(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0077aa">Isabelle: yah, need you for advice for full BF! I told hubby yday that if my MIL force me to feed Fm, he must stand in &amp; support me!!</font>

Flos
Not really a premeditated intention to go St Andrews...but since it's there, might as well...altho Adan doesnt get to register during any of the early phases as not Singaporean or PR...so maybe a slim chance...

ava: but SAS is only a stone's throw away from Potong Pasir flats...I'm sure he stands a high chance...unless u want him to attend his daddy's pr sch?

Flos: that's the problem with teats, different kids love different brands. Some kids anything also can, like my nephew! Got milk will drink! haha ... Pray that my son will be as easy going as my nephew!

I know, shazz. speaking of teats, the ParentCraft nurse told us not to use scissors to enlarge the holes. Some mommies were talking abt it here many mths ago.

Lok (lok) - okie, thanks. Will get NAN or Enfalac incase i need to supplement. I know that BFing is recommended, but don't want to stress myself to do total BFing if I can't manage it. Isabelle - ouch - you used a syringe needle to poke ur nipple to clear the blocked duct? Scary!

Flos
Daddy's pri school is in Parit Buntar, Malaysia LOL...of course we'd like him to go SAS...(altho my dad had a horrid time teaching at the Sec school) but as i said...no priority as non singaporean/PR. so we'll try lor...

Hi Flo,

Never thought much about the school for my son..hee hee.since this is my first child.. I have been staying in potong pasir over 20 years ! Just like it there as it is near town....and very convienent to travel.

Ava, i think i know where you stay roughly....

<font color="aa00aa">Flos
I am here!! But not for long...cos I am gonna pop NEXT WEEK!! Today the clinic called me to tell me bad news-I'm tested positive for GD! Tat explains why Charlotte grew so big suddenly..so I went to the clinic just now to be taught how to do the prick test twice a week..altho twice a week, but each day have to prick SEVEN times!! I really didn't like the feeling of pricking myself so I was told alternatively I may be induced next week(if I want to lah)... I think I'll either choose nxt week or the week after, at this moment I can't wait to pop cos having GD means I've to go on a strict diet and the sickening prick test!!

so, maybe I'll be the first one to pop in this thread??</font>

sunrays
oh dear u kenna GD? Do take care!
I just got back from gynae and was shocked to hear that within 2 weeks, my baby put on close to 600g!!!
She was 2.06kg two weeks ago and now she's 2.6kg now at 36 weeks! Shucks! I think I indulged in sweet things too much! I gotta cut down too.

JoJo if u stayed in PP for 20 years surely must know where I stay mah!!! I'm at the farthest block on the right before the river crossing to blocks 113-120.

Sunrays
OOOHHH! i dont think i could prick myself either...all the best for the delivery!!!! keep us updated!!

sunrays

take care and all the best for the delivery!

isabelle

my bb was 2.99kg at 36+ weeks yesterday. think that i gotta stop the durian liao as well

Flos: Yep I mentioned the 13 Tai Bao. I drank the brew only once. Supposed to drink 2nd time in 7th month...i haven't and already in 8th mth. And now that I'm on hormones and other meds not sure if ok to take. It is supposed to help reduce chances of jaundice in bb. I dunno if they have pills for it.

Alabone: I postponed my shoot to 22 Aug. Will be about 36 wks then. Hope i dun look fat. And am praying hard tt i'll be in the physically fit to do it.

Sunrays: Will you be inducing? Do take care and all the best for hte delivery! Jia You! Charlotte is already a very good size , ready to pop! Are you and DH getting more excited?

L'l CY: Your notes on BF are indeed helpful. Got a question abt BF and pregnancy: If still BF, can try for baby? Someone asked me that. Does it mean that if we BF, we dun ovulate? I do know ppl who get preg while BFing. However, another friend told me that the chances of getting preg while BFing is like 2%.

Isabelle: Wow! 600g in 2 wks! I dunno if what i'm eating can be considered indulging in sweet stuff but my doc thinks I have been eating lots of sweet stuff and that is why my bb is growing big.

Hi Ava,

I am the super blur kind loh. I used to stay in blk 104 with my parents. Only shift into the masionette at blk 133 when i got married five years ago.... Moreover i drive sll the time so i donlt really explore potong pasir by foot loh....

Sunray, do take care ! Pardon my ignorant..what is GD ? Gosh, my son also growing above average... think i will be paranoid when i go for check up on monday. In anycase, i will be at week 37 next week !

The extract of the NAtional DaY message today:

To secure our long-term future, we also need enough babies to replace ourselves. Year by year, fewer Singaporeans are getting married, and those who do are having fewer children.

We’ve implemented one measure after another over the years, but we have not succeeded in reversing the trend.

We have to take this very seriously. Marriage and parenthood are personal decisions.

But we can create an environment where Singaporeans see them as a natural and important part of life, and where young couples get support in starting families. We have looked at this comprehensively and will take further steps to address the practical problems which couples face.

