(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - yah, mine will be C. Will just go to the hospital sans make up &amp; nail polish or jewellery then. Just make sure I bring my make up along for relatives/friends' visit - don't want to scare people away! And yes, have to shave as well - I shaved the last time, but the nurse did an 'inspection' all the same.

Detailed scan:
Is there another one at week 32? Going for my wk 32 appnt in mid-July, but doubt there is any other DS, other than the regular appnt.</font>

yan, think u need to see a dentist abt the wisdom tooth quick. as for the flu etc, i saw a tcm doc and besides being given the usual bitter and horrid tasting medicine, was also told to only eat mianxian, veg and lean meat till i got better. i think i recovered faster than when i used to take antibiotics and all.

flos, i'm at 27/28wks now i think. seem to have lost count ever since the 20wk detailed scan... am with tmc too. will be down to see my doc this week and will find out more. it's only done on the 4th floor right?

goldfish, i think the prenatal classes aren't really v necessary if u've already been reading up on your own. lots of things covered in the classes can be found online/are already discussed in forums like this. i think the hubbies perhaps benefit more since they are less inclined to read up on pregnancy, child birth and child care like us. if u want to sign up, got to hurry up already or else may not be able to finish in time!

mickey: Oic, that's good!

xuanting: I think if u r now in your 27/28 weeks u probably still can make it. Quickly ring them up if u r serious abt the 3D/4D scans at yes, 4th floor Xray dept. Hope u r feeling better by week 32.

bigtoes: me too. sans everything, but will bring my makeup kit to the hosp.

I think u will hv a detailed scan with WK Tan. U did see Sunrays' report rite? It's very detailed and gives u a more accurate EDD.

godlfish: I find antenatal classes quite useless up to this point. I am only attending them becos I've finished my shopping!! You can learn from your CL actually

storeberry: regrowth will not be itchy. Rather, it will be prickly!! That's why I'm opting for professional waxing. The roots are totally removed and the new hairs growing out of your pores will be fine and not prickly!! kekeke!

30min more to liberation...yawn.

3D/ 4D scan

I did this last time for my FB, but I think it really looks nothing like him when he was born (thankfully! He's much cuter in real person
). Luckily it was included in my package and I did not have to pay anything for it. Won't be doing it this time round, cos I think my bb will also look nothing like it when he is born.

Flos,

U did brazilian wax before? I think for newbies like me, better not try them during pregancy... I'm afraid the afterpains/ aftershocks might send me into labour!

Hi Rachel
Ah.. thanks for the link! It looks quite ‘sei’

Thanks Xuanting and Flos… I tink u just kinda of made me ‘un-gianz’ in attending
Actually I have signed up for this coming Thursday class at Mt Alvernia
Bt I dunno whether issit that useful or not… after looking at some comments on the TMC version..
I tink I will give it a miss.. at least I can still go for my fav gym class wich falls on thurs :p

SHAVING
I haf difficulty in shaving my public area lo.. cannot see leh.. I kinda of give up liao lo

Btw, abt TIAN-MI-MI wif hubby.. we kinda of cannot do it liao rite?? Or am I wrong huh?

Hi all, I was viewing the videos from Baby Center website. It said that you will only do tub bathing when Umbilical cord has dropped off? So meantime, we'll only do sponge bathing? Is that true??

Rachel,

The 'teachings' in Singapore and the US varies. I delivered no. 1 in the US, and I only did sponge bathing, but here, they give the baby tub baths even before the cord drops off. The practice is the same in philippines when I check with my maid :p.

But I am a little apprehensive to give tub baths. I think I will stick to sponge bathing first, unless the bb really perspired alot and is v dirty. The cord will drop off between 1-2 weeks. It was then that i started tub bathing my son then.

Bigtoes
Sat in wheelchair cos i can only walk for 10 mins at a time...

