(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mrs T: u r welcome. Dettol?! It's too potent liao...

"hospital alot of sick people/germs...of cos u will try to avoid those places if possible... just to avoid any unessary infections (e.g flu etc): - I suppose it's only for those going to General Hospitals e.g. TTSH, SGH, NUH, etc. where there are cancer patients, skin/heart diseases patients, TB patients, etc.

GLUPZ GLUPZ! Was shocked to hear abt Mrs Yap’s case!!! So her on and off bleeding is a serious symptom not to be ignored afterall.. Alas.. hope both the bb and Mrs Yap will be fine! Storeberry, do send our concerns and well wishes to her! Our prayers are behind her!!

Storeberry, my annum is chocolate flavour leh! Are u keen??!! I dun mind giving it to u complimentary since I find it an eyesore in my kitchen :p

Mei
Erm.. so actually issit a must to get nursing bra? I abit luan oso.. ermm.. nursing bra main objective is for mama to pull down the bra cup easily if do BF outside issit huh? :p

Twendy
Ur tummy looks obvious leh! Kekek.. there I go again, lamenting on tummy size :p Bt it certainly inspire me to take pix of myself and hubby
So far, I onie ask him to take pix of me on and off nia :S

Brazilian Wax
I tried that once before I preggy! Manz! It is so painful leh.. u gals can tahan huh esp when pulling the maos near the vagina area :S
I still can remember the PAIN! I tink my delivery pain shall overwrite this Brazilian wax memory :p

Gals
I smsed Mrs Yap to wish her well. She says bleeding has stopped for the moment & she has taken 2nd steroid. & it was the most painful injection experience for her.

Storeberry
She ask me to let you know her battery has gone flat so she can't reply you.

Hi Stef&seanbabes

Ah.. I din know Mdm Rokiah ‘upgraded’ liao
Alas.. beri expensive hoh? $788 for 10 sessions!!??
I tink I will look for second alternative liao. SOBZ!
Anyone going for it?

Bt would u know whether would it be Mdm Rokiah herself tat does the massage?

Mrs Yap, hang on there.. you can pull it thru!!

Goldfish,
i dun think Mdm rokiah will do the massage personally as she has now a group of well-trained pple under her who will do the massages.
i do agree with you that her packages are quite expensive. so, i think i will be doing with malayheritage, same as Alabone.

<font color="119911">storeberry (storeberry) - send our prayers &amp; warm wishes to Mrs Yap okie....hope the baby can stay in the womb for a couple more weeks at least. How many months is she now?
Maybe I need to be less gungho about walking around too much also...have to be careful not to trigger premature contractions. Just had another colleague's friend who gave birth at week 33 last week!

Yogurt - my fav is Meiji. In fact, this is the only brand of yogurt I have been consuming the last 1-2 years!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Thanks ladies for your well-wishes to Mrs Yap! Hope everything is well for her! Thanks mei for the msg!

Sasa: yes, I feel thirsty more often now expecially at night.

Goldfish: Aiyoo.. Don't want lah, U let me know how much yah? :p I can collect from u at the gathering.

shazz/sarah may - don't remember if it was one of you gals who mentioned going ahead &amp; banking with the public cord blood bank. Can you let me know once you have met the lady the procedures etc? Have to get some blood test done right?

oh dear... just read about what happened to mrs yap. will keep her in prayers and also hope her bb stays in there till full term.

oh no... storeberry/sasa do send my regards to Mrs Yap. Tell her we are all behind her and keeping her in our prayers..

yup.. mummies.. like wat bigtoes say, take time to slow down a bit. Try not to trigger premature labour.

I also feel very thirsty at night...Can't get enuff of water after I pee each time. I visit the loo like 4-5times every night.

Do u all start to feel sleepy like u were in ur first tri? I'm getting very tired in the office these days. Can't seem to get to work on time. Now dozing off after a nice cuppa camomile tea!

I think I should cancel my foot massage appt for next week...scared it'll trigger early contractions!!

flos,
me! i feel sleepy even though i sleep at 10pm at nite..and i drink alot of water..the thirst is extreme..esp after i have my meals..but i contribute that to my GD...

Yeah I'm mighty thirsty at night..have been for a while now...drink about 600 -800 ml at night and wake at 3 hr intervals!

Glad mRs Yaps contractions have stopped..

Flos, these 3days i had been feeling very slpy at work. My routine has not changed..I still sleep and wake up at the same time..prob its really true that we'll feel like we're in the first tri..

