(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava,

I don't have any interferences from radio channels using the bb monitor... Neither does my cousin has any issue with that.

Storeberry,

didn't have much time to shop. went to Suria KLCC and bought a Leapfrog Word Whammer for my #1. It's on 20% discount (but after taking into account FX, think it's ~10% discount).

Lok
Cool, that means don't have to buy the more exp digital ones lah? maybe overseas they have more interference so more of an issue...

<font color="0000ff">Baby Monitors
Which brand is good and more economical?? Haha, i'm becoming so calculative... damn

Ear Thermometers
How much were the thermometers tat u all got? n wat brand??</font>

Mrs Yap: The Kiddy Palace 20% sale is on other items like toiletries &amp; neccessities like detergent, breast pad, teats...etc?

Sasa: Me too!! With all the expenses, no choice! Hah! My fren told me to get from Cheong Soon but I don't know the price. Sarah did says that Omron / Omran is good.

Baby Monitors: I need to get one too! Cos baby will be sleeping in different room and I sleep with ear plugs on cos hubby's snoring keeps me awake! ;p I need something that only lets me hear my baby's crying! My SIL had one which was a gift, but that picks up rubbish! Even heard malay channel radio, chanting away!

So is the normal Phillips one good enough? I saw Graco's catalogue, they have one which is guaranteed no interruption like the high end Phillips one. Dun wanna spend so much and get same result as the normal ones.

Flos (flos) - my combi is the yellow/orange miracle turn version(they also have a light grey/purple version). Don't remember the model number, think it was TGT450 or something like that. Got it from Cheong Choon for $460 or $470.

Hello Mummies!

I went for my check-up yesterday, my boy's a medium-sized baby &amp; he was super active during the scan. Heartbeat is 150. I'll be going for 3D scan end of June.

Flos
My bb monitor is the cheap one.. costs $100, I think.

Flos
Yup the PIS i got is the advanced version. As for adapter, yes... need an adapter. My hb got one and therefore dun have to buy.

storeberry
kiddy palace sale is only for non-discounted items. Not valid for nett priced items too. Hai... they said their prams are all after discount liao so not valid for the Sale. But hor, i dun think its after discount lor... cos the prices same as Tom and Stefanie lor... Strange.
You can call Cheong choon... Winnie is v friendly over the phone and she can answer all yr qs on the item u are interested. If she not sure, she will go n check and call u back with the ans. Service wise from them v good. U dun have to paiseh if u dun order from her straight away.. she is not those hard-selling pushy sales person. Hope this helps

is there anymore discounts on top of the 20% for kiddy palace's member???

yeh, Winnie is a nice lady, i just got my maclaren pram for her.. delivered yesterday..

sasa mouse,

Baby Monitors
i'm not using any, coz there's always someone attending to the NB when he arrives. and since i've moved to my own place, we shld be able to hear the cry and attend to him without racing up the stairs anymore. so i find it not practical to get baby monitors anymore since we will only be using it for the first 3 mths, after tat, BB's lungs will be stronger and will wail very LOUDLY! hee... =P

Ear Thermometers
i'm using the Bruan 4520, ear scan. it's a reliable brand and it's fast to get the temp. read. coz BB will stand to flip n move abt after first few mths, so we need to get those which takes only 2-3secs to read the temp.

Mei
Yr little boy is surely active with a heartrate of 150,haha.. mine was 130, maybe she was sleeping.. u knw wat? the Cafepress order havn't reached me yet!! Estimated delivery was 19-23may!! I emailed them and they're re-sending the order,shld arrive by Jun 17.. They mentioned shld the 1st order reach me, then I may keep it(as a way of apology frm them)..but i doubt so..been so long alrdy.. the tees better arrive soon otherwise we can't fit into them!!

Bigtoes
I can pick u up frm sengkang ,no prob...PM me yr mobile number so tat i can sms u..

Le Royale cake- looks like most of u prefer this...I shall order it tmr!!

sunrays
My doctor asked me if my boy sleeps.. I told her I don't know as he seems to be moving all the time.. lol.

Think some of the ladies here mentioned before that Cafepress shipping always delayed one.. yeah.. those tees better reach us before we pop man.. haha. Oh ya, I'll bring the Dreambag to pass to you on Saturday.

hi ladies...
abit sidetrack here... my colleague was asking wat is the Name of the Drama serials on Channel 8 @9pm. He is interested to know the Theme song of that show. Can anyone who knows please tell me?? Thanks ya.

