(2008/09) Sep 2008

shazz,

That's what i used to. Leave the other side clipped on with the breastpad. Need to rotate to balance out the 2 breasts. Must be fast in rotation, cos you will be squirting milk all over the place if in let-down mode.

Ava,

Have u tried it before? Latch one side and express the other? Sounds very acrobatic! I don't have those breastfeeding pillow so I have to cradle J while he feeds. Cannot imagine having to express the other side --- need special equipment right??

Hi jaymickey...
i dun think i add Janice to my FB leh... but think she is in my friendster account. Hmm... i havent really spoke to her but she is one of my hubby's good friend from QUT. Small world ya!

Hi Bigtoes...
yup... tats the condo. I went swimming there on Vesak day... keke. No wonder even yr toilet layout the same pattern as hers lor. Small world again!

Thank you for the kind thoughts. I don't feel very comfortable staying alone at home, as I'm the imaginative kind, will imagine all kinds of 'scary' things. When his parents come over, he also switches on the air-con for them, without saying anything. His logic is, it's more worthwhile cos more people. In other words, my sister alone is not worth it? And I don't understand why he can't see that it may also be good to have someone to stay over to keep me company once in a while when he is not around. How would I dare to invite any of my family to stay over in future if this is what happens everytime? He is also always asking his parents if they want to stay over without telling me in advance or asking for my opinion.

LC - today cough out green phlegm. so trying sarahmay de method le. everytime cough my urine seep out a bit irrating

Lok
Yeah I tried that before. dont need special equipment...and i didnt have a bf pilloow either...only thing is baby gets distracted cos of the pump sound...! esp for electric ones! if too difficult, get those breast shells for collecting milk lah.

mickey (bbmouse)
wow... finally the items arrived. cant wait to see them.

Koras... i am also having cough... i cough until my backpain but urine seeping out is kind of scary.

SarahMay...
shopping till drop dead considered as EXERCISE or not har? keke

Mrs Yap - er ya lo. now even keep coughing a bit urine also drip out

now have to wear pad when going out
mi cough till thoat a bit pain and my son inside keep 'bouceingup' lol

ava,
how old is your adan now? have u exposed flashcards to him? u heard of the flashcards from "my little ones"?

i've got the flashcards for my girl b4 she turns one, and she's learning those words at home while i'm at work. there are a total of 9sets in a complete set, and they are quite comprehensive i must say. and it also works as a memory tool as our kids are developing their memory skills.

if u r keen, u can take a look at:
http://www.mylittleones.com.sg/products_flashcards_ABC.htm

koras.
is it normal or not? doesnt sound normal to me leh. Wanna go see yr family doc to check? Where got pp cough until urine seep out one? This might mean yr bladder is weak leh... Go see a doc bah

lanolin: Certain stuffs can be gotten at Cheong Choon, others not. E.g. CC doesn't carry Braun thermoscan, so I had to get it at First Few Yrs (FFY). Also, CC doesn't sell cots and bedding sets that u find at Mothercare, Mothers Wk and FFY. For Medela pumps, FFY are having a darn good discount now, and Taka, even better. Isetan & Robs, forget it; mostly sold out.

Yes, I'm also going to Ikea this weekend!!

SarahMay: Yeppers, my sis told me no need to buy the PIS 2008 series, if I'm not gonna BF exclusively. I'm a slack mom when it comes to BF-ing. No more than 3 mths. If got milk, count myself lucky. If no milk, intend to sell off my $279 unopened Mini Elec Plus package at ebay or SM forum. At least I dun feel the pinch.

Mrs Yap: Hehe! I've known my DH for 15 yrs liao...

Mrs Yap: Aiyo...you post the mommies' real names here?!! Wait our colleagues know we're cyberloafing...

Jasmine: I'm not that 'on' myself either. I'd waited for the GSS to pounce and prowl on those items. I think u shd do likewise for the big-ticket items. It's really cheaper. Think of INFLATION INFLATION INFLATION hor.

Big Toes: I think I also need to visit the dentist, as well as STRIP to strip off my hair down there!

Millie: I got the "The First Years" drying rack and organiser from First Few Years at Paragon. It's not necessary lah, just that I needed to accumulate $300 to get their VIP card. The rack costs $30.90 I think, and yes, !@^#!@^% expensive. Better to get a normal one from Ikea.

I'll go to Robs for the nursing bras too.

aloevera
Adan is turning 4 in two weeks...time flies! I was not a very diligent mum (still am not) when it comes to these things! thanks for the link

Incontinence
If your cough gets very bad, i'd recommend getting the Tena lady pads (not the diapers lah). much better than normal ones...

wingkei, i would advise that you go ahead to get your mum or sis to come over to your house n keep you company. My mum did that for the first night when my hubby have to go reservist overnight duty on alternate days. Once your mum or sis is there already he also cant do anything. For me, last 3 weeks i have been going back to my mum's place to sleep on alternate nights and made my hubby fetch me home when he came back in the morning. I make my hubby know that my family especially my mum dotes on me ALOT and he the way he treats me will never compare up to my own mum. so he will not complain so much about me going back home to stay or my sis coming over to accompany me. (In the first trimester, my sis have been coming over everyday in the afternoon to keep me company and leaving in the evening.) We on the air con and my hubby did not mention much about it. Especially its easier if we have air con for all the rooms in the house and i simply refuse and run away from every attempt of my hubby to buy a fan. since you are working, tell him that if he is so stingy on the electrical bills, then you pay for the air con usage yourself lo.

Ava/aloevera,

Neither am I a very diligent mum. Think my J prefers physical activities. And he learns best when he likes the things/activities (e.g. he picked up the word "ice cream" very quickly).