Nailpolish
Yep they remove it to as they track oxygen in blood thru colour of nails...if blue then they know need extra oxygen. no pedicures/manis near EDD ladies!

goldfish - mi also hard in shaving there.. can only try to shave a bit by feeling it.. i also give up shaving liao.. tummy toobig hard to see

bb baths
methinks i will stick to sponge baths till the cord drops too. don't think i'm dextrous enough to hold baby and soap and rinse it without wetting the cord even though my tub comes with that back support thingie.

flos, have you thought of a way to time the waxing so that it's almost just nice for your delivery? quite hard to tell since it can be plus/minus a few weeks from the edd right. i'm not going to do any till v close to my edd. hope it won't be too late by then man!

I gave tub baths even before cord dropped off..just need to dry it properly with cord spirit after bath. They give baby tub baths before they go home from hospital what...

Tub baths
Hmm... I din even know ther's such a thing as not being able to give tub baths before the cord drops off! I thot it's okay to give tub baths! That's what I did!

koras
i dunno how the nurse will shave... But anyway, think it's kinda like a std procedure in case u need emergency c-section? Cos the cut is at the bikini line? Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, cos I'm not too sure...

ava
oh dear, u can only walk for 10 min at a time? But u can still go to work rite? Cos u're sitting down?

xuanting
it's okay to wet the cord. I just immerse my baby into the tub.. As long as baby is properly cleaned and dried after that.

Lok; Thanks for info. My SIL just gave birth in Feb. Dun rber her saying that need to be handwritten, but was done using their software at TMC. I’ll go check out with ICA. Hehe. Thanks though!

Bigtoes: Thanks for info on ICA. Yeah…the web doesn’t really have a lot of brands of bb monitors. But it does seem Phillips is very well received. Think I might get the cheaper Philips monitors that are less than $100. As for the girdles, from what I know from others, it provides support but doesn’t really help in terms of shaping the body…but then of cos they aren’t for that. We have the malay massage for that! 

Jessi: Wah! Cheap. Hehe. I was thinking I had to pay more than a 100 bucks for it. Hahah. Is there a particular brand for the mattress you bought at Kiddy Palace? Maybe the cot should be where baby will spend the longest stretch of time sleeping. Btw, is your mattress for both cot and playpen usage?

Sasa: You can try those places Flos talked about in HK. But then that is your cuz is ok with going out on deliberate shopping trips for you.

Ava: I can only blame this rib pain on my short body la. Sigh….Wish I had a longer torso then no need to put up with such pain. So how did you manage the pain the last time? With your twins now, do you have the pain in your ribs? I’m sooooo amazed at how strong you must be. I only have 1 and I feel like I’m exploding liao!

Flos: Sigh…didn’t get to HK. Hubby doesn’t want me to go there on my own. Plus the weather recently has been horrid! I’m quite happy visiting the factory outlet types of shops here. Bought a few more amercian rompers and some winter clothes for when I first get here. A bit Cheena the designs…but at least I don’t need to stress to much about the first few days when I return to Macau with bb in Nov. As for maternity clothes, I’m actually to get a few maternity/nursing tops when I’m back in SG cos I’ve outgrown my tees. Haven’t bought much maternity wear only 2 bottoms and one maternity/nursing top and one dress thus far. So think I shd get some comfy tops for the rest of the pregnancy.

Storeberry: Maybe you can try the playpen first. Then when bb is out, observe his temperament and habits before buying a cot. And yes, if you want your BM supply to keep going, bb should either latch on or you can express BM. The point of the CL is to also help you get enough rest at night for your first month. No hard and fast rule. Depends on what you feel is best for you and bb. BF helps bb and you bond. If BF and bottle feeding simultaneously, bb might have nipple confusion. Though, some bbs don’t seem to have a prob with that.

Mickey: Hehe… Yeah, outgrow then just exchange the extra. Good that Nepia has that service!

Wing Kei: Can you just continue to do the preparations that you believe are impt then without the need to persuade and win him over to your side for now? If not you might be putting extra pressure on yourself. And it’s not about not trusting your in-laws. I think it is natural for a mummy to want to be with her bb!

