(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahmay
hahaha..there are always exceptions i guess. but more difficult to be independednt when you are only child. i think cy and his sis will wanna out sooner than i think. boy and girl...they will want their own lil haven apart from each other...kekekeke...

talking about exceptions, i have a friend. she was in her twenties and still sleeping between her parents!!!! been like this since day one. hahahaha...super funny i fine.

Mei: Sure, no prob.

SarahMay: Me not going for the gathering. Hey, you pointed something out.. My previous calculation is wrong.. Oopps.. Let me work out my workings again.. Sorry..

BabyMall Shipping Cost - Apologies.. the earlier amount was wrong. I will post it here and send this to you in email as well.. Apologies for the confusion..

Sunrays - $6.19
Cloud - $13.78
Mrs Gan - $3.74
Mei - $6.77
Twendy - $15.25
Storeberry - $12.01
Bigtoes - $9.81
Pinkgal - $7.43
SarahMay - -$10.05 (I have to refund you, pls provide your bank details)

Sarahmay: Thanks for pointing it out..

Jaymickey, prob is, I can't find any powerful people to talk to him. His parents aren't of much help. Cost wise, they are all very budget conscious and it's not as if we are very poor or something. Funny thing is, it's the family's first grandchild yet they don't seem gan chiong. End up, like I'm the overly gan chiong mother.

Alabone, yes, he wants to save money. Very budget conscious. And his theory is that in the past, for the older generations, they also raise their children without all these stuff like baby soaps, detergents, etc, why would we need them now? And I think leaving baby with him means he will bring baby to his mother. I don't think he will stay alone with baby. He already told me he won't wake up in the night to feed baby as he has to work the next day!

valnsw, I agree with you. I'm working full time. I think I will really heck care this time and just buy whatever things I think we need. If this drags on, baby will be out and nothing is prepared yet! As for bringing baby out to meet friends, I think I will also do that.

Goldfish,

Dont' worry too much. I put my son in infantcare at 5mths. After he went to infantcare, he slept really early (7+pm!) vs. 10pm+ when we took care of him. I think it's because they exposed him to sufficient activities to "exhaust" him!

Co-sleeping with BB:
We let J sleep with us in the master bedroom but in the cot (not on same bed). Sometimes, when he fusses, we let him sleep with us on the bed but hates that!!! Why --- because his kungfu kicks are very powerful and keeps tossing / turning, both of us end up being pandas. After 12 mths, we figured he's old enough to sleep on his own, so transferred him to his own room and slept in his playpen. The 1st day, he cried for 2.5 hrs and we relented after that. 2nd day, 45 mins and 3rd day, 5mins and he's quiet. Now he has no problem sleeping on his own.

I read and have seen on tv programs that at least in the 1st 6 mths of their life, we need to respond to the bb's cries. It will affect their brain devt (the level of love u show).

aloevera, thanks for the advice. I will be careful, it's just that I cna't even sit still or stand much these days cos of my backache, really looking for a solution to it.

l'l CY, I will ask my gynae questions sometimes when my hubby is there and I know he is of a different opinion from me. And the gynae really proves me right, and when his mom says otherwise, he will tell her what the gynae said too. So you are right, it does help!
I must remember to ask my gynae about the baby soaps, etc the next time he is there. I just think he really doesn't have much experience with babies. The other day when we were there, the nurse was sharing with us her breastfeeding experience and how much stuff is needed for it, and I think he absorbed it cos he seemed shocked and didn't really say much otherwise after that. ;p

SarahMay, I think I will really worry non stop if I leave baby with him arh. But that's a good idea about the briefs, I think I will try that next time. *giggles*

Thanks for brightening me up, gals!

Mickey, I would like my items sent by mail, how much more would I have to pay you?

Went for my check up yesterday, gynae said that baby is developing well.. weighs around 1kg.. my baby has been super hyper these past few days, always moving, gets a bit irritating sometimes..

l'l CY (lilboymum),

I agree with what your professor said on that they will eventually grow out of it, and will not want to sleep with you even if you want to. Sometimes I find that they grow up so fast...

