(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahmay
colleague said bb can play in the playpen w/o having the pet go near bb...fur, or pet might lick bb's toys etc. i have a schaunzer at home..
actually i am not particular..in fact i hope to have my bb and my pet play tog..

gathering,
i should be confirmed coming alone. But cant stay long cos reno curtain ppl coming..but in case i cant make it, any way to inform? eg. phone no.

Gathering
I'd rather not give out my HP number here point blank on the forum...I'll PM all interested mums.

If you don't accept PM, please start accepting or PM me your email add

mickey
Think my MIL was hoping I'll put baby at her house so she can see baby everytime. She could be jealous that my mum sees baby more than her. That's how she is lah. My hubby told me that we're the parents, so we make the final decision on what's best for baby & ourselves.

SarahMay
I saw the LionHeart bathtub, so cute.. but it's not suitable for NBs. My hubby was saying just use those pails for washing clothes can already since it looks the same.. men! Lol..

Ava
Yup, better PM us your number, just in case we get lost or something.. hehe.

I've PMed everyone except:
Bacon
Jaymickey
Qiuling
Jo
cos PM not accepted.

Bigtoes
As for food...have not confirmed caterer yet. i will speak to Lavish today.

It looks like we don't have as many people as we originally thought...so will try to order for 15 pax in case more drop out...

Mei: Yah, of course you and hubby shd make the final decision. Good thing you hubby agrees to this.
Your MIL is really quite scary..

Goldfish (goldfish1395) : thanks for the info, will call them to check on Mama Love.

pinkygal (pinkygal) : Peg Perego SKATE is a brand new model, they don't have a 2007 model. The bassinet is pretty heavy, but the mainframe can be pretty compact. All in all, it's about 14kg. Hmmn, if you're going out on your own, then perhaps you may want to consider Inglesina Zippy which is sturdy and yet manageable if you go out alone. My friend got that as she goes out with baby alone most of the time. It comes with a one hand pull system and it's easy to use. She can set it up even when she's carrying baby in one hand.

http://www.strollers.com/Inglesina-ZPY-RUB-IZ1316.html

Ava
Thanks, PM received. Yup, can order for 15 pax, normally there is surplus for buffet.

mickey
Haha.. I used to find her scary but not anymore.. immune already.. lol.

Shazz

Thanks for the recommendation. Do you know which shop can I find the Inglesina at?Sorry i think i got it all mixed up, the peg Perego Pliko P3 is wat i meant. what colour did you buy?

There is a safety first bath tub that I am thinking to get. Anyone seen it before?

Hi,SarahMay

I have always tot that Hashima is cooling. :p I din take cos I cannot take the tot of drinking frogs' fats (though precious kind of frogs).. My MIL made once for me and I had to force it down my throat w/o enjoying it. and since then she did not make for me. I din know black beans are good for lactation too.. Tot old folks say it is good for baby hair growth and hair colour. When can we take Papaya with fish soup? Is suppose to be green papaya right? You are right on Walnut though for brain development. Trying out to cook walnut soup this wed..

Bath tub
The tubs they sell at baby's Kingdom/Hyperstore (the one with the insert that Mei posted) are sufficient and v useful. u dont necessarily need the insert, esp since babies like being put in the bath on their tummies so we were taught to flip baby over half way thru the bath...
but better to have the insert for the first few times till u r more confident.

today i went to kiddy palace check out the playpen cot the height can only adjust two height only.. now headache duno want to get a not

pinkygal (pinkygal) : Baby Avenue carries Quinny, Peg Perego, Inglesina, Combi, McClaren and many more items. Can check out their address here:
http://www.baby-avenue.com/index.asp

I got SKATE in Bubbles Black.
http://en.pegperegoskate.com/images/stories/silo3col/rev-bmdgsvr/skate-bubblebk-lg_375.jpg

Baby Cot vs Playpen:
my hubby just visited a client and she warned him that the playpen's base is soft and may affect baby's spinal development. So now we're back to square one and in a dilemma again! aRGGHHH

LC: BB monitor will be nec for me cos my NB will sleep in another room from ours.

