(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi storeberry,

we are just glad bb is well. But MIL is v happy i think..

For the 8 mins avent sterilizer, robinson offers the cheapest at $151 (member's price). Other stores like Mothercare, OG and shops on Paragon 5th level are selling it at $171.

I grab the IQ 24 hours avent steriliser at OG..only $160 (usual price $200) cos its only $10 more than the 8 mins...and you dont have to re-steriliser everytime..

btw, OG also selling avent feeding bottles at $31 for bundle of 2 different MLs...the sales person told me it is v worth it..

skinny pig
yes..me at NUH. I have seen Prof Yong before too..once when Prof Wong was travelling...v nice and careful gynea
Maybe we met before..maybe not...cos Prof Wong operates morning and i think Prof Yong operates afternoon?

i didnt sign for NUH natal class...i signed for TMC - Mrs Wong's classes instead...since i heard alot of good reviews of her class from my colleagues...

Bacon&Egg, the Mattel sale @ Lok Yang will end on 4 May. Hubby went down last Fri (1st day) and grabbed 10 items for $300. Then the next day, I chiong-ed down with another Mummy to grab another 6-7 items for $175. Very very good deals! I got the FP Little People sets for $20-25 per set. The FP Vacuum Cleaner was only going for $20 (RP is 69.90). Also got the FP Baby Grand piano for $60, as well as many others. Too bad, the FP Musical Chair aldy sold out. THe Kitchen set also

cloud
your back problem sounds like mine...heh... my mom's a physio, but do not see her for it, cos she's in JB. I go for ultrasound when I visit her though. the stretches i find that help most are (***better check with ur physio if these r ok for you***):

1. Standing, bend leg back so you are holding your foot (like warm up before a run) and hold for 20-30 sec. be careful to suck tummy in (imagine navel moving inwards towards spine - if that's possible while pregnant!) so you don't overarch your back.

2. Standing (make sure you have some support esp while preg) at the side of your bed...place the shin of the leg nearest the bed on the bed and move the other leg forward then bend at the knee so you are stretching the area at the front of your hips...a bit hard to visualise...hmm, maybe can take pic for you...

i was jus wondering...

1) when does confinement officially starts? can we bathe when we r in hospital?

2) when does our period come after we give birth?

dunno if it sounds stupid to ask but i was jus wondering...

eve
1) confinement, i'd assume starts straight after birth and should not bathe at hosp...anyone else can confirm? (I didnt have confinement last time)

2) period comes a few months after birth. if breastfeeding exclusively, it can come back only after ...average I'd think is about 6-7 months after birth? Cos after this time, u start giving solids too.
Moms who breastfed for a year or more, should confirm this...

Mrs Yap - true. It seem like i dun like to drink Anmum now.

last night as i was trying to sleep. it seem like should be my baby kicking. can feel it few time when my hubby sniff he kick me.. then i try that knocking method and he respond by kicking me

I am from Feb 2008 thread.
I've the following item for sell:

(1) BN Medela PureLan 100, 37 g - $15
(2) BN Yu Yee Oil, 48 ml - $7
(3) BN Pigeon Breastmilk Storage bag, 20 pc - $13
(4) BN Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage bag, 50 pc - $23

Pls PM me to deal. Thanks.

thank you for the well wishes. i hope he recovers soon too. my mum and brother just came back from the hospital after visiting him and he still does not have a bed yet. in fact, he's been moved to the corridor now. even worse... but he's already gone for scan and xray so we can only wait for results now... TTSH was soooooooo full of pple. my mum said ambulances kept going in to the A&E...

eve,
i think confinement starts officially after we deliver. when i was in hospital, my mum delivered the longan red dates tea to me to drink. but i bathed in hospital. my gynae refused to let me leave hospital if i don't bathe. that was quite funny. anyway, if washing hair, MUST wash with the herbal bath and GINGER to get rid of wind. i didn't do it for my first preg and after i wash hair (a few days apart) i'd get a headache. but with the herbal bath and ginger and blow drying it immediately, i was fine.