Cloud: Your blanket items are quite bulky. I'll need to buy a parcel box and place the items in. I'm guessing all in shd be around $5, give and take a bit.. You ok with this? If yes, pls send me your add..
Alternatively, is there anyone you can tumpang to collect the items on your behalf?

wingkei,
i'm not sure if the massage is really good. hv not tried pre-natal massage before. Since there is a promotion going on now, will try it out

l'ilCY
Sleeping with her parents in her twenties...that's really too much man...is she an only child - considering the contraceptive effect lol?

We moved adan into his own room at about 2 yrs.

mickey, are the things at your house? i might be able to drive down to your place and collect them myself around 3pm to 4pm..is that ok? then i'll transfer the rest of the money to you tonight.

wingkei, if his parents can't help much. u should probably ask ur gynae to talk to him.. probably he will listen since it's from the professionals...

BMO loot
Those who want to come over my palce to collect can do so today..
Pls let me know when you're coming.. My maid needs to identify your loot bag first..
Thanks.. I'm running our of paper bags. So for some parcels, I have to use plastic bags.. Hope you don't mind..

wingkei
if ur back is giving you problems invest in a support belt and go see a chiropractor/osteopath who are familiar with treating preggies. You can try my osteopath Jo (a guy) tel:63278545 whose office is at China Sq Central. Osteos and Chiros treat you fully clothed so don't have to worry.

i'm going to mickey's place later to collect.. actually if there's anyone who has ordered and is living near to boon keng, i can collect your items for you and you can get from me later.. but i'm going between 3pm to 4pm so got to tell me soon..

L'l CY: wah! in her 20s and still sleep with parents?!!! Super weird!!! Is she the only child?

Koras: Hugs! I hope you cheer up!

Wingkei: You go girl! Do what you know is best for you and baby. Abt the bb detergent, my dad's response also the same as your hubby. Hehe. Guessing your hubby is more traditional in thinking.

Mickey: POSB Savings 150-20025-3. Thanks for all the trouble of ordering etc! Can PM me where you work in RP? Shall arrange to meet you during your lunch time sometime in July.

Cloud: How many weeks are you now? Bb kicking you a lot? I get a lot of rib action.

Aloevera: eeks! Bronchitis from parents' dead skin cells?!! You mean the bedsheets don't get changed regularly or what? I won't let my NB sleep on my bed cos I will surely crush him. Plus my bed is very high! If he rolls off, sure become pancake. Not funny!

RUSTIC NIRVANA
I've read some negative reviews of the place from this forum. Plus, I also rang them up before to double-check their credentials. Turns out their so called prenatal therapists don't have professional qualifications, just in house training. Seems a bit pricey for unqualified massage. Trained antenatal masseurs or even chiropractors don't cost as much as RN. You may wish to check out the thread abt them first before going.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1376295.html?1213027782

Antenatal Massage (qualified professionals); You can try the following.

Mrs Helen Chuah ( Registered midwife & nurse, does antenatal and postnatal massage for TMC)
Office 6742 4939, Mobile 9788 4296
- Does home visit. About $70/hour
- Just say Sarah recommended you. Was supposed to start with her but I had to come to macau. Will prob use her when I get back.

Hannah Wong (think she does home visits but selected areas i.e. Bukit Timah, town, and Tanjong Rhu. She's a bit 'atas' but well qualified)
http://www.mummymassages.com.sg/modules/news/

aloevera (loever) : that's exactly what my post-natal massage lady told me, cos I wanted to do pre-natal massage, she told me it won't be shiok for me, cos she can't apply too much pressure, and merely just glide through with soft soothing strokes. So she told me in all honesty, that I may feel frustrated with her for not doing her job! So she would rather I save the money for pre-natal massage for more post-natal treatments!

Flos: I go through phases for fragrance! at one point, I was into floral, citrus and then so into Vanilla! My fav vanilla scent is from Serge Lutens Un Bois Vanille. Hee, do you burn candles? I love Diptque and Tocca candles! was so glad I can start burning them after the 1st trimester ended and my nose can appreciate the scents again!

Ava: any recommendations for a good maternity support belt? I saw this brand at Mums & Babes, something Jane ... but didnt get it. Cos I'm clueless if it's good.

