(2008/09) Sep 2008

anyway, i hv a list of websites here for mummies to explore

http://www.kyo.com.sg/products/fullmonth00.html

http://www.melrose.com.sg

http://www.primadeli.com.sg/cakes/cakeofthemonth.

http://www.blossoms.com.sg

http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/gift.htm#baby

http://www.jacksplace.com.sg/cake/bundle.html

http://www.chozconfectionery.com

www.sweetsurprise.com.sg

http://www.candylovers.com.sg/pricelist.htm

http://www.gobi.com.sg/gobi.swf

http://www.pgcake.com/

http://www.emicakes.com.sg

www.yilingcakes.com.sg

www.sweetestmoments.com.sg

www.one-joy.com

www.babybliss.com.sg

www.savouryfare.com

www.sweetsecrets.com.sg

www.cupcake-momma.net

http://www.one-joy.com/

angeline
When we first let him fall asleep on his own, he was in cot bed in our room. after about 6months to a year, we moved him to his own room in a single bed with rails.

some kids can get back to sleep on their own without crying. but i think u'll definitely hear her if she cries when she wakes up at night...wont have enuf time for her to roam around the house one lah...but dont let her sleep in one place then move her to her own room while she's asleep cos then she wont know where she is when she wakes up...and will definitely cry!!

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
after my hospitalisation the last time, been going to work on-off till last wk, i felt contractions every 15 min. heng ctg picked up onli 3 contractions during tat hour tat i was there, so gynae allow mi to go home. but den gave mi 1 wk MC to rest lor, say i cannot walk around so much wor.

n i dun dare to risk anymore by going to work, so spoke to my in laws (i'm working for them
so got more flexibility lah) and we all agreed I should juz rest at home. onli go to office when necessary. of coz i'm still doing work at home lah, hehe

am on Ventolin 4 times a day now, increased from 3 times but doesnt seem to help much so gotta let my gynae noe when i see him on Tues. In the meantime, i'm at home and on MSN whenever i'm not watching TV, haha. so can talk to mi if u wan. [email protected]

u muz take care too oso. i'm oso not on bed rest, haha. like u, eat, watch tv n sit by the table whenever i surf (which is like almost half the day le)</font>

Manyue cakes
i just had Melrose cream cakes few weeks back and i find them quite sweet especially those with the coloured "jam" toppings. Used Choz for my wedding guo da li cakes, i only like the pandan heart shape cake, the swiss roll and tarts are so-so.

will u all get the walnut/butter/marble whole cake or those assortments of cakes?

jessi,

i will use the whole cakes instead of those assortment cakes.. more traditional la. i think alot depends on your type of relatives actually. are they those traditional type or more modern ??

sasa de mouse
Oh i must have missed yr posting during my hosp stay. Contractions every 15 mins? Pain right? My CTG shows contractions every 4mins... so no choice gonna stay in hosp. Ya i think u shd rest at home...
Oh u working for yr inlaws? Haha sure no prob de lor... they are doing their grandson a favour.
Yday i called my HR to inform them abt my HL. Then my HR says how come my boss nv inform them... aiyo my boss really bochup.
I added u on MSN liao

<font color="0077aa">Yah sasa, don't walk too much &amp; rest at home &amp; "yang tai'!

Melrose seems quite good yah? I asked my mum whether need to give cakes to relatives, she said no need so I guess no need to order? Or should order just a few in case??</font>

Has anyone work out the cost for these manyue stuff? Like which website offers the cheapest rate? I kinda like Melrose... and I'm crossing my fingers that my HB will let me buy some of these stuff for manyue. I haven't even spoken to him about manyue stuff yet. Scully he says do away with the manyue stuff.

ava
well, cy was sleeping in his own room since day 1, but when i stopped work i had to move into his room with him coz i need to wake him up for night feeds due to his weight problem.

so now whole family is bunking in one room. the plan is to bunk in all together. hb wants it that way too. thing is he has been having trouble putting cy to bed recently. used to be fine. dunno why hes acting up now.

flos
eh, getting the same chocolates for man yue thingy. most likely this time have my girl's photo as well as family photo on the chocolates..kekekek...

wingkei
depending on what you fancy. it can range anything from a few hundred to even thousand leh. and who are you giving? relatives? those who gave you gifts for bb?

seriously i dun think your hb will do away with manyue stuff coz his mother most likely would want one too. but he may not want melrose loh, might go for something mroe conventional. concensus is sweetest moments..coz got eggs and keueh...

