(2008/09) Sep 2008

By the way, mummies, I will not be around from tomorrow onwards for a week plus, so don't be alarmed if you don't hear from me til then. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I will enjoy my holidays! But I know there will definitely be disagreements. He doesn't really allow me to buy souvenirs for my family, not individual ones for individual family members, only a single one to be shared by all. He would tell me we do not have enough money to buy gifts for every single person. Yet, without hesitation, he would buy individual gifts for his family, reason being, his family is 'nicer' than mine. This has always been one of the quarrels we have during our trips together. Haiz.....

wingkei
Oic...thanks for the tip about the beanpillow
I didnt use one with my "medium-sized" boy as he calls himself, so had no clue

Shazz
Lemme know how to collect the stuff from the drugstore spree

Mrsseng
I am at TMC too, with Dr Paul Tseng. Due anytime from mid Aug to early Sept...

Small bottles
I think getting about 2-3 of this size and the next size up should be enough. I only have one of the really large avent ones, and hardly used that.

As for the smallest sized bottles, even if u get extra, they are useful for carrying/drinking water, storing milk, carrying baby food around next time etc etc so dont worry if u got quite a number.

Mrs Yap
Your reason for her dream (not being able to attend the gathering) is very funny!!

wingkei
just wondering. are you really too dependent on your hb? do you make him feel you cannot live without him?

actually as women, with or without children, men are not indispensable. you have to be strong and happy for your bb's sake. else your bb will become scardy cat or a big bully next time too...just think of your future boy (is a boy right?) as a wonderful man next time...it will tide you through anything...

cloth diapering.
hmmm...am without maid now, but still am clth diapering. just realise it is possible and ok. using bumwear and realise even the poop comes off so easily when you flush it with the toilet spray. then just soak the whole thing into antibacterial detergent before washing with normal bb detergent in washer...easy peasy really...

Wingkei
Aiyo... yr hubby so NIAO... arghhh
anyway, there are nice oz baby clothes and cheap too. Try Target and Big W... Not so exp that yr hb will complain de la... take care n have a Nice holiday

Hi Shazz: my hubby is there for a job trip not attending MDRT conference. He is there now, he told me there's nothing to buy there. Hmm, don know how true or he just cant be bother to shop around.

He bought a Burburry bag for me at LA airport during transit, the price is so much cheaper than here. If you know of any shop or brand for baby items, can let me know? I must tell him excatly what I want or else he just simply bochap or just anyhow buy something back one.

Thanks, Ava.

l'l CY, I also wonder if I am or he is making me feel that I cannot live without him. But deep inside, I share your opinion that women can be very independent and men are not indispensable. Mine is a girl and well, thoughts of her will tide me through anything.

Thanks, Mrs Yap. I will try to buy something back for BB. He is NIAO to MY family but not to his. He can easily pick up something and say he is buying this for his family, etc, but whenever I say I want to buy this or that for mine, he will kick up a fuss and we will end up quarrelling as I am not 'allowed' to buy anything for my family. I wonder if it gets through to him that since we are married, my family is also his, and vice versa. But he always tells me, don't expect equal treatment for my family and his and don't be calculative. Arrgghh....

Ava dear, thanks for the assurance on the small bottles! =) will keep u posted on the collection when the items are here, perhaps can have a little gathering! hehe

wingkei: enjoy your holiday! try to put away the differences and tell your hubby, for this trip, shall we fall in love with each other all over again? I think that is what marriage is all about, despite our differences, and yet we can fall in love with the same person over and over again!

my hubby and I have our own problems too ... he's ALWAYS right and wins every argument simply because he can reason things and speaks better than me ... I have spaghetti brains (yes, he called me that) which have ideas all over the shop and cannot piece them together to form a conclusive argument when I'm under attack, and he knows how to take advantage of my handicap! Same thing, I think he treats his parents way better than mine, give them more allowance, sup cards, buy them this and that and nothing for my parents except for the allowance and sup card which I give to my mum. Oh well, I think we all have our own problems to work with ... but the main thing is to love each other and accept them for who they are, and not trying to change them.

