(2008/09) Sep 2008

bacon & egg
That's assuming you'll have time to shower

OMG.. my eyelids are so heavy now, I need toothpicks to hold them up...

LC
You can go buy those tankinis to wear, not necessarily maternity ones.. maybe get a size bigger or something.

I'm starting my aquafitness class this coming Saturday at KKH..

Yesterday I got myself a pair of Dorothy Perkins maternity jeans at $39, it was on sale!

skinny pig: not painful. it only takes 10mins. Been waxing for 3 years oredi. Every 3-6mths I'll strip, wherever in the world! Kekeke! It's addictive.

lanolin: got common friends. pls check

flos, thanks. ah yes, bean pillow – must remember to get it.

skinny pig, i think some mommies will prefer to go for a brazilian before delivery. i think it's v messy and possibly itchy also, when the shaved hair grow back down there, with the stitches and all (if kena episiotomy). i'd prefer to go and wax it all off also. regrowth is slower and there won't be any itchy stubble to deal with.

cloud, are you a PE teacher? i am in awe... what breed is your dog? i'm now living with 2 rabbits and 2 dogs. so far so good, i don't fall sick esp often from taking care of them; blood test for toxoplasmosis also ok. i think cats are the more tricky ones. got to be v careful when dealing with their poop.

wingkei, how about giving your hubby a taste of his own medicine? for once, you be the nitpicker (find a "violation" he would've jumped on) and see if he complies or kicks up a fuss. i would really like to suggest that you guys attend counselling to sort your differences out before bb comes along, but i am guessing your hubby will prob find it a waste of time & money.

skinnypig,

no waxing or shaving done for me. I just left it with the nurses to shave so that the gynae can have a clearer view.

Mrs Yap,
I accidentally clicked into ur hubby's name.. and it says 3 mutual friends.. was curious so i went in to see the friend's list, then i see Janice, Julian and YJ... i think of QUT immediately... Small world ah..

jasmine (piggy_jas), according to the hosp guide given by tmc, we are advised to bring:
* bedroom slippers
* cardigan/dressing gowns
* maternity brassieres
* personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
* polythene bags (for soiled items)
* sanitary belt
* sanitary towels

items tmc will provide for bb:
* bb bag
* a pair of mittens
* bb vests (didn't say how many)
* disposable diapers (didn't say how many)
* toiletries (no idea what; not specified)
* wrapping blanket

xuanting

Thanks so much... at least i got a rough guide what to prepare. =D

Anyone knows where to get the belt where we could use after birth to slim down the tummy?

<font color="0000ff">Wow... looks like it was a fun one... a pity i missed it.. when's the next one??

Swimwear
I bot my maternity (1 pc suit) from OG wor.. did get those tankinis coz realised i couldnt fit into even the XL size... weird.. hhmm.. anyway, the swimsuit costs me juz $29.90 so not a hefty investment, hehe

PJs at TMC
oh yah.. i heard we have to bring our own PJs... the gowns at TMC are those tat tie behind de.. so inconvenient for breast-feeding..</font>

Mrs Yap: Yah, you post the mummies real names! Oh no! Kekeke...My tummy not very big, hopefully can slim down faster lo.. that's my only consolation.. Haha.. Glad that your spotting stop, did you BD before that? Sometimes will rsults in brown discharge or bleeding... And since you said you missed you DH so much.. Kekeke... Mummy now have wild imgaination! :p

Flos: I accepted you liao! I think I am going to buy Ameda if my friend can get it cheaper in US for me.. At least not so ex like Medela PIS.

Koras: Leaking urine when you cough can be quite a common thing for preggies. You need to exercise your pelvic floor muscles. Do the kegels. Search online for how to do it. Manuka honey of UMF 16 up is good…but cost quite a bit though. I buy mine from Nature’s Farm.

LC:. I bought my tankini from Arena. I got separates that I mixed and matched cos my top and bottom not the same size. Hehe. Hope that I can wear it even after birth. I got a boyster bottom cos I don’t want my cellulite to be viewed by the world.

Wingkei: Oh dear dear! Sounds like the both of you should try having more ‘touch base’ sessions to share your feelings etc. I really hope the two of you can sort your differences out before the bb comes. And that your hubby will be more understanding towards your needs.