Hi all, I'm back.. :p Haven't been reading the posts for the past 4 days. Was running a fever since sat night. I attended the "introduction to breastfeeding" course from "Breastfeeding Mothers' support group on Saturday afternoon, and the aircon was blowing at me directly for 2 full hours!

Jasmine, dont worry too much about baby's weight. I just went for my check up on Tuesday 8th, at 29W, my baby is also at 1.2kg. Doctor said it's normal weight. Doctor said I wouldnt want to have a big baby cos it will mean that I'll have to be tested for GD cos usually big babies equate to GD (too much sugar). So I think the range for 2.8-3.2kg baby will be just nice.

just read about what happened to mrs yap.. glad that her bleeding stopped. hope her baby will stay inside mummy till due date.

i also get thirsty very easily the whole day. kept drinking water but try to drink lesser at night. else i will keep waking up to go toilet, disturbing my sleep. hehe..

Oh dear, I hope Mrs Yap is fine.

Do you all feel like you are back to trimester 1? My symptoms from trimester 1 seem to be back, though I had morning sickness till nearly the end of my second trimester, but starting from this week, I start feeling very nauseous in the morning again. I feel sick just getting out of bed, just like my first trimester! And I keep burping up all these sour juices that I didn't before.

flos, i'm also always feeling tired and sleepy. no matter how much i sleep at night, i still always feel i don't have enough of rest. every morning have to snooze to sleep longer till the last minute then rush to prepare for work. :p

had a shock when i read about mrs yap. i hope both mommy &amp; baby will be alright. is there any way to stop the dilation once it's started?

nursing bra
didn't buy mine yesterday thou i did check out the lovely ones at mothercare. the sales girl advised me to get them only around wk 36. guess i'll wait.

touch wood, but i think i'm getting bored!!! have bought everything i can buy at this stage and am getting a bit antsy for the days to pass. as a result, i went out and anyhow spend money on frivolous things i normally wouldn't buy yesterday! walau.

postnatal massage
i will prob get someone from this "heritage of traditional javanese massage" or "house of traditional javanese massage". have tried prenatal massage at both and think their standard sama sama. since they have a chain of shops everywhere, i don't suppose i will have to deal with common problems like the masseuse postponing/not turning up for appts.

me back from my test and have been busy till now. the gulcose made me want to puke, but the nurse told me if i vomit, then i have to forgo the whole test and come back at another day. control myself not to puke. fasting all the way from 11pm to 12pm then get to eat my 1st meal.
me too fell thirsty and get tired easy.
wonder it is because we keep getting up in the middle of the night to go toilet and this affect our sleep. and that y we gt tired and sleepy the next day.

Grace,
I used to prick my finger 7 times twice a week. I have since reduced to 7 times once a week...and recently only 7 times once every 2 weeks..yr dietician should be able to advise.

xuanting,
I am thinking to go and get my nursing bra today..as energy level for me is decreasing..

Hi Rachel
yup the sonographer also say it just nice, actually i scared having too big bb. It my mum who comment this.
My sis had this funny idea, bb will become bigger and nicer when it contact with air.

xuanting, if you join the membership for the House of Traditional Javanese Massage, you will get 20% off their package for postnatal massage, which will only be like $320 for 7 days.

xuanting: me too. getting impatient...restless...buying frivolous things like the Ikea mozzie net...yesterday bought 14 rompers for bb...heheh

<font color="119911">Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80) - u drank a flat orange soda for the GTT? I did the GTT some weeks back also, but didn't think the drink was that horrible.

wingkei (wingkei) - sour juices are the gastric juices coming back up (gastric reflux). Are u taking large meals? Would help to eat smaller meals more frequently, cos our stomach, intestines, lungs etc.. are all squished at the moment.</font>

hi sasa,

my friend indonesia they use BB binder for newborn cos traditionally its to prevent wind from entering their stomach and aid in colicky bb. they use until 3 months so normally malay bb dun have much colic problem....

traditioanlly they use tie type but now convenient use velco...

just sharing my info... i have some ang mo friend also start tou se cos in europe its getting popular... dun buy those small type. is not wide enough to cover whole tummy... so far i nevr see any sell in kiddy palace / mothercare etc.. maybe u can ask that link u post..

Bigtoes, no. mine is not flat orange soda. Maybe kkh is tight budget. To me, the drink is just sugar and water. really concentrated sugar water, which i think my sisters also never give such sweet drink to my HB on our AD.

