(2008/09) Sep 2008

Erm… sounds that the antenatal video is quite SCARY leh! U all got any similar links from UTUBE?

Alabone/Stef, for contraceptive, the mirena is the sticker tingie issit? I oso contemplating contraceptive after delivery.. in case of accident again

I am still quite an idiot in facebook.. will try to explore and add more Sept mama!

Millie, so u managed to get to Raffle Place afterall rite?

Flos, ur description on episiotomy is quite scary :S I still find it hard to imagine how can someone cut someone down there!!???

Lok, u celebrate lunar birthdays?!! I can't find mee sua just now. Will eat tonight!!

Do u know it's also Carina Lau and Tony Leung's auspicious wedding today in Bhutan? A piece of paparazzi news!!

xuanting: erm, thks!! so chim!! can u sing me the Canto b'day song?

<font color="119911">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - fear of someone cutting my down there &amp; incontinence etc. is also one of the reasons I am opting for C.

Anyway - changing the topic abit - BABY's FULL MONTH GIFTS:

Here is the list of options from my SIL (she is very detailed, passed me an excel sheet with all her compilations).

So other than Bengawan Solo butter/banana cake vouchers, or http://www.partridgepear.com/giftpack.php, you might want to check out:

http://www.melrose.com.sg/tarts.html
http://www.sweetsurprise.com.sg/fullmonth.htm
http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/fmpackages.aspx
http://www.chozconfectionery.com/2005/promo.html
http://cupcakedivinity.blogspot.com/2007/11/more-1st-month-cupcake-designs.html
http://www.pgcake.com/
http://www.savouryfare.com/full_month.php
http://www.babybliss.com.sg/products.html
http://www.kyo.com.sg/products/fullmonth00.html
http://www.blossoms.com.sg/Baby%27s1stMonth2005.html
http://www.yilingcakes.com.sg/

Not sure if all the links work - these were from 1 year ago, &amp; I haven't checked them out. Mommies who do - let us know which are the shortlisted links

what, they are finally getting married? and in bhutan?? some holy ceremony?

flos, i only know the tune and maybe half the words! must eat red red egg later also you know.

Goldfish,
mirena is not the sticker thingy. it's like the IUD (inter uterine device), but the hormonal effects are local-within the reproductive system, and not the whole body.
why you want to go for contraceptive measures? this is your first baby only right?

hi stef,
yeah. my boy would have been good friends with yours! jared's bday is 1 Sep 2005. he is so into cars, buses, thomas and friends. we must meet for them to play together!

millie,
don't worry about it. if you've washed it already leave it be. i dont wash the drum too. but if you had used a lot of adult detergent to wash bb's clothes then use lesser amt next time or use bb detergent.

jen kate,
i see. so now you can choose whether you wanna go through epi c sec or GA is it? my friend just gave birth last tues via epi c sec and she said she could feel a lot of pressure when doc was operating.

bigtoes,
if i had a choice, i think i'd rather have natural birth... c sec recovery is sooooo painful and long afterwards. and personally, i develop keloids... so ugly!

flos,

We don't celebrate lunar b'days. Only ang mo ones. Just that my MIL came from the template and so mentioned that it's Joshua's b'day too.

alabone,

I am really amazed at how boys are genetically wired in general. My son (July 2006) is also into cars and thomas &amp; his friends. Why huh?

Alabone.. i also develop keloids on my body.. so in the past, i used to go for a jab at the GP to soften the tissues underneath so that it can absorbs back into the body. it works for some.. became lighter in color and flatten..

Stef,
Yah.. this would be our first bb.. Oh.. cos we wanted to stop at 1 actually.. I have seen IUCD before.. it is a beri super thin wire wor!
So for us, we can go for such procedures like hwo many mths after delivery? Any idea?

