(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bacon&Egg

Robinson having sales? When huh? I dun flip papers one leh.. next time got any sales here or there, someone can update me here?
kekek

xuanting
electrical is when u jus plug in the socket
electronic is when u can adjust the modes

koras
doc will inform u of low lying placenta if he diagnose one... if not it is normal. I had low placenta at 12 weeks too... by 16 weeks doc inform that the placenta has migrated upwards.

SarahMay/Qiuling: well, i'm quite indept. 5 yrs ago, I managed my entire wedding, reno and honeymoon myself cos my hb was then working abroad too

I've many friends like Qiuling who spent their pregnancies alone (sometimes with an elder tod in tow) in SG while their hbs are working overseas. Overseas, there are even more expat wives whose hb travels weekly in their city of posting that they hardly get to spend time with their wives anyway. So to me, there is little diff whether or not I live in SH or in SG lor...

Was visualising with hb last nite if I had to move back to SH and be a tai tai till my EDD...Concluded that I'd need to factor in airfare (SIN-SHA = $1K+/-) per month to see my TMC gynae (I've already signed up package with him). I'd be watching cable tv at home, going to the nearby eateries and supermarkets myself, chitchating with my ayi (maid) daily, going to the condo's pool and gym occasionally, while my hb is travelling all over China as usual...

Hmm, I think I'm better off living in SG with my weekly tonic soups from MIL, weekend feasts at my folks' place, SGD monthly salary + CPF in SG, welfare benefits, monthly cab fare of $700, readily available healthcare at TMC, friends and colleagues to keep me occupied, shopping for maternity clothes at high street stores as and when I want, eating laksa and char kway teow at my own freewill, etc.

In SH, where there is an estimated population of 20mil, I'd be avoiding the malls in the weekends.

If he really can't get his transfer approved (cos he is pretty high level and 'indispensable' in their China office), then he'll just hv to take 2 weeks leave to be with me lor
Bo bian...

cloud
Glad you called your gynae to confirm because I remember that you can't do exercise at all for such cases.

goldfish
The Robinsons preview sales on 29th & 30th are for OCBC cardmembers & we receive the mailer.

Flos...
your plight sounds familiar...
i am the one who attend to majority of the wedding, reno and baby stuffs...
My hubby's role is merely to pay and pay and pay.
He puts in afford when he is in spore. His flying schedule is more or less routined like 2 mths in spore, 2 months overseas etc. Country of visit is not fixed... he has been to many exotic countries.. some of which i never even heard of until he went. He flies all sorts of airlines and this is wat worries me most... cos there is once he need to go to a remote place n he flies in a propellor plane... *faint*

Shazz: I like the way u described how our pea in the pod has evolved!! It's really God's gift to women to be able to experience motherhood. It's our right and privilege as I was sharing with my anti-children colleagues. I dunno why they are so averse to kids...

Bundle of joy when my bb moves within

PAPAYA: I do eat papayas once in a while but prefer to eat apples and guavas.

Qiuling: Forgot to add that it's ok to deliver in SH. The facilities are very advanced. Just that you need to consider the season during which you deliver. Sept is pretty ok. If one delivers in Jan-Mar, good luck! Need to drink lots of ginger soup and wrap up bb and your goodself.

I just called my nurse at TMC who told me I can't bring fwd my DS to next week as all slots have been fully booked. I'll hv to stick to my Week 21-22 DS...sian...wanna see bb soon...She thinks it's ok to scan at week 21-22.

I hope it won't take 5 hrs. Will get an MC for sure.

Mrs Yap: Oh rings a bell;) My DH only flew back to attend his own wedding banquet!! Yes, and to pay and pay. Two weeks back, my DH flew back to pay for my antenatal package at TMC too! hiak hiak!

When I was an expat wife overseas, my hb was only in our city of posting for avg 7 days a mth. I dun see any diff seeing him 7 days a mth in SG now
Some pp say the diff is you can monitor his whereabts if u reside in the same country, but China, being so vast and populous, it's not much better than to live here which is 5 hrs away.