Mei: But Kate Moss diaper bags left at the stores now are not so appealing leh...The Cabriofix can only be used until bb is 15mths is it?

Mei: you really got a good bargain man. Philips BB monito with the Avent NB starter kit. I just got some NB milk bots from Avent. I didn't get the starter kit cos the IQ24 package comes with one bot, one pacifier, one pair of tongs I think. No brush though...

Today, I also bot the Avent IQ warmer

I like your bathtub which is really cheap at $19. I bot mine from Kiddy which comes with the 'board' too. I dunno what that is for!!! LOL

Goldfish: yep, I also got the waterproof protector below the sheets.

SrahMay: Good to hear that you're taking your tonic soups religiously. I've just had mine on Sat. Will hv another bowl of cordyceps+black chicken soup tonite!

Sasa: how was your check up at TMC today? Do u know if we get bathtubs and milk bots too, in addition to diapers?

I bot Mustela toiletries for my NB today! I wonder if it's a good brand. Smelt California Baby at Kids 21 last weekend and thot it's too sweet-smelling...

pinkygal
I went to baby ave today to chk out the Peg perago P3..they're offering it at $698 and u just have to top up another $100 for the car seat...which means it's like a bundle for $798 in total.
Baby Hyperstore is selling the P3 at slightly less than $600.. then I went to cheong choon and they can also help to bring in the P3 at $550... Cheong choon also can bring in Inglesina i think...

Playpen
Hi gals, this is not a long term solution for sleeping, only first few months. a cot/cotbed is always the better solution, unless u r co-sleeping (family bed). we got a playpen last time cos easy to move around between our place and my poarents house in m'sia. in malaysia, we used the lowest (base) level once adan reached 5-6 months.

Bigtoes
we just went to cheong choon and she mentioned a very pretty lady bought her last Meridien...must've been you lah! She said don't look chinese one

Robinsons
Can robs card get extra discount during GSS? if so, I may get my car seats from there, cos now already there is 15% discount which makes things same price as Cheong Choon and CC has no current stock for Britax Royale.

Gathering
How does this menu sound?

OPEN CANAPES
Smoked Salmon with Dill & Capers
Seafood Calypso in Profiteroles
Cream Cheese with Caviar on Celery Boat

HOT SAVOURY
Grilled Chicken Tikka Skewer
Freshly Steamed Shrimp Dumpling
Freshly Steamed Siew Mai
Golden Tempura Prawn with Wasabe Mayo
Vietnamese Spring Roll with Garlic Chilli
Oven Baked Mushroom & Fontina Cheese Tart
Hong Kong Noodle

DESSERT
Fresh Strawberry & Marsh Mallow with Chocolate Sauce
Mini French Pastry

$20/pax for 15 pax.

Second alternative menu:
LOCAL SPECIATLY
Nonya Laksa with Condiments

HOT SAVOURY
Grilled Yakitori Chicken
Freshly Made Scallop Dumpling
Crispy Soft Shell Crab with Garlic Chilli
Swedish Meatball with Black Pepper Sauce
Grilled German Sausage with Tomato Concasse
Baked Pacific Mussel Marinara
Cocktail Curry Samosa

DESSERT
Fresh Fruit Platter
Mini French Pastry
Bread & Butter Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Ava: I believe you may enjoy further discounts as a Robs credit card mbr. They did ask me if I had the card when I paid for my bean pillow y'day.

But do bear in mind that stocks are running out! A lot of models can't be found there after their sale some weeks ago.

I think playpens are too flimsy for long-term sleeping purpose rite? I saw my nephew bouncing up and down inside his playpen when he was able to stand up at around 10mos.

Hi Shazz

Your SKATE in Bubbles Black is so very cool lor. Am sure when you use it next time with your baby, pple surely look at you...
Think i will make a trip to Baby avenue, tot of going to the hypermart... which is better?

Cots are good and more firm just that we need to get a good bumper ( is that wat you call bumper?)

Lok: The SAfety 1st pram link u gave me looks v good. Some more so cheap. Is it linked to Graco?