Ava: What?! Got expiry dates?? GASP! Need to check my Mustela and Lansinoh creams liao.

Storeberry: As far as I know, only my tub got no discount. Think my Babysafe mattress got. The Pigeon Breast pads at Metro are cheaper than Kiddy's: $7.90 per box.

shazz: My hb and I snore, plus my bb is sleeping in two rooms away from the master bedroom. Absolutely need one.

Aloevera: Nope, the bb will continue to make noises after 3 mos. It's very useful if u need to steal a break at the kitchen, or if alone at home inside the shower.

I might even install a webcam so that I can watch my bb on internet!!

Big toes: thanks! I'll go to those warehouses next week to test them out.

Jaymickey: yes, they are still having a sale, but only on non-discounted items.

Where to buy Braun or Omron thermometers? Guardian or Watson's?

sunrays: can't fit into the tee-shirts? That was what happened to me. My hb bought a lot of maternity tees for me from H&amp;M Shanghai. When I arrived there a month later, I couldn't fit in any of them anymore! Luckily we could exchange them if purchased within 30 days. I exchanged them for my boy's clothes in the end.

Flos,
of coz the BB will still cry after 3 mths, but their wailing will be louder compared to NB. and i hv my mom n maid attending to him at all time, and i've gotten a mobile rocking high chair for him to sleep. so i will place tat whenever we are in the living room during his naps.

and in each room, there is a baby cot or playpen with bassinet. so there's a bed for him everywhere in the house!

Where to buy Braun or Omron thermometers:
U can get it from Kiddy Palace since there's a sale now(?) I would suggest Braun coz it's a more durable brand. I've frenz using it for more than 7yrs now... really worth the $. =)

aloevera: OIC, but will the maid be sleeping with your bb?

I need to buy two playpens, one for my living room ('imprison' him whilst I do my chores elsewhere); another to place at my MIL's place.

I might need a second bathtub for my MIL's place as well.

Can I also get the Philips BB Monitor at Kiddy? I'm surprised I missed that one out at Kiddy last week.

<font color="0000ff">aloevera
how much is the Braun thermometer?? Wonder if Cheong Choon has it.. haha

hhhmm... will think abt ur recommendation abt bb monitors. am still at a lost...

Mei
wow... ur bb is sure active.. haha.. i think mine too. seems like he nvr slps.. not even in the day or at nite.. coz i can feel him kicking when i wake up middle of the nite...

i do pray hard he wont be like tat when he's born.. haha</font>

Flos,
at first i tot of "entrusting" my nb to the maid, but on second thot, i'm afraid tat the maid wont hv the kind of LOVE for a nb... coz i once lost my cool and smack my girl when she was only 3mths old, she was crying so often in the middle of the nite and i was so deprived of sleep due to BF-ing then...

i thank God for that episode tat i realised i need to LOVE my nb with extra patience n understanding. and learning from thsi episode, i've decided i take care of the nb myself. it will be a test for me!

as my mom is sleeping with my no. 1, i will hv to learn how to handle a bb all by myself liao! =(

flos
instead of playpen, why not get playyard and a bumper mat for the bottom. like this, your lil one will have the space to roll around and eventually crawl/walk around. playpen very small, no challenge for their motor development

can get play yard from cheong choon and bumper mat from BP here.

sarahmay
yeah man...we should meet up and i can pass you the shichida book!you will be back in july right? when flying off again?

lok
you got the word whammer too!!??? that is a very good buy. my boy learnt the sound of many letters from that, i was quite surprised he did it without mummy's teaching (heee...ego of an ex teacher a bit bruised lah..machine oso can teach

baby wipes.
actually nb skin is very sensitive, so it would be good if you dun use bb wipes coz whatever they say, it still has chemicals on them. i use cotton with water...save money (okok, cotton not that cheap nowadays) and good for bb skin

bb monitor
we stay in a five room flat, but also dun need bb monitor.somehow you can just hear your bb cry.

