(2008/09) Sep 2008

aloevera,
ok.. be it gal or boy, a healthy baby is most impt! and furthermore, ur hubby wanted a boy! so i guess u are hoping that ur #3 is a gal?
well.. i am expecting my #3 and it's a gal. though i was hoping for a boy. my 1st is a gal, 2nd is a boy, 3rd is a gal. sometimes still feel a little disapointed that #3 is a gal.. not sure how long i'd take to overcome this disappointment.

storeberry, i think pregnant women burn easier than normal leh.. so better rem to put more sunblock before going under the sun for long hours.. Sat, I quickly ran down for a quick swim when it got a bit cloudy..

aloevera, congrats .. haaa.. I would be inviting my ah bu to go for my next scan.. hee...and is alpha course the equivalent to catholic's RCIA? HENG my MIL nv ask me to go.. lazy..lol...

Bigtoes, dont worry abt the size of baby bump too much.. My coll and I are just 3 wks apart and I look 6months preggers while she looks 3months nia. And I always bore the brunt of the joke. OH well, I simply ignore.. And sat when I went to my gynae's, there was a lady who was 36wks preggers. I stared at her tummy, then mine and I felt like I was 36wks instead of her.

Need some advice...
My MIL heard that we are buying a superduper exp breast pump from USA. And this morning, she msg me about carrefour having a sale on some phillips breast pump which I've nv heard of before, retailing at 100plus. how shd I tell her nicely that I prefer medela? AND without her saying that I LIKE TO GO FOR THE BEST AND MOST EXP THINGS AGAIN.

Aloevera: Congrats on your boy!!! Yes, GOD is great!

Crayonshinchan: Why not tell your MIL that your fren is planning to help you to buy the breastpump in USA & its a lot cheaper so you are not buying in S'pore... Hope you will be able to solve this with your MIL soon.

stef,
why u prefer boy ar? i no longer think tat boys are "OURS" anymore, it's more like girls care more for their own folks nowadays... =P i can undstd how u r feeling now, but trust me, the feeling will go away a few weeks time. esp when u set ur eyes upon the princess, aiyooo...heart also melt liao! =P

for me, i dun mind a boy, but it's a preference kind of feeling, u noe rite... no disappointment or watsoever la, still happi la! =P

crayonshinchan,
i realise it's a nice feeling to get our mom involved in the scanning, haha! coz their time and ours are so diff, and they always dunno wat we r talking abt when we always tell them we can see BB every appt! =P

the philips pump ur MIL talking abt shld be Avent Philips la...if i'm not wrong.. u can tell her tat u hv decided to BF for a long period of time, so u prefer to invest in a good equipment so tat your BF-ing experience will be a enjoyable one. try to convince her tat some things are really worth "paying for the quality"... =)

I have a strong feeling it could be avent.. avent is philips issit? Or I could be wrong..

Actually I am still undecided. I hope medela works for me and I wont waste money. Medela still has more votes than avent and ameda. Sian!

Storeberry.. haa. we are actually getting my BIL (her son) to buy back from USA. LOL.. and we've oredi told her its much cheaper liao.. BUT i think her idea is all breastpumps are the same and she actually kind of discouraged me by asking me to give formula milk instead. Cos she wants the CL to feed the baby formula milk instead of breastmilk so that she has work to do. And we've oredi explained to her that, thats the reason why we are buying breastpump-- to express milk. But I think she doesnt really get it..

*scratch head*

sarahmay,
the bb is overweight la. at 4 mths old, my kids were only abt 4kg plus... then at 1 yr old, my boy was only a mere 8+kg. at 2.5 now only 11.9kg... same for my girl. she's 16mths but 9.4kg.

crayonshin,
bb can sit in the bumbo seat once they can lift up their heads. i let my kids sit in it when they were 3mths old. can sit in there for a couple of mths but depending on how well your bb likes it. my boy was quite naughty, but abt 6mths +, he was pushing himself out of it already. so for him, that was the lifespan of the chair... but since i'm using it for the third kid later on, it's quite a good buy for me. hehe.

crayonshinchan,
yes, medela is good... but abit noisy.. and u cant pump with BB sleeping beside u. or u need a pillow to cover the pump so tat the motor sound wont be disturbing BB's sleep. apart from tat, i hv no complaint la! =P

sorry to ask normally how many milk bottle do u all normally buy. Cox my mother say buy 4 can le. 2 at her side 2 put at my home

Storeberry
What book is that? On praying for the unborn baby? :p I interested leh

Ur knock-knock method in response to bb is interesting! In fact, I have heard frm a friend’s friend who is preggy and I think in the 3rd trimester liao lah.
What she did was she shone torchlight on the tummy and the bb will touch where the source of the spotlight is leh! So damned cute. We got to try this out manz!

