(2008/09) Sep 2008

stef&seanbabes,

of cos they do (mainly chem engineers though). refer to Flos' post as she spelt out my company !!

Lok,
oh. so u work for Shell. wow.. good industry to be in heh. any other positions available ?
i did not major in chemical engineering.

Lok,
I was just kidding. you are right. i'm going to be SAHM to take care of my kiddies..
but your company is really very pro family..

Question - have you pack your hospital bag? If you have, what type of clothings have you pack for your return to home? We would have to still wear maternity clothes for a couple of mths rite? since tummy hasnt gone down?

Lok: heh heh, yes lah, Shell asked me to go for interview before but that time DH and I were still in China, so I had to forgo the opportunity.

Dutch and Scandinavian companies offer very good welfare to their staff!!

My dream employer is Google.

bacon&egg
Yeah, still have to wear maternity after birth...you can always bring along a looser nursing top in case u need to nurse.

it's the BEST employer in the whole wide world, hv u not heard abt their good reputation?!!! My friend is working there now. ENVY!

flos,

I must be very Suaku. No leh, haven't heard abt it, must tell me why they are the best employer in the world....

mrs yap

glad u're fine now!

Ur gynae is so idiotic. U must have been so cheesed off!!! If it's me, I would have been so angry that I might have gone into premature labour! But anyway, hope ur new gynae is much better!

hospital bag
I packed a loose fitting dress and some T shirts for no.1. This time I'll bring maternity T-shirts that my colleague passed to me.

CLoud
u saw the cute lil' babies?
I saw them the other day at TMC when I took my girl to see the doc. I purposely looked at the size of the babies' heads so that I can visualise my baby coming out through the birth path!
Trying to psych myself up now...

Realised few threads of mine had been deleted quite fiercely recently, anyone's threads also suffered the same fate?

Just wondering if any mummies here also visit other popular local forums and would like to share a common other source?.. must keep in contact via other ways! in case they decide to del threads they deem reason enough..

Skinny Pig,
My email is [email protected]
Pls add me in FB.

Crayonshinchan,
So are the sweetest moment cakes/swiss rolls/kueh nice ?

Jessi,
You brought back a pack of the full mth sweetest moment goodies rite on the day of our gathering ? Are they nice ?

Kym Teo (pebblez): have not started any threads nor experience any deletion without notice.

I do notice that this forum does not allow users to mention other forums. Hope it helps!

isabelle: you mean all those things doesn't help to clear blocked ducts?

flos
o google's cafeteria food is ever so famous.

millie and mummies
i just received one sweetest moments goodies. nice meh? very ordinary. the cakes, mochi, eggs, and kueh one right?

for my boy's first month, i had gourmet chocolates with his pictures imprinted on them. some new technology then, not so new now.

hospital bag.
think i will just dump in a few pieces of clothes this time round. am mroe concerned what to do with my first born when im not around
haiz...i wouldnt want him to stay anywhere else but home, but no one can put him to bed so far...arghhhhhhh

Oh wah... so many replies to follow up... keke
Ok... one by one reply... sorry if i miss out any

Jojo: I know u mean home... not hosp... u type too fast liao... thanks

Alabone: U really look so young to have 2 kids.. look more like their elder sis

Flos: I am on Hosp Leave now... try not to touch Maternal Leave first... rather spend it with my bb

l'lcy: yap... i talk to her... to be good and stay put... dun come out so early to suffer in the incubator

Twendy: Thanks... KKH is nearer to home infact.

Storeberry: Thanks for posting the card... cant wait to see how all of your handwritting looks like.

Jessi/ skinnypig/ xuanting: Yes i am sure i wont encounter a more jialat one

Crayonshinchan/ stef&seanbabes: Yup.. going to enjoy the next few weeks of pregnancy till pop

Meie: Thanks for yr sms while in hosp... yr sms v heartwarming... esp true when reading on the hosp bed!

Cloud: Thanks for reassuring KKH...

