(2008/09) Sep 2008

cloud
no issues buying now...you dun wanna bother with that once baby is out! u will also be using the laundry detergent before hand to prewash the clothes u buy/are given rt?

good morning everyone...
thanks ava for organising this gathering.. it was fun..
bacon&egg, what is ur e-mail address on facebook??

Shazz:
nursing bras: yes, the lady also told me too early to get those cos I'm only in my 6th mth. She said I only need 2? Is that enuff?

Lok: Are Perfect Mum bras padded? How much are they? I was also at Mothers Wk, but the Tanglin Mall one. There was no sale leh...

As for lochia, I think 8 weeks is a long time. I wonder if mine will leak for so long.

Big Toes: Speaking of not wearing of bras, I dun wear them at home either. Now with the CL and MIL around, I might hv to wear them. Actually, it's quite embarrassing to let these people see your bare boobs when you learn to latch bb. I saw my SIL's mega big boobs when she was BF-ing. It's quite ...!

Agree with Ava: I find nursing bras quite useful cos u dun need to unbuckle the back (unless your regular bras are front-hooks). I was told to bring one set of those front-buttoned sleepwear to hospital too.

I will certainy get some closer to the date. The lady also told me get a slightly larger size cos u need to insert breast pads.

cloud: like i told u on FB, you should get now cos it's CHEAP! I'm thinking of getting larger size milk bottles and teats cos they won't be THAT cheap after GSS.

If you're kiasu, u can even get high chairs, larger clothes (but not nec cos pp will give us), utensils, bumpermay/playard, BB shoes, thermos for bb's puree later on, blender (to blend puree), slow cooker to cook puree, etc.

Someone here said those bb wipes/diapers can last for 3 yrs, so when my DH is back on Wed, I'll get him to lug them home in bulk...

I think we've a good case for stocking up amid today's rising inflation.

Flos, i am also not used to wearing bra to sleep at night.. but the lady at Perfect Mum told me, if i dun wear, then it might be saggy cos now that it has become heavier and bigger..

Perfect Mum's bra, they have the day and night wear.. day with soft wire and night with no wire.. if i didn't rem wrongly they are around $150 for 3 for the day wear.. and the night's are slightly cheaper..

Bacon & egg
You've been tagged...

Breasts and the in-laws
ONce u r busy trying to get to grips with bf, you wont care who sees ur boobs...In fact my MIL has seen me practically naked cos last time round in my 3-room, i had to do the jamu massage on the floor in my living room..and i was, yes, naked... except for undies! Plus then she saw my ass in a toilet in China, so all in, she's seen more of me than my own mother (since my childhood)

thanks ava, got it

Hey..

Good morning to everyone...

Thanks Ava for organising the gathering at ur nest... i like Adan's room the most!.... so cute he got all the animals eyes covered with papers...

Nepia Diapers.... i oso heard from my frds saying tat Nepia is cheap and soft... quite good.. i am oso gng to buy 1 bag to try 1st.. if ok.. can order thru phone... so conv.. no need to go out to buy during Maternity period.. hee hee

This morning i met a nice lady.... she actuali request 2 passengers to gif up seats to 2 preggie.. and 1 of the preggie is mi...
so nice of that lady hor...

flos,

For perfect mum, the day use ones are kinda of padded (can't remember exact price but they will try to sell you in a package of 3). The night use ones are not padded. I normally only use the night use ones after delivery (use it both day and night). Since it's not wired, I dont' have to worry about blocking my milk ducts. By then, don't have to worry about the padding cos u will be using breastpads anyway.

Blockage of milk ducts? Even now, I'm wearing my regular underwired bras. Should I change to those without wires?

Been so upset by my hubby last night that I couldn't sleep and kept crying and even today, I keep tearing at work.

