(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos: The first doc they gave us refused to let my DH into the room. her only reason was she just didn't like it. We had been told tt he cld be present, and that was whole pt of paying for a scan at the hospital. It is just her whole attitude. We kicked up a fuss. They gave us another doc to do the scan.And my DH was there. So apparently it is not hospital policy...and the first doc was just a pain. Plus, we were both v tired already...so having the crap from her was no fun. The DS scan is 500 MOP. So abt sg93? not tt cheap. but ok...since DH got to c bb for first time. Was fun seeing bb's face too.

2.5kg weight gain is ok. I am trying to watch my weight and diet as in must eat more healthily.

Skinny Pig; 32 wks also do another DS? I thot only once! I just had my 2nd DS yday, at 25w5d...dunno why the doc here ordered it...i just wanted basic scan.

Shazz: My bb is head-down too!

Ava:Good idea on the make-you-own. Was thinking of that too. Haha. And isn't swimming great! I haven't been in a week.

Bigtoes: U got the OMRON for good price!!!

Sasa: No way does Maximillan sound girl! it is uber alpha male la. Hahaha...and nowadays maxtor like not v high profile...certainly among his peers he won't get the Maxtor association. But the surname wld be tempting nicknaming addicts. Hehe. But good u guys decided on name liao. I think Max is nice.

Qiuling: I see that ur EDD is same as mine and u are delivering at MtA? Hehe...me too. Who knows we might run into each other there...provided our bbs come on the dot!

Lim: Need to change my delivery hospital to Mt A. Thanks!

Flos, this $20 is a standard thing.. all agency is the same.. we dun want a maid who wants to go on leave.. cos the moment they go out.. that's it.. u wont have peace.. they will start to get hp and phone ringing etc etc..

oo.. wah.. i perferred not to give my maids any day off other than home leave. dont wish to see them mixing around with others maid sharing information of my house. hmm..

thanks for ur advice. guess have to look for an agency to request for a maid real soon.. was still planning to approach agency next month, as my place has nothing much to do..

von
mine is filipina. I was also told not to give leave for first 6 months until her loan is paid off. We gave her one day a month after 4 months I think...cos we also wanted some sundays to ourself. At least I feel she is zi dong enuf not to use her HP during the day. at most SMS, but no calls. Only person who calls her at our place once in a blue moon is the maid who recommended her but that's fine by us...

<font color="0000ff">Flos
haha.. i finally managed to find the package le. heng can find else think gotta get them to send me another one le. n i juz realised, like wat Xuanting mentioned, the room type depends on availability on tat day.. sighz... so it wont be guaranteed leh...

Bacon &amp; Egg
hehe.. thanks for ur comments on the name.. it's a tough choice

Sarah
dunno leh.. dunno y i keep feeling Maximillian is a gal's name. :p n yes i agree. the surname would be a problem but wat to do?? hehe

anyway, since u have typed the letter, dun get frustrated over tat doc already k. she will get her just deserts...

Lemon
Cheong Choon's address:
Blk 34 Upper Cross St
#03-132 S(050034)
Tel: 65323855</font>

haiyo
really have 2nd thots abt having a maid now
really v troublesome to handle them
cant trust them also
so scary
things like stocking up soiled pads in cupboards, forgot to bath, nude pics with man never came across my mind. I got a picture of a hardworking maid in mind. The more i expect the more disappointment i get!

my doc didn't tell me the bb's weight either. she told me she was measuring the bb's waist to see how fat it is and see whether can agar agar the weight or not, but said it was too hard to tell after measuring. she assured me that bb looked good for her gestational age though. i'm quite an agar agar person also, so as long as doc says everything is good, i am good. anyways, the weight is only an estimation. my friend's bb was estimated to be 2.7kg just 2 wks before she popped but when she gave birth (2wks later), it was only 2.5kg. think there's no need to worry unduly about the weight as long as bb is healthy and growing well la.

sarahmay, you feeling better now? don't get too stressed up over it okay? hugs.

sasa: why didn't u consider Dex Ter? It's a nice name
of course, Maximus sound grander!!

sarahmay: i see. what a pain in the #@$%%. She is a Honky? My bb's head was down too. In fact, he was reaching out for his toes, like sit &amp; reach position when we peeked at him last Fri. Very flexible boy it seems. I think he looks like me. Can tell from his side profile.

