(2008/09) Sep 2008

shazz
Yr Skate is really a cool stroller...dun think the price diff will be tat much...CC is abt $40-50 cheaper than Baby Hyperstore so not tat big diff! Have u seen the Pramette before?? it is a 2007 model tho...but it looks interesting, i think it is abt $800... oh no, another option = another headache..
1447158.jpg

pinkygal
changed my mind abt bugaboo bee bcos of the material... looks cheap altho the price of the stroller is not!!

Prams: Mummies, don't spend so much money on a stroller. Really. Take it from someone who paid more than 1k for my stroller. And there is time to take your time to get the stroller.

Jessi: Your LSS baby bag is here. The arbor print looks so nice.
hey, you really got a good buy cos the baby bag in Sing costs more than $300! It's less than half price ordering overseas.

Ava: Thanks for helping to organise!
Yes, anyone pls feel free to join in!!

Sasa: Are you coming??? Just ask for early time off & join us!

Nobody feeling pain in the ribcage?? Strange... Must ask gynae during next checkup.

Mine is still a small innie.. I think my smallberry gets excited in the evening & night time. Hope he don't be so active at night when he is out!

storeberry
i had ribcage pain with adan, cos he kept kicking me in ribs..now I have navel pain cos smeone keeps headbutting me etc from the inside out in the navel area...

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - Maybe ur twins are fighting each other inside already. Amongst all of us, you would be feeling the most activity as they push each other for space in the cramped quarters!

mickey (bbmouse) - i am sure u are right abt not spending too much on items! Seems like alot of 1st time mommies end up overly enthusiastic and spending on alot of unnecessary items. I know its not quite the same, but we were like that with our dog as well - bought a whole lot of accessories and stuff which we ended up throwing out at a later date.

STRETCH MARKS
Mommies - does anyone have stretch marks already? I was just chatting with my colleagues &amp; inspecting their silvery lines... now wondering if i should bother about stretch mark creams (am not using any, just my regular Body Shop body butter)....</font>

Bigtoes: Yah, the pram is one big white elephant for us. There are many others of course..
Hey I have one extra tube of Cocoa Butter Palmers anti-stretchmark cream for sale. Ordered to omany from teh drugstore spree. It's still selaed in the box. Do you want, can sell to you.

Gathering
Cos we have less than 15 pax at the moment, can we put a round figure of $25 per head? I'll absorbtransport fee for caterer.

Bigtoes, for stretch mark.. is better to apply now before u see any.. if u start to see any.. then it will be difficult to get rid of them..

By the way, anyone going to studio to take the pre-natal photos??

Oh... Ava.. so nice of you..
so we starting at 3pm yah?? i guess i have to figure my way there.. cos my hb went for his biz trip on last min notice...

mickey/bigtoes
to me stroller = power rider and other home gym equipment (collect dust or to put laundry on) lol...but maybe will need twin stroller for convenience...sighhhh

Today is a slooow &amp; sleeepy day~!

Gathering: wish i could join in, but have to give it a miss. Hope to join for future gatherings thou.

Belly Button: mine's an innie, looking forward to seeing it flatten out so can observe how its like. my belly button have always been quite deep so always very curious about it.

Strollers / Car Seats: i decided not to buy any car seats or strollers yet. not until the baby gets older, maybe six months onwards. so thinking that there will be lots of time to look and also bring baby along to test them. hubby wise, he's only interested in two items for the baby, first is stroller, second is walker. he doesnt care about any other thing else about baby stuff. mostly i'm the one dragging him out to buy the items, he will just stand/sit one side play game and let me investigate everything that i think i need to buy.

Baby Kicks: my ger is very naughty and kicks me from afternoon to night. afternoon when i'm sitting at my desk, occasionally when i'm walking around. and night time most kicks are when i'm lying flat down and putting my hands behind my head or when i'm watching singing shows like the taiwan's One Million Star.

Weight Gain: just got a shock of my life this morning when i weighed myself and found out that i have gained a total of 9kg since gotten preggie, which is increase of 1.5kg over the last week!