Sasa de mouse: bed rest for me... not complete bed rest... i still can bathe... watch tv... i just cannot go out of house... HB forbid...
medication wise... need to wakeup to take even at wee hours... every 4 hourly... tats excluding freq urination... cant hv deep sleep

Shazz: Yes yes yes... No peaceful night at hosp... they wake me to take medicine, do fetal heartbeat monitoring, take temp and take blood pressure. Then every 2 hrs the mummies in the same ward need to BF their crying babies... so noisy!! But its a good way to train me for it

Momoko: my gynae alys like to stay No problem, Dun worry. But seems like become a habit. Give me the idea i am "da jin xiao guai" so i dun really dare to go to him when i had spotting. I remember its u gals who kept asking me to go checkup when i had spotting at week 27. In the end also the same... He dunno why.

JJmom: Oh so u are Mrs choo.. haha yup i remember u. Yup Bear has the same gynae... much to our surprise too. She even visit me at NUH.
Well i didnt exaggerate in my postings at all. Wat i post are wat he said. I dun like to say bad things abt him so tat pp will sympathise with me or watever... cos i rather he is good.
I even tell myself i shd trust him cos he is the gynae and he has seen many cases... but i learn to trust my own body now... cos everyone's body is different. If dun feel alright, must be something wrong. The NUH doc complain to me his attitude and i told him i know wat u mean cos i am a victim too.

Isabelle: I can only say he cares alot abt $$.
Week 12: ask me go for NTscan... end up nv do cos he says bb not right position n he no time to wait for bb to turn... need to pay $250 if i wan to know if my bb got down sydrome.

Week 22: bleeding at night. called him, he says he charge $150 and Mt A also charge $150

Week 26: wanna know bb's weight, he says need to do a 20mins scan and will cost $150

How to tahan the bills if all these things costs Money??

<font color="0077aa">Millie &amp; l"lCY: I thot Sweetest moments packaging is one of the nicest one? But some say it does not taste as nice wor...

Wow, I really hope the Govt will announce the incentives &amp; we will get it in Sept!! Will pray for it!!!

And who is JaSmine in FB??</font>

Millie, ya that day i got a box of sweetest moments goodies. i find their swiss roll not bad. mochi and fruit tarts are normal but i never try the kueh cos i don't fancy those kind of kueh.

Sorry to intrude. I have a Medela Swing &amp; a box of Medela Micro-Steam to let go @ S$150.

Self-collect at Woodlands MRT.

storeberry
i would say it taste ordinary. not sure the price though so cant comment if it is value for money. but defintely forgettable lah. kueh taste like kueh, swiss rolls like swiss rolls loh...

their packaging is ok i guess.

mrs yap
your ex gynae sucks. how can he charge you so unreasonably. it's best to get a gynae who is nice nice to you. most have very similar training and skills but their willingess to listen to you and pander to your needs differ.

heeee..but hor, what you experienced at nuh will be what is awaiting you when the Melody comes..yikes!!!!!!!!!!!

i cannot imagine another round of bfg and late night wakings...tell you ah, ive never watched so much wee hours discovery channel as i did during the early months of my first born////arghhhhhhhhh

hi bacon&amp;eggs,
same! i have exactly the same problem that you have. when i need to toss and turn, the pain is agonising. worst thing for me is when i want to turn to either side, it hurts coz left side is affected by pubic symphysis, right side by scoliosis/slipped disc. there's no way to relief the pain. when i sit down, i just apply great pressure on the painful area. it helps then but when i stand, the pain comes back. for my slipped disc now, i use this plaster from my gynae called 'ken-hancer'.

shazz,
awwww... you're very sweet. thanks for reminding me abt keeping my cool. and yes. i was in a panick mode today when sudden realisation hit me. well, your webbie's really useful. i know now i'm 29 weeks and 3 days. bb's weight is 1.43kg. doc said it's ok. just slightly small but not terribly. she showed me the chart and bb is abt at 40th percentile.

flos,
i may be a mother of two, but each pregnancy is different you see... hehehehe. so that's why i still can get panicky!

and yes! google is the best employer. i read abt them previously in newsweek and they give the best benefits to their employees. massage chairs, jacuzzi, swimming pool, sushi, etc! very welfare!!

you're serious abt the 4mths ML ah??? wah! i'd be really happy. hope after they annouce during national day rally and implement it soon after so us sept mummies can benefit!!!!

l'lcy,
yeah... but i kinda know i won't have big babies. was just suddenly worried that cadence be too small. but in two weeks time, she's gained 300g so i think she's ok.

mrs yap,
you are so kind!! after reading your post, it brought such a wide smile to me. hehehehehehehhee!!!

morning ladies
Have not been posting much in the last few days...hope everyone is alright...