I tried to get hubby to sense the kicks bt he said it is my stomach juices lo. Humpz.

Wow! The jumperoo is cheap. We have one at home and my dotter loves it. But we bot it at higher price of course.

Koras: For feeding, I think you need min 3 bottles. You will also need some to store the breastmilk if you're pumping.

bumbos
actually really ah, can rent it..dun both to buy. i was glad i didnt eventually buy for my boy coz he sat up independently at 4mths liaoz. heee..that's the good thing about being light and featherweight.

crayonshinechan
eh, i dun think the 100plus is electronic dual pump right? tell you mil that is a manual single pump. not everyone is suitable for it. but if you intend to bf for long, then this pump will make you pump like siaoz...coz manual mah...

dun throw stones at me ok, those experienced mummies...

eh, i think you have to tell your mil that bfg is good!!! i can give you one hundred and one reason the benefits of bfg. my son has never never touched fm before.even now!can you imagine the amount of money i saved
kekekke...

Aloe: Your gynae visit sounds like mine when we found out the gender of the baby. My hubby was carrying my elder girl while the gynae was scanning my tummy. After he checked that the baby is ok, I asked abt the gender. The gynae shifted the scan, then on the scan, wrote the word "penis". Hahaha.. So we tell my girl, she'll be having a didi now.

SInce she knew I'm preggie, and I asked her where is didi, she will lift up my blouse to see my tummy and play with my belly button.

Thank God !

baby girl - thanks. by the way the BM we can pump le dan put inside the freezer part or the normal putting drinks section

Koras: If the BM is to be used within 24hrs, then can put in normal fridge section. But if you intend to freeze for use later than 24hrs, then got to put inside freezer.
If you're unsure, then put in fridge first, but must transfer to the freezer within 24hrs.

Koras: Another thing on freezing of BM. You shd buy milk bags for storage of BM in the freezer. Write the date of freezing on the milkbag so you'll be able to first-in-first out on the BM next time. Saves space and don't have to use so many bottles.

wah.. this thread moves super fast. I received my order from Old Navy on Saturday. Ordered a swimsuit and 2 pairs of shorts and least now I know what their sizing is like.. shorts are a little tight (bought XS) but swimsuit is alright. I'm still waiting for my cafepress order, supposed to come this week, although the tshirts are a little ex. the designs are nice and they ship to Singapore.

Actually I would love to go on a shopping spree to buy things for my baby boy.. but scared later will get hand me downs.. I've already gotten a wooden cot and car seat from my SIL.. and one of hubby's friends wants to give us a pram.

Tomorrow I'm going for the Robinson's Sale.. want to see whether the breast pump is cheap.. based on recommendations here, guess I'll be getting the medela one..

cloud (lovelycloud) - Oh, is there a Robinsons Sale going on? Don't think they will reduce price for Medela thou - I know they didn't the last time they had a sale....think one of the controlled-price items.

alabone (alabone) - Your kids are light
My SIL's 4 mths old is already 7.5kg. However, for my side of the family, my sister's 3 year old daughter is 12-13kg as well, about the same as yours.

Alabone: Hehe...I think so too...I kinda guessed bb's overweight. But never mind la...as long as their parents are happy.

Storeberry: Tried aloe vera gel yet? It is natural and a great skin soother. If you have aloe vera plants at home, just slice and rub on. Works wonders. Meanwhile, keep slathering on the moisturisers...your skin is prob burnt and needs recovery time. The moisturisers help.

Goldfish: 'Praying for your unborn child' is a Christian book, written in the 80s if I'm not wrong. Can find at Christian bookstores. It is quite a popular book so the store assts shd know it. You might want to try Stormie Omartian's 'Power of A Praying Parent'. It's for like older kids, but I find that it gives great pointers n prayers you can adapt for your unborn bb too.