I know many of your hubbies have to go overseas for work. Mine do too, occassionally, and when he's not around, he doesn't allow me to go back to my parents' house to stay cos he says it is dirty there and they have a dog. Yet, whenever I get someone to come stay with me to keep me company, he will definitely have a lot to say when he returns. It happens every single time. First time, he said our house was messed up. Then this time, he blamed me for not thinking and for wasting electricity as I switched on the air-con for my sibling who stayed to keep me company. He said his parents didn't switch on the air-con when they stayed over! I'm really really angry and really at a loss of what to do. What does he expect from me? My family is concerned that I am alone at home in my condition and my mom calls me everyday to check on me yet I don't get a single phone call from his family except only on the first day.

flos,

for now, maybe less of an issue. However, as your boobs continue to expand, it may be an idea to switch to more comfortable ones with softer underwire or even non-wired. After delivery, my recommendation is to go for non-wired ones.

if coughing anyone have cure for it.. cause i dun want to spend $ to see doc ler
been drink pipa gao but seem no use

Ava: really? you're not shy to let them see it all?!! Jamu massage on the floor? Why not on your bed? Did u buy a slim belt too? Give me the contact, can? Tks!

Lok, Jaymickey. OK I'll pay Perfect Mum a visit in due course. Tks!

koras: think LC or someone has the cough remedy recipe.

Flos
Didn't want the bed to get all oily mah...just MIL lah not FIL!!! :p I got a belt from KK hosp pharmacy, the type they use for c-sections i believe.

Cloud: you should buy now! Cos we still can walk abit now when tummy becomes too big it will be difficult! I am planning to buy this week...

Flos: I am wearing under wired bras anymore cos I heard its not so good for our breast. Previously I was wearing under wired bras everyday! Except when I sleep of course... LASt time when I sleep I don't wear bra either but now wearing cos I don't want my breast to sag! Haiz.. vanity!

Nursing bra: So ex??!! I am prob going Robinson to get some cheap nursing bras! Since i only need it for a short period right?

Ava,

U so open-minded huh??? I lay a mattress on my own bed for the jamu massage and cover up with towel. But true lah, my MIL has seen my boobs too(of course accidentally)...

The best part is when I had to go down to TMC Parentcraft to treat my blocked ducts. It's really an eye-opener then when all the mummies just kinda exposed themselves (but of cos that's the least of their worries compared to the engorgement they faced...)

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - hmm..like that then i better get the nursing bras. Yes, quite troublesome to have to wear them at home &amp; weird to have the CL see the boobies lah (and no way I am going to expose myself to my MIL - just too weird)...will really feel like a milking cow

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - I just added ur to my facebook invite

storeberry (storeberry) - if Robinson has nice nursing bras let me know...no point paying so much.

wingkei (wingkei) - are u alright coping alone at home? If u are doing well with the pregnancy, then maybe u don't need to have a relative over so ur hubby will nag less? Btw, tell them there is no logic whatsoever about avoiding pets when preggers! I have a dog as well (not with me but ILs), and I still hug &amp; kiss him all the time (don't even bother to wash my hands after that) - and I haven't fallen sick once since preggers. Pets are suppose to reduce risk of asthma &amp; exzema for babies as well - u don't want too clean an environment.</font>

Flos: I dun like the Perfect Mum's bras! So I won't recommend it. I felt like I've been conned into buying the package! the salesgirls there are so well trained to sell!

I recommend Marks &amp; Spencer's bras cos they're the most comfy bras I got throughout the pregnancy!

2 is not enough I think as we may leak and stain the bras, so need at least 3 to rotate. And I agree with Ava it's not possible to go braless once the milk supply kicks in. I have a gf whose left breast would spill as her baby is suckling on the right one!

I'm also not used to wearing bra at home, but have to start wearing once we deliver due to the leaking and strangers around the house.

Cloud: unless you have the car, not practical to get the daily nessities from GSS. Cos places like NTUC and neighbourhood shops sometimes gives better discount for items like baby detergent, head and body shampoo etc. For Pigeon items, it's best to get from Robinson when they have 20% off, on top of that, if you're a member, you get additional 3/5% off your bill. Extra savings!

wingkei
didnt see ur post...i gather your hb wont care what you/we say about the environment/friends/family. you have to do what's best for your sanity i guess. like Bigtoes says if u are OK, then just stay alone lor...

