(2008/09) Sep 2008

oh yah... eu yang sang selling their bird's nest with rock sugar at $31 (usual price is $40 plus).

koras, i didn't really see any playpen cots there, in fact i didn't see much on cots or mattresses.. only bedding sets, saw this really cute elmo bedding set but costs $350..

jaymickey, when i queued there were around 10 peoplein front of me at first and the queue moved very slowly coz only one lady keying in the details for huggies club..

Mei, oic! do they allow trying on of the baby pouch at the fair? maybe i will go down to their booth to check out if i'm going down later.

sasa, i had emailed you my order for the eclairs.

crayonshinchan, i think the thermometer that you're refering to is the terumo one, selling at $69 (usual price is $110), it comes in blue or pink and has a light indicator.. its quite cute but the salesman says that you can only use it on babies 6 months and above so i think that there's no point for me to buy it yet.

So many posts!!!

Shazz: No problem. The soft cover probes apparently can last longer than the hard ones that braun uses. I’ve used both and I do find that the hard ones crack faster. I don’t know about the probe cover cost comparison between the two brands. I think Braun is also made in China though it is an American (?) brand. Anyway, I chose O cos it’s really light, compact and handy for travel. Find B bulkier. The auntie SA at Unity Pharmacy advised me to get Omron also. SPAGHETTI BRAINS: Hey! You know there is this book that says Men are like Waffles and WOMEN ARE LIKE SPAGHETTI! Hahaha…exactly like what you described abt how your hub labels u. It’s a Christian book abt rships, btw. BRAS: Btw, I dun think I read your reply abt the bra cup size from Mothercare. They dun have cup E???

Flos: Thanks! Only can used sterilized gauze to clean gums ah? After use, how to sterialise again? Can or cannot reuse ? Me super blur.

Ava: Not nightmare…just dreamt tt I was reading your post abt relationships I think. Hahah. Thanks for enlightening abt bibs!

Mrs Yap: I wake up super early here in Macau cos the sun rises like 5+am!!! It wasn’t cos Ava gave me nightmare. Hahaha

Sasa: You NOTTI girl! Tempting ppl with chocolate éclairs! I thought you wanted to order them like a week or two ago? This is another new order?

RH Wards: Pricey lor…but quite nice. However, I find the food there salty!!! But maybe their confinement food may be different.

TERUMO: WAh!!!! So cheap ah!!!! That is a steal!

PUPSIK: They are super chic! What designs did you girls buy? And how much is it at the fair?

SarahMay (sarahmay): yah, we read that book lor, so he calls me sphagetti brains! :-\ sorry, too many posts to reply to. Mothercare I wearing size 85DD (equivalent to E I think) but when I went to Marks & Spencer, I can fit some 80D/E and 85D for some designs. It's really trial and error for M&S cos of the different cutting. But for Mothercare, even the sales lady told me I have to buy fro elsewhere for my next upgrade, cos she measured me and I'm 85D/E then during early part of my 2nd trimester.

TERUMO is good ah?

After reading thru the thread, I'm having second thoughts about going to the fair cos of parking and all. Scared of the jam leh.

Only interested in the Pupsik pouch, save $7.90, order nepia if I go, sign up for motherhood magazine, and maybe the Terumo thermometer if it's good. The petrol and parking cost may not justify the squeeze even though my appt is at Simei. ;)

<font color="0000ff">Jessi &amp; I'l CY
Got ur orders le.. hehe.. will compile them and den email u all again hor.

Jessi
haha.. i've been craving for chocolatey stuff too.. hence this order lor...

SarahMay
oops.. hehe... eermm... notti mah?? i noe lah.. u jealous rite.. coz u cant join us in our chocolatey makan...
i haven ordered yet lor.. coz cannot get $100 leh.. but now should be no prob le.. yeah!!!

<font color="0000ff">Pupsik Nursing Poncho
Anyone saw this at the fair?? How much were they selling? Is the material good ah?

http://www.pupsikstudio.com/catalog.php?category=4</font>

my mom dotes my hubby..make sure he has plenty to eat n drink..&amp; we play MJ together! My hubby dont particularly treat my mom v v well but will do small thing like picking her up from work and being respectful..i guess its chemistry.

l’l CY
Thanks for sharing the information!
Btw, I remember seeing a link few days ago on the $5 discount coupon from Bumwear for the Motherhood Fair. Does anyone still have the link? Can share?

