(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa
Glad you're fine!

Hmm.. I had a friend who was given ventolin too as she also experienced early contractions.

I thought we are encouraged to exercise regularly. I don't think exercises like swimming & walking causes that though... Did the doctor mention that it was caused by activity? I want to make sure as I am still actively involved in swimming, pilates & walking.

<font color="119911">sasa de mouse (sasa_xie)- thank goodness u are okie now
quite scary thou, to get cramps from walking too much or climbing stairs! I have been walking quite abit, climbing the MRT steps etc...basically no change compared to not being preggers. Though it was good exercise &amp; we should keep up with it for as long as possible! I am going to Korea alone this Sunday for work somemore &amp; planning to walk around at the wholesale market area at Dongdaemun! Scary if I suddenly have contractions! Better check with my gyne tomorrow on premature contractions</font>

Pain @ Finger joint

Does any of the mummy out there experience any pain @ finger joints? Ma-chiam like rheumatism?
I have been experiencing the pain since this morning when I woke up...
And my whole body is aching as well

skinny pig
I have carpal tunnel syndrome (painful wrists &amp; numb fingers) for around 3 months.. some preggies will get it due to water retention.. this presses on the nerves leading to our fingers, causing the discomfort. I did not do much except for wearing a wrist splint when I sleep (this prevents fingers from curling up while sleeping, restricting blood flow) and I hang my hands over my bed when I sleep. It's slightly better but still there.. I am used to it now, just have to learn to cope with it. My gynae says it happens to some pregnant ladies &amp; will normally disappear after giving birth. You can encourage blood flow by doing some hand exercises like opening &amp; closing your fingers (like twinkle twinkle little stars action).

shazz: thks for organising the babymall spree! I've emailed my order to u, pls let me knw if i've missed out anything, tks again

sasa: glad u r fine now! sounds so scary to hv contractions at this stage of our pregnancy...rest well.

i think exercising is gd for us now but everything in moderation though... too much of it n we may over-exert ourselves and/or affect our bb

hi stef&amp;seanbabes,

my gynae's opposite fr yours!! my bb weighed 1.3kg when i had my appt last Sat @ 28wks &amp; my gynae told me she's overweight by 200g. Ideal weight shld be 1 - 1.1kg! At 24 wks, my bb was 766g, abt the same weight as yours!

sasa.. gald that you and ur bb are fine now... now what you need to do is rest well.. all other preparation job will have to get someone else to help. rest well and take care!!

sasa, glad to hear that you're fine. what were the contractions like?

shazz, thanks for organising the spree. are items like hooded towels and receiving blankets too heavy?

baby weight:

I guess not to be over concern over baby weight now, as it is just an estimated weight by the gynae. i read quite a number of post by mama saying that their baby was born has a diff weight from what gynae had estimated.

Just need to eat healthy, i think everythng will be fine.

<font color="0000ff">stef&amp;seanbabes, Eve
Thanks! will rest hehe.. but boring wor..

Mei
yeah yeah.. i oso tot we were supposed to have regular exercise to aid us in our delivery. doc didnt mention anything but he did say that now tat we are advanced, things that we might have been able to do last week, we might nt be able to do it this week already. so best not to overstrain ourselves. now i dun even dare to walk around so much. juz sit around the whole day

Bigtoes
u going alone?? better check with ur gynae to see if she gives u the go-ahead k...
n do take care of urself..</font>

skinny pig
I know.. some days it gets so bad for me I have difficulty writing too.. do monitor, if it's so bad it affects your everyday activities, do consult your gynae. For me.. I want to go drug-free that's why I do not want to take any medication. There are medications to reduce swelling. Oh.. &amp; dipping your hands in warm water helps too.. in the morning, my fingers are so numb &amp; seem 'locked' I can't hold my toothbrush properly.. so I run my hands under warm water &amp; it gets better.

Wow, what a lot of posts!

Lunch
My timing is flexi too. So 12.30 or 1 are both OK for me.

BMO Spree
Shazz I will email you.

SkipHop Bags
Shazz, that colour u sent me (olive) is quite nice...but with exchange rate, the bag is cheaper here (just can't get that colour...) lemme know how much ur hb finds the bags for can? In the Olive colour.

