(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Sarah, no, went with my frens, DH busy.. Was supposed to go & watch Aviva Open together but he couldn't find time. Going to help him record the semi-finals later!

didnt long in for a few days and now im hving a hard time catching up on all the posts!!

preggie
is the Little Dreamers spree still on??? i wanna get a few items

xuanmommyy
er..u got my info wrong leh.. my nick is Storm not Stormmie.. expecting a Gal not Boy and my EDD is 29 Sept. do help me to update the list. thanks!

<font color="119911">cloud (lovelycloud) - oh, better stop using Palmers then...heard of alot of cased of people developing rashes from using Palmers. Hopefuly its just an allergic reaction &amp; not hormonal related...if it is the latter, then might not go away till after deivery
Am just slathering Body Shop's body butter &amp; so far so good.

koras (koras) - wow, ur baby is growing well at 1.1kg. I am due for my next visit (almost 28 weeks) on Tues - hopefully baby is abt that size too.</font>

cloud: can switch to Elancyl stretch mark cream, think it's cheap and good. Think JL, Guardian and Watson having discount for that now. Buy 2 at $49 I think.

I'L CY: your son's gummies are here! can email me at [email protected] to arrange collection

Hihi shazz,

i wouldn't mind ordering desitin creamy (the blue colour one) if u hold another spree. Thx!

Also does the spree include baby/toddler toothpaste from the brand Earth's Best? If yes, I'd be interested to get some too!

storeberry, i actually bought tickets to aviva open but asked my hubby to sell off my ticket because i'm honestly not that interested in going.. he's gone to watch the semis with his friends..

sarah, don't really think that my gynae can do much at this point, i think its an allergic reaction to the palmers product, if it doesn't get better by monday, i'll go and see my GP.

bigtoes, i'm going to switch to using johnson &amp; johnson once my rashes go away.. but don't know what to do with the extra palmers products that i have..

shazz, can Elancyl cream stop itching?

BabyMall Spree - Orders Placed On 14 June
We are entitled to 20% discount.

Storeberry: This item - Nuby No Spill Cup is OOS.

Mei!! I've been influenced by u... I also couldn't stop buying bedding sets! The Monthercare Green Car Blue long bumper I bought last month is really too short. I'm worried when my bb is able to turn and stand up, he'll knock against the railing. So I went to Paragon just now to buy a second bedding set (dust ruffles, bumper, fitted sheet, quilt)...Hurray! Now I have two! Price $169.

1488306.jpg

cloud: Are u ok with the itch? Aiyo, I thought I posted one thread here before about Palmers? Many Asian moms dun seem to react well to this brand of stretch mark cream. I think Elancyl (TMC pharmacy and many others are having a promo now), Mustela (also on promo), and Clarins (not on promo unless u buy online or from airport).

Dun scratch anymore. Pls go see a doc before it gets worse!!

lilboymom: so u went to KL! Thot u MIA liao
Any bb loots and goods from up North?

Hee..I dun really wanna think too much and far abt those chemicals; I can't even donate blood now becos I lived in UK during that period when BSE broke out. Dun bother getting paranoid whether my Breast Milk, let alone Formula Milk, will contain BSE virus or not
Touchwood. Leave it to God lah...

shazz: My gfs in US bought desitin in tubs! Kiasu, right?! Actually, ur hb can check out the drugstores in Toronto for u. MAybe it's cheaper in Canada? I already got 4 small-size tubes...Wonder if I can finish them by end-09?

cloud: Elancyl is a stretchmark cream, not an anti-itch one. I think you're allergic to Palmers and your skin is dry that's why it's itchy. Avoid scratching and keep it moisturised with either Elancyl or any moisturiser for sensitive skin for now. Hope it'll subside soon.

Flos: nice set of bedding! my hubby told me not to get carried away by bedding cos it takes up so much space! So I can only buy sheets from now on. ;P Hmmn, I dun think Desitin will be cheaper in Canada. 2 Years back I was in Vancouver and the prices in drugstore is rather high, and plus their 14% tax ... it's more pricey! He's not gonna shop much for this trip, so shall not trouble him.

