(2008/09) Sep 2008

nappy liners
tried looking for pigeon at taka but oos so i ended up getting anakku. one box of 150pcs for $8.50. not sure about quality though.

lovebug
hi hi! my EDD is 29 Sept. im 27 this yr and this is my 2nd pregnancy.

Little Dreamers
Shucks, looks like i missed the spree.. anyone organizing another one?

Post Natal Massage

has anyone engaged any massage ladies yet? i called the massage lady whom i engaged previously and she's not accepting any bookings during Sept coz its the fasting mth.

now im at a lost.. any recommendations?

FLOSS: no more such syllabus liao!!! my time it is gone liao that nappy folding and cloth diapers things!!!! now is more science base leh!!!!!
of course I trial before I teach lar, if not burn how?!?!?!?!?!
kekekekeke laugh!!!!!!!

Storm: wow kid number 2 liao experience experience mom liao!!!! :p

Flos: spree-ing is usually much cheaper than buying here

storm: think can order on your own, cos now they having sale, even if you pay $6 for the delivery, I think it's still worth it cos the cost of travelling to meet the person who's organising the spree is sometimes not worth it.

lovebug
i still have alot to learn.. every child is different and frankly, i've forgotten alot of things abt infant care, need to read up to refresh my memory!
i really hope this 2nd baby will be as easy as my first..

Bigtoes: Small kid delivering diapers?? So funny!

Just saw the price of Pampers Baby dry on Giant brochures. S46 / M62 / L56 / XL34, Price: $9/95 - $14.95. Thought it is quite cheap, might drop by Giant soon.

Jaline: I haven't wash bb's clothes either, don't worry... We still have time.

Wingkei: Think your gynae knows best. Maybe you are small-sized to begin with so your gynae say bb too big.

I am seeing my gynae tmr!!! Yipee!

Shazz: any idea how is the Lasinoh Breastmilk storage bags compared with playtex? Both my sis & my fren are using playtex milkbags.

Spree-ing is fun & addictive!!! So much things to buy so little $$!

Chinese name:
Any webby to look for chinese names? My DH was supposed to look for it but till now still nothing yet. So irritating!
I am not pantang with the strokes nor "ba zi", as long as the name is meaningful.

Shazz :Thanks so much ya
. BTW, wat is IMO ?

Lovebugg : I heard fm my colleagues that better dun eat veg with leaves during confinement and dun drink water. Take the red dates drink instead as normal drinking water may cause water retention/swelling.

Flos,
I tink it's ok to machine wash the bumper and bedding set, which i've done oredi...in fact i oso handwashed the pillow and bolsters .

Shazz,

I think there's no need to wash your own bedsheet with bb detergent. For me, I just lay the nappy cloth on my own bed for the NB.

That's the haenim playyard i bought. Look at the product info for the dimensions. Mine is 6 panel. So the length is 1160mm X 2 = 2320mm or 2.3m. The playmat that i hv is not long enough so I make up for the shortfall with the ABC rubbermat. Actually u can either just live with the gap or in my case find something more to prevent the play yard from sliding.

Flos: I think the bumper needs some washing to get rid of the chemicals from the manufacturing as well as to get rid of dust. Though I think it isn't necessary to wash that often. Oh as for BFing, some of those slings allow you to adjust position of carrier for BFing. I think Ergo does. However, must get some nursing shawl to cover your boobs lor. But some ppl dun mind 'flashing' theirs...just let other ppl turn their heads away in embarrassment. Haha. My friend was teling me how her ang-mo friend 'exposes' her boobs and BF in front of males - like just pull down top and bra with boob exposed for a few seconds kind.

Sunrays: So you managed to convince your DH to get you the Petunia Pickle Bottom bag? Oooh! Yummy!

Isabelle: Yes, I detest marking especially English essays! Used to run marking parties for friends to help me mark and i buy them food/drink in return. Haha. I teach, but not just primary school. I do pre-school to secondary - depending on subject. Was in MOE but have been out for some time cos I was suffocating and plain miserable. But i still work with schools though, just not for them.

RXMom: Can PM your independent FA's contact? I'm keen to speak with her.

Millie: What is the reason for not eating leafy veggies? Thought they are high in vitamins and folate...so should be good for us right? I heard that about red dates/longan drink...but the last time i drank that for like a week, i kena heaty cough cos my body too heaty. Hehe. But maybe this time, after labour, i will have TOO much wind inside tt i won't overheat.

Lovebug: Home ec - science-based? Hmmm..how does this work out? And they don't teach infant care and nappy folding anymore? Wah...what do they learn then?

Storeberry: Update us on how your little berry is doing! As for Chinese names, can your parents or in-laws help?

