(2008/09) Sep 2008

pinkygal (pinkygal): I've surveyed all those strollers u mentioned. I like Quinny Buzz most. It looks damn nice with Maxi-cosi cabriofix. I need my hb's concurrence.

I dun mind Bugaboo Bee but it can only tahan up to 17 kgs I think...

STOKKE Xplory is too tall and heavy for me.

I have additional brand new NUK premium bottles and Bfree bottles from 1st month celebration gifts.

2 NUK premium bottles are at 300ml each = blue and green coloured bottle cap. Selling at $10 each.

2 Bfree bottles are at 260ml each, comes with the cleaning kit and 2 additional teats sellling at $15 each.

Please pm me if you need further information.

storeberry/flos,

yes, of cos, at the end of the day, it's really up to the family's needs. Just sharing thoughts with the benefit of hindsight (budget is not the issue for us). Call it occupational hazard, I'm looking at $ everyday, so believe some things are worth it (e.g. a good breastpump), others are not really necessary.

Morning, Ladies

Yes, today will cut down on what I am taking and make sure it is healthy en so this morning, I wake up early to make my soup for tonight to make amends. hahaha

Abalone - you took junk food too.. oh no.. we need to watch wat we eat lor.. eat healthy today ya

Flos - What is baby monitor? Is it necessary?

Flos
Come on, join me, get the Quinny Buzz with the Maxi-Cosi Cabriofix!

LC
I also eat junk food, very into fast food lately.. had Long John Silver, Carl's Jr & MacDonalds lately too.. heheh.

xuanting
MothersWork is having a sale & they have a moses basket for sale at $200+.

Friday evening went to MotherCare & bought my cot mattress & beddings. Then hubby bought a videocam from the Sony roadshow at Vivo. Shopping more or less done, now only left with Breastpump.

l'l CY: Graco and Aprica are more pricey than Combi I think. Anyway, just thinking about it again. maybe I get a cheaper one. Hehe. Lots of ppl here use Chicco but it is a bit bulky in my opinion. And the roads here are a bit trashed up so not sure if the wheels of these lightweight ones can tahan even thought they cost hundreds. I may end up getting copied-by-China brands.Hehe. Abt traditional diapers: aren't they hard to fold and pin? Was thinking of getting prefolds....what do you think of them?

Flos: I hope your nephew recovers from the emotional and psychological trauma. There may not be physical signs. But still good to bring him to doc to double check. Did your BIL show the recording to the agency? He shd cos some of these agencies tend to 'recycle' the maids. My friends kena before- get psycho maids that were fired by several employers before. Hope this one doesn't get sent to another employers! Your hubby's back in July! So nice - just in time for delivery. The more I think abt it, the more I wld like to be back in SG in 2 - 3 years time...so that I can return to SG to pursue further studies, and my hubby can do his on scholarship too.

LC: Aiyo...this morning I woke up wondering if I had consumed too much chocs and chips yday. Terrible. I shall be brewing my hashima and pao shen as well as cooking healthier dishes this week. Attempting to go for my swim today too. So what soup are you cooking?

Alabone: Yeah,...they are downright grouchy and rude. It is their attitude la. But I also think I better watch it. I tend to be too particular abt service quality. So...maybe I shd just ignore them...learn to at least.

BABY MONITOR: I need one too. but they all seem to be in the 200+ range. A friend said not worth it...but I think it is completely vital for me as I am determined not to have bb sleep with me after 8 wks. So do share your research with me! So far, I only seen Philips.

MAIDS: Scary maid issues exist. For me, I think I never wanted a maid since in my teens cos I grew up with live-in maids. My bro and I got v close to the maid...closer to her than my parents. And I rber thinking that I wld not be able to tahan seeing my kids being closer to someone else than me. Also, dun like having stranger in my house. So uncomfortable. However, I dun mind hiring part-time help to clean the house! Hehe.

STEALING MAIDS: EEks! My gf also had one. Though it is worse....the maid worked for her for 4 yrs. And always got v good treatment. My gf even did some housework. Then one day, she left the maid alone while they went for holiday. When they returned, her old CD player and things inclding a BIG POOH BEAR stuffed toy were missing. The maid had ran away!!! Guess you can never place too much trust in a maid, no matter how loyal or good u think they are!

SarahMay
I got a Philips baby monitor that came in a bundle pack with a Avent bottle starter kit for around $107 a few months back at Robinsons.