as for equipment, we will end up having 2 or 3 each item coz of mil and mom's place... esp milk warmer, cot, pram, sarong, and also need to ration baby clothes(mittens, booties n blankie), milk powder, pacifier, bath n shampoo gel, diapers...etc. better to get all these taken care of or at least taken note if not we will "kalang kapok" when the time comes...etc.

sasa mouse,
$131 something at kiddy palace. u call and check if they will hv the discount for it anot b4 popping by la, no need to go personally unless u r getting it from there.

just thinking aloud...any MTB thinking abt full mth cakes n stuff?

those misc stuff..like detergent, safety pins, bathing tubs etc..which place offer a better disc? robinson, kiddy palace, mothercare or taka during the GSS? anyone done any comparison?

passed by balestier bb avenue..didnt go in..any good deal there? what do they sell?

aloevera,
may i ask why must get extra sets of the same thing to place at mom and mil's places? is it cos your bb will be taken care by mom and mil? if my mom is coming to take care of my bb when i get back to work...do i still need to get extra set of the same stuff?

just thinking... issit a must for us to feel bb's kicks/movements everyday now?

cos my bb has been rather quiet this past 2 days... he used to kick me alot in a day but now like maybe only 2-3 times a day. sometimes, whole day like nvr feel him kick at all... i abit worried leh

l'l CY (lilboymum),
i find a playground not so comfy n cosy for a NB, and it's at ground level, not very hygienic... this is how i feel la... coz we adults also step on them b4 we sit on it ma... =P

i also hv a playmat for my elder girl's playtime.. she doesnt like to sleep there somehow...

baby wipes,
Kodomo wipes are good for NB sensitive skin, non-alcohol and fragrance-free. u can wait for the "buy 10 get 1 free" promo so tat the price is lower for each piece. =P other brands somehow hv a soapy feel after use...

eve,
if u r worried, do a test. set aside 30 mins to an hour say after lunch. count kicks...sometimes we are too distracted to feel them. if you reach 10 within 30 mins good. if not, keep timing for another 30 mins till u reach 10.

ava, tks for ur reply... if based on the test, i can cfm tat my bb does not kick 10 times in 30 mins... if now he can kick once in 30 mins, i alrdy v happy liao. i'll only be seeing my gynae this sat... do u think its ok for me to wait till then?

eve
It should be 10 x in one hour (you time for 30 mins first, then continue if you dont reach 10)...but if you are worried, get an earlier appt lah...better safe than sorry! and just to set your mind at ease too.

eve,
you could try to drink or eat something and lie down on your back to feel movement. Usually bbs more active after mommy drinks/eats. Otherwise, i think u should forward yr gynea visit to get a peace of mind

alovera, flos
eh playmat only for playtime lah. i was suggesting to flos coz she wanted two playpen, a bit waste coz playpen can be moved around. so if get oneplaypen and one play yard more worth it.

furthermore, you wan the bb to get as much tummy time as possible and the playyard is a good option i feel..playpen you use a softer mattress not that good for tummy time

bacon&amp;egg,
FULL MTH CELEBRATION
i shld be using Neo Garden for buffet, Yiling confectionery for the full-mth package for my relatives, and Bangawan Solo cake vouchers for frenz n colleagues. coz not nice to ask relatives to go back emptyhanded after the buffet ma, some old folks dun like it...

oh, reason for getting extra sets of BB's stuff is bcoz both sides will want us to stay overnite at their place on the wkends! esp the first few mths when they can help us to take care of the BB and they also want to hv bonding time with the NB on the wkends.

oh ya, even steriliser also must get 2 sets hor! it's too bulky to shuffle around btw homes! =P

but if your mom wont bring BB to her home, then i think u dun need to get extra sets la...

Eve: How many weeks are you now? I'm going into my 24th week. I don't feel bb kicks regularly all that often yet. From what I know, we don't really have to monitor till we hit 28 weeks.

sarahmay, i'm reaching 24 wks in 2 days time.

btw, i remember reading abt someone asking abt ribcage pain. my gynae told me tat its normal for us to feel pain in our ribcage as the pregnancy progresses as our uterus is slowly moving upwards n will push against our ribcage, so not to worry

eve,
i'm in my 24th week today, and my right ribcage hurts after every meal.. =( *pain pain* and i hv to tolerate tat pain for a few hrs b4 it subsidez..

