(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahmay: the only place I know with sizes for D/E and above is Marks & Spencer. They have very comfy maternity and nursing bras that are non-wired. I'm already wearing the biggest size they have during my 2nd trimester. Found bigger cutting and more comfy bras at M&S. =)

shazz: i saw one common friend Ms Pang on your FB. pls check
U attend the same church?

flos, i just checked with my sis that usually airlines will need the letter if after 28 weeks but i will still try to get the original just in case. i'm going london, still thinking if i should spend a day in paris cos i don't know if i still can walk so much or not

shazz: I went to M&S just now too. Do they sell maternity bras? I didn't see any!

Oh, cool, so u can buy many nice bb clothes and bedding sets in London and Paris!!! Maybe Maclarens and Mothercare stuffs are cheaper there, after VAT refund?! hahah! Lucky mommy! How far are you along?

Flos: Ms P and I used to be colleagues years ago at a local retailer ;p we lost touch but got connected thru ex-colleague's FB

yes, they have maternity and nursing bras. I think they're more comfy and prettier than the Triumph ones ... those are so hideous! haha

ok, i know which one. she was that dept store's in-house fashion designer afer she returned from italy. she was my ex-classmate. small world.

wah piang, mamabel really will frighten off my DH boy! *faint*

yeah, she was the designer, I was doing A&P =)

actually, my hubby is joking that my bras are so huge like parachutes ... and it looks like his mum's bras! *flip*

flos, don't think i will buy bedding sets there as they will be quite heavy ya?
sure will get bb clothes, but it'll be my first time there so don't know what is cheap or not. i'm reaching 24 weeks.

Jessi: enjoy your trip! I think summer sale wld have started so it's good time to shop in London! Their sale is really good ... not like our GSS ... their sale can be 50-70% off for last seasons stuff. Very good deal!

shazz, if there are really summer sales going on there then it will be great! hehehe.. looking forward to have some good buys there.

Hi Sarah: BD means Baby-dancing aka making love.. Kekeke...

Yah DH seems not interested in BD-ing these few mths, I also don't know how he manage! Haha!

Jessi: Enjoy your holidays!! Remember to go H&M, sure have cheap & nice bb clothes!

BBmous (Mickey): Emailed you on my a/c no.. Aiyoo, why bbmall so blur...
And can emailed me how much you selling your Palmers Cocoa butter? Thanks!

Bigtoes,

Yes, the CL will definitely handwash the bb clothes.

Even after she leaves, I think it's still good to wash separately. BB skin is super delicate, especially in the first few months. BB soft and smooth skin only kicks in much later (I still remember the "bb acne", milk rashes, heat rashes, eczema etc that J suffered from when he's very young. Of course, now that he's 2 YO, he has such nice skin).

Think my days of having good sleep are gone again, now I have difficulty sleeping well, due to my bump & I wake up several times in the night to pee. Yesterday my tummy felt somehow uncomfortable...

Storeberry: The only explanation I can offer is that maybe the inventory for this item is already running low when the order was placed. And as there is timing gap between when the orders are placed, and when they actualy pack the orders, the item went OOS during that time. They actually did a credit into my credit card. I saw that refund, but didn't understand what it was and where it was coming from, until I receive the invoice which indicated this item as "out of inventory".

Hey for the palmers, just $9 will do. If you take it, I'll pack the items together. Hey, got to start applying the cream leh, do you start to feel itchy at the tummy area?

Mei,

One way to look at this: it is just nature's way of mentally preparing you for the NB's arrival. Wave bye bye to uninterrupted sleep (at least for a short while and pray hard that your NB will learn to sleep through very soon)...

Hi Mei...

mi too... wake up at least twice to pee...

can't Zzzz well oso.. moreover i dun like to sleep side way...

in the end.. i feels so sleepy during day time... esp after lunch.... Zzzzzz

Morning ladies, i have also been waking up 2-3 times a night to pee. and the pee is not alot, just need to go. then once before i sleep and when i wake up. even now when i just started work for an hour, my eyes feel like closing. -_-Zzz

Hi all MTB

This is my first post here. All along i am a silent reader and i gather a lot of information and experience from all of you. Thanks very much.

I am also a Sep MTB and am coming to my 27 weeks this week. I just found to my horror that my gynae do not have any package deal. I ask around friends and colleagues and all their gynae offer them package which i think is definitely cheaper. I am worry about the costs involve as hubby and i are not big earners.

My gynae is in Mount E and she charge $50 consultation and $70 for scanning in every visit. I remember my 20-week detailed scan I paid about $350 (including GST). I called up the clinic and they told me that they will charge per visit till delivery and the delivery cost as follows :
Normal Delivery - $1500-$2000
Caesarian - $2500-$3000

Till now, I think I have spent about $1200 on all the consultation, scanning, tests, vitamins....

DH and I are now contemplating whether to change gynae at this time as I am going to be in third trimester very soon. If i change gynae, will the new gynae redo all the tests?
Can any of you share the package deal your gynae offer?