Bigtoes,
Ah.. tat is a nice compilation of 1st month cakes! For my side, we just confirmed to do 1st month catering cos our FIL said since our cousin recently oso thrown a 1st month catering party, we shld do the same. I was hoping that I can siam the 1st month catering party cos’ I am not close wif my hubby relatives one… like ‘zuo-show’ liddat lo.. smile smile and act demure liddat loh. Anyone has nice catering contacts?

jaymickey, u had given birth before? u hv keloids?

lok: oic, i hardly rem unless my mom told me abt it!

stef&amp;sean: hmm, thot red eggs are for NB babies...

goldfish: "act demure"?? thot must look "motherly"?

<font color="119911">alabone (alabone) - aggh..i guess we won't know how bad the recovery is until we experience it ourselves.
And every delivery &amp; every body is different. Like for my sister's case, she had natural, followed by C, and said that the C was relatively painless &amp; recovery alot smoother than her natural. Then again, I also have colleagues who think I am crazy to opt for C!

On keloids - I had a 8cm cut for my fibroid removal at the bikini area. Recovery was also very easy, just abit of numbness &amp; the scar completely healed (just a very faint line, no raised scar or keloids)...think also partly cos Dr Tan is very experienced &amp; her skills are pretty good. Am hoping that my C scar (will be cutting the same spot) will be okie.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - you might want to consider going on the pill? I was on Diane35 for years till we decided to get preggers recently.</font>

<font color="0077aa">crayonshinchan: I read the article on the perineum massages but its abit gross!! So I don't think I will do it.. Kekek...

Yah, mummies, don't scare ourselves!!!</font>

Flos, no.. this is my first.. i got keloids from chicken pox in the past and also mosquito bites.. and is on my CHEST area.. so ugly.. hate it so much..

Bigtoes
I was on the pill too &amp; recently did some reading on contraceptives after birth. Apparently, we can't be on OCP while breastfeeding.. now pondering what form of contraceptive I should use.. guess I'll discuss with my doc.

Goldfish,
better to hv at least 2 kids , then your kid wun feel so lonely..
for contraception, depends on which one u going for. some will affect milk supply, so preferably dun do when u are breastfeeding. Mirena can be done i think quite soon after birth. cannot remember how many weeks or months though. but i dun intend to insert so fast, cos breastfeeding is quite an effective contraception for me. for my 2nd and 3rd pregnancy, i got pregnant cos i stopped breasfeeding
so most probably, will only insert the Mirena when i'm going to stop breastfeeding or when my menses comes back. (btw, my menses only came back when my son was abt 21 mths)

Lok,
i hv a boy and a gal. And i noticed how different their characteristics are. All i can say is God is really great

Bigtoes: how many times can one undergo c-section? can u keep cutting up the same scar? Can u still cut the same spot for your second bb?

jaymickey: oic, i din know chicken pox gives one keloids.

I've not even thot abt contraception, though the parentcraft nurse did ask us to start thinking abt it, which I thot was quite odd. get the man to wear CDs.

First month...wow, that's a long list of choices! Sunrays' first mth cakes must be really nice

<font color="aa00aa">Hi ladies
Am so glad that u gals enjoyed the preggo tea party on Sat..We shld have another after we popped, maybe book a function room or something, hehe!! We must continue to keep the Sept thread happening ya??!!

Goldfish
Ya, hb usually featured in Channel U, quite a few times but mainly in 2007, most ppl remembered the program '名厨上菜' cos he cooked for his mum in that program...the rest was like 'Makan King', '都市大发现'...can't remember the rest. He was also featured in Sunday Times Life cover page before,hee.. He recently did a program for AXN and BBC too.. He was approached to be featured in our Nat'l Anthem MTV but cos of the new Canele outlet in Shaw, he got no time to do it...otherwise tat'll be quite interesting, can show baby nxt time..hehe!!