Lok
Not really open minded, more like tired, distracted and just wanted to get on with the massage!! I mean my MIL also didnt like sit there and gawk at me lah, but she did she me undress and dress etc...haha the china toilet...bo pian lor, she was behind me and you know those no doors, longkang type loos, well, u see everything!!

shazz
>>"I have a gf whose left breast would spill as her baby is suckling on the right one!"

Yeah this is waay normal... one thing some moms do is to express from one breast as they latch baby on the other...it helps increase supply...anyone's done ths too?

Ava: that's a good idea to express when nursing! But would there be balance if you dun rotate which breast the baby suckle on? My fren taught me to wear nursing bra and leave it clipped on with the nursing pad in there to soak the spill.

Ava: But you need to dirty the mattress on the floor too rite?! Yours was c-section lat time?

Oh u must be referring to those squat toilets in China lah. I think it's so smelly and there're so many maggots and flies flying in between your legs that you just wanna finish your biz and get the hell out from the toilets in those villages before stepping on some sh*t!

Storeberry: I feel so hot wearing my bras at home. OK, I'm not THAT boobsy!! They've gotten bigger now though, much to my secret delight

Lok: Well, I used to go to California Fitness. Also seen boobies of all races there. Not prudish abt bearing boobs in public places. Just not very comfy showing mine to MIL. Yikes!

BigToes: CL see nevermind, cos I won't see them after the confinement period. But MIL sees them...erm...

Shazz: I think they were talking abt Perfect Mum's nursing bras for postpartum. Now during pregnancy, I'm wearing Victoria's Secret, Women's Secret and M&amp;S, and rite, very comfy.

Hi ladies... Thanks all for your concern. My spotting has cleared and I hope it will remain this way. I still can feel bb's movement therefore i am not v worried

Saw from FB that 12 of u went to AVA's place. Shd hv lots of fun right? How come onli a few mummies there got a name tagged. Wat abt the mummies at the back row? Who are they?? Keke

BTW i added a few pp to FB.
Shazz is Wendy Ng
Jaymickey is Sherrifer Siew
Lovely cloud is Gail Li
and obviously Ava is Avalyn
Correct me if i am wrong

Storeberry u dun look like pregnant from front view. Figure well maintained ya

Bigtoes... i love to see yr photo albums... so interesting... yr home v nicely decorated... the apartment looks v familiar... somewhat like my relative's home layout. You saying in Condo in Sengkang?

Flos... good that yr DH will be back this wed. Must have missed him lots right? As for my DH, after he came back from US, he went to Jakarta for a week. He is back now but scheduled to go to Myanmar this week for abt 3 days i think. I hope he dun have to go... He will be v v busy for the next few years and i am seriously thinking of hiring a maid. ANYONE with good Maid agency contacts can either PM or make a posting here... thanks alot.

Jaymickey, AVA
I also dun like wearing bras at home... feel so restricted... but with a CL, MIL or maid around, definitely gonna wear else v paiseh... but one prob with me is... when i feel uncomfy wearing the bra at home... my temper will flare and mood swings will kick in... i wonder if they can tahan.

My dear Wingkei...
you ok or not? Dun think so much lah
When my hb not around, i usually stayed alone at home until when i got preggy, i stayed with my granny and aunty in their home. I believe if theres a dog over in my granny's place, my hb will also make the same comments... cos he will be worried that the doggie will pass bacteria around? As for yr sister staying in yr hse, it is really good idea to keep u accompany... but again yr hb might think its extra expense from the aircon etc esp if he is tight with cash.
My sis will be coming to stay in my hse for abt 3 mths... my hb also make comments like... Har.. no privacy leh... or comments like, har extra exp wor... but afterall he has no violent objections and i think yr hb will understand too if u explain yr thoughts to him

one side lactating. The Medela salesperson told me to buy one nipple stopper/funnel-like thingie to stop the other boob from leaking.

Anyway, I bot dual pumps to express both simultaneously to save time.