HASHIMA: If you dare eat bird's nest, you shd dare to eat this. They are produced by EXACTLY the same glands lor...salivary glands. Hahah.

Flos: You are wrong la...I haven't been taking my tonics religiously. Supposed to take hashima today...but plans got thrown out of the window cos met hubby for lunch, went shopping in the afternoon, and evening out for dinner with hubby's friends. Your bb will be super healthy cos u are eating cordyceps. I may not eat them already.

RXMom: Wah... the bb pooed and pee-ed so much? I think the trick is to learn your bb's body language and system clearance clock. I read somewhere that you don't have to change each time they pee. is that true? Anyway, in terms of cost effectiveness, all the reading i've done based on ppls' exp is cloth diapering is still more economical than disposables. Plus in terms of benefits to bb... also in favour of cloth. But i dunno if i can tahan doing all that washing or not either...so we'll see. Haha.

Shazz
Your stroller looks darn chic!

Flos
The range for Kate Spade diaper bags are rather limited. I got a simple, black canvas one.

According to the salesperson, Maxi Cosi Cabriofix can last baby till around 12 months, but I guess also depends on the size of the baby.

Ava
You'll get a further 5% discount off your cc bill when you use your OCBC Robinsons card.

Both menus look good, but the 2nd one is beckoning more to me because of the nonya laksa! I'm ok with both.. see which has more votes.

Ava: Received your PM! Thanks! I prefer the 1st menu though.. Looks yummy!! Kekek...

Flos: Is robinson still having 20% discount?

Mei: So good that you can work & be with your bb together.. Think I will still go back office to work cos I think I cannot stay 24/7 with bb & MIL! Haha!!

SarahMay: me neither
will only take that again in 2 weeks' time. can't take that too religiously, as I read in Chinese BB Forum pages.

I've finished my Enfamama finally. Am not going to buy another tin. Enough of milk powder. Must watch my weight...

Mei: That's what I read on Maxi-Cosi's website too. but the Shanghai lady told me 15mos. Maybe Chinese babes are smaller sized.

I wonder if it's ok to get the black polyester bag, the one that looks like Prada bag.

Shazz: Hey, your Skate looks like a Quinny Zapp.

liloymum: I will test out the Maclaren techno when I next visit the warehouses.

sarahmay
i used the ergo only when he was older, like maybe 9/10mths onwards. prior to that, i was using sarong sling from MIM. easier coz i was bfg and sling was really convenient to cover me and bb up. keeps my hands free too. i can walk and shop faster without the stroller.

yes maybe wait a bit for stroller first, i got mine as a gift, and is regretting it now (ought to have asked for something more practical lah)

o yes, ergo are for older bbs, all the way to tods (though they have bb insests lah). baby bjorn is for younger bbs from newborn onwards.
actually there is another brand, Beco...very chic design. all their designs are limited edition and pretty lah. you can google and check it out. another one is papatum, but for the later two, think you have to airmail from US.

yes, i believe in attachment parenting too!!!heeeeee...

rxmom
o yes you have to change more frequently with cloth diaper, but that is the whole point of it. so the bb wont get used to the wetting and not changing (supposed to help them toilet trained better, but im not sure about that.)

think the bb was just feeling leaky that day lah..usually not that bad

I am also a MTB due early Sept. Just want to join in and share information. Especially you guys seem to have lots of "lobang" to get good deals. I am looking at getting the peg perago P3 and car seats (2008 model) as well. The cheapest quote i got is from Isetan which is abt $910 after discount as a complete travel system (car seat and stroller). May I ask where is baby avenue ?

Hi mummies, anyone experienced pain near the ribcage? I keep feeling pain but I don't think its bb cos today its both sides of the ribcage.. So uncomfortable!

thanks, pinkygal.

i've finally done my first baby shopping today! bought some sleepsuits, bodysuits as well as dresses, pants and blouses from mothercare, jl and isetan. the outfits are so so cute i wish i could wear them too! guess this is what happens when u're expecting a little girl.

