(2008/09) Sep 2008

mei,
could use the fitted sheet (plain colors) of mothercare to mix n match with aussino

Aquafitness - what do they teach? i have been trying to swim but each time i feel like i get pulled down by the heavy tummy...cant balance.

bacon&egg
My hb says I look like an overweight porpoise when I swim..and I swim damn slowly now...haha...keep at it!!!

ava,
haha... i would swim a few stroke and stand up cos i cant balance!! tricky....my pet dog barked at me whenever she sees me swim..maybe cos i look weird??!!

<font color="0000ff">Swimming
wow.. seems like many of us are trying to get used to swimming with tat balloon there eh...

Ava
u realli tickled my bone</font>

Swimming

I still go swimming with the balloon there leh. But not too many laps. Just 10 laps.

Ava,
you are carrying twins that's why! Ask your hubby not to be so critical lah..

bacon&amp;egg
That's what I intend to do, if not limited to only MotherCare designs.

Aquafitness is like aerobics done in water. It's nice coz the water is warm and you can stomp around without worrying about any impact.

Ava
Haha.. that's so funny.. &amp; no.. I don't think you look like that lah.. I also swim super super slowly. I should be stopping pilates soon &amp; concentrate on swimming.. got problems with movements on land now.

MrsYap
I can't remember.. later I'll also pop by Aussino too as I'm going to town to thread my eyebrows. I'll check for you then.

Ava: you dun look like the dugong lah! in fact, I think your tummy size is very compact for twins! By the way, I think the Skip Hop price shld be the same as US in Canada. Will get my hubby to check, if not, I have a friend who's going to Boston. ;p

Mei &amp; Mrs Yap: I got 2 sets of beddings at $69.90 (usual is $99) from Aussino. But designs for boys are so limited, but so many pretty ones for girls!

Here's what I've got!

Dimensions:

Fitted Sheet 132 x 71 x 10 cm
Comforter 90 x 120cm
Cot Bumper (2 pcs) 25 x 200 cm
Pillowcase with fill 30 x 40 cm
Bolstercase with fill 10 x 48 cm

1480007.jpg

Mrs Yap,

Aussino bedding set is standard at 28" X 52". For fitted sheet, if your mattress is smaller than the standard 28" X 52", can still use but it will be loose. If bigger than standard size, may have problem. Aussino only sells in sets for babies collection (not separately).

<font color="0000ff">Shazz
very nice.. those tat u got.. hehe. i was actually contemplating whether to get the Dear Baby series oso anot.. but really super blue leh.. haha..

ended up i bot a more neutral color.. the ivory one that says 'I love Daddy &amp; Mummy'.. but this design is their old design lah. didnt like the new designs wor.. </font>

meie.. thanks for offering to help me check
but i think SHazz has got the answer!
Thanks Shazz n Sasa de mouse, the fitted shd fit mine jus nice
I think mine is 130 x 71 x 9cm if not wrong... Happy... gonna go there to buy then.

I didn't see those that you mentioned! which outlet did you get yours from?

I got mine from Suntec on 2 different sundays. I find their range so limited! But I just got the blue/biege combo so that if I have a girl next time still can use! ;)

Hmmn, my boy's room is very blue, thanks to hubby who painted one panel of the wall blue for his DS, to go with a wall frame that he got that says: "Little Boys Are A Reward From The Lord"

Aussino: I believe members can get 40% off on their birthday month.. Anyone's a member and birthday month before bb is born??

SarahMay: Checked for you, BabyCraft's Playpen dimension is 110 x 76 x 77 cm. That's the new one, cos yours is sold out already. The mattress from BabySafe that will fit your playpen is the 28 x 41 x 15 inches one. Usual price is $125 before 20% discount, valid till 30 June. After which you are entitled to 10% with your VIP card for non-sale items.

Didn't see the Pureen cloth diapers that aloevera was talking about. Seems like Kiddy Palace sold out their cloth diapers!

Bigtoes &amp; Sasa: Thanks! I think Aussino has one of the value for money bedding sets around for baby cots. Even though I'm not likely to use some items like the pillow, bolster and comforter.

My advice to mummies is not to buy too many sets as they take up so much space! I'm gonna get more plain sheets next, think First Few Years and Baby Avenue got some plain ones. First Few Years got flat sheets if anyone is interested.

pureen cloth diapers
are these better than the pigeon ones? i bought a pack of pigeon ones and they feel kind of scratchy and tough. must wash to soften?

xuanting: according to aloevera in the previous page, "Pureen nappy is double-layered. the nappy is sewn together, it's very good to use it as a NB pillow and bed protector. this is one good nappy tat i will recommend to new mummies. =) "

I felt Pigeon's nappy and it does feels scratchy. But I think all of them feels the same, just that the weaving for Anakku looks abit more sparse as compared to Piegon's. Pigeon is also the most expensive!

