(2008/09) Sep 2008

lovebug
Welcome!

Hubby & myself bought a book yesterday at Kino & we attempted to hand make baby's first doll.. we just completed it... here it is.. rabbit terry towel doll... looks kind of weird.. lol. We posted how we did it step by step in our blog.. so you can read more from there.

1492795.jpg

hi shazz and storeberry,
yeah. jared's finally ok now and nat didn't catch the virus. PHEW!!! else i pengsan already. was a difficult period coz they'd both wake up consecutively to cry. then maid in the day already do so many different chores so i take care of them entirely myself. hb sometimes will wake to help but otherwise he is quite helpless coz nat refuses to stop crying until and i carry her. then jared only wants me to scratch his back... luckily, it's all over. i'm think i'm being prepared for cadence arrival when i'll be getting sleepless nights in woodlands!!!!

when's the next gathering?? no idea. but if you all wanna go to someone's house, i can offer mine. hehe. let's wait for sarahmay to come back then we organise another so that we can meet her too.

mei,
that's nice for a first attempt. was it easy to make??

janf,
i had the same pain also in my first pregnancy. there's a term for it but i can't remember now. there's really nothing that the gynae or you can do you know. what i did last time when the excruciating pain came was to apply great pressure on it then lean backwards (on a chair). it kinda relieves the pain a little. then once bb comes out, all the pain went away.

PAIN:
for the longest time since, i've this nagging pain near the vagina area. it's not the vagina. but rather the bone at the bikini area near the vagina... really don't know how to say where the pain is... then it gets soooooooo painful i cannot lift my legs up to walk up steps.. super annoying. anyone experienced/experiencing same pain?

went for check up last wed, realise I didn't gain any weight from my last check up. last check up weight 72.6kg, this month check up 72.2kg. from the start till now, I only gain 4kg. my waist also didn't seem to have any increase. wonder is my bb growing in my tummy well. but i orginal size is size 14.

thanks, mei. i checked out mums & babes at amk hub after my prenatal class just now and found this lucky baby bath tub with removable back support going for $26.90. didn't buy it as we were going for a movie later but while shopping for tidbits in ntuc, we saw the same thing going for $19.90, so we grabbed it! am so pleased that i spent below $20 for it.

you actually completed the rabbit in a day! i'm impressed! i have a toy making book from kino that shows how to sew toys from socks and gloves too. made one very lopsided teddy for my cousin so far. maybe will make something for baby when we move back.

hi lovebug1822, welcome! i think we're all in the midst of buying our bb stuff and a few of the more efficient ones are already more or less done! have you started your bb shopping yet?

nappy liners
can anyone who've used them share your findings on these? which are the value-for-money brands to get? thanks!

xuanting:
yeah, finally I got the chance to start buying baby stuffs after knowing the gender!!!!!!!
went to the baby fair to stock up on wet wipes and pampers
manage to get a cot there and now the bits and pieces like what pump brand what shampoo brand

what do you all recommend???

what have you bought so far?

morning ladies!

ava, mei , sarah may
littledreamers will be delivering the stuff later this afternoon.
let me know your preferred collection.

alabone
Glad that the tots are doing well.. didn't hear from you for such a long time...

The doll was pretty easy to make, with the clear instructions given.

xuanting

Glad you got a good bargain for the tub.. I've seen expensive tubs but I find it not worth.. a tub's a tub...

We completed the rabbit in 2 evenings.. 1st evening hubby cut out the designs and we washed it & hung out to dry. Then the next evening I sewed up the pieces and we stuffed the doll & sewed on the final touches. This is the most basic doll.. we'll proceed to the more complicated ones step by step. Hey.. you should start on your sock/glove doll.. it's pretty nice to have a hand made doll for baby.

preggie
Thanks!! I'll self-collect from you from the east.. can I pick it up from you tomorrow afternoon?

koras,

shazz is right. U don't normally request for assisted delivery from the onset. This is the step before it gets too difficult and becomes a C-sec.