Koras: I think it's great that you're taking initiative to see your gynae about the depression. I reckon your case is not serious but it's great to talk to a professional.

wingkei: have you tried purposely leaving materials about new born's delicate skin etc and how to care for them etc in the house? I dun recall you attending any pre-natal classes, so hubby probably is not aware.

SarahMay: Have refunded..
Your account number is so similar to mine. For a moment, I was wondering why you gave me my own account to do the refund. Kekeke.. Have PMed you my office add..

shazz
Is it Emma Jane? I have that (borrowed) it's OK but a bit scratchy at the ends so i wear it OVER my pants/bottoms when i have a long enuf top. I got the belly bra from Moms r us at United Sq basement (same shop that sells Skip Hop). usually $75, now $40. That's like a sports bra with support for the belly area and more comfy as doesnt scratch, but cannot wear skimpy tops cos the straps are really wide and V- neckline is fairly high - think T-back/racerback tanktop... but it's really comfy, and I dont mind sacrificing fashion for comfort!

Now it's not so uncomfortable or painful for me when hb drives over bumps too fast etc and car moves from side to side...used to feel like my babes experiencing an earthquake inside cos tummy rocking and rolling all over.

Koras.. me!!!! i never really stop puking before.. every night i will sure have to puke before i get to bed and morning always feel like puking but nothing comes out..

shazz
Speaking of skip Hop...any news fr ur hb? cos i'll get mine here this week unless u are still planning on doing a combined buy fr US.

Ava: yes! it's Emma Jane! hehe , it looks rather stiff and hot, so I didnt get it. thanks for your feedback! I was at United Square just yday! think I'll pop by at Moms R Us later since I'm heading to TMC. ;) Will check out belly bra.

Hubby didn't see any Skip Hop on his shopping trip. So i suspect no hope liao. Buying from US, let me enquire if any angel can help to bring it back for us should we place an online order ;)

shazz, I have books lying around the house, but not opened. And yeah, I did not attend any prenatal classes, was supposed to at first, finally hubby said no need, just a waste of money. Actually, whatever materials I read, etc.. he will always have something to say about it, like scaring myself, not neccessary, etc... He doesn't read up on anything at all.

Koras, I hope you feel better soon!

shazz,
exactly, but my back really hurt very bad during the last trim then, only when i reached then the lady told me tat i wont like it if i'm looking for something "solid".. =P

wingkei,
do u always sleep on your back? coz i realise tat i do hv bad backache when i slept on my back too much... maybe u hv to be more conscious and try to sleep more on your left, ok.. it improves blood n oxygen flow to your tummy, which is good for your BB! =)

just to share wat i've been doing to "strengthen" my back.

u stand with legs apart, then stretch your arms upwards, over your head, and palm to palm. stretch your arms straight and make sure your arms are positioned behind your ears and STRETCH upwards...

slowly u will feel the backbone is being stretched, and pain will sink in... let the pain manifest and just breathe slowly. try to stay still for a while until the pain is gone.

repeat this for abt 5 times. once the back is conditioned, the pain will be gone.

try a few sessions a day, and it helps to ease our backache. =) i dunno if it's better to do it while sitting down coz i usually do it standing.

if u wanna sit down, make sure u sit on a proper mat, even platform/flooring is impt. and cushion is impt for our back too, thin cushion is enuff.

lilboymom: your friend is still sleeping in between her parents?! overnight or just to watch telly?!!!

aloevera: "PD told them tat it's to the dead cells from our bodies tat caused it, and being NB, their breathing system is not strong yet, and they can hv asthma..."

yikes...That is quite gross. OK, that's it. My bb shall sleep on his own sterilised mattress for as long as I deem fit.

shazz: yes!! I burnt Diptyque and Annick Goutal candles when I was overseas cos of the cold wintry weather. They were having a closing down sale at its Raffles Hotel outlet and I grabbed like 4 Diptyque candles (Leather, Hay, Oakwood, Egg Custard fragrances) at $40 ea! HEAVENLY scents in my SH apartment....

I dun hv any maternity belts as yet. Are they nec?