Stretch Marks: i havent start applying the stretch mark cream that i bought nearly 2 months ago. yesterday was just complaining to my hubby about having some raised bumps on the breast very itchy, and he went looking for my set of stretch mark cream to apply for me.(its my breast itchy not my tummy! i'm like feeling so weired why is he getting that stretch mark cream for me) so i quickly changed the subject and run away. i hate having to put any lotion on my skin. but have to start getting used to it soon as approaching month six.

Looks like a boring day have made me so long winded. Or maybe cant find anyone else to talk to. pouring out all my talkative-ness here! hehehe

Rough Directions:

MRT:
Take NEL to Potong Pasir station; from station, take 142 for three stops, stop outside town council (ask friednly bus driver). cross the road to blk 110, keep walking to blk 112. Lift lobby in centre of block...pls dont take stairs...we may be in opposition land, but we can have lifts to each floor thank you very much
...some frns of mine too stairs to my flat....!

Driving:
from town/west:
CTE/PIE: Take Upper Serangoon road turn off. Turn left at traffic light into Upp Ser Rd. Turn left at next traffic light (after u see the MRT station) and keep going straight into estate till u see the Town Council on your left...turn right before the river. in carpark, take second right turn and park. lift lobby at centre of block.

From East:
Not as direct from PIE...but if coming from Tampines/Bedok Res area, go to Macpherson Road, turn into Upp Aljunied Rd, then turn left into Upp Ser Road. Turn right at traffic light before MRT station and follow intra-estate instructions above.

From East Coast area, get to Aljunied Road from Geylang/Paya Lebar area, then to Upper Aljunied, then turn left at Upp Serangoon Road. Right at traffic light before PP MRT

From Hougang/SK/Punggol
Get to Upp Serangoon Road, the turn right into Potong Pasir at traffic light as above for East direction.

Ava, Bigtoes: Agree with Ava. Mine is colelcting dust now..
I hope the mummies here read this, before they lament like we are doing now later..

yan
Please please get car seat as priority item. stroller can wait for sure.

inverted belly button: my hb said "now no more mystery already"....haha!

mickey, hey thanks for helping with the bag order!
do let me know how much i have to pay you for the shipping and when i can collect the bag from you.

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
cannot leh... been very bz these few days... some more end of the month.. gotta do payroll le.. else my staff cannot get their $$ ah..

Gathering
wah.. the menu looks great!!! Thanks to Ava for coordinating and sparing ur place. Do enjoy urselves ya...

BB's movements
wah... my bb seems to be doing sommersaults in my tummy every few minutes. can't realli take it. juz feels like wat u all have been describing.. my insides are turning topsy turvy!!!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Breast Pump
hey hey.... anyone happen to noe who is the Singapore distributor for Ameda breast pumps?</font>

Jessi: No prob. I'll only be able to advise the shipping when all the bags arrive. Before that, you can come collect your bag from me anytime though. As long as someone is at home, you can come over.

You bag is nice leh.. Regret not choosing the arbor print earlier.. Now the disc is only 20%.

hey bbmouse, let me noe the shipping cost for both the bag n bbmallonline sprees too? i shall transfer $$ n collect the items together frm ur area.. tk u....

Ava,
the car seat for us will not get it too early even thou its really for safety reasons. But till then, will also most probably get after baby born.

The only belly button i can play with is my hubby's. cos he's super skinny at only 48kg, his tummy have NO FATS at all. so his belly button is almost flatten out one. Nice... Wish i had his build.

Speaking of breast pumps - just remembered - <font color="ff0000">someone here mentioned the distributor of Medela PIS parts being in AMK Hub? Can I get the address again?</font> I got the PIS from my sis, but need to get some new plastic parts. Thanks!

belly button: mine was an innie but lately it started to pop out abit. i told my hubby that i can take the chance to clean the inside of my belly button now.

baby kicks: my bb kicks me mostly in middle of the night and early morning. i realised that whenever i wake up in the middle of the night, i can always feel the bb kicking.

car seat: something to take note when setting up the car seat in the car. http://www.shoppinglifestyle.com/parenting/article.asp?id=378

mickey, oic. sure no prob, you can let me know the shipping charges later. hehe.. you make me feel so excited to want collect my bag sooner. will u be home during the wkends? can pm me your address? thanks!