Sasa
You freaked me out man with your last MSN message...then sudden disapearance (was on MSN with Sasa just before her hurried trip to the CTG machine)...we all need to rest more...I am looking forward to working from home 2 days a week from next week onwards!!!

Bras
I got two bras from Moms in Mind. Very comfy, but not very fashionable...normal looking lah. I need a bigger size tho...sigh.

1491683.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Von
yeah.. thanks. i guess i have to get my mum to help mi buy the rest of my things le...

Xuanting
eerrmm.... juz felt the bottom part of tummy hardening lor like wat i've been complaining abt. at first i suspected it was BHs... but den the machine picked up 3 contractions in tat 1 hr.. so guess tats wat made my gynae worried bah...

oh yah... i felt cramps too.. similar to those menstrual cramps esp at nite. and it was affecting my slp...</font>

<font color="0000ff">Ava
haha.. i freaked out too.. coz my gynae ordered mi to rush down to TMC immediately. imagine i was still arguing with the nurse to say i will go down the nxt morning but she said NO! AArrgghh.... anyway, thank god she forced mi to go down.. else i dunno wat will happen.. haha

anyway, paiseh for freaking u out. was realli in a rush tat day after the phone call. glad all turned out well.. now i juz have to rest, rest rest....

hey.. the bras look comfy..!!!</font>

Shazz

Thanks for organising the spree. I've already sent email to you before u posted the format. If i miss out anything please email me back and let me know. Thanks

Sasa: Please rest more.

storeberry, sometimes my tummy also will be odd shape, especially if i sleep on my side then the tummy will be "pointed" more on one side. maybe is baby's head or buttocks? :p

sasa, sounds scary to have contractions this early but glad that you are fine now. better rest more. till now i still dunno how it feels like to have hardening, braxton hicks or contractions. scared if have it also don't know...

Jessi
I experienced braxton hicks 2 weeks ago.. you'll know one.. your tummy suddenly tightens &amp; feels super hard &amp; it's super uncomfy.

xuanting (xuanting) : receiving blankets and hooded towels are ok. i ordered them in my 1st trimester on my own, they're so soft and lovely! will even accept crib sheets cos it's small pack, just no bedding sets with the bumpers etc.

mickey: please continue to organise sprees! am doing it cos I want those items! hehe

Ava: sure, will give him the pictures of the colours you want and let him check prices before he buys them. but from the look of it, prices not much cheaper in Canada, so my last resort is to order online. see how it goes towards end of the week.

Sasa_de_mouse: gosh, must have been scary for you! am glad you and baby are fine. have you done most of your shopping already?

<font color="119911">sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - yes, going to Seoul alone cos its for work. Plan to get some shopping done regardless!
Else kinda wasted trip lah....

RXmom - okie, for lunch on friday - if u can pop out from 12.30-2pm, then lets go ahead with that time since the other mommies (shazz, ava, flos) can make it then.</font>

sasa, was it painful? do you have to cut down on movements etc from now till delivery?

flos, those two nursing gowns you got from mothercare, were they nightshirts or the longer ones? i could only find nightshirts there...

I just joined a BP for GroBags! http://www.grobag.com/

My friend was telling me how it's good to let baby sleep in one if you intend to let baby sleep in air-con room, but worried that baby will kick off the blanket. So a sleeping bag/sac is good. Went to Mothercare to check it out and they're pretty exp! From $78 to $200! So was happy to find out about the BP! Paid $58 for it!

For those who're interested:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1481245.html?1213585569
BP closing tom night!

shazz/Jessi: I didn't check out the prices cos I notice my siblings and SILs laid those only when their todds are able to stand and crawl. I intend to buy them in a year's time with the playyard fence

Hermes Birkin? Nah, It must be a few thousands at least. Beyond me...

Mei: Nope, I'm seeing the same fella sasa is seeing and he is an advocate of balanced diet. Grrr...

sasa: How do premature contractions feel? I felt those menstrual cramps last nite too for 10 seconds, then it went away. I've not felt that kind of pain for 7 months, so it was worrying...

