(2008/09) Sep 2008

Li, the last one was a Filipino.. 2 days.. all of us cannot tahan, u talked to her, she dun bother one.. she just walked away...
last night when we sent her back.. the lady boss literally shouted at her before we even walk out of the house.

<font color="119911">cloud (lovelycloud) - yes, the wet wipes are cheap. Half price compared to the Pigeon ones most of us are buying. But don't stock up on too much first, cos some people mentioned that the scented wipes might not be too good for the baby's bottom - and its better to use cotton wool &amp; water to clean up....?

Flos (flos) - I am suggesting the Shanghainese restaurant (cos I think the food is yummy
), but am okie with anywhere else in this area as well. See what the others say...</font>

Shanghainese is grrreat!

I went to Kenko for a short and pricey massage just now.

Wildbaby (?) was closed for lunch break just now...Nice (from the window) but...a bit 'creepy'. I mean, those pre-war style bb cots and furniture...

It's been a real long time!
Hope everyone's doing great. Me has been real busyt since I resumed work some 3 mths ago. No time to come in and chat chat anymore!
Now sch hols so more free but these couple of days been full time homemaker since my parents left for holiday! Previously busy baking cake for my girl's second b'dae!
But it's been quite nice staying home to be full time mummy n homemaker! =)

KARIHOME MILK POWDER
Btw, I have 4 tins of karihome goat's milk powder No. 3 for sale at 10% off as I think dairy pdts cause my daughter constipation after I stopped breastfeeding her.
Anyone using this brand for their older kid and interested in buying? Or knows of anyone using this?
I can also deliver to ur place but depends on where u stay.
You can refer to http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/1482745.html?1213189484
for more details.
Thx a million!

bacon&amp;eggs: "just to share...few of my colleagues who are mommies of 1-2 shared to buy NB diaper for 2-3 weeks supply, after 1st month, the bb should outgrow NB size and switch to S size..."

That's how many pads/day? I was told the same by my mom too. 4-6 weeks u need to change to S-size liao. That's why I got only 36 days (assuming 8 pads per day) supply of Pampers NB.

SarahMay: it's cheaper in Macau to get Pampers then, if u are basing on the prevailing exchange rate against MOP. At the Motherhood Fair, it's $0.36 per pad for Pampers Premium NB.

sunrays: r u ok?!! *HUGS* That's scary. I got involved in 3 car accidents before.

dear mummies

tks for yr concern!! I am so tired today frm all the calls i've to make and all the travelling to &amp; fro to process the paperwrk.. SBS as I expected didnt call me at all..I called them and said

'Who can I speak to if I wana file a civil lawsuit against your company?'

==='Mdm, u lost a suit? Let me put you thru the
lost and found dept.'
ARgggHHH....

'No, i mean if i want to sue SBS transit, who may I speak to??'

And to that question, they also cannot give me a definite answer... They said they are not sure who is the in-charge handling my case...GOSH!! I'm gonna bug them everyday till I get to speak with someone who can provide me his/her name and his/her designation... i mean, isn't there like a customer relation manager in SBS????!!

I really need some ice cream or junk food to calm my nerves now...

sunrays: thank God you're ok! that SBS bus driver act blur lah, if not he will get into trouble as well mah. should have stopped your car and see got eye witnesses anot and take pictures to help you claim your rights!

cloud: I also grabbed 3 packs of the 3x80 Carlson wipes at JL Orchard just now! Almost died while carrying my shopping home and there's no taxis! learnt my lesson not to overstrain myself when there's no help! tsk tsk

Carlson Wipes: I think this is value for money! It's unscented and I think the size and thickness is good despite the price! I will buy even if there's no more buy 2 get 1 free promo! It didn't leave any sticky residue after I wiped, very happy with the purchase! But there are not many packs left when I left JL Orchard at about 3 plus.

Lunch at TP: I'm ok with 20 June and the makan place sounds great! Will send my contact number via FB. =)

SarahMay: The Pampers Premium in Macau is so cheap! bring back if you have help, if not the load may strain your back!

oh dear, sunrays
u had an accident?
Glad u and baby r fine! But poor u, need to settle with SBS and all that stress... Yes yes, ice cream sounds great!

ava,
so how big is ur tummy now? Hee...

sunrays, do you need to lodge a police report for something like that? might make them sit up a bit. might also help if you can check the yellow pages for the direct line to sbs's legal dept and talk to them. some large organisations have a detailed listing of their various depts.

isabelle, been wondering what you've been up to! glad to know that all's well with you.

Bigtoes, if the wipes aren't suitable for my BB, then i'll just use them on my dog.. i also use wet wipes to clean her after she does her business.