Flos: Why did the CHinese BB forum pages say you cannot take cordyceps too religiously?

Jo Jo: Welcome! Is yours a boy or girl?

L'l CY: We must meet so that you can share more about attachment parenting and the Shichida method!!!! Does CY co-sleep with you? So many questions to ask you la! I like the MIM slings. Think they are functional without being ugly. Not too ex either. The pretty ones u've mentioned cost way more. Not willing to spend tt much cos I don't want to get upset over cleaning bb puke, food stains etc...cos I imagine I might be the one spilling food onto it if I'm carrying him while i eat. Hehe.

DIAPER BAGS: Samsonite has diaper bags too! As does COMBI. Just checked them out. The Samsonite designs I saw were a bit flowery, Jappy-looking but still pretty.

BATHING BB: Do we just sponge bath bb until umbilical cord drops? We can't put bb into bathtub of water when u/c is still attached right?

Goldfish,
Thanks for the no.

SarahMay,
Where do u get the Omron ear thermometer ?

JoJo,
Baby Ave is located at 520 Balestier Rd # 01-02 Leong On Bldg Tel# 62536678

Ava (avalyn) : how much is Royale at Robinson after 15% discount? I saw Royale at First Few Years, think it's selling at $449 before less 10%.

Thanks also for the feedback on play pen vs cot.

Menu for gathering: I vote for 1st menu! =)

pinkygal (pinkygal) : thanks! We love the functionality of the SKATE. Hubby and I prefer to shop at Baby Avenue cos it's way too cramped and crowded at Baby Hyperstore.

Mei & Flos: thanks! I think SKATE's design is a combi of Quinny Buzz (zapp wheels are smaller) and the Bugaboo design. It looks so different from their usual strollers like the Pliko P3, which I think is very functional as well.

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - hah, don't know about the "very pretty lady" but I guess she said i didn't look chinese maybe cos my mandarin sounds abit weird? (didn't take mandarin in school). Anyway, her delivery guy was so blur, he sent the Britax meridian &amp; didn't collect money, so we had to make a trip down to her shop on Friday to pay!

Btw, i am okie with both menus, thou the 1st one sounds a tad better

BABY KICKS
Mommies, are ur babies kicking more vigerously now? Mine definitely is! I think he changes position quite often as well - sometimes this feels like insides are turning!

BELLY BUTTON
Is ur belly button an "outie" by now? Mine is a tiny innie, wondering how many more weeks before it totally disappears, &amp; starts popping out! Would be kinda weird...</font>

Bigtoes: I'm sure Winnie was refering to you cos you look abit Eurasian. =)

Baby Kicks: Yes, I feel Eamon's kicks more now and I think it's getting stronger even though I think he's quite gentle. I heard they change their position once every 2 weeks or so. Eamon was head down, legs up when I went for gynae checkup last Fri, but I can feel his hands and leg movement at slightly different places now. When it's the hands moving, it's rather mild movement, sometimes I'll feel as if he's pinching something inside me! His kicks are most vigorous in the morning when my alarm clock rings. I think he's startled by the sudden noise that wreck his peaceful sleep! haha

Belly Button: mine is an outie for a while, can see the slight pop under my clothes now.

pinkgal
Previously i was looking at Bugaboo Bee..was looking at it even before i passed my 1st trimester,haha!! Actually in general, i prefer more sturdy and heavier models.. so far only Peg Perago P3 and Inglesina Zippy caught my eye..both Italian brand &amp; abt same weight but Inglesina have a 'handle' tat can fold up with one action, one hand... I prefer the P3 cos the seat cushion looks really comfortable and plush..