I know all his bosses, subordinates and dinner/massage/ktv khakis in various cities he travels to. I've eyes all over him

Which airline is your hb with? How come got propellor planes one?! MD aircrafts?

bb and jaundice
eating papaya wont cause jaundice. but one thing to note is this. Papaya, like carrots and many other orange coloured fruits contain beta carotene. this may appear as a form of yellow pigmentation in your child if the child consumes too much. if you eat papaya while bfg, your bb may turn a shade of yellow, but that is NOT jaundice.

the problem is most people cannot tell difference between beta carotene yellow and jaundice yellow. so if you scared, still can eat now, but first few months after your child is born and you are bfg, avoid loh.

sometmes, you just cannot prevent jaundice. like blood type incompatibility or some other kinda jaundice.

flos
oh woah... flies back to attend his own wedding?? keke... i suppose u send him a wedding invitation card too..
For my case not so jialat as yours lah.. i made my hubby fly me back to Australia, the country tat we met for Overseas photoshoot. Really had a fun n memorable photoshoot there.
Ya i think no pt for u to stay in SH if u get to see him only like 7 days a mth. I heard of stories whereby woman in china are v liberal... guys dun hv to look for a lady... they will come knocking at your door... its tat bad lor... but eventually its how much faith u got in yr hb.
My hubby flies SQ... but sometimes need to transit to somewhere where theres no SQ service. He knows i will freak out if he flies propellor... he didnt tell me till he returns.
There are many "adventures" he encounter overseas... some are quite dangerous... e.g some mexicans purposely ramp into his car and blame his for the accident. They dun talk nicely.. they will just shout with big gestures etc... my hb contact his lawyer to settle this case... in the end hubby won... BUT those mexicans managed to track his hotel and waited for him outside the hotel demanding for CASH! So he decided to give them the $$ to avoid "sha sheng zhi huo"

flos & mrs yap, i've travelled in a propeller plane too! it was eons ago in nepal. i remember my jaws dropping when i saw it. once inside, not much dif from those v old sbs buses that always shake and rattle. instead of drinks and snacks, we were offered sweets. and i could see the pilots from my seat too. both exciting and scary.

SarahMay (sarahmay) : yah lor, I was eating happily, forgot about the wieght gain and how much per slice attribute to how much calories until one of the mummies here pointed out that a slice of cheese cake has about 700 calories! hee, that got me! haha

MrsYap: I totally agree with what l'l CY (lilboymum) said. Cos my 15mths old niece had constipation, so my SIL made her papaya puree everyday to help her ease her bowel. But after a while, my MIL noticed that my niece is looking yellow, so they concluded it's because of the papaya. They stopped and she regained her natural colour soon.

Besides dragonfruit, you can take kiwi fruits as well. It helps us sleep better at night too and it's rich in vitamins!

Mrs yap...
wow that is VERY exciting life your hb's got there!!!!!must be nice to have so many different kinds of stories to hear when he returns!!!

shazz..
well, take it this way, if you dun indulge now, then when??!?

xuanting
haha it must have been a once in a life time experience
shazz
i also crave cheesecake... infact feel like eating one now... 2 days ago i jus had Starbucks cheesecaeke.. its so rich...yummy
ya i think i shd limit my papaya intake

Those who had at least one kid liao
i need advise here!
Have u ever brought yr kids to Spore Science Centre? I thot of bringing my 5 yr old cousin there... The omni theatre is showing Dinosaur movie which is his fav...
I need to know if preggy can sit inside the omni theatre cos the seat can move quite excitingly right? How abt any height limitation? I tried calling the science centre but no one picks up the phone !!!!!

l'l CY (lilboymum) : yes should indulge now .. but the way I did hor, is not recommended! haha ... almost 3 whole cakes by myself within a week! that's a record for me manx! haha

MrsYap: Starbucks one is nice! hmmn, now I feel like going down to grab a piece! haha

Mrs Yap: I think he did receive some invitation card template from me to process!!