wingkei (wingkei): cost wise it all depends on what you choose from the menu/package. Cos everyone got different budget and preference, so abit difficult to compare. what the mummies here can compare is the packaging and taste of the food.

sasa: good that you can work from home now. then your meals how? got people buy you meals anot? take care dear!

alabone: cadence weight is ok at 40th percentile, she'll be growing at 200-250g per week from now on!
the webbie i gave you shows the average UK baby weight, so dun be worried if you see from the calendar that cadence is much lighter than those stated in the calendar.

l'l CY, it'd be difficult to say, cos they may want to save cost. His mom even told me to tell my relatives not to buy clothes for my baby, give money instead! And it's not like for manyue or anything. I was just telling her that my family likes to buy clothes for babies when they are out and sees something nice and she told me to tell them to give the money for the clothes instead! But this is like something out of their hearts!

I thought Melrose seems the cheapest compared to the rest, so if I really want to get something, I can tell my HB that this is the cheapest or something. Melrose has eggs and keuhs too, doesn't it?

wingkei
oops i just saw , yes i think it does.

that is very common, the giving of money instead of gifts. we often request friends to do that too

coz more practical lah.

flos
frankly, think no one eats the eggs leh, the kueh maybe. but i dun touch those eggs...kekeke, i did use one to make egg mayo sandwich for my boy tho.

alabone
40th percentile is good lah. why have heavy bbs?unless she is real fussy like cy and refuse milk from bottles, i dun think her weight would drop very much even with hunger strike at times.anyway, with cy, even if he were born 90th percentile, he would have gone off the chart given his total refusal of milk when i was working.

so just pray for an easy bb who drinks like champion. lighter bb better, easier to carry, wont hurt your back so much...

l'l CY, yes, I know it's better to give money instead of gifts. What I mean is just normal day shopping for my family. Whenever they see something cute or nice, they will want to buy it for the baby. Only on special occassions would we request them to give money instead. I can't possibly tell my family, every time you see something you want to buy for my baby, don't buy, give me the money instead, right?

Ava...

hmm...my gal can now sleep on her own on the mattress floor..normally i will just say good nite,etc...was tinking of letting her sleep in her new single bed in our room 1st before moving her over...haiz..so crampy man with 2 beds side by side...hopefully she wun be much affected when the bb out..

wingkei (wingkei): there's nothing you can do about it. since it's your relatives' "sin yi" you just have to accept it gracefully. no point kicking up a fuss about it or even talk back to your MIL or hubby. It'll only make things worse.

stef&amp;sean: mine is 14th! But thot need to book earlier? Anyway, I'm like you, I prefer whole cakes.

wingkei: cash is good, but u might want to collect some anklets for your bb too? I already saw my bb's manyue gifts from my relatives. They are super KS...but they will officially give them to me on the actual manyue day.

angeline goh: sleep on the floor. I dunno if it's good to let toddlers sleep on the floor. Won't they get rheumatism?!

bacon&amp;eggs: I'll not have the patience to dye red eggs...

Am thinking I'll leave these manyue chores to my MIL, since they are foodies. That includes the buffet. Let my MIL cook for my guests, save my $$! LOL

liliboymom: I think cash is more practical too. I'm so terrified to receive ugly 'recycled' bb gifts from my relatives. My SIL is one such person who is likely to recylce bb clothes that she received last year that were found to be too small for her gigantic son.

sarahmay,

alamak, flos posted the company many times already leh... Anglo-Dutch Oil &amp; Gas company (Shell).

flos,

thanks for the link. I can actually identify with some the perks that google offers (swimming pool, massage chairs, job rotation every 3-5 years.) Probably we are not as nimble as Google due to our size and can't afford to give 99% of employee share option (but still not so bad lah, got 3 months AWS + variable bonus).

angeline,

good to train them to sleep on their own. My 2YO toddler can now by himself on his own in his own room. Just kiss him goodnite and we walk out. No need to check on him at all. Started this training since he's 13 mths. U in June'06 thread right?

hi any mummies went for the 32 weeks growth scan and blood test? Just went yesterday but bb 33 weeks liao..bb is ok..but my blood count abit low..haiz..and gaining too much weight..contradicts har..

l'lcy,
i'm not worried abt the weight now. just didn't want one that's so tiny that she'll need to be in an incubator or something. nat nat refuses to eat or drink much milk but look at her. so chubby. chubbier than her brother who eats a ton!