Goldfish: Huh? You still haven’t decided whether you want to go for the prenatal class? better decide soon if not you will get too close to your EDD and then might not finish the classes in time. I think it is helpful to go but not vital. Instead of going to classes, I am doing up my reading and having online classes. Coconut only in the last few weeks before EDD as it is believed to help contractions and labour.

RXMom: Huh? SG practices tub baths for NBs? That wasn’t what I understood lei. I will sponge bath bb until u/c falls off too.

Bacon&amp;egg, thks for sharing ur 3D scan video. ur baby looks great!!!!

I just came back from my 3D scan at NUH. here are the 2 video clips

in one clip, Sharmaine was sticking out her tongue. in the 2nd clip, she was rubbing her eyes and yawning
her hand was partially covering her face...

http://limyg77.multiply.com/video

sarahmay - i also hv the same pain area as u but mine's under right breast.. and the pain comes everyday.. gynae gave me Fastum gel to apply but doesnt help.. sigh.. think juz hv to bear with it till pop..

I went for my 3D/4D scan today and discovered that my bb is on the big side and my EDD is now estimated to be 5 Sep instead of 9 Sep. Baby now weigh 1.53kg at 29W3D, on the 54.59 percentile.

Baby was sleeping throughout the scan and refused to move even after going for a walk, eating and shaking him! Only managed to see his right side, am glad he got hubby's nose and can see his double eyelids! Sonographer said he's a chubby baby cos we can see his fat chubby cheeks' contour.

Will try to upload pictures and video on my facebook.

Shazz: Your baby is doing so well! But if he is in the 54.59 percentile, that is good size. Why do you say he is on the big side? Fat chubby cheeks? Soooo cute! Any features like yours? Btw, is your gynae going with this new EDD then?

Janf: Does your pain gets worse when you lie down to sleep? What did your doc say causes the pain? My check-up is next Tues...I shall ask my doc then. I sometimes feel like it is a sharp stabbing pain. Argh.

Bacon&amp;Egg: I would like to see your 3d Scan video too, may I? How can i view it?

Stef&amp;Seah: So cute! Did you show your two kiddos their sis?

PAMPERS RED Packaging: My SIL just told me that this range is made in Japan, and she gets their Ms (44pcs) for about 9.95 during offer. Is that right? I didn't think the RED range was made in Japan after reading some feedback on this forum. Can anyone verify this? I thought the RED packaged pampers were of the lower range. But for something made in Japan, they are cheap. Even cheaper than Nepia!

Tub baths: Seems like it's not any problem for NBs. But i think I may panic with the tub baths...hehe so will stick with sponge baths till I gain more confidence. Oh! The soapy water can touch the u/c without any probs?

SarahMay, i don't remember seeing any brand on the foam mattress, maybe it's kiddy palace own inhouse brand? i got separate mattresses for both the cot and playpen, bought the babysafe mattress for the cot, the foam mattress is for the playpen. unless you'll be buying the babysafe one, then it will cost more than $100

SarahMay: Sonographer said he's big for his gestational weight, hence his estimated EDD is 5 Sep. I didn't do my scan at Raffles Hospital, went to Radlink, the one Jaymickey and Sunrays went. Will show my gynae the report. But I knew Eamon is on the big side already, even my gynae said so, hence the need to cut down on my diet, if not, his estimated weight at birth will be 3.6kg! She said that may be too big for me to give birth naturally. As it is, I'm experiencing sharp pain at the pelvic bone area now, cos his head is down, and he's much heavier now.

Pampers Red: it's made in Thailand. I read somewhere that there's a new ruling now that requires the manufacturers to state where the diapers are manufactured, perhaps the new packaging will reflect that. Cold Storage had a promo last week, it was $9.35 for M42. Nepia is definitely made in Japan.