JoJo
Like wat i mentioned in my prev post, Baby Ave is offering $798 for complete system but it is the 2007 model. I asked around and all of the sales ppl told me 2007 &amp; 2008 models no difference, only diff is the color choice. It is worth it if u intend to get the complete set. I wun be getting the car seat cos I alrdy have 2 hand me downs. Most likely will order the P3 frm Cheong Choon cos it is the best deal so far at $550. The pics i attached are the 2007 model which Baby Ave is having the bundle offer.. 2007 model of Primo Viaggio and Pliko P3

1446556.jpg
1446557.jpg

sunrays (sunrays) : good choice! If my hubby is not so insistent on the height issue, I would go for Pliko P3 or Inglesina Zippy too. CC price is really good. I dread to think they can bring in the SKATE that I bought at a lower price! ;p

Sunrays, U changed your mind abt bugaboo becoz of the weight? The P3 really looks more comfy compared to the seats of the bugaboo. the bugaboo material abit like school bag material...hmmm

Sarahmay, wat was the article abt in regards to cordyceps?

<font color="0000ff">Flos
Dr Cheng scanned for me ytd leh...
but he didnt measure bb or his weight. juz scanned to see tat he was ok and all. was oso explaining to me where bb's head, arms and legs were. blur me forgot to ask for bb's weight oso lah.. sighz...

anyway, he oso measured my tummy to ensure tat it corresponds with the number of wks tat i'm in.

hhmm.... free things from TMC. i dun think got bath tub. ytd went to visit my fren juz b4 she was discharged. seems like onli got a lime green diaper bag (not sure wats inside, but heard they gave milk powder, some pampers and stuff). but dun have bath tub wor...</font>

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - babies only change positions fortnightly in the womb? Mine feels like he is swimming around all the time! During the last 2 appnts with the gyne, he 'swam' from legs up, back facing, to legs on the right, front facing (hubby &amp; I felt his kicks while waiting to see the gyne &amp; confirmed that indeed his legs were on the right)
Looks like our son is quite figgity! He is more of an afternoon/evening guy thou, &amp; gets most active after lunch.

My sister's son was like that as well - guess all the kicking helped with the limbs development cos he didn't crawl more than 1-2 days before he started walking by 9 months!

wow, ur belly button is already an outie? Mine was quite deep to begin with, so now it looks like a small little innie. Amongst all the physical changes, I am most amazed with the belly button for some reason!

BATHING BB- Usually dun need to sponge baby but clean with a 100% cotton cloth.. can wet the U/C but will need to clean the yellow/brown discharge with sterilised cotton bub soaked in cooled water.. make sure it is dried thereafter, can sprinkle some powder to dry it. can get it from guardian, i think they sell.. the u/c will normally drop off within the first week.

CORDYCEPS - Wat article abt cordyceps? Can share?

BELLY BUTTON - Mine is not exactly outie, but will be an outie fairly soon.. and can feel a bit of pain surrounding it, think skin is stretching that y.. must apply more scretchmark oil/cream around this area, see if can avoid ugly mark from appearing or not..

MENU FOR GATHERING - Me too.. I vote for first menu
Ava - I sent you an e-mail.

Bigtoes
Yes, she was def refering to you cos she mentioned that u had to go back to pay for the seat

Menu
Heh.....alabone another drop out (and you were three pax some more)! Argh. Hope this thing happens on sat or I'll have tons of food to last me a week.

I need to confirm menu asap, so i'll go with Menu 1, hope all are OK with this?

Anyone else can make it this sat???

Royale
At Robs after 15% it was about $375...a few dollars more than CC. The Omega was $339 (cheaper than CC).

Ava (avalyn) - hah, okie. Its me then.
Btw, Robinson doesn't have discounts for all car seats - i called them to ask abt the Meridian, and the lady told me it was $599 nett...so have to check on specific models cos the sale is not storewide. Meanwhile, we fitted on our car seat just to test before hand, and it is quite bulky (not wide, but long)....the front driver seat has to scoot forward to make space for a back-facing car seat. Would most prob have to upgrade to an MPV when baby no. 2 comes along!

Btw, am okie with Menu 1.

koras (koras) - I sleep very soundly at nite..so not sure if baby kicks me then
Just had lunch &amp; he is very active now thou!

BELLY BUTTON
Mine's still an innie, a small one now though &amp; I hope it remains that way!

UMBILICAL CORD
I saw a cord solution sold at Guardian to clean baby's umbilical cord till it dries &amp; drops off, might buy it.