(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sorry to interrupt.

Have a brand new Fridge To Go to Sell..didnt use b4 but had cut off the tag....
Interested parties pls pm me

Letting go @ $40 (price neg)

The Fridge To Go® Bottle Tote is a lightweight, collapsible tote that keeps bottles, liquids (including breast milk), and foods cool. Fridge To Go® Bottle Totes are available in two sizes – totes that carry one or two bottles.

The double-bottle tote keeps liquids fresh for up to 12 hours and folds for easy freezer storage. Its built-in, award-winning cooling technology will keep your bottles cool up to three times longer than ordinary bottle totes.

• Ideal for taking Baby’s bottles with you on a long outing, or for storing expressed breast milk during the work day
• Simply place the collapsible tote into the freezer; the built-in Surround Cooling Technology panels will even chill room-temp liquids
• Keeps liquids refrigerator temperature for up to 12 hours
• Extra pockets for cell phone, diapers or other small necessities; adjustable shoulder strap and stroller hook
• 11Hx8.5Wx4D" holds two 9-oz. bottles

http://www.target.com/Playtex-Fridge-Bottle-Tote-Double/dp/B000KJWY0U/sr=1-2/qid=1206034616/ref=sr_1_2/601-8376590-2421720?ie=UTF8&index=target&rh=k%3Afridge%20to%20go%20baby&page=1

Limay: My friend bought for me the Pigeon Rapid Steriliser, I think its not too bad, it sells for $88 at CC & KK hospital. Dept dtore selling for $99. Ava got that also..

Millie: Think there is no brand for disposable panties, I just bought those cotton disposable ones.

Sasa: Yes, you boy's name is unique!! Aiyoo.. I still haven't settle my smallberry's name.

I just came back from Robinson, so sad that Pigeon have no discount at all!? The rest all have at least 15-20%... Went back to change the Pigeon bottles. Then went to a shop near the bugis temple to get some bb's clothes. This shop was recommended by my fren, bought long sleeve sleeping shirt & pants (6pcs for $10) (but must buy same size & pattern) and bought some tees for my nephew, only $1!! Haha! And I forgot to drop by Mustafa to buy the Omron thermometer!

storeberry
There's a 20% for Pigeon products at Taka. & don't worry, you still have time to think of a name for smallberry.

Flo,
u so cute! ya i heard abt the test we nd to take b4 getting the maid. why no-brainer?? issit all silly qns? take from on-line wan issit? will fail wan or not?? hhee intending to ask my hb to go & take.

li
considering how many people have maids...the test can't be difficult right? It's quite easy. they make u read this stuff about what to do and not to do, then ask MCQ...Can get full marks type...hehecan do online.

Oh dear, I haven't decided on my prince's name...I forgot all about it. We've been calling him "baby", "boyboy", "wa wa", and "bebe"!

Ava: r u near to 360 consulting?

Who else are in TP area?

I think I also like limay, not getting a maid cos I cannot stand a stranger in my house & plus with my MIL & my DH's gym set in the other room, no spare room for maid alr.. Think I will go to work later to help out my MIL since she will be taking care of my other nephew as well.

Sarahmay: Lets meet up when you are back!

My office is near TMC, so if anyone is working here or going TMC, we can meet for lunch!

li: the maid agency told me "stupid" questions (not in exact words) like "is it right to abuse the maid?" and asked me not to worry cos many aunties and uncles sat for the AIDED TEST. Someone will be there to facilitate during the test I think.

storeberry: Plus, u need to feed one more mouth. If u get a big eater maid, u need to stock up on FIRST CHOICE bread, NTUC rice, Planta butter, NTUC shampoo & shower gel, sanitary pads, etc.

So sorry I hadn't been logging on. Hope everyone of you are getting on well.

Just an update, at the detailed scan, my gyne has confirmed it's a little prince.
I just started shopping for him. I'm almost in my 25th week, time passes very fast, I'm counting down now. Oh dear, so little time but still so much things to get and prepare.

Storeberry: Yes! Let's meet. Maybe we can finally get out Japanese.!

Sigh I just ate B&J again.... help! I cannot believe that with all the weight i put on..only 20% belongs to bb.

Flos
Erm...not sure where they are. I'm on Gemmill Lane, off Club Street; opposite restaurant Seven on Club...

Xuanting
Yes, that freaking expensive shop...I can't even afford a clothes hanger there!

wow! so many posts today! scary maid stories too!

DISPOSABLE UNDERWEAR: I just grabbed 2 packs (5 pcs in each pack) of disposable cotton panties from Felancy (2 for $9.90), material is quite thick, can be washed if you can be bothered. Also got a pack of Low Waist Disposable Cotton Panties from Eternity, think under Impressions for $3.90. The undies are really ugly, but gonna wear at home for only that 1-2 weeks ... so shall bear with it.