Jessi: thanks! I'm having my baby sleep in the bassinet/playpen for the first two months. So not sure if I should spend that kind of money on a bbsafe mattress. Then again, not even sure if I can find a decent mattress for a cot in Macau. Dilemma. Wonder if I can fit the bbsafe mattress from my playpen into the cot too.

Shazz: Thanks! But my SIL says the one she buys is made in Japan. I shall go back in SG and go look at her diapers at her place. Hehe. She said there is this orange packaged pampers which is lower range. Is there? Wah.... so many different colours me very confused. Haha. All I know is the Pampers Premium Stages. 3.6kg... heavyweight champ! Think still can do natural if your pelvic bones can stretch. But your gynae knows best! Are you hoping for natural? Also, why do you say it is ur diet? Maybe he is just naturally big.

I had my 2nd detailed scan last thurs @ wk 31.

Mickey is weighing 1.918kg, and my doc said his growth and development is just nice... Relieved to hear that!!

SarahMay: I just uploaded the pictures on FB and realised that Eamon's head is big and his estimated EDD is now 27 Aug! I think I ate too much protein so he's on the big side, so my gynae told me to cut down on my overall intake cos I already put on 10 plus kg when I was 28 weeks. Yes, am gunning for natural if I can, so hope Eamon won't be a sumo! my pelvic bone already hurting, and my hips not that wide leh, so gynae dun think I can manage a big baby, hence advised to watch my diet. She targeted 10-12kg for the whole term when we first met. Now she extended to 12-14kg!

Pampers Dry, the red packaging is the cheaper range. Please refer to http://www.pampers.com.sg/pro_h.htm

The premium range is in yellow packaging for NB and S, and purple and green for the Active range. Anyway, I read somewhere that even the premium range, they're made in Thailand, in their own plant. Was it Flos who mentioned that?

storeberry: I had the same dilemma as you some mths back! I was passed a baby cot that is rather small and my niece (very small size) slept in it for only a few mths cos she kept bumping her head in the cot. I was also contemplating a playpen or getting a bigger cot that can convert to a toddler's bed. In the end, after much considerations, I got the latter, since we're planning for more than 1 child. I got a Rocio cot $359 that comes with free bedding from Kiddy Palace and the BabySafe Latex Mattress as well.

Are you given the mattress and bedding set for the baby cot as well? If you're given, can just make do with the cot for the time being, cos you never know if your baby is willing to sleep in the cot. I wasn't passed the mattress and bedding sets and the size is so odd, and I would have to spend at least $200 getting the mattress and bedding set so I thought, might as well get something bigger and can last longer.

Yah I also think that prenatal classes aren't really v necessary cos can learn from CL &amp; I most prob won't remember anything when I give birth!!

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg): Saw your 4D videos, so cute that Sharmaine is yawning!

Shazz: Little Eamon is getting all the nutrients from mummy!! I love chubby cheeks! Kekek..Thanks for the advice as well!! Ok will make do with the cot 1st &amp; see how bb react to it.. Yes, I am given the bedding &amp; mattress.

Sarah: Yah, must think of how best to arrange CL &amp; bb... Thanks for the advice on playpen!

oops, better clarify that the BabySafe mattress did not come with the cot, I paid additional $148 after 20% discount for the 28 x 52 inches mattress. ;)

yah, i think I loaded up on too much protein, I heard high protein diet = big babies!

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg): just saw your baby's video, so cute, the yawn! mine yawned as well but we didn't manage to get the video cos it was so blur.

Hi, sorry to intrude. I'm selling three books produced by Thomson Medical Centre, written by lactation consultant Mrs Wong Boh Boi. Titles are Childbirth, Childcare and Breastfeeding. Books are brand new, selling as I have an extra set. Very informative for new mothers especially the content is written in Singapore context. Pls send me a PM if interested. Thanks!

tub baths
just got back from my parentcraft class and saw that the cord can be immersed in water. there's hardly any soap in the bath water; something like 3 drops in a half-filled tub (hence no need for rinsing). looks quite doable now.