Do u think it's cos of your ParentCraft class (or hv u started already)? I did some light exercises that require moms to be on all fours, to suck in tummy, etc. I didn't react very well to them cos I dun swim regularly like many moms here. Had a dull pelvic ache that very nite

Crayoninshan: I think u'd better start shopping for some essentials cos I find that I can no longer walk that many hours. Tk God I'm done with most of my shopping. Only left the car seat (which I'll request it as a pressie), a diaper bag (still looking around) and a BB carrier (which I'll be getting soon). I'm so very done with my bb shopping.

skinny pig: Yes, numb fingers too. Just do the twinkle2 lil stars exercise Mei advised. That's what we did at the antenatal class too.

LUNCH: 12.30pm is not a problem at all, but let's wait for RXmom to confirm one more time. She is not on FB, so we need to check back this thread for her response.

How about the rest of the school teachers and SAHMTB who dun mind travelling to town to savour some soup dumplings? the more the merrier?

mei, when you experience braxton hicks, does your whole tummy tightened or only one part/side? i encountered that once or twice, my tummy felt hard on one side. but i don't think that's braxton hicks right?

Shazz, i had emailed you my order. will transfer the money to you tonight. thanks!

xuanting: "sleepshirts" they called them? I bought those with sleeves, though they hv sleeveless ones too. They are not very short leh, one inch or two below my knees. Front buttons under MODA collection. Didn't get 2-pc cos my sis said the nurse come and will ask u to let her check the epistomy stitches. Also I might in the end opt for c-section so I prefer to wear 1-pc.

shazz, i've just e-mailed you my orders. do let me know if they are in order; will transfer the payment once you've confirmed that the total figure is correct.

Flos
I'm taking Omega-3 supplements called Natal Care Plus prescribed by my doctor but don't think it's available in pharmacies. Think Bigtoes mentioned she's taking one from Kordel's that approved by her doctor.. maybe you can check with her?

Jessi
The entire tummy tightens &amp; it's super duper hard.. think what you're experiencing (one part only) could be baby's body.

Lunch
I'll see how my work goes this week.. If I can go out for long lunch, I'll meet you ladies.

shazz: u can ask your ah lao to buy from Canada those sleeping sacks. My bro got HALO (sleeveless) ones for me from NYC. Buy 2 in case one of them is soiled. NEVER cover nb with blanket/quilt. Those quilts are just for show nia...

CONTRACTIONS:

Hard to describe but when it hits, u will know for sure.

sasa de mouse,

Rest well. Don't move around too much. Everything will be alright, don't worry unduly ok?

BABY CARRIERS:
Millie (millie22) - we looked around and concluded that we liked LASCAL carriers best - can expand from birth (with the head support) to 12kg or so, with the portions like the gap for the thighs adjustable (incase baby has fat legs!). LASCAL has really pretty colors as well

sasa
sounds scary! Cos I also climb alot of stairs at sch. Up and down three stories at least twice a day with laptop and books!
Sat morn I also had menstrual like cramps and backache early in the morn. But it didnt last long. What precautions r u supposed to take now? Is ur activity limited?

Shazz
the babymall online spree, does it include desitin? Cos I went to the website but couldnt see it.

hi stef
me 28 weeks and my baby was 1.14kg at gynae visit. A little bit smaller than urs but my gynae said my bb is average wt and doing well... Hmm this is strange. Me also 49 plus kg now. Put on like 7plus kg already... But i guess there's little we can do if we r already eating normally!So cheer up!

Baby Carriers

I have a Baby Bjorn Air. It was a saviour when we went to HK with my then 6 mth old daughter. I even breastfed her in it while standing up in the MTR!
Can also put her down into pram easily after she has fallen asleep. Also cooling unlike Baby Bjorn original (thicker fabric)
But one thing though, those with very chubby babies may find that it gets too small. I cld use till she was 13 mths old cos she's not chubby type (so I was really happy abt that) but my colleague's bb with chubby legs, she stopped using after 7 mths old. Said made her bb's thighs red...

flos, are they the front-button ones with polka dots under the moda range? i only saw the ones slightly above the knees so i didn't buy them. and i'm not at all tall lor. will go back and look again.