Jessi: Will be in and out of home during weekend. Will sms you my addy. You gave me your mobile when you placed your order.

jessi
last time i always clean my belly button with lotion and a stick of cotton bud. nowadays belly button flatten abit, can see whether its clean or not easier.

mickey, got your sms. ok i will check with you again when i will go down to your place to collect.

yan, ya now my belly button also flatten out. can even see a mole inside that i never knew it exist. hehehe.. i always thought is some dirt that i can't remove, now then know it's a mole.

Hi MIckey, the babymall itmes is not here yet? Excited to see the cute &amp; adorable bodysuits! The Palmers cream I got from our dear Ava is finishing, so thinking of getting another tube, how much are you selling yours? PM or email me yah? Thanks!

My friend is bringing me to the Chinatown place to get the baby items like detergent, toiletries, teats, breast pads..etc.. At least I don;t need to think about buying this later.. Lazy to go out in the 3rd trimester.

Was very busy working these few weeks, my company had a trip to Spain and i opt not to go...

The thread is running very fast, me can't really catch up (panting)

Btw, is it too late for me to join the gathering? I will be coming with my hubby and my gal if u ladies dun mind...

Jaline
Gathering: The more the merrier (and cheaper LOL)...hope u can make it!

everyone, I'll give a final per head cost on Friday depending on additions/drop outs k?

ava: your instructions for getting to your place is so comprehensive!

I can give those who live in the north a ride, can take up to 3-4 mummies. Pick-up point, Braddel Mrt exit, opposite the MacDonalds. Anyone keen? PM me. Meeting time: 2.45pm

Totally agree on 1st time parents splurging on 1st born! haha ... totally guilty here! U know what the best part is? We know we may not not end up using the items that we bought but we just buy anyway, in case he likes it! haha ... terrible yah? The stroller that we got, it's really more for my hubby than baby. He has been so engrossed with the finishing and make of the stroller that he's bringing it around the house, even pushing it into our bedroom when we sleep! Lol

**Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664

Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Mrs Yap
bigtoes
Jo
Jaline (3pax)

Millie: I got mine at NTUC Unity. If I’m not wrong, Guardian sells it too. But for some reason, this thermometer is quite popular. I had to go around a few places to hunt for it cos was sold out at several places. Comes with 10 or 20 covers for the earpiece. Also, OMRON is a handy size that you can carry around with u unlike Braun. Forget OSIM ear thermometers also cos the sales person told me it isn’t very good as customers had given their negative feedback.

Bigtoes: My baby has been kicking more strongly since two weeks ago. Prob since week 22. Realised that he is the most active in the wee hours of the morning like 4am! As for stretch marks, do u have them? If not, u can just stick to your body butter. If you do, I hear the Lierac is good for reducing it.

Pinkygal: I don’t know what article…actually asking Flos about it. Hehe.

BELLY BUTTON: Mine is a volcano! Popped out at the sides but a little crater in the middle. Haha. Has been like this since 4 weeks ago I think. Can see it when I wear tees that are made of lycra. I don’t really care though.

UMBILICAL CORD SOLUTION: There is a special solution? Was told that the rubbing alcohol works.

BOOBS CAN STRETCH TOO! Boobs can kena stretch marks too you know! So better be safe than sorry. Been applying my creams on the sides and bottom of my boobs.

LINEA NIGRA: How are your lines doing? I noticed a darker line running just above my belly button down to the bikini line. Not very day. Also the area around my belly button has a light brown circular pattern discoloration. I wonder why it is brownish…is it the dirt that was stuck in the belly button? Haha. I hope it doesn’t get any darker.

shazz
Haha your hb sounds very excited
good lah!

directions
I have people over quite a lot so standard instructions lah...but never really figured out the directions from the east..haha...cos i take a convoluted route back from the east myself to avoid doing a loop around Whampoa if taking the PIE...