For me, I turn to God, I complain to Him and tell him to change my hubby, cos I cant do it, cos he'll only think I'm a nag or a control freak. Usually, after I pray, my hubby will change! hehe ... like last night, he was telling me how God told him to be nicer to me cos he's very impatient and scolds me so often. I just kept quiet and thank God he answered my prayer! At least my hubby knows how impatient he is with me and I see him apologising to me after he snap at me last night! haha ... to me, that's an improvement, at least he's aware and apologised. I think changes takes time.

Grace Toh (rain_toh) : I see. From what I know, it's rather difficult for your hubby to go to the outlet stores unless he rents a car and drive around. Other wise, the things in Canada is not exactly cheaper than Singapore due to the exchange rate and their high taxes. I used to think that Mac Cosmetics will be cheaper there since it originated there, but I was wrong! It turns out to be about the same or slightly more after conversion!

Bibs:

I also don't recall using the bibs when J was very young. Until he starts solids at 6M. I have a stack of brand-new Toys R Us hand-me-down bibs from my sis-in-law which I find very good --- good size (not tiny), tie rather than velcro (my son has yanked off his bib b4 the velcro is so easy to undo) and there is a PVC backing so clothes are definitely not stained(not sure why it's hard to find bibs with PVC backing nowadays).

sori gals, i cnt find the thermometer spree thread too.. it has been quite sometime ago.. ard end mar or early apr period.. i cnt find e organiser contact, email etc.. has deleted once i collected my item.. paiseh.. i will keep a lookaout again n inform asap if any...

shazz, let us noe if any collection pt..else i opt for registered mail..

wingkei, are u working? i mean having your own income.. if yes, then you can still buy your own family souvenirs instead of asking your husband to get it.
my hubby also always say i spend alot of money to buy this and that, but i always tell him that i spend my own money what.. then he also nothing to say. hehe.. anyway, do enjoy your holiday.

Milk Bottles:

For a start, you can take 2 small and 2 next size as Ava suggested. I bought NUK Premium bottles for J. He was such a small drinker, the small bottles can last him till almost 1 YO.

For #2, I only bought 2 small Bfree plus for now. Hoping the other bottle manufacturers can start producing BPA-free bottles (Avent mentioned they are looking at it this summer).

Shazz
"for this trip, shall we fall in love with each other all over again?"
Wow u are so romantic siah!
Yup yup... i also feel its v important to fall in love with the same person over n over again.

Hey l'lCY,
U are a user of bumwear rite? Do u have to change the innner insert whenever the bb pees? Or it can last to how many pees huh?

For the poo rite, once it poo, have to change the inner insert liao rite? Wat abt the outer diaper itself?

I am just wondering how are we going to handle bb laundry? Do u all hand-wash or accumulate it till washing machine load size huh??

Btw, one last qn, anyone got any nice WEEKEND maids to introduce?

Bigtoes/Ava: hehe! I dun exercise, so lunch walks become my sole form of ex lor...
Sure thing, we can meet up but not this week, as I'm on leave cos hb was back yesterday...

milk bottles: kiddy palace SA told me to get 3 4-oz STORAGE ones will do. The storage ones come with the cap, and like Ava said, it's useful when u need to stock up on EBM. I only had to buy matching teats.

I got one other free 4-oz milk bottle when i bot the IQ24 steriliser, so that makes it a total of 4 small bottles + Size 1 teats.

My mom and sis/SILs told me NOT to stock up too many small bottles. By 1-2nd mth, you will change teat size and bottles, perhaps even brand if the bb is very 'tardy'. Bfree milk bottles CAN fit into Avent sterilisers. THe SA at Mothers Work demo'd to me, but u need to remove one plastic layer inside...