Ava: Moms R Us? Any goods there?

SarahMay: but really, the Kipling imitations there are so well-done! can't tell the diff...

<font color="0000ff">hey valnsw,
hehe.. thanks for asking wor. am feeling so much better already. nowadays dun feel the tightening tat often. sometimes juz once a day onli which is good news. so i might be going back to work nxt week le. feel so guilty not going to work wor.. :p How have u been? yeap yeap... my doc did a measurement. bb weighed 1.437kg on my last checkup wor..
i was 29w1d, hehe.

Alabone
so glad tat u are ok already. take this time to rest k. n remember muz talk to bb tell her not to come out so soon wor..

Ava
oops.. u muz take care too. it's the preggy hormones.. but control k..

I dunno isit me or does this happen to everyone, haha.. i felt so lost when the forum was down ytd!!!</font>

Wingkei
I oso agree with other mama. Go ahead with ur decision to get those necessities thing! U are the one paying anyway!!
I think the suggestion to talk to ur gynea is a good idea. Let the gynea knock some sense into him! Of coz buck up wif ur gynea beforehand and then act a show thereafter :p

Hoh, u must be strong ok!!! Though I find it beri ‘idiotic’ for him to conclude that he is not waking up at nite for the crying baby!

Sarah,
I din know 3rd trimester (by right) equates to happier mood for preggies. Haha.. does not work for me leh. Dunno issit i too apprehensive of the new drastic lifestyle wor. U are going to gif birth in Macau mah?

Koras, u are depressed? Oh oh.. abt wat? :S

goldfish - hmz.. depressed about family issue. haha. i dun wish to say much.

wingkei - thanks

jaymickey - u puke nothing out but i puke sometime food

after puking feeling not good lo

RXmom/Millie: hehe! I meant, mattress was already sterilised during the manufacturing process
I hvn't opened my "sterilised" babysafe mattress!!

sasa de mouse: u r lost yday becos u were on leave, so u hv nothing to keep u occupied!

Yeah, I had my 60min facial during lunch today. I feel refreshed this afternoon.

" my friend's daughter is 12 y/o this year and still sleeps with her and hubby! She doesn't want to move out to her own room yet!"

Really??? I am amazed!!!

Wingkei: I am really glad that you are more positive now!! Its good for the baby!!

Just now abit worried that bb is not moving so I start shaking my tummy!! Haha!! Then can sense some mm... Phew!

Mickey: Thanks for the spree!! I am fine with plastic bags, no prob. Sent you an email cos I have a OOS item as well. Let me know the final amt to transfer yah?

Koras.. morning empty stomach. nothing comes out. But sometimes got the gastric juice.. night time confirm have..
I am so used to it until is normal liao. don't really feel very bad after puking these days..

flos,
ya, the poor baby has serious bonchitis tat he needs medication every 2hrly for 2 weeks. my fren cant work for 2 weeks and gotta feed her BB the medicine DAY and NITE! @___@ Or Bak Kak!!!

tat's why i've always stressed to first-time mums tat putting a nappy b4 the body contact of a NB is essential. not only on bed but also on your shoulder if BB is sleeping on your shoulder(for burping purpose). always tie your hair up and practise hygiene for at least the first 3mths.

for those engaging a CL, pls make clear to her tat u r VERY particular abt hygiene and would not tolerate messy and dirty habits during your confinement.

aloevera: it really sounds very gross...dandruffs, dead cells, hair come into contact with the newborn baby.

Our parentcraft nurse told us we MUST shower no matter what during the confinement period cos the bb will come into contact with our bodies during BF.

My bro's CL was coughing thruout the night and caused my nephew to be admitted into PD hospital 2 weeks after he was born.

hi koras,
hope everything works out ok for you soon. i know how the depression can make you feel. must let your gynae know the cause and if possible, try to think positive ok? take care!

wingkei,
i tried rustic nirvana previously for their pre-natal massage also. massage was ok. but after that, i couldn't stand it. they were trying so hard to sell me their package even though i said i didn't want to. kept me there for soooo long. very annoying.

aloevera,
so serious!!! must really take good care of nbs. good thing you highlight this now.