BTW, I'll divide cost by adults only; will not count the kiddos...

Ava: i think men in general are thrilled by things with wheels and anything with sophisticated mechanism! haha He's not interested in which baby wipes, detergent, shampoo or lotion is better for baby's delicate skin, but keen to dress up the baby. Anything aesthetic and he'll want to be involved!

Ok with the costing, just remind us to pay you on Sat. =) If not can transfer to you.

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - looks like everyone's baby is alot more active now
Sudden flip-flops still startle me thou! Nope, no stretch marks yet, and hoping i will be lucky enough to avoid them cos it is suppose to be heriditary &amp; my mum &amp; sisters all didn't get them. Guess i will monitor &amp; see how it goes - kinda lazy to have to slather on another cream.

LINEA NIGRA: Hah, unless u haven't been washing, doubt the brownish bits are dirt lah. Most probably just more pigmentation. I have a light line running down to the belly button as well, but not below that...its still quite faint but kinda crooked thou!)</font>

Hi Ava,

Thanks, we confirm our attendance. Can u pm me yr address and hp number just in case we are lost? Will bring my notti gal along, hope 1st time mummies wouldn't be scared by her. Hee hee

shazz
shows you the difference between first time and second time dads...my hb just bought a whole carton of baby wipes from cheong choon yesterday...LOL!!! we havent bought a stroller, car seats etc yet...still looking about ...

Bigtoes (limay): i just recalled I haven replied your post. hmmn, that's what my friend told me, but she may be wrong. Cos I was asking her is the head down too soon? She was telling me it's not because they rotate around every 2 weeks, according to her gynae. Hee. But I also feel like Eamon is moving around alot more and he's changing position faster than 2 weeks! My tummy's shape is abit out of shape now. hee, cos i can feel he's in a 7 o' clock position now, with the head at the 7 point! hehe

sunrays (sunrays) : I saw someone using the pramette when I was shopping at Forum last week. It looks darn comfy lor! In general, I think Peg Perego strollers, prams are big and spacious, with great cushioning. My only concern for the stroller we got is it may be too hot for our climate. So we're prepared to clip 2 fans to the stroller! hehe ... already got one from Mama Love.

hi mummies/mtbs,

long time no login. hope all of us are doing fine n well. i'll pass the gathering as i hv an appt already.

BELLY BUTTON : mine is flattened and slightly protuding at the same time. just fyi - we cant apply ru yi oil on our tummies now as it will too "hot" for the little inside.

Alabone, sorry for the late reply, was not online the last few days. I was just unhappy that earlier on, he agreed readily to have his mother wash my underwear for me, and then now, he's like going back on his word. It's obvious that earlier on, he was just agreeing to anything just so his mother can get to do my confinement too. Actually, his first suggestion after I asked him to wash my underwear was to ask MY mom to wash them then why in the first place, he readily agreed to HIS mom washing them?

Yeah, both my mom and MIL will be in my house in the same day. I believe my MIL will still come over everyday even though my mom is around. My mom feels rather 'pai seh' and says maybe she will do 2 weeks and let my MIL do 2 weeks, but I told her not to drop me at the last minute like this. I was insistent that my mom be the one who do my confinement for me, so I really can't be bothered about my MIL who will be here, since it's my hubby who insisted that she does it for me and we do it at our own house.

Exactly! I was really mad that my mom gotta do the xiong part of 'night shift' while his mom has the easier day time job.

I really have a mind to let my MIL wash my underwear since she will have the 'day time' shift. :p

Thanks ava...

i got ur number liao...

tat means $2.90/pac... is it cheap? i haben recky anything yet...hee hee..........

gng to gather infro from u all on sat...

o ya.. sat i gng to mit the cordlife sales rep... u all got any questions? so i can ASK her... hee hee

Shazz: Your hubby sounds so funny!!! Kekeke....

Ava: Yah, is Cheong Soon selling the wipes cheap? Aiyoo... was raining quite heavily just now so didn't managed to go Chinatown...