Hi MTBs,
I'm from the May 2008 thread. I have a Medela Swing pump that was used twice to let go. I'll be selling it together with Medela microwave sterilize bags @ $150. Collection at Woodlands MRT.

Sarahmay,
yes i showed the 3D video to my 2 kiddies. They were so excited when they saw Sharmaine and kept calling her on the computer screen

Shazz,
you did ur 3D scan too?? can share the link?? heehee.. i think my baby is average size. I asked Sonographer if my baby's cheeks were chubby, she said 'quite' only.. she also din mention if my baby was big or small.. so i guess my baby is on the average size. next gynae visit on 12 July, i will check baby's size again. btw, my baby is still in breeched position at 30 weeks 4 days.
i hope she will turn upside down soon.

Jaymickey, sunrays,
can share ur 3D scan video too ?? hee

Shazz,
I've just sent u a PM on the Desitin cream spree.
Are u joining July gathering ? Can i collect fm u on that day ? BTW, i will transfer funds to you via IB tonite or 2moro as i don't have the token wif me 2dae.

<font color="119911">stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - oh, baby Sharmaine is so cute! I like the bit where she is yawning!
So much movement in 30 seconds ya? No wonder i can feel so much ripples on my tummy nowadays...the babies are so fidggety!

shazz (shazzerlyn) - load up ur scan quickly on FB
!

Ava - so u are working from home completely already? I think I will only do that 2 weeks before my delivery date. Even then, would have to make it to office for some client meetings etc

sorry Millie, I've placed order already as we've hit the spree cap limit. so sorry about it.

Bigtoes: already uploaded pictures and video on my Facebook.

Am trying to load video on multiply to share with mummies without facebook.
will share the link later.

Maternity Wear
DO u all wear leggings to work?? Issit consider to be improper? I wanted to wear bt manz, I find my legs like ELEPHANT legs leh. Not nice leh
And I find those dresses are getting shorter.. anyone out there have any brilliant idea how to ‘lengthen’ dresses other than removing the seams..
:S

Shazz,
Saw ur 4D scan of the bb!!! AH.. so cute leh!!! Actually I din know the babies inside us are so ‘fully-formed’ though all books claims that wor! Seeing is believing!!

Weight
Actually my pre-preggie is like 53kg and now I am ard 64kg for a 30th week pregnancy… actually by right, are we supposed to be put on even more weight after week 30th huh?? I am abit ‘worried’ of gaining too much weight LOH

Prenatal Class
I decided to give it a miss.. thanks for everyone comments!!!  Will read up more and maybe try to get hubby to watch videos online. Bt my hubby not keen to watch the video on delivery leh.. I tink he is grossed out??!!

SarahMay
I have a short torso too and adan was a long baby so probably that's why i felt the pain. now, the one who's head down is lying quite low so dont feel feet kicking my ribs (yet) and the other is breech so no legs there either!

Am working from home 2 days a week, hb sends me to work and back on other days cos I cant quite make it to the bus stop/MRT station and back without feeling very very tired..:p

shazz,
Your 3D scan is clear
Could see yr bb's feature v well.

Just to share, I have GD, so I am keeping to a low sugar/carbo diet..think it helps to keep my weight down..hopefully in return keep my Junior's weight down..cos for GB mommies, bb tends to grow too big and might need to go for c-section instead of natural

Shazz.. how do u find the service at Radlink? How many times did they try scanning? they did 4 scans on me.. twice on friday evening.. and then went back again on Sat morning for another 2 more times.. how much did they charge u? $180 or $220???

mummies, uploaded 3 videos, hope you can see it. Will put it up for a week, then will delete it since everyone has access to it now. ;)

baby was sleeping soundly, no matter how much we coax him, shake him, he refused to wake up and I think he probably enjoys the movements! he's covering his left side of the face, and sleeping with hands up covering his face.

enjoy!

http://wenzer.multiply.com/video