Hi girls, OG @ Orchard is having a sale. If there are any mums looking for a stroller Capella, you could find it there. It has reversed handles like Combi. It is having an offer for Avent bottles, but for limited period, I think for another 2-3 days more.

Flos, the itchiness is driving me up the wall... trying to tahan, went to a pharmacy just now and the pharmacist recommended 'hydrocortisone' to me but its not very useful.. i don't think its the stretch cream that i'm allergic to, its the oil for dry, itchy skin... if its not alright by tmw i'll go and see a doctor in the morning..

shazz/storm.. forgot to take a look at the Elancyl product just now when i was in watsons.. will do so tomorrow.. but i've heard that using any kind of moisturizing cream will help to prevent stretch marks.. i'm a Johnson &amp; Johnson fan so going to try using that first..

Cloud: I got the tix free from my frens but unfortunately my DH can't go cos busy with work. Tmr will continue to record the finals for DH.

Mickey: Oh no... I love the no-spill cup, maybe next spree then. Thanks! Yes!! Have 20% discount!

I bought the Carlson wipes but my fren just used one just now, its not very wet &amp; dried up quite fast, maybe that's why so cheap.

I also went to Robinson cos of the 7% GST rebate, bought a pair of Vive ballet flats (super comfy)&amp; 3 ugly nursing bras from Eternity. :p

OG orchard was quite quiet so just went one round &amp; left.

Pigeon was not having any discount at JL, Robinson.

Ate ramen just now but abit oily... And had Mac choco sundae &amp; while reaching home had a stomachache &amp; had to run back home! Aiyo!

<font color="119911">cloud (lovelycloud) - if its itch from dryness cos of the skin stretching, then any oil-based rich moisturiser should do the trick. I have been using my regular body cream from BodyShop (the ones for very dry skin), &amp; so far don't have any itch or stretch marks. Don't think its necessary to spend excessively on creams, esp since stretch marks is supposedly heriditary. Just need to keep the tummy moisturised so that u don't scratch from itch &amp; leave scars.

koras (koras) - baby was almost 700gm during the last visit (1 month back), which is on track...so should be about 1kg by my next appnt on Tues.

bigtoes- mine last visit weight 600g only.. and this time round i only put on again 2 kg and my baby already weight 1.1kg

Mickey: Thanks for helping to order! We get 20% off! even on discounted items? cool! i shd have ordered more! darn. hehehe.

Bigtoes: I'm sure your baby will be more than 1 kg!

Cloud: I think you should still perhaps get a doctor to check out your itch esp if it is an allergic reaction from a product you are using. Using a new product or trying to self-medicate may make it worse. As for stretch mark creams, it is hereditary. A good moisturiser that keeps your skin from itching from the expansion effects is good. Drinking lots of water, eating high-fibre foods also help boost your skin elasticity.

Koras: You are doing very well in terms of weight gain! Hehe. I wish more of my weight went to bb.

Flos: Desitin tubs? Yah man! Sure kiasu! Hahah.

Storeberry: Can try ordering again next time. We won't need the no-spill cups so soon.

Sarahmay: Yes, I managed to get a 20% discount on all purchases.. That's why very worth it..

Ava: the one I want costs $138.90! It's the Dash Deluxe. http://moms-rus.com/estore/images/Skip%20Hop%20Dash%20Deluxe%20-%20Uptown%20Stripes

Is the one you want cheaper with the offer locally? Cos I saw on Canadian websites that the Duo Double Deluxe you want is Canadian $108. https://www.myxlshost.com/offspring/xlsws/index.php?c=web1.12&amp;product=879674000599

Saw the Skip Hop BP thread, it's a very good deal! Darn, we missed it. Hope there's another one coming soon. If not, hope hubby can get at the same price in Toronto

Shazz/SarahMay: Erm... Sarahmay, I placed your orders, but received the payment from Shazz. Is this correct? Whose orders are those?

<font color="119911">koras (koras) - yes, wouldn't mind if more of the weight went to the baby. I am up about 1.3kg since last month, so if baby is >1.1kg, all the better cos less of the weight gain would have been on me
The 'wave' feeling is also alot stronger now - can feel the hands &amp; legs moving, sometimes almost simultaneously!