Shazz, there were a lot of packets left at marina square.. if you need more should go there and get. I'm thinking of getting some more either tomorrow or over the weekend before the promotion ends.

xuanting
Dont give isabelle the wrong idea!!! LOL

Isabelle
It's big...
imagine someone who swallowed a watermelon whole...

Ava: Yah lor, but I had to rush off for my meeting this afternoon mah...Hv u tried Dongfang massage next to Spizza before? I went in to enquire. $30 for 30min.

hee hee ava and xuanting,
i went to check out yest posts but still can;t find the pic. Mebbe I scrolled too fast! Hee hee

xuan mummy can update me too?
My baby is a girl. Thx! =)

CALIFORNIA BABY CALENDULA CREAM
Me using this for my girl as moisturizer. It's really good but as a diaper cream, not really. Cos the other day she had a rash and I applied but i noticed it's not as effective as the Desitin I used to use on her when she was a baby. That one is very effective. More so than Mustela. Johnson's is bad... used the TMC sample and it didn;t work at all so PD reccomended desitin

But I'm using California Baby's other pdts. Love them!

Jane,
is it cheaper to buy from BP? Cos I know can get from online website or from mom's essentials at united sq/Suntec/KK.

Hi Bacon &amp; Egg,
Friend living in US bought for me over the internet and shipping over to me. I am pay close to estimate $320 all in all. Cos she is also buying something so we manage to get free domestic shopping to her in US. But i pay about $40 to 50 singapore for her to ship across.

SarahMay,
I actually did not see this model when I check out Kate Spade in Taka over the weekend. SG only carry three model and they are all not on sales.
I bit paisey to ask to buy another one to trouble her as she is also a 3rd trimester preggie.....

Millie,
No idea if the bag is heavy as i have not seen it personally. But since i am already pushing a heavy stroller (Peg perego) i might as well hang my heavy diaper bag on the heavy stoller ...Hee hee...

Sunray,
Do you remember the SBS plate number ? check which interchange and track down the driver based on the shift. Go with someone. WHen pp get into accident, they will turn aggressive first hence if that happen, you tell them you felt threatened and will file a police report. This is from me who alway kenna from irresponsible driver who drove away or liar who told me will compensate me.But in the end, deny the claims. Really the consolation is that you are okay.... DO not stress yourself out...If you do not manage to get the claims, just remember your baby in top priority now ...

cloud: thanks! I've stocked up enough baby wipes to last me for half a year from various purchases from Pigeon and the Carlson Wipes I just got. hubby is nagging at the way I'm stocking up ... kept saying there's no war, need then buy! lolz

Nepia at NTUC: Happened to do my grocery shopping with hubby today. The 2 packs for $26.95 promo is only for M to L sizes. Didnt see any newborn or even S around. Think will just order before 30 June.

Mammy Poko: I just bought 1 pack of newborn diapers for $11.50 for 30 pieces, per piece is $0.38. Not sure if that's cheap, so only got 1 pack.

Ava: i dun think the 4 packs will be enough for your twins even! hehe, think u can start stocking up for your gals!

Koras: let's say we change baby 8 times a day, your 60pcs of newborn diapers will last 7.5 days! It's not enough!

I spoke to some mummies today and here's the rough guide they gave for a normal 50 per centile baby boy.

Diaper size growth
mth 1-2 - newborn (newborn to 5kg)
mth 3-5 - small (4-8kg)
mth 6-10 - medium (6-12kg)
mth 11-12 - large (9-14kg)

some of the boys are bigger and outgrow their diapers really fast though! but again, the above is a rough guide, from what my friends can recall. Sometimes, the child can still fit both sizes cos they're in between sizes. Eg, my friend's 4 mth old boy who weighs 6.7kg, is starting to wear M already, although it's slightly on the big side.

any experienced mummy can share if the above guide is accurate? cos that's based on 5 of my friends, not a very good representation of the public!

Nepia:
I saw the newspaper advert, the NTUC promo for Nepia diapers 2 packs for $26.95, its only for M, L &amp; XL. Don't have S or even NB.

The carlson wipes seem very worth it!! And memebers still have another free!

Isabelle: You are back!! I was asking the other forummers where you went?? Glad that everything is fine for you!

Shazz: I've been checking up about diapers with my friends' babies.Seems like my friends tell me not to overstock NB cos they outgrow them rather quickly. Can take into consideration the complimentary pack of NB diapers from hospital too.