Robinsons sell nursing bras meh? I didn't see.

cloud: I think I agree with shazz. Those basics u listed above can be lugged from your heartlands.

Actually come to think of it, since we're counting costs, Kiddy can only deliver non-furniture items (those detergents, creams, tubs, etc.) to my home, but only from Mon-Thurs. So u see, I need to take half-day off on Thurs to wait for my heavy barang at home, and half-day leave = half-day salary = > cost than having taken a car/taxi home!

Bo hua if I'm staying alone...

Flos (flos) : I know we're talking about post-partum. I was told to start wearing those bras now at night and when I go to bed for extra support and also get used to wearing bras by the salesgirls. But when I went to other stores and talk to other mummies, everyone told me it's too early to buy them, that's why I felt cheated by Perfect Mum salegirls. And they were hard-selling the package lah! Anyway, they're not as comfortable as the Marks &amp; Spencers one I tried. You can still go and check it out, just sharing my bad experience with their bras and sales tactic!

mrs yap: hope all's well with u, after the spotting ordeal. Oops, i dun miss my DH at all...cos i just saw him in shanghai not too long ago! We've webcam and IP phone.

frequent travelling? mine oso. He will still be travelling frequently after he is posted back to SG in jul.

Flos
I used a quilt and quiltcover on the floor for massage which i'd use and wash after the massage. No, vaginal birth last time, the binder was for post-massage.

shazz: perfect mum has an outlet at Int'l Plaza or not? those salespersons are super Ah Lian, like those at BLUM. Sickening to the core

hello everyone! Saw the photo on Ava's FB - everyone looks great and some of you don't seem to have a tumtum at all. Whatever it is, so as long as the babies are good and healthy, it's GOOD!

Wingkei - I'm sorry that your husband has been difficult in some ways. Has he read any daddy-to-be books? That might help him be more supportive of you.

Flos - u had such an eventful weekend! That's great. My question is whether what you bought can't be gotten at the "famous" Cheong Choon? My sis is bringing me there this Thursday to whack everytrhing at one go. Then go to Ikea and get storage ideas coz our place now is in a mess and we need space to keep our stuff to make space for baby stuff.

btw, anyone of you going for the shichida / glenn doman thingy? I've never heard of them until I visited my friend to get hand-me-downs and she showed me the really big (and expensive) cards!!!!! it's like so pressurising!

Flos
haha u v funny leh... dun miss yr DH at all?
I miss mine even he is away for 1 day...
I miss him the moment i get out of home for office in the morning until i see him at night.
Abit extreme hor, but its really the case lor...
I also got Webcam at home but can see him cannot touch him mah... if u know wat i mean... hehe

Oh! my current massage lady who will prob do the jamu thingy for me said u can buy the wrapping cloth (what's it called?!) at Mustafa for cheap - but only if u want to go all the way there.... I wonder if diapers are cheaper there too...hmmm

btw, Flos - I think NTUC vouchers is a very very good idea!!!

lanolin
I was just telling the moms on sat, the minute i hear shichida, i switch off, cos (a) I can't afford it, (b) I just want adan to learn at his own pace. Of course i worry i am not doing enuf to "develop" his young mind...but so far we have not sent him for classes...as for glen doman...i tried DIY-ing after browsing the book in the Bookshop...that was the extent of it...and I never got past 10-15 words!!!

wingkei: Poor you! Hugs! Can your parents talk to your DH about having you stay with them when he is away?

Koras: What kind of cough do you have? if got phlegm, cannot take pi pa gao. Dry cough with some sticky yellow or green phlegm tt is hard to purge: take TCM prescription of chuan bei, ji bing (dried persimmon) and bai he. Must double boil. Can go to TCM hall and ask them. If white phlegm - means cold cough. Not sure what you can take. Hehe...I only know the heaty cough remedy cos I got it last trimester. IN anycase, drink LOTS and LOTS of warm water. Gargle with warm salt water every hour if you have a sore throat.

NURSING BRAS: Mothercare is the best? They have cup sizes for the bras? I'm a bit cautious abt buying them now. Will buying them in our 7th or 8th month be too late though? Cos afraid of my boobs growing some more.