MATERNITY BRAS: Mommies - where is a good place to get these? Want something that is not too ugly but decently priced...these would be front open right? Should I try places like Robinsons, or maternity shops like Thyme/mothercare? I saw a couple at Kiddy Palace, but really ugly

I have been putting on 8kg since I am preggy, these two weeks have been quite stable. Seeing gynae on thurs, so excited again!

My bb likes to sleep with his head or backside pressed on one side on my tummy. So its always loop-sided, so cute!

Mickey: I think Sarah couldn't transfer cos she is in Macau so she asked Shazz to help to transfer.

Hi Mickey

Sorry for the delay. I have some difficulty getting a dbs card. Can i transfer by UOB but you will need to wait 3 days coz of the difference in bank. Ok with you? Sorry for this.

bigteos - same. the wave feeling even i want to feel is so strong sia..

as for MATERNITY BRAS - what my friend do was she bought a bigger size bra to save $

mi also need to upgrade my bra size le

seem a bit tight now as can see the bra line after wearing.
my last scan my my gynae say my baby nauti cox dun let us c his face... he was playing with his leg so cute

After applying calamine lotion and prickly heat powder, my rashes are much better now..

what is the wave feeling? i can feel my BB moving around in my tummy very frequently now, i now have this habit of watching my tummy before i go to sleep and when i wake up.. just to see him moving..

Bigtoes, only Triumph sells nursing bras in Robinsons and they are damn ugly.. i'm thinking of buying online from 'i want milks' or 'cheerfulmama', at least the bras look better..

Koras, can normal bras be used for nursing or just for maternity? i'm also thinking of buying bigger size bra, especially since there are sales everywhere for bras..

Clouds: what is the website for "i want milks" or "cheerfulmama"? I bought some nursing bras from Robinson, think from Eternity, very ugly...

Hihi mummies,

for NURSING BRAS,
can try from OIOI or something like that. They have one shop at KK hospital and another somewhere else. But i can;t remeber where.
Quite nice the bras, not frumpy looking. Bought 3 from them two years ago.

koras,

Is there a difference between maternity bras and nursing bras? Nursing bras are to facilitate breastfeeding. You can easily unclip the bra flap to feed your bb without taking off the bra. Can't do this with normal bras.

Avent products:
FYI to share. I have a friend who works in Philips. She told me that Philips has just acquired Avent, so she gets staff discount of 20% off Avent products (and this means ADDITIONAL 20% off already discounted products). I am not a fan of Avent products (none of my things are from Avent). Thought of sharing this piece of info in case u have friends / relatives working in Philips too.

LittleDreamers:
The showroom is next open on 21 June (i.e. this Saturday). For those of you who stay near Bishan / Upper Thomson, it might be cheaper just to go down and get from Showroom rather than request them to deliver. Have to call and order before that to ensure available stock.

Lok - Wah! That is a really good deal. But I thought Philips had acquired Avent for ages. Hehe. So how come you aren't an Avent fan? What do you use then?

Maternity Bras Vs Nursing: I think maternity is just for wear during antenatal period. Dun think can double up for nursing.

Nursing Bras: Does anyone know if there are those that can be word with tube tops? Hehe. I got a maternity cum nursing top from MIM but it is like a tube top. after I got it, I wondered if there is a nursing bra that wld go with it. Sigh. So much for vanity!

Mickey - Shazz helped me pay cos of the reasons Storeberry typed earlier. Sorry for confusion.

Storeberry: Thanks for helping to clarify ! Are you planning to buy from cheerful mama? Dun think we need that many nursing bras for the start. Mayb e 2 - 3 first. Until we are sure of how our boobs are growing. Hehe. I'm not buying till closer to EDD just in case mine has a sudden growth spurt.

Shazz: Thanks again for your help!

Cheerful Mama Bras: Oh! Has anyone bought the bras from here and tried them? COmfy? Also, anyone w cup size D - E tried them too? They don't seem to have D/E sizes.

