(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa de mouse,

keep yourself occupied. When I was confined to bedrest in the 1st trimester for J#1, took the time to read up or u can even watch your favourite tv serials etc. Log on, play games whatever.

I didn't even know that I had contractions but that was like 30+ weeks. Put me on CTG and it hit plauteau regularly (i.e. max strength). The nurses and gynae thought I had super high pain threshold cos I don't feel anything. Just like u it was uncomfortable (hardening with a bit of shortness of breath) but still very manageable. Don't worry and let the expert advise u, ok?

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - share ur 3D Scan photos! Not sure if TMC has them as well, have to ask

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - okie, so we will see u at the restaurant at 12.30ish. Pls PM me ur mobile no. as well. Other mommies - change of time - 12.30pm this Friday. I will drop a Facebook note incase anyone misses this on the forum. Other mommies who want to come along, just let us know before that!

Address:
Xin Tao Yuan, 63 Tanjong Pagar Road , tel: 6323-6367
http://www.singaporemirror.com.sg/co_xintao.htm </font>

<font color="0000ff">Mei
ic ic.... luckily urs is juz a one-off thing. i have to continue monitoring to ensure it doesnt happen at regular intervals....

Flos
yah manz... it could really be all the walking. i rushed down to TMC and finished my CTG at 7+.. dr cheng onli came to see me at around 9+ so would u say tat he rushed down to see mi?? i dunno wor... haha

Lok
oh yeah.. haha.. am keeping myself occupied wit work now. no choice.. got some work to handle leh... it muz have been scary to see the contractions hit max strength.... kinda worried but like u mentioned, i noe i'm in safe hands. juz prob need to minimise my physically activities and keep talking to bb telling him not to come out so early. realli feels boring n handicapped...</font>

bigtoes,
i will try to scan it and upload tonite
I overheard a couple registering for 3D scan at NUH though their gynea is from Gleneagles. Think NUH's 3/4D scan facilities are open to all (different prices for in-house and ext. patient)

mei,
U will enjoy the session..my hubby and i had fun try to figure whose features the bb has inherited..

baby carrier:
i have a baby bjorn active carrier, which i used for my 2nd child. now using it for my 3rd baby
v nice and comfortable and hands are free for other things

sasa, think u need lots of cushions and pillows around so that u can prop yourself up in dif positions in bed.

i sometimes feel the hardening sensation in my lower abdomen too, but there was absolutely no feeling, no pain, no cramps. in fact, if i hadn't happen to put my hands there, i wouldn't have realised it. is that braxton hicks of some sorts too?

bb bathtubs
does anyone know where i can find a simple and cheap one?

cord spirit
will the hosp give this to us or do we need to buy our own? i'll be delivering at tmc; not sure if this constitutes part of the "bb toiletries" they said they will be giving out.

flos, i bought my baby bjorn air carrier for $169 at ffy.

Bigtoes,
Where to buy Lascal M1 carriers in SG ? Any idea how much and wats the max age of the child can be used for this carrier ? Also can be used for newborn ?

xuanting
I got my baby bathtub from Baby Avenue at $21.. my friend got the same one at $18 at Kaki Bukit.

As for cord spirit, when I attended my antenatal class. the nurse told us that they (KKH) used to use cord spirit but now they no longer do so as they say that cleaning with boiled water works just as well, so that saves us money.

Flos: I think our hubbies just love the fun of shopping for babies! while mummies tends to consider factors, like comfort for baby etc. =)

sasa_de_mouse: the good thing is that you've experienced what it's like to have contractions and will know better next time it happens. =) try to sleep on your sides, to relief sore butt.

baby carriers: i got a pupsik pouch and sling from MIM from the Motherhood exhibition. Hubby wanted to get Baby Bjorn but we were told that big babies will outgrow them very fast too. My friends strongly recommended Ergo, and they have infant inserts. Metro was selling it at 20% off, pretty good deal! They used it when they go travelling and when they don't bring the strollers, and the distribution of the weight on the hip support band is a great relief!