Ermm… so which diapers is worth buying huh? Nepia is a good buy huh? I am still beri lost in the various brands of diapers in the market leh

<font color="0000ff">l'l CY
u've got an email

Cloud
Thanks... will tell my fren to keep a lookout for it tmr den</font>

Here are the details:
Dates : 5 - 8 th June 2008
Time : (5-7th June) 12 noon - 10 pm; (8th June) 12 noon - 8pm
Location : Singapore Expo Hall 5A, Booth E12 (right side Moms in Mind)

Make a date with us as we are having lots of specials, just for this
exhibition. For more details of the Motherhood Exhibition offers as well as
the S$5 discount voucher, do check out this page:
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/motherhood2008.html

but you need to spend above $100 to use the $5 voucher

jaymickey
Lucky you.. I miss staying in the east. It took me some getting used to staying at Bukit Timah. Lucky I drive or else the travelling to work every morning will kill me.

sasa
Yes, they sell the nursing poncho.. think there's a special price if you buy two.

bacon&amp;egg
The discount is 10% off for Eu Yan Sang members.

Mei: Thanks. I have that pouch! In dusty rose colour.
It can be used as a nursing cover too, altho I don't know how.

Jaymickey: Thanks. Re the hotline to call, can share what's the number? Then I'll just call to order. That's what I used to do. They deliver for free if you order min 4 packs (can be in various sizes).
I like nepia for NB and S size. After that M becomes not as good as MP.

mickey
I got the blue stripe.. I like the padding, more comfy for baby, I guess.

Here's the hotline number for Nepia : 62262650

Bigtoes/Jaymickey/Quiling/Xuanting
Thanks for advice. I think i am really going to change gynae. I think the charges so far is alright but since in the 3rd trimester we are expected to go much more often and if it is without package, this is going to cost a lot more.. Another reason to change gynae is bcos she can only deliver in Mount E. I have heard lots of stories on the exhorbitant charges there.
I heard Mount Alvernia and TMC charges are much lower. The problem now is i m not sure which gynae to go to. Can anyone recommend good and affordable gynae that can deliver in either Mount Alvernia or TMC.

Yan(bbfam)/Storeberry : Your package with Adrian Woodworth seems very cheap. Is he good?

Flos : Yes we ever thought of going to KK but I understand that if you go as a private patient (so as to choose which doctor you want), the charges are not cheap too.

Flos : i like the blueberry muffin at Amoy Street Bake_of too! I bake a lot at home, I am also trying to get that kind of standard.

Mei: Yah the padding makes it different from the MIM sling. Thanks for the Nepia number. It's the same number as before.
I lost the number when I changed my mobile and hubby didn't do the transfer totally.

Just looked through my Motherhood magazine goodie bag, funnily there's a lot of laundry powder samples and even a bottle of bleach, there's 4 miniature bottles of kodomo shampoo and bath.. the only things that i find useful are the miniature bottles and the two pamper diaper sample packs, the rest of the things not really that useful (milo packets, one packet of maggie instant noodles).. but anyway i always buy Motherhood magazine so paying $50 for 12 issues is not too bad and at least it'll be delivered to my house..

<font color="119911">wow, had a crazy day, &amp; too many posts to look through now

On diapers - I ended up buying a pack of Pet2 yesterday cos the Nepia ones were all larger sizes. Prices are really different - think Pet2 was 17 cents a piece, Huggies 45 cents, and Mamy Poko 34 cents (if i remember correctly).

xueyan (xueyan) - Yes, makes sense for you to go to a gyne u are most comfortable with, pricing should be secondary. However, think Mt E and TMC hosp charges are about the same - don't think TMC is any cheaper. The single bedder is about $450 a night.</font>

jaymickey, for the promotion, we have to order from the booth then we'll get it at $14 per pack.. otherwise it'll be $15 per pack lah, not $16. =)

Aloe, Jaymickey: Is there a max number of packs one can order? If not, can get friends whoa re going to help with the order right?

BMO Spree

Hey girls, I've decided to do another spre for this. The receiving blanket looks very lovely to me. If you have orders, pls email me at [email protected]

Can order teether and some musical toys too. I will post the pics tonite..

Xue Yan: Where do you live? Cos gynaes with offices in heartlands tend to charge cheaper rates. My gynae is at TMC but she delivers both at TMC and Mt A. As for hospital charges, according to MOH's bill size findings, TMC seems to be cheapest of all the private hospitals! Cheaper than Mt A and Eastshore. personally, I prefer Mt A cos of the space and ambience.

I'd like to join in this thread as i'm aso expecting my no 2 in Sep
actually i've been a silent reader all these while. all the mummies here really provide good infor!

I just like to ask more abt the BPA free bottles.
Wat r the brands tat r BPA free? i remember there's a topic on it sometime back but dono where is it liao.
Is Dr Brown bottles aso BPA free (cos i've been using it for my #1)? cos i read from some website only the GLASS bottle is BPA free but not the plastic wan?

Oh btw, mummies whose interested in getting the Omron thermometer, there's a 10% off at Guardian now (not sure till when tho). can check it out.

Welcome Li! Are you having boy or girl? When's your EDD?

