(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahMay
Yup, they are lightly scented with a powdery scent, this squirrel one is meant for babies & kids. I love C & E's scented drawer liners, I line my drawers with the rosewater range.. so nice!

Millie
The disposable underpad can be used for both baby & ourselves during confinement, to be placed on our bed, to prevent staining.

if u r interested, .. the California Baby® Calendula Cream is good for nappy rash, eczema, im going to order from next mth spee... http://www.californiababy.com/calendula-cream-2-oz.html

XuanMummy,
Pls update for me too.
Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
5) Mei, Boy, Name = Devon Gho
6) bigtoes, Boy, Name = Kieran Chai
7) Jasyeo80, Girl, EDD 24-09, KKH
8) mrsgan, girl, name = Janelle Gan
9) jaymickey, girl, Name = Janelle Lim
10) Gail (Cloud), boy, Name = Kieran Ee, Gynae: Dr Tan K T
11) lok, boy, name = Jonas
12) nick : bacon&egg
EDD: 6 Sept'08
hospital : NUH
Gynae : Prof PC Wong
13) nick:jgwee, hospital: Mt A, baby's name Matthias Tan
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
16) nick : stef&seanbabes
EDD: 4 Sept'08
hospital : TMC
Gynae : Dr Eunice Chua
baby's name: Sharmaine Ng
17) nick : yan
EDD : 24 Sept'08
hospital : TMC
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth
18) nick : T_T
EDD : 7 Sept'08
hospital : Mt A
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth
19) nick : lanolin
hosptial : Mt E
Gynae : Dr Selina Chua
20) nick : Janf
EDD : 5 Sep
hosptial : TMC
Gynae : Dr Caroline Khi
21) Ruixiangsmom, boy, name = Ruiheng, Darren
22) Millie22, boy
23) Storm, EDD 29 Sept, Gal
24)Qiuling , EDD 17th Sep , Boy
25) Jane, EDD 9th Sep, boy, bb name: Samuel Goh ZhiEn

mei, FYI.. i have signed up with cordlife using you as my referral. So look up for ur rebate.

if anyone here needs a referral for an additional $50 discount, please PM me.

For those has TMC's FBI/SBI card, there is a $450 discount and additional $50 discount on the upfront payment if you have a referral.

Mei,

Give u another tip on Cordlife --- u can sign up for the 21 year package. Further $750 discount. If u pull out at any time, they will refund unused portion.

Sarahmay,

No, I have the Lucky Baby Playpen. It's 28" X 52", so standard size. Much easier to buy any bedding stuff. My bb cot is very odd size (25" X 44") and I got it as a hand-me-down.

For Mothercare, there is crib bale bumper and the normal bb cot bumper. Crib Bale is not meant for the BB cot (think it's more for the moses basket). Please check carefully!!

Flos,

Nappy disposer --- no need lah. I just buy nappy bags from NTUC and dump it down the rubbish chute.

von,

The TMC card is useful. You also get discount off the ward charges (think it's $100) and off some of the PD charges too (Within TMC, SBCC definitely, not sure abt Paediatric Centre). Can easily re-coup the membership fees.

am looking for fitted sheet for the the mattress size 70cm X 120cm.. anyone knows where can i get it other than from ikea??

lok, oo.. i missed the oscar + detailed scan discount as i signed up with FBI only in week 16.. and was told that there is discount with mothercare, but need to spend at least $60 on regular price.. (not on discounted or nett items) ended i didnt used it at all... this is this first time i used this card for discount.. hopefully more to come.

Koras.. i coming to 25 weeks... the nurse already pulling mi to book the hospital rooms liao...

so.. i have just booked mine on monday...

Flos & mei
Mothercare bumper - they only cover 3/4...i was shocked initially and ask if there is a mistake in measurement cos it is supposed to be full-long bumper..but they checked with manufacturer and it is supposed to cover 3/4 only. Only the Humphrey range could cover the whole cot. Strange rite?

Where is the First Few Year bb shop located, u ladies are talking about?

what is the purpose of a underpad?

can we use Aussino bedding for Mothercare's cot? sizes fit?

ava,
i wear a maternity swim suit (those one-piece bodysuit) really ugly but no choice cos my tankini is in storage..i bought the bodysuit from Kid Mall for only $36.
I tried breaststroke..somehow i just couldnt balance..haha

koras,

They asked me around 20 weeks but u can always indicate something else on the admission form. Even then, depends on the availability during delivery time. I wanted 1 bedded. Was told no 1-bedded available when I was admitted into TMC. Then last min, they found a 1-bedded general ward (actually it's a paediatric ward) for me. Transferred to maternity ward only 2 days later.