Flos: Wah! You and your DH teenage sweethearts ah? So romantic….I’ve known mine for 17 years…but I still will miss him. Hehe.

Jasmine: Slimming belt apparently still doesn’t help as much as the binding that the Malay massage ladies does. Cos the binding that is done supposedly helps shape the figure whereas the slimming belt just maybe helps support the flab but not ‘sculpt’ it.

Cloud: 200 kegels!!!! That is amazing lor! I still find it hard to do a set of 20 holds of 10 counts each! Pei fu !

PEDI: Hey! Someone just told me we shouldn’t paint our toes. True? I’ve been painting them since I was preggers. Asked the nurse at my gynae’s clinic….she said it is ok. What about your gynaes? Do they okay or veto nail varnishes?

SHOPPING = EXERCISE in my opinion la… Walking right? Hehe. But don’t burn as much calories as other exercise. Breaststroke is the best I think! My personal target is swim 3x a week, 45 min per session so that I can burn at least 1k calories a week. Hehe. I need to keep my weight in check! My arms and legs look flabbier to me now and makes me cringe.

JAMU LADY: I also want the contact! Hehe. I hope I don’t put on too much weight that I need to lose later on.

FLASHCARDS &amp; OTHER HOTHOUSING METHODS:
Ava – I’m like you in that I also worry that I might not be doing enough for my son, even though he’s still in the womb. Haven’t been all that regular in reading and talking to him.

L’l CY does GD and shichida for her son I think. Any comments on the pros and cons of these two methods?

jaymicky...
haha... yup.. wow... these are the 3 frds we talk abt last night lor... keke
How did u know them? If u know them, u probably know my hubby as well right? U also from QUT?

ava,
have to shower if i want to hug my dog. dont want my pet to feel left out cos of bb. I want my boy to grow up to be an animal lover and i want my dog to love and protect my boy too..

sasa,
I bought a 2XL size...actually i could fit a 3XL if i want to..haha...paid $39 (full suit - like those prof swimmer type)

Mrs Yap, I only know Jan... she was my sec school friend.. went over to Brisbane to visit and stayed with her back in 2003.. that's how i know YJ and Julian.. I think i heard the name "Yap" before..

U check out my wedding pics in FB, u will see Jan there too.. hee hee

storeberry
ya... alamak i didnt realise i shdnt post real name lor... jialat. But now too late liao leh, i cannot go n edit my posts... hope the affected mummies dun mind... opps... so paiseh

No lah i did not BD before that. The bleeding jus happens like tat... First time when i was sleeping in the middle of the night and my hb was still overseas. 2nd time when i was in the office and we havent been BD-ing for quite some time liao.

<font color="119911">jaline - added u to FB.

LC - u need to sign up first before u can view photos etc on FB. Just create an account with your yahoo/hotmail addy.

xuanting (xuanting) - on baby detergent for clothes &amp; special detergent for milk bottles, i am holding back on getting these first. Don't want to get so many things &amp; end up not using them. Intending to wash the baby stuff together with regular clothes &amp; use Mama lemon for milk bottles! Don't want to be too fussy about small stuff lah.

skinny pig (skinny_pig) - u need to shave down there completely! The nurse will 'inspect' &amp; clean up after u to make sure its completely hairless....(thats what happened when i went for my fibroid removal).

On jammies - u need to bring ur own to TMC. Need to get front opening for easy BF, and not pajama pants type, cos they would insert the catheter to collect urine for at least 1-2 days. I looked high &amp; low for some decent jammies (not too transparent type cos there would be visitors) - finally settled on some silk robes (like the terry towel type from hotels) from Chinatown.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - haha, i think i am the most ching chai when it comes to hygiene! Have a habit of playing with my dog, then eating...don't think i would be any different when the baby arrives!</font>

<font color="0000ff">BD-ing
hhmm... since we are on this topic.. juz needed to do a poll..

How many of you out there are still BD-ing with ur hb??