Fly u in his plane? SOOOOO ROMANTIC!!!

Yeah, heard about those Chinese girls who are found everywhere, but oh well, there are so countless temptations everywhere too right? ;) Even for commercial pilots, I heard from my friends that they have to face temptations from their fella crew members each time they disembark, is that true?!!

SQ has a fleet of propeller planes? I thot they only fly state of the art aircrafts like A380?!! kekek!

Mine had to handle those crude and unreasonable Chinese associates at times too. When we were in the Middle East, he had to deal with those arrogant, high and mighty Arabs too. No offence if there are Arabs in this forum

I think shazz is right. Kiwis are laxatives. Can try taking those too!

I drink papaya milk from time to time

I love Cheesecake Factory cheesecakes in the US!!! YUMMY

Flos
O YES...CHeesecake factory!!!!!!! super yums!!!!

shazz
wow!!!! THREE cakes by YOURSELF!!!! super!!!!but take it this way loh, cheese has a lot of calcium and protein, good for your bb...hahahhahhahahaaaaaaa...okok i know im not helping much here...

mrs yap
havent been to science centre in ages...but i dun think the seats move. they arent like those adventure rides i rem...

Mei
yupyup yup...that term eludes me lah...actually i cannot tell if a bb is jaundice or not...hahaha...coming from a second time mum,,,

speaking of cakes, i've been craving my wedding cake the last few weeks. pandan chiffon and strawberry shortcake also. yum.

flos, mrs yap meant when sq flights weren't available la, like in those obscure places.

flos.. i think u mistaken la...
my hubby is not a pilot.... RXmum hubby is the pilot lah... haha
my hubby flies around for business trip only...
i dun think SQ got any propellor plane...
Yup.. there was once he was in Dubai... his colleague took an extra piece of bread from the buffet table b4 leaving the hotel's restaurant. The waiter shouted at him for doing so... can u imagine?? so rude

OMG, this cheesecake topic makes me want to grab one NOW!!!!!!!!...

Mrs Yap,
I have been there a few times, i dun think the seats move.. just that the stairs are steep... so coming down is a hassle...

Mrs Yap, oops!! I'm really confused!! hahah! That's why I was puzzled why there are propellor planes!

This is cos Arabs assume all Chinese are construction workers, who are abundant in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

I think it's not nice to take a piece of bread as one is walking out of the buffet restaurant, esp after you've settled the bill
Dunno, that's my opinion.

I used to have to dress nicely in Dubai becos all the angmohs are very well-groomed. So are the rich Arabs. It's Beverly Hills in the Middle East lor. Like we used to club and dine at Burj Al Arab, the seven-star hotel that resembles a Sail from the side, but really, ironically, is a huge CROSS if you look at it from Iran's shores/Arabian Gulf...

CHEESECAKE FACTORY pics I got from my online albums!! keke! Check out my feast at the Los Angeles outlet!

1380019.jpg

1380020.jpg

goldfish,
u should receive a mailer from robinson if you are a member. sale is on 29-30 april and there is a $5 disc coupon for bb stuff. i guess for those who are non members, the sale will open after 30?

Mei,
If i am getting a medala pump, would a avent sterilier still be compatible?

ava: shows it's a slow day here in this thread so we ended up talking about food and tempting each other! keke

have a great weekend mummies! =)

hi gals, thanks for the welcome.. i cant log onto this forum in ofc so can only catch up when im back home at nite.

yupz mrs yap - my nick is same in sgbride forum but im only in two threads, jan06 brides n hainanese threads..

aloevera - yupz this is my first preg.. excited anot ah.. errmm, actually more scared than anythg haah.. tat day i juz dreamt tat i huff n puff n bb cant come out! wat a nitemare grr..

boymum - hvnt started buying anythg yet coz i hv hand-me-downs n probably start buying stuffs next 2mths bah..

