(2008/09) Sep 2008

xuanting.. i think disposable 1 beta lah.. cos we will b flooding after giving birth... esp for the 1st 2 weeks... i gng to buy the protector oso.. cos i scare it stain my bed... hee hee

ya, buy those cotton disposable panties, it's very comfy and it's worth the $$ i feel.. those paper ones tear easily n it's not "breathable"..

Ava: I also stock up on wipes. Actually we ve so many packs, I haven't finished using them for 15 mths! My baby girl is 15 mths and we re still using wet wipes for her. And still have at least 20 packs stored up. Kekekek.. I recommend angel wipes. Same quality as pigeon but cheaper. Buy during JL sale!

hello ava,
so sorry about that. but hb just said tuition is cancelled. so this sat he can make it. so i'll be there with hb and the two kiddoes.

wingkei,
ya... wasn't right of him to agree so readily then back out. anyway, i seriously doubt if your mil will wash your underwear for you. anyway, for my previous pregnancies, i've been using disposable panties. i found one particular one that is not the paper kind and is quite comfy. using disposable is more convenient actually. just wrap it together with the pad and discard. dont have to worry about washing and staining, which can happen often enough.

SarahMay: I just googled and found many Chinese chatrooms talking abt it. However, u can't read Chinese rite? Here's one that says it may be too 'BU'. Just take in moderation lor...and increase intake after delivery.

http://www.iyun.com/talk/t-1-22350.html

Shazz: Your hb is a Leo? Leos are into aesthetics! I'm shortlising items that might interest the daddy. Practical stuffs like baby wipes, breast pads, nipple cream and sterilisers are not within my hb's radar. To emotionally involve the daddy, I have decided to wait for him to come back and shop for stuffs that are like "accessories" to him

sasa de mouse No bathtub? That's a shame. Anyway, I got one liao. He didn't measure the bb's weight? How can? If u'd asked, would he hv told u? After all, it only requires keying in a couple of dimensions to derive the weight what...

Bigtoes: I'm half outie and half innie!

Storeberry: Nope, I have no such pain at the ribcage. Only numbness of my hands when I sleep.

<font color="ff0000">Baby kicks</font>: My bb only kicks me from evening to midnite. He is rather quiet in the day. Was telling my hb that he might be like us, nite owls! Shucks! We need to ensure that the bb doesn't ruin our sleeping routine...

xuanting: Me too. The more I think abt the laundry, the more sian I am. I think I'll use disposables in the end.

**Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664

Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Mrs Yap
bigtoes
Jo
Jaline (3pax)
sunrays

anyone staying in hougang/sengkang area??? I can give u a ride.... up to 4 mummies....

alabone: "i found one particular one that is not the paper kind and is quite comfy"

Pls give me the brand.

Tks...

Sunray: Thanks for the information. However I am looking at the 2008 model due to the color. Anyway, hubby out of town this week so i lazy to go shop anymore. I drove down to Isetan after work and made payment for the peg preggio P3 as a set already.

SarahMay: Mine is a boy. Hence i am not tempted too much in SIngapore for the cute baby clothes. Else i will be broke

Can I guess you girls to share with me what else is essential to buy to prepare for the baby arrival ?
So far, I have only purchase the following:
- clothes/mitten/booties/ sleeping bag for the baby.
- Stoller and car seat
- Electric breastpump

What else i should be prepared with ? THink I have been really laidback in preparation compare to you girls ....

Sunrays: Glad that you can come!
I like LE ROYALE &amp; JUPITER but jupiter is it very chocolatee? If not Royale looks yummy!!

Jojo: don't worry I only bought clothes, milk bottles, cotton buds, cot mobile, washcloths, towels. Am dropping by Chinatown to buy all the toiltries &amp; neccessities. Can see the below webby for list of items, posted by one of the mummy. http://www.mumcentre.com/essentials/baby_checklist.htm

sunrays (sunrays): I just realised that you're the lady boss of Canele! hehe ... me vote for Le Royale ... your hubby's shop of cakes simply makes my knees goes so weak! hehe

Flos: my hubby is not Leo, he's ermmm ... Virgo I think! sorry, I'm not into all these horoscope stuff. hehe ... but my hubby is a vain pot lah, so anything that's aesthetic he'll be keen.

Storeberry: yah lor, he's so funnie hor, told my MIL about the way her son is behaving with the stroller and she proudly said he is like dat since young! haha, apparently he would bring his new toys everywhere in the house! lolz ... can just imagine my little one to be just like his daddy!

Jo (jgwee),
Where do you purchase the protector to prevent our menses staining the bed ? Is it placed on top of the bedsheet ??