If space permit, I will still prefer a cot wor. Btw, how do u all waterproof a playpen/cot? A mattress protector?
Btw, anyone has any good recommendation of weekend maid? I think I better start sourcing for one just in case I need one manz!
Oh yah.. which kind of thermometer is better for bb? Forehead or those armpit thermometer huh? I was told ear thermometer nt tat good cos bb ear too small wor

Cot vs Playpen:
Mummies, one thing you need to know. Most playpens do not have adjustable levels. The baby will turn over and flip at abt 3-4mths on average. Once the bb can turn over, it'll be dangerous to leave them on the highest level. With a cot, you can then lower it to the next lower level. And at abt 6-8mths on average, they'll be able to sit up, this is the time to lower the cot again to the next lower level.
So do invest in a cot with adjustable levels.

SHOPPING - I have not done much shopping. My hubby like very "nuai" like that.. weekend like dun wan to shop. I fore-warned him already - I will be too big and lazy to walk at later stage, so if he dun wan to do shopping now during the GSS, then he will have to follow the checklist to gather all the stuff..

BABY MONITOR - May I know why some ladies here are getting baby monitor? Why not having baby sleeping with you? as in maybe can put the baby cot in your master bedroom?

SarahMay - I did the black bean pork soup this morning for my dinner tonight with a bit lotus in as well to sweeten the soup.. I missed out bird nest last week. Coincidentally, mum and MIL did not make for me last week. I guess will do Cordecepys mid week. Going to buy rock sugar to sweeten the taste a bit cos I usually double boil the cordecepys with guo qi zi but it still taste a bit blend.. And, I realise you are quite faithful to the hashima and pao sheng
"bu qi".. will Hashima be considered as cooling?

Mei - So I am not alone, eating junk food.. Ho ho ho.. must eat healthy. I heard what we eat in the 2nd and 3rd trimester are absorbed by baby.. dun know how true..

bbmouse,

My Lucky Baby playpen has 3 levels - bassinet, 1 level lower and the lowest level. In my case, the bb cot only lasted abt 10 mths cos my son started pulling himself up and was busy bouncing around the wooden cot (u imagine all the bumps which even the bumpers cannot help). He wanted to climb the cot and was pulling and biting the bumper strings *faintz*

LC,

I bought the Philips BB monitor. They have 2 (the cheaper one is ~$99 but it didn't last long as my nephew accidentally poured coffee onto the receiver). It's up to u again. We put J into his own room after a yr as we want peace in our sleep and wants him to learn to sleep on his own! Privacy for ourselves too.

LC
I'll be bringing baby to my mother's place to take care of him during the day while I work from my mum's house. Baby will be placed in a separate room from my work area, that's why I need a baby monitor.

My mum boiled some black bean with walnut soup for me every alternate day.. it tastes like dessert. This recipe is taught by a confinement lady. Don't know what it's for though, just drink.. lol.

Lok: My baby is still using the cot we bought her. We've lowered it to the lowest possible of 4 levels now. We lined 2 layers of bumpers around the cot. Sometimes she still knocks a bit here and there, but she doesn't make noise and I assume it's not painful.

Good that you playpen has 3 levels. Is your boy still sleeping in it?

Hi MTBs,
How was your wkend? GSS started..and I went crazy

Cot bed
Finally bought ours at Mothercare - St Ives. Guess what they went out of stock and we were "forced" to take the display set as next batch of stock will come in late aug/sep. So much for procrastination. But we did get a better disc at 15%...so no complaint. We also bought the Green Blue car range of bumper, sheets, coverlet etc.

My new place
Finally we got hold of the keys! But i went into a hysterical mode when we collected the keys and found out that one of the main door key was missing. I demanded the lawyer to check, called the seller, agent and was super upset..even walked out on my hubby at Toa Payoh hub..something i havent done for a long long time..sobbing and looking for a cab to go home on my own....we both blamed it on my preggie hormones!!
My hubby thot i went crazy!

Cloth Diapers
I bought the cheaper version - tollyjoy..gg at $18.90 for pack of 10/20 (i cant remember) and their nappy liner $12.90 for 200 sheets at kiddy palacce. Just wondering if thats a good deal? and do i need to get safety pin to pin the diapers tog? Heard pigeon is a good brand..but v expensive at $25.90 for 10 pack.

bb stuff
seems like there is alot more to buy. Do we need a bb monitor? whats the function? will it sound an alarm when bb is awake? how much does it cost? I still have tons to shop..eg. detergent, bathing tub etc..where is a good place to shop during GSS? Taka or robinson?

Playpen,
My colleague said i should get a playpen as well since i have a pet at home..