Also got travel changing mat and diapers holder from Munchkins, Avent silicon teats for newborns, a cloth book for infant to 6mths, and Whispher Ultra Overnight Pads with wings! Think I'm pretty much done with my shopping!

Lunch at TP, I can join u gals if I'm free that day! Keep me posted. Can also pass some mummies the spree items!

I think someone asked about fitted sheets for a non standard sized mattress.

I saw this Fitted Cot Sheet that measures 130 x 78cm at Robinsons. It stated for Large Cot. Not sure if it'll fit though.

sorry to intrude. I have one used mini-electric pump to let go at $50. please pm me if you are interested. happy pregnancy!

Cloud: I checked out Babehouse.com. Think they have a range of diapers. I really like Mommy's touch and the Wahmies adjustables. Hehe.

Flos: you are funny! Why must stock on extra sanitary pads? I didn't know employers also must supply them with the personal effects!!!

DISPOSABLE UNDIES: I think felancy is pretty comfy!

HELP! HELP! I am wondering if anyone here has contacts who is working in a field related to Jetstar Singapore, OR consumer legal matters. I need some help cos the airline is not holding up to their end of their legal obligation. It added a rule to flight ticket change that is not found on either the website fare change T&C or the final itinerary I was given.

Spoken to 4 different customer service officers, over 2 hours on international call, spent whole day trying to sort it...and still nothing done. I need this to be expedited cos I need to postpone my trip home. damn frustrating!

Would appreciate if someone here has a contact who might be able to help. Or even just someone who knows someone on management level in Jetstar.

Thanks soooooo very much!

ava: Is there an expensive kids shop at Club Street? I only know Da Paolo, the french restaurant, Siem Reap (?), etc.

I love those boutiques along Eskine Rd where Scarlett Hotel is.

Big toes: OKOK, let's fix up a venue that's convenient to Ava, since she is carrying twins, and is presumably, heavier?!! Pls dun meet at hawker centres, alrite. They are too hot and stuffy.

shazz: I also bought the Whisper Ultra 32cm pads with wings!! I use Whisper, and think their pads are really absorbent and prevent thrush. Like Pampers, Whisper is also manufactured by P&G.

I hv two brands of disposable undies too! two packs from Mothercare, two from Kiddy Palace.

SarahMay: I dunno if other employers buy sanitary pads for their maids, but my folks do lor... Of cos, u can charge it as a sundry expense to the maid's a/c I suppose...but I think that's being quite ngeow on the employer's part lor.

Jetstar? They asked u to top up in order to postpone departure date izit? It's like dat one. I kenna a few times oredi becos I changed my flights.

Just an aside, how much do they charge for toddlers' airfare? And do they provide bassinet for moms with tots in tow? Did u ask them, since Jetstar seems to be the only bgt airline that flies to Macau from SIN.

I bot the Pigeon air-filled rubber changing mat, some cotton balls and buds today!!! Nearly bot the Nuby no-spill cups but changed my mind cos I wasn't sure if I could fit them in my Avent Steriliser.

AVENT milk bottle <font color="ff0000">CAPS</font>. Anyone realise these are not included when u purchase the milk bottles?

Hi Xuanmommy:

Guess you have miss my earlier posting. Can you update me to the list
Nick: Jojobar
EDD: 4th Sept 2008
Hospital: MT E
Baby Gender: Boy
Baby Name: TBC
Gynae: Dr Yap LK

Hi Bacon &amp; egg,

Manage to get my friend in States to help me to buy the diaper bag that I like from KS ! She will be shipping over to me, really happy to finally found a bag I like.

1482973.jpg

I have also bought the following baby cot set online for $100 each. Really like the design
Looking forward to recieve it this weekend !

1482974.jpg

By the way, anyone attending prenatal class organized by Mt E ?

Hi Preggie,

I check on the internet, and i remember they mention when i attended the MT hospital tour. Its seems that Mt E does have antenatal class. ANyway I am due for my check up this sat at Mt E, i will drop by the hospital wing to inqury and update you as well

Thanks Christine for the update on Taka sale! But going Orchard is a nightmare...

Oh no, that's bad, Sarah. But I don't know anyone from Jetstar.

Shopping for bb:
I think I have more or less settle the bb's stuffs. Next mth will start packing for hospital bag.

janf, i bought the terumo one from the motherhood fair but that should be the correct model for Omron. I went to mustafa a few days ago and the Omron thermometer is selling at around $66 at Mustafa, there's a 20% discount so final price is only around $50+.