I forgot i read somewhere on this forum someone was saying need to sterilise the cot bed. How do u sterilise it ? Is wiping the cot bed sufficient ?

Shazz: That makes some sense cos my hb is also a Virgo! LOL.

Storeberry: I just wonder if it would make more economic sense I just purchased all those mundane items like cotton balls, detergents, baby wipes, etc. at my neighbourhood Kiddy Palace, of which I am a member and therefore will enjoy the 20% GSS mbr discount? Adding up all the petrol fees to Cheong Choon and parking fees, etc. at People Park Complex, the costs would more or less be the same rite?!

It's the same logic I won't go to JB to buy pampers. All the time consumed at the customs, and petrol wasted.

Flos: hehe, I have no idea Virgos are into asthetics! haha ... he should have been a plastic surgeon then, haha!

Hmmn, I kinda agree with what you said, all the cost of travelling to CC sometimes does not justify the discount that you're going to have. That said, it's really useful if you have a list of what you want to get from CC, and order one shot and have it all delivered to your place. I've been buying on ad hoc basis, as and when I think the price is good, I'll buy, averaging out the cost, and also only when my hubby is around to help me carry the loot. I've stocked up when Robinson, Watson was selling the Pigeon wipes, cotton buds, body lotions etc during their sale. For members, 20% + 5% (or more, depending on your credit card spending) is pretty good. At Robinsons, they offer free delivery to your place is you spend over a certain amount, think it was $150. Make use of such service, especially if you're shopping alone. =)

Hi Millie...

i think Guardian got leh.. i haben buy yet... ... ya... got diff size... rectangular ones...think most hospital r using ones loh... just put it on top of the bedsheet....

Sunrays... all the cakes looks so nice to mi.. i'm fine with any of them... thanks alot...

<font color="119911">sunrays (sunrays) - Me! I am in the Sengkang (rivervale link) area....can I hitch a ride from u? Was intending to get hubby to drop me off, but if you have space, then i can tumpang

Btw, thanks for offering to get the cake, Don't mind the Royale/Caramel as long as the rum/caffaine content is not too high. They all look yummy!</font>

Peg P3
one MTB was asking who got the 2008 model...I bought that model at S$550 at bb hypermart.

gynea visit
had mine yesterday...as usual, no scanning, only listened to the doppler. But the nurse was telling me i could opt for a 3D scan at the next visit to see the facial feature of my bb at S$100. we opted for it and are excited

holland v
stumbled upon a shop selling bb clothings..factory outlet - they have alot of brands eg, mothercare, carter, gap etc. Not sure if i can post the address here, if u need the addy, PM me
I bought 4 pcs of carter bb rompers (up to 9 mths old) at $15.

Royale carseat
i got that and absolutely love the plush feel of the material. Mine is in a dark brown tone. Is there other color? or are we talking abt something else...hee...me blur...

gathering
ava, i have pm you my email addy. thanks for organising
i am waiting for some deliveries on sat for my new home. if i cant make it last min, i will sms/call u. but am happy to share the cost nevertheless.

bacon&amp;egg, so far, my gynae visit, he still does the scanning for me to find out the weight of the baby etc..

3D is $100, anyone knows how much is 4D scan?

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - which gyne are u with at which hospital? I would love to opt for the 3D/4D scan too, but not sure if my gyne offers that! Have to share ur scan with us okie?

Yeah Shazz: I got Kiddy to deliver all my loots (detergents, pads, toiletries, tubs, mattresses, protector, etc etc) to my place too.

I suppose if you also purchase big items at CC, it's worthwhile.

Big Toes: I went back to look at your Combi photo on FB. Can u tell me which model u bot? I think Lilboymum has a point, that with my hb who travels so frequently, I might hv to drive and push the stroller myself. I need a lightweight and easily-folded-up stroller like Combi, Aprica and Maclaren.

hi flos,
i can't tell you the brand off hand coz my memory is like suuuuper bad. but i know can get from kiddy palace maternity section. will go down today and take a look then let you know.

bacon
emailed you already...hehe, we are talking about the Royale cake, which is one of the options that sunrays posted as a dessert for saturday! But, hmmm am thinking of the royale seat too...hb thinks may be too warm, so we may go for the omega which looks slightly less warm...

Babies update
Had my 24 wk scan today...babies are a lot lighter than most of yours i think: 629g and 641g...what to do, co-sharing mah... a friend of mine due in early Sept: her baby boy is now 1.2kg!!!!

*Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664

Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Mrs Yap
bigtoes
Jo
Jaline (2 adults)
sunrays
Alabone (2 adults)

Just got back from KL --- too many post to catch up with!