A friend used only 3 packs of NB and then bb already moved on to S. If u take 60X 3 = 180. 60 about per week. Won't even last the first month! Guess it depends on how our bbs are. My niece also outgrew NB by 2 weeks after birth. She was 3.5kg when born. By end of first mth she is like 5kg liao. Some even better, NB only last one week cos bb like 8pounder. Then they grow super fast.

Since every bb grows differently, maybe it is only wiser to buy MORE of NB closer to our EDD when the birth weight of our little ones is more stable. Can send the husbands out to stock. Right now, we dun even quite know what percentile our bb is in. Plus hor, your Eamon I think won't be a 50% baby. So far, I think he is a heavyweight champ! Like u said, he's been 1+wk ahead of the averages. Hehe...so no need NB.

Mickey: I cannot find your POSB account details. Sorry!!!!!! I need to pay you. Can PM me pls or post here? Thanks babe.

Preggy: How to pay you for hte shampoo? You might have posted...but I think I missed it. Sorry!

WIPES: Anyone seen HUGGIES wipes? Saw them here. They look duper good! Thick, plush and like so wonderful on the bum bum! Hehe. But ex lor. 320 sheets for sg$20. Wonder if worth buying. They are like JUMBO sized sheets. Thicker ply than pigeon I think. How many wipes will we use at each change? Rber someone here said ; pee - 1, po0 - 2-3. Correct estimation? Also must use wipes everytime? If so, then what is the cotton wool and water for?

COTTON WOOL FOR CLEANING BUM; What kind of cotton wool should we buy? Cotton pads like the ones we use on face? Cotton gauze pads? Cotton balls? Or those cotton rolled in paper bale, then we pluck from it when we need?

STERILIZED GAUZE FOR TEETH CLEANING: I still don't have any idea how this looks. Can anyone help me out here?

Shazz
I can't remember the stages for diapers...but if u r having a fairly big baby, then get S lah...adan was an 8 pounder and i think we only used one pack of NB size. Then moved on to S. For our girls, I expect them to be smaller, hence got the NB carton for a start
but further on, will probably stock up on S .

SarahMay: I suppose there's always this option of selling off excess diapers on the internet lor. My hb even joked that we could give them away when other friends give birth

I hvn't stocked up on my wipes yet. I find those Watsons Rose wet wipes that I stocked up months ago are starting to feel sticky and gross.

Cotton Balls and buds: I have only one pack of each. Well, cotton balls are useful for cleaning delicate parts of baby's body, as nec, I guess
Buds are for cleaning ears, nostrils...No harm buying them lor. They are cheap anyway
I dun think cotton balls/pads are used for cleaning the bb's bum these days.

I hv no clue how the sterilised gauze looks like. They are in boxes!

SarahMay: I won't be stocking up much on NB diapers. But more for S and M during the Nepia promotion, since I can always change for the size if my baby outgrows it. Not a problem for those ordering from Nepia. Anyway, yours truly did a calculation of how many diapers I'll need for a mth for each sizes, and then I get half of what is required. Not enough, then order more. Will be ordering more of S and M since the promo is a good deal. Even hubby saw my calculations and agreed that 1/2 packs will barely last us for long! hehe

Wow, your niece so big ah! I was also 3.5kg when born. But my mum said I wasn't growing that huge after that. Oh yah, I made a mistake, Eamon was 700grams when he was week 25 weeks. 685grams is Kieran, Bigtoes's baby's weight!

Anyway, for breastfeed babies, I understand that they poo and pee more, like with every feed, there'll be poo/pee! That's why my niece was using like 15 diapers a day, especially during her first 2 weeks!

Every child is different, my niece is only 8kg for 18mths old! She's still wearing M! So she's not a good benchmark, hence I checked out with my friends who had boys.

GooN diapers: I received a sample from the website I sent to you. The diapers are soft, like Nepia, but pretty thin. I read from another thread on this forum that it leaked for some of their babies and Nepia is better, so most of them stuck to nepia.

Cotton wool: we have to get the ones specially made for babies, like the Pigeon, Tollyjoy ones. Either get them in the cotton balls, or those that's in one roll, you tear as you need to use them type.

Oh shazz
Even if u check on boys with friends, it does vary. adan was born big, but grew up skinny...so he was on M for the longest time...

Flos,
My colleagues told me to buy about 3-4 pack of NB (drypers) cos it is the cheapest in the market and bb poo/pee like seconds for NB! Drypers for day use and Pampers (better quality) for nite use. So i bought 2 NB and 2 S size for dryers at last week's fair. Gg to stock on Pampers 3-4 (same 2 NB and 2 S Size) this weekend. Might also use Nepia...hearing the good response

Btw, Kids Mall (IMM) giving 20% on pigeon products, 15% on mustela products. Other brands like tollyjoy, combi, babysafe also on 10-20% disc. cheap? Pigeon bb wipes gg at 3 packs $10.50...cheaper than ocean?