Desitin &amp; Toothpaste Spree: Hooray! I've finally received the first box of items! Will calculate the cost and update on collection and mailing details when I receive the 2nd box! =)

PREGGIE: Sorry! Just saw the posts... can cancel my healing bottom spray too? Since they give us some spray at the hospital. So only want the dry confinement shampoo. Thanks!

Just had a HORRIBLE hospital visit. Stupid sonographer at the university hospital got darn bitchy attitude. Fuming. Going to type looooong feedback letter. She ought to have her license revoked.

ARgh!

Anyway, not coming back to SG. I think I am going to be able to claim insurance too...cos the GP i saw referred me for tests and scan (which is like detailed scan) and wrote doc report that says I shd delay travel.

Bb is doing fine i think. Gotta wait for report to be sent back to GP on Thursday. I saw his face but i think he's got my hubby's 'himalayan cat'
nose!Hehe. At 25w5d, he's weighing in at 945g. Is that ok? Somehow think he is a bit on heavy side. I put on 2 kg in a month! Ah!!! Must stop my B&amp;J binges! Eeks.

SWIMMING: Ava - you ain't no dugong nor manatee. Wear a tankini, the reg types. I got mine from Arena. Breaststroke is the best for us! Speaking of swimming I need to go swim too! been almost a week since i went to exercise. Funny thing is unlike u ladies, I forget I'm preggers in the water. Feel so light.

Shazz: Thanks for helping me check. But the mattress size u gave me is weird lei... cannot find on babysafe.com. And for the playpen , which is breadth and height?

PIGEON CLOTH DIAPERS: Huh? Rough ah... thought it was supposed to be even softer than the old-school ones. anw w cloth diapers read that u must wash several times to get rid of the wax residue or something like tt. then will fluff up.

BEDSHEETS: Anyone know where we can just buy bedsheets for bb cot? Cos i have no need for the other items in bedding sets.

Sarahmay,

I just buy fitted sheets from Kiddypalace (Mamalove brand) as I don't need the comforter and stuff. ~S$14. If u want better quality ones, can check out babysafe and cheeky bon bon. (~$20+). Look carefully at the pack --- if it's mattress cover with zip, then u need to get precise dimensions. More flexibility if it's just fitted sheet.

What Shazz gave u is the PLAYPEN mattress. It's very thin (only 1.5"). If u intend to get the mattress for sleeping purpose, I recommend u get the normal 28" X 48" X 3" cot mattress ($175 b4 discount) and customize (customization fee is $30). I bought a 28" X 48" X 3" cot mattress and customize it to 25" X 44". After Kiddypalace's 20% discount, it cost me ~$160.

I just got back from Plaza Singapura Barang2 to look for my coffee table.

Mei: giraffe set? I didn't see that! Yah, strange dimensions.

Bacon&amp;eggs: I'm very worried my son will bang against the railings when he able to flip and stand up.

sasa: There is this form that TMC puts down your EDD. It has the explantion booklet which lists down all the items u need to bring to the hospital, visiting hours, where and how to register your bb's birth cert, antenatal courses, admission details, medisave claims, etc. U got it so early? I wonder when I need to fill in that form...

xuanting: yep, I told them my hb might not be able to make it for the first 3 lessons, they said it's regrettable but not impossible lah.

shazz: I just saw your bedding sets! I like the BLUE one!! I just saw it at Plaza Singapura Aussino in fact. It's really hard to get the boy's bedding set in Aussino. We went to the Aussinos in Shanghai and apparently, all the boy's sets had been sold out! So many boys in China! hahah!

Those at FFY are nice too. Almost tempted to get another set. BUT my mom told me one set can last us till bb is 2 yrs old. But need to hv two fitted sheets cos bb must dirty it from to time.

SarahMay: r u talking abt the Macau gynae?

Bedsheets for bbs? Kiddy/Robs/Aussino/FFY/Ikea, etc all selling bedsheets.

I wish I know my bb's weight. Wondering why my gynae says it shd be 600-700g when I'm already 26wks! Your prince is really consistently heavy wor...You must be feeding well in Macau

cloud: I got the Lansinoh milk bags. I bot it cos I've got the Mothercare card and I think Mickey mentioned b4 it's a reputable brand. I guess Medela ones are equally good.