Jaline: Wow! You are efficient! I shall pack my hospital bag soon too! But first of cos I need to go buy my PJs and other stuff to put into it.

Shazz: Yes, the one they sell in Sing is the Baby-Room 4. The blue one though. Each set comes with 4 panels. I got 2 sets from Cheong Choon. You can just give Winnie a call and she'll deliver to your place.
I think the organiser hass only 4 panels, instead of 8 panels.

Bumper Mat
Very easy to maintain. When you first get it, because it has been folded, it'll take some time to ease out the creases (ie a few weeks). There could be a plastic/chemical smell. Wipe it with clean water a few times and air it. The smell will eventually go away. For daily cleaning, just use clean water.

In my opinion, because of the initial smell, it is advisable to air the mat before letting the baby use it.

NO REGRETS BUYING THE MAT. WORTH EVERY SINGLE CENT.

mickey,

The only problem i had with the playmat --- it left a sticky residue on my parquet floor. Can't get rid of it (or at least I haven't tried hard enough). Will try to repair the "damage" after we dismantle the whole thing when #2 gets sick of it)

Shazz: What is having sale? Gymboree?

Storeberry: There was a time when we were all cursing and swearing at Playtex milkbags cos they leak. (Imagine your precious BM wasted away). Think it could be a batch with manufacturing faults but it affected quite a lot of mummies on the forum.
I've not heard any complains on Lansinoh milk bags. Lansinoh is like a small ziplock bag. Not sure abt playtex. I use Medela, Pigeon and Lansinoh. All equally good.

Lok: Oh no.. Don't have that problem - maybe cos mine is marble flooring..
We wipe and roll it up every night after baby sleeps. Do you?

Washing of bumpers

I will wash them closer in late-Aug. No point washing them now and putting them back into the closet/plastic bag. Will bound to collect dust again...

BEAN PILLOWs: Do I need to wash these since I purchased mine from the dept store?

lovebug: science-based? Interesting...I'd love to attend home econs classes again

SarahMay: Hv u bot all the cots and stuffs in Macau yet?

RXmom, Qiuling: Are ur DHs back in SG? How long do they intend to stay here for your delivery-confinement?

Qiuling: Just curious, r u going to continue teaching after your 12-wk ML and let your DH go back to SH to work? What is your arrangement? Did he come back to visit u like he did for your FB?

shazz,
thanks for the comprehensive info. Might just grab some M size nepia from NTUC and probably go Giant for pampers (Storeberry says got disc!!)

Haenim playyard,
Cheong Choon sells the whole full set? with bumper mat? How much does it cost? At what age does bb play in it?

Storeberry,
Chinese name, there are a few chinese names book at border where you can buy to help you choose a chinese name. I am gg to border to seek help!!
I am also not particular abt Ba-Zi. Surprisingly my PILs are not particular too..they think the parents should choose the names not the Ba Zi shifu.

Shazz,
Will try to transfer the postage charges to u tonite..moving hse today..things are in boxes..i cant find my IB key!! Sorry for the delay.

Flos,
I also bought lansinoh milk bag from mothercare..but only got 10% disc.

mickey,

We wipe the surface but just left it there together with the play yard. Too troublesome to keep dismantling. My son likes it a lot ---we throw in the toys, play his fav Barney disc and play together on the mat. Think it has been there for 1.5 years now. The contractor thinks the residue can be removed but we haven't explore this further.

Milk Bag:

I tried Gerber and the other one which Kiddypalace carries (can't remember whether it's First Few Years or Safety 1st). Prefer Gerber --- can stand better, easier to write and quality is better.

Lok: When we place the mat with the gates, we will still roll it up up once a week, or turn it over to the other side. Now that we've kept the gates, my maid is back to wiping it and rolling it up every night.. It also helps her in mopping the floor when the mat is rolled up..

Bacon: Yes, Cheong Choon sells both Haenim gates and bumper mats, but separately. I got my mat from the BP here though.

Yeah, so I'm now following her orders and looking after my diet strictly. I've only put on about 5kg till now, I still don't see it as a lot though. Luckily, I'm not really a Chinese food fan, so I can go without rice for a long long time, I eat more of the ang mo food like salads, etc. hee....

Question on BBjorns. I read somewhere here before that it is too hot for our climate? I'm really keen on getting that though. Any suggestion on which is better? It seems to me that Air Carrier is cooler and so more suited for our weather?

Flos - from my calculations, I might have to take 8 - 9 days of no pay leave to make it till the end of the year....I wouldn't want to walk over the Xmas period - it's a magical time and it should be more special with the little one!

Can't wait for lunch tomorrow to see some of you "real life"

bacon&eggs: u work at HF, so u should be able to reach the flagship store before anyone of us!!! I rang up the marketing dept hotline to check when their frequent 4-day 20% promo days are. They said they dunno...some of my items bot earlier only got 10% discount, some got 20%. Not fixed at all.