My poor hb has been a monk these 6+ mths.. n he's gonna remain as 1 i guess till after birth. juz cannot find the mood to BD and juz feel so awkward, with the tummy there. esp when i can feel bb moving</font>

jaymickey...
haha... they were seniors there... think they went over earlier than me.. i was there since feb 2003 only. They were staying in Kelvin Grove then??? I cant remember le. haha... Yes... Yap is my hubby and i am Mrs Yap... keke ... think Julian's surname also Yap...

yeh yeh.. Kelvin Grove.. nice place to stay.. rental was reasonable too.. No.. Julian's is Mr Buay or something like that.. cannot rem very well already..

bigtoes,

For bb detergent, I think it's advisable to get. Adult detergent is too harsh on NB's delicate skin. Unless u really really rinse very very thoroughly.

For bb milk bottle detergent, Mrs Wong did advise that it's not really necessary but you must really rinse it all off. Their system is very delicate in the 1st few months, that's why need to sterilize etc. For this reason, I still buy it (cos the Pigeon one is apparently mild enough to be eaten...) I'm still using it for J's bottle though it's no longer necessary.

SarahMay

Oh if that is the case i won't spend the money on slimming belt.

Bigtoes
U mean we can't wear those button pyjamas with shirt n pants? Have to be button dress ar?

SarahMay: you swim 3X a wk. U r very fit!! I only shop for hours, walk a lot up and down Orchard Road, from Suntec to Raffles City only.

xuanting: your list is very useful. Yeah, saw many preggers walking in STRIP to strip.

Wah, so many common friends. small world sia...

BD-ing,

Yes, me and my hubby still BD-ing, but cut down on frequency - once a week and I asked him to be gentle a bit due to my tummy
And he's on top all the times ... : )

They are still men afterall, still have their own 'needs'..

Big toes: I agree with Lok on the detergents, though I'm but a first-time mtb.

I'm using Attack, super strong I suspect. And Mama Lemon, also very strong and leaves plates squeaky clean wor...think again

I think 1-pc nighties are better than 2-pc jammies rite? esp if u undergo c-section.

SarahMay
I still go for my monthly mani/pedi &amp; also paint my own nails in-between. I think it's ok, so long as you paint your nails in a well-ventilated area.

Baby Detergent
Baby's skin is very sensitive.. so better to use special baby detergent to wash their clothes, bedding &amp; towels.. I bought Pigeon one.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - hah, i think i am the opposite. Hubby is more afraid of injuring me or the baby or causing premature contractions!

Jasmine (piggy_jas) - i think its common to be using the catheter to collect urine for 1-2 days so mommies don't have to make the trip to the loo. Would be quite difficult to have the tubing up the jammies pants. 2nd time mommies - is that right?

Lok (lok) - Would the CL wash the baby clothes seperately? If so, then i would get the clothing detergent for her. But once she leaves, i think i would just dump everything into the same wash with the adult clothes! For washing the bottles, i better get one of those baby brands then

I think I have to go Chinatown &amp; see if can get nice jammies.... I only have those two pc kind...

Yah think normal detergent is too strong for bb so will buy separates.

Mrs Yap: Keke.. I am teasing you lah... But really glad everything is fine now. When is your next check up?

The thread moves fast today!! No need to work on monday? Or no mood to work? Haha!

yo ladies,
thanks for the nice comments abt my kiddoes! they're a handful.

please add me to facebook too. wanna see the pics. [email protected]

flos,
wow! you're efficient. bought so many items already. but like shazz, i won't be getting nursing bras till much later coz breast size still can change. i didn't use any plastic sheet previously to protect my mattress. can't remember if i stained it. but think it's a good idea to use lah. maybe i'll just use those rubber mats for bb.

ava,
i'm like you. not very hardworking mum. never really do the flash cards thingy with the kids. the only thing i do most often is read to them and jared loves reading. when i hear abt all the shichida and different teaching methods, i also like you... switch off.

mrs yap,
glad to know everything is fine.

sasa,
hmm, i must admit i wish i have more BD sessions. but hb is just not that into me... i feel like a horny bitch hankering after him. so i've given up liao.

l'lcy,
hey there. everything ok back home?

detergent etc
thanks, guys. will this be covered in the prenatal classes?

bigtoes, they made you shave yourself before your op and then inspect? i might also be bringing robes instead of nightgowns to the hosp. can't seem to find any front-button ones i like (v stiff, v ugly or v oversized).