i read tat jaymickey pukes lots.. OMG, me totally same as her!! i hv been puking since 7wks till now (20wks) n hvnt stop yet.. 3x a day.. eat wat puke wat until simply no appetite to eat anythg.. juz eat for the sake of eating.. i hvnt been eating my supplements for god-knows-how-long liao n this morn tot i shd guai guai start to eat.. scurry ate the multivit down, within 15mins donated to ofc toilet bowl.. everytime of throwing up really makes me xingku.. juz feel so soft all over n feeble.. i seriously tink i will puke till pop.. sigh.. i hvnt put on any weight till now. in fact lost weight.. but i went for detailed scan on mon n minnie weighing fine at 334gms..

everyone told me i having a mickey but scurry turned out to be minnie haha.. but me n hub really dun mind as long bb is healthy n norm, tats most impt..

hmmm.... janf... i suddenly remember... yr PG is Injack studio? cos i remembered we somehow in same thread before... i am not using SGBrides nick though... keke

just came back from raffles city. wanted to eat at shokudo jap market place but there were like 2000 people in the queue!!!!!!!! when in the world will i gtet to eat there????? in the end, we went to cafe cartel and waited for like half an hour before we could get a seat. EVERYWHERE had a queue!

janf,
poor you. still puking? yes. some pple puke all the way until they pop. i certainly hope you stop puking soon. i know how horrid it can be. hang on there ya? eat in small amounts. will that help?

Meie: i went to Robinson Raffles City yesterday cos my voucher is expiring.. I just grab some pigeon milk bottles, baby laundry detergent & powder. There is nothing much at Robinson cityhall & I really have no idea what kind of milk bottles to buy so I just anyhow get cos the pigeon starter kit looks ok. Cannot find the steriliser if not will buy. The 29 sale cannot accept vouchers right?

Shazz: three cakes? Wow!!! Cakes is out of my life now, absolutely no cravings for cakes now... And yes, GOD is really amazing! From a dot till now a grown baby!

Flos: My DH has always been a workaholic so majority of my wedding, reno was done by me. I even went IKEA by myself & got all the stuffs ($1k+)in my trolley to pay! My frens were all amazed I did that!

Sarahmay & Shazz: I went to Vivo Daiso today! Mangaged to byt the cha soba but I am not sure whether I got the right sauce or not. Because I could find the cha soba sauce only a soya sauce for noodles dipping, shall try it tmr! I also bought the packet bonita flakes! So happy!

Cloud: So for the Robinson sale the Avent steriliser is cheaper than the rest of dept store? I know Metro having sale over the weekend.

hi mommies.. i've been away for almost a week.. took leave and managed to squeeze a short trip dis week, which probably will be my last trip till i pop. Anyways, went for a scan on Monday morning, and my gynae confirmed im having a boy.. Great relief there, cause i think hubs have been secretly wishing for a mickey all this while, and i don't think i can handle any dissapointment from him if it turns out otherwise.

xuanmommy, pls update my baby's gender. Thank u very very much. ;p

Btw, i've gained 3kg since my last visit to the gynae last month. Wonder how much weight i've gained for this trip alone... helpp... i guess im going to have to try to be as disciplined as shazz from now on, and hopefully cut back on those calories...

goldfish ,
u update us on teh sale on anything good .. then we rush down to buy .. keke .
Flos ,
In fact , Me almost the same plight .. my house , wedding and reno is done alone too .. and my hubby flew back to attend our wedding just three days before the date .. haha .. But think u are better .. at least u get to enjoy all teh drolling food and post them online ... makes us salivate ..

TCM Jaundice Prevention: I posted this some time ago abt this TCM herbal mix – 13 herbs, An Tai herbal brew. Only taken twice throughout pregnancy – 5 and 7th months. Supposedly helps minimize the occurrence of jaundice.

Science Centre OMNITheatre: The seats don’t move from what I remember.

