(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jaymickey
haiyo now manufacturers got all sorts of pattern to tempt parents to buy. hehe

Meie
now that u mentioned, really looks like it... haha
different favour somemore... keke
btw u also bought the Aussino cot bedding set? The material v nice n soft right? keke. I am going to set up my Cot tonight!

Jo, don't think so, i have got the avents bottles.. just post it here to share with everyone..
there is a BP selling it locally.. if u are keen, can get it there.

MrsYap
Wah.. different flavour somemore.. haha.

I really like the cute elephant.. I just abandon the fitted sheet since it can't fit my mattress & use
the rest.. $69.90 is pretty cheap.

You're not going to lay the bedsheets tonight, are you? Wait gather dust. I have not gotten round to washing the beddings yet.. clothes have all been washed, folded & neatly packed in the drawers already.

Robinson having 20% storewide...den from 12/6 to 15/6 (4 days) they absorb the 7% GST... if u r a member... there's another 5% rebate...

today i'm gng dwn to grab the NUK bottles...

hihi shazz,

where is the desitin from? What a good buy!
Which brand of toothpaste did the spree offer if i may ask? Thx!

flos,
hmm... I can't remember how many I used actually. But as she got older I just stopped completely and I even had left over tubes... I don't think I used more than 4 to 5 tubes before I stopped totally...
Btw, issit that if there's the BPA free logo for Nuby milk bottles then confirm it's free? Otherwise means no? Any other brand u know of that's BPA free? Me thinking of not using Avent anymore. But still thinking cos my breast pump is the Avent one. V convenient lah... Haiz...

Ava
oh... I was looking for a pic of you! Hee hee
Wah u can still go swimming! I never exercise nowadays! I take the stair climbing in my sch as exercise!

Storeberry
Hihi. It's been a really long time! Hope ur preg is gg well. How many weeks r u now? If i rem correctly u having a little boy yah? Me just turned 28 weeks yest. Tmr gg to see Dr Chang. Quite excited!

isabelle: I'm not sure. If they say it's BPA-free, you hv to take their word for it lor! LOL;)

Agree with Mei that Mrs yap, u shdn't set up and leave it there to collect dust.

I've not washed my bb clothes yet. Dun wanna wash so soon cos I've not bot my cabinet yet

today i just went down to robinson bought a playpen. not much people.
Yes they 'eat' the 7%
but make sure when you pay the bill they did take out the 7% gst from the price

SarayMay: Isit?? Only my hubby has UOB card. I don't leh.. I find citibank card sucks.. usually I use HSBC, which is ok.. Then again, the fx rate has been fluctuating quite a bit recently. Difficult to gauge..

Flos: If you're using the nappy liner, if baby poos/pees, wrap up the liner and throw it away and place the nappy into a pail to be washed later. There's no need to wash the poo down anywhere..

stef&seanbabes (limyg) - din notice that there is 20% discount wor.. they din state there as i wanted to get it for my playpen but too bad no size

Jaymickey
hehehe those are the cutest (and most condom-like) milk bottles I've seen ever! hmmm...i dunno if could feed babies with those without laughing!!

Flos
Why would u need a bidet spray only if u hve an indon maid...dont see the connection..i have them in my bathrooms anyway, only use for spraying the bowl (when cleaning) and the floor etc...

koras, jo,
ok. i checked with my sis who was at Robinsons just now. my sis said not all items hv 20%. but now till 15june, all items they absorb the 7% GST. she also helped me check the babysafe mattress.. there is no 20% discount on babysafe mattress... so prob still get my babysafe mattress from kiddypalace.

Ava
That's because malays don't use toilet paper to wipe after doing business, they wash with water. Not sure if indos do that though.