i'm also quite chin chai re contact with my dog cos i'm the one cleaning her and cooking her food so i'm confident about her cleanliness. as for my wretched wabbits, i usu wear rubber gloves when cleaning their cage.

flos, u still keeping up with your waxing? i haven't done it since i tested positive. hubby said no, just in case. am quite sure it'll be quite painful when i go do my pre-delivery strip, esp since we'll be quite swollen down there around the time we're due right? they always tell us one wk before and after af v painful cos down there more swollen.

xuanting, yupz i'm a PE teacher but not teaching PE anymore since i got pregnant.. teaching English and Maths (so boring!!).. i used to be very active before i got pregnant so hoping that its going to help me during delivery.

my dog is a mixed silky terrier.. i think that she's mixed with schnauzer.. 5 years old already..quite hyper..

bacon &amp; egg.. went swimming this morning and have discovered that if i swim slowly, i actually don't feel any pull on my stomach..

Millie.. er.. shopping is a form of exercise coz it does involve walking.. but i guess that you must do a lot of walking/shopping for it to be really effective..

i went for a prenatal yoga lesson on sunday morning .. a place called La Vida Loft but wasn't really impressed, i was the only one there and the yoga instructor spent most of the lesson talking.. a bit of a waste of money..

Sarahmay.. i do 100 when i wake up in the morning (when i'm still lying in bed) and 100 before i sleep.. actually it doesn't take very long..

Mei, are you attending the prenatal class at KKH also? my lessons are on saturday morning at 9am.. i was considering joining the aquafitness.. but think i'd rather just go swimming on my own..

LC, i bought my swimming costume from Old Navy..

What is BD? Sorry I'm quite 'sua ku' so dunno this term. Hehe.

Cloud: How many counts do u hold each squeeze for? 100 is a lot man at one go. If squeeze and release is easy...but i read that must try to do at least 10 counts each. so 1 set of 20 / 10 counts each is rec. Must do 5 sets at least, according to what I read. And being so fit...I'm sure u will have a very easy labour!

Flos: Me not fit? Now making up for lost time...i want natural delivery. As natural as possible...so must start doing preparations now. I don't want epidural or episiotomy...so I better work harder now lor. Hehe.

Aquafitness: Is the antenatal one very different from usual?

JAMMIES: Was thinking of one piece but then after thinking, maybe two piece might be better cos one pc tends to ride up in bed? Dun wanna freeze in hospital bed. Hehe. Where to get nice and comfy button front PJs?

WAXING: Anyone waxed recently? Thinking of going for it before I do my bloom nude sitting. Hehe. But won't if it is going to be painful.

bacon &amp; egg
No offence meant :0 it's just that I found it hard to find time to shower the first few months...usually one shower a day at 3pm!!!

SarahMay, actually i do more of the fast squeezes, the physiotherapist at my prenatal class said that fast squeezes are good for bladder control. i do, do the long squeezes but not so many sets.

i'm so lost reading all the post, been so busy at work till can only browse and go. these few days still need to go on some boring course.

i will be going on a holiday this weekend, does anyone knows if i need to get some letter from the gynae for the airline or something?

talking about BD, hubby and me haven't BD for very long already. he doesn't seem to have the "needs" leh. i'm the horny one but he doesn't want to do it cos he scared that he will hurt the baby.. :p

btw, i added those who had posted their facebook account here

BD: What in the world is BD?!!! Someone pls enlighten me!

Jessi: Yes, get a travel letter from the doctor if you can. Someone here, was it Flos or Sunrays, got asked for it. And she stuffed it in her checked-in baggage. had to wait for it to be retrieved. So safer to get it and carry it along with u.

Cloud: Fast squeezes ah? That one easier than the long ones...hehe.

cloud
Yes, I'm attending both the antenatal class as well as aquafitness class at KKH. My antenatal class is finishing soon, two more lessons to go. Aquafitness commencing this saturday.

SarahMay
Haha.. I also got no idea what BD stands for, but I know that it means making out.. lol. Banging doors? Haha... Wait for someone here to enlighten us!

sarahmay, do you think a faxed copy of the letter is good enough? cos not sure if i got the time to make a trip down to the clinic. it's quite a last minute trip, leaving on sat and i still got so many things not done yet.

mei &amp; sarahmay, if i'm not wrong BD stands for baby dance

BabyMall items are here for collection. The rompers are really soft and cute! Pls pay for shipping. Account 150280532 POSB Savings

Storeberry: The layette set was not shippied. Will do a refund. The amount shown is after deduction for shipping.