Hi Flos

yes, Quinny Buzz looks really cool but i heard from the saleslady that the 2007 model has q a fair bit of problems with regards to the suction pump ( dunno wat that is called). 2008 is a much improved version but dunno how good. Thk we will likely to get the bugaboo bee since it is also a travel system and it is lighter.

Yes, Bugaboo bee is to 17Kg only. Do you know how old would the child be at 17KG?

Lok, Where do you get your playpen from? sound good that it is adjustable. Like wat Mickey mention, the cot can adjust and can sometimes even transform to a toddler bed.
I have seen the Pali cot, q nice but high.. anyone has any recommendations?

bacon&egg
You also got the St Ives.. same as me.
I bought the Teddy's Wash Day range... I was baffled over the beddings.. different from our type. In the end, I bought the jersey fitted sheets, bumper, blanket & waterproof protector. Quite ex man! Anyway, did you buy from Harbourfront branch? Can exchange for free luggage bag..

pinkygal
St Ives costs $576, but after the 15% discount, we paid $489. I ordered mine on 1st May, there was stock at that point in time.

bbmouse/pinkygal,

I think whether it's going to be the playpen or cotbed really depends on your bb (but unfortunately u hv to take the risk now). My son is the very active, monkey around type. The cotbed is, in my view, very dangerous for him. The bumper is useless in his case and i resorted to using adult pillow to cushion him (when he's awake)!! At least for playpen, he can bounce around and not get seriously injured.

Yup, J still sleeps in his playpen. I know some toddler his age has graduated to mattress (no cot, no playpen). I didn't cos nobody sleeps with him and the layout of my masterbedroom doesn't allow a separate mattress. It was a gift from hubby's company but I have seen the new model in OG, kiddy palace.

One more thing on Stroller: Weight of bb is one constraint. I find that height of bb is another (e.g. even though Combi can technically take up to ~18kg, I find that J's head is in a very awkward position when he sleeps in the fully reclined position and he is not even tall.)

Hi Mickey!
Thanks for ur enlightenment on the impt of 3 adjustable levels for playpen/cots!
It did occur to me that it is not safe to put bb at the top level after 3 to 4 mths! I think my playpen onie haf 2 levels of adjustment!!! I think I better call and check!

Btw, are u guys investing on those special bathtub? I got this pix from the May forum and one mama posted the pix of her bb in this bathtub. I have seen it before and thot it is good cos’ do not have to support the bb body with one hand. Bt my hubby say WASTE OF MONEY cos hospital will give us one bathtub which is the conventional one. Any experienced mama can comment? I thot it is good leh

1444038.jpg

Hi Mei
Blackbean soup can help in milk supply? I dun mind asking my hubby to cook for me manz!

Bacon&Egg
I tink the alternative way is to use the diaper pants instead of safety pins? Bt I am oso a bit confused on tis oso. Dunno whether shld invest on diaper pants or BUMWEAR

Goldfish
I got this tub from Baby Avenue.. I also saw it selling at Kaki Bukit Hyperstore for around $19 only.

1444044.jpg

As for blackbean soup, I didn't know until Lok enlightened me.. my mum cook, I just drink.. hehe.

Bacon&Egg

U need safety pin to secure the cloth diapers and need to secure it horizontally and not vertically.. I am getting the pigeon one.. more comfy I heard..

Goldfish, Mei: I have the same bathtub as Mei. We didn't even use the extra board cos we don't know how to. Hahahah.. With one hand, go around the baby's neck at the back (to support it) and hold him by the armpit. With the other free hand, you can splash water on him to bathe him.
Hospitals will conduct courses on how to bathe a baby durin gour stay there. Do attend.

mei,
yeah, i spent $800 in total for the cot and bedding. I didnt buy the waterproof protector..didnt know abt the free luggage too. they didnt tell me! Where does the protector goes? underneath the sheets?

pinkygal,
i bought the cot bed. the staff said they cannot be certain when the next batch of stock will arrive. They cannot commit earlier than aug/sep and i dont want to risk having no bed or rush to setup and sterilise the bed & beddings. so i decided to take the display set. price as mentioned by mei. This monday onwards, they only give 15% to POSB/DBS credit card holders.

bb bathing tub,
mei, where is bb avenue? i saw tubs at mothercare but not so cheap. I like the supporting thingy for bathing..think it will be easier for my hubby to bath the bb.

mickey
I'll see if my CL uses it, if not just learn from her how to bathe baby, jittery when I think of it.. heheh.

bacon&egg
The protector goes under the fitted sheet.
Mothercare also didn't tell me about the Harbourfront redemption, my hubby was the one who spotted the promotion. Oh, did you also get the MotherCare membership? Once you spend $300, you can get the membership free.