Just share this with you gals...I was reading up about BPA and baby bottles (yes, I am a bit slow on this part...am still wondering if I shld get those Bfree ones...anyone know where they are made?)

and came across this site, where they had some people post comments to an article on BPA...the comments made me laugh...:

Written By:gina On February 8, 2008 1:29 PM
Why does this hormone need to be in are childerns bottles.First its are childerns toys and know there bottles.What wrong with people.Why is are government or who ever letting this happen?I can't trust anything that i buy for for my childern.
I feel very unsafe for my childern.

Written By:Carol On May 17, 2008 2:55 PM
Hi Gina

First please learn how to speak and write properly, for the sake of your kids. And second BPA is a chemical, a sort of plastic, nothing to do with a hormone! The worst risk for our kids are for sure people be paranoid about things they don't understand!

Ava
OMG.. that's hilarious! I was trying my darnest to figure out what that Gina was trying to say. I like Carol's response.

Flos: I will also change to cheaper J&J for shampoo, bubble bath & also cheapr types of diaper cream when bb gets older..
Just realise that BMO might have 20% discount so if add that it might be cheaper than KP.

Sarah: I look thru BMO, some NUby bottles they didn't state that its BPA free, I only ordered those that are BPA free.

BB Massage:
I bought J&J lotion in Lavender so would use it on bb.

Are we in our 3rd trimester liao?? I thot it is 32 weeks?

Mickey: My orders are correct. Thanks!

Isabelle: I have been good! BB is active and always kicking me.. According to babycentre, I also just reach my 28weeks! I am so clur, really cannot remember the number of weeks liao.. Seeing gynae next thurs!

Mei: agree that the milk bottles look like condoms... Wahaha!!

Jo: I just went on wed, Pigoen not on 20%! Dar**!

koras,
from now till end of june, kiddy palace is offering 20% discount on babysafe mattress. for non-members, they have a 15% discount. i'm looking for the 52"x28"x3" size.

for pigeon, i think Isetan orchard having 20%. Saw the BPA free Pigeon bottles at $18+ before discount. was so tempted to buy.

stef&seanbabes (limyg)
- thanks. i guess have to wait till monday when they delivered the playpen to my house then i know the measurement then i can make the purchsse

Jaymickey: Where is that link? Wah...I think they look really cool though. But yes! Blown up condoms....i mean thinking along the Freudian tangent...If we let our bb boys use them, will they become gay? If we let our bb girls use them, will we be encouraging them to sexually-blossom prematurely? Hmmm...hahaah

Ava: Aiyo! You are damn bad la! But it is quite farnee. Kind of like Sunray's post on the converstaion she had with the SBS hotline operator.

Flos: Yeah lor...spending time w hubby more impt la. But still my Q remains, how come some ladies are going for appts every 3 wks even before they hit third tri?

Storeberry: Oh ok. You started stocking up on bottles so soon ah? Anw, my stand on BPA is it is not just in the milk bottles. If we are concerned about BPA effects, take a good hard look at our disposable diapers - filled with unregulated chemical content and esp pthlates which also may cause hormonal disruption. Then, consider FM - many cows are on bovine hormones. So how can we be really sure the FM we are giving bbs are safe from hormones? Bottomline - only so much we can do. Rest, let's just trust God.

Hi Sarah: I bought the Pigeons bottles last mth when Robinson was having the 20% & $5 (discount voucher), went back to change the wide neck one cos my fren say later bb get confused with normal & wide neck but unfortunately no discount leh.. I didn't bother to get BPA free bottles, thought since last time also never bother with BPA-free bottles mah. As for Nuby ones, since there is BPA-free & same price, might as well get it!

I have more or less gotten my small items... except for diapers. Next mth will start preparing the hospital bags!

Jaymickey: Oops! Saw the link. are you buying? Me tempted. My hubby asked if they are designer bottles. haha. They sure look like something Starke would design.

Mickey: i find UOB rates q good. last time I used CITIBANK also. When I travel abroad, I have found that my credit card rates can be better than what I get at the money changers. Dunno why!

Storeberry: Very good on you!

Sarahmay: I've lost your email with the links of your order. Can re-send to me pls? Thanks..