I'm getting my bro to get me Desitin Creamy from NYC where he is heading this wk. I'm not sure what other things I need him to get for me.

Bibs: I only bought 3-in-1 pack from H&M cos they were so cheap. I'm also using those soft wash cloths like Meie.

Mustela: I'm using the toiletries for nb. Will change to Cetaphil or Johnsons and Johnsons. MY sis is using the latter and found it ok. I think can stock up Cetaphil and Lactacyd now that Watsons is having a sale.

For wipes, my sis recommended NTUC housebrand ($8+ for 3 packs) which she said are cheap, big sheets (like Pigeon), not soapy (unlike most brands) and thick enuff (you dun want your bb's faeces to seep thru as u wipe rite?).

Sippy cups: who's stocking up on sippy cups? I know it's still early, but I"m tempted to buy some.

I think I'm almost done with my shopping. Only left the car seat, stroller, bb carrier, and other sundry stuffs: bb wipes, cotton balls, cotton applicators, disposable diapers, BF pillow (if need be).

mrsseng: welcome! I am with DR LC CHENG, TMC too.

Sarah: Sterlised Gauze from NUK. $16.50 / box at Kiddy Palace. u r talking abt bb Oral wipes rite?

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) : me not romantic lah, hee, just felt the need to keep a marriage going is not easy, need to put in effort and compromise. The key is communication I think.

Wingkei: if talking to your hubby doesn't work, how about penning/typing out a letter to let him know how you feel? Just start the letter by saying you can't phrase things properly when you talk face to face and want to avoid arguments, so this letter is to let him understand you more. From there I think he'll be more open to read and find out. And I think the best time to do it is when you're not home. And you can suggest he write a reply if he got anything to say too. I believe when someone takes time to write/pen down their thoughts, they think through before they write and not say it out of anger.

Spree Collection Point: can collect during weekday office hours till 7 plus at Bugis Junction. But will update again and pass you my contact details via email when items are here.

Flos: forgot to ask you why you ditch Dr Lee I-Wuen, she's nice leh!

Mrs Yap/Shazz
Hard for Wingkei to fall in love again, with in laws tagging along!

Wingkei
Try to have alone time with hb lah!

Sippy cups
Flos, i found these to be a waste of time...adan never drank from them, only uses them to play!!!

Avent
If u r using Avent, get the variable flow teats...can go from NB to older babies, cos you can change the flow from slow to fast. if not u'll be buying new teats every 4-6 months!

Ava:i cannot resist those sippy cups. I think my nephews only start sippy from these at 12mos. SOOOOO COLOURFUL and LOVELY!!!

You mean the variable flow teats allows u to use from nb-6mos? "Airflex" series? Pls clarify.

Tks!

Storeberry, Jaymickey: I'm collating orders for kids crafts and SB crafts on this website now. Some of the SB paper kits and embellishments are quite cheap. If you have any, let me know.
www.orientaltrading.com

There is free shipping. Happy spreeing..

But I don't follow the thread as closely, pls email me the orders [email protected]

Shazz: Dr Lee I W is really nice. But she was frequently not around cos she is one of the RMG partners. On a no. of occasions, when I went back to SG for my pap smear, she was not there to see me. I had to see Dr Watt.

I picked Dr Cheng becos he's such a workholic who never fails to make time for his patients and makes my hb feel very comfy (u know, man to man rapport?).

Some yrs ago, a 42-yr-old mom died after giving birth to her twins at Raffles Hospital, so I got frightened by the bad press.

But I still go there for my dental treatments.

<font color="0000ff">Motherhood Fair
oh yes... anyone going to the fair today?? Do keep us updated on the bargains there ya

Ava, you took the words right out from my mouth! haha.... I was also thinking how to fall in love again with in laws tagging along. But at least, for this trip, I insisted that we get separate rooms, and not all share a room or an apartment. I kept telling him I'm bringing a sexy lingerie along and if he wants me to be exposed to others, then fine, share a room. ;p If not, throughout the trip, we will be sharing a room or apartment with my in laws.