<font color="0000ff">Xuanting
haha... think got all the cushions oso no use ah... juz canot get into a comfortable position when sleeping.. sighz... some more my hb already 'complaining' tat i always encroach into his space and some more we've got 2 bolsters on the bed.. haha... limited space.

hhmm... could it be bb stretching against ur tummy tat u felt?? not so much of BHs?? at times i feel my boy stretching himself oso... when he does it... a part of my tummy hardens too.. but somehow i can sense tat it's him.. instead of contractions. mayb coz it's part of tummy... n not the whole bottom tummy bah..</font>

bacon&amp;eggs: sure, pls share with us your 3D photos! I am very excited abt my bb's features. I wonder if he looks like me/DH??

sasa: my DH and I suspect he lives just round the corner from TMC. hmm, 9+...He is very responsible then.

xuanting/steff&amp;sean: I'm not sure if I wanna get the Combi magical compact 4-way carrier. It's slightly cheaper, and less branded than Baby Bjorn. We like the white Baby Bjorn carrier, but it costs over $200 at FFY. We need a bb carrier, cos my DH has vehemently refused to wear a sarong sling.

sasa
My hubby bought me this special bolster from Baby Avenue.. it's shaped like a banana so it supports our whole body.. it's a saviour, really helps me get comfortable &amp; sleep well. Shazz bought it first &amp; posted it here, that's how I knew about it. Maybe you want to get it to ease your discomfort?

xuanting
I think what you felt was baby.. the braxton hardening is the entire tummy &amp; you can feel the tightening, the feeling is rather extreme.

Millie (millie22) - only saw Lascal at one place. The shop at Kaki Bukit (the one on level 2). Price is abt $200 or a bit cheaper, can't really remember. Can be used for NB to about 12kg &amp; I like that the straps are all adjustable to size. Google for more details - they should have their product brochure online

Carriers
Love our Bjorn. we got two second hand ones, so they are cheaper than buying brand new. lasted for around a year i think... then he wanted to walk by himself anyway...

shazz
I got it direct from the dreambags website.. the prices are in pounds but when you order 2 or more.. you get additional discount. &amp; the shipping charges are really reasonable. The customer service is fantastic too.. let me know if you want to order.. I'm thinking of ordering one more of 1.0 tog.

http://www.thedreambag.co.uk/

Think the site is down now though...

shazz
Yup.. in S$.. it's S$45.

bacon&amp;egg
Cord spirit is available at Guardian, their in-house brand.. the bottle is white with green wordings.

shazz
Yup.. order 2 or more bags, get 10% off.. order 4 or more.. 15% off! If I can make it for lunch this Friday, I'll bring the bag for you to take a look.

Shazz, Mei: I have a dream bag for my girl too. But we didn't use it in the end, cos she sleeps in her own room without the air-con on.

Shazz: Yes, that will be good. Wait til you're sure bb will be sleeping in an air-con room first..
Else, the blanket is really too warm for our weather.. My girl sleeps with the ceiling fan on and without any blanket. On warm nights, she goes to bed without long pants. On colder nights, we'll put on long-sleeve PJs and long pants for her..

mickey
Thanks for sharing.. think my baby will need a bag/swaddle as he'll be sleeping in the aircon room with us.

shazz
Yupp.. guess we hold first till baby is born.. anyway we got one to tahan first... hehe.. me shopaholic.. lol.

bacon&amp;egg
Yup.. when I went for my antenatal class.. they say just pour onto cotton wool &amp; wipe around the cord.. actually not necessary to get the cord spirit, plain boiled water works just as well. Most importantly is to keep the area dry &amp; clean.

Anyway for those of us who are engaging a CL.. she'll help us take care of the cord &amp; by the end of the month, the cord would have dried &amp; dropped off.. so no need to worry so much about this.