Storeberry: Thanks for confirming.

xuanting: I just came back from Nurse Chong's class. She only uttered "Myth" (Mirth) once lah! She was quite hilarious. We cracked up a few times, tks to her understated humour. She told us to bathe and wash our hair wth water & shampoo, so that we don't get lice/nits/fungus growth. She says the lochia will dry up and if we dun bathe, the blood will dry up and might infect our vagina area... She also said Durians are good for preggers, but limit to just 3 seeds per portion.

Ava: This "washing bb poo down the water trap" topic reminds me I dun hv a bidet in both my bathrooms, and that therefore I shouldn't hire an Indo maid. I dun want the maid wash her bum on my shower tray and let her poo get washed into my water trap.

mickey: thks for the advice! My DH doesn't want to use cloth diapers cos he knows I'll make him wash them after my CL leaves

storeberry: with the exchange rate in our favour, it's definitely cheaper to order Nuby from BMO.

SarahMay: "disposable diapers - filled with unregulated chemical content and esp pthlates which also may cause hormonal disruption."

But some time later, u will still hv to switch to disposables, right?!!! Do we hv unregulated chemical content in our sanitary napkins too?! Can u ensure a bacteria-free cloth diaper after a few wash?

"consider FM - many cows are on bovine hormones. So how can we be really sure the FM we are giving bbs are safe from hormones"

But you drink Enfamama, Mamil or Anmum formula milk too, right? Don't worry too much! God will take care of us...heheh

My next appt will also be 3 weeks from the last.

er wondering your mother or mother in law ever say this b4.. after confirment 3 mths cant attend people's wedding not good

isabelle (isa_belle) : we had a spree on Desitin Diaper Rash Cream last mth, just got the items. I made a mistake, one tube costs $8.19 for 113grams. Expiry date is Jan 2010.

I didnt manage to get in all orders during the last spree, so some mummies did not get their desired no of tubes. If anyone else is keen, I can organise another one. Perhaps, after everyone collected their loot and decide if they want to order more.

MrsYap: I paid $148 after 20% discount for the Babysafe mattress in the dimension you enquired. Usual is $185 at Kiddy Palace.

storeberry (storeberry) : by the time we hit week 27, we've crossed over to 3rd trimester. Take 40 weeks divide by 3 ... you'll get the answer! =)

SarahMay: Sorry, just got home, IB is down now, will do fund transfer to mickey tom. ;)

Jasmine: the Skip Hop spree is put on hold. Am getting my hubby to help me get the bag for myself and Ava during his trip to Toronto next week.

Ava: I didn't see the Paul Smith inspired bag that I want in Singapore so far, so dunno the price. Will tell my hubby the price in SGP, so he knows if he should get it or not when he see it there.

Flos: I think the Desitin that you got is 75grams packaging yah?

Mei: I also love the Aussino elephant design. hehe ... so cute right? and the colours so neutral

Hi MTBs,

Sorry to intrude!
I have a supreme range snuggle nest (used, in very good condition) to let go at $50. It is good for baby with reflux and for parents who want to sleep together with bb and for travelling. If interested, pls PM me for more details and pic.

Hi thanks Shazz for the Desitin cream! OIC... I always thought 32 weeks then its last trimester. So fast I m in my 28weeks already! Have to prepare for labour soon! Keke!!

I just came back from SATC movie!! It was super hilarious & meaningful! Keke.. Really like the show! Tix was sold out at major cinemas, in the end went to Shaw Balestier... Had "Yu Tuo Lu" for dinner, yummy!

Koras: Not pantang on that so will still go to weddings.

Flos: Yup! You got my point precisely! Since we cannot control the amount of chemical exposure, we dun have to worry so much about the BPA-free stuff. Hence, after giving it thought, I am not that die-hard on using BPA-free bottles and cloth diapers now as I was before. As for food... lagi worse la. We never know what goes into our food even if they say 'organic' etc. So I say, the less we worry, the better....cos I think worrying about every single thing will kill us faster than all the chemical compounds combined. And it may just be true that "ignorance is bliss" ( in this case at least) hahahaah.