<font color="119911">Morning mommies! Am in Delifrance @TMC now. Went for my glucose tolerance test at 9am, and have to wait till 11am for the next blood test, then see my gyne...thank goodness for wireless connection

Btw, on parking at TMC during our delivery - I asked the front desk &amp; the lady said we would get 4 per entry parking coupons (so only need to pay per entry, not by the hour).</font>

mei, your rabbit doll is very cute
i also wanted to make something for my baby but i'm not allowed to do any sewing. so can only do it after the baby comes out.

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) - the yellow rabbit is so cute! Sweet welcoming gift for ur baby!

alabone (alabone) - glad jared is okie!
Must have been quite a taxing time for u guys...On the next gathering - thanks for offering your place! Lets have one sometime early July? When is SarahMay back in town?

lovebug1822 (lovebug1822) - Welcome to the forum! Is ur EDD in early Oct (and hence expected to deliver in late Sept)? Btw, some of us mommies at the Tanjong Pagar area are meeting up for lunch this Friday. Let me know if u are working around this area &amp; keen to join as well!

ACHES &amp; PAINS - 2nd time mommies - when did yours typically start for baby no. 1? I haven't experience any side effects from this pregnancy yet &amp; wondering if I am just lucky or if the onset will all come at the same time

Bigtoes,

Think you are lucky. Everyone experience pregnancy differently. I don't recall having any terrible aches or pain for J#1. For me, it happened after he's born. Suffered from tendonitis (inflammation of my tendons) due to excessive carrying of NB. Had to take steriod jabs. For J#2, I do get backache but it's more from carrying J#1.

bigtoes, did u request for the gtt?? I asked if i needed to do it since gynae said i m putting on too much and baby was overweight at the last visit.. but she said don need..

I am owas worried that I'll get gestational diabetes since i'm heavy.

Lok &amp; Bigtoes,
I experienced massive shoulder blade ache (like thousands of needles poking) Couldnt turn from left to right anymore without holding on to the shoulder blade at nite. Gynea refer me to physio-therapy..doesnt help..no one really knows why i get the ache...sigh...i am using tiger balm (tiny bit) to relieve the pain now.

Mei,
U r so good with your hands..i dont think i can sew that well.. good on u
I tried knitting..but give up soon after..the only handicraft i ever complete is X-stitch.

<font color="119911">crayonshinchan - yes, i requested for the GTT cos I have a family history of diabetes. Am otherwise healthy &amp; not putting on too much weight (up 1.4kg the last month &amp; about 7-8kg todate) but just wanted to be on the safe side. Think most gynes won't recommend the GTT unless mommy is gaining weight too quickly, or like my case, due to family history of diabetes.</font>

Paiseh didn't managed to post for very long, cos trying to clear as much work as i can before i go for my maternity leave.
Wow, so nice some of the gals r meeting lunch this fri at TP area, too bad i dun work there... anyone works in Orchard area? :p

Now at 28 weeks, I do feel constant backaches due to carrying my gal... for my 1st pregnancy, not much of pain n aches experienced.

alabone,
nowadays I do experience the same pain as urs (the bone at the bikini area near the vagina), not sure if it's due to the pelvic bone expanding, maybe baby's head is trying to engage? not so serious like urs but when i squat or sit down, can feel the pain once i gets up.

jessi, i tot the no sewing thing is only on bed?

U've just reminded me... when my hse was undergoing slight reno just few wks back, i was not present when they were doing the painting and stuff lar..but i was there when they did a slight touching up of the paint on the gate. and i only realised it at the end of it. BAH! super guilty!

crayonshinchan,
Gynea ordered GTT when I was in Week 24 - routine test and I was tested to have GD. Now am on low sugar/carbo diet and has to self-test once a week. Dietician told me its good to go easy on sugar/carbo in case bb gets too big for natural birth.

Jessi
Yup, like crayon, I was also told not to do any cutting/sewing on our bed.

Bigtoes
Thanks! Tonight we'll attempt a teddy bear... hope it doesn't turn out weird looking but it's fun!