Baby Avenue is at Balestier but it's slightly more expensive by a few dollars compared to Kaki Bukit.

Strollers
I agree with Lok that one need not spend too much on strollers. First, do consider the aisles in Singapore's stores really aren't very wide, and secondly, your child may not be the kind to want to sit in a stroller (like mine). I have 2 stroller, a combi which I purchased in the US (much cheaper there), and a Peg Perego Pliko P3 that I bought second hand from Yahoo Auction that's almost like new but cost less than 50% of the original price. Look out for deals.
As it is, I already think the peg perego is v wide, but i dun use it much often anyway, cos my son does not like to be in the stroller.

Baby Monitor
I bought mine from the US for US$35. It's much cheaper there. My hubby is bringing it back next tue, but I think even if you paid vpost postage, it will still be cheaper than the monitors here. Only problem is the voltage. I will try to see can get a right adaptor for it, otherwise, will just use rechargeable batteries.

I think it is good to have a baby monitor. We can be in the room during night time, but we won't be during the day time.

Mei: Yah, that's the problem. My CL didn't use the board, and as we all learned from her, we also din use it. Hehehe..

Goldfish: I got the tub from Cheong Choon. Winnie shd still carry this at her store.

<font color="119911">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - which hosp are u delivering at? Didn't know they give bathtubs to new mommies...not sure what else they provide?

Btw, who is sending ur baby to the in-laws &amp; are u mommies getting duplicates for everything? Like 2 sets of sterilizer, bottles, bath tub, pram, etc etc?</font>

Talk to u all in 3 days' time.

Leaving for a short KL biz trip. Will try to make it for Sat gathering as we have a few errands to run(probably bring J along --- Ava, don't worry abt catering for our food).

sarahmay
prefolds are good, but more expensive right? the pins are ok once you get used to it. trust me, bb stage no worries about pins but once they hit toddlerhood...aiyoh, they will wage diaper war (refuse to put on diaper, squirm and roll all over etc) then the pin becomes more tricky...(some mummies resort to using pull ups at this stage)...

are you talkinga bout the prefolds from bumwear? you getting their pocket diapers too??

strollers
actually strollers more for parents coz bbs will get used to whatever kinda 'sitting' environment if they are the 'stroller type' anyway...but it definitely must be comfortable for the parents.that is why for me, weight is the most most important. the maclaren techno was a terror to me, imagine carrying a 8mth old bb in one hand and trying to close it with the other hand (btw, can be done lah, just the weight is darn impractical). argh!!!!!

some of the mummies here might consider that your bb might not like stroller. CY didnt use the stroller until 15mths (when i realise i was preg). prior to that i used slings when he was newborn and ergo when he was older...

pinkygal
17kg ah? around 5-6year old for a normal child (not overweight...)

Bigtoes
I'll be taking care of my baby at my mum's place while working from her home &amp; my mum will help out. I only intend to get a playpen bassinet, changing station, food warmer, bathtub, clothes &amp; some accessories to put at her place. Bottles I'll also leave some there. My mum told me no need to buy steriliser, she'll use the traditional method to sterilise the bottles. Other stuff I'll just bring over when I bring baby over.

Millie
Cheong Soon number is 6532-3855

Bigtoes,
I am delivering at Mt Alvernia. They got gif away bathtub and pampers and crap. I was advised by Cheong Soon to ask for lots and lots of bottles from nurses during our hospital stay. Can be used as breastmilk storage? Is tat true anyone?

Gathering
Hi all is this the final tally (todate)?
**Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664
Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Mrs Yap
Mei
bigtoes
Jo
lilboymum &amp; CY (2 pax) - not coming?
alabone, Jared &amp; Nat

Flos
Aiyoh, your poor nephew...! Luckily your bro had webcam...we will probably set one up in our Master Bedroom and the nursery too eventually...better safe than sorry! Esp if hb moves his office out of the apartment.

Ava (avalyn) - it should be Cheong Choon. The lady boss's name is Winnie.
Btw, have u decided where to get the catered food from?

Mei (meie) - u will be working from ur mum's home everyday? That's pretty convenient
I haven't even bought the 1st set of most stuff! Just realised i would need 2 sets for alot of items...