shazz,
thanks. i read too that ang moh bbs are bigger than asian ones.

bacon&amp;eggs,
ya lor... just have to tahan. hopefully after birth it gets better.

sarahmay,
according to the doctor, he said my scoliosis is not that serious. on the xray, i can tell quite distinctly that my spine is curved. the pain i go through and the 'mild' scoliosis that doc described does not tally. i shudder to think of those whose scoliosis are serious! i only found out abt my scoliosis last year when i was in so much pain i couldn't move my legs.

flos,
really ah??? incentives in august means we will get the incentives in aug or they are announcing during the national day rally? i just hope it benefits us who give birth this year. not like going to implement it only next year or something...

alabone: I hv absolutely no idea if it's with immediate effect! But when they heard I'm due in Sept, they said, "Oh good lah! then you 'tan teo' (赚到) in Hokkien"

Lok: But Google is in US
They have childcare centres, fantastic canteen that lilboymom noted, gym &amp; what nots, the workstations are awesome, etc etc. I watched the feature on CNN some time back and was most impressed. It was many of my friends' dream employer since 2006. The job ads can be found on The Economist.

Do u know Charles Ng, GM of Shell CNOOC @ Huizhou? He might hv retired..

alabone
heee...more serious ones will be bed ridden liaoz. i have a friend on wheelchair coz of that. another one has to be total bedrest for pretty much of the year...

Flos,

Yes, I know Charles Ng. Why?

Guess it's not fair to compare US to SG. U migrating to US or intending to work them huh?

jen kate: yes I went for my growth scan, blood test, urine test and culture test last week. Mine is normal.

So what abt?

Lok: he is not retired yet? i happen to know him lah...

yeah, they dun even hv AWS in the US...Nope, I'm not migrating to US and dun intend to in the near future :)

hI FLOS,

great for you..ur bb weighing now? U exp any numbness on ur limbs? Intend to work till delivery?

For me bb is fine just that my blood count is low and abit overgain in weight..numbness too on limbs..and din realise im already carrying the weight of a watermelon liao..

l'il CY
Oh, then it's probably just a phase....went thru that too after a few peaceful months of him just sleeping on his own :D

jen kate: last thurs was 1.864kg. Yes! numbness on my left hand/arm. Cannot lie on my lefthand side at nite cos I'll experience momentary numbness on the left parts!! boss has approved my early ML. dun wanna work till delivery. i'm not that gungho...

my personal weight gain was only 0.8kg therefore most of it was attributed to bb's own wt gain.

yours? how heavy is yours?!

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
hhmm... mine were not so painful but rather very uncomfy wor.. haha, think u can relate to me lah. but every 4 min was realli optimum le. thankfully u are doing ok now. muz rest well too k.

oops.. haven received ur request to add mi on MSN leh.. but u added me to FB rite?? hehe

Storeberry
thanks dear. will rest well de..hehe.. n most imptly, relax!

Shazz
yeah, it's really good that i'm now working for in laws. got wor, everyday mil maid will bring food for me, luckily, else i dunno how to settle my meals
thanks dearie...

JenKate
i'll be going for my growth scan nxt tue. by den i should be around 34wks le</font>

flos,

I dunno whether he has retired. He used to be one of the business manager that I had contact with. Now I'm with another part of Shell's business, so don't track anymore...

flos, i gain abt 2kg over a period of 2 weeks plus and bb gain abt 400-500g over the same period..its seems that 2kg is normal over a mth at least..haiz..must be all those desserts..wanted v much to eat some durians but think have to forget abt it liao..
Ya me too just last night i feel numbness on both my arms for the whole night..now no more comfortable position liao..
So when u stopping? Edd?

ava: no lah...i'm not thinking of applying for google jobs now...just saying it's a great employer that's all. must be a bit geekish to blend into their laissez faire culture.

lok: he was my former neighbour in china!! my DH plays golf with him and his wife often :)

jen kate: so when r u stopping? me 4 wks prior. i was suffering from severe heartburn in the past 3 weeks, so my weight gain wasn't that significant.

i'm ignoring those delectable durians

<font color="0000ff">Jen Kate
hehe.. yeah, now i realised
supposed to have growth scan last wk on Friday, but due to my contractions, i saw doc on Monday instead. n since 2wks ago i saw Dr TC Chang and he did a rough scan to check on bb's development, my gynae felt tat it was meaningless to do so many detailed scans together, so re-scheduled my growth scan to 2 wks later which is nxt week lor.