As for backache, guess we are the lucky ones.. like you, I also did not have any MS, no backache to date.. only thing I suffer from is water retention.

crayonshinchan
I have liked doing crafts all along &amp; my hubby does too.. so it's fun doing it together.

bacon&amp;egg
You can sew a X-stitch of your baby's name &amp; get it framed up to hang in his room.

i see that most of you are having backaches and BH.. the only prob i have now is that I always cant find a comfy position to sit and watch TV for long. I have to move about every few minute.

And i feel clumsy like an ox lor..my ah lao owas finds it very funny to see me trying to get up after sitting down for too long! I think thats becos i have no sofa at home.. we are sitting on tatami mats and platform.. haaa.. thats why i dare not volunteer my hse for any gathering.. it'll be a funny sight to see all mtbs trying to get up from the floor ;-)

crayonshinchan &amp; mei, i also thought can't do sewing in bed only, but my mum told me not to do any sewing at all.

bacon&amp;egg, very pei fu ppl who can finish a whole x-stitch picture, cos X-stitch takes alot of patience to complete leh..

bacon&amp;egg,

I will be near harbourfront next yr. But probably can't meet u for lunch since I will be on a nearby island (must take ferry).

so today's topic is on sewing? I can't sew for nuts. mom did all my home econs needlework...

I slept for 10 hours last nite and still feeling very groggy today. I'm glad that my feet are no longer as swollen as last weekend. Think it must hv been the new pair of hush puppies I got at metro

didn't shop further, only managed to get a pretty cool nail clipper with magnifying glass by The First Years company...

Goodness me. I need to look for a spa outlet to lie down...zzzzz

tomorrow i'll visit the dentist.

flos,

i bought the supposedly cool nail clipper b4. Not friendly at all... Waste my $. Think only used it once.

talking abt spa.. can we do it? or rather what can we do? body scrub? foot massage? body massage?

i need someone to scrub down for me too!!
hahaa.. i've been finding it more and more difficult to scrub anything from the thighs below...

bacon&amp;eggs, I've added u in multiply.. waiting for u to add me back so that I can see ur little one ;-)

Alabone
Glad to see u back on the forum
You guys can come over for play dates on a weekend if you like
Not after visiting IMM playground tho! LOL! Glad that Jared is back in good health! Which part of M'sia is ur mom staying?

Mei
Cute bunny!

Does the offer to tumpang my Little Dreamers stuff with you still stand? If not I will arrange with Preggie.

Preggie
Did I already transfer $$ for the Little Dreamers stuff? If not, please let me know how much and how to transfer to you.

BigToes
I dont remember much aches and pains except towards last few weeks and I had carpal tunnel syndrome towards the end that lasted a few mths after birth...hoping not this time tho!

shazz
Oh I know that mom on the other forum thread u linked...haha she is on the twins thread I'm on as well! 60 cloth diapers....man!!!

Limay,

I think my aches while I was bearing no. 1 came around 8 and 9th month? But I am having lower back aches now at 6th month. mostly because of age maybe (though I am just 29 years old) and lifting my 14kg son. :p I think I will still continue to carry him occasionally until term, cos as long as I carry him the right way, it is fine.

Lok: really? Useless? then which brand is good? Most of the nail clipper "handles" are so tiny. Pigeon, Nuby, etc. How to grip properly?!

Just to check, on GD, doesn't the normal urine test that we have at every visit test for sugar in urine (and hence potential GD)? I'm confused... Must we do a separate test on this?

hi bigtoes

thanks for your invitation!!! but friday I am working!!!!!!!! what time is your lunch time at tanjong pagar??? which part of it? see if I can make it before going back to work?

For me the edd date keep changing because my LMP is unknown
Not sure whether it will come out earlier than 12 oct or later??

hey 2nd time moms, whats the experiences like, do the kids normally come out earlier or later?? or on the dot?

alabone: am glad it's over and you can rest abit more now. must have been such a challenging time for you.