Recently, DH's colleague delivered in Mount E and she paid only $1600 for normal delivery. Her package start from week 20. I think this is very cheap compare with what I am paying.

On another note, I am also not very happy with my gynae as she is not very encouraging. I am consider very old to be able to conceive and had a surgery in Sep 2006 to remove cysts and fibroids. So we I manage to conceive, she is very surprise. For every visit, she will say "It is a miracle" and show me the "I-still-can't-believe-this-is-true" look. Imagine how i feel.

What do you all think if i change gynae at this time.

Thanks for all advice.

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - yes. i shaved but the nurse still insisted on checking &amp; cleaning up stray hairs! But such occassions don't have to be embarrassed,cos the nurses are all very motherly &amp; we won't see them ever again anyways. (Not the same as exposing urself to MIL!)

SarahMay (sarahmay) - when are u going to do ur nude photos? Can u send me the link to bloom or such sites - want to have a look cos hubby is planning to take the photos himself, maybe next weekend

On the FISH OIL from Kordel, I checked on mine &amp; its the wild salmon &amp; fish oil (1000mg each capsule). Each has 180mg EPA &amp; 120mg DHA. I am taking 2 capsules a day. Price (during robinson's sale) - $79 for 2 bottles (180 capsules/bottle).

cloud (lovelycloud) - for the bean sprouts pillow, u can get them from Kiddy Palace &amp; an online website (google bean sprouts pillow Singapore). Hubby made one, but we are getting one more from Kiddy Palace later

Lok (lok) - okie, thanks. Will get the special detergent for washing the baby's clothes &amp; bottles then.</font>

xueyan (xueyan) - welcome to the thread
Price wise, i think your gyne is comparable to most others (mine adds up to $3000+ as well). However, if you are unhappy with her attitude, then maybe consider changing - don't think its too late, and no, as long as you have the records of the tests you have done to date, u won't need to redo them

Btw, i also had a fibriod removed last year &amp; conceived within 6 months after the surgery though we weren't really trying....so i am sure your pregnancy will go by without a hitch.

Hi Lok

Your bb seems to hv 'suffered' a lot in his first 2 years. May I know if it's due to something u took during your pregnancy, e.g. seafood? My friends saw me eating a lot of char kway teow, hokkien mee and laksa, and starting to warn me...Or perhaps it's hereditary?

Mei: peeing frequently since first tri. Used to waking up groggy liao

Bigtoes

Huh.. u mean after delivering they will put a tube for our urine? Izzit that painful... *OUCH* EeEeeee... i'm getting more scared... MIL and her friend told me about the pains they had during their delivery last time. The more i hear the more i'm so afraid.

I bought 2 sets of 2 pcs pyjamas. Can't find a nice 1 pc pyjamas. Mummies, where do you all get it? Must prepare everything before GSS ends..

BD? Baby dance.. so cute the way u all name it. I heard that some husband love to have BD when their wife is preg as the "hole" is smaller and having BD helps us to conceive easier..

hi mummies, been MIA-ing for so long. am still reading the thread, just too lazy &amp; shagged to participate. "saw" that you ladies had a gathering last week. wanted to join but the location not very convenient, plus my hubby kanna "recall" back for work due to some emergency. we even had to skip the bird park trip originally planned for my gal on sat :-( interested to see the gathering photos but too lazy to start a FB account. i know i wont have time to "maintain" it. as it is, i'm already finding difficulty in squeezing time for reading this thread, doing online shopping, clearing my gal's photo backlog (from Dec07 till now), creating a photobook (intending to do 2 before delivery)... oh dear, my to-do list is so long.

my current task is to update my baby shopping list from my gal's previous one. need to update soon so that i can bring along for a one-time shopping spree. then got to complete all my online shopping before i pop. so many websites, too little time.

pls organise another gathering again. would love to meet up with all of u and to intro my gal to u all. and choose somewhere central or west please :)

Waxing

I've done mine last month. Is the same pain as preg preg.

Oh ya, thanks lemon for introducing vivian. She is a nice lady. =) Will continue to go back to her and will do a waxing before delivery rather than letting the nurse shave it.

Hi xueyan, welcome~!

My package should be considered cheap. cos i signed up for the package at $550 from the first visit i went, which was on the day i missed my menses and tested +ve. includes scanning, vitamins, checkup when u're sick, medicines. the only extra i paid for is the hormone pills n detailed scan ($100+).

welcome xueyan! I agree with Big Toes. Mine so far must hv easily chalked up over $1K even before I even signed the package...My package starting from Week 20 is about $2K+, excluding scans + vits.

Why didn't u go to KK instead from the very outset?

Dun bother with her expression, girl. I know of pp changing gynaes midway. But they are mostly living/working in other countries and have returned to spend the remaining weeks in SG to give birth.

twendy, talking about too lazy and shagged and difficulty finding time, me and my hubby have married in early october, and even till now i'm six months pregnant, our wedding banquet photos are not yet done to give out for all our relatives. LOL

yan: $550 for all that in a total of 9 mths? Who is your gynae?!! And does that include the final delivery costs?