Had a dream about some of you last night! You were going to my family place in Penang for some buffet dinner and looking at vintage cars that some neighbour had bought...no idea what this means!

l'il CY
I think it may be better get your son used to someone putting him to bed...otherwise the transition will be even more painful and he will link it to baby's arrival!! I'm starting to let my hb put adan to bed more now as well, also reading less when tired and hb reads instead or they do story telling together (imagination game - my hb calls it the lazy man game cos he gets to just lie down there and he'll tell a story from his imagination then ask adan to start telling him a story - so not much effort on hb's part)...otherwise can't imagine what he'd be like with a sudden overnight change!

Is CY almost 2 already? If so, can start leaving him in room to sleep by himself if not already doing so...i started doing that with Adan at about 2yrs...but I was lucky in that he didnt make a fuss (till a few months later...for some strange reason, but must hold your ground and keep at it...now, i stay in room for 2 minutes after light out (no eye contact and minimal talking) and then leave the room after a kiss and hug.

Ava
Guess our bizarre dreams are back.. yesterday I also had a weird dream.. dreamt that I attended a concert by Tony &amp; Carina &amp; they were holding hands &amp; singing some song about their wedding.. strange!

alabone,
same for me, no pain relief at all..
I must say thankfully it only affects the left side of my legs and not both! Dont think i can walk if it affects both sides..might even need a wheelchair.. *touch wood*

Clothings after birth
Thanks for all the suggestions..seems like dresses are good options. I guess it would be too inconvenient for us to wear pants?

Man Yue cakes
Any comments on other bakeries?

bacon &amp; egg
Actually pants are ok to wear. but not tight tight ones lah. i wore a stretchy 3/4 pant home after my last delivery

Tip of the day: those going for natural birth...remember to go toilet (pee) every 1.5-2 hours cos sometimes can't feel urge to pee and end up peeing on floor! not fun if u have guests around!

Ava: Are you serious? Cannot feel the urge to pee? Yikes! Been doing my Kegels. Hope that helps. If not maybe wear adult diaperS? Hahaha.

Mrs Yap: Welcome back! Rest well. Glad to know that you have a much better gynae now.

Shazz: Yep...missed ur post abt mustafa. Anyway, NTUC sells Napisan but only in pink plastic can, not the paper one. I shall just continue using the australian liquid wash I got until i run out cos tt one's so cheap. Hehe.

Storeberry: HAve you watched the DVD yet? Let me know what you think!

Abalone: Ken is the short guy. Can I ask how bad your scoliosis is? Cos I apparently have it but need to wait until after birth before i can go for further checks to confirm.

Lok: Wow! Which company do you work for?

Sasa: Been like ages since I last saw you online! Still at home enjoying tai-tai-dom?

Sunrays: Where have you been? Haven't seen you on the forum for a while...

NIPPLE MASSAGE: I also read that nipple massage can trigger contractions but it takes like 3-4 hours of continuous massage to do so. Guess sexual intimacy is faster if need to find a way to stimulate the onset of labour naturally. Poking with sterilised needles to clear ducts - OUCH! Doesn't this hurt???? ISABELLE- how did you do it?

POSTNATAL DRESSES: Anyone knows of where to get nice, not frumpy, yet affordable PJ dresses that we can wear to breastfeed? Been looking around but not much luck. I'm thinking of just wearing nursing tank top from like Spring with my loose 3/4 elasticised pants as PGs.