I had the same pain as you! It's the area above the vagina, the pain caused me difficulties in walking, getting up from seats etc. I realised later on that it's due to the baby's position, when he was head down, I felt the pain. My colleague told me cos the baby's weight was hitting on the pelvic bone, hence the pain. I think my baby changed position, so now I don't feel it. It usually stays for a week or 2 for me then it's ok and then it's back again.

But I'm still having backaches. My friends attribute it to the weight I've gained that is mostly on the upper half of my body, hence my poor back can't take the sudden increase.
bigtoes: no wonder I was asked to do GTT during week 24, think it's because I've put on so much weight. Have gained 10kg so far. How did you maintain your weight gain at 7-8kg? hehe, I'm hopeless with diets!

Ava: ah, she's in your twins thread. Do check with her how many diapers she use per day for her twins. Cos from what I read, she said she bought 60 cloth diapers and her maid needs to wash them everyday. So she may not use up all 60 per day. But still very scary hor! 30 diapers per child! and I thought my niece is record holder at 15-18 per day during her first 2 weeks!

Mei: you and hubby are such a sweet couple! Devon is so blessed to have such wonderful parents! the rabbit is so cute ... looking forward to see the bear!

Desitin &amp; Toothpaste Spree: The postman is gonna deliver the 2nd box today, so I can start meeting and mailing the stuff tomorrow onwards. Will keep you ladies posted again!

Babymallonline Spree by Shazz: anymore orders?

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - am back in office after my GTT &amp; gyne appnt. Little Kieran is now 1.13kg! Just on track. I have also arranged for my planned C-section date: 30th Aug (Sat). Was hoping for 28th, but then Dr Tan only does planned surgeries on Weds/Sats &amp; we would have to pay a surcharge (about $700+) on any other days...no point.

Btw, the maternity shop at TMC (#01-06) sells nursing bras. Quite ugly thou, $32 for the padded version &amp; $20 for non-padded ones.

lovebug1822 (lovebug1822) - There are about 6 of us mommies confirmed for the lunch thing on Friday @12.30pm. This is at a Shanghainese restaurant along TP Road:
Xin Tao Yuan, 63 Tanjong Pagar Road , tel: 6323-6367
http://www.singaporemirror.com.sg/co_xintao.htm
Mommies - i have just made a booking, under Ms Chew (Zhou).

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - wow, yes - most definitely ur aches are from carrying ur 14kg son around!</font>

shazz (shazzerlyn) - hah, ur weight gain is many on the boobies what
I don't mind that at all!

Desitin - the pharmacy at TMC is selling the Destin (blue box version) at $20 for 2 boxes. Is that considered cheap?

Bigtoes: Cannot make it!!!!! I got gynae appointment on friday at that time before rushing back to work!!!!!

sorry next time I join you all out all seem so funz!

How early you all get the backaches? I get it as early as 18 weeks now also have!!!! my goodness

what you all do to cure it?

Bigtoes
I'll be joining you gals for lunch, count me in.

Ava
I can collect the Little Dreamers stuff for you from preggie &amp; pass to you on our lunch date on Friday. I can pay her cash on your behalf first too. Let me know?

Shazz
I'll post our bear when it's done..

I'll be coming for Friday's lunch.. so I'll get my Desitin stuff from you then.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) : just saw your baby's 3D scan video! It's so amazing!

Like you, I can't wait to hold the little one, to see how he looks like and resembles ... even though I pretty much know he's gonna look like his daddy, cos I prayed for him to have his daddy's features! and when we had our last scan, his face shape is exactly that of his ddady! ROUND! haha

Bigtoes: the boobies is a little too much for me to handle now, so heavy, gotta place them properly when I sleep!

The Desitin selling at TMC is the smaller size tubes. Show you the ones we got then perhaps we can have another spree!

Mei: sure, will pass you the Desitin and toothpaste on Fri =)

lovebug1822 (lovebug1822) : where is your gynae appt? I'm having mine at 9am at Raffles Hospital, then walk back to office.