I just went for my Week 33+ chkup..am shocked to learn tat Charlotte is putting on too much,too fast!! All along, gynae estimated she will be a max 3kg bb at birth(medium sized) but now I am worried cos she is 2.5kg today which is the weight of a Week 35 baby!! Gynae asked me 'Wat hav u been eating??!!' Told me if she continues to grow at this rate and still not engaged by week 38, either have to induce or go for C-Sec!! Oh no!! I really wish to deliver naturally!! Have to watch my diet now, so sian!! Juz when i tot i can eat watever i desire now....sob!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Sunrays: Yah after we pop if we meet up would be so fun! Haha!! Charlotte also a CHampion!

UPDATE FROM MRS YAP:
Discharge tml from NUH, I will follow up with KKH, hospital leave till 1 Aug after which might be extended by KKH. Now I feel better and no spotting. I am just worried if I start walking, the spotting will come.

Still waiting for her update on Melody. Hope Mrs Yap will be able to rest at home fully!</font>

sunrays,
arrrggh!!! your hb is soo famous. i feel more 'dui' that i've missed his yummy food!!!! what a time to fall sick for those two. make me miss my outing...

you won't have very long to control now if you have to control diet now. tahan a few more weeks ya?? hang in there!

lok,
ya lah. my boy is really wired to be like a boy. i mean i never even specially buy such toys for him. only when i discover his interests. you know? he loves to look at buses. he can cross the road and when he sees an oncoming bus, stop right smack in the middle of the pedestrain crossing, just so he can see and recite the bus number before he wants to move again. i have to literally drag him along coz we can't freaking stop right in the MIDDLE OF THE ROAD!!! boys and girls just use different parts of their brains i think... but it's good that there's a difference. there's balance.

jaymickey,
there are such jabs ah??? i never knew abt it man. in any case, my friend who has the same problem, told me that using aloe vera gel/cream helps a lot in reducing the keloids. so this time round, i'm gonna use it religiously. the thing with keloids is it doesn't develop soon after birth for you to know. my keloids always comes a few mths after surgery.

bigtoes,
yeah. i suppose each person's tolerance is different. because i have to undergo GA, when i go for surgery, the doc/anaethetist has to insert this breathing apparatus all the way down my throat. when after it's removed, it causes irratation in my throat such that i always always cough. and you know how painful it is to cough/sneeze/laugh after a c sec surgery... so i really really do not look forward to that at all... in fact, i wish my hb was pregnant now and he can go through birth for me...

GA
Eeee....tubes in throat...not fun...am still hoping for natural (with epi)...

am so sian at work today...feel like changing my nic so i can complain more without detection...:p

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - the Dr at the talk said max 3 times for C section (assuming same spot I guess). So for me, 1st = fibroid, so we can have 2 kiddies at the max (we aren't planning for >2 anyways). Can have more but higher risk, and of cos, can try for VBAC.

Ava/alabone - hmm...didn't think they put any tubes for GA, just anaesthesia into a vein in the top of your hand. I remembered that the insertion of the tubing for the anaesthesia was the MOST PAINFUL part of my whole surgery!

sunrays (sunrays)- wow, baby Charlotte is growing well! Were u or hubby quite big at birth? The baby's weight is suppose to be a reflection of the parents.</font>

Sunrays: WOW! charlotte is so big! Can be early baby like 37 weeks and no prob at all! Yeah...what have you been eating? I also want my bb to be bigger. Hahah.

Stef&amp;Sean: You are amazing!!! Natural with no epi and you are so petite! I'm inspired! Will target for natural with no epi too!

Ava: Hahah! You can adopt another nick just for complains! Hang in there! Just a few more weeks! You working mainly from home now?

Alabone: jared looks so much like you!

Lanolin: EEks! The videos sound gruesome! I know I will be freaked out so chose not to watch any...just in case i chicken out also. Hehe. Never mind, just be inspired by some of the mummies here who have had natural without epi deliveries!!!

Perineum massage: I asked my doc. She says only can do fri=om Wk 36 onwards, not earlier. Guess we can ask our doctors to teach us how to massage??? But I personally find it a bit icky!

Napisan: It's actually recommended for washing dirty nappies! Supposed to be really good!