Confinement Lady: Up to you when you want them to start, usually shd be when mummy and baby come home from hospital. Their 1-mth stay is actually 4-week long ie 28 days only.

skinnypig,
my edd est. 1 week of sept.. u?

thanks J&S mom for the info

ava, i heard from my colleagues who r mommies, they bath one time in the hospital..cos after birth, can be quite sticky.. after start of confinement, they bath alternate days. I intend to do that too...

bacon&eggs, skinny pig
am at NUH too
am w dr vanaja. PC wong? am surprise you chose him though, he has quite a reputation huh?

Prof Yong EL? full name? is he new prof?or back from private sector sojourne?

eve
not so soon, my period came more than a year after i gave birth, but i was still bfg when that happ and when i got preg. but it differs from individual.

if you are full bfg, then period should come later. if you are pumping (Even exclusive) or partial, period should come back earlier...

alabone
hope your dad recovers fast. yes, ttsh has not enough beds. a&E is the busiest in singapore what do you expect...ehm..bit of advice...if you want prompt treatment at A&E, choose those smaller hospitals.

is your dad allowed to tsf? or is he going hme? my dad has a minor stroke once. he recovered pretty fast so no worries on that, just take care and make sure another one doesnt come along. the first one usually is a warning.

o which mean period do not come immediately after give birth? and normally if come is around how long cox i heard some is a month some is two weeks

Koras: The "period" which comes immediately after delivery is called the lochia discharge. It's a super heavy period and lasts many days. Usually recommend to wear maternity pads cos thicker and longer.

The normal period cycle won't come so fast, esp if you're breastfeeding. I had mine 1 mth after I stopped breastfeeding for 7mths.

Bathing and Shower at the hospital:

So if you dun bathe, will you be very stinko and sticky? And will the nurse bathe u, or u need to bathe yourself? What happens if you had c-section?

How about washing hair? Do we wash it before we leave for the hospital?

Will the hospital provide pads or disposable undies for u to wear or must u bring your own?

isnt true that after natural birth normally they will stitch up the wound. then upon going to the toilet will have the pain pain feeling

So once period comes, we can start trying for another bb right?

LC: try brewing some birdsnest. But take it warm.

Goldfish: I'm afraid I've never heard of Chinese name websites. Chinese names are permutated with various combis, so it's really inexhaustive lor...If you want to check based on the zodiac signs or five elements, you can buy such books from Popular Bookstores. Have seen them there before...

Bacon,
My EDD is 28/08/08.. Was 03/09 initially, then it was brought forward to 28/08/08 during the oscar scan.

l'lCY,
His full name is Prof Yong Eu Leong.. He's not a new prof, has been with NUH for quite sometime.
My 8 yr old niece and 2 yr old nephew was delivered by Prof Yong as well..

goldfish.. yupz, i'm hoping to go for the run, i went last year and it was quite fun. i would like to go for the new balance run in october but don't know whether fit enough to run. Once i recover, i want to start running and going to the gym again.

Flos: The nurse won't bath you. They will wipe you down-there for the first 1 or 2 days. The hospital usually will provide the first pack of maternity pads, after that if you run out, they will charge you. So better bring your own.
You can wash your hair before leaving the hospital, cos after that, if you want to observe the strict confinement observances, the cannot wash hair for 1mth.

alabone, do take care of yourself in the mean time too. i hope your dad will make a speedy recovery and resume his normal activities soon.

LC,
So long as bb is healthy, it doesn't really matter for the gender though i know u muz be feeling disappointed. Hope you have not bot any princess clothes .