Jessi, yes, I'm working and earning my own income, although lesser than hubby but stil substantial. But it's because of this lesser than hubby that he thinks he can control the financial matters at home. He always tells me that even though I am spending my own money, our combined finance is affected. And for trips, he holds the purse strings.

Flos
Twins @ Raffles: Don't say that kinda thing leh...scary shit.

Avent teats...can't remember the name, but it states variable flow i believe...it should be OK from NB if i remember correctly. do check!

wingkei
Do you have your own bank account or all is combined? I made sure I kept my own account, so I can spend without having to report or justify all expenses, not that my hb is fussy about it lah...that way, u can always have ur own money to spend on your parents...just wondering, what do your parents think about all this?

<font color="0000ff">Choc Eclairs

Juz wondering if any mummies staying in the west wanna share to order from this site... i'm dreaming of the eclairs but den got not enuff orders to qualify for free delivery leh (need at least $100)

http://regavonestop.blogspot.com/

If interested do let me know yah..

SOOOOOOOO Sorry, i was tactless
*TOUCHWOOD* it was a genuine case of shortage of blood at RH. i was pretty scared after that incident.

I think I got the 4-in-pack small milk bottles. So I hv 5, not 4 as I previously posted here.

I am like u, I hv my own salary a/c, own checking a/c, own trading a/cs, own FD a/c (local and overseas), own credit card (but pegged to DH's bank a/c so he pays every single cent I spend).

I've shown all my loots to my DH last nite and he is impressed by my efficiency! I've just shown him my credit card statement, he is ok leh!!! I know some things I bot were wants rather than needs, e.g. those imported frivolous wall stickers and expensive branded towels.

Hi Bigtoes,Ava &amp; Flos
My doc is Dr KC Yeo. Hv u MTB confirmed how many bedded rm u be in? i'm thinking of booking the 4bedded cos need to confirm on my next appt.

Anyone going to the MotherHood fair today?

Ava, I do have my own bank account. He hates it when I spend on my parents though. They do not know, I don't dare to let them know for fear of them worrying.

motherhood fair
anyone know what time it closes? thinking of going down today or tmr after work..

sasa, the eclairs and cream puffs on the website looks good. when are you planning to order? :p

mummy of twins death at RH saga: i think it would have happened if it's at any other hospitals due to the complications of the mummy lah.

Flos: I agree it's rather hard to fix appt with Dr Lee within short notice period. But she's always lah. I used to park at Raffles Hospital, sometimes beside her car or Dr Thong's car. Dr Lee's car is always there before mine (before 9am). And when I leave office at 7-8 plus, her car is still there sometimes!

wingkei: I think whether or not your in-laws is there, there's still a need to communicate the objective of the trip across to your hubby. Can set a mutual agreement lor, that you're there to enjoy, so let's not argue or quarrel can? Tell him lor, someone on the forum suggested you'll fall in love again! he may scoff at the idea but I think if he loves you, he'll just put in the effort! No harm trying right?

As for in-laws travelling together, I used to travel around Italy with my in laws and hubby, we bunked in same room at some places, we still had romantic trip leh! ;) it's up to the individual ... trust me, if you make an effort to fall in love, you will. If you embark on the trip with the mentality that with your in laws around, you sure won't enjoy one, then that's it liao!

pardon me if I'm too direct, but I sometimes think it takes 2 hands to clap. For counselling, it's useless if you're the only one willing to go and he's not open to the idea.

Wingkei,

The suggestion by Shazz (writing of letter) is one technique taught during the marriage encounter course that I attended with my ah lao. Its a very useful tool cos men don like to talk. its the male EGO thing.