Shazz: no problem!

Storeberry: Huh? The SaTC movie still sold out?! thought it has been out for a few weeks.

Koras: Hmm... never heard that one before. But then again, maybe it is cos I dunno that many 'pantang' people. I only know about if there is a death in the family, then there will be like 100 days of mourning, and no CNY celebrations the following year or something. Why do you ask?

Morning all, did anyone go for the Taka sale yesterday, is there a 20% discount on pigeon stuff? I was in a rush yesterday so didn't really see properly. Any other place having pigeon sale?

BabyMall Spree

Sarahmay: Can resend me the links for your orders? [email protected] Thanks.. Either I've lost your email with the orders, or did you post your orders here? That page is missing from the archives. And pending your payment.

Pinkgal: Pending your payment.

Hi Mickey. I posted it here. But no worries. Just emailed you again! :)

STEM CELL: Anyone read the ST today about SG's stem cell research contributions yet? Anyone I went on ST online...saw some interesting articles. Here they are for those of you still doing your SC banking research:

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_247578.html

NY Times: Whole archive of stem cell-related articles.

http://topics.nytimes.com/top/news/health/diseasesconditionsandhealthtopics/stemcells/index.html?excamp=GGHLstemcellresearch&WT.srch=1&WT.mc_ev=click&WT.mc_id=HL-S-E-GG-NA-CT-stem_cell_research

Highlights from NYT:
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/29/health/29stem.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

shazz: Ahhh... I hv no idea there is an upsize Desitin Creamy. Hv only seen one size in SG
You got yours in TUBS online?

Are you working in TP area too?

SarahMay: Yeah, as mentioned b4, I am not a greenie. I'm not concerned with BPA either. That's why I didn't get Bfree bottles.

I also thot SATC has been around for a few weeks cos Sunrays watched it many weeks ago. Maybe I should get my hb to get the pirated DVD from China.

Flos: yes, we got it together in a spree online, it's in a tube form, just like yes, but in a bigger size. =) show you on Fri, can always spree again if our babies needs it. My office is at Bugis, so TP is pretty near for me too.

SATC opened end of May I think for their sneak previews. But I think it's such a hit that alot of cinemas sold out tix for the show. I caught mine last sun afternoon, hee, perhaps it's afternoon, hence the cinema wasn't crowded at all.

Mickey: payment made on behalf of SarahMay.
To Account POSB Savings
150-28053-2 mickey
Amount S$31.79
Transaction Reference 1753941204

yo people...ahm back from KL trip..been busy lately too!!! hows every mummy and bbs gettng along?

sarahmay, flos
whats this talking about chemicals in food that we eat and air we breathe?kekekke...so we are over the paranoia oredi?

rbgh (growth hormones) - eih, US produced milk yes, but other major cattle rearing countries i think no right? coz rgbh is banned in most countries except US.

i think we just have to be more concerned the first year of our child's life. the after that, you can do very little liaoz.

sasa
i forgot all abouyt the eclairs!!! will email you regarding collection...sorry...

Sarah, Flos & Shazz: Yah man, didn't know its was so popular!! Checked out Cathay & GV, majority of the town cinemas all sold out, maybe with the exception of front rows.. And maybe cos its fri evening, so that's why... But the movie is cool!

l'l CY: u were on hols? no wonder ! No paranoia la... Haha! You think China cares? What did you do in KL?

Storeberry: You went with your hubby? Told him abt wanting to watch it. He just went into a shivering fit! Haha...and from the guy who owns the entire series of SaTC.

i've developed rashes all over my tummy, i think its because of the Palmer's itchy skin oil that i've been using, anyone have a solution for this? i've tried using calamine lotion but its still damn itchy.

cloud: i think better to stop using palmers. i kena the itchy rashes too last time when i used palmers! i think its because of the mineral oil present in their creams..