My gynea clinic oso haf booked me for admission. But when i asked them whether will i receive any confirmation letter from the hospital, they tell me dun haf one. They call up and book can liao. So 'powder' meh? Still feel 'unassured' but dun reallie care now :p

Btw, does ur gynea always offer ur bb weight info in every visit? I realized mine don't leh. In my 24th week visit, i have to ask him and he casually replied like 'erm..800grams'. And yesterday when i went for my 28th week visit, he never offer me any weight figures till i probe again and he look at the printout-scan and tell me like ard 1.1kilo.

But when i look at the printout scan, i dun see any weight information leh. I feel like 'kena-con' liddat leh :p

Doc tell me usually see abdomen and head diameter. Issit true for u all?

jaymickey
what happened? I wanted to employ a maid too. Yet to find time to go down to agency cos my hb too bz. Care to share what happened? Which agency is good? I know hiring a maid is heng or sway one but at least a responsible agent will not complicate things.

Jaymickey... i gng to get a maid oso... head Hougang green alot of maid agency leh...

anyone care to share which agency is OK.. follow-up service good oso?

Goldfish... my gynae oso dun tell mi the wgt.. oli diameter of the bb's head... deni myself oso forgot to ask.. this sat i got appt with him.. i MUST ask him...

Lok.. i hv booked Mt A... i ask the nurse to indicate tat i 1 those newly reno ones.. hope they gif mi...

Goldfish,

My gyane measures the abdomen and thigh. She will automatically tell me wt everytime. And was spot on in terms of birthweight.

jaymickey,

Yah, do share what happened.

Lok: tks for your advice on nappy disposer. My humble abode has no attached rubbish chute. I need to take rubbish out to throw daily.

I'm alarmed to hear you couldn't get a 1-bedded! I also booked a 1-bedded with TMC and it's indicated on my Adminission Form filled in by TMC, and sent to me 3 days ago. I hope they don't 'tua' me, as I'm seeing the Deputy Exec Chairman of TMC!

bacon&eggs: I also notice it's only the Humphrey set that covers the entire perimeter. Weird...

FFY is at KKH as well as Paragon. You can order its (selective) stuffs online too: www.firstfewyears.com.sg

UNDERPAD: It's to prevent your lochia from staining the bedsheets during the first 1-2 weeks of your confinement. I only bot one pack of 5 pads cos I hv a waterprrof protector for bb's cot. Plus, I intend to use a larger size old towel after I finish those pads, which I deem too small. I am worried it might shift when I toss around in bed.

I'd bought my 32cm long ultra-absorbent Whisper w/ wings pads, and maternity disposable undies too!

Aussino bedding sets might not fit Mothercare cots/cotbeds. They fit those STANDARD SIZE.

Koras: I was asked which type of room I want after my OSCAR scan at week 13. I also paid for my antenatal package deposit then, therefore I didn't hv to pay for my subsequent visits.

Mei: Did you get the scented hangers from Crabtree and Evelyn then?! They are lovely...

SarahMay: Actually, what was the issue with the Macau hospital? You got your detailed scan and bb's weight, etc. Was it very expensive?

I've gained 2.5kg since my last visit, and phew! I hvn't hit 70 kg yet!!! I wonder if it's cos I stopped drinking Enfamama? Anyway, my DH bot yet ANOTHER tin of Enfamama for me after hearing from his friends it's good to drink LOTS of MILK! Jeezzzz...

Mrs Yap: those bedsheets of yours are so sweet. I agree they look better on actual display.

Lok
Thanks for the tip. I have signed up already.

bacon&egg
First Few Years is located at Paragon & they also have a branch at KKH.

The disposable underpad can be used for both baby & ourselves during confinement, to be placed on our bed, to prevent staining

Aussino fitted sheets can't fit MotherCare mattress.. I have looked around.. only MotherCare fitted sheet can fit MotherCare mattress. Other stuff we still can use other brands.