hehe.. am looking forward to it. hopefully my bb is above 2kg already. but my doc did mention last wk tat my bb would be a small one (juz by measuring my tummy wor)

and yes i agree, there's no longer a comfortable position. so much so, i can't fall asleep at nite. every position juz seems so uncomfy. Me too wake up with numb hands leh.. n i dun dare to stretch my legs at nite when i slp for fear of getting cramps

juz find it so uncomfortable and feel so immobile when i wanna turn from left to right when sleeping</font>

<font color="0000ff">flos
u 'bear' to ignore those durians???? hahaha... as much as i would like to eat them, i'm resisting, coz LC mentioned my blood sugar abit high. but he suspects might b bcoz of the Ventolin i'm on</font>

storeberry

I'm the one who added u in facebook. U are in my msn too. =D

Haha! I hardly post here but i read daily. =)

Mrs Yap
Glad that you are fine and back at home. Don't walk too much and take good care.. Ignore ur stupid gynae and stay happy..

Flos,
Think i will work till labour..coy cant afford to let me off so early..haiz..no choice also but i guess bb might need me more after hes out..so trying my best to crawl to work every morning lor..Heng can still chat with u gals and read the so delightfull postings here..keke

Sasa,
Oic...ya meaningless to have so many detailed scan if everything is normal and predicted..Yaya i do agree..heavy vehicle turning liao..cant stretch my legs at all...else high chances of cramps..but i try to face my feet inwards when stretch..this is the method in relieving cramps so cramps wont come when u face ur feet upwards when stretch, tested and proven..mayb you can try..
And the urinating part..also disturb sleeps har..haiz..

Flos and sasa,

Trying v hard not think abt durians too..else i will really become heavy vehicle..but hubby keeps reminding how heavenly he thinks durians is now..must be those mao shan ones..haiz..drooling..

<font color="0000ff">Jen Kate
hhmm.... okok will try it tonite when i slp, hehe. thankfully i'm not plagued by the urinating part. prob try to drink less water b4 u slp. i try to limit my water intake after 930pm coz i usually try to go to bed by 11+

yah manz, agree. the durians esp the mao shan wang ones are so heavenly. they smell so nice and tastes so good, yummy!!!! cannot, muz 'ren'</font>

l'lcy,
your poor friend. i'm lucky then that it is mild. will be become worse?

flos,
that's good. i hope whatever they wanna announce will benefit all mothers - much to the dismay of employers!

FLos

haiz..no choice lei..my masterroom so small.eversince she outgrow her bbcot,we shift her to the mattress on the floor.but i put double layer...tts y i tinking of buying a single bed n shift her 'up'

Lok

envy lei..i regret not shifting her earlier.now bb out soon scare she will get 'anxiety'...did u buy those single bed &amp; put bed guards? will they fall down etc? my gal very active lei..i scare she will climb over the guard n fall down...yup..me in june 06 thread..

Durians...

Haiz..everytime i passby the geylang area see all those durians i so gek sim..coz i cant eat!!! now surplus n so cheap..argghhhh...but yesterday went to holiday inn for buffet dinner n they got those 'durian cream' for dessert...haha..i scoop some n eat..hope bb wun grow tooooooo much..

sasa de mouse/jen kate: my sugar level was within normal range but a bit on the borderline, cos the nite before I'd walloped many many lychees!

I need to exercise some discipline on durians cos I'm so worried that my bb will get pus all over his body like my colleague i mentioned here some weeks ago. My MIL's bro also kenna all those pus on his scalp. yikes!

piggy_jas: so u r JaS Mine?

alabone: unlikely it's 4 mths ML, cos it'll drive the foreign investors away from SG. might be paternity leave extension lor.

pray better not be 4 mths ML, else it's going to reduce women's employability and competitive edge...

sasa/flos,

Ya its the pus im worried abt..im not so worried abt bb getting too big cos im gng thru ceaser anyway...haiz..just dun let me sees it or smell it again..durians!! argh...

Have not been checking up this forum for the past few days
MOODLESS lo
My MIL got into some police case and now on court trial now.
And what is my greatest concern is the AMT of money that we will be forking out for her
So feddup loh!!! Argrhhhhhh

flos,
i agree that if they up the ML, women will be less favoured. don't you think employers need to work hand in hand with the govt on this matter? i mean if the govt wants to increase birth rates and has got all these measures to help, yet women are somehow punished at work, isn't this so counter-productive??

goldfish,
what happened?? why's your mil in police case????