GATHERING: WOw! Looks like you had fun! Yeah....who are the mummies at the back? Don't recognise them. hehe.

NEUROGAIN: Every guardian pharmacy sells this? I'm take Dhaxtra from my gynae but a bit ex....so thinking of finding cheaper alternative too.

Bigtoes: What is the DHA and EPA content of your Kordel's Pure fish oil? Your gynae ok-ed it? Btw, how much is each bottle?

Flos: So u decided on investing the Medela pump afterall? Good for you!

Gathering pic
We can't tag the mtbs who dont have FB accounts lah...

Front row (L-R): (most of us are tagged but anyway)
Ava (and adan), shazz, bigtoes, sunrays, storeberry, bacon &amp; egg, jo's niece, alabone and son (jared).

At the back (L to R, starting from behind me) are:
ChewyRing, Jaline (hidden with daughter Novelle??), Meie, LC, Jaymickey and Jo...

I hope i got that right!

any mummies can add me at Facebook too?

wow... seems that u all enjoyed yourself. Hope i can attend the next one.

I have not bought anything yet except for 1pc of clothes and 2 receiving blankets.

Flos,
Where u bot the milk bottles drying rack ?

Wingkei,
I'm alone at home most of the time too cos my mom needs to work in the daytime and she's not tat close to me cos my parents are divorced at home. But u might wan to explain to ur hubby tat it's great that u'll ur sis over to take care of u rather than u alone at home ....he will be more assured...

Anyway the weather is soooo hot now...it's ok to turn on the aircon unless he's quite cash tight now....try to work things out and dun get upset during ur pregnancy which is not good for u &amp; bb.

Hi ladies, saw the photo at bigtoes site. sure looks like fun. hope there's another gathering coming up~! btw, saw ava's son looks alike with my fren's son! hehe~

Bras: I bought my maternity bra at robinsons. got the saleslady to intro anything that's comfortable. bought for $29 each, buy 2 get 1 free. So its quite cheap and comfy.

Mrs Yap,
Glad that you are fine.. through ur FB acocunt, i realised that you are friend of my good friend - Janice.. you guys studied in QUT???

<font color="119911">wow, i went to the dentist during lunch &amp; already so many postings
Went to get my teeth cleaned cos bleeding gums = apparently higher risk of blood infection &amp; pre-mature babies. Also ended up buying 4 Old navy rompers for $5 each! hehe..

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl)- thank u &amp; yes, ours is a condo at Seng Kang area called Park Green. Most prob ur relative is at the same apartment
Btw, add me to ur FB if we haven't included each other.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - I don't remember the pricing and the EPA/DHA content of my Kordel fish oil (think 250mcg?)have to check &amp; get back to u tomorrow. And yes - showed my gyne the whole bottle during my 1st visit &amp; she approved it (so should be fine, cos Dr Tan is very strict!).</font>

Jasmine: Don't worry. you aren't alone. I havent done much either. Hehe!

Mei: The nursing bras look nice on this website. Thanks for sharing! But dun think they have my size.

Bigtoes: thanks for checking and letting me know! Where did you buy the ON rompers for so cheap?

EXERCISE: Just read this from a motherhood mag...apparently preggies who exercise and burn at least 1000 calories per week will have better labour experiences e.g. less painful, shorter. Here's motivation to exercise more!

NURSING BRAS Sizes: Anyone know where sells nursing bras tt look ok, not frumpy aunty, but come in size of at least cup size E?

Hi, Bigtoes
I am an idoit when come to FB. Do I need to sign up FB first before you can add me?

Hi, Ava
Thank you for opening up your home for us last Sat.. and your boy's room is so nicely painted..

Hi, Koras
Regarding cough, you might wan to try some manuka honey (those with UMF20)and take it neat. Got one receipt too but I can't remember liao (jalet right??) But I think it is provided by SarahMay.. Is she around? Can ask her again.

Koras,
Aiya, I am lagging.. SarahMay already posted the fomula for cough.. do try, it works.. the salt mtd is good..