Flos
Nope, didn't get the hangers.. too bulky.. I already have a hard time squashing my clothes into my wardrobe with the thin hangers I am using.. hehe.

Jo, lots of maid doesn't mean they are good ones.. cos maybe is no good and is being rejected ones..

We had 1 new indo 3 mths ago.. she is forgetful. asked her to do things, she never rems and always have excuses for the things that she didn't do or do wrongly... things we buy today, tomorrow when we asked her she say no more cos she cannot rem where she put it!!! so we requested for a change..

This time round, we got a Filipino one.. came less than 2 days ago.. and guess what, she was caught taking AFTERNOON NAP on the 1st day!!!! and when we talk to her, she ignore us.. things that she was suppose to do, she never do it..

So if u really want a new maid, take now and start training them.. if cannot, then faster change, if not i tell u, u will probably faint when the baby cries and maid giving problem...

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay):
Seperates for bedding set - We went to Toys R Us in Forum yesterday &amp; they were selling the bedding set seperately (i.e. u can get just the pillow, bedsheet, quilt etc as individual pieces). Saw that they have the various Classic Pooh sets in seperates. They also have nice stick on wall decals, thou kinda expensive for stickers (about $150+).

Thermometer:
Also, those looking for the Omron thermometer - I just got mine from Mustafa last nite for 52.80 - with 20% discount (retail price elsewhere is $72). And yes, it comes with 10 pieces of free plastic probe sheets. Pretty good deal, so grab it while u can (think i saw 3-4 more sets remaining).

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - my gyne always tells the weight (to the nearest gram), some other measurements like the abdominal circumference. The last time, she didn't give me a scan print out thou - that one I have to ask.

Room booking - wow, thanks for reminding. I got a letter from TMC months back on admission date/what to bring/room type selected etc...but that is based on my EDD, so i better tell them my revised C-section date.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Sterilizer:
Mommies - what is a good brand to get? My sis was planning to pass me hers, but think she still needs it, so now I need to look for one. Thanks

jaymickey,

Thanks for sharing. My filipino maid is coming in end of this month. So fingers crossed.

Flos,

Don't be alarmed. Maybe less of an issue now as they undertook some expansion work recently. My #1 is a July bb. At that time, a lot of mummies want to deliver before 7th month (ghost month). Furthermore, J was delivered on what is supposed an auspicious day (Guan Yin's birthday). That's why very crowded!!

thanks flos n mei for the info

room booking
i havent got a single clue...my gynea hasnt mention a single thing abt it. and i havent attend any hospital visit. Anyone can share about NUH rooming?

Lok, must train her as if the baby is here.. cos we told her to change water.. she never did it!!! we dun even expect her to look after the baby, just do housework only! already like that. i guess look after baby will be worst..

Bigtoes: What are those 10 pieces of free plastic probe sheets for?

For those using Braun, does the Braun one come with those probe sheets? I haven't opened the box yet!! keke!

Lanolin: I hope to get a hand-me-down car seat from some kind soul too. My bro's below 12mos car seat was not used optimally throughout his son's first 12mos. Luckily, he is having a second kid now.

He told me in his first year, apart from taking the nb to the PD for jabs &amp; occasional shopping trips, the under 12mos car seat is really under-utilised. That's why my DH and I hesitated in buying an expensive one.

jaymickey,

Ok noted. I don't expect her to look after bb too as both my kids are going to infantcare and childcare. Mainly housework and cooking. Weekends, help us with the kids.

Lok: I'm even more alarmed now that you mentioned that your 1-bedded was fully booked cos of the auspicious date. My EDD is the very auspicious mid-autumn festival and I want to give birth then, if possible

FYI, I share the same lunar birthday as your son, and Guanyin's Birthday is in lunar 6th mth, not 7th!

HOSPITAL BOOKING: If we book earlier, got more discount? How do we go about it?

Jo : I also want Mt A new wing...is it the Lady of Lourdes?

TMC: I heard that if you book 4-bedder, you will most likely always get upgraded for free to 2-bedder. heard from friends as well as read on this forum. So those wanting a 2-bedder, can try. Hehe.

flos,

why is your brother's car seat not optimally used? we just strapped the kid into the carseat everytime we drive out. so that's everyday! it's impt to start them young, or else next time they don't want to sit in them. If u get 2nd hand ones, must do homework and ensure it has not been involved in any crashes before.