<font color="119911">janf (janf) - yes, this is the Omron I got from Mustafa last weekend - was retailing at $52.80 after discount.

TP Area Lunch:
So its Ava, Flos, shazz &amp; myself at TP area. Who else would like to join us? Ladies - yes - no non-aircon places. I was thinking of the Shanghainese restn along TP road, where the rows of bridal shops are. They have excellent food

Flos: Tiger also flies to Macau. Jetstar I think does not provide bassinet for infant travel. My friend brought her 11 month old over on Jetstar. Only gave extension belt. Also they charge $40 per infant one way, no taxes or surcharges. So to change, even if changing to cheaper ticket, Jetstar charges? I studied the T&amp;C given on web before we can book as well as itinerary, you know it isn't stated? The admin charge I don't mind paying. But the thing is NONE of their 4 staff handling this can justify WHERE they got their figure of HKD $160 from. There is no other ticket I find online that cost that much more. Plus, they keep calling and getting my details and I repeated myself 5 times. Then, they end up telling me they still can't help me process booking because their system is still down! Faint.

Jo jo: The KS bag is nifty. I like how crisp it looks! How much was it in the US? Much cheaper than in SG?

Janf: Yup! That is the OMRON I have. It's v handy.

jojo,
thats a nice model...u r so lucky to have a fren to bring back for u. This model is on sale rite? U got a good deal. Any chance your fren could bring back another one for me?

Taka Sale
I am gg on Sat's morning - need to get the rest of the misc stuff..anyone gg too?

Storeberry,
What are the items needed to be packed for hospital bag? pls advise

bacon&amp;egg, i'm going to taka sale tomorrow morning to avoid the crowd..

jojo, is your friend buying the bag from KS shop, i looked at the website and i don't see the bag. is it a diaper bag or normal bag?

No problem storeberry. I agree with you, going to Orchard is a headache, the crowd is horrible. I don't suggest you to go without company, make sure someone is accompanying you okay. A weekday shopping spee beats anything.

Jaymickey: how much is a Mynamar maid? Tks!

BigToes: What is the Shanghainese restaurant's name? I thot there are more working around TP vicinity? RXMom at Maxwell rite?

SarahMay: Was Jetstar formerly known as Valueair? I've a friend who used to work for Valueair, but he's left...

Yeah, it's really a joke to know that bgt airlines can cost more than normal ones. My DH went to HK via SQ. I went there a few days later to join him on JetstarAsia. Anyway, to cut the long story short, I had to leave early and changed it online and kenna slapped with a penalty. Ended up paying more than a comfy SQ seat with inflight entertainment!

Another time, I was "penalised" for booking one mth earlier! Some unpredictable promotions kicked in closer to our ETD and we lost like $200 as a consequence...

So much for Budget Airlines. Cannot bring own food onboard, so can u feed your bb with milk or BF him?! LOL.

Bigtoes/Flos/Shazz/Lunch
No worries about location...I can cab.

Flos
WildChild has gorgeous stuff...but VVVVV ex!!!!!! Anyway, as someone here said before (maybe you?) if you can afford it why not
...it's v close to da paolo's btw. next to jerry's grill

Jaymickey
All the best for new maid!

Flos
Unless they make you check in your boobs, u can def breastfeed on board
and i think they make an exception for babies milk lah...even baby food...otherwise i'd flash them (for shock) and scold them thoroughly (for pleasure)...

Jaymickey: my friends had good experience with Myanmar maids. Good thing is that you can train them to the way you want things done, they're not smart alecks like the Fillipnos. But on the other hand, like Flos said, sometimes the high tech equipments are so foreign to them cos they are so "sua-ku" that they dunno how to operate. But as long as you're patient with them, spend time training them, you should be fine! =) hee, be sure to teach her about personal hygiene hor ... hehe ...

Nepia Promo: kiasu and bargain hunting me is thinking of stocking up on diapers during their promos period! hehe, since we can change the sizes should baby outgrow it, I'm thinking of stocking up! hehe ... anyone else doing the same thing?

shazz
I'm not stocking up exactly, but have bought 1 carton NB and 1 carton S, which i'm sharing with Lanolin.

I was thinking of sharing the NB size with someone, then my hb did the math...haha i think we'll need all our NB sized ones! Those 4 packs of 60 pieces will probably last us 15-20 days only cos of the 2 bums!

Jaymickey,

Indeed, good luck on your new maid. I was deciding between filipino or burmese. Finally decided on filipino but may switch to burmese if bad experience. I have a burmese friend who offered to go and interview the maid with me, help me translate and even write down simple instructions in burmese if required. So nice of her!