Washing Machine Drums: How to rinse the drum? Eeks! I washed my bb stuff but didn't rinse the drum. Should I re-wash everything again? Mine's a Braun washer...anyone owns one of these and knows how to rinse the drum? it's similar to the THomson machines.

Added Mummies on FB already. But [email protected] doesn't seem to have an existing FB account. Prompts me to invite you leh. Did I get it wrong?

bigtoes,
my doc always wait for me to have gone asleep before she inserts the catheter and the drip. so slightly less pain for me. can you request for your doc to do the same?

hi sarahmay,
you've not met greg yet. some pple say jared looks more like the father. mixed comments. maybe greg and i look somewhat similar. were you there at the gathering?? which one was you??

just added you on facebook too. you look really familiar. and just realised that you know calvyn too!! how did you know him?

Storeberry: Thanks for your update on mrs yap!

xuanting: No natural tears is a bit of a tall order for us asians! But since I learnt that there will be LA before the snip, I feel less terrified abt the snip. Hehe. Like you, I do hope that I am super elastic there so that I have no need for the episiotomies! Share the perineum massages you discover!

Jessi: So your hubby is a photog who does music gigs as well? Maybe that's how he knows John. Anyway, the two of you make a cute couple. You must be very young! Maybe the youngest in our Sept thread!

those mummies who went for the 3d scan at radlink, is it the one on the 7th floor?? is there a specific doc that i shd go to?

sarahmay,
you look really really familiar you know?? i think i know you from somewhere but absolutely can't recall. did you use to do teaching in some schools in singapore???

Hi all Mummies..

Have been reading all your posts and seems that most of you had given birth before..
This is my first child and i'm getting quite excited..
on my 33rd week now..

just wondering have any1 of you felt Braxton Hicks contractions already?
how do u all actually differentiate it?
sometimes i feel hardening but not sure whether is it contractions or just nice that my baby's head is there..

Hi Sunray,

My baby is also estimated at 2.5kg at week 33+. Are you due on first week of september. I am also getting worry for the baby to be deliver naturally. But doctor and nurse keep assuring me that the natural will take place and not to worry... How can not worry right ??????
The concern my doc have for me is that I have not been putting on any more weight for the past three checkup and yet out of the sudden, baby grow bigger than average.....

sunrays
wow your hb is famous chef. was he the one who cooked brekkie for some michelin chef when he was here in town recently. featured in ST..

alabone
so you going for the 3d scan huh? im thinking of it too, but am seriously too lazy to do so. wanted to do for CY but my gynae had an emergency that morning and i had to rush for work..so....haiz...

Hey Ladies!!
Read tis ---

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/STIStory_259880.html

Singapore plans new measures to boost birth rate

SINGAPORE is working on a slew of new measures aimed at boosting the city-state's flagging birth rate, the government said on Monday.
The new measures, which will be announced next month, will include more financial support for parents and policies to encourage a pro-family environment in the workplace, Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng said in parliament.

Erm... it will be revealed next mth..wonder does announcement of new measures = implementation huh? Aiyoh.. abit wasted leh!

Hi Goldfish,
Probably new measure will be announce as part of the National Day Speech by the PM .... In any case, for the past announcement, it is effective and implemented in the same year...hopefully same this time round

<font color="aa00aa">Bigtoes
Maybe u're right..I asked my mum..she said at birth i was more than 7lbs...tat is really quite big for a bb gal,hah!

Flos
Daddy Pang dun have time to prepare food for charlotte &amp; me leh...tats y i binge on junk food! It is comfort food to me..

Alabone
No need to ask for any particular doctor...jaymickey, shazz and myself were attended by this sonographer named Myti..very nice and patient lady.

Sarahmay
I have no idea how charlotte grew so much within 1 mth...i guess the ice cream &amp; junk food i've been eating bah..u can try durians if u want Elisha to grow bigger...cos for some reason my gynae kept reminding me 'no durians for u ah..'