L'l CY: You still haven't responded to my question about visual stimulation....what kind of toys do you mean?

Cloud: Your ordered ON clothes? What size did you order? Are the sizes really much bigger than SG maternity clothes sizes?

Breast pumps: Anyone tried the manual pumps before? Any good? Must we buy now or wait till after bb is born to see if milk prod is good? Cos I'm afraid of spending the money on it and then find tt i have no need for it.

Milk bags: Is the pigeon brand any good for this?
Bumbo: Can anyone confirm that there are various sizes for this? Cos online and in the shops I've been to, there seems to be only 1 size. Also, anyone tried the bumbo with the play tray? From what I understand abt the bumbo, it is not just to help babies sit upright. It is also to help them develop good sitting posture. Any truth in this?

Alabone: Can shed more light on your personal experience with bumbo? I do wonder if adding the play tray to it might keep bb in it longer.

Bigtoes, yupz got Robinsons members preview sale tomorrow and wednesday.. if they don't reduce.. they might have bundle offers..

SarahMay, yupz, I ordered from ON, for the yoga shorts, I ordered size XS.. but its a bit tight at the leg hole.. for the swimsuit, I ordered size S (its a little big), I'm waiting for my next ON package which contains jeans and pants (I ordered size S), from there can see what their sizing is like.

Went suntec yesterday to get some work clothes, they're having 10% discount at Spring Maternity and Perfect Mums..

sarahmay
i did i did....it must be lost somewhere...hmmmm...

was giving some suggestion on visual stimulation cards/toys. im personally using the Glen Doman visual stimulation kit for 0mths onwards.didnt managed to use that on my boy coz i bought the whole set only when he turned 13mths.

Not sure if Shichida has it too, those suitable for infants. for those who are interested, you might want to call them and ask.

There are actually many out there in the market.you know those red, black and white toys? personally, i think the pictures we have should be clear, discrete and meaningful. coz i think it is more than just showing them patterns and colours. from here that's how we built up their long term memory later.(There are many things i showed my son when he was younger, he didnt reproduce it to impress me then and i kinda forgot about them. but only recently he managed to produce everything again!) so i guess that is the purpose of visual stimulation too.

for example, a black star in white background is better than those multiple stripes of meaningless patterns. at least in the future they will remember the shape of star...

children's weight...
aiyoh, i'll be glad if my son can hit 10 kg by 2 years old. most likely i should be contented if he can hit 9kg...but one thing good about being light. he recently managed to climb onto the third/fourth level of my built-in book shelf! he actually managed to hang there (no hand grip at all and the surface is glossy) then tried squeezing into one of the shelves...

he can also lift himself easily like on pull up bar and stay there for quite a few seconds..can pass NAFA and IPPT oredi...

SarahMay (sarahmay) - my SIL rented her bumbo. Mentioned to me that there are a couple of sizes depending on the age range (like 3-6 months), 6 months+ etc. Am restaining myself from stocking up on too many items like these incase the baby doesn't need it. Seems like alot of new mommies are already selling stuff like breastpumps & accessories cos they stopped BFing/cannot BF for whatever reasons...so don't want to end up with too many things to unload.

Hello everyone
Had my DS this morning...wah spent 2.5 hours all in, including waiting for my turn, the DS, seeing my gynae after the scan, then a bloodtest for haemoglobin level.....

We're having two gals!!! Both seem to be doing well, for identicals so far...weighing 306 and 308g (I think) each at 19+ weeks.

Hey Ava
Congrats!! I find u even more wei-da.. to have 2 bb inside u leh!
Ermm.. now anticipating how ur bb gals looks like in the future!! SO kawaii!!!

Hi Goldfish, the book is really interesting, my fren gave it to me as a gift. Its by Francis & Judith (last name I cannot remember, I will go home & check it out today.)The book says that your bb will know you are playing with him using the knock knock method!

Congrats to your two princess!!! So happy for you!!

Ohh..taking abt the Bumbo seat earlier, just realised that my sis has one, so will just borrow. Here is her son (think about 3+ months then) in it..hehe..
1385105.jpg

bigtoes... your nephew so cute... i thot was a girl initially... so huggable...

ava... congrats on yr princess... now u have a boy and 2 girls le... good good

Storeberry...
past few nights, i have been trying to feel bb when lying down.. press here n there and even knock knock leh... but hor no response yet... think bb cant be bothered... guess bb inherit the same bochup attitude from Daddy..