MEDISAVE CLAIM: We can claim from our husbands. On hospital admission form, there should be a section asking for info on Medisave claim account info. Claimant 1 and 2. You can put your hubby's name on the first option if you want to claim from his. Double-check with your hospital? Mine is MT A so maybe TMC is different.

bacon&amp;egg,
for manyue cakes, i ordered Choz for my 1st manyue and Melrose for my 2nd manyue. Personally, i find Choz so-so only too and their price are abit over-priced maybe due to all the TCS stars endorsement.. for Melrose, the butter/marble/walnut cakes are yummy and the price is very reasonable too. i will most probably choose Melrose again for #3 manyue

Kym Teo: when is your EDD? you're in Aug, Sep, Oct, Nov, Dec threads!! LOL

Mei/Ava: Yep, I had a few dreams this week. Last night, I dreamt that my sis terrorised me with a puppy! I let out a loud yell!!!

isabelle: pricking with needles! OUCH OUCH! No way! It must be the Wrong Way!

SarahMay: I'm sure we can claim from DHs. So many SAHM in SG.

stef&amp;sean: Choz not so nice?!! Was wondering if sweetest moments are worse than choz. But honestly, do guests eat them when they get home?

I heard the ang ku kueh for boys and girls are diff...boys give sharp/rounded kuehs, girls give flat kuehs.

lilboymom: if all the manyue cakes are so-so, then which one are u ordering this time?!!

alabone: Nope I'm not sure if it'll be 4 mths ML but those are some of the rumours my sources in MOM have heard
But there'll be incentives in Aug, cos one high level director in PSD already told me to watch out!

storeberry: I've no clue who this JaS Mine is either! She is one of the two jasmines I guess. skinny pig or something_jas? nevermind, dun like just delete her lor...

Ava

is your Adan sleeping alone in another room? currently my gal 2yrs old is sleeping with us in the same room but on the floor mattress..me oso tinking of moving her to another room on her own..but abit scare lei..not sure if she will wake up in the night n cry, wonder around the house while we were sleeping (as not closing the doors), etc...haiz..

sarahmay,
i bought my nursing pjs from Mothercare..$65 for 2 pcs.

stef&amp;seanbabes,
I am thinking to order ang ku kueh from market (alexandra mkt) and make my own red eggs for relatives. For colleagues, will probably go for nicer manyue packages.. Will explore Melrose

Flos,
I find Choz butter/marble/ walnut cakes and traditional packs are quite normal. i think Melrose ones are better and definitely more value for money!

Sarahmay,
that the thing i like abt Melrose - they have traditional packs! these manyue cakes are mainly for relatives (aunts and uncles and in-laws relatives,etc). So, the more traditional the packaging and stuff inside, the better
i normally order the walnut cake with 4 ang ku kueh, 4 red eggs and 4 glutinous rice. V traditional heh..

for colleagues, i normally buy those bengawan solo cards. It's easier to distribute around in the company.

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
u miss me ah?? hehe i'm online everyday leh, but dun see u online de
still enjoying my tai-tai life, at my own expense leh. gynae didnt give HL or MC wor, but i dare not take the risk n go back to work

ManYue Packages
oohh.. i'm at a loss. Will explore these options after discussing with hb. Another great expenditure

oh btw.. there's different packages for boys &amp; gals isit?

Medisave Deduction
yeap yeap, we can deduct from hb's medisave. tat's wat happened for my hospital stay wor

bacon&amp;eggs: making/dyeing your own red eggs? It's quite siong right?

stef&amp;sean: OK, I'll explore melrose...thanks for the recommendation!

stef&amp;sean: sorry, you said you chose Melrose for your #2. That was how many years ago? Will the standards be the same this year?

Who has recently received a Melrose manyue package?

Flos,
I think it is kinda fun to cook &amp; dye my own red eggs..will get help from mom and MIL..they should enjoy doing it too...haha..maybe my wishful thinking!

Flos,
haha.. my #2 was born in Nov'05
so the manyue was in dec'05
that was like 3 yrs ago.
hahah.. that's a good one. i'm not sure abt the standards now though

are u due after me (4th sept) ? if yes, then i will feedback to u after i hv tried Melrose this time