Ava,

I will try to make it for the gathering (with my toddler) per my earlier post but NO need to prepare our food.

SarahMay,

Not sure whether Safety 1st is linked to Graco. I bought the cheaper Philips bb monitor. The more ex one is around 200 or so. Comes with different channels (though I don't see the need for that).

bacon&amp;egg,

Royale comes in different colours. Mine is navy blue. The material is quick drying too (when u need to wash!)

BB kicks:
It's perfectly normal that they kick mainly at night. They have reverse day-night rhythm --- when we move around in the day, they get rocked to sleep. When we rest at night, they wake up!! This will last for a while after they are born (hence, the sleepless nights). I still remember my J giving me a very sweet smile at 3am, refusing to sleep when he's 1 week old. Dunno to laugh or cry man!!

sunrays,
Any cake is fine for me, think my gal will like it the most :p

Ava,
Dun mind can email me yr contact number to [email protected]

Millie,
u can buy fm a lot of pharmacies, those blue rectangular type, try to get a bigger sheets incase u sleep and turn fm one side to the other side n stain the bedsheet.

I need some advice, my bro gg US for overseas exchange program, i m thinking of asking him to buy the medela PIS breastpump for me. Can i know where he can get conveniently? like drugstore or any stores in US? Anyone know where can purchase? thanks...

Ava: I think it's cos yours are twins. Don't worry so much. I'm just disappointed to hear that sasa din get to know of her bb's weight from our common gynae. I must rem to ask him next week. need to know if i'm eating rite, should i drink more tonic soups, eat more red meat, etc.

Lok: Regarding Philips bb monitor. What are the multiple channels for?

Mei: is yours the $200 one or the basic version one?

Jaline: maybe he can try Sears?

Jaline
U can ask yr brother to visit Target Store. They are selling it at USD $279. So its much worth it. But a very important point to take note. Inside the packaging, there will be a blue plastic divider inside the cooler bag. Inside that blue plastic divider is gel like liquid. So the Custom pp will ask yr Bro to open up everything to show him and that blue plastic divider cannot get thru the custom! Therefore, ask yr bro to open up the packaging, take out the blue plastic and put it inside his luggage to check in before the hand carry the rest of the Medela PIS.

Flos,

I don't know why they hv multiple channels actually. U might want to check with the salesperson. To me, just need to pick up his cries and that's it.

Flos: Great point here, maybe I will ask my fren later if the Chinatown shop is worth going or not after factoring Kiddy Palace 20% discount. I don't have the card but think my sis have it.

Ava: Yah, both your twins re fighting for food togather so their weight should not be a concern! Wow, your fren bb is BIG!

Shazz: I can imagine baby Eamon acting like his Daddy!! Super cute! Haha!

Lok: So any good deals in KL?? :p

Mrs Yap: That was what happen to your hubby at the customs right?

Lok/Flos
You r talking about baby monitor is it? differnt channel is to prevent interference from radio signals etc..from wat i read. damn, that's another thing i need to get!!! gaaaaah!!!

I am from March thread. I haf a few DOM to let go at $35, originally at $43.10 ( DFS price ). Sms me at 9746 1185 if you are interested.

hey hey ladies.
i went to Kiddy Palace yday
The 15% - 20% discount does not apply to their prams / strollers... quite disappointed... else its gonna be a good deal. Afterall Cheong Choon is still cheaper. Went Robinson too yday... their AVENT sterilizer going at 20% sale.. v good deal.

Ava (avalyn) : I think the weight of your twins is very good! Cos for fetus in their 24th week, the US standard weight is about 600-700 grams, yours are twins and even with co-sharing, they're doing very well! =) Can't wait to see your tummy on Sat.

Bringing of scan pictures sounds good.

I have brand new pieces of maternity clothes which I can't wear, so will bring along as well. Hee, like a bazaar sale! haha

Anyone needs a ride? I can do pickup from Braddel mrt station at 245pm. Just PM me

Mrs Yap: Is the Medela PIS one u got from US the advanced version? Did u buy an adaptor to plug in in SG?

Ava: Did u buy a BB monitor for Adan? I nearly forgot too!

About nappy creams, nipple and bb wipes: Do they hv expiry dates? I'm stocking up all these months ahead.

Also, Mothercare and Kiddy were kind enough to let me start my Avent warranty from my EDD in Sept. Usually it's for one-year, meaning if I purchased in May, it expires next Apr 09 which is unfair to the consumers.

Flos
I didn't need a monitor for Adan cos we were living in a small, teeny weeny, 3 room flat so every cry was audible...

Nappy and nipple cream do have expiry dates, wipes dont think so.