my BB is most active after breakfast and usually after lunch, he will take a nap till tea break time. then active again for a while until my dinner time! hahaha.... sounds like he is enjoying inside me! just eat n sleep like a BOSS!

think not all babies like to move abt or change position, so u dun hv to worry so much ok... as long as the BB does shift or nudge a few times a day, then u dun hv to worry. it's too early for us now to monitor their movement la, so u relax ok.. =)

my colleague's bb(due mid oct), only moves once a day! and sometimes once in a few days!! but gynae said the BB is growing very well, just tat some BBs are quieter... and they spend alot of time SLEEPING! =P

i hope my sharing here will help lift you up a little and chin up gal! =)

bigtoes, 3d/4d scans are offered in tmc (4th flr) at $200 or something, i think.

can someone help with my queries below? thanks!

mattress protector
do we need one for baby too? are the disposable types better or the plasticky ones with the air bubble thingy better? and will the baby go right on top of that or that, bed sheets then baby?

swaddling
how long do they need to be swaddled? has anyone tried those sleepsies or something, the zip up sleeping bag type? any good?

room temperature for babies
what do they like? some websites have said 18ºc but wouldn't that be freezing cold and baby will have to be in an aircon room 24/7?

any chance not to invite relatives for the full month? thinking only to get a table at restaurant for immediate family and cakes vouchers/gift packs for colleagues. or a buffet and get everyone there?

aloevera, i still dun feel any pain in my ribcage n hopefully i wont experience it... my gynae was sort of "warning" me when he told me. i guess its the full stomach causing ur uterus to move upwards n maybe tats y u feel the pain after meals. *hugs*

tks for sharing ur thoughts abt bb movements... i guess u n sarahmay r right abt it being still early for us to monitor their movements

Full month celebration
i read frm the other threads abt meihao99 catering... has anyone tried them b4 or heard any feedback abt them? i went to their website n the prices seem rather affordable

xuanting
The mattress protector shld go under the bedsheet, cos otherwise liquid (puke/pee) would just run off it onto the bed...I got the pink/blue rubber bubble type.

Room temp, dont need follow the Europe/US temp recommendations...as long as u are not dressing your baby too warmly and not using fleece blankets which aren't that great for them anyway, sleeping in local room temp (without aircon) is fine. if aircon, i used to set it for 25-26 degrees, cos too cold also not good for baby.

xuanting,

your mattress protector means the one below the bedsheet or above? i personally find protector too warm for a NB, considering he/she will be sleeping most of the time..

wat i do is tat above the bedsheet, i place 2 or 3 pieces od cloth nappy as cushion and protector for the mattress. one - is cooling as nappy is mesh, two - nappy dries up fast after wash, three - it can block those dust on the bed from the NB.

i also fold the nappy into a pillow for the NB as they dun need a proper pillow at that tender age, unless until their neck is firm. and the nappy is a good absorber for sweat..

i only use the bubble type mat for changing as it's rubberised and stain can be wiped off easily.

Here are some ways to avoid, and find relief from, heartburn during pregnancy (and after):

- Eat small meals frequently, instead of three larger ones.

- Take small mouthfuls and chew your food well.

- Help gravity move food through your system; avoid lying down right after eating.

- When you do lie down, lie on your right side. This position allows gravity to empty the stomach. You may also get relief by assuming a hands and knees position (on all fours), which allows gravity to pull your uterus away from the stomach. This allows the stomach contents to move more easily into the intestines rather than refluxing back into the esophagus.

- Pay attention to which foods aggravate your heartburn and avoid them. Rich or spicy dishes, chocolate, citrus and coffee are common culprits.

- Avoid fatty foods, which can take longer to digest.

- Avoid drinking large amounts of fluids with your meals. It's important to drink 8 to 10 glasses of water daily during pregnancy, but try to drink in between meals, not with meals.

- When sleeping, avoid lying flat on your back or side. Use a foam wedge or several pillows to prop yourself up or elevate the head of your bed if possible.

- Over-the-counter antacids may ease your discomfort. Some are high in sodium, so check with your doctor or midwife before taking one.

- Wear clothing that is loose around your abdomen and waist.

I'l CY,

Glad to know the word whammer is a good buy. Actually, J can already make the phonic sound of almost all of the 26 alphabets (learnt it from GUG's zoophonic and he's very enthusiatic abt the actions). Of cos, he doesn't know how to piece it all together to make the sound of word.

