am going for my wk36 gyne appnt later, hopefully baby Kieran is growing well still, but not too fast! Am also meeting the cord blood bank lady to fill in the donation form.</font>

Bigtoes
Ya... he told me v fast like 20mins... so i thot hey its even faster than detailed scan.
I am more afraid of the epi though... must keep v still for the injection. Ya... keep me updated on the procedure...

<font color="0077aa">Limay: Must be excited right? Since its like another two more weeks! But I heard that TMC don't provide free wireless, is it true? I am also going for my week 36 check up! Hope bb would have head down!

Mrs Yap: Aiyooo... u sadist! Can endure beating up?!! Haha... Gald that Melody is doing well!

Shazz: Yah man, now its the peace time! Another few more weeks then things would be alot different! Keke.. you still can view from your gyane scan to see where bb is, mine is always black black one... :p

Now watching the Olympics badminton match, recording for my DH. Need to go &amp; bathe &amp; prepare to go for check up.</font>

Have posted once before but i doubt no one remember me as i'm not very active. However, have been a silent reader all these while. My EDD on 15th Sept and i have been experience pain around my V area since last thur that it makes me walk like a penguin. Anyone have this symptom too? I dread going to work now as every steps i take hurts a lot.

Mrs Yap: Glad that your melody is growing well. Not to worry too much. I have a friend whose waterbag burst in her 33rd week and bb was born premature at about 1.2kg. However, he is now a healthy boy at 1 and a half month. Hence, do not worry too much. Melody will surely stay strong for you.

Storeberry: My sis just gave birth at TMC about 6 weeks ago. She did mentioned to me that TMC got free internet connection.

my thighs are kinda itchy and i'm hoping it's not PUPPP that someone here mentioned last week! couldn't stop scratching my thighs...urrrrghhhh...tried to apply some Body Shop lotion and it works...maybe it's just too dry...or perhaps i shd change my bedsheets...

soooo sleepy...watched olympics replays until very late...

Flos,

I was the one who kenna very bad rashes 1 week back.. Now still itchy...
My rash looks like small mosquitoes or bed bugs bite...

I tried calamine lotion and the prickly heat powder but it doesn't do the trick to ease the itch

Skinny pig

If u still feel itch and have still rashed then consult your gynae.
For me my doc. did blood test for liver.But thank god mine was sine now not much itchy,guess they were due to palmers

Ade (littlepea): the pelvic pain that you're experiencing is very common among mummies here, many of us have been waddling around like penguins for the past 1-2 mths! It's especially bad for me whenever I get up from bed or from a chair. I think it's because the baby's head is down and when we stand up, the pressure causes the pain.

<font color="119911">storeberry (storeberry) &amp; Ade (littlepea) - i checked with TMC before, the free wireless is only at the foyer area (Wireless @sg) i.e. where delifrance &amp; the registration desk is. There is no complimentary wireless in the rooms, but you can subscribe (guess about $20+ a day? Same as hotel rates i suppose). I should be staying for 4D3N, and hubby (and even me) would die of boredom without internet connection anyways, so we are both bringing out laptop along.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - wow, 20 min for C? That's good. I don't think i can endure 13+ hours of labor pains (or 70+ like Ava's case for Adan! Peifu)

Okie, off to lunch and for my gyne appnt later.</font>

Dear Skinny,

I had that similar condition during start of 2nd tri and few weeks back too, bumps on my face and neck that looked like mozzie bites/ bugs bites pink patches. Applying calamine or moisturisers did not help since it only made my skin even more dry, asked my gynae but he mentioned that those are common symptoms of pregnancy, may occur anywhere- most common on the tummy, arms and legs, but not common on the face and neck and he suggested that i live it through since he did not want to give anything intrusive.

But i was so distraught i went straight to the dermatologist at CGH, he gave me a mild steriod topical cream 0.1% (maybe you could ask your gynae to prescribe Elomet for you, its a common cream to treat rashes) and it really helps! Just smooth it on in the night while you sleep, and in the mornings, just moisturize as normal, until the rash go away. He mentioned that those bumps are due to hormonal changes and will be especially common during start of 2nd trimester and towards end of 3rd trimester, maybe you'll like to check if your mommy has the condition when she was pregnant too, my mom has the condition whenever her hormones surge, so i guess its inherited somewhat.

For the itch, try oatmeal washes to calm the skin, something you can get from the pharmacy

and Dear Limay,

Are you nervous! And i think its just destined that my little girl is always going to look up at your boy as big brother (your Edd is Sept 12 right? mine is Sept 13 and your c-sect is Aug 30, mine's Aug 31, keke)

Eversince i left a message on my Fb that i'll be delivering on 31st Aug, loads of girl friends have been advising me against elective C, saying that natural is best, 3 days after can go see movie!! Even hubby got protective and was discussing if I should try natural.. cause he knows my pain threshold is like.. ZERO..