You can try to do that but dont use it to point fingers at his faults. Don use YOU YOU YOU. it will spark off another quarrel and do encourage him to write back to u. Go have a try and see if it helps.

millie: mothers work where I bot mine
THEY ARE PRICEY (IMO), I WARN U FIRST.

mrsseng: for me, 1-bedded cos I hv many friends and relatives. dun want them to disturb my roommate.

wingkei: spend on own parents also make noise? aiyo...my DH pays for my own parents every CNY, Christmas, birthdays, weekend meals. I also spend on my in laws, e.g. mom's day, dad's day, etc.

milky: i am looking at Munchkin sippy cups.

koras, i might be going either today or tmr.
A bit lazy.. aha..
but I think I read on papers that there's a thermometer sale only for today! But they nv put the brand though.. Was 140+ down to around 70. (I think)

crayonshinchan - my hubby still rushing his assignment no time pei me go. hai.. seem all the baby stuff i go around buying with my mum he doesnt show much interest in buying

If my ah lao dares to complain abt me spending money on my family,I'll smack him silly.. ahha..but love is love, care is care.. we still need to have a balance. Though the balance is always tipped towards one side. Like i'll give more to my own parents than to his parents.

Eg if I buy 2 curry puffs for my family, his family will get 1 curry puff.. ;-)

ava
adan didnt use the sippy? how does he drink then? you mean he started drinking from cup so early? CY is really messy when he tries to drink from cup leh, now stillo n straws mostly.

goldfish
when the bb pees, you can change the inserts or the entire thing (inserts plus pocket). usually the inserts is wet but not the pocket. they will always give you more than enough inserts. but i find it a chore to do that, so i just change everything at one go, even if he only pees.

as for poo, you need to change everything, coz hte poop will land on the pocket mah. even if it is mostly on the lining, think better change for hygiene purpose...

sasa
im interested. missed the BP but i dun want that many leh. it is still a lot to be shared by 2 person leh...

hmmm...

think my hb is nicer to my family than i am leh...he is always the one forcing me to visit my parents, visit my siblings etc....and im always theone who goes "huh? very far leh"

but that actually makes me want to be nicer to his family loh. he will think of my family when he buys things, and i will think of his family loh....human mah, if i not nice to his family i oso pai sey...

ava
what is rubber maid bottles?ive gone through like three mag mag cups and a dozen of other cups oredi. coz many of these cups gets grimy after a while and difficult to wash. am trying to get one that is easy to wash...just bought a super plain cup with a cover and just insert your own straw type...so can change straws frequently...

you got any good recommendation for good cups?

Parents &amp; In-Laws
I am always fair to both families (at least i try to be for the past years) Whatever my mom gets, my MIL will get the same too. My hubby knows I am nice to his family hence whenever i have disagreement or diff opinion of matters abt my PILs, he will take my side cos he knows I am just being reasonable.
But again in-laws issues are delicate to handle...best to just filter out as much as possible.

Motherhood fair
worth going? I am thinking to get everything there...just too tedious to shop diff places..

Flu &amp; cough
been nursing them..cough till belly v pain...any remedy? I cant take honey cos of high sugar level..

Cups
Rubbermaid is a brand that makes thos plastic containers and drink bottles...it's colourless plastic body with blue cover and a flip up straw. you need to clean the straw properly (I use a cotton bud/Qtip) so it doesnt get all funky..and when it gets old, just buy a new one, cos it's only $4-5 a bottle. This is the link:

http://www.rubbermaid.com/rubbermaid/product/category.jhtml?cat=HPCat100041

Parents &amp; In-Laws
It's easiest when you aren't calculative about stuff...Wingkei, I can't believe ur hb said that U shouldnt be calculative, when it sounds like he's the one!

If my hb wants to give $1000 to his parents, I'll say go ahead...(it comes out of his pocket anyway, and he's a big boy) and if i want to give money to my parents or treat them to dinner, then he also doesnt say anything...in fact he sometimes gives me some to give them! *in my leaner times when i wasn't working