BB monitor:
I also agree that it's not really necessary unless your place is big (or multi-storey). My son wails very loudly!!

Mrs Yap,

For your US PIS Advanced model, the suggestion is to get a AC converter (not just any adapter to fit the socket). As the voltage is higher in SG, you can burn your pump if it's not converted.

EAR THERMOMETERS: Omron from Guardian/ NTUC UNITY as are other brands. I think Braun is bulkier than Omron. I got OMRON after asking around. Road-tested by a childcare supervisor friend and parent with triplets, OMRON has proven more durable with heavy usage i.e. daily with 60+kids. Braun however has broken down more times. OMRON is jap brand, and takes accurate readings. Also, it is a handy size and light that you can carry around in handbag when travelling. Costs about 72 bucks as compared to 100+ for Braun.If you are NTUC Union member, can redeem points and pay less for stuff at Unity.

Ava: Wow! Your twins are doing really well!!!! Like what Shazz says, they are almost like in there alone! What have you been eating? I cannot imagine how heavy ur baby belly must be!

Flos: I think you are eating very well already. I must ask my doc too about iron intake. Do you know how they check for anaemia?

MIDNITE &amp; WEE MORNING KICKS: My bub is especially active in the wee hours too! I know cos my hubby wakes up at 2+am to go to work. Sometimes I can't get back to sleep and feel him kicking really vigorously around 4+am!!! I pray too that he won't be like that when he's born!

CANELE Cakes: Aiyo....I want to be there! Yummy yummy...

PIGGING OUT: I feel terrible...haven't been eating as nutritiously as i shd. Went for buffet yday! First time since I've been preggers that I stuff my face with food for like 2 hours non-stop! Had laksa...curry prawns...crepes...ice-cream...choc fountain. Help!

sasa: my colleague whose boy starting kicking him vigorously at 4th mth is born VERY ACTIVE! She has great diff chasing and catching him! Mine is kicking me a lot this afternoon!!!!

Mrs Yap: "their AVENT sterilizer going at 20% sale.. v good deal." But the outlet at Raffles City doesn't hv IQ24. It's out of stock.

lilboymum: Oh, I think I know what u r talking abt liao. In that case, I will only get the play yard when the bb is able to walk and run. The playpen is for my MIL's place when I tongpang her to nanny my boy during the weekdays.

aloevera: agree with u to stock up on a second set of barangs at mom's place/MIL's place. I foresee the lighter stroller that I'm gonna get will be exclusively used by my elderly inlaws. I dun expect them to know how to use a sophisticated Bugaboo nor Quinny.

bacon&amp;eggs: u need that second set if your inlaws are Toa Pai like mine lor...they dun want to stay over at my place. Force me to bring todd over if I need their jaga service. You sure will hv one set of something there, be it towels, diapers, milk bots, some toys or whatever. Imagine lugging that bagful of bb stuffs up and down.

xuanting: I got the mattress protector to be placed below the sheets. You can get those quilted rubber/plastic mats to place on top of sheets. The latter option I was told by the Kiddy salesperson is when you use cloth diapers. Up to you.

Swaddling: I will be using those cloth diapers to swaddle bb tightly. You can buy those velcro swaddles too. I have a sleeping sack (without sleeves type), so I'm skipping the blanket and quilt altogether. the sack can only be used when the bb is older. For NBs, it's better to constrain their movements and swaddling them gives them a sense of security as though they hvn't left your womb, that's what my mom told me.

Room temp: I think it depends on the bb's constitution: yin or yang? My SIL who took tonics twice weekly ended up with a very HEATY and YANG boy. He sweats like hell after each feed. In fact, his sweat drips onto his Aprica all the time...damn grubby. 25-26 degrees won't do for this kind of heaty bb. My other nephew is very YIN, i.e. cold feet and palms. 24 degrees is perfect.

bacon&amp;eggs: hosting First Mth at a restaurant? Are you sure u wanna leave your house in that state? Yours is natural delivery? And do u want to take your NB out to the restaurant? Got bacteria outside or not?!!! LOL

SarahMay
Belly is VERY HEAVY to say the least...macham beached whale lah...don't think i posted this here yesterday: but looks smaller than it feels!!!

1450306.jpg