Shazz: Thanks for reassuring that i'm not the only one experiencing that. How can you tolerate for so long? I wonder if baby is engaged already as i did not experience this 3 weeks back when baby was head down. Only started feeling the pain since last Thurs. Any ways to lessen the pain?

Bigtoes: That's funny. I just checked with my sis and she did mentioned it was free. She was not charged for using the wireless in her room. BIL was online the whole day. Or probably the person forgot to charge to her bills?

Ade (littlepea): the pain is on off for me. I find that after walking around for a while, the pain ease off, so it's not that bad after a while. Dun think there's any way to lessen the pain though. My baby is not engaged too, and I've been feeling the pelvic pain for the last 2-3 mths cos baby's head was down since then. I was told by the time they're engaged, the pain will be more intense too.

May i know how does it feel and how do you know theres contraction? I din exp that for my gal at all but today my tummy is aching all over..its like the feel of doing big business but no tightening of stomach leh..

Am in my 36wks, will be popping next tues thru ceaser and also exp lower back aching, v area pain pain, nausea, headache and walk like a penguin too...immunity also low..keep falling sick..haiz..

Just came back from my week 36-37 appointment from the gyane office. The nurses notice that i am not looking well and cheerful as usual, i told them i felt mild cramp... They hook me up a machine and I am having very regular contraction ! Doc check that i am 1 cm dilated... I might be going into labour in the next few days or it might just go back to normal and i can carry the baby another two to three weeks more....
Doc said some people will opt for induce at my current stage but i think i will leave it to nature

Resting at home now and for the next two days to monitor ..... To be frank, i think i want to get it over and done with
Can;t wait to see my son soon !

Wow sounds like a lot of moms may be going to give birth in next few weeks...!

JoJo, have been feeling low too...man...will have to check this wed if having any contactions too...cos my braxtons are getting quite frequent and backaches have worsened...
plus babies so low now.i can't sit with legs closed anymore ! gotta sit "kang kang" LOL

hi Ava,
My backache has been really bad for the past few weeks and i am sitting like a man... hahah... Anyway nurse said that my baby is engaged now...so i think he is really to pop out !
Hubby should be on his way to europe for meeting now, luckily he cancel the trip ....
i also caught a bit off hand as i have yet to transit my works.... Not sure i am confident to drive to work later this week if i am able to delay the labour for the next few weeks...

Ah!.. so the pelvic pain = sng sng pain ard the vagina area/or in between the thigh area lah?
In that case, I am suffering from pelvic pain lo.. bt not tat strong.. onie when I get off the bed and sometimes after exercise
:S

Btw, i went to the Bugis area to get the confinement dried food and herbs (opp RH) and realized that all are closed! (at ard 5pm)
HumpZ! Think they dun open on Sundays wor.. so u gals dun make a deliberate trip there on Sundays hoh. In the end, we went to the SI-MA-LU area and get the herbs.
I got the herbs for bathing and ok.. the packaging looks very DATED… and OR-BIT!!! I hope it does not smell as horrifying as the packaging looks like!

I have called up Mt Alvernia and was reconfirmed that need to bring own sleeping clothes for mama. Aiyoh, initially I dun believe it lo until I hear it from the horses mouth. I still dun ‘get it’ loh. Pay so much for the hospital package and still nid to bring our own clothes *PUI*

goldfish..

Yes u will need to bring ur own clothes..but previously for my gal Mt A did allow me to wear theirs cos mine was emergency and i din even bring a bag with me when admitted..but still need a long jackets cos their got big big lobang at the back..

Goldfish
Pyjamas: considering how awful most hospital gowns look, I wouldn't trust the hospitals to choose nice pyjamas for MTbs anyway...this way you can make your own fashion statement mah!

JoJo
Yeah sitting like a man is right...i onnly dare drive to Blk 105 where my son's nursery class is...not anywhere else. anyway, with my belly size, i can barely touch the pedals now!

hihi mummies,
ThanX for the concern ..i am back home already .. resting .... Micky is okay .. just went for CTG at clinic again and no more contractions .. and yes just tahan for another 2 weeks then bb come out safer .. but the dr Ho just said that cos i am given the injection on 080808( steroid) to mature the lungs , bb can come out anytime .. ..
Anyway just to ask mummies who are on HL leave .. cos i asked Dr Ho for Hospitalisation Leave but he did not give ( he is very " Niao " with MC .. even normal checkup he will ask y i need MC.). keke , but he gave outpatient leave instead for 8 days till i can apply for maternity leave when i reach 36 weeks on 20th august) ..he will only cover till 36 weeks .. hmm ..
Premies bb can cost a lot in private hospitals nowadays and i rather save the money for his future education.. 3 days stay in hospital another 1.4 k gone .... luckily bb micky is safe
me gg to rest for these few days and see how it goes .....