Flos: I got nothing to buy too and since I got bbay's clothes from 0-6 mths settled, I got him 6-9mths sleeveless rompers for home wear at Mothercare! Simply love the quality ... it's sp cheap, 3 pcs for $12!

Ava, my smell aversions is back too! Getting tired easily as well, just like 1st trimester but not as bad though.

I'm drinking up more these days too ... and my throat is especially dry at night even though I sleep with the humidifier on.

flos, wonder if it's going to be like that till we pop. i can't keep spending cos i won't be getting any projects till bb and i have settled into a comfortable routine. jialat.

wingkei, i think i have the membership for the heritage one. there's one outlet v near my place. are you thinking of engaging either of them also?

bacon&amp;egg, which ones are u getting? the mothercare ones that mei and flos got are really pretty! i also want to get those but must grow my breasts bigger first.

is there something wrong with this website today or is it just my wireless connection acting up? it's taking an eternity to load. making me more restless...

xuanting: yes, SM is super slow today.

shazz: I bot two 7/pk short-sleeved rompers (9-12 mths) + (12-18mths).

smell aversions back? I'm starting to spray perfumes and use expensive shower gels now!

are we supposed to feel nauseous again in our 3rd trimester? o dear! o no!!!

shazz, have transfered the outstanding amt over. let me know if you've received it ok. can't wait to see the items!

everyone seems to be looking forward to the honey lemongrass drink at canele (how to pronounce?) – could this be a pregnant thing? i had some at a restaurant in hk and am certainly looking forward to it too!

<font color="0000ff">Any updates from Mrs Yap????

Flos
wah... u horrible.. bot 14 rompers in 1 day.. haha

becky cat
thanks.. am still thinking if it's necessary

Thirst
I try to curb my thirst at nite. dun drink water = less likely to need to visit the loo in the middle of the nite = more / continuous slp for mi.. haha

but seriously.. i've been downing water like nobody's biz lately. wonder if it's normal</font>

sasa
downing water sounds like it's normal on this thread!!!

xuanting
dont think it will come back for everyone....just some of us unfortunate few

Welcome Karen! I’m trying to look for a massage lady too. I emailed malayherittage massage , but still no reply thus far. I heard they are popular.

Ava: Thanks! But the things I also want low fat plain yoghurt. Can’t seem to find it. Am I asking for too much? Hehe

Jasmine: Think your bb is a good size. Don’t worry! I read that they will grow the MOST from Wk 33 – 36. How come you have to do the GTT?

Storeberry: I like Meiji too! Love their generous helpings of fruit. But I realized that they are high in sugar so stopped eating . Yikes! Mrs yap is in hospital!!! You have her number! Do sms her and tell her we’re praying for her and the baby! God IS surely in control! Claim His promises!

Alabone: Hmm…it will be nice to have the entire family in! But do you have any photos of you as a radiant pregger? So you are signing up with malayheritage? I want to as well. I emailed them but no response. Btw, how many sessions are you signing up for? Can’t decide between 7 and 10.

Shazz: Where have you been? Busy?

Twendy: Nice! Who did it for you? And where is this place?

Goldfish: Nursing bras got cheap ones! Rabbit brand from china less than 10 bucks ! depends on what you are looking for. There are tube nursing bras. Think Moms in Mind has…I also need to go look for the strapless ones. Oh! I take Anmum! I don’t mind it if you don’t want anymore cos I had to leave my half-tin behind in Macau as there wasn’t space in my luggage. Also for Mdm Rokiah, I also read the forum thread…but like you, dunno whether it is zun or not. Think I may sign up with malayheritagejamu..

Bacon &amp; Egg: Abt the yoghurt – yeah… low fat ones seem to be high in sugar, and the low sugar ones seem to be higher in fat. Sigh. Is it too much to ask for a low-fat, low-sugar yoghurt? Hehe

Sasa: I cannot tahan NOT wearing liners. Cos I think if any discharge on the panties isn’t washed off properly, they can cause repeat infections. I dun think I wanna boil and sterilize my panties lor. Hahah. Oh the Marigold non-fat ones are tasty. Their sugar content is lesser than the Meiji ones.

Mrs T: Hello! I’m donating to SCBB. Meeting them in 3 weeks to do the necessary admin. You can call them for a consultation. Btw, I don’t think you should be washing with dettol! Did you check with your doct?