Hmm.. regarding diapers.. that's why I don't intend to stock up as I wouldn't know my baby's size &amp; usage until he's out. So, for the moment, I just bought 2 NB (plus one more additional pack from the hospital) &amp; 2 S sizes to tahan first.

hey ladies......

got a question, went to see gynae yesterday and he says based on brain scan edd is now 25th sep so should i estimate delivery to be 25th sep or the original 7th sep? make me anxious and excited to know it could be sooner ...

preggie
dun understand yr qs leh... u mean 25th Aug is it? how can edd be sooner than 7 sept if it has become 25 sept?? hehe
Think u shd base yr edd on the lastest edd provided by yr gynae

preggie: i think you meant to type aug 25th yah? I think it's likely to be earlier as EDD are merely just an initial guide based on our last menses etc. The most accurate one is based on baby's growth development! =)

I have one BRAND NEW Combi Stroller to sell coz my husband bought one already &amp; my client give me another one brand new exactly the same one! *headache*! Hubby did alot of research before getting this so this is one of the best &amp; reasonable priced one.

The model is TJC-300/Well Comfort/Blue color.. Usual sale price $405.55 at Isetan but we bought for $365 only.
BRAND NEW IN BOX, NEVER OPEN BEFORE. Bought on 15th May 2008.

http://www.taising.com/Combi/Combi_TJC300.jpg

bacon&amp;eggs: I know Drypers are cheap and some of my colleagues also recommended this brand to me. But I oso heard from others tt Dyrpers leak. Not sure if it's true...

I guess since I've committed to using disposables from Day 1, it should be alrite to hv excess rather than shortage;) kekeke!!

PIGEON WIPIES AT CC: I think Winnie told me $8.70 for three packs. $9.00 if u request for delivery.

MUSTELA: actually if u r a Kiddy Palace Member, it's 20% off Mustela products.

Storeberry: Nuby products are sold at Kiddy Palace too. Also enjoy 20% off if u r a mbr. U can work out your sums...Sippy cups $10.10 less 20% = ? convert to USD, then u compare with BMO prices which I dunno

Robinsons' Nuby products better still, got 7% GST waiver <font color="ff0000">these 4 days till Sun</font>.

My gynae (based on his experience on scan images) also estimated my bb to be around 700g thereabouts at 25+ weeks last week.

Ava: u r rite. My nephew was born 3.5kg, now ballooned to 10kg at 8mos only. He is wearing 3YO clothes now! Before long, he can wear training pants liao;) My SIL has no BF, so feeds him on FM 5 times daily. He is gigantic wor...

Nini: Your Combi well comfort is the one with white floral patterns on the grey seat is it? If it's that same light blue one I saw at Kiddy, it's going for only $239 there; and Mothercare Harbourfront is also having a promo on the same stroller for $200+ (DBS card members even more discount).

Pigeon wipes: Bacon&amp;Egg, think Ocean also sell at $8.80 for 3 packs.

Flos: Aiyo... 20% for Nuby products?? Plus shipping, I think might be he same price wor.. But is the Kiddy palace one BPA free? Cos the webby one is.

Shazz: S26 lor. 190ml X 5 feeds leh.

storeberry: YES! BPA free. Got sippy cups 7oz/8oz with handles, those 3 in-1 pack thermal spoons, inverted non-spill mug/tumblers with straw kind, etc.

I dunno online or SG is cheaper though.

Flos
Well comfort where got so cheap?
I think the $239 price is for the new Super Mechacal series Pink/Blue/Orange leh
Chong Cheong selling $225 though
I thought of getting the well lite series, dunno good or not

Flos,
Maybe just go easy on NB sizes. S and M sizes should be safe to stock.

I heard about dryper leaking too..

Luckily i didnt get anything from kids Mall yesterday...seems there are better disc out there. Think its tiring to shop diff places..maybe will jus settle everything at taka..

Flos: wow, he's a heavy drinker, no wonder he put on so fast!

bacon&amp;eggs: Flos already bought one carton of Pampers Premium in NB during the Motherhood Fair. It's ok lah, she can always sell it or give away, cos Pampers is premium brand.

Drypers: if your baby has chubby legs, they will get cuts on their groin area. dun stock up on this until you're sure your baby is ok with it.

bacon&amp;eggs: yep, shazz's rite. I hv one carton liao lah...My mom says I must wear those premium diapers if my son cannot fit into them! She thinks my DH and I are siao!

Where's Kidsmall?