Hi MTBs,
How was your weekend?

I had a shopping weekend..bought most of my stuff from Taka and Robinson (Pigeon, Avent,etc were gg on 20% disc) Bought Pigeon bb wipes at Watson at $9.95 (Few cents cheaper than Taka and Robinson but still more expensive than cheong choon). Mothercare also having 20% on their maternity pad (slim and thick ones)

Went for my 28th+ week + 3D scan today..was cute to see bb for the first time 3D. Could see the features of the bb clearly..cost $100 for 2 pics and 2 CDs at NUH. After today, my subsequent visits will be every 2 weeks. Week 32 another detailed scan and Week 30, they will brief about hospital admission, orientation etc.

Come to think of it...it will be pretty soon that we all will pop!

isabelle (isa_belle) : desitin cream is under drugstore, will probably do that in July cos the mummies have yet to collect theirs from the current spree. Will see how they like it before I open one. Will keep you posted ok?

Flos and Mei: thanks for the links! more lemmings! haha ... but I think I'll try out one from GroBags first, bought the 6-18nths though, cos I figured, baby is gonna be all wrapped up during first few mths yah?

Flos: I'm not sure if my hubby will know how to shop for baby stuff. Cos the items he bought so far are way too big, and sometimes not very practical haha!

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine (piggy_jas)
yeap yeap.. trying hard to rest.. haha.. but u noe lah.. i juz get so fidgety when sitting around at home doing nothing...

Jessi
think like wat Mei and Lok mentioned.. u will noe it when it comes bah.. coz it's super uncomfy

Mei
seems like u onli experienced it 2 wks ago hor. I feel it everyday w/o fail...
n it's definitely not bb.. coz the whole bottom part of tummy harden till like rock... scary.. heng it goes away after awhile. but still.. it doesnt feel good

Shazz
eerrmm.... think more or less done. but i've still got some nitty gritty things to get. prob will juz tell my mum to help mi get. dun think i wanna go shopping anymore
Now i regret not finishing my shopping earlier.. sighz..

Xuanting / Isabelle
eerrmm..... not painful. juz uncomfortable lor.. of coz apart from the cramps lah. have been told by gynae not to walk around so much. if possible stay in bed.. so these few days.. apart from going to the toilet and doing stuff tat i HAVE to.. i am always on my butt... till my butt ache ah

Flos
i haven started on my antenatal classes yet. starting this sunday wor.. so gotta ask Dr Cheng this friday when i see him if i can attend the class. not sure wat brot abt these contractions oso.. but realli think it was all the walking tat i did.... sighz

Lok
realli trying hard not to think abt it le. but now.. i find tat time crawls.. realli wish i was full term already den i do not have to worry abt bb coming out prematurely</font>

Shazz: tell me about DH's shopping misses, man. Was teleconferencing with DH last nite till 12mn on bb stuffs to buy from some Chinese auction sites. Didn't quite agree on choices he made

bacon&amp;eggs: Are your bb's cheeks chubby at week 28? I think I also want a 3D scan. I saw him at week 22 and he still didn't look very chubby then, so the sonographer deleted the pics.

isa: How much is BB Bjorn Air?

shazz
I also got the 6 - 18 months one.. baby will be swaddled in the early months.

sasa
Mine's probably braxton.. a one-off thing.. that's why when you told me about your experience, I asked you to monitor coz I did lots of reading on this when I experienced it &amp; freaked out.

sasa: It could be the walking. Last week, I shopped/walked like 8-12hrs daily for almost the whole week. My feet became sooooo super swollen after that...It's gotten better after I went for my pedicure-spa last weekend.

Did Dr Cheng attend to you in the middle of the nite? I'd be surprised if he rushed down to the emergency section to take a look at u.

flos,
My son's cheeks look chubby
managed to get front and side view..took a long time..30 mins..sonographer was v nice and patient. Thru the session, my son was making funny faces, sticking his tongue out, yawning... could see the features clearly..nose bridge, lips...except for eyes cos he kept it close most of the time! I also double-checked on his gender...just in case...hee..