Bacon & eggs,
Is OG sale still going on ? Which branch did you go ? I'm surprised that Avent IQ steriliser is also going on promotion. Initially, i tot of buying Avent, but it seems like Pigeon is so much cheaper, but i'm not sure wat is the diff btw both cos both take 6 min to finish sterilising, jus tat IQ 24 allows 24hrs sterilisation so long as cover is closed.

koras...
i heard from my frd that when she had her baby, the doc cut her down there to so that the bb head can come out easier. Later they stitch it up. She had to sit on swimming float, those with a hole in the middle type so that it wont hurt. Going to toilet is definitely stinging down there...
Infact if you opt for caesarean, no better as previously when i had my womb operation, i need to hug my lower tummy n urinate bit by bit to minimise the pain.

I adhered to the no-hairwash for 1 month belief, but after 14 days, I felt that if I didn't do anything about it, it would only be a matter of time before foreign bodies invaded my scalp and hair. It just felt so icky! I tried the no-rinse dry shampoo/powder in the 14 days, but they all added to the ickiness. So on the 15th day, I just washed my hair with the herbal water.

As for bathing in the hospital, I only washed down there, cos there was so much lochia. Anywayz, I had a C-section so I was already in so much pain that all I wanted to do was to lie down and not get up.

Flos, the hospital provides pads, but complimentary, only the 1st few pcs. Suggest u get the SOFY super long (think 35mm) ones for your usage. The ones provided by hospital are the Kotex loop ones, which I didn't really like.

abalone,
sorry to hear abt your dad, i wish him a speedy recovery and u take care too. if the shuffling btw hosp n home n work, u might wanna take half day to rest enuff. God bless...

Mummies, have u all got your breast pumps? I sold off my Ameda last year, so I just go myself another. But thinking of getting a Medela PIS to keep in the office.

Thanks Flos. I got a book from hubby’s friend bt it is not beri informative.
Think may ‘nua’ in the bookstore on labour day to flip for names liao.

Cloud, hahaha.. I think for NB run better give it a miss. It is too close to our delivery month I think. I am not confident whether got time to go for training after delivery.. haiz.

If I am going for the SCM, I will definitely write something on the running bib such as ‘Trying to shed my fats gained during pregnancy!!!’

bbmouse: Oh dear, cannot wash hair for one month? That's going to be tortuous! I have pretty sensitive scalp. That's going to be my main concern! My CL told me alternate days should be fine.

Some women even bathe using those TCM sachets...wouldn't that be very sticky and brownish? Oh gosh...

Would some mom be so kind as to give a list of the stuffs to pack for the EDD?

J&Smum: Kotex with loops. They look so, erm, gramdma.

arielyn
im impressed. i would have died without a shower. dunno whehter it was due to bfg or not, i always wake up inthe morning bathed in sweat. and i literally mean 'bathed in sweat'. my hair would be soaking wet with sweat...

but then i bathed in the hospital. too hot and sticky and i feel too dirty to go near my bb...

flos
strike up a friendship with the nurses. some hospitals provide lotsa pads and other stuff...was at NUH and they offered my more than a weeks worth of pads to lug home (they said, you paid for the stay mah, might as well, then help me stuff everything into my bag...) when bb discharge they gave a few dozens of pampers and wipes and stuff...(same reason they gave)...

during my stay i also got free use of hospital pumps, steriliser etc...say to help me get use to the idea...that's why i LOVE NUH...kekekekeke...

Goldfish: You know, actually, I've been watching a lot of Chinese showbiz on SCV channels. I find HK and Taiwanese actors names quite cool. Some Korean names can be pretty neat too;)

So unimaginative me...

lilboymum: that's really nice of NUH, but I'm at TMC. I wonder if they'd be so kind and succumb to my sweet-talk!! hehehe!

skinny pig
the usual loh, lotsa milk samples if you are fm feeding, bags of sample bb shampoo, soap, detergent, cream this and cream that (for bb and you)...

i still have some left, not used at all...some quite useless lah, those sample creams....

o yah, also got feeding bottles and feeding stuff..you should get two, one upon discharge, one during the antenatal class...

flos
i think private hospital even more freebies right? go grab their sample milk powders!!!! kekekekekeke...if you are fm feeding that is...