Loves music as well, so maybe when he's a bit older, send him for music class. Now besides Childcare, he's going for GUG class (which I'm stopping after this term cos he gets scolded at every class for running around...)

As for flashcards, I have a few (mainly bought from Popular sale). Hardly flash them to J though... Really pei fu the amt of time some mummies invest in flashing the cards...

Lok/Ava: yep, those breast shells were what i was talking abt just now. The medela lady told me to cup the other boob with the shell to collect some milk. She said won't be that much one lah...

koras, i have the same problem too when i sneeze. so i have to make sure i always close my thighs tightly when i sneeze or i'll shout 'SHIT' very loudly(if at home). even husband knows what happened when i shout that word, he will run to get toilet paper or tissue for me already. Try going to toilet more often, it helps for me. nowadays getting less of these 'accidents'.

Flos

We are different ppl. Hahaha

Yup, i also waited for GSS to start buying things. But i'm wondering if i could buy wet tissue and milk bottles now and keep it to bb arrives. I'm not into mattress, cot, breast pump, car seats and strollers.

I'm waiting for bb's arrival then will buy car seats and strollers in case bb does not like it. My hb's friend advise to us.

piggy jas: oic, then try Cheong Choon lor. All year round (if self-collection), Pigeon bb wipes cost $8.70 for 3 packs. Watsons $9.95. Leading dept stores $10.50. My sis asked me to buy NTUC housebrand. Equally good. No need to buy Pigeon.

milk bots: yes, grab now.

anyone to share whats the coughing remedy? besides manuka honey? I am high on sugar on my blood level and need to watch my diet, hence honey is out.

wow, looks like everyone had fun at the gathering!
that cake looks so yummilicious...

mrs yap, am glad to know that you're alright. do continue to take things easy the next few days just in case.

baby detergent
is this a must? what are the ok brands to get?

items in baby's cot
what goes in here? i hear we should minimise items here cos bb may get smothered by them. besides pillow (intend to use folded cloth nappy), what else would be good to have and non-hazardous? if swaddling, no need to use blanket right?

prenatal classes at tmc
anyone started yours yet? i forgot to register after my 20wk scan! hope i can still get a weekend slot when i sign up this week.

o ya, that pee-ing problem...

i always make sure i bring extra panty liners out nowadays also. but it seems to have gotten better since i tried out those kegel exercises ava and a few others recommended.

Koras - I also had urine coming out when I coughed very hard two months back when my throat itched badly. cough until ribcage pain.. can imagine how bad it was.. Only recover abt a month later.. try to avoid fruit juices and drink plenty of water as suggested by SarahMay, take warm water..

Mrs Yap - where did you get your swim wear? I cannot wear my swimwear already and have to get one. My gynae was kindof scolding me for bumming around and not doing exercise
and my colleagues are commenting that my bum is getting bigger and bigger and bigger!!! jalet. it might stay permanently!

skinnypig,

At least in TMC, no need to shave. The nurses will do the necessary before the delivery but of course, they won't do it very nicely lah.

koras, i have the same problem too. now doing at least 200 pelvic floor exercises a day to strengthen my bladder muscles, i find that its working. there's a new incontinence pad called Poise, can get it from guardian or people's park.

wingkei, i have a dog and i've not fallen sick because of her, in fact i intend to ensure that my dog gets to interact with my BB coz I want him to be a dog lover just like me.

Exercise.. i'm a strong believer that exercise will help in delivery and now that i don't have a low placenta condition, i'm going to exercise as often as possible. now that its school holidays, i've started going swimming in the mornings. My classmate from NIE (also a PE teacher) had a 5 hour delivery and only spent around 20 minutes pushing, i hope to follow in her shoes..

Flos

U can go to vivian too. She is located at CCK. I went there last month. 1st time being with her, i feel comfortable with her too. She is recommended by someone in this forum (i can't rmb who =x)

WAHS... all the mummies who attended the gathering don't look like those "auntie" mummy seen on the MRT station. =)

But i'm so blur who is who. HAHA~

Btw, anyone knows whether do we need to bring pyjamas to TMC when delivering? And do hosp give us anything when we discharge? Usually we stay 1 day or 2 days there?

xuanting: two schools of thots abt bb detergent. Some say need, some say use adults one will do. I got Kodomo to wash all new sheets, clothes, towels and nappies.

items in baby's cot: I skipped the matching quilt for my cot. Using sleep sack until perhaps 2 yrs old. I got matching pillow case, but no pillow yet. NB sleep on folded nappies rite? I got bean pillow. No bolsters. The clearer the cot, the safer.

skinny pig: YES. Not shave but wax.

koras/cloud
Yess, Poise is not bad too
hehe

TMC you need to bring own PJs and I dont remember getting anything other than a baby diaper bag, some left over pampers and maybe some milk samples.

jaymickey...
yup... saw her a few times... she attended our wedding too. Haha... infact last night be4 we slept, my hubby was still talking abt his Uni frds.

BTW how u find out we know each other har?? I realised i didnt even add her in Friendster too!
Neither i add her in Facebook... I probably saw her profile from my hubby's network. Amazing leh u... how u know huh.

swim wear,
i got mine cheap at Kids Mall (IMM)

pets,
I have a dog and she sleeps with me even now. No intention to give away even when bb arrives. I will only restrict myself from hugging my dog and my bb at the same time. Will probably hug dog first, shower, then attend to bb.

swimming,
swan last wkend, notice my tum tum will kinda pull me downwards..v clumsy..maybe not use to swimming with a big tummy yet..