Jaymickey: I've been told to hire a maid by my "bin-toa" MIL who claims she'd require help if she takes care of my boy.

She wants me to hire at least one mth before bb is due to famliarise her with my household chores and routine. I just wonder if I like a stranger to be in the same house as me 24/7.

Mrs Yap, the list is never ending.. so dun be surprise if u hear more ugly stuffs..

My friend's friend's maid even go geylang and earn extra bucks on her off day.. and come home telling the employer she was being rape cos it was painful down there... then brought her to the police then she spoke the true...

Flos, u just let ur MIL have it.. she might regret after awhile.. cos she will probably tell u the maid is more troublesome and lazy and blah blah blah..

AVA
where is this Trustmaids agency located?
Since its recommended by u, i shall give it a try

LEMON
when id yr next appt? mine is on 21 june. Maybe we can see each other in clinic if on same day

Mrs Yap: It's a "heng-suay" thingy lor. My uncle's maid sneaked out of the landed property, thru the back door after midnite to hv a rendezvous with her bf at West Mall. The police who checked on the "maid on the loose" later called my uncle at 1 am to verify if he was the employer. So many horror stories. I pray I'll get a hardworking and loyal maid. Not some rural charbor who cannot operate my Avent IQ24.

<font color="0000ff">Baby's Weight
seems like different doc got their way of doing things and not all doc would measure bb's weight. guess they think it's not impt bah...

Flos
yesh!! tats a nice name.. but den we oso realised that hb's surname cannot take a single syllable name.. hehe.. doesn't sound nice when put together with the surname.

my hb still can joke with me, say he wanna name bb Helicop, Mast or even Mons... CMI!!!!

u be getting CL mah?? if so, den y ur MIL still wan a maid?? hehe

Jaymickey
OMG!!! that's horrible!!!!! actually we will nvr noe wat lies beyond tat innocent face of theirs!!</font>

Oh one more horror story: My former Indo maid collected our kitchen knives and hid it under her bed for the longest time. Stole a few family photos, for god-knows-what reasons (possibly for black magic purposes), and gave herself a Christian name similar to mine! When my parents received a mail from Indo for her, it had my name written on it! Psycho...

Flos, our previous maid from Philippines was from the capital but these people from capital is usually very smart.. she orders and read reader digest one... so got attitude problem..

Flos
haha.. i heard IQ24 need to adjust right? More complicated to use than the express one. Dun be surprised if she spoils it in no time. Lots of other things like washing machine too... i ever heard my relative complain her maid spoils her m/c twice and she dunno how she managed to spoil it!

Mrs Yap,
We can't control where they go.. so the best is dun let her go out.. just occasionally bring her out for grocery shopping, they will be happy enough...

sasa: Helicop Ter!!!! Mas Ter! Mons Ter! MUAAHAHAHAHAH!!!! Btw, what is TER in Mandarin?

I'm getting a CL for only 6 weeks. She thinks I print greenbacks wor. I pay her a tidy allowance monthly, she could still ask me to hire a maid (must be a Filip one, she so specified), and yep, I'll have a CL so that she needn't wake up in the wee hours. I hv told my hb to cut off her allowance if she really wants me to hire a maid for her.

Her own SAHM daughter (my SIL) takes her son to my MIL's place daily. If I park my boy with his cousin at the grandparents' place from Mon-Fri (my inlaws REFUSE to come &amp; stay with me), that means my maid will hv to be based there too.

And does it mean I pay for the maid, and my SIL and MIL get to use my maid's free services when I'm at work? It's not so simple...my MIL is very smart one...they dun wanna hire a maid, ask me to hire...

mrs yap: no, it's the express one that is non-digital. IQ24, u just leave it there 24 hours like those Tiger and Zojirushi hotwater dispensers, and it'll auto-sterilise i was told. For Express, u set it for 6 hrs and need to manually press again to re-sterilise, I think. Not sure the diff, really

Flos (flos) - she collected ur kitchen knives? Scary! The worse I have heard before this is made putting pee &amp; menstrual blood into the food as revenge for getting scolded, or those that sneak out during the night to spend time with their boyfriends!
My mum occasionally complains about her maid as well, same with my SIL and sisters...as such, we are not considering getting a maid at all. I rather cope with abit more hard work than to have a stranger in the house &amp; having to deal with all these nonsense.