Housework and cooking also a pain.. this new one.. just do what she is told.. even waste bin in the toilet, she never empty.. she ironed the clothings the other way round and never turn back and just hang back into the wardrobe...

Flos,

Yah, it's 19th of June lunar month. So many mummies want to deliver before 7th month (I think they chose C-sec) and typically anytime from 38th week can safely deliver .. that's why it clashed!

goldfish
for my last visit, gynae also did not mention abt bb's weight. This time round i am going to ask him.

Flos,
Hmmm since the bumper does not cover the whole cot, then i think u shd let the uncovered portion face the wall, as in have one side of yr cot against the wall so that bb will not stick out his hand or leg between those rails and get hurt. At least there is a wall behind to block. If u get wat i mean.
Yup, i am happy with the sweet bedding set. Nowadays when i close my eyes at night to sleep, i always have images of sweet looking bibs, pink rocking pony, cute mittens and etc. I told my hb abt it n he thinks i am mad. haha

jaymickey
haiyo... those maids really thot they are employed to be queens isit. I myself dun even take afternoon nap lor! Then how, yr agency provide how many replacement of maids? I hope i can get a good one like my grandma's maid. She super hardworking and always find something to do, eg, cleaning windows, cleaning the kitchen cabinets inside and outside, early in the morning 545 she wake up to sweep n mop floor. Wash toilet.

Room Booking:
My gynae never says anything &amp; I also not sure.. But I have heard that they will do booking only in last trimester?

Limay: The Omron thermometer is a good deal! Any idea when is the sale till?

Flos: the probe is for hygiene purposes, so you throw away one when you have taken the tempreture. But don't know if can fit newborn or baby or not... I also hope for a hand-me-down car seat but so far no news yet.. Keke.. But gotten a infant capulse alr but only till about 3-4mths old.

Mrs Yap,
Yah.. really queen.. SIL waiting for her to do a task.. she is enjoying her breakfast.. we called the agency to complain yesterday.. they were surprised that she was taking afternoon nap also.. i guess most likely we will have another round of change.. dun think we can keep this.. 1st day, we already cannot take it.

storeberry
Dr woody never mention abt room booking right? I think the nurse in the clinic also didn't ask whether which hosp we are choosing.

Bigtoes
I got the OMROn thermometer too. I bought it at Citylink guardian. $66.42 after 20% off, if i have to go down mustafa to get it also must think of the petrol.

I got AVENT steriliser too. $136.80 after 20% off, one small bottle, one medium bottle, 2 teats, 2 pacifier.

Car seat:
How old must bb need a car seat? I got a hand down car seat from a neighbour.

jaymickey
haiyo the maid is so silly... dunno how to keng... first day must put on the best behaviour mah!!!!! now kenna send back... faint
Dun mind how much is the Maid's salary difference betw Indon n Fili?

Bedsheets
Ladies, if you can't find sheets (esp for boys) that u like, go spotlight, get a big sheet of cloth and just sew flat sheets yourself! may be cheaper...last time i just got a king sized bedsheet and got my sewing champion sis to make 4 flat sheets out of that for adan...

Swimming
NAKED!!! no lah
lol...SarahMay I feel v light in the water too...love it!

Jasmine
Cheong Choon selling AVENT express sterilizer for $136 on normal days too. Even Robinson sales also no fight. The other model IQ24 is $160 only. V cheap.

AVA
hahaha yup this is an extremely good idea which i am thinking of if i cant get any suitable bedding set! can chose the material and design too. I will be going down to spotlight to get those DIY door hangers and make one for my girl.

jaymickey... ur maid indo or fili 1? where u get her from? can disclose? btw, wat is their salary like? hw much is the levy? i haben go check it out yet... ... can share...

Ava
Brilliant idea! That's what my mum suggested so I intend to do too since my MotherCare mattress can't seem to find any fit elsewhere.. I intend to buy some cloth &amp; just get the edges sewn up &amp; just tuck it under the mattress.

Jo &amp; Mrs Yap,
mine now is a filipino.. i dun know the agency.. cannot rem..

Indo, transfer maid no off day was $320
Filipino, new no off day is $360..

i dun know abt the levy..

My friend was telling me.. some maids are here like holiday... so they dun think when they do things one.. which is like what i am seeing at home.. everything also cannot rem, cannot be bothered...