<font color="119911">koras (koras) - think episiotomy to enlarge the opening is quite common in Spore for natural birth. In some countries, they let u tear naturally till the anus, but then the tear line becomes jaggered &amp; more difficult to stitch back, so think most gynes here would opt for the episiotomy. How sore u are pretty much depends on the skill of the gyne &amp; how well you recover. Just have to be careful not to get infected from passing motion.
Same with the C-section - really a case by case basis. I have friends who ended up in bed for 1 month after the C! Meanwhile...My sister had natural (1st baby) &amp; C-section (2nd baby cos it was breeched) &amp; she said the pain from natural was alot worse. I was lucky when i went for my fibroid removal also (same as C-section cut), off painkillers the same afternoon, was walking the next day &amp; just abit numb at the wound area but no other problem.

WASHING HAIR
wow, I can't imagine not washing hair or bathing for so long. I guess I will most prob still shower daily &amp; wash hair on alternate days...hopefully no side effects!</font>

Washing hair: Can buy dry shampoo. Very good to use. It's up to the indiv lah. Last time I didn't wash hair until after 10 days. As this will be my last confinement, hope to be able to tahan or even go longer.

My #1, the episiotomy was quite bad..could not really sit down..could pain till i cant sleep, and need extra strong painkiller to ease my pain. After discharge, i think i still hve the pain for at least 1 week.
so this round i think i need to get swimming float.

Flos (flos)
Bathing using the TMC still not so bad. Is in a sachet. So like tea bag, u dun break open, so jus the water is brownish herbal smell lor..still ok lar, better than cant bath..

I am gonna cut short my long hair before delivery, probably just above shoulder.

I will definitely get smelly hair if I don wash hair for a month!!!!

skinny pig - i already cut my hair very short cant stand the recent weather. think after birth then i keep long hair le.. same thinking as u cant bath everyday the hair sure oily de

Mickey, I salute you! The dry shampoo made my scalp and hair even stickier. I felt greasy and dirty. This time round (my last confinement too, I hope, as we want to stop at #3), whether I go 'tau3 hong1' (wind in the head) or not, I will wash my hair on alternate days and my body with herbal water. Last time round, I only wiped my body, no splashing with water

Ava, that reminds me. When I had my twins, MAH gave me lots of milk samples. So, u must remember to ask (be think-skinned). Those bottled ones. We took home Friso and Similac bottled milk. And after that, one of the nurses at my gynae clinic (ask your gynae if got contacts) also informed me that S26 was clearing their sotcks, so we lugged home like 6 cartons of S26 bottled milk. The suppliers and hospitals are usually more generous with twins, I think....

i'm also very nervous about the episiotomy. those who've had it before: can you feel the searing pain when the doc snips the skin there?

J&amp;SMun: Which brand of dry shampoo did u buy? Does it make any difference?
I wipe my body with the herbal water too, and until after 2 weeks or so, then the CL allowed me to really bathe. I remember it was such a luxury to bathe after so long of just wiping the body.

Mickey, I can't recall. My hubby got it from Unity Pharmacy. It's some no rinse-liquid. Agree that it was really a luxury to finally bathe. And I couldn't sit in the hall to watch TV with the rest, cos' it would mean that the ceiling fan couldn't be switched on (no air-con in the hall) so the best place was to stay huddled in the air-conditioned bedroom all day long.

hi girls.. sorry to digress, I urgently need a Part time maid who's willing to go to the East (legal one as in either PR or have work permit). If you have any recommendations, cld u pls PM me the contacts? Thnks!!

Wondering:
Will gynae charge for "episiotomy"?

I'd be a good girl and wash my hair on alternate days. I'll bathe my body (not head) daily with those TCM water for the first couple of days or so. It's supposed to get rid of the wind, it seems...