<font color="0000ff">Flos
haha.. best rite my hb... faintz... Ter = Dai (戴)in Chinese.

think there are never-ending horror stories abt maids hor.. some more with all the abuse cases lately, realli makes me think twice abt hiring a maid. but den again, w/o a maid.. how can we ever cope?????</font>

Mrs Yap
Trustmaids are at South Bridge Road...near Hong Lim...I cant remember the exact address. can call and ask...but remember, mine was recommended by someone then I went to them hor...Anyway Fabian is quite a nice chap. See if he can help and good luck!

Flos
Wah, damn champion la that maid...so scary!

Jaymickey
Better to get maids from the rural parts of Phil, but with some work exp in city like SG/HK. Rural girls/women seem less difficult to manage...touch wood!!

Of course we have some issues with ours also lah, like she insists on handwashing clothes when we feel it's not nec, she can forget stuff, but not too bad...

today, we are letting her prepare adan's birthday dinner on her own cos i cannot take half day off...fingers crossed! Lucky her cooking is not bad (damn good chicken rice she learned from former sg employer's mom) and she can follow recipes on her own!

Diaoz
SO many horror stories on maid
:S
I am thinking of hiring a weekend maid leh to iron and mop the floor etc. Will it be just as bad? Anyone got good lobangs?

Just now my ahsoh colleague is lecturing me for still indulging in chilli. Issit reallie 'not tat good' huh? Anyone out there can testify? SHe was telling me to start drinking wat baby coconut juice on a weekly basis on 7th mth onwards. Hearsay will faciiliate easier delivery and bb skin better

Any one can testify to it oso mah?

Oh Mrs Yap I got the address already:
Trust Manpower Resource
150 South Bridge Rd #B1-01 Fook Hai Bldg Singapore 058727

Goldfish
Weekeend/part time maid of course less issues lah cos they are not living there with you. I PM you my former part timer.

jaymickey
actually i prefer to get indon maid cos tis is the 1st time i'm getting a maid &amp; heard filipino quite smart so scare they'll outwit me hee...(me kinda blur blur type so scared gena bullied by them instead..hee).
ya i aso agree , no experience scared will train until vomit, too experienced scared they play tricks here &amp; there. headache leh.

Ava
My aunt aso had a filipino maid &amp; she say can ask the maid to recommend her fren if i want.
but not sure will tis be reliable or not. i'm abit skepitcal abt filipino maid cos heard too many stories like getting pregnant lah, mixing ard in lucky plz lah.but there're still good ones ard. really depend on ur luck.

Oh i heard tat we can only registered the maid under one address rite? any one shuttle their maid between 2 household? cos i need her to stay at my mum hse in the day den nite time den go back my hse. my colic say need to pay her some money (like $20 extra per mth) &amp; ask her to sign on the contract?

my colleague read a case where maid pee into the rice and salt and feed the family for 5 mths before they found out. They find it strange that their food starts to get more salty each time and maid later confessed that her mom back home taught her that trick so that the employer will like and listen to her. So better check what you are drinking n eating from time to time and if maid make a specific drink for u daily..better be alerted.

li
depends again on maid, and luck...fili or indo or myanmese..all have their own issues one...indo i hear tend to be slower and that can also be frustrating, plus all that voodoo stuff u hear about...and lang issues...fili, yeah they tend to be more social...so that's another set of problems...just like hiring anyone in your office at work, you never know till u try out.

bacon&amp;egg
Euuuu grosss...doesnt maid eat from the same rice pot tho??

sasa:

hey, thanks for your address. will note it down. What do they sell, huh? ;P

mrs yap:
I am consulting a private gynae now, not consulting raffles gynae.
I am with tow yung clinic now. but will still be delivering in RH, cause near to my house.

Hey gals,
Am thinking of doing some 3D or 4D scans..seems to be rather interesting.. cause can see the baby clearer! anyone of you doing it? and where?

ya la, goldfish, u aren't responsible for the part-timer ma.

i'm like bigtoes, prefer to work a bit harder myself than get a live-in maid. had one nightmarish episode and am not prepared to go through all that ordeal again. but mine was a really suay case la.