Sa sa!!!! Glad everything is fine for you!! Pls pls rest this whole week, ok?? I was busy shopping on sat &amp; sun, so far so good! Kekek...

Ava: your nursing bra look so much better than mine!! Kekek...

bacon&amp;eggs: Yes, share photos!!! I wanna see!
Just saw you post, will invite you!

Ava, your MIM nursing bra looks like the one Thyme is selling. How much? I oredi got two nursing bras from M&amp;S as recommended by Shazz. Another two unpadded ones from Mothercare. Not sure if I need so many cos I dun think I can BF for that many mths.

RXmom: would u like to PM your mobile to one of us, say BigToes or me?

Flos/storeberry
The bra is very comfy. I got it for about $40 each I think...and need to get some unpadded ones too for home. Just 3-4 bras (padded and unpadded) shld be enuf, even if u r breastfeeding for a long time...

hi ava,

just saw your message on facebook. was busy nursing jared back to health and jaga-ing two kids without my mum's help since she went back to msia. she just got back last thurs and since then, i've been busy with preparing work for new sch term... that's why.

jared's been talking abt adan gor gor on off leh. hehe. whenever we see some thomas and friends die cast engines that adan has, he'll go 'adan gor gor has harvey'.. etc.

how's everyone here?? doing well??

hi gals, i hv been getting sharp pain below my right breast n abv the tummy area.. really buay tahan! right side of my back aches too.. this thur going for gynae's checkup, think i shd ask her abt it..

my minnie mousey oso a super active one!! kicks non-stop from morning till nite! last nite i woke up at 3am, she wakes up too and tossing ard.. omg..

janf- my gynae say cox baby is growing and the uterus is pushing up.. right side of the backache i also experenice.. think that common la

BMO Payment Received so far (as at 8pm 16 June)
16 Jun 2008 ATR S$20.00
16 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK koras S$9.13
16 Jun 2008 ATR Eve S$38.81
16 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK Ava S$54.82

Not sure who trf the $20.

Anyone else keen on the babymallonline spree? Will close the spree on 18 June or upon hitting the spree cap of US$250, which ever is earlier.

Email orders to [email protected]

Received this in my email from What to Expect, thought it was so informative, and what I've been experiencing so far! just to share with the rest of the mummies here:

Week 28: You Feel Your Pain: Sciatica
This is it — you're two-thirds to the finish line, as you enter your third and final trimester! And what a difference a trimester makes. Gone, most likely, are the days when you could call pregnancy "comfortable" (that is, if you ever did). These days, your baby's kicking (or lack of) is keeping you up at night and worried during the day, your feet are swollen, you're getting tired all over again, and your backache is a pain that just won't quit. And even though he or she hasn't started crying yet, it may seem that your baby's getting on your nerves already — literally. As your baby gets settled into a proper (you hope) position for birth, his or her head (and your enlarging uterus) may rest on the sciatic nerve in the lower part of your spine. And if that happens, you may feel sharp, shooting pain, tingling, or numbness that starts in your buttocks and radiates down the back of your legs — otherwise known as sciatica. The pain of sciatica can be quite intense at times, and though it may pass if your baby shifts positions, it can also linger until you've delivered.
A heating pad, a warm tub, stretches, or just some self-imposed bed rest can help with the discomfort. So can some complementary and alternative therapies.

Shazz, i had transferred the payment for the babymallonline order to you. thanks for helping with the order.

To Account DBS Savings Plus
001-0-062525 shazz
Amount S$19.42
Transaction Reference 1757061393

cloud: got your order and payment! thanks!

koras: i think assisted delivery means the use of items like forceps, vacum. I think the charges are different, depending on what is being used.

so envious of those that only put on 5kg so far! im in my 24th week and already gain 11kg.. dammit.. i gained 21kg during my 1st pregnancy. was hoping not to gain so much for this but now looks like its gonna be the same again. *sob*

hi storeberry,
my initial edd date is 24 oct
but after the detail scan it became 12 oct

when is urs?
have you all started buying things yet?