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - yes, my sis delivered at TMC and she said to ask for free bottles as well, to use for storage during breast milk expression.

bacon&amp;egg
It's those small trolley luggage for short trips.. can redeem one luggage per $200 spent. There are also gifts for every $100 &amp; $50 spent, I think.

Ava
My attendance is confirmed, I'm coming alone. I notice my name's posted twice in the list.

Bigtoes
Yup, everyday.. as I'm working for my own family business &amp; my office's really near my mum's place, like 10 min drive away. So for any urgent cases, I can just leave baby with my mum &amp; head back to office. Not everything need duplicates.. guess more of the big items like cot.. are you getting another cot or just a playpen to put at your ILs' place?

Gathering
Hi all is this the final tally (todate)?
**Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664
Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Mrs Yap
bigtoes
Jo
alabone, Jared &amp; Nat

haiz. cant cancel his swimming for this round. sorry gals, you enjoy yourself while i wallow in the pool....

Mei: So envious. You can be with your baby whole day long even while you're working!
Wow! I wish I can have that option.

mickey
Yes, I am indeed very lucky. My MIL actually insisted that I employ a maid &amp; leave baby at her place.. but since I have the flexibility to work &amp; take care of my baby myself, why not right? I foresee that it'll be very tough, waking up early to prepare myself &amp; baby &amp; shuttling baby to-&amp;-fro but I will try my best. I joked to my dad that his grandson goes to work with me everyday so he needs to be paid a salary too.. lol.

Mei: Aiyooh.. Your MIL again.. You have a v strong case, cos good thing your office is near to your mum's place. If really cannont cope, you can still hire a maid and bring her along with you to your mum's place with the baby. At least the maid can help a bit with your mum's housework, and both you and mum can care of the baby.

Mei: Wow! That is a good deal. Thought the monitor itself would cost more than 200! I like your bathtub. I think I’m not getting one cos I hear Mt A gives out free ones. Plus I’m only going to be in SG for two months. Think carrying a bathtub over to Macau is a bit cumbersome. Though I’ve been tempted to buy the bath pail types – LIONHEART and Tummy Tub are two brands I was looking at.

Goldfish: The best thermometer for bbs and kids are the ear types. Many like to buy Braun. But Omron comes highly recommended to me by my friend who’s a childcare principal. She uses both and finds Omron more hardy than braun. And it is cheaper too! Only about 72 bucks. I bought one already. Ear temperature takings are also the more accurate of the three.

LC: Huh? I haven’t been faithful at all to my tonics. Last week was the Dang Shen/Beiqi/ Shou Wu and Gou Qi Zi. Hashima is not cooling. It is meant for lungs. Also has more nutritional benefits than birds’ nest. And you are right – whatever we eat in 2nd trimester especially will be absorbed by bb! So we best be careful with what we eat…I’m a guilty junk food addict.

Lok: Which model did u get? The more ex or cheaper one? How much is the more ex one?

Bacon &amp; Egg: Awww…. Don’t stress. Yes, the hormones are quite disruptive! Also, what kind of pet do you have? Why is the playpen important if you have a pet?

L’l CY: Not sure if I’m buying or not. First month I think I shall use disposables. Attempt cloth diapering after that. Hehe. Was thinking of bumwear prefolds as well as pocket diapers. SLINGS - which brand of sling did u use when CY was NB? Between Ergo &amp; baby Bjorn - what are the pros of Ergo that made u choose it?

SOUPS TO HELP LACTATION: Papaya and fish soup is great! I didn’t know about black bean. I just know that it helps get rid of wind if you add into longan &amp; red date drink during confinement.

DISPOSABLE DIAPERS: I think Bumwear sells those rubber kind of fasteners that you can use with cloth diapers. So no need to fiddle with safety pins.

WALNUTS: Are excellent for our baby’s brain development now!

BABYWEARING: I just read an excellent article from Dr Sears’ website about wearing bbs in slings. I think I’m going to skip the stroller bit for now. Just invest in a sling first. It is part of an article about attachment parenting. Here is the link for anyone who is interested: http://www.askdrsears.com/html/10/T130300.asp

Cloth diaper

I didn't use cloth diaper for my first born and is kinda blur about it. I don't think i will use for my no. 2 though... cos last weekend, i visited my friend who was doing her confinement. During my 2 hours there, the baby peed 3 times and pooped twice (a little bit each time). So that's 5 changes already.

Seems abit siong to have to wash 5 x 12 = 60 diapers a day (if I prorate it for 24 hour day)...?

We need to change once it's wet right cos cloth won't absorb the wetness.