Jojobar
Frm the first tri, gynae told me 4sep..the EDD kept changing but still she told me to use 4sep as guideline..at least u not putting on weight, i am terrible cos both mum &amp; bb are putting on!! I'm pretty concerned abt not being able to deliver naturally too..this was nvr an issue til today's gynae visit..at this stage, watching wat i eat is TOUGH!!

l'l CY(lilboymum)
yes..hb was the one who cooked breakfast for Pierre Herme..he kept telling me the feeling is so surreal...it made me wonder whether he'll feel as ecstatic when i deliver,haha!!</font>

Hi all, my fb is [email protected].. msn is [email protected]

i'm very squeamish when it comes to operations, almost wanted to cry when gynae first told me that i had low placenta and might have to undergo c-section.. i jumped for joy when she told me that my placenta has moved and i can go for natural delivery.. i would rather endure the pain of a natural birth rather than go for an operation.. i'm considering not taking epidural because i want to be in full control when i deliver..

goldfish...

hey..good lei..next month announce the new plans..hope all of us are able to be part of it..if not, 'wasted'..haha

sunrays

my bb oso ard 2.4kg @33weeks+..but to my gynae he said its a average weight..but he did mention abt NO DURIAN, sweet stuff etc...

goldfish, angeline
eh..doesnt seem too good leh...
1. financial incentives have failed...there no money this time round loh
2. will be different from nordic countries...means no increased leave or what loh..

most prob ...my guess
1. more incentives for infant care - both for parents and the school???
2. govt more involved in the setting up of childcare and infant care...more such will be govt agencies????.brave new world lah...
3. more childcare type leave???
4. increased tax rebates. to encourage well to do ones to give birth...
5. maybe reintroduce preferential school entry for families with more children..kekekeke...this will surely raise flaks!!!

whatever the case, i dun think i stand to gain from it

l'lcy,
yeah i wanna go for the 3d scan. next week is my visit to the gynae. am thinking of going to see my gynae and popping over to do the scan at the same time. one trip instead of two since it's only opposite each other. you??? go lah. we can arrange to go on the same day?? not sure what number to call though. will find out tmr.

sunrays and xuanting,
thanks for info. i'm quite excited. can't wait to see how bb looks like. it'll be my first and last 3d scan.

new measures to up birth rate:
yeah. i agree that there'll be some new measures in place. i mean LKY already greatly hinted on this when he talked abt it. i just hope that it'll be implemented soon and that we can get to enjoy it!!!! I'd be elated!!!

alabone
haha..if i go, will go for the nuh one. since it's by the way and way cheaper. and you know my gynae lah, surely can squeeze some extra stuff from her one....kekekekekek...but tooooo lazy lah...

L'l CY: Childcare and infant care centres? Hmm...I think that is one of the incentives govt will give too. Though if you study Sweden (the much talked-about model) infant care ctrs for 3s and below have become almost non-existent. As for the other measures you mentioned, I think there is high likelihood of them being offered(except no. 5 cos I imagine the elite schools still want to be able to 'sieve the lot'!). Though I personally rather prefer longer paid maternity leave so that I can stay home for at least 2-3 years with child. And hopefully there will be measures by govt to protect women against discrimination by employers.

Alabone: Did you read my previous post to you? Any recollection on where we met now? Also, are u still intending to do the postnatal massage? Calvyn? Which one? The Siaw one who works in Esplanade? I shall go check out my FB and confirm with you how I know him. Eh, is Ken in your school too?

Angeline, Sunrays: Wow! Your babies are heavyweight champs! I ate some durians on Sun and yday. But I think i shdn't go down that road....in case too heaty and I put on the weight not my bb! Hahah.

Mei: Are you the one who used Mrs Chuah for prenatal massage? If not who ah? Do you intend to get her for postnatal massage too? Am thinking of asking her to work out a special package for us if we want to use her. Cos I think she is v reliable and good but a bit pricey compared to the malay ladies.If we can get a few of us, maybe can try to get her to do special package for us.