JUNK FOOD = DELISH! Aiyo…Flos & Shazz…you are two mama terribles! Tempting us with the oh-so-sinful-but-oh-so-good food!!! This week I’ve been indulging also in food. Yikes! I went to buy myself a tin of 72% Dream Cacao two days ago…cos it’s daaaarrk choc and has less sugar than regular choc. Trying to make myself feel better about eating chocs.Hehe.

Storeberry: Yay! Congratulations on finally buying your cha soba and sauce. If the sauce is for noodle dipping, it shd be the correct one. You can also use it to make a hot soup base you know? It is about 1 part sauce, 5 parts hot water…However, do it according to taste! Enjoy your homemade cha soba! I went for Jap meals twice in a day yday – lunch and dinner! Yumms…

Janf: Hope you stop puking soon too! Does eating small meals help to reduce puking? Also, your bb is doing well. So that means your puking hasn’t affected your bb! Take joy in that!

Qiuling, Flos & Mrs Yap: Busy husbands need wonderful, capable and understanding wives like you! How do you manage to keep your communication channels open with all their travelling? My husband doesn’t travel and is just working in a different country. Also will your hubbies be coming home in time for the birth? If not, do you have anyone else to go into the delivery room with you?

Qiuling: You already have a kid right? How do you help your kid to bond with his daddy who always travels? I'm a little concerned about that as bb will be away from his daddy for 3 months after birth. And my hubby may not be able to get leave to visit at all.

MATTEL TOY SALE: I think Sasa went there yesterday. HOpe she comes onto the forum and gives her input about it. I rber my mum used to go to these sales when I was growing up and got a lot of my dolls and toys from there.

bacon&egg
I'm not sure if Mendela pump fits the Avent steriliser.. maybe can check with the other mummies here?

storeberry
The sale on this Tues & Wed is for OCBC cardmembers so you'll have to use the card to pay.. so I guess vouchers are not allowed.. not too sure though.

SarahMay
I'm going to the toy sale in an hours' time, will update when I'm back. Think sunrays also going today.

Diaper bag:
do u think the neverfull PM (11.2" x 8.6" x 5.1") is big enuf for a diaper bag ? or a neverfull MM (12.6" x 11.4" x 6.5") is better ?

Mei: Yah update us on the sale yah? Thanks!

Sarahmay: I had Jap food this week as well!! Keke.. At Goldhill centre, not too bad, its a cosy Jap restaurant.

stef&seanbabes
I have the Neverfull GM & I can dump a lot of things in. I find that the PM will be too small for use as a diaper bag.. can't put much... MM would be ok. It also depends on the amount of stuff you'll be bringing out.

SarayMay ,
it should be okay for the first three months .. cos bb only recognised familiar faces later .. so not to worry so much ..
Stef ,
u buying LV neverfull ..june forum mummy also bought it but me not sure which is better .. buy the bigger one lor .. can throw in more things ..

missy (missus) : don't have to worry about the weight gain if your gynae didnt say anything about it. I had to cut back on my junk food cos a 5kg a week weight gain is a big NO NO for both mummy and baby's health. Anyway, it's easy to cut out junk when you think of your baby before you eat.

alabone: I also wanted to try shokudo at City hall but it's always so packed and the Q is soooo long! In the end, I grabbed a macha latte, a few doors away. and it was good!

Flos: In the end, I still got a slice of American cheesecake from Sweet Secrets after I had yummy dinner. Can't stand the naggy thoughts of the Cheesecake Factory's yummy cheesecake ... so I had to find a substitute!

Hi Jessi: Missed out your question. I actually joined a apree for Target & th organiser use Vpost to ship here, not cheap for shipping about $5 or $6 / item.

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - okie, talking about the baby's room, here is the only thing we have done to date - got new roman blinds to replace the old bamboo ones.
Roman blinds during the nite:
1381139.jpg

During the day:
1381140.jpg

Close up of some soft toys we moved from the study:
1381141.jpg

Space where baby bed will be placed (quite cramped):
1381142.jpg