<font color="0000ff">Bacon&amp;egg
tat's gross!!! wonder if i still have appetite to have my tea break later.. hahaha

lemon
no worries!! errmm... they sell all the baby stuff, incl prams, cots
their prices are quite reasonable. some items are even cheaper den robinsons, JL sale period wor... can give them a call to check on prices or sizes. the lady boss winnie is very helpful n cordial over the fone..
i'll be going there this sat i hope.. to finish buying all the stuff.. den i can rest at home le.. muahahaha</font>

I'm like xuanting &amp; Bigtoes.. my MIL kept bugging me to employ a maid (she's the kind who'll die w/o a maid, even a glass of water also shout for the maid).. but I refuse. Just not used to it. Just got to work harder &amp; close one eye to a messier house.

Maid
Yeah, if u can manage without one, try to. I did until adan turned 3 yrs and we moved into a bigger flat (from 700 sq ft to 1700 sq ft....pengsan man), plus we also moved away from the old neighbourhood where my babysitter lived...hb and I did not grow up with maids, so we were v resistant at first...

ava
apparently the maid always give excuse to eat on her own..cook her own share..which i think the employer thinks nothing of it cos its common for maid to eat in her own room or after everyone finished their food.

But Bigtoes/Mei/xuanting: u and your DH are working. so how who's gonna take care of your lil one?

li: yes, registered under one employer nia. if u r her employer, u take the no-brainer employer MCQ test required by law.

bacon&amp;eggs: pee into the rice?!!!! My bro's maid ate my nephew's puree cos the little boy wouldn't finish it! it was caught on CCTV!

I am contemplating to buy the Disney bedding set that Bigtoes has bot...so tempting to buy cos so cute..... But i oredi hv 1 full bedding set and 2 disney bedsheets from Mothercare without pillows/bolsters/bumpers.
Confused now if i should go ahead to buy another set ???

sasa:
hey, thanks for your info! Seems very interesting..haha, will find time to drop down to choon cheong to do some baby shopping finally!

mrsyap:
oh, you are with tow yung!
are u with tracey lim too?
for hospitals, they are also tied up with RH. my friend who is with tracey lim delivered in RH for her 2nd child..she's having her third now!

my next appt is 27 June..

flos, i'm freelancing at home now. intend to continue with this arrangement quite indefinitely. really, really doewan to leave newborn with maid or park it at my mom's place (she already gave a very firm NO! when my aunt suggested early this year anyway). am v lucky that dh is v supportive about this. i'll just have to get used to not being able to spend as freely as i used to, now that i don't have a stable income. win some lose some la.

Qiuling: heading back to SG on 7 July for rest of the year. Will miss my DH... and my bb will miss him too. Oh well. Yeah. Mt A got new ward or wing, not sure. But it is supposedly very nice. I emailed them to ask abt hospital tour and new ward too. No reply yet. My friend gave birth few months back...one bedder in new ward/wing. She says very nice. Are doing a 1 bdr?

Flos: Dex Ter? hahaa

Sasa: Your DH got great sense of humour.

Ava, u are lucky to have a maid who can cook.. the maids that we have really cannot cook. 1 was with us for 5 years and still cannot cook.. maybe my MIL is doing a very good job that's why we find the maid's horrible..

Ava
I'll try my best.. but worse come to worse, cannot manage, especially when I'm moving out to my own place next year, then will reconsider, but I hope no need lor.

Flos
I'm lucky in the sense that I can work from home &amp; take care of baby myself, of course with help from my mum whenever she's free or I need to go out to meet clients or run errands.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - the plan is to drop our son at my MILs place during the morning &amp; pick him up after work. Will also speak with my boss to see if I can arrange to work from home on a more regular basis (maybe once a week) &amp; can have baby with me on those days.

Actually, my place is quite low maintenance - takes just about 1-2 hours a week to upkeep...so hoping that DH &amp; I can cope with the baby &amp; housekeeping &amp; still have sane time for ourselves!</font>

Lunch - I am close to TP, and I can always cab to where u are meeting if too far to walk (which is just about everywhere now)..