I hope more Singaporeans will find fulfilment in bringing up children and setting up a happy family. Let’s make Singapore a good home where citizens lead full, meaningful lives, and experience the joys of bringing up a new generation.
"

So exciting, I can't wait to hear what is the further steps that government is taking to counter the low birth rate in singapore... For me, I wish MORE BABY BONUS !

Hi GOldfish,

The detail will be announced next week at the national day rally by the PM. It is usually the 2 hours speech with live telecast.... So we just wait for next week lah. TOday message is a prelude mah...

no lah, not a activist here. but would like more mummies to bf...wonderful experience. and the special bond with the child will not be broken...

ava
wah, would love to send my son to SAJ leh. the primary school is good, strong management and new concept. it will be a very good school by the time our children goes to school..but hor...i dun stand a chance lah, i stay 2.2 km away...

sob...

sarahmay
yes you can get preg even bfg, and can cont to bf even while pregnant.

however if you are on tbf, the chances of you getting preg are low. tbf means bfg 8x and above per day...when the child starts solids at 6mths, then you bf less then chances of getting preg higher...

you of course need to ovulate to get preg, but depends on whether you hit the jackpot first ovulation after delivery and bfg...some mummies manage to catch the first egg and never get their menses..so it';s like give birth, bf bf bf.,...then preg again...

depending on your body lah...some women dun even ovulate after they stopped bfg...

jo jo, they never hint about having to resort to importing foreign babies since we aren't producing enough on our own ah?

sunrays, this pricking thing sounds damn scary! what's it for? maybe if you can get someone else to prick for you, it'll be less daunting? at my last visit doc said that there were some sugar in my urine also; said to monitor. i don't think i'm brave enough to prick myself either...

mummies, i nw 35wks.. my waist esp the sides is aching so badly tt i cant hardky slp on both sides..cant turn.. and my tummy esp at the ribcage area so pain...

Do u all exp it?

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY (lilboymum): That is a good post on BF-ing!! Yah Bf-ing needs lotas of support, especially from hubby &amp; family members &amp; friends! Thanks!

Sunrays: Wow, so exciting, you will most prob be the first to pop!! Must take care &amp; cut doen on sweet stuffs yah?

Sri Teo: I only experienced pain on my pelvis &amp; buttocks. Can put a pillow behind your back so might be better?

Just had a baby shower with my friends at this German place called Magma @Bt Pasoh. Had susages, german pizza &amp; pork knuckles again! Few weeks ago, I had it at Vivocity.. Guess, German food is the "IN" thing now! Haha!!

Wow, the National Day message seems promising for us leh... Hopefully the goodies will be fantastic!</font>

Ava
My shots are on my FB. You can add me.

TFB
I was in so much pain and agony when I first started, engorgement, blocked ducts etc. I also poke my nipple to clear the ducts. Haha... So painful that I almost wanted to give up and also suffer from lack of sleep but I persist and tbf for 16 months. I did not give water to my girl too for 6 months as bm contains water.

L'l CY
Is your boy having FM now that you weaned him? When I first weaned her, I tried so many brands of FM, non to her liking until Pediasure and recently Meiji. It freaks me out initially but paed assured me it's ok, she gets calcium from other sources. Lucky she is not picky with food.

storeberry, put oredi but i find it nt comfortable.. like too high for me..maybe muz buy those snow beads pillow... Ya..i oso exp pain at my pelvis n buttocks..

hi chantelle
think many of us here are due in sept..heeeee...that's why sept thread mah...you live in the east?think there is someone with east shore, rem seeing it on the list...

sunny
he just started on isomil. he is a bit lactose intolerant and hates pediasure.isomil reminds me of horlicks without sugar...but worried about my son's sperm count next time kekekek..coz recent reports on st says soya based product will reduce sperm count hor....aiyoh..poor boy...

sunrays..
take care. pricking your fingers daily?how many weeks are you now?good to induce? also good then you can see charlotte earlier!!

hi gals, i went for my 35wks checkup yday n minnie was at 2.47kg! almost 600gm increase frm 3wks ago! now i really start to worry if shes too big coz my fren whos due two days aft me, her boy only 2.3kg at 35wks.. grr.. muz be the durians i ate last fri.. no more durians for me..

went taka bb fair yday. bot a car seat there and bot the Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser from Cheong Choon. its selling at the same price of $95 at taka but Cheong Choon threw in two free Pigeon bottles. theres a bundle pack of the Rapid Steam+other items at $159 at bb fair, saw many mums to be getting it..

very crowded yday pm so mummies here going today, walk carefully ya.. =)

<font color="119911">sunrays (sunrays) - wow, take care. So it seems like u wld be the first one to pop? Didn't think that Charlotte was that big! So are u picking a specific date 1-2 weeks from now?

isabelle (isa_belle) - Kieran put on 800gm in 2 weeks for my last visit (week 34), but Dr Tan said i didn't have GD. My next visit is on Monday (week 36), hopefully he didn't put on another 800gm, else he would be 3.2kg already! My weight gain seems to have tapered off though (which it is suppose to towards the end of the pregnancy right?) Up 400gm the last fortnight - hopefully, everything went to baby!