Ava
Congrats! Oh wow.. you're going to have a fun time dolling them up.

Bigtoes
Your nephew looks so happy sitting in the Bumbo.

BEBEPOD
This is another 'version' of the bumbo type of chairs which I'll be getting.

http://www.bebepod.com/

Mrs Yap
My baby also doesn't move all the time, but when I start playing my games on the PC, he starts squirming! Must be in protest. You can try lying on your side or even on your stomach, it works for me, at times.

Ava: congrats!!!! So would it be Maia and Theia? Or something else?!!! No wonder u told us your weight is over 60kg now

Mrs Yap: "knock knock"? You don't knock until bb pain pain ah...LOL

Mine was rather playful last nite. Jabbed at me, then played hide and seek with me, after I stroked it back! hahahh!!!

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) - the bebepod version has the detactable center? More user friendly than squeezing fat thighs into the seat!

Heh, yah...my nephew was quite chubby when he was smaller (now 2+), have some photos where he is laughing &amp; looks like his favorite cartoon character, winnie the pooh (no idea why)!

Flos (flos) - my baby is also quite strong when he pushes &amp; moves around. Feel like cramps sometimes, but quite unusual for me to get cramps even during the time of month, so I think maybe its the baby but i can't be sure! It's more internal thou, so cannot yet feel any pushing on the tummy surface.</font>

haha... sometimes i feel the left side of the womb is harder... sometimes its harder on the right... i can feel v soft flutters... not to the extend that it will jab back at me or any significant movement. How i wish bb can start playing with me already

sorry to intrude,Dumex Mamil Mama milk powder each (expiry: 12/12/08) 50g (10 available) and 2 packets of annmum expiring in dec 2009

$1.00 for each satchet,price negotiable
collection:ang mo kio or postage
if interested,please email to [email protected]

Big toes: For me, I do get cramps every month, so I can distinguish the jabbing sensation and the premenstrual crampy feeling...The hardening last nite was really distinct and memorable! I lasted for 10 sec, than it flipped its body again. I can't tell which part of the body it was but it sure was poking at mommy!!! heheh!!

I'm sure most of us can feel ripples and flutters every now and then eh? It's only confined to the area below the belly button. Anything above is the churning of your gastric juice I guess!!!

I just bought the 3-pack Anmum milk from a neighbourhood provision shop last nite. It's only $4.15 for 3 mini packs. Has anyone of you tried this before?

Millie: The thing about milk bottle brands is you will never now until bb shows his/her dislike. My nephew hated Avent teat, but loves Pigeon now. My other nephew on the other hand hated Pigeon teat and swtiched to Avent. The moms got to purchase the accompanying steriliser altogether.

Millie,

I using Pigeon, just bou 1 ytd at OG.. now having 25% discount, oli 88+, their avent oso having 20% discount.. i think promo ends on 11/5 (if i'm not wrong)

my frd using it she says not bad.. can put those tall bottles...

Hi, Ladies

I am on MC again..Last Monday on MC too.. Serious cough and running nose
.. I cough quite hard still like all organs coming out fr the mouth like that.. so irritating!!! baby also has a hard time inside, I suppose, with the jerking almost every 5sec..

and oh yes, guess wat???? Gynae told me on the 16th week that I am expecting a princess and last sat went for the 20th week scan, a birdie popped out!!!! both myself and hubby are shocked.. we asked the person who did the scan to scan again cos we were told otherwise by the gynae.. the person also got freak out by our reaction and scan a few times and even dare not put down in the report re the gender.. ended up need another doc to confirm.

Hi, Janf
I think it might bec of the multi=vit you are taking that cos u to puke.. I am the case where I can't stand the smell of the multivit so everytime donate to the toilet after meal (and after my multi-vit).. Gynae said could be the reason too so she gave me iron and ask me to stop the multi vit. maybe you wan to check with your gynae..

Hi,Koras

Must take more milk to increase your calcuim intake.. gynae said i am tall so calcuim can be easily drained off.. so must take more calcuim..

You have flu, need to avoid juices and milk for the time being..