I only bot one box of 25bags cos I dun even know if I hv EBM. If u need more, u can join the spree that shazz is organizing!!

I hv 3 Medela storage bottles, 4 Avent storage bottles...Sooooo many...I will give some away next time.

Chinese Names:

I delegated the task to hubby. He's in charge of chinese name and I take the english one (cos he's more Chee-na). He went to the Shi Fu. Shi Fu gave us a variety of choices for the middle character and last character (but all with 16 strokes), so hubby mixed and matched. J#1's name is Jing4 Heng4, which I liked very much. Maybe J#1 will blame us during exam time cos too many strokes to write!

Lok: I heard any Fengshui Shifu will use some computer software to generate the bb names based on the parents' bazi as well as the bb's bazi.

So u waited till the bb is born, then u called up this shifu to get a list of Chinese names? How many options were u given to choose?

wah all this talk about leave...i am only taking two months (cos i dont get a paid 3rd mth) and may go back part time in the third month (nov)...then the office is closed for 1-2 weeks in x'mas anyway! as well as during cny...a key factor in me taking up this job...lol!

lanolin: why did u pick this name Lanolin...sounds quite creamy to me

U dun hv a profile pic, only that choco sponge cake of urs...

Hi, anyone here experience yellowish discharge from the eye? I'm having that for the past 3days, not sure whether i need to take it seriously or it is part of the "pregnancy package"?

Lanolin,
at 27 weeks, gynea say bb weigh abt 900 grams. She commented my baby's head slightly big, same as my #1, so maybe c-sect again this time.
Is this yr first pregnancy? How heavy is yr bb now?

Sarahmay,
For my hospital bag quite easy to pack since i dun have to buy some of the stuff (used fm previous)...

I do agree with Mickey on bumper mat, I brought for my #1 when she was abt 3 mths, then we let her lie down n play n slowly for her to learn to flip, crawl, walk and now she run ard on the mat and play her toys there. Sometime she naps on the mat when she gets tired oso. Very worth the money.

Ava,

I thought the 3rd month paid leave is mandated by law. How come u don't get it? Are your kids Singapore Citizen?
http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/faml_supfaml_3rdchild.asp

flos,

We call the shifu after bb is born, give him date and time of birth. He will do the work and we collect it like the next day so that in case we can decide immediately, can easily register straight away at the hospital. Think he gave a choice of like 10-15 for middle character and same number for last character. He will also give an overview of his "yun chen" based on ba zi as well.

Flos,

My hubby is has been back for 3 weeks, but will be leaving again tomorrow.
He will be gone for 3 months. He's planning to be back on 5 Sep 08, just 1 week before my scheduled c-sec on 12 Sep 08.

Sigh. The thought of being alone and caring for our son (and shuttling him around and taking him for classes during weekends) while pregnant is making me weary already. Hope I can 'dong' through the last trimester on my own. Bo bian lah, in a sense he's working for the SAF, so he's protecting and serving his family too. Have to think of this this way to self console... ha, else my baby will be a very depressed baby.

Ava - Good that you'll have some flexibility re timing at the end of the year. Do you know when is CNY?

FLos - aiyoh - I bet u think I look like a sponge cake...which is not far from the truth.
I'll change the pic now!

Re the nick - have u ever read a comic strip by Jim Davis (Garfield) called Orson's farm? There's a very bad-tempered and damn "zai" female sheep called Lanolin. I think she's damn cool. Her twin "Bo" is a very silly male sheep. hahahah.... I think I look a little like her esp when I'm grumpy.

RXmom: oic, the reason why i asked u is becos I wonder if it's really possible to struggle with boy and another NB, without a DH. i just heard from my DH last nite that his boss doesn't appear to be willing to live up to his promise to release him end Jun becos my DH is kinda indispensable and there are just too many things that require his followup in SH, and tt they cannot replace him with any Chinese local. They are begging him to take one-mth NPL plus whatever VL or PL he is entitled to keep me company in Sep! Grrrrr... I wonder if I'd get post-natal blues if DH leaves me after a month!! Fingers crossed...

Lanolin: I see...that's how/where u got that idea
Thot u hv been buying too many tubes of lanolin creams...LOL!!

BBmouse,
Is bumper mat same as playmat ?

SarahMay,
My colleague oso not sure of the reason, but according to her mum, not advisable to eat leafy veg. In fact, i also asked her how come veg like spinach which is high in iron/folate oso forbidden ? Maybe is cooling ba, cos i tink we are not supposed to eat certain fruits during confinement period. BTW, many of my colleagues told me that confinement period is 40 days, not jus 1 mth . Is this correct ?