Ava: you are soooo farnie. You can clone your face and superimpose onto the dugong!!! LOL

How big is Baby Avenue? I've never been there b4. Is it bigger than BB Kingdoma &amp; BB Hyperstore?

mickey
Yup, Aussino members get 40% off on their birthday month.. I'm a member but my birthday was 2 months ago. Maybe next year.

shazz
Thanks for the info, I shall go to First Few Years to take a look at the flat sheets. &amp; yes, do keep us updated on the Desitin stuff.. maybe those of us who are meeting you at Bugis for collection can arrange for lunch!

Just now I went to Taka &amp; I bought the disposable underpad, 5 pieces for $4. Here's how it looks like :

1480361.jpg

I also bought this cute frog bath water thermometer.

1480362.jpg

flos: it is the macau sonographer. wah piang! i'm writing a nice long complaint letter abt here to send to the hospital and medical association boards here. Er i dunno if my bb is overweight tho. cos according to babycentre (UK ) chart, the average at my stage is 660-760g. Mine is like a third above lor! Just hope bb is healthy from good food, not my B&amp;Js! Hahah.

Mei: I got the same underpad from Taka. So are they having a further discount?

I just went to line my cot with the Mothercare bumper. Horrors! One third is not covered! How? I need another bumper? Wondering if it's ok not to cover all round? Saw many European bumpers covering only half the cot. Strange. Maybe I should clip my musical mobile at the 'lobang' part?

Sarah: u r still eating B&amp;Js? Wow! But at least u r swimming regularly. I only exercise when I shop!

Flos
I got the Mothercare giraffe set from Centrepoint in the clearance rack. The bumpers from MotherCare are not full bumpers, only half.

The underpads are already on sale price at $4, no further discount.

I bought the Sadie Squirrel drawer liners from Crabtree &amp; Evelyn to line my baby's drawers.

Googled your Sadie Squirrel drawer liners. They are nice
You know Laura Ashley sells kids bedding sets rite? Unfortunately, they dun sell bb bedding sets.

I am quite worried my bb will bump his head against the railings

I went to Daiso to buy laundry bags for bb's clothes just now.

OK, someone said this morning there's further discount at Taka.

May I know who's used a nappy disposer before? Is it good?

1480396.jpg

My DH asks me to buy the Aprica one but I think I'll spend a lot fo $ on Aprica trash bags, not to mention my CL might waste a lot of trash bags daily...

I saw a video on the swimming lessons for bb, really cute! But wonder is it expensive??

I just gotten my loots from another BMO &amp; Children Place spree! I love the booties, very nice!

Shazz: The animal Aussino beddings looks cute!!! But do we need comforter now? I am getting the cot from my BIL, wondering if I need to buy bedding?
Cloud: Any news on what is the Taka sale about?

Flos: SO fast you got the pre-admission form already?

Ava: Aiyoo.. swimming with no clothes on??? R rated.. Haha!!

Sarah: Don't be upset with the sonographer! Must be dam* irritating! Maybe she has time of the month? :p Your bb is growing well, don't worry too much yah?

Thanks Shazz, update us how much to pay you for shipping yah?

Shazz, Meie, Sasa de mouse, storeberry
Thanks for the advice on the Aussino bedding set dimension. Went down to GW city after work and bought the Sweet Mia design. It really looks better than in the pics and its v cheap too at 69.90

1480458.jpg

UNFAIR: Bb girls have way too many selections for everything!!!! Aussino beddings are so pretty for princesses. But for boys...sigh.

Storeberry &amp; Flos: Yeah...told myself not to get so worked up. But cannot help it. My hubby was damn mad. I finished writing the 2 page letter liao. Going to c.c. to every health-related board and director i can find online. But i need the doctor's full name. The hospital manager didn't want to give me. But i have my ways.

Flos: Yeah...need to stop my B&amp;Js. bad bad bad. for whole month i eaten half a tub i think. Put on 2kg somemore. at least 500 g goes to bb...but like not enough to bb. haha

Preggie: Thanks!

Mei: Are those liners scented? I love Crabtree &amp; Evelyn...but would never spend my money on drawer liners...cos i think the messy in me will just ruin it! Hahah.

storeberry.. no news yet, i just know that its called 'the sale' and it starts on friday.. i received a pamphlet for it some time ago but i seem to have thrown it away, anyway i will be going down to take a look on friday so i'll let you know then whether its worth going.

i also received a letter from John Little, seems they're having a sale from June 12 to 15.. "up to 70% off storewide + additional 20% off sale prices storewide"