jojo ,
rest for a few more weeks .. cos the longer bb stay in mummy stomach the better it is ..
My contractions 3-5 mins that day .. 1.5 cm dilated .. but managed to stop it .. i have a gut felling bb is coming out but i refuse to mentally prepared myself .. keke .. cos every extra day in my stomach means no risk of premature bb .. and the nurse just inform me that the NICU cost 1 K everyday for premies .. Praying and resting nw ..

its so exciting! sounds like the first few mummies are going to see their bbs soon!

jo jo
for my son i was 1cm dilated, went into office as usual and then i had the mild cramping and delivered the next day so STAND BY!

sri
you got diarrhoea? we exchange a little bit of our diets and then both should be ok...keke

flos
don't worry about PUPPP unless the itch/rash is really driving you insane at night and appearing as hives/big patches that spread rapidly.just moisturise moisturise.

skinny pig
suggest you get the steroid cream as Kym Teo said so that you get some relief from the itch. my gynae and the dermatologist i saw both confirmed that using a topical steroid this late in our pregnancy does not pose any risk to the baby so u might as well be comfortable.

Gasp… seems like some of the mummies are having early contractions or schedule for C-section soon!!!
To be frank, I am not ‘ready’ to see u gals delivering soon (myself included) esp it seems like onie recently that we know abt our pregnancy
OPPS!!!!!

Ava/Jen
What kind of top are u guys bringing to hospital? Issit those PASAR MALAM pyjamas kinda wif loud cartoons or flowerly prints?
:S
I dun have any button tops except for working shirt with buttons manz

Shazz: Lucky you! The pain was there the whole day for me! As long as my legs starts moving, i can feel the sng sng feeling. I can even feel it when i change position in the night. Haiz... I checked with my sis and she din experience this at all. She can even shop till the day before she gave birth. Guess her baby was still high up (that's why no sng sng feeling) when she was induced coz in the end, doc got to use forceps and vacumm to get my niece out.

Jojo: Aren't you excited that nurse told you that you are engaged? I can't wait for my doc to tell me that too. Think most of the mummies here can't wait to get it over and done with it.

Oh ya .. my bb is not engaged yet .. so the contractions is not good ... i will have to wait longer .. at least for bb to be engaged for natural birth

Goldfish
I havent bought my pyjamas as yet, will probably just wear t-shirts/causal nursing tops and shorts or long pants (like track pants)...last time i used button downs and found them quite leh cheh...

GOldfish,

Will be like ava bringing t shirts and track pants..i dun have any button shirts at all..so i guess i have to chase everyone out while BF..

Qiuling,
Me too with dr ho..may i know how it feels like for contraction? Was feeling abit weird today but dunno whether is it braxton or actual contraction..will only be seeing dr ho this thurs for wk36 check...

ava, how frequent are your bh contractions? i got woken up by them several times one night a few days ago and it really freaked me out. thankfully, they were back to normal after that, one or two a day. really hope bb will stay in there till 40wks!

goldfish, think they want birthing mothers to bring own clothes cos they don't want you to feel like a medical patient and so that you can feel more relaxed and at home. mothercare has pretty front-button nursing gowns but more ex than the less pretty ones in dept stores/pasar malams.

jo jo, what does it feel like when bb engages?

qiuling, glad that all's okay now. rest well!

skinny pig:

correct! Yep yep...little red bumps! Mine also resembles bed bugs bites. After a hot shower, the itch is unbearable!!!! It hasn't spread to other parts of my body yet! PHEW!

But the Body Shop lotion doesn't stop the itch...I dunno if it's ok to apply Body Shop products on such rashes...

skinny pig: sorry I meant the Body Shop lotion DOES stop the itch. Thank goodness...

PUPPP affects only first time preggers with male bb (70%) at around week 35 onwards. I fit the bill!!!! I wonder if I kenna PUPPP or not...

Qiuling,

Glad that you are ok now. better rest well.
Am also with Dr Ho and I know EXACTLY what you mean when you said Dr Ho is niao with MC. My colleague was telling me gynae always asked her to take MC so that she can rest and it's good for the baby, so I am v upset when Dr Ho refused to give MC when I had bad back pains. He only gave me 1 mc so far, and that was very reluctantly. I think if I ever will have no. 3, I won't go back to him. :p Prefer a more compassionate doc. I find his detailed scans done v fast. He's prob v experienced, but it is not v reassuring lor...am still staying with him cos he's good with stitches (and also cos I signed up package with him).

btw, can i ask..if there free internet connection in the rooms at Mt A?