BPA (bisphenol-A) free bottles: BFree, Pigeon PES, Piyo Piyo PES range. glass bottles for sure BPA-free. I think Dr Brown are not BPA-Free.

wow this thread sure moves fast!

sarahmay
120ml should be able to last till bb abt 2-3mths if yrs is a big drinker like mine la. even if outgrow it can still use for drinking water. can get 2-3 bottles of 210ml or 240ml ones. as for teats when you buy the bottles they already come with one so just buy 1 or 2 extra teats for standby. for diapers, i didnt buy any to stock up before delivery. coz hospital will give you 1 pack and when back home can always ask hubby to buy. some babies skipped NB size and go straight to S.

sasa...
ooo...i hope the eclairs come quick quick...im dreaming about them oredi...btw, amosco used to be very popular, what happ huh?in fact their factories are just wihtin my estate, just wondering how come they arent popular anymore...

li
hihi li, welcome...how old is your #1? use glass bottles lah, i used to use it for my #1 too. very good leh, it doesnt get all grimy like plastic bottles (even the BPA free ones)

bumwear
haiz. thinking of getting more. so #2 can share too....but thinking about the discount. plus the $5 voucher and the discount they give for packages (is it above the usual discount for packages?), is the parking worth it or not?hmmm....

l'l cy, bumwear has no further discount from the usual ones but they're giving away liners with the packages at the fair. was at the fair mainly to check out the cloth diapers but since bumwear has no extra discount and the other retailer whom i thought was going to be there wasn't there for comparison, i ended up not getting any.

baby bjorn carrier
does anyone know where i might find these selling at a discounted rate?

Hi Millie

It's a Great Work CIty and Tanglin Mall.
www.motherswork.com.sg

One scroll of murals are over $100 and one sheet of sitckers $50 thereabouts.

SarahMay: Er, I dunnno what sterilised gauze u r referring to
i saw some gauze for cleaning bb's mouth.

MOTHERHOOD FAIR: DO they sell sippy cups? I want to buy sippy cups and utensils. Seems like they sell diapers, tonics, cordlife, bb accessories, etc.

xueyan: yummy yummy rite? the apple muffins and cheese ones are lovely too.

li: The SA at Mothers Work told me NUK ones are not BPA-free, and they are removing those cartoon series from the shelves. Bfree certainly are. Dr Brown bottles another up and coming brand, which I was told, are BPA-free too leh...

lilboymum: how come your sippy cups and milk bottles are grimy so easily. did u buy a steriliser? Did u use bb dish detergent to wash them?

storm: agree that the smallest size bottles can be used as drinking bottles later.

Big toes: are u using the Miracle Turn 350 or 450? You might hv told me but I forgot
My DH thinks it's pretty good. We will go to Aprisin to check out Aprica before making a decision this weekend.

xuanting: baby bjorn carrier

I just saw it at BB Hyperstore today. Didn't buy cos not very sure what size to get

Flos, Millie: You girls looking for bb room decor isit?
I ordered from overseas spree last time. I got some wall papers and wallables. Let me look for the link for you... Hold on..

Xuanting

I think baby bjorn carrier's price is the most reasonable in First Few Years.. I'm not sure how much is Original but I knw Active is $199 and Air is $169, Synergy is $260++...I'll be getting Active.. saw Ergo carrier at the motherhood fair today too but think i'll give Ergo a miss cos i think it's more suitable for toddlers than infants..

I bot my breast pump today at the fair..i didn't even compare prices at all..juz went to the small Medela corner initally to check out the models but i dunno how come i ended up buying!!! hahaha.... Medela bottles are BPA-free..the SA today at the fair advised me to use traditional boiling method for BPA-free bottles..

l'l cy, there's this other merchandiser that carries a few other cloth diaper brands like mommy's touch. let me search for the link; their website said they were going to be at the fair but i didn't see any cloth diapers besides bumwear.

flos, the carriers got sizing some more? alamak. now got to decide which size to buy also. not sure if there are sippy cups at the fair cos i wasn't looking out for them.

This forum is moving really fast ! ANyway, thanks for the advice from Storm and others regarding the diapers and the milk bottle. Will be going down to the mother fair tomorrow, hopefully I can complete most of the baby essential shopping. I also want to sign up with Cordlife tomorrow since they have a booth there !

xuanting
We got our Baby Bjorn carrier original, denim material at $149 at The First Few Years Store at KKH. The usual price was $179.

The horrid me went to the Motherhood Fair again after dinner at my mum's place. I bought the Terumo ear thermometer (comes with 4 probe covers &amp; storage case) at $69 &amp; the probe covers at $12 for 20 pieces. They gave me a free Terumo clock. I also bought 3 packs of Nepia diapers (1 NB &amp; 2 S), you get additional 4 pieces with every pack purchased, so I got a total of 12 extra pieces.

Jojo
Do you need a referral to get an additional $50 off on top of the $300 discount? If you do PM me.

thanks, sunrays. i'm thinking of getting the air carrier. will go look in ffy. did you get your medela stuff from the mums &amp; babes booth? they have a 20% discount on medela stuff.