Flos: Mueller is yummy but ex. Carrefour has a housebrand? I didn’t know. Shall go check it out. I LOVE muesli. Which brand do you normally eat? Sleepiness – yes! Feeling more sleepy. But I put it down to not sleeping early. Hehe. Must drink lots of pao shen to bu qi! How come you visit the toilet so often at night? Maybe drink less before you sleep?

Grace: You have GD? Why do you have to prick your fingers daily?

Wingkei: I get sleepy but no MS. In fact, I eat sooooo much more now. Scary man! Take smaller meals, that should help with your nausea.

Jasmine: Your sis is so farnee! Where did she get this idea that bb wil get bigger upon contact with air? Bb not blow-up doll! Hehe.

Xuanting: If dilation starts, it is possible to stop it. And use medication to cause cervix to close. Just met my girl friend, and the same thing happened to her in the 7th mth. Like Mrs Yap, started with spotting, then dilation. She was 4 cm dilated when she was admitted into the hospital and the electronic monitors showed that she was having contractions. She didn’t feel a thing! She had to take jabs every week and sit in the wheelchair for the rest of the pregnancy. Now her bb is so big and cute!

Bigtoes: Yeah! We have to walk enough to get ourselves fit but not too much. A bit of a headache trying to figure out the balance. Hehe. I hope I can continue swimming. Eating so MUCH since Mon’s doc visit. So better exercise to balance out the caloric intake. My doc almost flipped when I told her how long I was swimming. She told me I should swim for shorter duration.

Oh! I’m meeting SCBB in 3 weeks at TMC, before my gynae appt, to go through the forms etc. She will explain to me procedures. Why don’t you call and arrange too? The lady May was very nice.

THIRST: Yes! Me thirsty hippo! I thought it was just the weather in SG…but maybe we are going into our last trimester and our bodies are really heating up!

shazz (shazzerlyn) : i'm due on 10th Sept..

alabone (alabone) : thanks for the recommendation. will check out their website and decide again..

Flos (flos) : thanks for the invite.. but i've got family gathering on that day already.. mayb next time?

SarahMay (sarahmay) : i've got a few contacts of massage lady that i got from forums and friends.. still haven decide which one to choose yet.. ppl say i should try out the pre-natal massage then make decision..

well, i'm also getting more tired nowadays.. have been gulping down lots of water too..
so i guess these are all normal symptoms of 3rd trimester..

i'm new here so i don't really know who Mrs Yap is..
but i hope she'll be alright.. =)

hope mrs yap n bb doing fine now.. i got a shock when i read storeberry's post on mrs yap..

yupz xuanting - like wat sarahmay mentioned, early dilation can stop wif injection.. it happened to my hub's cousin as well.. when she was in her 7.5mths, bb sudd wana come out and she felt no contractions at all so no choice hv to jab her wif steroids n bed rest order till EDD.. so no joke..

i start to feel heavy when walking now.. calfs also tend to be 'sng sng' feeling.. anw, my nausea is oways ard since day 1 of preg! i juz threw up 2days ago and its only papaya tat i ate! omg..

Rachel: Hope you're feeling better!

Janf: You've been having MS for so long! Wow! That means you haven't been putting on much weight, and everything has been going to the bb! How lucky then! Less weight to work off!

karen - i also feeling super tired sia.. after eating went back to bed sia.. also keep feeling thristy sia but at night trying not to drink too much if not keep waking up to the toilet

<font color="0077aa">Wanted to post an update from Mrs Yap in the afternoon but forum cannot post...

She said blood test &amp; scan result are fine, but cos of the unusual bleeding she will need to stay inobservation ward for one more day then tmr will shift to normal ward. She appreciate all prayers to her &amp; bb and she want to say thanks!

Xuanting: I think that's why she had to be injected with steriods to stop dilation?

I have been feeling tired these days!! And waking up later &amp; later now!

Shazz: My throat gets dry also when I sleep, sometimes so dry that make me cough!!

Flos: 14 rompers??? I need to make a trip to Mothercare soon!! To buy the nice nursing bras you &amp; mei bought!</font>

thanks for the updates, storeberry. i had thought the injections were to prepare bb's lungs just in case it needs to be delivered early. i'm glad her scan results are fine. did her doc say what caused the dilation and bleeding? send her our love when you next communicate with her ok. thanks!

Yogurt
Love Emmi pink grapefruit yogurt.. very, very nice!

storeberry
You got to go fast if you want the Mothercare bra.. sizes are running out really fast!

by the way anyone havent book which type of bedded with the hospital. Mine till now 31 weeks le they havent asked me which type of bedded i want