<table border=1><tr><td>PreggieBlues</TD><TD></TD><TD>32.92</TD><TD>26.34</TD><TD>38.19</TD><TD>34.8</TD><TD> $15.40 </TD><TD> $15.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD>18.97</TD><TD>15.18</TD><TD>22.01</TD><TD>22.01</TD><TD> $2.80 </TD><TD> $(12.27) </TD></TR><TR><TD>LC</TD><TD></TD><TD>16.96</TD><TD>13.57</TD><TD>19.67</TD><TD>19.8</TD><TD> $14.00 </TD><TD> $14.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milky</TD><TD></TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>7.96</TD><TD>11.54</TD><TD>11.54</TD><TD> $5.60 </TD><TD> $5.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Yap</TD><TD></TD><TD>9.48</TD><TD>7.58</TD><TD>11.00</TD><TD>11</TD><TD> $5.60 </TD><TD> $5.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>YingLing</TD><TD></TD><TD>6.98</TD><TD>5.58</TD><TD>8.10</TD><TD>8.1</TD><TD> $3.50 </TD><TD> $3.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grace Toh</TD><TD></TD><TD>23.94</TD><TD>19.15</TD><TD>27.77</TD><TD>27.9</TD><TD> $14.00 </TD><TD> $14.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bacon&amp;Eggs</TD><TD></TD><TD>13.97</TD><TD>11.18</TD><TD>16.21</TD><TD>20.84</TD><TD> $5.60 </TD><TD> $5.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

yaya, i have just gone for my waxing session too..
I am the one who recommended vivian, anyway, but i normally did my service in centrepoint instead of CCK..

brazilian still feel pretty much the same as before...no much difference. Just that, i feel hotter..haha, prob because of our higher body temp ba.

i think it's much cleaner down there that I've waxed...haha!

was out for training the whole afternoon and there are so many posts today! hehe

shall try to keep up and answer the questions asked if I can rem. ;)

Flos: sorry, can't recall where the Perfect Mum outlets are cos I've stayed away from them since I outgrew the bras so fast and realised I was given bad advice by the pushy salesgirls.

Ava and Lok: thanks for the advice on BF, will try that out! =)

BD ... also dunno what it means, Bedding? haha ... anyway, read in context and it seems to be that. Hmmn, hubby and I are still active but we have to be creative so that I dun feel uncomfortable. But frequency wise, we did it most during the 2nd trimester. ;p

FLos - I've added u ...yah, got common friends fromm the weirdest places!!! it's interesting who you know... hahaha..I've only recently got reconnected with Ms Tham, who is my sec school classmate!

Pedi / Mani - I have been doing it all this while. It's perfectly fine.

sarahmay / mrs yap- how do you find time to exercise regularly? it is tough man.....

WAxing - REALLY MUST WAX before giving birth? sorry very suaku....but I don't like the pain.

Ava - ok .. no shichida / glenn doman stuff for u. I don't think I'll have the energy either. heh heh

went to Robinsons to check out mamabel nursing bras by triumph. Cannot make it lah...so aunty. No offence to those who bot it. I will look elsewhere and anyway, like u all said, no hurry. breast size will change.

BD is indeed Baby dance.

Jessi: not sure if faxed copy is acceptable. mine was original. whereabts r u heading to?

xuanting/lemon: I think it's not painful to wax because natural birth delivery is more painful rite?!! I must go for my session soon.

saw those bb wipes got expiry dates. am not gonna grab them now.

bot my whisper ultra long pads though. i swear by whisper only.

cloud, i got my bean sprout pillow from a BP here. but i saw Spring is selling it at $16.90 and comes with additional free pillow case.

sarahmay, ya i think if i can't get the letter from the clinic then will have check with the airline if they accept faxed.

lanolin: oh, i met up with her a few times in Shanghai. i knew her DH first!!! They are trying to conceive I heard.

oi, so u know my cousin is it?! how come u know her?!

I also do pedi. I just did my mani and pedi in Shanghai two wks ago.