Flos, i went to adrian woodworth at CCK thomson women's clinic. didn't know at the beginning that $550 for the package is cheap until i saw ppl talking abt the price of their package. this gynae recomended by my fren n location wise is excellent for me. The final delivery cost i not sure how much it is, haven ask the gynae or my friend yet.

Mrs Yap, yah! if its $550 including delivery then it really is too good to be true. then i wouldn't mind too much that my hubby treats me like a pig and want 10 children! HAHA!!!

Mrs Yap: I've replied your question

Yan: it's really too good to be true! He is quite famous and popular in the Northeast area I heard. Hv u picked your final delivery venue?

Gosh...I must be overpaying my gynae, boy...

Xuanting and Sarahmay, yes, I would love to go for counselling with my hubby, but as you all have guessed, he feels it's a waste of time and money. Or else he will say that only I need it. Maybe it's hormones as well, but nowadays, I also get very upset and angry when he says I have no brains doing this and that.

And he still makes sure that I complete every chore to his satisfaction before going to bed at night. Just like last night, he was standing beside the iron and looking at it and waiting for me to keep it when inside I'm just thinking that since he's standing beside it, he could just have simply kept it. And he also makes sure I close the room door before I can sleep when he is nearer to it! I don't know, these little things eek me these days too.

I think to those people who do not have a pet or have never kept one before, they do not understand. My MIL is the same, sometimes, she would ask me if I still carry the dog at my parents' house and I would just tell her yes, but I think she's not happy about it. They all think that it is unhygienic or something. We do not even bring the dog out at all, so what kind of bacteria can it catch?

yan

My gynae also adrian woodworth at CCK. The $550 package is not included in the delivery. When u sign the package, they gave u a list right. That piece of paper indicate the cost of natural birth and c.

<font color="0000ff">BD
yeap yeap... BD = baby-dancing.. hehe. banging doors sound relevant, haha. perhaps we should change it. wah.. see tat some of u are still continuing the deed. juz wondering, what's the feeling like? now preggy le.. some more can feel bb moving inside.. haha.. each time my hb asks for it.. i will tell him.. "what if bb sees wat we are doing... n he sees this army of tadpoles swimming towards him"

Swimming
Gosh!!! i haven swam for ages. did my 1st swimming session last nite. it juz felt so weird swimming with a balloon. somehow i felt uncomfortable swimming breast stroke. felt better swimming free style instead. hhhmm... does anyone feel the same?

my boy moved alot n kicked mi even while in the water. haha.. told hb he loves swimming. hb shot tat look into my face "but he's already swimming inside u!!!!"

will prob try swimming again. hehe.. but not a good experience wor.. morning woke up with a leg cramp.. damn</font>

Ah...m back!!!

Maid's gone for good and im alone with my boy now. good and bad lah. busier but nicer to be maidless....

xueyan
are you sure Mt E delivery charges are so cheap? i dun think so right? even at NUH, my first bill was $2700plus for normal delivery with epidural, though i only had to pay 30% of it...and i havent even paid yet..they must have forgotten.i rem Mt E was terribly ex leh.

your gyane so atas, no package...

wingkei...
your hb is crazy. that is all i can say. sorry if im offensive, but a man who cannot empathise with a pregnant woman really ought to be shot!

bigtoes
your hb actually MADE a sprout pillow for the bb??!!!!!

Jasmine (piggy_jas), such coincidence. i will go back and see what's written on that piece of paper tonight. i very blur regards to having a baby and my hubby does not care about all these. i only arrange the date and timing for him to appear at the clinic, and arrange for him to send me buy baby stuff.

Flos, should be decided at TMC. just that havent told the gynae yet and also same thing, my hubby dont care where i give birth one, just that i dun go and make him bankrupt by going for single bedded or higher priced rooms. haiz, he leave everything for me to think so he dun have to trouble his brain. =X

yan

I chose dr adrian woodworth as someone recommend him to my MIL and is near our place as we are staying at wdl. I also very blur, it was my hubby who told me. Haha! I only incharge of giving birth =x My hubby does everything for me, including insurance for me n bb before i was 3months preg.

btw where u staying?

<font color="119911">Dr Woodworth - Heard good stories about him, but just FYI - my colleague mentioned that his stitching skills are not too satisfactory. It won't be an issue if you are opting for natural, but hers ended up being an emergency C, and the keloid is apparently quite bad (of cos, its case by case, depending on how the body recovers, but maybe just to take note to avoid open surgery if you are with him.)

l'l CY (lilboymum) - yes, i was intending to get the beansprouts pillow from the online site, but hubby insisted that he wanted to make it for baby. So he got his mum to get the dried bean sprouts husk from the veggie auntie at the market, and made the pillow using one of his old shirts
Took him 4+ hours to sew last Sat (when we were at Ava's house). See - http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos/album/117/Our_babys_pre-birth_photos#49 (think its abit deformed ...)</font>