Hey Flos,

Do you have any help around during your confinement? actually my hubby's case will be similar to you hubby. He will be flying back on 5 Sep and stay for around 1 month before going back for another 1 month to fly the plane back to Singapore. I am thinking that if I have 'survived' being on my own so much by then, I should be able to managed. But I am choosing not too think about it too much now and just handle it when the times comes.

I will be having a confinement nanny, and my maid will be helping to look after my FB then. At least they are all women and I can vent and hopefully they will lend me a shoulder to cry on if I need.

Maybe you try not to think about it too much? Cos I think sometimes, the hubbies are also in a difficult position.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) : you're such a strong mummy! hubby just left for a trip and I was in tears last night ... hee, for short while only, then back to normal liao! But I cried again when he called just before stepping onto the plane, put him on speaker phone, just to say goodnight to me and baby.

Millie: IMO - In My Opinion ;)

Lok, Mickey & Jaline: Thanks for sharing how useful the bumper mat is! I think it's gonna be very well used! Will probably get the gate later on.

Mickey: I didn't mention any sale leh. I only know yesterday was the start of Mango sale, which I totally skipped this time round since I can't fit into much things and there's no point squeezing with those girls! Waiting for Zara sale, which is likely to start next week.

Oh yah, Flos, there's a Club 21 Sale Preview today and tomorrow! Additional 10% off for Club 21 cardmembers & 30% more Club 21 points on any purchase. Shopping hours extended to 9pm today.

Jaline - aiyoh, my baby is big compared to urs..haha. At 28 weeks, he is 1.4 kilos. AHH!! My gynae says "very normal very normal" so I take her words lor. Don't want to worry too much as well. Just happy to see him kicking and playing with his toes during the scan.

RXmom - if situation is out of your circle of control, best to not think about it and just deal with it when it comes. Also don't compare to other people coz everyone's situation is different. Ur hubby must feel bad about not being around and not easy for him and u don't want him to be without a job as well. I hear that you should have a good network of new moms (us!) so u can emotional support and other kinds of support as well during this period. Women are damn strong - u can do it!

Flos - ya, I get inspiration from many places. HAha...I like moisturizers too so double meaning la.

Any one of you still going for facials at this stage? I've one scheduled on Saturday but wonder if it is going to be v uncomfortable to be lying on my back for 1.5 hours.

shazz
*Hugs* How long will your hubby be away? Nevermind, you got us here to accompany you... and you can do more shopping and meet up with friends

Ooohh.. Zara sale next week? I want!

lanolin
I still go for my monthly facials.. my therapist will prop my legs on pillows and make sure I am comfortable. Very shiok one.. can even fall asleep.. enjoy yourself!

Ok, I'm very bad.. but really want to share this with everyone..

Yesterday I went for my antenatal class, there's this one husband, he asks the silliest questions! He asked the nurse if there's a particular time for baby to pop, like 4 to 5pm.. because he wants to plan his work.. my jaw dropped when I heard his question... no common sense one meh!! Then, he asked the nurse when he should take leave to accompany the wife, this is up to his own prerogative what. Then after that he mentioned he is self-employed, isn't that even better?.... *faint*

Mei: hee, not too long, just 12 days. I super emotional now lah, hee, actually it's no biggie compared to what Flos and RXmom gotta bear with.

yeah ... shopping! but I got a warning from hubby, not to "overstock" our home with baby stuff! lolz

Alamak! that husband is really asking the "DUH" questions manx! Unless they opt for C-sec, he'll know for sure when the baby will pop! haha

shazz
Oh.. then not as bad.. 12 days will pass by in a flash.. can arrange go mani/pedi, facial, etc...

Exactly lor.. unless they opt for C, then he'll know when & what time, then can plan his work.. lol.

I want to go Zara & see their baby clothes got any good bargains or not.. I love their little long-sleeved shirts.. so smart!

RXmum... ya agrees with u that the hubbies are also in a difficult position. But sometimes cant help but feel miserable! I really hope my Dh will not have to fly off last min near to my edd or during confinement. Sometimes really buay tahan n feel like complaining but after tat i felt bad cos its his job and he cant help it too.

Shazz...
Indulge yrself in something that really interest u so that these 12 days will pass by quickly.

<font color="119911">Jaline (jaline) - 900gm at 27 weeks is considered big by ur gyne? Mine was 1.13kg at 28 weeks &amp; my gyne said right size. Anyway, if u want something to benchmark against - check online at Baby Center. I also drafted out a chart in my FB to track Kieran's growth against the norm, if you have a FB account.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - my hubby is also away in India, so just baby &amp; myself....then when he comes back, the next day I am off to Korea! Luckily all short trips, can't imagine being alone to take care of a NB, esp since we don't intend to get a maid.</font>