SarahMay,

Not sure when Philips acquired Avent but she got pregnant recently, that's how I knew abt the staff discount. For J #1, I used NUK milk bottles, Pigeon sterilizer and all the feeding accessories (e.g sippy cup) and Medela breastpump. For J#2, i can of course re-use most of the stuff, that's why no need to buy any Avent products.

morning everyone,

haven't been in here for a week, so many posts to catch up and read.

lately very tired, haven't been sleeping well. cos everytime i wake up to go toilet in the middle of the night, seemed like my baby also wake up and start to kick and turn in the tummy then making it very uncomfortable for me to sleep. it can last for an hr before she stops then i can go back to sleep. anyone also encounter their baby kicking them alot in the middle of the night?

Hey Mommies!
I was having kopi session wif a friend who delivered in Mt Alvernia lately
She was sharing with me a few of her personal experiences in her delivery at Mt Alvernia
Erm.. I was abit ‘appalled’ by it and have thoughts of switching but not sure whether is tat isolated case or not leh
Any mummies can feedback? Or is that a norm for other hospital?

1) For breastfeeding, the mother is supposed to ‘walk’ to the nursery room instead of the nurse bringing the bb to the mother?
2) The nurse cannot push the baby out to mama room as requested (esp when visitors are ard to bio baby)
3) There seems to be not enuff nurses manning the nursery room. On that day, there is only ONE nurse attending to so many crying babies in nursery.
(In fact, it was the mother who discovered her bb turn ‘blue’ in the nursery room when she walked over for breastfeeding. The one and only nurse did not realized it!!??)

Goldfish,

What ward is your friend staying in? (1 bedded?)

Based on my experience in TMC,
1) They will bring the bb to u for bfg
2) Generally, they will bring the bb to u as requested. Unless they need your bb for something special e.g jaundice treatment etc
3) Definitely not just 1

SarahMay
I got a tube bandeau style bra from MIM to wear with strappy tops. It can be worn for nursing as you can pull it up &amp; down easily.

Jessi
You can talk to baby &amp; ask her to go back to sleep as mummy wants to sleep too.. try it out, it works sometimes.

Goldfish
I visited my friend who delivered in Mt A last December.. she had a good experience there. My friend could breastfeed her baby in her room &amp; when we visited, the nurse will push baby to the room for us to see. My friend was staying in a 2-bedded.

I'll be delivering at KKH, we can even request for baby to be in the same room as us throughout our stay.

Goldfish, i visited my friend in MtA few months ago. when we are there, her husband went to push the baby to the room for us to see... and she could breastfeed her baby in the room. one nurse do drop by and check if she had any problem on her breastfeeding. (btw, she stayed in 1 bedded)

Pinkygal: UOB no prob. It'll just take a few days to "reach" my account that's all.

Storeberry, SarahMay: Thanks for explaining.. I was really confused for a while..

Millie: Have already ordered..

Mei: No prob..

Mei, yup i tried talking to baby to go back sleep. the kicking will stop for awhile then it comes back again. i think maybe my baby is playful, doesn't want to let her mummy sleep.

Hey Limay,

My lunch hour is at 1pm, and it's not really flexi. So am afraid I won't be able to join you all for lunch then.

Baby size
I went for my 26th week scan last Fri, and my gynae said that my baby is around 900g now. Also tentatively booked my c-section date. Funny, someone mentioned here that the gynae should look at the revised EDD based on the estimated baby size, but my gynae (Dr HK Ho) said that he would still use my initial EDD date. It is based on that date that we arrive at the c-section date (2 weeks before EDD).

I think that kinda makes sense, cos the revised EDD is based on the size of the baby, and a bigger size baby does not mean that all the systems are fully mature by the revised EDD date. Rather give it some more time to develop in-utero.

<font color="119911">RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - is ur lunch hour fixed for 1-2pm? If we can stretch beyond 2pm, and the other mommies (Ava, Shazz &amp; Flos)are alright - we can change this to 1pm instead? Let me know

On your EDD - think the revised EDD &amp; original date won't vary by much. Like my original &amp; revised (based on baby's growth) is just 2 days apart. Am also planning for my C at week 38 (2 weeks before EDD).</font>