Jo Jo (jojobar) - when is the full 2 hour National Day rally speech? Realistically, i don't think they would extend our maternity leave beyond 3 months (esp given the current labor market, and some mommies already being worried about getting retrenched) - but would be good to extend paternity leave from 2 days to up to a fortnight, and more tax rebates for working mommies!</font>

Bigtoes
Hopefully they subsidise the maid levy and childcare centre even more. More Baby bonus. More Child care leaves. More paternity leaves for fathers... 2 days is really really miserable. IVF subsidy for those poor ladies who tried hard to conceive but no $ for the procedure.

Hi Xuanting,

I think some minister mention before while we can ramp up our population with foreigners. The core native - Singaporean cannot be less than 50% of the total population esle we will lose our identity.

Hence i think they will devise some policy to counter act on the low birth rate ....
I am still hoping for more baby bonus !

Hi Bigtoes,

I am not hopeful on the extension of maternity leave, our tax structure and the economy will not be able to sustain.... The impact is on the corporation even the govt willing to fund the 4th month.
I am only keen on baby bonus as the total cost from the government and the impact is on the government budget.... 3K is really not enuff to set up for first child leh...

wow..all the babies here grew big towards the end of the term...

Sunrays

take care...guess u b the 1st 1 to pop liao..

morning mummies ,
i am in hospital nw .. using their network ... Admitted on friday 080808 due to contractions happen ard 3pm .. then rush to mt A at 430 pm .. contraction happening at 3-5 mins apart .. no dilation yet .. so doctor prescibed injections to mature the lungs of bb and also patch to stop the contractions .. cos me just reach 34 weeks ... Hmm I stay in the delivery suite for one day and nw in the antenatal ward till nw.. so many bb from 080808 and national day in Mt A .. No contractions since saturday morning and still being under observation nw .. dying of boredom and having mild depression from the noisy ward and " nothing to do " sydrome that i am requesting for early discharge today instead of tomorrow .. doctor is still not in for his rounds yet .. still waiting .. will keep u updated .

sunrays,
I am a GD mommy. If you need info on the pricking test (i have been doing it for months now), just shout!
Not that bad really and the diet control is good for you and bb cos overload of sugar/carbo is bad for both mommy and bb. Just go easy on carbo eg. rice and noodles..eat more meat and veggies..should be fine.

Qiuling (chewy_ring) - hopefully, it was a false alarm and u get to be discharged soon! Go home and get some rest okie, don't over strain yourself, take care and i am sure baby will stay in a couple more weeks! *hugs*

sri,
any ways to ease the pain? pain is unbearable..even sleeping becomes a chore now..sigh..not to mention waking up 3-4 times a nite to pee...I am approaching Week 36...cant wait to give birth..

<font color="0077aa">Quiling, glad that the contractions have stopped!! Is your hubby back from China? Yah hospital is a boring place! Take care!</font>

bacon&amp;egg:

haiz...its so painful... i feel like dying..lolx..hardly slp..

me too..tis tues i'll be 36wks..cant wait to see my bb but at the same time i'm nervous... Ytd i hv back pain again..feel like vomiting too..headache oso..pelvic pain..gt slightly thick white discharge.. u exp all tt?

qiuling:
do rest well.. prolly baby just wanna join in the olympics and national day celebrations... do rest well...

sri:
is it that bad? get more pillows to support u all over... my hb was outstation last week n i had the bed n pillows all to myself...was so much more comfi with all the pillows and bed to myself (can roll ard if in pain)... as one of another preggy fren puts it, the pain in the v area feels like kena car bang like that..

i also expect thicker discharge/back pain (only at certain hours of the day), nauseousness... just keep telling myself that it is not pain, not nauseous and bb coming out soon.. so must tahan tahan for the next few weeks...

sri leo - i also experience more white discharge and headache.. baby now keep kicking upwards my ribs so pain

my gynae say my baby around 19aut - 7sept will come out anytime.. scared sia.got to moved to my mum plc to stay as my hubby working

qiuling:

do take it easy even after you are discharged
my doc says that bt 37 weeks only 3% chance of prob with bb's lungs and by 38 wks its down to 1% so try to hang in there for a while longer!

bacon&amp;egg/sri

know wat you mean about the pain and not being able to sleep. then today kena constipated some more and now got hemarrhoid. aiyo...

Qiuling: Hugs! I hope you and baby are doing much better now. I can understand how horrible it is to be stuck on bed and what's more in the hospital. But do try to catch as much rest as you can! You must have been very active or overworked!

Koras: Good to have people staying with you in case labour starts.19 Aug is soooo soon! Take care yah?

L'l CY: So it's possible to ovulate without having your menses return?

sarahmay - ya lo due date seem getting very near sia.. haha my check up is on the 21th this mth.. c if my baby want to come out on that day lolz

koras: is your baby's head engaged already? he sounds like he's in anterior position, best for natural delivery, cos he's kicking your ribs!